Reading Reviews for Keep Calm and Carry On
  
371 Reviews Found

Review #1, by xx The Unfortunate Truth

26th January 2015:
Great ending! I'm loving this story so much!

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan The Unfortunate Truth

26th January 2015:
Oh no! I feel like the previous chapters were almost too good to be true, and then this chapter is like... the 16-tonne weight that crashes down and is like "Oh hey. Here's reality, it's back."

I feel so bad for Rose. I mean, she's not that nice, but for her to be dumped and then fired all in quick succession is a recipe for a horrible week. And in a way, Rose is no worse than any of the other characters, who as Theo quite wisely pointed out at the end, are all a bit unscrupulous when it comes to getting ahead in the news industry. Reading from Edie's POV I sympathise with her a lot, but in the end, they're all making decisions which hurt other people, even though they're not bad people. That's one thing I love about this story because that's the way the real world works. No one can be super nice and not upset anyone else and get ahead in a career all without sacrificing something, and this chapter really shows that, in their different decisions.

What a mess, though! And poor Justin and Lisa caught in the middle of it. I don't know how Edie is going to find her way out of this, but I'm certain she will. Even though it probably means a bit of unwanted media attention and who knows what with her job.

I've got to say though, you definitely did surprise me with revealing that Theo was the one who sold them out. I suspected that Rose liked Oliver, but that didn't make it any easier to find out for sure.

This was a great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #3, by chicken addiction And What a Mess It's Been

21st January 2015:
WHOOP what a fun chapter :) I loved that last scene :) and Oliver...yummy.

Author's Response: Thank you! I agree with your sentiments for Oliver. The next chapter is all written; gonna do some edits today and pop it in the queue.

 Report Review

Review #4, by devotedasperusual And What a Mess It's Been

19th January 2015:
Hello there :)

Well, this seems a bit foreign. It's been so long since I've commented on anything on this site, let alone KC&CO. Just popping by to say that I've still continued reading, even if I have become an absolute little Rose with my no commenting nonsense. So sorry, eternally.

I know you're probably reading this going "now who on earth is this random creeper coming along" but the only thing I can think of that you might remember about me is my deep love for Seamus, and for shipping everything and everyone that moves. Right, enough being creepy. On to the fangirling.

OH MY GOD THIS WENT IN SUCH A FANTASTIC DIRECTION I JUST WANT TO GRAB YOU AND SQUISH YOUR CHEEKS.

The only thing I have to say about the centre portion of the chapter would be that it so wasn't your first smut. Don't lie, no one writes that good on their first attempt. *eyeballs you severely*

But yes on to the last portion which literally found me losing the ability to breathe. It is so incredibly Edie-ish to get caught in the act by her entire family. Her mother, oh dear her step-father. Just everyone was so perfect. The harlot comment also had me cracking up and I'm not entirely sure as to why I found it so funny, but I did so there you go.

Just, they're both so perfect? I don't know how to describe it. It's like, my favourite books always have two main characters that without each other are pretty despicable people. Oliver is as arrogant as they come, and Edie's nothing more than a jumped-up activist without an actual cause but together they just work so wonderfully and beautifully that I can picture them sitting around a breakfast table fifty years from now arguing about something stupid and trivial and throwing pieces of toast at each other and it just sort of makes my little heart soar?

Fantastic job as per usual dear, and don't you think I'm not going to be stalking your a/c waiting for you to update again.

Because I will.

Winks and slowly backs away.

Author's Response: Okay, this review made me laugh SO hard. You aren't at all becoming a complete Rose--although that was about where I started with the cracking up. I also love Seamus and ship everything and everyone, so I'm glad you stopped to review! ♥

No really, it is my first smut! At least to this extent. I've written a tasteful "kissing and then fade to black" here and there... But I've been reading fic for over a decade so I'm sure I've picked up a thing or two, haha. Put those severe eyeballs away!

I love Edie's stepfather, and I wish he was more pivotal to the plot because he has such a small presence in the story. I just imagine this super laid-back, bearded guy who just likes to play music alone in their shed and who lets Hypatia drag him along to all of these crazy contemporary art gallery openings, where he is totally content to just sip on punch and let Hypatia natter on.

(I'm glad you liked the harlot comment, I was quite proud.)

Oh my god this review just keeps getting better. "Oliver is as arrogant as they come, and Edie's nothing more than a jumped-up activist without an actual cause" HELLO YES YOU WIN ALL OF THE PRIZES. They definitely are both flawed, but hopefully they work together well! Um I love the idea of 70 year-old Ediver throwing toast at each other... Like... Thank you I'm going to think about that all day now.

Stalk away! Working on chapter twenty-seven as we speak. I decided to take a little break from writing and was greeted with this awesome review. Thanks so much, it really made my day! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan And What a Mess It's Been

16th January 2015:
Hi! Just stopping by to say that I loved this chapter.

I appreciated that there wasn't this huge falling-out about the articles - I think it's much more realistic that he had read them and just hadn't told her, and that they had an actual discussion about it - after all the lies and anger thus far, it was nice to see them just be honest and try to work through it together. It's also a lot more meaningful because Edie has a difficult decision to make, essentially having to put either her new relationship or her job first. That's a tough place to be in, and easy to relate to.

