Reading Reviews for Keep Calm and Carry On
  
353 Reviews Found

Review #1, by castaspell Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

23rd July 2014:
Two words: In. Love.

Author's Response: Thank you! I haven't had a review on chapter one in ages. So nice to have a new reader. Welcome!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ValWitch21 Makeshift

17th July 2014:
(This review is going to be a rambly catastrophe especially considering it's the first I type since Christmas.)

WAH. I AM SHOUTING AND IT IS A PITY SWEARING ISN'T ALLOWED OR THIS SENTENCE WOULD BE A LOT MORE COLOURFUL.

FINALLY, FINALLYYY, IT ONLY TOOK TWENTY FOUR CHAPTERS! Please do not make it go downhill from here or I will scream blue murder.

My happy flailing aside, I'm kind of sad because this is starting to look too much like the end for my liking. Can we please get at least one more Edie/Dean/Seamus scene? Plus cameos from Ada, Hypatia, and Lisa? I NEVER WANT TO SEE THIS STORY END, YOU SHOULD WRITE EDIVER UNTIL THEY'RE OLD AND WRINKLY AND SURROUNDED BY GRAND CHILDREN.

There are a few stories on this site where I think, 'oh, I wish there was fanfiction of this fanfiction'. This is one of those.

Please take as long as possible to update, so the story will last longer!

Author's Response: Val!! Hello!!!

I FELT A LOT LIKE SHOUTING WHILE WRITING THIS SO IT'S OKAY. I know, twenty-four chapters. AHHH. This is definitely the lengthiest thing I have ever written (other than the awful, never revised, rambling, 130-page stories I wrote as a ten year-old.) And I'm glad that somebody else is feeling a little queasy about getting to the end. This story is full of little bits that aren't necessary to the plot, and which could certainly stand to be removed. But I love writing this so much that I just keep adding and adding things so I can keep writing. Maybe that's a good thing?

Edie with children (and grandchildren!) Can you even imagine? She's had more than her share of motherhood with raising her brothers, I'm sure. But I see what you're saying and thank you, I would love to write twenty sequels to this, each one telling every completely menial thing in the daily lives of Edie, Oliver, Seamus, Dean, Hypatia, Rose, Justin, Lisa and I AM GOING TO MISS MY FAKE FRIENDS

Fanfiction for this fanfiction! You stop it. That is so sweet. Seriously, that's like the nicest thing ♥

Thank you so much Val! I'm so glad to see you back around HPFF!


 Report Review

Review #3, by AlexFan Makeshift

16th July 2014:
AWWW YIIISSS

first of all yay you updated! Second of all, again, I absolutely love Edie. There's just something about her sense of humour that is absolutely hilarious, maybe it's the way that she very blunt about things or maybe it's the dry way in which she sometimes says things but she's absolutely hilarious and I love her.

We finally get to find out why Oliver is dating Rose. It always bugged me because I couldn't understand why someone like him would date someone like Rose but everything makes sense now. I am so excited to see what happens after this! Are Edie and Oliver going to start dating or is it it going to be private or what is going to happen? IS THERE GOING TO BE MORE EDIE AND OLIVER MOMENTS PREFERABLY ONES WHERE THEIR FACES ARE ATTACHED?

But the point is that I really loved this chapter.

Author's Response: Hello you!! I know, FINALLY an update. Jeez. I'm about to have a super boring two month stint in my hometown, so you can expect a lot of updates in the future. Maybe I'll be finish this story before the fall? Who knows.

Anyway, thank you thank you! Edie and Oliver do seem to finally have their ducks in a row. And you can certainly look forward to one face-attached scene in particular. Ahem.

So yes, look for updates ;)


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan Makeshift

16th July 2014:
So happy to see a new chapter of this up!

LOL at Edie insisting she was not just drooling all over the magazine. She totally was. I love how she's actually doing Seamus's hair but there are only about two mentions of Seamus's hair in the whole paragraph because she's really not thinking about that. And when Edie's mum does his hair instead, fabulous. Hahaha

Wow, yeah there hadn't been much of Dean lately! It's nice for him to show up again, I love the way you write both Dean and Seamus in this story. Aw, I'm glad Edie and Dean are back to making goofy bets/jokes again, although there is still that kind of weirdness because she's been too busy for him and he kind of likes her. Um. Also I can't say I'd have been able to avoid the cheese table either. Mmm.

