Reading Reviews for We'll Be Missing You
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GalleonScarlet Son, Brother, Hero

18th December 2013:
I literally had tears in my eyes! This was beautiful.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Chivalrous Son, Brother, Hero

6th July 2013:
That was beautifully written. Bravo it was amazing! :)

Author's Response: I'm so pleased you liked it ♥ This one was really difficult for me to write!

Thank you for your support!

♥ Jami


 Report Review

Review #3, by Remus Son, Brother, Hero

5th March 2013:
Hey there, Jami!

With the Gryffindor V. Slytheirn I'm sticking with one-shots or short stories...so hope you don't mind me reading this instead of BTF. Gotta help my house beat the Gryffindors, you know. :P

I have a feeling that this is going to make me cry...So I'm ready for this! *has tissue box at the read*

Not even half way through and the screen is fuzzy. Oh Jami, is this payback for the Lily/James one-shot? Haha.

The scenery, the dialogue and Bill's thoughts and feelings were amazingly done and well handled. Not only you put the picture in my mind, but you also placed me in an older brother who has lost one of his young brothers. Being an older sister myself...*shudders* I hope I never get to experience that loss and feelings.

Oh no, are we going to see every sibling's reaction to Fred's death? My poor feels...

Poor George.The promises he made to his little brother can't be kept now. And I'm sure that's weighing him down a lot.

I agree with Percy...it should have been him. That's for sure. I mean...That would've been the only way he could've redeemed himself in his family's eyes and even the fans after being such a none-12 word towards the Weasley Clan, his own family, and Harry.

He would have imagined Fred's pale face, no smile.---That's the part that always gets to me. The last image of Fred George has is of his brother being dead. Sure, Fred died smiling, but still...He was pale and dead and never going to laugh again. That's a horrible last memory to have, specially for a twin that has lost his other half.

I love Ron's section. You definitely managed to capture his attitude when it comes to personal feelings. He was never good at expressing himself so him talking to Fred as if nothing had happened instead of wallowing in misery was very Ron-like attitude towards something like this.

'...that she really had no idea how Albus managed to cut off such a large potion of his hair.'---Did you maybe mean 'portion of his hair' and not 'potion'?

Thank you Jami, for destroying my poor feelings! Haha, I think I'm going to find myself a story that has happy feelings or go watch something stupid and silly like South Park!

Ugh. *wipes tears again* Amazing story nonetheless. I would've been shocked if it wasn't, to be honest! The ONLY thing I guess I would CC is the length...When it came to Percy's part and George's, it felt like you were rushing past it instead of dwelling just a bit more to dig the knife further into the heart. XD

Thanks for the tears!

Until next time!

--Rosie

Author's Response: Hi Snaky Snaky Snaky!!

I'm so happy that this made you said! That sounds mean, huh? Hehe. Well yes, we'll just call it payback for your James Lily one shot!

I really liked exploring all the siblings feelings, though. Especially getting to do so as we moved forward in time. That's why I ended up saving Molly and Arthur for last. Theirs was obviously set much farther in the future, but I don't think a parent would ever get over that kind of loss.

Charlie's was probably my favorite to write, him and Bill's both. And I totally agree with what you said about Percy. It really, really should have been him. Fred didn't deserve it, George doesn't deserve to live without Fred. Ugh :(

Ron was really difficult for me to write. I guess because I have a hard time getting inside his characters head. But I'm so happy that you enjoyed his section ♥

Thank you so much m'dear for this lovely review &heart; and Gryffies are going to get you snakies hehe



 Report Review

Review #4, by HollyStone73 Son, Brother, Hero

2nd March 2013:
Oh man...I literally cried the whole way through this. I loved that you managed to get everyone's point of view and was able to highlight the different ways that they each carried their grief. Thinking of Ginny blaming Harry and imagining George wrapping himself around the headstone were pure genius. I loved absolutely loved this. Great job!

Author's Response: Awww! I'm so happy you liked this. I really liked getting to explore the different family members and how they handled their grief, so I'm really glad you enjoyed that too ♥

Thank you so much for stopping by to read and review :)!

♥ Jami


 Report Review

Review #5, by Madeline Son, Brother, Hero

10th February 2013:
I for real just cried my eyes out. You're timing with the births were right and everything. How everyone came to see him. Oh my gosh. It was perfect.

Author's Response: Aww I'm sorry you cried! Well, only kind of sorry, haha. Thank you so much for reading my little story and leaving a review. This one was harder for me to write than others because I'm not incredibly comfortable writing the Weasleys, so hearing you liked it has really made my day!

Thank you ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Son, Brother, Hero

18th January 2013:
Hello - tagging you in the review thread although I wanted to come and read this story anyway.

Jeez I don't even know where to start with this. You had me filling up so many times and I ended up tearing pretty bad in the end. The chapter summary is pretty much how I feel so I knew it was going to be tough for me from the start!

As a whole I loved how you played out the story, changing the POV and each time moving on a little further in time. It allowed you to give us little glimpses of how each of the Weasleys were dealing and also the new things that were happening in their lives. You also showed so many different ways of grieving and the different stages people go through whilst keeping very canon with all the different perspectives you showed. Honestly, I'm just in awe of you!

Bill's was really interesting to read and I thought it was so good that you got in about him curse-breaking at Hogwarts. I'd never considered that before but as soon as you mentioned it I knew that that must have happened. The little details like that you have added in really just add to the depth and make this story. My heart went out to him wanting Fred to blame him for his death as he was the eldest and he wanted to take on the responsibility. I really related to this as I'm the eldest - I mean nothing quite this sad has happened (thank goodness) but I still really felt his guilt, you made it real.

Charlie's was also really great to read as he isn't someone we get to hear a lot about. I liked the anger you showed in him as he'd not done what he'd promised Fred and now it was too late. From what we do know about Charlie this seemed like the perfect reaction from him. I liked the added detail of him being with Tonks too - I thought it was a nice touch.

Poor Percy. Similar to Bill, my heart went out to him so much, which is saying something as I don't really like him as a character. I think you got his reaction spot on and he would definitelty spend the first few months at least blaming himself for Fred's death. the part where he feels he can't leave him though in case Fred thinks he's abandoned him again - yeah it brought a lump to my throat! You brought Audrey in though so we can all sigh in relief to know that he's getting the help he needs. I'm glad you gave him that.