Well done on writing the love scene too, as well as the rest of the chapter that wasn't originally intended haha. I loved their fluffy pillow talk too, and him FINDING THE MAGAZINE haha

Omg, that last scene in the morning when her whole family barges into her room was so incredibly hilarious and awkward and like, so typical of Edie's life :p

Lovely work on this chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hello! Stop by away! (Does that even make sense?)

I am feeling pretty good about my decision to remove the ~falling out~ as well. Even as I planned on writing it, and developed the storyline around it, I knew it was just too cliche. Don't worry, they're not totally in the clear yet, because things can't just go right in this story. And yes, it's a very tough place to be in! Edie is finally going to have to make some adult decisions.

AHHH I knew from the second that Edie dog-eared the page of his photo shoot that Oliver would have to find it. I just didn't know how it would come about until this chapter happened. But hey, this way they got to do some other fun stuff too ;)

Oh Lennoxes. They are so much fun to write. Even as I'm typing, I'm like "Seriously? You're insane. Knock it off."

Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter. I always get nervous when writing fluff so thanks for the encouragement ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Sanne And What a Mess It's Been

14th January 2015:
I just wanted to say thank you for not going the obvious way with Oliver eventually finding out about the articles and getting mad about it etc. (which is so very predictable). Instead, the conflict is Edie having to choose between her job and the man she loves. I think this is a much more realistic scenario and also much less predictable.

So, kudos to you for not going the predictable route and I can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Funny you should mention that--originally I had planned on Rose showing Oliver the articles, and him getting mad, and pretty much following every cliche you'd have guessed. But it felt too much like 27 Dresses and basically every other romcom.

I hope the conflict came across well. Oliver really hoped that things would just work themselves out. He's definitely ignoring the problem (they both are) and has given her an ultimatum by saying how horrible the stories were and being like "Well just write a nice one now lol." He doesn't *realize* he's putting her in a position (and she's certainly had her hand in things), but yes! As you said, she now has to choose and it's not so easy. Really trying to focus on the "home life or career???" choice that women are faced with today, because sometimes you can't fully meet the demands of both.

And there you have it: another one of my soapbox speech review responses!

Thank you for taking the time to read this. ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by xx And What a Mess It's Been

13th January 2015:
Ahh I really loved this chapter! It was probably my favorite of the story so far. The whole part with her family at the end was so funny. I love her brothers. And good on you for the sex scene. It didn't seem like your first time writing one so yay you. Anyway, I can't wait for more and I'm looking forward to the next update!

Author's Response: Hey! I'm glad you liked this chapter so much. Sometimes it's difficult for me to write something so fluffy; like I have to remind myself that it does drive the plot (in a small way) and is worth writing! I'm glad the ~love scene~ was tolerable. I've already edited it, of course, but it's mostly the same. Thank you for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Sara Good Decisions

7th January 2015:
This story is sooo good! Hopefully there is a following chapter soon :)

Author's Response: Hiya! Yes, there is indeed, I promise. I suddenly realized today that this story has taken me over two years to write--I'm pretty ashamed of that! Lately I've been trying to get over my speed-write-and-queue writing style, which was probably why this story initially had so many readers in the beginning but which also led to less than polished chapters. Hence this is taking FOREVER now but I promise this story will see its end. And now I will end this sprawling response to a succinct review.

 Report Review

Review #9, by KoetjeBoetje Good Decisions

13th December 2014:
Oh my gerd, I love this story!

I started reading yesterday evening and was not able to put it aside. Eventually, when my eyes were closing on their own accord, I decided I would continue the next day. Now I've finished this chapter and I want more!

This story makes me clap my hands and laugh out loud when something funny happens (which is often!), but it also makes me moan in sympathy when something bad happens to Edie. I love the characters!

Keep the chapters coming, I am looking forward to reading them! :D

Author's Response: Hiya! Thanks so much for taking the time to review. It means so much when people say they read this whole thing in one go (or in your case, two.) Seriously, that is so flattering!

I was having a problem with chapter 26. I had the whole thing written but I didn't like it at all... But I finally had my stroke of creativity today (if you want to call it that) and have some stronger ideas. I'll hopefully have it done by the end of the month, maybe before the queue closure!

Thanks again dearie ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by TumTum Good Decisions

13th October 2014:
Oh man this story is so funny and I'm on tender hooks wanting everything to work out. I love Edie, she's so down to earth; I like that she burps and drinks too much and blushes a lot. That said there have been whole chapters where I have just wanted to shake her and tell her to get her priorities straight - like this chapter for example. What on earth is wrong with her that she's willing to let things get that bad between her, her friends and even Oliver. Just ugh get a grip girl. Each time someone pointed out how cruel or just immoral her news stories are and she gets all surprised like 'oh really? Is it?' I want to yell 'Of course it is! How can you be in that much denial'. I do somewhat understand - she's insecure and very critical of herself and others and she's had it tough with men and her career but it makes me hate her a little and wonder what daft stunt she's going to have to pull to make up for it. I can see that some of the other characters think the same thing and I admire your commitment to making a flawed character who is still believably human.

I'd like to say that I hope that it all works out ok but I also really hope Edie has to face how badly she's behaved and maybe, you know, gets her head out from her behind and grows back some sense of integrity. And makes it up to the people she's hurt. It just really annoys me that Oliver, while his initial behaviour is awful and she was right to be as angry as she was (I thought she was amazing), is being so thoughtful and honest now and she doesn't feel the need to keep up her end of things... with anyone? I don't feel like all that self pitying she's been doing and that I expect her to do is a relevant excuse.