And this scene made me laugh so much:

I have a job now. Im a fully-functioning adult!
Lisa returns to her mirror, Youve got cheese on you.


I'm still really curious about why Justin was Oliver's lawyer. You gave just enough information for it to be really intriguing and just little enough that it's frustrating to not know. Haha, I'm right with Edie there in wanting to ask loads of questions :P

I love that Justin was the one to overdo it on wedding themes and planning, it's refreshing to see that role go to the guy rather than the girl once in a while!

Aw, Peter is adorable. (WAIT SORRY I NEED TO POINT OUT HOW MUCH I LOVE THAT THEIR CAT WAS RING BEARER.)

I can't say I'm too surprised with the stuff about Rose. I don't think Oliver was a jerk for that - they were really in the same boat there. Rose did seem like the type of person who's in love with fame. Eh, she'll find another famous Quidditch player ;)

AND HURRAH EDIVER KISS ♥ ♥ BECAUSE I TOTALLY HAVEN'T BEEN WAITING 24 CHAPTERS FOR THAT! *fireworks* *confetti*

Gah, I think I've worn out the capslock button on my keyboard with this review. But I have no regrets. Awesome, fantastic, fabulous, splendiferous chapter. Love this story.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for another review, it means a lot that you've decided to stick around.

That's a very funny point about only mentioning Seamus's hair twice in that paragraph. Yes, she definitely was not paying the most attention to him... I've always wanted to have an interaction between Edie, Seamus, Dean and Hypatia. But a Dean-less one will have to do!

Speaking of him, he is a bit moody huh? The next chapter will get more into this, but I've always seen him as brooding and controlling. Among his many other good qualities, of course! He is a great book character, and I've always thought he had a good sense of humor and his artsy side is fun. But the way he treats Ginny in OotP is a bit controlling... which does not bode well with Edie.

Haha, yes, a little frustrating indeed! I very much wanted to explain why Justin was his lawyer, but I also was about to dump all of the Rose information on readers... which, to be fair, a lot of you probably saw coming. But it felt like both, erm, "reveals" would have been a bit much.

GAH Justin. He's one of my favorites, because he's just so... JUSTIN. I love writing about him because he embodies so many things that frustrate me, but he's also such a sop. Much like his brother, Peter.

Yes kiss, kiss, kiss! I always struggle with those scenes, because half of me is melting and gooey and my heart going pitter-patter... and the other half is me trying not to vomit. But hopefully it was still slightly weird enough... Hence there were other people standing around, and I didn't really describe the scenery of the flower garden, or what Oliver was wearing, and LOOK I'M TRYING HERE.

Thank you again, dearie. I've been waiting to write this chapter forever, and I'm glad you've enjoyed the read ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore The Opposite of Dreadful

12th July 2014:
Hello there! So I should probably start by saying I found this story just after the Dobby awards started last year and read it all through then, and I've been reading most of your updates without actually reviewing *blushes* So I thought I'd rectify that now with a review!

I really love this story! I've read a fair few different Oliver Wood/OC stories but I think that this one is probably my favourite on the site at the moment, and it's definitely worth waiting for the updates. Your cast of characters is so great, and I love the way that you've slotted Edie into the world of Harry Potter by making her friends with Dean and Seamus and Lisa and Justin (well, sort of). And you write the relationship (of sorts) between Edie and Oliver really well - I love the set up of Edie working at Witch Weekly and at the bar and the way that everything's developed from there.

So onto this chapter... I wasn't expecting Oliver to have a younger sister! That makes the idea of 'Miss Ada' much more pleasant and I loved the way she was so blunt with Edie, to the point that Edie didn't know how to react. And it was lovely to see Edie going to Oliver's house and spending time with them here - I'm really hopeful for them now and I hope that they manage to get things worked out soon!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello! Of course, I remember you Sian! And while reviews are always lovely, it's nice just to see the "Reads" count on this story. Makes my heart go pitter-pat.

I agree about minor characters! JKR is so amazing and wonderful and even the tiniest, most insignificant of her characters deserves lovin' and story time. Some readers have pointed out that this story almost feels non-HP because I am not using common characters and locations, so that's been a bit of a struggle. But I love the sprawling Magical world thank-you-JKR, so I really wanted to take advantage of it. Giggling at "sort of" friendship with Justin and relationship "of sorts" with Oliver. All very true!

