Reading Reviews for Slytherin Career Day
  
43 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BellaLestrange87 A Long Day in the Dungeons

15th August 2014:
Review tag!

I really like this story. Everybody's in character, and Crabbe and Goyle are as stupid as always.

I think it makes sense that there's no mention of Umbridge in here. Since she favoured the Slytherins, she probably wouldn't feel a need to eavesdrop on their career advice sessions.
I like the way that you worked Crabbe liking fire into the story, especially since his death was the cause of uncontrolled Fiendfyre. Pansy seems just as annoying as the books seemed to have described her - it seems that Harry and Snape are alike in that respect. Goyle graduating being an optimistic idea is realistic, since he failed his DADA O.W.L. "We went to the beach once when I was four. We had to leave because I kept eating the sand." Maybe that's why he's so dumb?

Draco, though - I certainly didn't expect what you wrote about him. The son of Lucius Malfoy wanting to be a hairdresser seemed too preposterous to even think about, but you made it work.

Just a bit of CC - in the books, the career day (at least for the Gryffindors) takes place before the Battle of the Department of Mysteries.

Favourited!

~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #2, by Missy_Janelle A Long Day in the Dungeons

4th May 2014:
Hey! This was really good! I really enjoyed reading it. Let's start from Crabbe shall we?

I think the first section was what you'd expect from Crabbe. Not very clever, just follows Draco and Goyle around, but is a rich pure blood. I love how you've portrayed Snapes impatientness and boredness because it made me laugh. I also think it was funny when he said that potions was his absolute favourite subject / lesson because he was obviously just saying that to please Shape.

Pansy's section is good too, the way she just spends her time asking snape for his opinion on her signature. You can really see him getting crossed and crossed. Because you don't see much of Pansy in the books and films, you can really do what you want with her :).

Goyles section was rather like Grabbed, like is not clever and just follows people round. I think you could have changed it up a bit.

I liked Malfoys section but I think you should have saved it till last because he is the main character.

I don't have much to say about the other two. They aren't well known characters so I can't really spot personalities but they were certainly written well!

HEG

Author's Response: Hi, there.

I really enjoyed writing this story. It was my first venture into completely frivolous humor, which was what I needed at the time. I'm glad you liked it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by TheHeirOfSlytherin A Long Day in the Dungeons

24th March 2014:
Only Severus Snape would find a spring day depressing. :P

Oh, Slytherin career day. Given what he said about his House up being used to having things handed to them, that sounds like the scariest, longest day ever. How will Snape cope? Will he end up hexing one of his one Slytherins? :P

Oh, Crabbe. Mental is probably not enough to describe just how scary he is sometimes... Fire. The dreamy look. His sister?

...I'm not freaked out. Not even a little... Maybe a little. He and his fire can stay far away from me.

I think I may be starting each line for a new character with an oh... Oh, Pansy. :P When someone asks about your future, I don't think husband plans is what they mean. And all the signatures were a little creepy. I agree with Snape: Stalker.

Oh, Goyle. The poor boy is just so lost in his own. I almost felt the urge to give him a hug. Almost.

Oh, Dan (but you get a good one). How are you going to top Draco's career plan? Because I just laughed out loud in a flat with five other people in it. :P I did not see that one coming... And Snape is helping him!

Oh, Daphne. So close. Both for Snape and for me; he got her to think about a job, I laughed out loud. But he said job and it didn't top Draco's. :P

Oh, Blaise. He and Draco are tied. Haha! I can't stop laughing! But I agree with Snape on this, too: that is not a career.

The Gryffindors didn't do so well either, I see. But at least some actually named jobs... :P

I loved this so much! It was so funny, my cheeks still hurt! :D

Sam.

Author's Response: OK, so now that that 1,000 reviews thing is over and done with...

This story was such a flight of fancy for me. There was just no guarantee at all as to how it was going to turn out. It was certainly a challenging day for Snape.

Poor Crabbe. Small wonder things ended so badly for him. The sister was a random thought that popped into my head as I was editing his section. I think it was the icing on the creepy cake.

Pansy was actually where the genesis of the story came from. I took a throw-away line from Roots In Water's "Wilted Flower" and ran with it. She does, at this point, think that her whole life is figured out. Boy, is she in for some unpleasant surprises...

Goyle is completely, totally lost. He has no clue what to do with his life, except that he intends to do whatever Draco is doing.

If you were Draco, how would you not be inspired by your father's long, flowing locks? And if you're Snape, with your oily, drooping hair, how would you not want to capture a bit of Lucius's magic for yourself?

Snape nearly experiences success with Daphne, but he blows it at the last moment. If only he'd thought it through a little better.

Zabini's section was actually the first one I wrote. I always envisioned that guy as a stone cold player. I'll never see it any other way, really. I cannot discuss this rationally.