In George's section, I think the best part was when you mentioned he didn't say anything as Fred would know what he was thinking anyway! That was perfect and right and you couldn't have said it any better. He has his family helping him out and you've brought Angelina in and we all know where it goes from there!

I think Ron's was one of my favourite sections as it was so light hearted, starting with him being ever tactful and upsetting Hermione. A tear went down my cheek too as he said he didn't want to leave George yet, even though he has an amazing position as an Auror just as he wanted. It's so selfless of him and I loved it.

In Ginny's part I'm really glad you didn't just have her okay with Harry. I think the blaming of Harry and wishing he'd never been apart of their family would be completely natural. And don't get me wrong, I love Harry but if had gone on and on with the self-loathing rants I would have totally snapped too and the Ginny in the books can be fiery so it was right.

Oh the last part of Harry section. I just loved it. I like to think that all the Weasleys/Potters would tell their kids how great their Uncle Fred was. But when Harry said the worst part was not being able to save Fred - yeah it got to me. I liked how nervous he was though about being a father and how one of his main concerns was for Teddy - again, amazing characterisation!

I loved how you got Mollys motherly nature to shine through when she was talking about her grandchildren. You gave them so much personality in such few lines it was really incredible to read. I particularly liked the reference to Fred junior as I may be a little biased. Again with the little details - Molly is still surprised by Fleur in a good way and Ron still 'hates' Crookshanks.

As always I don't really have any CC as I thought the characterisation and the way you wrote the whole thing was just perfect. I did notice too little typos though so I thought I could point them out so I'm not being completely rubbish! In Ginny's part you have 'I was so mad everyone' I think you might need an 'at' in there and in Molly and Arthurs part I think you put 'potion' instead of 'portion'. Only tiny tiny things.

So an amazing one-shot here, I absolutely loved it! Sorry for leaving another gigantic essay for you to read though!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Hi darling! I'm so sorry the response has taken so long. I actually thought i'd already responded, but i must've forgot to hit the submit button :P

Bill and Charlie are the only two Weasleys I actually feel comfortable writing. It was nice that they're both the oldest so I could start in my comfort zone before I was sort of ripped out of it :P. I'm so happy you felt like you could relate to Bill with the same kind of sense of responsibility that being the oldest comes with. I'm the baby of the family, but my sisters are so protective that it wasn't too hard to imagine what being the oldest would be like.

Hehe I couldn't resist bringing Angelina an Audrey into this :P. I worried that people wouldn't understand why George wasn't talking, so I'm really happy you felt like it fit ♥

Ron's was your favorite section?! Really? Ahh that's such a relief to hear! He was SO hard for me to write. I just... the combination of Ron-ness but still wanting to show his feelings really gave me trouble. Ah I'm so happy he felt right ♥

The Molly Arthur section ended up being really fun to write. I had to go through and make a timeline to get all the next gen people in order, and it made me realize how hard writing Next gen would be! There's so many of them!

I really wanted to end on a sort of positive note, and that M/A section seemed like the best way to :)

Thank you for pointing out the typos! I'll go though and edit them right now :)!!

This review was so awesome, thank you so much for stopping by and never, ever apologize for a long review! I love them. Sorry again how long it has taken me to respond ♥



 Report Review

Review #7, by Toujours Padfoot Son, Brother, Hero

26th December 2012:
As soon as I clicked on this story I could feel my heart drop. Nothing kicks me in the feels harder than a Fred's-death story, and this succeeded in making me feel very sober. It wasn't a bawl-your-eyes-out type of story, but one that really forces you to think.

I like how each of them had different attitudes, different ways of coping. It didn't sound like the same person talking to a tombstone over and over; they were all very personalized, not just in their superb characterization but the way they approached Fred and death altogether. I like the way we saw some of them through each other's eyes - like how Ron told Fred he thought that George talked to Angelina about Fred, which was good for him because George didn't like to talk about Fred to anyone. He needs someone to vent to, and Angelina is so therapeutic in that way.

I liked Molly being unable to resist commenting on her surprise at how good a mother Fleur was, and Ron's tear slipping down his cheek when he said he wanted to stay in the shop for just a little while longer because George had never had to be alone before. That was so hard-hitting. I was really inspired by that, and found myself wanting to write something about George coping, too.

The dark shadows under Percy's eyes as he quietly relayed that it should have been him; his guilt, his grief - it was like a punch to the stomach. I wanted to hug him and tell him it wasn't his fault, because if there's one thing Percy's always been deficient in, it's people on his side. I'm glad he has Audrey, even though their relationship at that point was probably strictly professional.

My favorite part, I think, was the bit with Ginny and how she blamed Harry sometimes. Never for very long - blink and you'll miss it - but long enough to feel bad about it, to have that dormant resentment. And to have Harry feel the same way and whinge about it, (loved that you included his self-loathing tendencies, his inability to ever feel completely happy when he thinks something or another is his fault), and then him and Ginny taking it out on each other, was a moment of really powerful realism. Everyone copes differently. Bill is sort of meditative, with his tea and his walk to the hill. Charlie is sort of explosive, cursing about the state of things and their unfairness. George is very quiet, dealing with it the best way he knows how. Ron is perhaps the most well-adjusted, since he has the wise, supportive Hermione holding him up. Percy copes with therapy. And Ginny gets it out of her system by yelling every once in a while. And it's good for her. That's her own therapy. Afterwards, she and Harry can clear their heads and hug each other and they're a few tears closer to being healed. Sometimes you just have to cry it out; let the wound drain before it gets infected.

This was such a poignant story, Jami. I read Sarah's review to see what she thought of it, and she seemed really pleased and impressed. She's famous for writing the Weasleys, so I can think of no gift more perfect. Thank you for participating in my challenge. :)

Author's Response: Hi ♥! I loved every bit of your challenge, it's so awesome getting to write something for someone you care about. It's funny how people on HPFF become really close, I tell Sarah more stuff than I do half my friends, so I just wanted to give her something that she'd really love.

I'm so happy you thought my characterizations of the Weasleys did the justice. I can tell you that I'll probably never write all of them again.. Charlie and Bill probably, but the rest of the family... most likely not. They're such a struggle for me, so knowing that their characterizations felt right means so much to me!