I'm glad some people hadn't read the first version of "The Hanging Moon" when Oliver straight up tells Edie who Ada is. Haha. I get into these coffee-induced excitement attacks and speed write a chapter and put it into the queue without really thinking about it... that was a good example. Later I realized I wanted to have the big reveal be later, mostly because that chapter was such an information dump anyway. We already learned about his shoulder injury, and his relationship with Katie Bell, and Deverill's replacement...

Anyway!

Thank you so very much for the kind words. I'm glad you have stuck with this story for oh-so-long. ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by ASDFGHJKL1234 The Opposite of Dreadful

11th July 2014:
HEHEEHEHEHEHEHHEHEHEHEHHE *WHEEZING *WHEEZING

SO EXCITED FOR THIS LOVE TO BLOW

Author's Response: Breathe, breathe! Thank you, dear wheezy reviewer ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan The Opposite of Dreadful

25th April 2014:
So fluffy but also so amazing! I loved it! Aww, I love the idea of Oliver with a little sister, and that whole exchange between Ada and Edie was just too cute. I felt badly for Edie not knowing how to talk to kids, especially one who talks about her parents' death, I don't know how I'd have reacted in that situation either! But Ada seems to have liked her so it can't have been that bad.

I'm really intrigued about the rally too. Hoping that Edie goes to it, it seems like just her sort of thing and should be interesting! And it will give her something great to write about. I love that you've included such a cool topic in your story.

THE SCENE WITH EDIE AND OLIVER AT HIS HOUSE ♥ And they're on good terms again and talking and he wants to see her again and ahsdfja they are so cute. I'm so glad Edie admitted she was wrong and that they're starting to move past all the drama of before. Though... there still are those articles she published about him showing him in a bad light, which he's said he will not read, but I have a feeling he'll find out about it one way or the other :-/

I'm excited for the wedding :) And Oliver is going to be there! Something tells me Edie will end up embarrassing either herself and/or Lisa and/or Justin and/or Oliver at the wedding though :P I'm curious how Oliver knows Justin, too.

Also, congrats on your Keckers awards this year!! This story is amazing and hilarious and totally deserves the recognition :) Another fantastic chapter, loved it!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for reviewing ♥

I am falling more and more in love with Oliver and Ada, to the point that I almost wish the story wasn't written in Edie's POV so that I could write him trying to do her hair and talking about her "time of the month." But alas. Ohh, Edie not knowing how to deal with kids was definitely written from the heart. Yeah, I think Ada likes Edie, in a mildly disinterested way.

Oh, don't you worry--Edie is going to the rally. Yay! The FGC and Grimma Longfinger have been a super fun, last-minute addition that I wasn't actually planning on having as a plot point. I think I just wanted a headline for the first mentioning of The Oracle Underground, and it took off from there. I had probably drank a lot of coffee that day.

EDIVERRR OVERLOAD yes! I think I am glad that Edie admitted her wrongdoings, too. It was funny; I was actually reluctant to have her admitting she was wrong. Even though she clearly was! It took me a few minutes of sitting there to make myself write it. Maybe her obnoxious stubbornness is from the heart, too?

Hahaha, yes, there is a good chance that Edie will end up embarrassing lit-rally everyone she comes into contact with. It's pretty much a guarantee at any social event. And Oliver and Justin's relationship will indeed come to light, later on! (There really are only like four more chapters coming, I swear, I'm going to end this story if it kills me which it probably will!)

Awww, thank you. I'm so proud of my Keckers :) And thanks again for taking the time to review. I appreciate your patience with this story--I know it's taking me forever to update these days ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by AlexFan The Opposite of Dreadful

22nd April 2014:
Do not worry about the fluff, it was so perfect and sweet and I don't even know how to explain it because it was really lovely. If you were to take two years to update this story, I wouldn't even care, I'd come back and read the new chapter because this is so good.

This is by far one of the best romances that I've read, in both published and fanfiction worlds. I don't know how you do it but you're amazing at writing romance. You develop the relationship between Oliver and Eddie so smoothly. Usually with other stories you can tell that the author is doing everything on purpose but not in this. I feel like everything I'm reading is actually happening, it's so natural. The way that Edie and Oliver get to know about each other is really great and nothing screams plot device.