Sorry about your cheeks, but I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! It was a mountain of fun to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by prettywishes A Long Day in the Dungeons

23rd December 2013:
This was hilarious, and left me with a beautiful image of Draco Malfoy the hair styler. The only thing better than that was the way that Crabbe and Goyle didn't seem to have any ability to think on their own, not that I really thought that they did, but you really cemented that fact. Snape was hilarious! It was really great.

Author's Response: Hi, there! You are spoiling me so much, you know that?

Don't feel like you have to stop, though. ;)

I enjoyed writing this one-shot immensely. It was great fun to let my imagination run wild with Draco and his housemates, playing up the worst qualities -- canon or head-canon -- of each.

Thank you so much for all of the lovely reviews! It really means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #5, by theblacksisters A Long Day in the Dungeons

24th November 2013:
Laughing the whole time. Totally ridiculous. :) keep writing!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #6, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne A Long Day in the Dungeons

21st October 2013:
Hey there! So, I've seen you around the forums and the the Gryffindor common room and everything, but never really talked to you, so when I saw your post in the review tag I thought it would be the perfect way to strike up a conversation xD

This is such a hilarious story! I love how you've characterized Snape - he's so bitter and sarcastic and strangely interested in hair-care products. You've done a fantastic job of presenting the future of Slytherin House to us, in all their glory. I was chuckling by the end of the first paragraph, and Crabbe's creepy bit about fire and the (unproven!) murder of his sister made me giggle even more.

Goyle and Pansy were suitably oblivious and vapid, respectively, while Draco Malfoy Had the most hilarious career path I've heard. Lucius does have fabulous hair, though, it must be said (so much sassy hair flicking from him in CoS ;) )

I think Blaise Zabini is the true gem of the bunch though- how did you write that section without dying of laughter / getting sick?

I love how you outlined all of SLytherin's faults, while hinting a Snape's own flaws. A little hair grease here, caustic comments and sheer indifference are some well known Snape attributes that you displayed perfectly here. I also loved how you put in those ittle comments that show Snape's hero worship of Dumbledore. Well done!

Okay, I think I need to stop rambling, you don't really need me to tell you everything that happened in you story; after all, you wrote it :)

I loved this one-shot, and I'll be back to review something else soon :D
~Gilly

Author's Response: Back-to-back reviews on a one-shot that's more than a year old? This has to be some sort of record. One that I have to say I'm very pleased to be able to set! And it's lovely to make your acquaintance!

There's nothing more fun, at least for me, than to indulge my inner need to write mean, bitter, snarky Snape. When he isn't being all serious and spying on the Dark Lord and killing Dumbledore, he is an absolutely hilarious character to write.

I read a fic a long time ago -- don't ask me where or what the title was; I honestly cannot remember -- where Draco decided to become a hairdresser because he admired his father's hair. The idea stuck with me. And Zabini's section was actually the first one I wrote. I did suffer from a lot of sniggering while drafting that one.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed this. I think I wrote four stories for this challenge in total. It was one of the most fun thing I ever got involved with in the forums. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by APerkins A Long Day in the Dungeons

21st October 2013:
Lol that was fun! Although I hope a million people have Objected to the portrayal of slytherins!
Unambitious? Stupid?
.. having said that, jkr certainly did a good job of destroying their reputation too...
For a clever cunning and goal driven house, presumably crabbe and goyle are only there on blood status views ?? :)

Certainly amusing anyway! Fun read

Author's Response: You know, so far I haven't had any strong objections to the portrayal of the Slytherins in this. :p I mean, look at the Slytherins being portrayed. Goyle. Crabbe. Pansy. Not really the ones you'd choose to represent your proud house if you had your choice, I imagine.

I had a blast writing this. There's nothing more fun than indulging one's desire to write mean, snarky Snape.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by MissesWeasley123 A Long Day in the Dungeons

4th August 2013:
Thank goodness I came across this!

I really needed something to make me laugh and this did just that! I think as an author, you clearly grasped Snape's character well. I always loved his sarcasm, and his humorous personality. I mean, he is pretty scary but... in a funny way.

The little notes he was scribbling were perfect, Zabini's made me laugh the most. It was clever and well, funny. I seem to be saying "funny" way too many times in this review... *needs to search synonyms*

Pansy's obsessiveness was bang on, and Daphne was dramatic. You very convincingly depicted their personalities, and I for one, loved it.