Anyway, that aside I loved the other characters in this, especially Seamus and Dean, they're hilarious and the writing is super compelling. I like that Oliver was so detestable at first but that he has grown on her and us as the reader. I especially like when he tries to hide his smile with his hand and his awkwardness is adorable.

My only criticism of the writing is that, in the earlier chapters, Edie spends an awful lot of time dwelling on Rose's and Lisa's appearance. I know that she was insecure but honestly I felt like I didn't get to know much about Lisa at all, except that she is much prettier and thinner and more I don't know? Submissive that Edie (in Edie's opinion) until several chapters later. And this from the supposedly passionate feminist.

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. I truly appreciate your constructive criticism!

You've definitely hit the nail on the head with Edie. Flawed, flawed, flawed--and there's the irony, right? I don't want to give too much away (ahhh, it'll all happen soon, I promise!) but she definitely does have her hypocrisy called to her attention. I liked the idea of this deeply flawed protagonist, especially because she's a woman. Maybe I was reading too much Game of Thrones and watching too much Girls, haha. It doesn't seem like you feel weird about your opinion of Edie (and you shouldn't!) There were times that I wanted to shake her myself. I don't know what it is, but I really love creating imperfect characters. Not quite to the level of Hannah Horvath, if you follow Girls at all, but she definitely is one of the inspirations for this story! Maybe I can coax you into continuing with KC&CO if I tell you that Edie will indeed see things in their proper light?

I totally agree with pretty much everything you've said. There's only one bit I want to contest--and really, I am just playing devil's advocate because I think your review is really honest and I appreciate that. It's what you mentioned about her job, and the articles she wrote. Getting a job was more important to her than anything (maybe another flaw?), including relationships with friends and romantic interests. This I can totally sympathise with, as somebody who's received enough rejection letters to wallpaper my entire flat. But I can also see your point. Much of her cruelty towards Oliver was personal. Things like this are actually difficult to write, because *I* can see that she's being an idiot sometimes, and *you* can see that she's being an idiot... but stubborn ol' Edie just can't.

Ooooh, good point. You are totally right about Lisa and Rose, and their appearances! As I've been harking, the early chapters need a serious re-vamping. I like giving physical descriptions of characters, but somewhere in the back of my mind is still the notion that if you describe your MC too much then she's a Mary-Sue. Obviously this is not true--it's definitely a flaw in my writing. I appreciate you pointing that out! I'll make a note of that for my edits, for sure.

Thank you again for leaving such a helpful review!



 Report Review

Review #11, by coleridgeandco Good Decisions

9th October 2014:
This is seriously one of the best fanfictions I've ever read.
I love your 'political undertones', to quote your own story ( ;-P ) and I can't wait to see how you will develop the friendzone business!
This is awesome, you should know, and a very original piece of writing in its genre.

PS I'll be impatiently waiting and checking your page constantly to keep on procrastinating by reading KC&CO!

Author's Response: Oh, gosh, thank you! That's so kind. You have no idea how lovely that is to hear! Thank you very much ♥ As for updates, I should be working on this in the near future since I suddenly have so much free time *cough unemployed cough* So check back soon for more procrastination fuel~

 Report Review

Review #12, by nott theodore Good Decisions

16th September 2014:
Hello again!

AH SO MUCH FLUFF THIS IS AMAZING! I really love getting the chance to read about Oliver and Edie and all their cute moments now that they've finally talked to each other about their feelings and stopped being all obstinate and stupid about things not being able to happen between them. It's so great to read about them together in this chapter because we've been reading and hoping for them for so long and now they're finally getting there. Which is amazing.

Your description of the wedding is just amazing. Every little detail is painted so vividly that I can picture it in my mind - the music, the dancing, the order of it - I couldn't help laughing out loud when I read about Claire getting up to announce every single stage in the wedding and the party afterwards, because it's like it's been organised with military precision and even if the other guests don't want to do any of the things she's insisting on, they don't really get much of a choice since she's announcing the instructions to the whole party.

The detail and thought that you've put into the wedding really is great, though. And it really does fit well with what I imagine Justin wanting - some fancy location and everything done so properly, so that everyone is guaranteed to know that he's done well for himself and that he and Lisa are going to be successful. I'd love to see his family's reaction if they found out that Lisa was already pregnant :P

Talking of Lisa, I love the way that she's breezing around the wedding and doing so well with all the bride's duties, talking to all the guests and enjoying herself, but managing to stop herself from drinking anything by passing every glass she gets to Edie. I'm not sure Edie's the best choice given the way she sometimes behaves when she's drunk, but she's the maid of honour - it's one of her bridesmaid's responsibilities, right? She doesn't have a choice about whether she gets drunk or not, she just has to help Lisa :P

Ah, Dean. So there was something more than the fact that Edie hadn't been spending much time with him and Seamus recently, and I guess he kind of has got a point because they risked a lot for her by breaking into the building. But at the same time I'm really glad you wrote about the 'friendzone' and you did a great job of capturing the confusion and awkwardness that Edie felt when she realised that Dean was in love with her. I do feel sorry for him, but at the same time, Edie shouldn't feel guilty for not feeling the same way. I'm just hoping that in the future her and Dean can maybe get back to being just friends, although I doubt it, unfortunately, as it's normally really awkward.