I think George is absolutely the most heart breaking part about Fred dying. He never should have been forced to figure out what life without his brother is like... he never should have had to say goodbye to the person that meant the most in the world to him... and ugh. It's terrible. Every time I started to write hm talking, it never worked. Then I just realized he wouldn't even need to talk. I mean, having him tell Fred about what was happening in his life just felt too cruel, so I was actually happy with doing him just laying by his brother instead.

I know not everyone is thrilled about my choice for Ginny.. but it just felt realistic. Harry did so much for that family, but that would be harder to see when your staring at the dead face of your brother. And like you said, if you blink you could miss it, but those feelings of 'why us' were there even if just for a moment.

Thank you again for this amazing review as well as holding such a perfect challenge ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by momotwins Son, Brother, Hero

8th December 2012:
I was a little nervous to click on this cause I was sure you were going to make me cry and then I'd be off my stride to keep reviewing :p

You write really beautifully. It's simple and expressive and reads very smoothly.

I love that you used all the siblings for this perspective instead of only George. It's much more common to only see Fred's death through George's eyes, so it was refreshing to see the other Weasley brothers instead/as well. I really enjoyed Bill's scene. I also think having Bill and his fellow Curse-Breakers helping to clear up Hogwarts after the battle is a stroke of genius. It makes so much sense! In fact, it's so extremely logical that I can't believe I've never seen it before, you know? You are super creative and awesome for that.

Charlie is the most elusive of the Weasleys, since his only appearance in canon is so very brief, but you seem to have a good characterization for him from what we know. Thinking of Fred never getting to see his brother work with dragons made me very sad. And poor Perce and his guilt. Ack sad. Stop it, I have makeup on today and I refuse to cry. I'm glad you didn't make Percy cuss, I think it would have been out of character for him. You did well with him, he's very sympathetic.

And because I love that you used all the siblings, I'm also glad that you didn't dwell on George. He gets about the same amount of space as the others, and I really like that (even though I like to dwell on George's perspective myself). What's the significance of July 7th? I feel like I should know it but I'm drawing a blank. And here goes my dwelling on George: his wanting to just lay next to his brother, that is so true emotionally to me. You know I have twin boys, and they are always all over each other - they sit on the couch all tangled up, sleep all cuddled up (even when we put them in separate bunks at bedtime, they climb into each other's bed), they really have no personal boundaries that way, it's much different than just siblings. Twins are a whole different ball game, really.

I adored Ron. And the brief hint of George/Angelina from him was sweet. But Ron was excellent, and that Hermione was with him and talked to Fred too. Love. Do you write Romiones? I need to read some Romione from you now. I'm just saying.

And finally, I like that Ginny's appearance was a bit different from her brothers'. Being the only Weasley girl, she's going to interact differently with her brother than the brothers do amongst themselves. Makes lots of sense (ah logic, how I love it). Now, I'm not so sure Ginny would really be mad at Harry as he did save all of them from Voldy in addition to personally saving both her and her dad from imminent death, but I get where you're coming from with that particular emotion and you carried it off perfectly. It was very believable. Also Harry was perfect. And Molly and Arthur are love.

I did see some typos. A few of them:
imaging they were drinking their tea together = should be imagining
Rose's forth was two months ago = should be fourth

Lovely story, really well done. Very sweet, adored the details on the grandkids, it's just perfect. I managed not to cry, since you ended on such a lovely hopeful note. Really beautiful!

Author's Response: Hi WTM! Thank you so much for your compliments about my writing. I flew straight to cloud 9 with that ♥

I love that between the Wesley bunch, there's someone who can do just about anything. Oh curses around Hogwarts? Call Bill the cruse breaker! A dangerous creature?? Well my brother Charlie works with dragons, he can take care of it. They're just so diverse.

Charlie has earned the role if wizarding world cowboy in my head. He's rough around the edges, and would choose his animals over a girl any day. I'm half in love with him :P

Hahah I wish I could tell you something cool for July seventh. But really in my head, Molly came up with it because it was the 7th month on the 7th day, and opening shop back up is like honoring the brother they no longer have to complete the 7 children. Yeah.. No awesome canon secrets.. Haha

Two of the boys I work with are twin 5 yr olds. These little guys are so awesome together. But I've never been with them in just the comfort of their own space, really. So knowing I got the feeling right of these two just being so close and George wanting to be by his brother means so much to me. And I can't even imagine how hard Fred's death hit you with your own little F and G's :(.

Haha I absolutely don't write Romiones. Not because I don't love them, I really do. But the Weasley family terrifies me. Maybe one day.. Have you read anything by Athene Goodstength? That's who this piece was written for, and that girl will fill you with Weasley feels like no one's business.

I'm so happy you liked this, and your review was such a pleasant treat. I feel like one of those teenage girls at a concert, then the yummy man signing (preferably Blake Shelton) touches her hand and she goes into fan girl crazy feels. So, basically right now you're my Blake Shelton :P

Ps! I did this all from my iPhone. If there are any weird typos, blame auto correct!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #9, by mirasoul Son, Brother, Hero

1st December 2012:
I literally cried reading this, it was so beautiful. Fred's truly a character that's touched everyone's lives, and experiencing the points of view of his family as they remember him made me so emotional. This one-shot is absolutely perfect. :)

Author's Response: I am so happy you liked this ♥ although not so happy you cried :(.

Fred is such a sad part of the story, and it's really difficult for me to imagine his family having to go on without him. I'm so happy you think I did the Weasleys justice, that means quite a lot to me.

Thank you for stopping by :)! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by The Empress Son, Brother, Hero

21st November 2012:
OK... ok. Let me just compose myself here. Wow.
As a twin myself, I relate to what George went through, because I can't even imagine what life would be like if I lost my sister. So reading stories about having lost Fred is hard sometimes. But this - this is amazing. I know it's not easy to write something from so many different points of view. Some people get caught up in repeating the same thoughts over and over but you didn't. The unique and tragic feelings of each character came through clearly and it is beautiful. A realistic view of a close knit family who has lost someone dear to them before their time.
My favorite parts were definitely Bill and Ginny. And Ron. I like the line when Ron says he wants to stay a few more months with George because he's never had to be alone. Like I said, I'm a twin, so I understand that feeling of never being alone. I can't imagine not living with my sister. We even work at the same job! This story felt personal and really reached out to me.
I saw this was featured on TGS, and I'm glad I popped by the read it. Lovely.
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Thank you so much for stopping by, as well for reviewing! I can't imagine what losing my sister would be like, and we're not even twins. So the idea of losing a twin, that person closer to you than anyone, seems so terrible. Bill's was the easiest for me to write, his and Charlie's, and Ginny was the most difficult so I'm really happy you think her section turned out well!