I'm a very big fan of this story as you can clearly tell. If you were to turn this into an original novel once you were done with it and send it to a publishing company, I would buy this book in a heartbeat (and if I was a publisher, I'd publish it in a heartbeat as well.)

This is one of the best Oliver Wood stories that I've ever read and keep up the absolutely amazing work!

Author's Response: Hey there! I've missed reading your reviews (as in I should update more--not anything on you, of course.) I can't tell you how much it means that you've stuck with this story for as long as you have. Especially since you're prepared to wait the full two years. It's definitely a possibility.

Wow, thank you. It's difficult responding to such lovely compliments without sounding like a prat writer but here we go. One of my biggest goals in writing this, was focusing on Edie trying struggling to find out who she is (and maybe failing, and maybe accepting that it's okay to not know.) The rest of the story, including Oliver, therefore just fell into place. Most of the Ediver scenes weren't pre-written, so it was easy for them to mesh into the story. It was a total accident, but it worked. ;)

I've definitely been toying with the idea of turning this into OF. But I'm horrified by the thought of somebody recognizing it as fanfiction, haha. Thank you for saying that! Maybe it's the motivation I need.

Thank you thank you thank you. I'm working on the next chapter but SO MANY THINGS happen, I'm walking on eggshells. Hopefully it'll be up soon. ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by teh tarik The Opposite of Dreadful

21st April 2014:
HELLOO YOU

Sooo...after ten centuries of not reviewing the last few chapters, I'm BACK, or sort of, in reviewing mode. I've actually been following your story all this while, all your updates. And I'm very sure that this story is one that I've been following for the longest period of time EVER. Since ohmygoodness 2012. I LOVE IT. And I love Edie and cringe-y things she does and says and her less-than-wonderful life which makes me want to give her a good pat on the back, sit her down and make her a cuppa. Maybe Hypatia would do that, I dunno?

And wow! It's nearly the end of her story now, is it? I suppose it's starting to feel this way too...the way things are kind of winding down, like now Edie's got a better job, and she's beginning to go somewhere with Oliver, and Lisa and Justin are slowly becoming that so-happy-together couple, and Hypatia and Edie have some sort of close moment of understanding/confiding etc...SIGH. Or maybe you've got one last plot twist or something where Edie suddenly discoveres she has a sister she never knew about lol. I really wish you could write this forever too.

Your fluff pains probs give your readers great pleasure. Aww, that Ediver scene was THE LURVE. ♥ And of course I absolutely loved how That was dreadful just about equated to That was brilliant!. Fab.

I'm kinda interested about a few things here: like the history between Oliver and Justin...I can't remember if you mentioned this in earlier chapters, but yeah, sounds interesting. And whatever on earth is going on with Rose. And finally the Grimma Longfinger thing. It's like some kind of subplot that's been hovering in the background ever since the start of the story, and I'm very curious to see how that will play out. I get the feeling Edie's going to attend the rally?

I'VE MISSED REVIEWING THIS STORY ♥

-teh

Author's Response: YOOOUUU!!! Hi, hi, hi, hi! How have you been? I'm so glad you've been lurking on this story still--you are seriously such an inspiration in your writing and I am humbled that you have stuck with KC&CO for almost two years. ♥

Things certainly are beginning to wind down. I still have a few tricks up my sleeve, but really it should just be a few more chapters... maybe four, maybe five. I want to keep writing forever and ever but I've already written so many scenes and lengthy Edie-logues irrelevent to the plot. It's so fun to write this story, but it's so lengthy now... I need to cut myself off! *Whispers* especially if I'm considering publishing this as OF.

In my head, and all my plot notes, this Ediver scene was way less fluffy. But when I started writing it all came out in fluff-overload. The "your hair looks nice pulled back" bit actually made me cringe a little. But there was so much pent-up fluff aggression. It was beyond my control, hehe.

Yes! Oliver and Justin's relationship will be revealed in due time, which probably means at the eleventh hour. I've mentioned it briefly but then this story is riddled with so many (TOO MANY???) side-plots that it's probably been forgotten by all. Grimma will certainly come to light as well... later. (Not sure if great at withholding plot twists until the appropriate time, or a serious procrastinator.)

Thank you so much for reviewing! I've missed chatting with you. Maybe-just-maybe I will be sending you a very lenghty PM today to see how you're doing ;)

Thanks again, lovely ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by meowcowpow The Opposite of Dreadful

20th April 2014:
Woohoo! FINALLY! Edie admits that she's in the wrong! She's progressing as a person! I have a feeling that something important is going to happen at this wedding. And I hope it is what I think it is.