Haha, Seamus wandering in and just having no idea what's going on :P He's so great, and I loved the way he was acting like Oliver's best friend and then didn't even realise the bartender was a man. Seamus is brilliant for comic value, as well as being a good friend.

Aw, Oliver and Edie are once again really cute (I'm feeling like I need to improve my vocabulary right now, I apologise!) and I love them getting to know a bit more about each other through normal, little conversations like this. Although Edie made me laugh so much after all her resolutions not to do anything, even kiss Oliver, and then by the end of the chapter she's just demanding that Oliver goes and takes her back to his place. Edie's just such a realistic character and that's fantastic - she makes mistakes, plenty of them, and has to live with them, but she's so likeable as well.

Ah, I'm a bit worried about the truth coming out about her articles, though! This was a great chapter!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hello again! So sweet of you to leave two wonderful reviews. Thank you very much ♥

Hahaha "stopped being all obstinate and stupid." That's very true. (Maybe mostly Edie's stupidity, but we'll see...) I was very nervous writing this scene because I figured a lot of readers have been waiting for it forever (or those of you who don't still hate Oliver, anyway, hehe.) I was so scared I wouldn't do it justice! Turning Edie from completely helpless in the way of romance to *this* was nerve-wracking.

Ohh, Claire... I don't think the mother of the bride typically even has a role in weddings (at least that I've seen.) But Claire is certainly not letting that happen. Good thing sweet Lisa is as calm and laid back as she is, or things could have gotten very ugly...

Yeah! To be fair to Edie, she really did intend to stay sober for the night... But things didn't exactly go as planned. Like you said, though, she's just doing her job, right? ;)

Yeah, I really wanted Edie and Dean's relationship to not be as black-and-white as I've seen before. (Obviously in some cases that works, but it wouldn't for this story.) They're both good people, but they're in an unfortunate situation with no real remedy, so each of them is the victim and each of them is to blame in some way. Edie really does ask a lot of him, and even kind of uses him unknowingly (especially with breaking into Witch Weekly.) But she isn't required to have feelings for him because of it.

SEAMUS. I feel like I need to write a series of one-shots based on what's going on in Seamus's head. I'd imagine it at times to just be a little hamster on a wheel, or cheese sandwiches, or girls.

Yeah, Edie's resolve didn't last very long, did it? It very quickly went from "we should keep at a distance" to "well... I mean... we *could* kiss, I guess." I was nervous writing that whole part of the chapter, because I wanted to acknowledge that they weren't outwardly trying to be cruel to Rose. But I also wanted to stray away from the "forbidden romance," especially at a wedding. Hence Oliver and Edie didn't dance together or really even interact in any way that felt too "Grey's Anatomy" to me ;)

Oh, the articles. Shhh, Sian, just ignore them until they go away! That's what Edie's doing, at least.

Thank you again for your reviews! I can't wait to get back to writing this story. ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by nott theodore Makeshift

16th September 2014:
Ah! Okay, so I finally got a few minutes to review the two latest chapters of this story (I don't have time to go back and review every chapter, but I can start from now, right?)

Edie's nervousness before the wedding was really cute. And she just can't concentrate on what she's meant to be doing, which is Seamus's hair (isn't Seamus old enough to do his own hair? It's not like he's the one getting married :P) and eventually her mum has to do it for her. At least she can now admit (to herself) why she's so nervous about going, and it's not really the fact that she's got a long journey via Portkey. That's a good sign!

And arriving right in the middle of a fight, that sounds so like something that would happen to Edie. The explanation of the fight made me laugh a lot, too - it's always those ridiculous sort of tensions that come along and cause a fight or something years later!

Dean! It's been a while since we saw him properly in this story and I have missed him, even though I've been preoccupied (like Edie) with all the other things that are going on in her life. He seemed to be acting a bit strange with her, so I'm intrigued about what's causing that... maybe just the fact that she's not been making time for him and he's annoyed about it? Or maybe there's something more to it...

Lisa ♥ I loved seeing the conversation between Edie and Lisa just before the wedding, and the way that even though she's meant to be helping her best friend with one of the biggest days in her life, Edie is still getting distracted by mentions of Oliver! It was nice to see the two of them though, before this massive moment in Lisa's life! Although I'm equally intrigued about why Oliver needed Justin to work as his lawyer...

The wedding seemed to fit Justin very well, although it wasn't quite as bad as I thought it was going to be, without some of the awful things (her Portkey was bad enough, honestly!). And Peter, breaking down and sobbing about how alone he was, made me laugh so much :P I can just imagine Justin's brother in tears about being single at the wedding!

Yayayay Edie and Oliver! I was so excited for this moment, because it was great, after 24 chapters, to see them having the conversation they've probably needed to have since the very beginning (although to be honest, if they'd had this conversation way back then, there wouldn't have been a story for us to read so I won't blame you for that :P). The explanation about Oliver and Rose makes sense, and I don't think worse of him for it, especially when Edie's thinking back to the relationship she had with Cormac (!) which basically paralleled what was happening with Oliver and Rose. And of course, the explanation brought Oliver's feelings about Edie into the open more, and I couldn't complain about that!

OLIVER AND EDIE FINALLY KISSED!!! ♥ ♥ ♥ That was such a cute moment and a really great end to this chapter - I can't wait to see what happens next! (I'm really hoping that Edie doesn't go and do something stupid and make things awkward again...)