I absolutely didn't want to get repetitive, so thank you for saying that I avoided that!

Thank you again for stopping by and reviewing =)! I am so happy you liked this!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #11, by wytchkitty13 Son, Brother, Hero

20th November 2012:
This story randomly popped up so I decided to read it. I wanted to cry because I too miss Fred. I agree that it shouldn't have been Fred. It should have been Percy!

It was like this was a extra chapter like JK wrote it. I think you wrote the Weasleys perfectly. It's amazing how much emotion and feeling you put into this story.

Parts of it gave me chills, especially towards the end. Indeed, we will always miss Fred.

Author's Response: I am so happy you enjoyed this, and thank you so much for reviewing! Knowing you think I wrote the Weasleys well means more to me than I could tell you, because they are a family that is definitely a challenge for me!

Thank you again for stopping by!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #12, by Phoenix_feather123 Son, Brother, Hero

17th November 2012:
tag.

...This story was beautiful. I see almost no flaws in it. It is so touching how every family member +harry visits fred. You must be an amazing writer to be able to come up with this and write it so perfectly. And I am sorry my review is bad, but I am still in shock of what I read.

The last section tied it off and the last sentence finished it. I thought this was a (again) wonderful story and I am adding them to my favorites just because I can.

10/10
~Phoenix

Author's Response: I am so happy you liked this! It was a real challenge for me to write the Weasleys, so knowing they came off correctly means a lot to me!

And now, this review isn't bad what so ever!! It's very awesome! Not only are you making me all happy and gushy, but you pointed out what you like about it and that means so much to me!

Thank you so much, m'dear ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by someone___1 Son, Brother, Hero

6th November 2012:
That was.. Beautiful and sad at the same time. I LOVED it. A lot. Just, wow. Excellent job!!!

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm really happy you liked this, and thank so much you for taking time to leave your review!!!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #14, by Athene Goodstrength Son, Brother, Hero

29th October 2012:
Well JChrissy, you little missy...here I am. I had a little peek at the other reviews on this story, and I saw a couple mentioning me- saying that I was a lucky girl to have this written for me. Theyíre quite right. But my luck doesnít stop there (this is about to get soppy)... Iím SO lucky to have a friend like you. Real internet friends donít come along often, but when they do - they should all be like you. Youíre so encouraging, so funny, and I always look forward to your replies to my messages, even when Iím just moaning about work! Haha. So, thank you. For that and for this.

First off, if ever there was an opening passage to a story that says ďI AM GOING TO MAKE SARAH CRYĒ, this is it. A beautiful grave, which shouldnít have to be there... Fred, being close to home... The untold backstory of the Weasleys deciding where to bury him... Oh, man. Next, is it wrong that the image of Bill Weasley walking up a dewy hill in the morning, clutching a mug of tea in his big callous-y hands, probably wearing a chunky-knit sweater...maybe he has a Labrador now... uh... itís kind of attractive. I know, I know, heís visiting his little brotherís grave. But still. What is WRONG with me?! I love the idea of the Weasleys helping to clear up Hogwarts, and Billís job makes so much sense. This is another of your little JK Genius moments. Of *course* Bill helps to clear the curses lingering around the village and the grounds. Duh. The line about the family being one of nine - no, eight... ugh! RIGHT IN THE FEELS! I know itís not the same (at all!) but after my dad left I kept going to set the dinner table for four, and having to quickly put back one plate, or one set of cutlery, when I realised what Iíd done was just a horrible feeling.

Now, Charlie. Phwoar. I can see why you like writing Charlie. I like reading him. Heís a bit rougher around the edges than his brothers, and seems particularly physical when you wedge him between elegant Bill and cerebral Percy (oh god, that looks like Ďcerebral palsyí). Whatís great about this section is that you take a character about whom we donít know loads, and show him having a one-sided conversation... and yet you give us a great idea of the relationship he had with Fred. Oh, and the mention of Tonks and Remus was wonderful.

Poor, poor Percy. These boys really are beating themselves up, arenít they? But I guess thatís a natural reaction to grief. But poor Percy - he actually does have something to feel bad about. Iím glad that Fred knew before he died that Percy had changed his mind and returned to the family. In fact, Fred, who was one of Percyís greatest critics, was the one to welcome him back into the fold. That just goes to show the love these Weasley kids have for each other. Itís really touching and sad that Percy visits in the dead of night, like he feels that he doesnít deserve to spend time with Fred. I love the touch of Audrey being the grief counsellor (you are such a clever missy) - so even though Percy is miserable and hates himself, we know he has happiness to come.

Oh, George. You know, I was almost dreading getting to his part when I first read this story. Not because I thought it would be bad(!) but because I knew it would be heart-breaking. And oh, it was. I donít know if you did this on purpose, but I noticed that George is the only one who doesnít speak out loud during his segment. He and Fred never had to speak to know exactly what the other was thinking. His pain is just too much to even articulate. The image of George curled around that stone is so incredibly moving, and real... Itís just SO SAD. How could JKR do that to him?! How could she kill off FRED?! Gahhh. ďThey should have tilted his lips up before they buried him, because Fred had to smileĒ - Good Lord, woman. What are you trying to do to me?! Oh wait, I know. Youíre trying to make me cry. Well, mission accomplished.

Two things made me particularly love your Ron section. One, heís eating. Hahaha! Two, heís there with Hermione. Thank you for that. Sheís such an important part of his life, and she loved Fred too.

I really like your Ginny. Iíve always thought that she was the most like Fred, out of all the siblings (except George of course!). She has his brains, his wit, and his sense of mischief. Your idea of her being angry at everyone, even Harry - itís really good. Your characterization of Harry, and of being Harryís (ever-patient) girlfriend, is great!