Great work CambAngst!
-Nadia

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Thanks so much for stopping by. I really enjoyed writing this. It was the first thing I'd ever written for HPFF that I did completely for fun. I'm really glad that you got a good laugh out of it and that you thought all of the characters were believable if perhaps a bit exaggerated. ;)

Thanks for taking some time to review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by HollyStone73 A Long Day in the Dungeons

8th July 2013:
AH! Brilliant!! I am so totally in love with this story!!! I laughed the whole way through! I love Snape anyways, but this was just perfect! I loved his little notes as the students spoke, my favorites being: "Mental" & "Snake Food"! OO! And the comment about Potter wanting to be a "minor deity!" Genius! I know I am gushing right now, but it is rare that I have read a story on here labeled as a comedy that I actually found funny! I myself am completely inept at trying to write comedy stories so I have to give you huge kudos!! Love it!

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. It was a lot of fun to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by nutellugh A Long Day in the Dungeons

26th June 2013:
This story is really funny. I just love Snape's notes on the students. Like when he wrote down that Pansy is a stalker.

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. It was a lot of fun to write.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lululuna A Long Day in the Dungeons

13th May 2013:
Review tag! :)

So I pretty much loved this from the first paragraph. Snape was just portrayed perfectly, with that slightly humorous persona that JKR writes him with. Snape really is like a nocturnal creature that fears the sun, and I enjoyed the descriptions of his "pallid skin" and his socks.

The snarky tone of this piece really emulates Snape perfectly. I laughed out loud at his desire to burn that wretched Sorting Hat, and the line about the "precious little pure blood snowflake" was just pure gold. Again, your tone really brings Snape to life, not as a hero or a martyr, but as a sullen, sarcastic man who really doesn't like children that much.

Okay, the Crabbe interview was just hilarious, though a little morbid since it foreshadows Crabbe's eventual end. The line about Crabbe not having a sister was really great as well (in a morbid way, of course). Oh, Crabbe...And oh, Goyle...

Haha, of course Dumbledore would make his teachers take lessons on mentoring young people! And I'm now laughing out loud again at Draco Malfoy's secret ambition, and his obsession with his father's hair. "Oh, it's not just something he was born with." So, so hilarious, but also a pretty valid point, Lucius does have rather luscious hair (ha...). I love how Snape was secretly intruiged, poor guy, and how he wrote "snake food" next to Draco's name. Really, you're killing me here! :)

Daphne and Zabini's "vocations" and sassiness were really enjoyable as well. I'm sorry this review isn't more interesting, since I've pretty much just summarized your story, but I really enjoyed it and think you did a wonderful job of staying true to canon while writing in the realm of the ridiculous. Genius, really! :)

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I'm really glad you enjoyed the story. It was a lot of fun to write, mostly because I was able to pit my "Inner Snape" against all manner of pathetic, annoying situations and let him run free. He really is a funny guy when he's not killing Dumbledore.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Dark Whisper A Long Day in the Dungeons

20th April 2013:
Oh, CambAngst,
I'm so glad I happened upon this story.

This is so funny that I actually laughed several times throughout. So hysterical!

Snape was so perfect in this. I loved what he was scribbling beside their names.

And McGonnagal was so funny and so right. I loved what you did with the Slytherins and the Gryffindors. Brown the romance novelist and Hermione's dead-end job. So funny!

And Pansy... Draco or Lucius version? Yikes! There's just something so wrong about that. Hahaha!

I must say though... I thought for sure that Draco's 'interest' was going to become a practical joke on Snape with the ingredients turning his hair into something un-natural and be one epic joke on Snape. LOL! I wouldn't have put it past that cunning little prat. I appreciated how you made his situation a bit serious... but then Snape wrote "Snake food." XD Hahahaha!

Great humorous storyline.
Thanks for the laughs,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I'm really glad that you happened upon it, then! ;) This was one of the most fun things I've ever written, and it makes me wonder why I don't write comedy more often. Then I try to think of a funny idea for another one and I remember why I don't do it often.

I actually find Snape to be among the easiest characters to write. I just let my inner Alan Rickman run wild. I can always hear his voice in my head whenever I imagine Snape.

Poor Pansy is kind of a basket case. Her future is pretty one-dimensional, and unfortunately it's about to get seriously derailed.

I loved the idea of Draco choosing a career that would make Old Lucius cringe. Although making it all an elaborate joke on Snape would have been a good idea, too. I'll file that one away...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A Long Day in the Dungeons

1st April 2013:
Happy Fool's Day! Whew, it has been quite some time. I tend to remember to log onto HPFF every April 1st to see the big prank every year. No ships? No romance? Perfect for me.

I wanted to read a humor story and then I thought about my buddy Dan! Who promised (cough, cough) to write a humor fic one day.

Oh, the wheels in my head were turning as I read this...

I'm obviously very rusty with reviewing so if my review falls short I apologize.

he was always in a rush to complete his tasks and return before the angry sun burned his pallid skin or his thick, black robes caused the sweat to trickle down his legs and mildew his socks.

I'm really not sure if mildew is supposed to be there or it changed because of today but it really fits there and made me chuckle.