Author's Response: Hello there! Yes, she is finally starting to be a little less insufferable. I think. Ohh, I hope that it is what you think it is, too! We shall see. Thanks for reading ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by MarieBlack Twenty-Two

18th February 2014:
So sincerely glad that you updated and wrote more! I have been missing this story in my life.

I terribly love Edie and all of her relationship with Oliver. It's so real and wonderfully messy, I think it's true to life as well. I'm dying to see if Edie will go for Oliver, or the job at The Oracle or just anything. I can't wait to see the masterful ending.

Keep writing! I'm thoroughly enjoying!

Author's Response: Heya! Aww, thanks! I'm so sincerely glad that you've been needing a little Edie in your life :)

"Wonderfully messy" is such an awesome way to describe their relationship. I am taking that as a huge compliment! The ending isn't too far off--I have it outlined all the way up to it. But I keep thinking "Oooh wouldn't it be funny to throw this in there?" and lengthen it a bit more. Whoops! Either way, I don't expect it to go over 28 chapters total (holy crap so many chapters.)

Almost there! Thanks for sticking with it. ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by Courtney Dark Twenty-Two

15th February 2014:
So I looked back and I realized that I have been following this story since October of 2012 - that is over a year and somehow you have managed to keep me interesting, coming back enthusiastically every time there's a new chapter - and I definitely think that's an achievement! Also, my first few reviews were pretty cringeworthy!

There was so much I loved about this chapter! The photoshoot with Oliver was a lot of fun - I can't believe Edie thought it was a photoshoot of her, she really can be rather naive! And the moment when Oliver stripped off the robe was great - I loved that you made him embarrassed, rather than completely confident and cocky.

However, while I adore all the Edie/Oliver moments, I think my favourite part of this chapter was the scene with Edie and her mother - not only was the dog rather adorable in it's own way (and I'm not curious about how it's going to come into the story) I think you wrote a very believable, emotional conversation between Edie and Hypatia. I definitely think Edie should give Oliver another chance, and look at herself in a different light!

I'm already looking forward to the next chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hey you!

Wow, I guess that's true--I haven't thought about it like that! I've only been thinking of it in terms of how long it's taken me to write it, haha. And there are no cringeworthy reviews. Trust me, I've done my share of fangirling and really it's just a compliment, right?

Okay! On to actually responding to your review.

"Naive" or completely arrogant, either one. Hehe. But yes, I definitely wanted to stray from the "cocky Oliver Wood" that we sometimes see in fic. It's really fun to read, and I'd imagine it'd be possible with the way his character is in canon, but I think this was a more realistic way for *this* Oliver Wood to react to being forced to wear little underwear. Although he could have always refused to do it...

Hypatia. I've been waiting to write both of these scenes for a long time, but especially the talk with Edie's mother. I wanted Edie to be forced to think about herself in another light, as you said, but especially for it to be coming from Hypatia, who Edie has written off as flippant and batty.

Thanks so much for sticking with this story! It means a lot to me ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by heartjily4ever Twenty-Two

12th February 2014:
Oh my god I feel so sorry for that dog, that wasn't exactly the most pleasant of descriptions. I'm sure its cute in it's own way.

Why can't their relationship just happen you know. I know nothings perfect but I feel like their relationship (Edie and Oliver by the way) should just work out so well.

I feel that Edie should forgive him, but I may be biased as I want them to get together. Although she might be hurt, they will never happen if she's secretly hating his guts.

This was a great chapter, and I wanna see more of this dog :D

Author's Response: I know! Poor doggie. That's another of the many differences between Edie and I--I absolutely love animals. So it's fun to write from a different perspective. Don't worry, she'll warm up to "it."

Your "nothing's perfect" with relationships comment will definitely come into play. ;) I'm glad to hear you'd think they'd work out well--we just need to see if that's true!

You will indeed see more of this dog! Next chapter, in fact.

Thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by chocolateteacups Twenty-Two

12th February 2014:
I honestly don't think Oliver is past the point of forgiveness at all - in fact I think Edie is far closer to the border line, if she hasn't already overstepped it. You write excellently and I thoroughly enjoy reading this story (and I don't mind scenes with a shirtless Oliver either). Can't wait for the next update :)
Also, the feminist goblin movement is the best sideplot I've come across. Possibly ever.