Harryís part is so lovely. I love that you havenít made him this tragic hero, or this adult who suddenly knows everything - heís growing up, but heís still Harry. And yes, heís still beating himself up a bit, but thatís the nature of our Harry. I think partly, being brought up by Vernon and Petunia, itís no wonder that he believes the worst of himself so easily. Bless him. Thatís why people like the Weasleys are so important to him.

Ah, and then thereís the mama and papa of them all. Iím glad you included them - but Iím also glad you waited until 12 years later. I donít think I could have handled Mr and Mrs Weasley in the midst of their fresh grief. Your description of Molly, and the image of them sitting there, and Arthur kissing her temple... Oh God, I love the Weasleys SO MUCH. Louis and Arthur working on car engines together is one of the most adorable things ever. Write more Weasleys, please? Shall I just give you GG to finish? :P

The final two lines of the story are so peaceful, beautiful, sad, happy. Youíve done a wonderful job with ALL of the Weasleys, and the imagery throughout this story was just perfect. Every scene looked different in my head, even though it was the same setting throughout. Iím so honoured that you wrote this for me. Itís brilliant. Thank you.

Author's Response: Okay. Fine. I'm FINALLY replying this. But I don't want to because I just want to stare at it in my unanswered reviews section ♥

Awww you're going to make me all fuzzy/feely. I'm happy I can make you smile, even if you're laughing at my desire to yell at my uterus :P. It seems so weird now on those rare occasions we get too busy to message back for a few days.. and I feel like your mother wanted to message you asking if you're lying in a ditch somewhere...:P

I'm so happy you picked up on the 8 not 9 line! Mainly because it was one of the more feelsy parts for me when writing this. Okay so this doesn't compare to your dad or Fred, but when I was younger one of our cats got eaten by a coyote (my parents live in the woods). And she was my cat! And I'd randomly be like, oh where's Kalevra? And then I'd remember she was gone. Again, nothing compared to losing a brother or having your dad leave... but it's still that same kind of, oh wait-- moment. And I can imagine it happened a lot after this :(.

Charlieee. He and Bill are (And I could damn near swear by this) the only two Weasleys I am EVERY writing again. The rest are two hard. But these two I can do a better job of getting inside their heads (I think) and we don't know so much about them, so I can create a bit along the way.

yes yes yes! I did do the George not speaking on purpose! At first I didn't plan it that way, and I started writing his section, and nothing he wanted to say felt natural for the exact reason you said. He never had to tell Fred what he was thinking. He never had to try and explain his own emotions. Fred would know, and I like that idea continuing even past his death. And it just felt more right. And bah. His section was super sad for me to write because really, he lost the most :(.

Ahhh Ron was my scariest. Because he couldn't be over feelsy or not feelsy enough and gah. It's Ron. I don't write Ron. I read about Ron from your awesome keyboard, so it was just scary. Ginny felt a bit more natural, probably because I didn't have to worry so much about making the pain as immediate. Harry turning out well is all thanks to Dan, haha. I don't even think I was going to include him until Dan bullied me into it.

You have no idea how much it means that you think I've handled this bunch well ♥ I'm so proud of us for stepping into new characters that we've never written before, to write for eachother. And I could have never written this without reading all your Weasley fics (I actually reread most of them during this to get inspiration, haha!)

I am just on cloud nine still about this review, and about the amazing Sirius you wrote for me ♥ ♥ and PS! You're such a wonderful friend ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by Moondanser83 Son, Brother, Hero

23rd October 2012:
Here I am, as promised, with tissue in hand... ;)
Really... You're starting us off with Fred's headstone... I'm not supposed to have to sniffle this early in a story! LOL But you're right, Fred would have wanted his final resting place to be close to home.

"Fred Weasley, Son. Brother. Hero" - A perfect description of him *sob*

The thought that Bill would come talk to him every morning, even though they spent so much time apart during Fred's teen years makes for an incredibly bittersweet picture.

The idea that the Weasleys are actively involved in reclaiming Hogwarts is perfect, and honestly something I never really thought about. Obviously a lot of work would need to be done before the castle would be habitable again, but it's always been more of a passing thought if you know what I mean. I think this bit lines you (or someone else) up perfectly for a "Reclaiming Hogwarts" fic (and feel free to use that title if you decide to write it... LOL

Oh... numerical slip up *heart breaks*

And here's Bill, trying to take the blame for Fred's death... and Iím sobbing...

I can see him, as the oldest believing that it was his responsibility to protect the others. After all, I'm sure he spent the majority of his time growing up helping to look after them.

...And here comes the anger...You're doing a great job with making the stages of grief feel natural here.
**
And we're on to Charlie...

You're going to torture me with each Weasley one by one aren't you... I hope I have enough tissues left by the time I get to Molly!

The difference between the way the brothers are handling Fred's death is a jolt... but a good one.
Bill, being older, still has a bit of anger, but it's at himself... Charlie here seems full of rage at himself and at the world in general for pulling his own life out from under him. But when he collapses, you can feel the pain and grief wash over him, drowning him. *sniffle*

**
And Percy's opening line has me reaching for a new tissue...
The guilt he feels is heart breaking, and the fact the he honestly believes, and thinks George believes, it should have been him makes you ache for him.

"What if he thought that Percy deserted him again like he had for so many years already?" - So much guilt :(

..Wait... Audrey? Isn't that Percy's wife's name... Oh! You sneaky dog you!

And now we're back to tears... "It should have been me..." every time he says it I cry a little harder.

**
Oh no... George... Can I just skip this part? Please... No? *sigh* Fine, but I'm grabbing a fresh tissue!

"He'd barely gotten used to being just George..." - That line right there brings it all home...How do you live with only half of yourself?

The fact that George is leaning on the Trio and Ginny to just get through the day is so realistic I can see it happening. Ron and Harry, his rocks to lean on, Ginny and Hermione to make him laugh, to show him that he was still able to, seems very natural.

I admit, I read this part as quickly as I could... and still, by the end, when George was clutching his brother's headstone, I was in full on sobs...