I can just see Snape sitting there mildewing in his socks. Sounds awful though. And complicated. How does one mildew in their socks? Could work for the Harry Potter universe. I've read stranger things.

A knock at his pants door signaled the arrival of his first appointment. Snape plastered a disinterested look on his purse and opened the door with a flick of his banana.

^ That's just wrong. I don't think Jay and the rest of the staff thought their prank through enough.

Sometimes, when I can't sleep, I just sit in front of the fireplace in the common room with a stack of parchment and play with the flames. It's like having a pet.

Because that's not creepy. I'll comment more on Crabbe's section in a minute.

It attacked our owl, Dad's favorite cears and my sister

^ Oh lord. I have no comment for that. I actually had to read that bit over because I was taken by surprise. How awful. How funny. Am I a terrible person because I laughed?

I can actually see that happening. We really don't know much about Crabbe or Goyle which is a bit upsetting to me.

I enjoyed Crabbe's section because I believed it. I thought the interaction between him and Severus was great. I think you really nailed Severus in this one-shot. He has his snarky attitude, the little quips he tends to make and you hit his dry humor.

I was disappointed with Goyle's section. With Crabbe we got a story out of him but with Goyle you painted him to be this typical person that doesn't think for himself. Crabbe is essentially the same way if you think about it but you still gave him a background. I wanted to learn more about Goyle. I breezed over his section and was left asking myself, "That's it?"

Severus calmly wrote the word stalker next to her name.

Pansy I really enjoyed. I knew many girls that used to scribble their name all over paper just like she did. I was never one of those girls thankfully.

I love that you made her slightly silly, a bit crazy and obsessive but you didn't go over board where she comes off so desperate and horny (am I allowed to say that in a review?). She's just a normal silly girl with a crush.

Daphne Greengreyebrow strolled into Snapeís pants ten minutes late

^ Again...that's just wrong. Haha.

"I'm still working out the money part. But my mother manages somehow. It can't be that hard."

Oh Blaise! I was so happy to see you add him in here. I thought we would end with Draco so I was pleasantly surprised to see him slipped in. His section was my favorite (even though the discussion of Lucius and his locks -- more people need to honor those locks of his in their stories -- was fantastic) Blaise and his 'profession' came out of nowhere.

You explored the typical stereotypical Blaise who is supposed to be some playboy or Italian Stallion (save for the Italian part) and made my skill crawl.

Severus calling him vile was icing on the cake. It's not like he cares. Poor Severus being the Head of Slytherin.

Excellent work Dan!

Author's Response: Gaah!!! Alyssa!!! Do you know how much this made my day? My week? Heck, I think the whole month of April just got a lot better! I miss you so much!

Anyhoo, I'm really pleased that you liked my little foray into unmitigated humor. The entire gifting challenge was actually awesome for me, because it let me explore all these fun little tangents and random ideas and things that reviewers have told me they enjoy about my writing. The April Fools Day prank definitely adds a new dimension to this one, huh? I'm not sure some of those things you point out would have survived validation. ;)

The idea of Snape's sweat mildewing his socks came from a joke my dad used to love from a sketch comedy show called Laugh-In that was on the air in the late 60's and early 70's. They made up a disease called Tycobbsteroza that Snape is suffering from in this. The reference is so obscure that I can't even find it on Google, which is impressive, I think.

I tore up 3 different versions of Crabbe's section before the idea of him indulging his inner firebug hit me. It quickly became one of my favorite parts, as you can probably tell. It is very creepy.

Goyle... eh, you can't win 'em all. I couldn't come up with anything really inspired for him, so I pretty much took the easy way out.

Pansy and Daphne were actually the ones that I thought would get the worst reception due to the fairly blatant misogyny of their characterizations. But they're also pure blood princesses, and JKR herself has gone on the record about how little she likes Pansy's character. So I didn't feel **too** badly about it.

Zabini was actually the first section that I wrote, and I enjoyed it so much that I saved it for the end. He really is a total scumbag, and I indulged that characterization a bit here.

I don't know what more I can say. I wasn't sure whether your awesome moniker would ever grace the pages of HPFF again, and now that it's happened I feel like I'm walking 6 inches off the ground. Well, sitting six inches above my chair, anyway. Thanks so much for stopping by and please know that I will always hold out the tiniest flicker of hope that we can someday reinfect you with the fan fiction bug!


 Report Review

Review #14, by 800 words of heaven A Long Day in the Dungeons

14th March 2013:
Heya from review tag!

Hahahahahaha! This has to be one of the funniest stories I've read in a really long time. And it was just straight out humour - no romance, no intense plot twists - just some good ol' laughs! Thanks for that!