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hi there! You most certainly can start reviewing from wherever you want. If you're suddenly like, "Oh, and by the way, in chapter two you mentioned something I didn't like..." I would a) be very impressed with your memory and b) be very thankful 'cause that chapter is about to get a major facelift this week. Right now it's oh so *Cringe-y* to me.

Haha, Seamus certainly is old enough to do his own hair! But that's him, I guess. A fun-loving and hyperactive little terrier, and also extremely lazy. Plus Edie probably felt bad about pretty much ignoring him for so long...

Ha! Yes, the fight! I posted a rather embarrassing status in the forums about it. I was picturing these two very bro-y guys, in American terms. Like the kind who visit their old colleges and reminisce during football games about how good it was ten years ago, and it's kind of funny but for some reason also made me a little sad? Anyway I couldn't think of a British word for "bro" and enlisted the help of some people on the forums... ha!

Ohhh gosh, writing an Edie and Lisa scene is just like... detoxing from the rest of this story. They just come so naturally (not at all trying to be boastful, I hope it doesn't sound that way) just because they're such good friends and their time spent together feels so natural and easy. I really liked writing the scene of Edie helping her to get ready. Even though Edie was being a bit selfish, as per the usual, and wanting to know more about Justin being Oliver's lawyer...

Ha! That Portkey! I was rather pleased with that one, to be honest. Justin. Oh, Justin. And Peter! I imagine him to be like the older, shorter, not as attractive, not as successful brother who's like, a door-to-door salesman for hair loss potions or something. Poor lil feller.

Wow, yeah, I guess 24 chapters is a long time to wait. Phew. A long time coming, I'd say, and hopefully it felt pretty natural. One thing I am terrified of--yes, TERRIFIED--is building a relationship too quickly. So I think I overcompensate by dragging it out for as long as possible? And ew, Cormac. Paha. What was Edie thinking, eh?

Thank you Sian! On to the next wonderful review you've so kindly left! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan Good Decisions

15th September 2014:
Another fab chapter! Lisa's wedding was so entertaining, particularly her outward composure while running around and handing off drinks to Edie.

Fluff! And more fluff! Haha, honestly I loved it. For me it's such a struggle-fest to write anything fluffy, so I can appreciate your trouble with writing it - and it all worked out well, and even if you felt awkward writing it, it doesn't show. Congrats on the fluffiest fluffy fluff. :D

I like that you're addressing the friend zone too. Poor Dean. I do feel really badly for him, but it's not Edie's fault by any means. I think it's a really realistic view of that sort of friendship too, because in real life that's a pretty confusing situation and I think you captured that. It's awkward, and maybe it will get worse before it gets better, but I hope that someday in the future they can be good friends again, because I loved reading about Edie, Dean, and Seamus, the dream team of friends back in the beginning.

Awesome work on this chapter! ♥

Author's Response: Hey there! Ohh, Lisa is such a dear. I love her. I kind of based her off a former co-worker of mine, who got married and was very nonchalant about the whole thing (she didn't even really "walk down the aisle" so much as stumble down a hillside in a dress without music.) Plus it's more fun for the groom to be freaking out... ;)

FLUFF SO MUCH FLUFF YES. I'm right there with you. It's a struggle-fest to write a snuggle-fest (should we maybe get this printed on coffee mugs/tee shirts?) I'm glad that you liked it though. Honestly I'll probably go back through and tone down on the soppy-ness (especially at the beginning... ugh) but I'll try to stay strong and keep most of it in there!

I really do feel bad for Dean too! He's such a great character in the books, and has always been a favorite of mine. I kind of feel bad for writing him this way. Possessive!Dean is more of something we see in the movies, if my memory serves me correctly, when he's dating Ginny. But I'm definitely building off of that--Dean and Edie just wouldn't work because he's too possessive. Both of them are headstrong, which could potentially work *ahem Oliver ahem.* But it's the way that Dean uses his stubbornness, by trying to control somebody, that just wouldn't work with our friend Edie.

Thank you so much for this review, lovely! Sorry it's taken me so long to respond. I just moved across the country and almost have everything unpacked and ~*~internet~*~ so soon there will be updates! AHHH plus I completely re-wrote the ending and am so much more in love with it and can't wait to get there now.



 Report Review

Review #15, by teh tarik Good Decisions

13th September 2014:
HELLO!! I'm back. And I really do apologise for my awfully sporadic reviewing, but ugh, I'm not so good with reviewing everything I read anymore. Just...I PROMISE YOU THAT I'M STILL FOLLOWING THE MISADVENTURES OF EDIE LENNOX. ♥

AH. AAH.

I would love some coffee.

*swoons and falls in love with this fic all over again*

OK, gah, so much fluff, and yay! All that Ediver is finally being realised.

Gah, you've written Lisa's wedding so well! All the details from the vineyard to the expensive cheeses etc.I don't think I'd believe it if you say that you've never been to a seaside Italian wedding before. :D I must say I love Lisa in these last two chapters: how collected she is despite it being her wedding day and all (well, until the makeup mishap), and how she keeps plying Edie with drinks because she can't drink herself.

GAH, I'm just going to list all the things I love about these past two chapters.

- Peter Finch-Fletchley blubbering away, arm-in-arm with Edie

- Lobster puffs sound absolutely delicious. ARE THEY EVEN A THING?

- Seamus and Oliver being such great mates and all.