**
And now for Ron... oh dear... :(
I love how he's just catching Fred up on the day's gossip and activity. It seems so Ronish - Yes, his brother is gone, but it's not going to stop him from telling him everything. Maybe Ron has a better grasp on this than the others because he spent the majority of him life 1) preparing for something like this and 2) being in constant life and death situations alongside Harry and Hermione. Maybe those experiences gave him the little edge he needed to get through this... Then again, he may just have the emotional range of a teaspoon... LOL

Oh, and here comes Hermione... Just when I managed to stop crying for a minute =P

Leave it to her to make sure Fred hears about Ron's own accomplishments... and then you had to slip that line in one me.. didn't you! *sniffle*

**
I like that you have Ginny give us a set place in time here. It makes it easier to sort of track the family grieving progress. As we get further out it seems to be getting easier for them to just come and talk to Fred about everyday things... but the heaviness and sadness is still there... and always will be.

She's the first one to mention blaming Harry, at least at first, but we know that it must have crossed everyone's mind at one point or another... she's just the one to say it out loud, Then her talking about Harry blaming himself... again, you're keeping true to character.

"Fred was the perfect twenty year old, frozen in time." - Isn't that how we always remember those we've lost? Everything they did that annoyed us, or angered us, just fades away and this is what you're left with.

**
And here comes Harry... at least he starts the conversation with happy news...
Aww... he is looking after Teddy as promised... and, we're sniffling again...

This conversation with Fred is killing me a little.

All those little insecurities shoved away buried beneath determination is the essence of Harry, but the visual of him sitting there telling all this to Fred, making sure not to leave him out even all these years later, still breaks my heart.

...Why do you insist on killing me with their parting lines? Years later, they've all managed to move on the best they can, but hereís Harry, still blaming himself... *sob*

**
Oh Merlin save me... here comes Molly and Arthur...

Twelve years later and you can tell that the visits aren't daily anymore, but Fred's not forgotten. This is a lovely, yet again bittersweet, scene with Molly and Arthur catching him up on what all his nieces and nephews are doing. Then we had to start talking about Fred II didn't we... *sniffle*

And we end it all with one last sob.. That line, especially coming from Arthur, is truly the perfect ending to this beautifully written, heart wrenching story.
Amazing job my dear!
*applaud*

Author's Response: Oh my gosh how do I even respond to this? This is such an awesome review. First of all, thank you!!!

I really worried about Molly and Arthur's section feeling boring, so I'm extra happy that you liked that one. Writing any of the Weasleys that isn't Bill or Charlie just generally terrifies me; your supportive review was just what I needed with this ♥

I didn't mean to make you sad! Well, I did, but I didn't actually want you to be sad. If that makes sense, haha. Writing Charlie and Bill's was my favorite, probably just because I'm more comfortable in their skin. Charlie especially felt to me like he was just angry. So angry. Hurt obviously, but so mad at *everything*.

I can't imagine that at some point, none of them blamed Harry. He did amazing things and he's the only reason more of them aren't dead. I'm sure they would have been the first family to be exterminated if Voldemort did succeed in his rise to power, but still. For just a few split seconds, how could you not wonder what it would have been like if he would have been part of another family? Bah. I just feel so sad for all of them.

Thanks again for stopping by, darling! And for leaving such an awesome review ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by Robin Kight Son, Brother, Hero

22nd October 2012:
I enjoyed reading your story. It drew me in and left me with good feelings about how the family survived, and at how you, the writer, remembered that time will heal.
Thank you for your writing talent.

Author's Response: You have no idea how happy seeing this review made me! I am so happy you enjoyed this, and that it left you with good feelings regarding the Weasleys healing as best as they can. Fred was a hard loss, but they stuck together.

Thanks so much for stopping by, it really made my night ♥

Jami


 Report Review

Review #17, by potterfan310 Son, Brother, Hero

19th October 2012:
Oh my god this is beautiful! ♥
I've got tearsm it is absolutley perfect and I love each of the Weasley's little moments with Fred.

You've characterised them all brilliantly. My favourite bits were when Harry visited him to tell him Ginny being pregnant and at the end with Molly and Arthur, talking about each of their grandchildren - so sweet ♥

I really like how time has gone past every time they visit - (I lost 3 very dear people to me in the space of 4 years and there isn't a day that goes by where I don't of them) - You've shown it really well and it's relateable.

Beautifully written ♥
10/10 ♥
-Potterfan310
Soph x

Author's Response: Hi there! This review was so awesome. I don't even want to reply to it because I love seeing it in my 'unanswered reviews' tab!

I am so happy you liked Harry's, because he was a pain! My beta is the only reason he turned out okay, haha.

Thank you so much again for stopping by and I'm thrilled that you liked this ♥

Jami


 Report Review

Review #18, by CambAngst Son, Brother, Hero

18th October 2012:
Augh! Fred is such a sensitive topic for me. Partly because he was such a "tear your heart out and stomp on it" choice for which Weasley wouldn't survive the war, but also because of the guilt that I always feel he inspires in Harry. You captured that feeling again and again in this, through the eyes and the voices of so many different characters. It's like you pulled a lot of this right out of my heart-broken reaction.

Bill's reaction was exactly what I'd expect from the elder brother. The overachiever. The one who accomplished everything he'd ever set out to do in life, the one who got the girl that everyone else could only lust after, the one who always felt responsible for all of his younger siblings.

In the midst of it, I really liked his explanation of what's going on at Hogwarts. I always felt like putting the school back together and making it safe was a Herculean effort.

Charlie - This was my second-favorite section, I think. His reactions are so raw and primal. Exactly what you'd expect from the guy who plays with dragons all day long. And he carries the extra heartbreak from his love for Tonks that he seems to have never quite given up. All of the things he wanted to do with Fred, all of the missed opportunities...

Percy's self-torment was actually the most intense for me. Because I'm pretty sure that there's a part of me that believes that he's right. He was the one who turned his back on the rest of his family. He was the one who sided with Fudge and indirectly helped Voldemort solidify his power. His only contribution to the final battle was, I believe, stunning Pius Thicknesse, a guy who may well have been Imperiused? I like the angst and the bitter revulsion he feels. For some reason, probably because I wear glasses, I loved the little moment where feels tempted to snap them in half. Trust me, for somebody with bad vision, it's a self-destructive act that has really strong psychological implications. And introducing {drum roll}, Audrey!

I thought the decision not to have George say a word was brilliant. I wouldn't have thought of that. But the fact that he and Fred never really had to speak to know what each other were thinking made it seem like a really natural way for him to behave. The way you characterized his interactions with other people and the emotions they inspired in him were great. Of course he's hurting, why would anyone think otherwise? And the way that Ron and Harry, Ginny and Hermione make it possible for him to get through the day, very touching.