Author's Response: Glad to hear your opinions on the matter! I'm wondering how many people will side with Oliver, and how many with Edie. If I recall correctly, there are quite a few anti-Oliver readers out there... ;)

Oh girl, I don't mind WRITING the scenes with shirtless Oliver.

And the feminist Goblin movement was definitely a last-minute slideplot. I just wanted a headline to mention to introduce The Oracle Underground, which has become an important part of the story. But it just seemed too good to pass up, so Grimma Longfinger was created. I've really enjoyed paralleling her downfall with Edie's, and showing the difference between their "problems." Edie's being single, being broke, being "unemployed," etc. is not really much compared to Grimma and the other Goblins' struggles for rights.

(...To give you the really long answer.)

Thanks so much ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by marauderfan Twenty-Two

12th February 2014:
This was a great chapter. I think it was about time for Edie to stop living in her head and havr someone tell her straight up what is happening - mothers are great for that since they don't have to be polite, but really want the best for you - so I'm glad Hypatia made her see the other side! She may be a ridiculous person sometimes but she is wonderful. I'm glad Edie listened to her. :D

But aww, she feels like she has a real job now! Please tell me this isn't the calm before (another) storm, its nice to see that some things are finally going Edie's way for once!

I saw your request on the forums for help with a chapter title - maybe something like "a new view" - both for Edie's mum's perspective which is new for Edie to consider... and the view she gets of Oliver, which I think needs to be mentioned ;) Anyway, maybe that will spark some ideas for you. Hope that helps.

Awesome chapter!

Author's Response: Hello!

Phew, I agree with you entirely--it's been kind of painful to write this story, because all along I've been wanting to scream at Edie for being so arrogant. Then again, she genuinely thinks she's on some kind of vigilante conquest to bring him down. It seems she and Hypatia share delusional tendencies ;)

I like that idea--and the "view" pun. Hehe. It got me thinking about titles, and new perspectives, and I decided on "Vanity, Not Love" from a Pride&Prejudice quotation, when Lizzie's perspective is changed and she realizes that she was at fault. Thanks so much for the help!

And of course, thanks for the review ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by illaiyna Apology Not Accepted

9th February 2014:
oh my god i just read this in the last few hours and I can't wait for the next chapter i just have not been able to stop reading xD
Edie is so realistic and in the Puddlemere match when she shouted out i think I was turning bright red myself xD i really love her character and also Dean and Seamus who were so underrated in the books, same with Oliver actually. This whole time period is fairly underrated as well haha
either way, absolutely amazing story and I cannot wait for the next chapter and more on Edie and Oliver's relationship xD

Author's Response: Hi there, speed-reader :)

Thanks you for taking the time to leave a review. Glad you can find yourself relating to Edie, even if it's for the embarrassing parts. I agree with Dean, Seamus and Oliver being very underrated characters.

Working on the next chapter as we speak!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jen Apology Not Accepted

2nd February 2014:
Glad to see you're back! I've been checking periodically for an update and I was really glad to find one when I looked today :) thanks for not abandoning the story, it's one of my favorites on this website.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you for checking back! It means a lot. I've just churned out half of the next chapter in one coffee-induced bout of creativity. It'll be up sometime this month!

 Report Review

Review #18, by LucyInTheSky Apology Not Accepted

2nd February 2014:
Hey:). I just wanted stay that this story is brilliant! The way you write your characters and add little details and plots and twists is absolutely amazing. I really think your writing is even better than in a lot of published work. I can't wait for the next update, when will it be?

Author's Response: Oh my oh my, blushing. Thank you so very much. I need to get my life together and work on some more writing. Publishing a novel has been a dream of mine since forever. As for KC&CO, updates have been slow-coming, as you have probably noticed. But I've just opened up the ol' Word document in hopes to work on the next chapter.

Thanks so very much! What a motivating review ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by Wendy<3 Apology Not Accepted

2nd February 2014:
I really love this story

Author's Response: Hey, thanks Wendy! ♥

 Report Review

Review #20, by ladymarauder85 The Job Thousands would Kill For

27th January 2014:
Have you been an intern at a magazine? You're completely spot on. Been there, several times and several cups of tea later.

I adore Edie already! She's quick and has a real voice, which is something I'm jealous of - I can never quite manage a character who doesn't sound exactly like everyone else.