- The revelation that Oliver and Rose are not a thing. And bahaha, that Edie has been an utter idiot all this while. Sometimes I feel like shaking her. Which makes me love her all the more.

- Edie's fantasies. SERIOUSLY. (Very sturdy rafters). Good god.

- ALL OF THE EDIVER. The kissings, the awkward!Edie moments, and drunk!Edie at the end practically DEMANDING that he take her home. For *cough* coffee. Yeah, right.

I think you made a good point with the whole Friendzone message. Edie feeling all uncomfortable and selfish because she's enjoying herself and not thinking about Dean. It's great that you point out that there's absolutely nothing wrong with what she's doing; it's something I was wondering about when I was reading this chapter. Then I got to your A/N and saw your message about the whole issue. It's GREAT that you bring this up; there are so many fics with OCs whose best mates are all guys, who get along with dudes but none of them really address the relationship complexities and issues that can arise with such situations. Hmmm, I wonder how things are going to turn out between Edie and sulky!Dean.

AH OKAY I LOVE THIS CHAPTER. I know you're probably hoping for useful feedback, but I don't really know what to suggest. These chapters are just fabulous! You've developed your characters so, so well, and everything flows beautifully.

Next chapter, please! ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hello! I'm finally responding to you--yeesh. What a month it's been. But your reviews make me so happy, and I'm always so glad to respond :)

I read that as "Ediver is finally being released," and imagined this giant 1/3 Edie, 1/3 Oliver, 1/3 Kraken emerging from the sea and sinking all of the other 'ships. (Must... not... doodle this... Or maybe later.)

Unfortunately I have not been to a wedding like this... most of my friends have done the "unassuming garden wedding" Edie was grumbling about. Although this kind would certainly be more fun, and I don't know what she's complaining about!

Honestly I wish I had thought of Peter Finch-Fletchley before this chapter, because I love him so much. I have such a clear image of him in my head, played by this really minor actor named Danny Strong... I'm fixin' for a big KC&CO edit (finally getting rid of all of the parts that make me cringe) and I may or may not put a little dash of PF-F in there ;)

You had me second-guessing myself with lobster puffs! Do yourself a favor and look them up. And get hungry.

Yeah! I am going to definitely explore the "Friendzone" thing, but this story is already SO LONG and needs to start winding down. Hopefully I can condense it into a few sentences. But I found myself even feeling guilty for not *writing* that Edie follows Dean outside to console him, which is odd. When something like this happened to me I pretty much ignored my best friend for the rest of the party (and kind of ran away in the middle of him confessing his feelings to me because I can't handle confrontation.) So imagining Edie heading outside and suddenly being very considerate and caring and knowing "just the right thing to say" and "patching things up..." Nah. Doesn't feel right.

Thank you so much for your review! I apologize for taking so long to respond. But I (almost almost) have the internet at my flat, which means I will finally be back on HPFF in a week or so, with updates soon to follow.

Thank you, lovely! Hope you're doing swimmingly! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by EvilSoul Good Decisions

9th September 2014:
wi so fluffy xD
please don't make Oliver angry with Dean (or Edie)... :(

Author's Response: Yes, much fluff. This fic is now just a giant pile of bunnies. (Ouch, really bad joke.) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by stop_the_attack Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

21st August 2014:
hey! i just started this and it's perfect... so perfect. i'm hooked, never stop writing! :D

Author's Response: Weee! Seriously, getting new readers this late in the game is the best. Thank you thank you thank you ♥

 Report Review

Review #18, by JT4HP Makeshift

9th August 2014:
I love this story! It is so great, really. Oliver and Edie are just fab. I'm glad they're getting there and I can't wait to find out why he needed Justin as his lawyer! Ah.

Can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much. Oooh, yes, much intrigue with the lawyer stuff. It'll all come together very soon, promise. The end is nigh! ♥

 Report Review

Review #19, by castaspell Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

23rd July 2014:
Two words: In. Love.

Author's Response: Thank you! I haven't had a review on chapter one in ages. So nice to have a new reader. Welcome!

 Report Review

Review #20, by ValWitch21 Makeshift

17th July 2014:
(This review is going to be a rambly catastrophe especially considering it's the first I type since Christmas.)

WAH. I AM SHOUTING AND IT IS A PITY SWEARING ISN'T ALLOWED OR THIS SENTENCE WOULD BE A LOT MORE COLOURFUL.

FINALLY, FINALLYYY, IT ONLY TOOK TWENTY FOUR CHAPTERS! Please do not make it go downhill from here or I will scream blue murder.

My happy flailing aside, I'm kind of sad because this is starting to look too much like the end for my liking. Can we please get at least one more Edie/Dean/Seamus scene? Plus cameos from Ada, Hypatia, and Lisa? I NEVER WANT TO SEE THIS STORY END, YOU SHOULD WRITE EDIVER UNTIL THEY'RE OLD AND WRINKLY AND SURROUNDED BY GRAND CHILDREN.

There are a few stories on this site where I think, 'oh, I wish there was fanfiction of this fanfiction'. This is one of those.

Please take as long as possible to update, so the story will last longer!

Author's Response: Val!! Hello!!!