I know you were worried about capturing Ron's voice, but I think you got it just about right. The way that he recognizes George's feelings toward Angelina was exactly the sort of thing that Ron would notice. And the way he accidentally insults Hermione was perfect. I thought her entrance into "Ron's scene" actually added quite a bit. She always was the voice of the better part of him, I thought. And helping him to be proud of his career plans, of the way that he's actually going to move on with his life, was quintessentially her.

Ginny's section was my favorite, really. Part of that just came down to timing. I feel like hers was set long enough after the end of the war for a certain amount of healing to have taken place, but soon enough that those raw emotions were still pretty close to the surface. "We can remember some of the things without it ending in all of us crying." - I think that line really says it best. The stroke of absolute genius was the way she explains her feelings toward Harry. In their deepest moments of grief, I don't see how any of the Weasleys wouldn't have had those feelings. That angry, injured voice in the back of their minds screaming "Why us? Why were we the ones who had to take in The Boy Who Lived?" Smashed plates and making up over ice cream... sounds like a memorable night for Ginny and Harry! But what really seals the deal is her realization that life would go on for the rest of them but Fred would always be the same, that he would never get to experience the changes in life. That was almost too sad for words.

I thought you picked a great moment in Harry's life for his section. Where did you get that idea? ;) Everything about that section was quintessential Harry. He wants to move on. He wants to live and be happy, for himself and for everyone else. He wants to honor Fred's memory. But there's a part of him that just can't let go. That will never stop blaming himself for Fred and everyone else who died. That's Harry Potter. Aunt Petunia's voice will never be completely erased from his the back of mind.

Which brings us to the close. I really enjoyed Arthur and Molly giving Fred the run-down of everything that's happening in clan Weasley. So many grandchildren, and there seem to be little bits and pieces of Fred in most of them. There's no more fitting tribute to a guy who loved life so much than to see the essence of who he was continue to be. Arthur's final words sum it all up perfectly.

Your writing was lovely in this. Sarah is very lucky to have somebody like you who can produce such an amazing story and dedicate it to the friendship that the two of you have built. I enjoyed every word. Very well done!

Author's Response: I don't anyone will ever beat my sadness for Sirius, but Fred's a close second. More for George, I think, because he should have never had to try and live without his twin. I couldn't imagine losing that kind of closeness.

Charlie was my favorite reaction to write. I just feel like he's so much less contained than any of his other brothers, and like you said, raw. He's mad, and he's not going to act like he's anything but.

CoB was the closest I've ever been to liking Percy, but you saw how hard it was for me to forgive what he was doing despite the mind control aspect. He's one of my least favorite characters. I don't think he has any sort of backbone, and he's far from reliable. But it's still sad to think of him wishing he'd be the one that was no longer living. Poor Percy :(.

Well my awesome beta might have suggested to throw Harry into the self loathing put.. ;). I'll never be able to write him. I just don't know what goes on in his head most of the time, which is odd since I spent so many years in it. I think part of it is him being portrayed inaccurately so often in Fan fiction, I'd probably start to enjoy him more if I reread the books. But you absolutely saved me with that section ;).

I really did enjoy writing this, but I can say without a doubt I'll never do something so Weasley again. Haha. It's so difficult for me to try and get these people write. Writing Bill and Charlie is fun, because I feel like i can manipulate their characters a bit, but the rest just don't come naturally. Especially Ginny. She was a pain to try and figure out.

Thanks for all the help and awesome support, darling ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by manno_malfoy Son, Brother, Hero

18th October 2012:
So, one day, when you're all caught up in book 2 of Before They Fall or something like that, I'll steal this story and claim it's mine, okay? Great, we have a deal then! Alright, I'm /probably/ just kidding, but right at this moment, I kind of wish I wasn't.

JAMI! ALL THE FEELS! This is why I usually avoid Fred-centric stories! They make me feel like sitting in a corner and sobbing because the world is just so cruel and because it should've been Percy! It never should've been Fred, and it never should've been George who has to live with a severed heart and a no-longer-existent twin brother, AND THIS IS ALL YOUR FAULT BECAUSE IT'S YOUR STORY THAT'S MAKING ME THINK OF ALL THIS.

But anyway. I love how smoothly everything went, how the time passed as you switched from character to character and how the events tied in across them all. It made the story so dimensional because each glimpse was different than the other and told different stories that, in the end, conveyed the same thing: they didn't want him gone; they never TRULY got over him, no matter how many years have passed, no matter who is standing above the grave, no matter how much they've achieved in their lives.

And it's just so touching how you put together everyone's feelings and let those feelings define them! You could really tell apart all the different characters -especially Ron because he very Ron-y.
And I love how you brought Audrey and Angelina into a couple of scenes, and also Hermione into the Ron scene!

Now, the George part! HE DIDN'T EVEN SAY ANYTHING! And you know what? It makes a lot of sense! What would you say to dead you? They know you so well that you don't even need to say anything to let them know how you feel, what you think. And it was just so painful.

Oooh! I spotted a couple of typos, which I think were the only problems here, so I thought I'd point them out.
"he had nothing left to stay " I think 'stay' should've been 'say'.
"Mum had been the one that suggest" I think 'suggest' should've been 'suggested' but there's a chance I'm wrong.

Also, imagine how cool it'd be to have that dead person that you go to and just let everything off your chest and know that they're not going to judge you! Okay, maybe 'cool' is the wrong word, but you do get what I mean, right? It's like having a penpal that never responds, or that imaginary friend that you recite monologues in front of or something! He was practically helping them all get over their death by just being... dead. Does that make sense?

Also, you know what helped make this story really special? You know how I always tell you you're so good with the 'darker' scenes in BTF? Well, this felt like a blend of dark and hopeful and you've made the dark part appear in the form of speech and feelings rather than descriptions of people and rooms, but it worked out very beautifully to get all the emotions across!

Anyway, I don't even know how you managed to write this, and I don't think you know how deeply it's touched me because I can't really put that into words! And Sarah is really lucky to have gotten such an awesome story and I really do believe she'll love it! Because it's an awesome story and you're an awesome author, and I can't wait to see what awesome thing you'll be writing next!