I love that Dean and Seamus are in this, it's not often I read stories that they appear in, so it's a nice change and time as well.

I can't wait to keep reading!

Author's Response: Hiya!

Not at a magazine, but at an art museum... which is where I've drawn the majority of Edie's experiences from. I'm sure there are a lot of similarities between being a poor unpaid intern at either of the two places!

That's very kind, thank you. It's good to know that she seems real to you :)

Dean and Seamus forEVAR. They don't get enough attention in canon. Especially Dean, with such an interesting backstory.



 Report Review

Review #21, by MarieBlack Apology Not Accepted

9th January 2014:
WHY HAS IT STOPPED NO I AM NOT OKAY.

Sorry for the melodramtics but I literally stumbled upon this today and have glued myself to reading it into the wee hours of the night. Your writing is just superb and I'm so connected with Edie and her personality. Your character development is on point and I love how you portray Oliver as well. He was always the one character I was so curious about Post-HP, because he is hardly mentioned after he graduates. And they don't just go off and fall in love, it's real and problematic, and lovely. Keep writing and updating, PLEASE. I genuinely want to keep reading this and see how it all ends. Btw, Dean's crush on Edie is so well put in in a non-obvious way. LOVE LOVE LOVE. Sorry if this is particularly crazy, I may be sleep deprived.

Author's Response: Oh no! Please be okay! I can't even believe that you've read this whole thing in one go--that is incredibly flattering. Thank you so much ♥

Oliver really is interesting in the books, huh? So serious and calculating, but completely impulsive and inconsiderate too--the way he talked about trying to get Harry back on the team after he'd really hurt himself. I agree, he never got enough time in the spotlight.

Haha, problematic is a good word for their "relationship." I can't wait for a few chapters down the road when everything comes undone--or comes together, depending on how you look at it. I'm really trying to make it as realistic as possible. No kiss-in-the-rain and sweeping dramatic gestures and all that.

Ah, Dean! Yes, he and Seamus need some more time. They will be very present at Lisa's wedding, don't worry. I do miss them, though...

Thank you so much for reading!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Courtney Dark Apology Not Accepted

8th January 2014:
Hey there! I am so happy this chapter is finally up! You have no idea how much I have been looking forward to it, because this story is definitely one of my favourites, primarily because Edie is just such an amazing character.

Oh god, that would have to suck, moving back home after 11 years at the age of 26. I know that if I was Edie and my brothers were taking the mickey out of me, I would get very, very angry. So I'm surprised Edie kept such a cool head! And I loved how her mother still treated her like a child or a very immature teenager, what with making her a sandwich and all.

Haha, I loved the 'Use Your Charms' shop scene. Very amusing. But the moment Edie mentioned the cost of all the stuff she brought, I had a feeling something was going to go wrong.

And I turned out to be right! Poor Edie, yet again. It seems like she can never do anything right! I loved Lisa's comment: Isnt that what you wore to Terry Boots sixteenth birthday party? because to me it kinda summed up Edie and Lisa's completely different lifestyles. I don't think Edie quite knows how to be an adult yet, while Lisa is definitely moving on with her life.

Ugh, Rose! I just really can't stand her! And we got to see some Oliver in this chapter, even if it was just a little bit! Woo!

Awesome chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello, you!

Yeah, I guess Edie should be applauded for only getting into a small scuffle with her brothers--and not doing some kind of mean, vengeful charm as we saw with Rose. Once again Hypatia is becoming more and more similar to my own sheltering, babying mother, haha. I'm glad Andrew got some "screen time," finally. I was hesitant to include him in the smorgasbord of characters since he's so minor, but I'm quite fond of him!

YES MINOR CHARACTERS. Had to throw in Terry Boot, there. It's interesting to think about the average lives all the other students may have been leading--parties, fights, etc.--while the Trio were trying to stop Voldemort. Squeezing into a tiny dress and sneaking Firewhiskey into the Ravenclaw common room was one of those things!

You're very right. Edie is trying her hardest (sometimes) to be an adult (at least as the story moves on) but she's just struggling a little (and moving back home certainly won't help.) Meanwhile, Lisa and her friends have totally moved on with their lives.

Thanks again so much. It means a lot that you've stuck with this story for so long ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfan Apology Not Accepted

8th January 2014:
Poor Edie - that girl gets no rest does she. I would imagine that the aftermath of that Quidditch game would be quite embarrassing/ irritating/ probably scary.