I think this must be the first time I'm ever saying this, but I actually liked Snape! He was so cynical, and angsty, and his beautiful sarcastic self! In quite a worrying twist, I saw much of him in me! And his notes concerning each student were the best! I think "Remora" might have been my favourite, simply because it was just so original and accurate a description!

I adored how well you wrote each of the students' sessions. It was such a well thought out caricature of each character and was just such a pleasure to read. Like, Crabbe's one creeped me out like you wouldn't believe, Pansy's was most amusing, Goyle's was just so... Goyle, and Daphne's was quite funny, too! I think Draco's took the cake, simply because I could almost imagine that being his actual passion in life - and Blaise's - OMG! I don't think I've laughed so hard since the student I read before!

But do you know who my favourite character was in all of this? McGonagall. Because she's right. It could be much, much worse!

I really hope you write something like this again - this was quite enjoyable!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

This story was a lot of fun to write, so I'm really glad you enjoyed it. It really was just for enjoyment, so like you said, there's nothing heavy or complicated in it.

Wow! So I didn't really set out to make anyone *like* Snape, but I guess I can see where you're coming from. The other characters he's interacting with are so much less likeable in this.

I'm really pleased that you liked all the characterizations. I loved coming up with them. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Luna A Long Day in the Dungeons

1st March 2013:
Hello! I enjoy readed this fanficton for some days ago. I know this was writed in 2010, but I still hope you wanted to write some more chapters about this :) I learned a lot of my self. You are a good writer and this is now my favorite fanfiction!! ^^

Author's Response: Hi, there. I'm glad that you enjoyed this. The story was actually published in 2012. I appreciate the encouragement, but I'm not really sure what else I could add to this.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Splendiferously_Awesome A Long Day in the Dungeons

10th February 2013:
Hi! This was literally one of THE funniest stories I have ever read. I just couldn't stop laughing! The concept was simply brilliant in itself and your execution of it was superb. I love your writing style and I just want to thank you for brightening up my day :)

Author's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed it. It was a blast to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing A Long Day in the Dungeons

29th January 2013:
Hello :)

Oh this story was hilarious! I'm quite glad I'm sat on my own as I've been tittering out loud to myself!

How you have to love to hate the Slytherins. The way you characterised each one was so true to the books but you've also but you've also fleshed them out and given us a good laugh.

Your characterisation of Snape throughout this is amazing. From his dialogue to his thoughts, the whole thing was perfect. I loved his notes about each student though. Mental... Stalker... Human parasite. The line about Harry at the start though: 'Perhaps minor deities in Potter's case.' - just great.

I was slightly freaked out by Crabbe. I loved how you played on his obsession with fire but the line, 'Mr. Crabbe, you don't have a sister' - I was slightly scared!

Pansy was funny, just planning on being Mrs Malfoy. I think I enjoyed this more because I know it's not going to work out for her and I don't like her. I like that you managed to get Snape's own problems with Lily through in this section too. As much as I hate the thought of Snape/Lily I did feel a little sorry for him.

I liked the fact you brought in Zabini and Daphne who aren't mentioned as much throughout the books. I think the 'career' choices you brought in for them were what we could expect from them. Zabini's lines though, 'if the broom's been around the pitch a few times, at least you know it flies' and 'Don't hate the player, hate the game.' - I think I might have found his section the funniest if it hadn't have been for Malfoy...

Oh Draco. A hair stylist. I can pretty much see him doing it too. I think the whole idea of it and the fact Snape was so eager for them to try and make some of the potion for his own hair, I was just in stitches.

I haven't really got any CC or anything: I thought this was a very funny and great little one shot!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: So first off, I want to keep redirecting at least part of the credit back to my pal Roots In Water. The idea of Snape having to sit through a day of career counseling sessions with his students came from a comment in Wilted Flower, which I recommend to anyone.

I absolutely love to have the Slytherin kids from the book. They're such an arrogant, entitled and ultimately clueless lot. I'm really please that you liked the way I characterized them, even if it was a bit exaggerated in some cases. OK, most cases.

Severus is fun to write because I can simply tune in to Alan Rickman's portrayal in my mind and the words just tumble out. The snide, demeaning comments and cruel, cutting observations are what I like most about him.

Ha. I started writing Crabbe's section with a totally different idea in mind and then the fire thing hit me like a ton of bricks. How I didn't think of it to begin with is beyond me.

Poor Pansy doesn't really have a Plan B, does she? Too bad that she'll be long forgotten by the end of HBP. I do think that Snape could see at least a shade of his past with Lily in her dilemma, not that he'd ever consider opening up to offer her a personal example.

I actually wrote Zabini's section first, and I liked it so much that I saved it for the end. He's such a shallow, narcissistic, misogynistic jerk. For whatever reason, that makes him a joy to write. ;)

Draco's section was inspired by a "big, bad guy" character in a movie who decides that he wants to give up his life of crime and style women's hair. I either watched it so long ago that I've forgotten everything else about it or maybe I just made the whole thing up in my mind and it never existed. Either way, I thought it was a great choice for him, because it allows Snape to revel in Lucius's humiliation and fret a bit over his own greasy locks.