I FELT A LOT LIKE SHOUTING WHILE WRITING THIS SO IT'S OKAY. I know, twenty-four chapters. AHHH. This is definitely the lengthiest thing I have ever written (other than the awful, never revised, rambling, 130-page stories I wrote as a ten year-old.) And I'm glad that somebody else is feeling a little queasy about getting to the end. This story is full of little bits that aren't necessary to the plot, and which could certainly stand to be removed. But I love writing this so much that I just keep adding and adding things so I can keep writing. Maybe that's a good thing?

Edie with children (and grandchildren!) Can you even imagine? She's had more than her share of motherhood with raising her brothers, I'm sure. But I see what you're saying and thank you, I would love to write twenty sequels to this, each one telling every completely menial thing in the daily lives of Edie, Oliver, Seamus, Dean, Hypatia, Rose, Justin, Lisa and I AM GOING TO MISS MY FAKE FRIENDS

Fanfiction for this fanfiction! You stop it. That is so sweet. Seriously, that's like the nicest thing ♥

Thank you so much Val! I'm so glad to see you back around HPFF!


 Report Review

Review #21, by AlexFan Makeshift

16th July 2014:
AWWW YIIISSS

first of all yay you updated! Second of all, again, I absolutely love Edie. There's just something about her sense of humour that is absolutely hilarious, maybe it's the way that she very blunt about things or maybe it's the dry way in which she sometimes says things but she's absolutely hilarious and I love her.

We finally get to find out why Oliver is dating Rose. It always bugged me because I couldn't understand why someone like him would date someone like Rose but everything makes sense now. I am so excited to see what happens after this! Are Edie and Oliver going to start dating or is it it going to be private or what is going to happen? IS THERE GOING TO BE MORE EDIE AND OLIVER MOMENTS PREFERABLY ONES WHERE THEIR FACES ARE ATTACHED?

But the point is that I really loved this chapter.

Author's Response: Hello you!! I know, FINALLY an update. Jeez. I'm about to have a super boring two month stint in my hometown, so you can expect a lot of updates in the future. Maybe I'll be finish this story before the fall? Who knows.

Anyway, thank you thank you! Edie and Oliver do seem to finally have their ducks in a row. And you can certainly look forward to one face-attached scene in particular. Ahem.

So yes, look for updates ;)


 Report Review

Review #22, by marauderfan Makeshift

16th July 2014:
So happy to see a new chapter of this up!

LOL at Edie insisting she was not just drooling all over the magazine. She totally was. I love how she's actually doing Seamus's hair but there are only about two mentions of Seamus's hair in the whole paragraph because she's really not thinking about that. And when Edie's mum does his hair instead, fabulous. Hahaha

Wow, yeah there hadn't been much of Dean lately! It's nice for him to show up again, I love the way you write both Dean and Seamus in this story. Aw, I'm glad Edie and Dean are back to making goofy bets/jokes again, although there is still that kind of weirdness because she's been too busy for him and he kind of likes her. Um. Also I can't say I'd have been able to avoid the cheese table either. Mmm.

And this scene made me laugh so much:

I have a job now. Im a fully-functioning adult!
Lisa returns to her mirror, Youve got cheese on you.


I'm still really curious about why Justin was Oliver's lawyer. You gave just enough information for it to be really intriguing and just little enough that it's frustrating to not know. Haha, I'm right with Edie there in wanting to ask loads of questions :P

I love that Justin was the one to overdo it on wedding themes and planning, it's refreshing to see that role go to the guy rather than the girl once in a while!

Aw, Peter is adorable. (WAIT SORRY I NEED TO POINT OUT HOW MUCH I LOVE THAT THEIR CAT WAS RING BEARER.)

I can't say I'm too surprised with the stuff about Rose. I don't think Oliver was a jerk for that - they were really in the same boat there. Rose did seem like the type of person who's in love with fame. Eh, she'll find another famous Quidditch player ;)

AND HURRAH EDIVER KISS ♥ ♥ BECAUSE I TOTALLY HAVEN'T BEEN WAITING 24 CHAPTERS FOR THAT! *fireworks* *confetti*

Gah, I think I've worn out the capslock button on my keyboard with this review. But I have no regrets. Awesome, fantastic, fabulous, splendiferous chapter. Love this story.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for another review, it means a lot that you've decided to stick around.

That's a very funny point about only mentioning Seamus's hair twice in that paragraph. Yes, she definitely was not paying the most attention to him... I've always wanted to have an interaction between Edie, Seamus, Dean and Hypatia. But a Dean-less one will have to do!

Speaking of him, he is a bit moody huh? The next chapter will get more into this, but I've always seen him as brooding and controlling. Among his many other good qualities, of course! He is a great book character, and I've always thought he had a good sense of humor and his artsy side is fun. But the way he treats Ginny in OotP is a bit controlling... which does not bode well with Edie.

Haha, yes, a little frustrating indeed! I very much wanted to explain why Justin was his lawyer, but I also was about to dump all of the Rose information on readers... which, to be fair, a lot of you probably saw coming. But it felt like both, erm, "reveals" would have been a bit much.

GAH Justin. He's one of my favorites, because he's just so... JUSTIN. I love writing about him because he embodies so many things that frustrate me, but he's also such a sop. Much like his brother, Peter.

Yes kiss, kiss, kiss! I always struggle with those scenes, because half of me is melting and gooey and my heart going pitter-patter... and the other half is me trying not to vomit. But hopefully it was still slightly weird enough... Hence there were other people standing around, and I didn't really describe the scenery of the flower garden, or what Oliver was wearing, and LOOK I'M TRYING HERE.