Having to move back home to your parents' place is never fun - and oh I can really sympathise with her on that one haha. Her brothers, obviously (and predictably) are not helping matters. At least she can hold it over their heads in a few years if they ever have to move back home later on as well. As siblings do :p

Laughed at the scene with her in "Use your Charm" haha, the awkward 17 year old. As fabulous as it must have been to look around for everything and carry it around the shop, it must have been even more excellent ringing it all up hahaha :p

At least Lisa's hen night didn't go as badly as it could have gone. I was predicting much worse. I mean, no one got into a screaming match. I loved this part though: I do my best to appear enamoured by the babies, even though they look like little aliens with a penchant for drooling. -- That is exactly how I feel about babies too. Eek. :p

Meep, awkward scene with Edie and Oliver! Cue guilt. Anyway, yeah I wonder how much longer he and Rose are going to last. PRobably not much longer. But then Rose will be even more annoying, I bet. Oh goodness - probably best that Jae wasn't available, saves Edie some future embarrassment.

Great chapter, looking forward to more soon!

Author's Response: Hello!

Moving back in with parents is definitely my worst fear--although in many cases it's understandable. I know quite a few people who have had to swallow their pride. Like Edie sputtered, "The economy!" And actually, her brothers are all over 17, so they should be out on their own... But all the Lennoxes have flown back to the nest. I think they feel justified because they're younger, but really they're no better! Maybe I should make their return a bit clearer in the writing. :)

Ugh. Babies. That's all I'll say on that.

The next chapter will have plenty of Oliver-related guilt. In fact he's in almost the entire chapter... I'd say it's about time the main character made another appearance, eh? ;)

Thanks so much for your review. I really do appreciate that you took the time to read my little story. ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsJaydeMalfoy The Match

3rd January 2014:
First off - YAY! Another chapter! :D

Just when it seems things are going to turn around and head in the right direction for Edie - THIS! Oh my goodness!! I know poor Edie has got to be mortified, and Oliver's not taking it well, either. :/ It's kind of Edie's fault, but it's kind of not... I mean, really, Oliver shouldn't have been so easily distracted! :P And the fact that Katie said this has happened before should at least make Edie feel a *little* better... right?? :P Poor Edie... she couldn't help it!!

I was so excited at the beginning of this chapter to see Edie in her new job, and, as usual, you had me laughing from the get-go with Seamus and Dean's hilarious letter! And this chapter also reminded me of just how much I love Edie as a character... she's so realistic and believable! I think one of my favorite parts was when she kept telling herself that Oliver looking at her was 'all in her head', and then she talked about already having named the kids she was going to have with the guy from the Weird Sisters! :P Hilarious and so realistic!

I was glad to see that Edie has started considering the effects her articles might have on Oliver and other people, but honestly, I don't think that writing them makes her a bad person. I do think she should come clean to Oliver... but I guess we'll just have to see how that plays out, won't we? :P

I really, REALLY hope that this whole match mishap doesn't mean Edie's going to lose her job... things were just starting to look good for her!

Another fantastic chapter, and I really can't wait for the next!

Author's Response: HELLOOO!!

Yeah, it's interesting to think about who is really to blame here. Edie's big mouth and giant lungs and incapability to filter her thoughts is certainly at fault... Then again, what's a professional athlete doing turning his head at a pivotal moment like that? Especially somebody like "Attempted-to-Drown-Himself-in-the-Showers-After-Gryffindor-Lost" Oliver. Hmm...

Ah, yes, the bit about Myron Wagtail is something that I drew from my own life. I was convinced that the lead singer of a local band was smitten with me...I was really just standing in front of his super-pretty girlfriend, though. Hehe.

Oooh, yes, the old moral dilemma of whether or not Edie is awful for writing the articles. And yes, as for coming clean, we will just have to see!

Thank you so much for the review! The next chapter is going into the queue in just a moment ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by Lexi The Match

22nd December 2013:
Are you everrr going to update?
I have fallen utterly in love with your story!
But I am dissapointed every time I go to look for an update and nothing is there!
Please please update!

Author's Response: Hello! Most of the next chapter is written. I've been meaning to work on it some more, but with the year's end things have been really crazy for me. Thanks so much for checking back! I hope to have Chapter 21 up by January. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>