Wow, I'm really pleased that you enjoyed this! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Adeline A Long Day in the Dungeons

21st January 2013:
Wow! This was absolutely hilarious!!! Congrats on writing such an amusing story, I loved it! :)

Author's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Gabriella Hunter A Long Day in the Dungeons

11th January 2013:
Hello!

Hey, its Gabbie here with your requested review and I'm sorry that I didn't get here sooner, I was actually sort of busy these last two days. I was not pleased.
Anyhoo, I am pleased that you requested this for me, it was hilarious! I'm not sure whether or not I should be concerned about Snape's mildew socks or what but I really enjoyed his misery. He wasn't trying to be funny of course but at some point I couldn't stop grinning at how horrible the day was going to go for him. Slytherin House always sort of interested me, since alot of rich kids come from there and I think you played and poked fun at the cliche's that come along with it really well.
The individual interviews were of course, awkward for Snape, more than the student and his little notes had me dying. There were a few creepy bits too, like Crabbe's obsession with fire, which we know later ends up killing him. I loved that bit of foreshadowing of canon, it sort of gave me the chills, especially that line about him "not having a sister anymore". Eerie stuff!
Goyle's interview was even more pathetic, he really can't do much without Draco, can he? Hahaha. Snape seemed to be wilting away with that one and Pansy's really had me laughing. Being a fan of Wilted Flower, I could totally see where you were getting that little "Mrs. Draco Malfoy" bit from and it was great. From reading that story, that doesn't really go well, hahahaha.
Draco's was both worrying and a little funny, I sort of felt badly for him with all the things that were going on at the time. With the fact that this takes place during OotP, I had to nod at your excellent way of putting in canon events.
But doing hair? I had to pause at that one, it was just too bizarre. And poor Snape, worrying about his own! Ha. So funny.
Daphne Greengrass was a Slytherin I'd never really heard of before, like seriously, so I had to take a moment to think of who she was. But her idea of "shopping" versus "working" made me snort a little, I could sort of picture her as being a celebrity snob of some kind.
Blaise's really had me laughing, I think his was my favorite and the words "Human parasite" will make me laugh for the rest of the day. Poor Snape! Having to listen to all that? Awful, awful stuff! Haha, and Blaise seemed so unconcerned about it! Hahahha, it was awful! But perfect. :3
The ending bit was great too, I could practically see Snape sulking with the others and I loved McGonagall's description of Harry and Ron. Is it ironict that they DO become Aurors at some point?
Her last little comment showed some humor too, which isn't something we get all the time from her character in fanfiction so thanks! :D
No CC's for this, only that you should have gone on forever and spared me from having to stop reading. Hehehe.
Otherwise, keep being awesome!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi, there!

This was a story that I enjoyed writing immensely, and I'm really pleased that you liked it. I have such a strange, love/hate relationship with Severus Snape. He's definitely one of my least favorite characters in the books, but I love writing stories about and around him. I don't think he ever tries to be funny, he just *is* funny.

I really didn't think there was anywhere else to take Crabbe's character in this. In the books, he's honestly not that interesting. He does one memorably thing and it gets him killed. So making him a firebug seemed very apropos.

Goyle is indeed a very sad individual. He doesn't even have an interesting death. My Pansy was clearly heavily influenced by Wilted Flower, since this story was dedicated to Roots. I'm really pleased that she was recognizable.

My thought on Draco was that Snape, of all people, realizes just how bad things are looking for him around the end of his fifth year. But Snape being Snape, he's simply enjoying seeing the Malfoy family knocked off of their pedestal. The idea to have Draco want to style hair was based partly on a story I read on here where the author was fascinated with Lucius's long, flowing blond locks and partly on an old SNL skit, I believe, where this very macho, dangerous character has a change of heart and becomes a hair stylist

Daphne also appears very rarely in the books, but she seemed like a good choice for a character who exhibits nothing by vapidity.

I actually wrote Blaise's section first, and I loved it so much I saved it for the end. He's such a shallow, misogynistic scumbag. The opposite of Snape in nearly every way, actually.

I'm really, really happy that you enjoyed this! It was a blast to write and I think it made Roots pretty pleased. Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Courtney Dark A Long Day in the Dungeons

9th January 2013:
Tag!
Oh my goodness, this was hilarious! I can honestly say it was one of the funniest things I have read in a long time. Most of the Snape fics that I have read have been very dark and serious so the humour in this was a nice change.

You characterization of Snape was spot on. I loved his reactions to each and every one of his students, and the little comments he wrote down...genius. I think my favourite was 'my bad.' I just started laughing so hard-it seemed exactly the type of thing Snape would say!