Thank you again, dearie. I've been waiting to write this chapter forever, and I'm glad you've enjoyed the read ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodore The Opposite of Dreadful

12th July 2014:
Hello there! So I should probably start by saying I found this story just after the Dobby awards started last year and read it all through then, and I've been reading most of your updates without actually reviewing *blushes* So I thought I'd rectify that now with a review!

I really love this story! I've read a fair few different Oliver Wood/OC stories but I think that this one is probably my favourite on the site at the moment, and it's definitely worth waiting for the updates. Your cast of characters is so great, and I love the way that you've slotted Edie into the world of Harry Potter by making her friends with Dean and Seamus and Lisa and Justin (well, sort of). And you write the relationship (of sorts) between Edie and Oliver really well - I love the set up of Edie working at Witch Weekly and at the bar and the way that everything's developed from there.

So onto this chapter... I wasn't expecting Oliver to have a younger sister! That makes the idea of 'Miss Ada' much more pleasant and I loved the way she was so blunt with Edie, to the point that Edie didn't know how to react. And it was lovely to see Edie going to Oliver's house and spending time with them here - I'm really hopeful for them now and I hope that they manage to get things worked out soon!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello! Of course, I remember you Sian! And while reviews are always lovely, it's nice just to see the "Reads" count on this story. Makes my heart go pitter-pat.

I agree about minor characters! JKR is so amazing and wonderful and even the tiniest, most insignificant of her characters deserves lovin' and story time. Some readers have pointed out that this story almost feels non-HP because I am not using common characters and locations, so that's been a bit of a struggle. But I love the sprawling Magical world thank-you-JKR, so I really wanted to take advantage of it. Giggling at "sort of" friendship with Justin and relationship "of sorts" with Oliver. All very true!

I'm glad some people hadn't read the first version of "The Hanging Moon" when Oliver straight up tells Edie who Ada is. Haha. I get into these coffee-induced excitement attacks and speed write a chapter and put it into the queue without really thinking about it... that was a good example. Later I realized I wanted to have the big reveal be later, mostly because that chapter was such an information dump anyway. We already learned about his shoulder injury, and his relationship with Katie Bell, and Deverill's replacement...

Anyway!

Thank you so very much for the kind words. I'm glad you have stuck with this story for oh-so-long. ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by ASDFGHJKL1234 The Opposite of Dreadful

11th July 2014:
HEHEEHEHEHEHEHHEHEHEHEHHE *WHEEZING *WHEEZING

SO EXCITED FOR THIS LOVE TO BLOW

Author's Response: Breathe, breathe! Thank you, dear wheezy reviewer ♥

 Report Review

Review #25, by marauderfan The Opposite of Dreadful

25th April 2014:
So fluffy but also so amazing! I loved it! Aww, I love the idea of Oliver with a little sister, and that whole exchange between Ada and Edie was just too cute. I felt badly for Edie not knowing how to talk to kids, especially one who talks about her parents' death, I don't know how I'd have reacted in that situation either! But Ada seems to have liked her so it can't have been that bad.

I'm really intrigued about the rally too. Hoping that Edie goes to it, it seems like just her sort of thing and should be interesting! And it will give her something great to write about. I love that you've included such a cool topic in your story.

THE SCENE WITH EDIE AND OLIVER AT HIS HOUSE ♥ And they're on good terms again and talking and he wants to see her again and ahsdfja they are so cute. I'm so glad Edie admitted she was wrong and that they're starting to move past all the drama of before. Though... there still are those articles she published about him showing him in a bad light, which he's said he will not read, but I have a feeling he'll find out about it one way or the other :-/

I'm excited for the wedding :) And Oliver is going to be there! Something tells me Edie will end up embarrassing either herself and/or Lisa and/or Justin and/or Oliver at the wedding though :P I'm curious how Oliver knows Justin, too.

Also, congrats on your Keckers awards this year!! This story is amazing and hilarious and totally deserves the recognition :) Another fantastic chapter, loved it!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for reviewing ♥

I am falling more and more in love with Oliver and Ada, to the point that I almost wish the story wasn't written in Edie's POV so that I could write him trying to do her hair and talking about her "time of the month." But alas. Ohh, Edie not knowing how to deal with kids was definitely written from the heart. Yeah, I think Ada likes Edie, in a mildly disinterested way.

Oh, don't you worry--Edie is going to the rally. Yay! The FGC and Grimma Longfinger have been a super fun, last-minute addition that I wasn't actually planning on having as a plot point. I think I just wanted a headline for the first mentioning of The Oracle Underground, and it took off from there. I had probably drank a lot of coffee that day.

EDIVERRR OVERLOAD yes! I think I am glad that Edie admitted her wrongdoings, too. It was funny; I was actually reluctant to have her admitting she was wrong. Even though she clearly was! It took me a few minutes of sitting there to make myself write it. Maybe her obnoxious stubbornness is from the heart, too?

Hahaha, yes, there is a good chance that Edie will end up embarrassing lit-rally everyone she comes into contact with. It's pretty much a guarantee at any social event. And Oliver and Justin's relationship will indeed come to light, later on! (There really are only like four more chapters coming, I swear, I'm going to end this story if it kills me which it probably will!)

Awww, thank you. I'm so proud of my Keckers :) And thanks again for taking the time to review. I appreciate your patience with this story--I know it's taking me forever to update these days ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>