-Manno

Author's Response: You are killing me with these amazing reviews! I DON'T EVEN KNOW HOW TO RESPOND ANYMORE!

I am so happy you liked that George didn't even say anything. I started writing his and any kind of dialogue just felt ridiculous. Did he ever talk to Fred about anything before? Probably not because they were thinking the same things! They didn't need to verbalize it all because they just knew! And that kind of closeness being taken away is terrible :(. It makes me want to cry :(. But it just really felt more appropriate for George to just be there and let Fred be there with him. Bah. It's too sad :(.

Okay I totally thought the same thing as you! With the dead person confident! I mean, you know they won't be repeating it, but at the same time you still get to say it. Clearly we're just creeps that think a dead person style journal would be cool (for lack of a more appropriate word :P )

I am so happy you liked this ♥ writing the Weasleys was terrifying for me, and I can say that Charlie and Bill are the only two I'd be writing from here on out, but it was a nice experience.

Thanks for all the awesome reviews, darling ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by SpellDust Son, Brother, Hero

18th October 2012:
wow... this actually made me cry.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review darling, and I'm sorry I made you cry!



Jami


 Report Review

Review #21, by caoty Son, Brother, Hero

18th October 2012:
Well, this is lovely.

I love almost everything about this. Your characterisation of everyone - even Charlie, whom we don't really see in canon... unless you count that one fic as canon... is absolutely believable and wonderful et cet et cet.

My favourite part was Percy's. Audrey as a grief counsellor! That's perfect and I never would have thought of it so well done you.

I'm also really digging (Jesus Christ, that sounds hilarious in my accent) the whole repetition you've got going on here, with the epitaph and Charlie's fairly accurate assessment of why things go wrong and Percy's constant angsting about how it should have been him, etc. It's very poetic. I love it.

That said, you've got a few Americanisms in there, and there was this one line that just doesn't click with me:

>...Ron finished, a single tear slipping over the freckles of his face.

Ummm... elegant display of emotions and Ron... I dunno, I always felt like he's the kind of person who'd either just straight-up start blubbering with snot and red eyes and all that, or not cry at all. Maybe that's just me, though.

Anyway. Apart from that. I do love this, very much, and I'm really glad I read it. :)

Author's Response: Hahah your part about Ron made me giggle. I was thinking more of him trying to hold his tears back, which is why only one came out, but now it does seem very elegant :P. Ahh I wish you would have pointed out the Americanisms!!! I tried to search through this, but the only thing I could think of is ice cream? Haha

Thank you so much for stopping by, m'dear! Your reviews always make my day!


 Report Review

Review #22, by darkkid Son, Brother, Hero

18th October 2012:
*I'm here from the Review Tag thread!

This was seriously one of the saddest things I've read in a LONG time. I'm still in tears.

You captured the characters SO well. All of their feelings and actions were exactly as you'd expect them to be. It was perfect.

What I loved most was Arthur and Molly's part. It was so sad and lovely and just overwhelmingly emotional.

I have only good things to say about this story. Truly lovely.

Author's Response: Hi darling! First of all, thank you for the awesome banner! I'm so happy you enjoyed this, thank you so much for stopping by ♥

 Report Review

Review #23, by 1917farmgirl Son, Brother, Hero

18th October 2012:
So, as a general rule, I don't read many "After Fred Dies" fics. I cried enough the first time it happened; I don't like to relive it over and over again. And I just prefer my twins both alive and making mischief.

I'm glad I made an exception for this story, however, as it was beautifully if heatbreakingly, written.

There's just something that breaks my heart each time I think of the Weasleys all going on, living life, moving forward, and Fred...not. That is exactly the feeling you captured in this story. I know they would learn to go on with life - be happy, learn to live again...but as you expressed so well, it would never be the same again. Not exactly.

You have very descriptive writing with no wasted words. I like that. It's something I struggle with in my own writing and it always makes me rather jealous to find writers who can say things so beautifully without padding in a bunch of extra fluff that's not needed.

Great fic. Congratulations, you should be very proud of it.

Now, please excuse me while I go look for some tissues and have a real cry over Fred...AGAIN.

P.S. I'm sorry this review is so short. Don't take it as a reflection of my reaction to your story, which was supurb. It was just a really, really long day and I'm having trouble stringing two coherent words together at the moment.

Author's Response: Hi there my dear! I am so happy that you made an exception, this review was an awesome way to wake up!

Haha I know the feeling about having trouble stringing words together, and this review was perfect, thank you so much for stopping by ♥

Jami


 Report Review

Review #24, by ohmymerlin Son, Brother, Hero

17th October 2012:
Excuse me as I go sob my heart out.

Seriously, this was so sad but so sweet! You portrayed the characters so well, it's hard to believe that J. K. Rowling didn't write this! It's THAT good!

I loved the progression between all the years, it was so realistic. My family lost a member and even though it's been eight years, it's still hard to deal with. I think you portrayed it very well.

The way Molly and Arthur talked about their grandchildren was so sweet, it seemed very realistic.

Anyway, great work! This one-shot was beautiful!

10/10! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! I really wanted to make it obvious that, though they moved on, they never actually got over Fred.

Ahhh I was so worried about the characters! I'm so happy you think I portrayed them well!!

Thank you so much m'dear ♥

Jami


 Report Review

Review #25, by Faith100z Son, Brother, Hero

17th October 2012:
Oh my goshhh. You've turned me into a blubbering idiot. Gah.

Your writing is just amazing! The progression as time passes is realistic, but I like how it's still sad twelve years later, instead of just being completely healed and happy-go-lucky. If that makes any sense :P

It flowed so well, and the characterizations were very good, very true to canon. Harry especially, I thought. My favourite lines were Charlie's about Tonks and Harry's about visiting with his son. *cue sobfest* :P

gahh, really bad review. But I did love it, fantastic job!

- F

Author's Response: This review was such an awesome surprise! Thank you so much!!!

Yes, that makes perfect sense and is exactly what I wanted! I don't think you'd ever completely get over the death of a sibling or child, so I wanted it to be obvious that, though life went on, Fred was never forgotten.

You have no idea how thrilled I am that you liked the characterizations! I haven't written the Weasley family before, so it was pretty dang scary! Haha!

Thank you again for stopping by, you made my night ♥

Jami


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login