I think my favourite interview would have to be Zabini's. I was giggling all throughout with this big, cheesy smile plastered on my face. I think my favourite line was: 'You know what they say, if the broomís been around the pitch a few times, at least you know it flies.' The way Snape reacted to each one of Zabini's er...comments...wow. Just wow.

Everything about this one-shot was perfect, and I think the last line just summed it all up perfectly. Great job!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi!

I really, really enjoyed writing this. Most of what I write tends to be darker, more dramatic stuff, so it was fun to just write something funny.

Snape has actually always been pretty easy for me to write. Alan Rickman's portrayal left such a strong presence in my mind. His dialog just flows for me.

Zabini's section was actually the first one that I wrote, and I liked it so much that I saved it for last.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Santa's Little Helper A Long Day in the Dungeons

3rd January 2013:
Yeah, I'm not the big guy himself, but I'm here to give you some reviews, because I really like your fics and have never gotten around to review many of them. So let's begin. :)

Oh goodie! I love funny Snape stories. His sarcastic quips are one of my favorite things in canon. I can't actually figure out why I haven't written about him yet myself, since he's so intriguing personality. Anyways, I'm really happy to inform you, that you got his drier-than-desert humour and his inimitable character down to pat.

It's good thing to know, that at least some of Snape's pores produce more than grease, even if it's sweat that mildews socks. Although, that sounds a pretty unfortunate condition as well. :P His snide thoughts about Harry's preferred future occupation being half deity definitely hit the target. *snigger* Those two had such a tumultuous relationship.

The mere idea that Snape has to guide Slytherins every year to some kind of meaningful career is simply put laughable. I guess there must be an oddball there every once in a while, who actually has plans to his future (like the world domination), but with all that inbreeding, hereditary stupidness is inescapable as proven with Gaunts.

Crabbe torched his sister? Wow, he's a creep and a half. Pansy's ambition to become next mistress of the Malfoy manor is so spot on. Sadly I know some girls who could give her run for her money with such ambitions. It's pretty disturbing.

Goyle is so cute when he needs Malfoy to help him with career plans. I could actually see him ending up as a butler in the Malfoy manor. I bet he would fit there like a glove. Unless, of course, he keeps eating sand from the driveway. I bet Narcissa wouldn't put up with that. :P

Draco's Hair Solution for dandruff and bald patches would be an instant bestseller. I can guarantee it. :) Poor Snape tries to filch the biggest secret that the Malfoys ever had; how to keep hair shinier than the silver spoons they were born with. Teehee.

Oh dear Daphne. Yes, she will do so well in the Malfoy manor. She can shop all day, and when she comes home each evening, she and Draco can braid each others hair. Quite a perfect solution. :)

Zabini's scene made made me giggle quite a lot. My favorite line: 'You're thinking of breeding dogs?' *snort* Poor unbelieving Snape. And high-mileage birds! Oh lord.

Darling Minnie. She's right, her life is basically dancing among roses compared to Sevvie here. :P Excellent ending, so excellent.

Your dialogue and the characters were perfect for subject at hand. I've rarely seen such a good parody, and it would be lovely read more of those, if you just get ideas for them. 'Little pure blood snowflake' should be pure-blood, but otherwise your writing was smooth and very enjoyable to read.

Wow, this must be the longest review I have ever written. Well, it's only fair, you've left me some too. :)

Toodles!

Santa's Little Helper

Author's Response: Hello, there, Little Helper! Thanks so much for volunteering to step in and help out. It really means a lot! :hug:

If you love Snape's sarcastic quips, you've come to the right place. Honestly, I'm not a big fan of the character. Snape/Lily stories make me cringe. But there's something about writing him in his full, snide, bitter glory that gives me a thrill. It's my guilty pleasure.

I enjoyed writing each of the Slytherin kids in turn, although I think Crabbe and Zabini were my favorites. I wrote Zabini's section first, but I liked it so much I decided to save it for the end. The idea of making Crabbe a pyro was easy enough based on what happened in DH, but the reference to his sister popped into my head while writing this and I was literally giggling as I wrote it.

Gah. I hate the term "pureblood". I'm never quite sure whether to split it up, smush it together, hyphenate it... It's a pain!

It seems that you're dropping subtle little hints as to your identity. I shall have to ruminate on this...

Once again, thank you so much for stepping in where others didn't do their part. I really, really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #22, by patronus_charm A Long Day in the Dungeons

17th December 2012:
I LOVED THIS STORY!! I never thought of how the career interviews went from someone else perspective as I just thought of them as some minor sub-plot but, this story was great it made me laugh the whole way through. I have to say my favourite 2 were Pansy and Daphne as both of them were exactly what I imagined pure blooded people to be like. You should definitly write more stories like this from Snape's perspective as he is a really funny person to read :D

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm really glad that you liked it. It was mountains of fun to write. I have a few ideas for humorous stories. Maybe one or two will get done before the queue reopens.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Pixileanin A Long Day in the Dungeons

14th December 2012:
On the sixth day of Christmas...

...and people ask ME where I get my cracked up ideas from...

This fic was sheer brilliance from start to finish. I'm afraid I had to stop reading several times, just to get a chance to breathe, I was laughing so hard. Everything you wrote about Snape was great, from the potential mildewey socks to sulking in the corner during the faculty meeting.

"The entire house was constructed on a self-perpetuating foundation of privilege, arrogance and a powerful aversion to any activity that bore a resemblance to honest work."

Ahh, Slytherins. How we love to loathe them.

Crabbe was precious. "Mr. Crabbe, you don't have a sister." Just awesome. Pansy's single-minded career path was an over-the-top hopeless case. Even if Snape had cared to help her out, I'm not sure it would have done much good.

Draco's secret desire and Snape's thoughts on taking the opportunity to humiliate his father was utterly brilliant. I can totally see Draco doing that type of work and loving every minute (and Snape cashing in on the side... the perfect setup!).

I was pretty sure you couldn't top that if you tried, but then you included Daphne, who had it all together until Snape pointed it out to her. "My bad" had me in stitches. And Mr. Zambini stole the show. I'm not going to quote any lines from that section because then I'd have to pick one and they were all equally brilliant.

I can easily picture Snape gritting his teeth through all of these interviews and scribbling those snarky comments in the margins of his notes, if only to keep sane.

I don't know what you put in your pumpkin juice the day you wrote this, but whatever it was, you may want to save the recipe.

Author's Response: I love Christmas! Good friends, good food and cool stuff from pix.

So I'll admit it: I had more fun writing this than just about anything else I've ever written. I usually canon-police myself so hard when I write. But in this case, I just turned it loose and let my imagination run wild. It was a joy.

Poor Crabbe. It wasn't hard at all to figure out what to do with him. Giving him pyromaniac tendencies was a slam dunk after the way he managed to get himself killed. And Pansy is just a hopelessly smitten schoolgirl, so I didn't try to make any more of her than that.

I've always tended to think that Snape hated Lucius and secretly hated Draco, as well. So having him make the most of an opportunity to use Draco as a means of further hurting Lucius made all the sense in the world.

Zabini's section was actually the first one I wrote. I have to assume that Hogwarts has its share of players, and he's definitely the type.

I don't know what I was drinking when I wrote this, but it all ended well. Thank you for another awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by WitnesstoitAll A Long Day in the Dungeons

24th November 2012:
I just wanted to take a moment to leave you a quick review for this story! I adored everything about this: snape's voice was spot on (especially the bits where he'd write comments by each of the student's names), your comedic timing was impeccable, your exagerated characterizaton of the slytherin house had me in stitches, and the last line really served to tie it all together. This was such a creative and well written one shot!! I'm so glad that you wrote it and that I took the time to read it!! Reading this reminds me how little of your work I've actually read, and what a shame that is!! I do hope to make some more time in the future!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

This was one of the most fun things I've ever written. There's so much snark to tap into when you write Snape and to be quite honest about it, I'm a pretty snarky person. I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by MissMdsty A Long Day in the Dungeons

20th November 2012:
Hey there! Tagging you from the review thread!

I really liked the humor of this story and the characters you set out with are perfectly uncompatible. You have Snape on one side, a talented wizard, a skilled potions master and a very dark and angsty person and the House of Slyherin, composed of Malfoy, Malfoy wannabes and spoiled princesses. That's a perfect storm if I ever saw one.

My favorite line in all of this is On days like this one, Severus felt like snatching the Sorting Hat from Dumbledoreís shelf and laughing maniacally while he watched it burn. . I think we've all had days like this one. :)

Out of all the students, I enjoyed Daphne and Blaise the most, mainly because I love the name Daphne and the career she chose, for me seems to go perfectly with the way I imagined her.

And Blaise is just so funny, I could almost imagine Snape's fac when he made the comment about the... erm... wand and cauldron.

And McGonagall's last line was just the perfect ending!

Good job on this, I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Sorry to take such a long time to respond. Anyway, I'm really glad you enjoyed this. It was a mountain of fun to write. I think you got the characterization of Slytherin House just about right. Salazar would be spinning in his grave.

I don't often feel sympathy for Snape, but this was one of those occasions. Blaise was far and away the most fun section to write, although Crabbe was a close second. Blaise was actually the first section I wrote, and then I filled in the rest.

I'm really pleased that McGonagall's closing line worked for you. It felt like such a throwaway to me. :-/

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>