Reading Reviews for Keep Calm and Carry On
  
473 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Asia Morning

2nd June 2016:
I have been in love with your story for so long and I'm sad to see it come to an end. I'm begging you to write some one shots to go along with this story. It would be amazing to see significant moments in their life After this point. Thank you so much for updating! I love your writing so much!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore Morning

10th May 2016:
*flails*

CONGRATULATIONS!

I know I haven't been one of those people who's been around reading this story since the beginning, but it was on my reading list for so long and I'd heard so many things about it that I'm really happy I finally got to read this before it finished. Edie is such a wonderful character and I've loved reading her story - so thank you for writing it! ♥

I'm so happy that they finally got together! It might have taken them 33 chapters to reach this point, but it's been so much fun to read about what Edie and Oliver had to do to get there. I'm grinning like an idiot now :P

Seriously, though, you really like messing around with us, don't you? I honestly thought that Oliver was just going to let Edie get on the train back to London and leave without saying anything to her about how he felt, and poor Edie was thinking exactly the same thing. Honestly, I don't think it's just that Oliver wanted Ada's blessing, but that he needed her to tell him to stop being stupid and just get on with it :P

Ada was awesome, though! It was so nice to see her again and I don't think this ending would have felt right without her being here. The fact that she'd grown up a bit and was so happy to see Edie was really lovely, and I think it was that which kept me hoping even when Oliver let Edie get on the train without saying anything. She's been such an awesome character throughout this story and it was great to see her playing a real part in making Oliver admit his feelings. Obviously Ada and Oliver's relationship has changed quite a bit as a result of the article and what she found out, but it's great to see that they still care about each other and it's probably made them stronger if anything. I honestly love reading about close sibling relationships, and Ada and Oliver are so sweet.

YAY HE FINALLY ADMITTED IT!! AND SO DID EDIE!! Haha it's taken them so long to get to this point but I completely agree with the way that it's seemed kind of inevitable for them because even though they've tried, they can't avoid each other and they still love each other, even when they know they shouldn't. I'm not sure how well them having a "normal" relationship will go, but I'm really excited for them because they deserve their happy ending after all this time!

The final section from Oliver's point of view was really unusual, but it was such a perfect choice for the ending of this story. I loved the way that we got to see how Oliver really felt about her, and the way that he'd been feeling during the last chapter when he'd come across as distant and cold. The idea that they've been skirting around the edges of each other's lives for all this time, and that now it's finally the time for them to get together is so sweet!

I've kind of mentioned this already, but thank you so much for writing a character like Edie. I honestly think that fanfiction has a tendency to include "perfect" characters, who seem to get everything handed to them on a plate, and the only problems they have in life are deciding who they want to date. And that's just not how life is, and becoming an adult is confusing and hard and life doesn't just give things to you like most stories want to make you believe. So thank you for writing a character who's so relatable and real, even if she's made some ridiculous mistakes along the way, she's been believable all the way through. Thank you for writing about her ♥

Congratulations on finally finishing your wonderful story! ♥

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore You Can Never Really Go Home

10th May 2016:
Hello! Ah, it's been far too long since I've left a review (on any story) but I'm letting myself take a little break from revision to get back to this story. I'm excited and a bit sad to know that it's finished now, but congratulations!

Ah, I'm really hoping for something a bit happier from the next chapter, because there were so many things in this one which were just a bit heartbreaking for me to read! I was so excited for Edie to finally get to see Oliver again, especially now other parts of her life are going much better than they were before, because honestly I felt like she probably needed to be in a better place herself before she could try and sort out the mess that happened with Oliver. Even so, I didn't think it was going to work out quite as well as Edie seemed to be hoping, and I'm kind of sad that I seem to have been right (at least this far).

The meeting at the start was sufficiently awkward to fit everything we know about the two of them. I felt so sorry for Edie, though, when she went to give Oliver a hug and was hoping for more and he just stood there all awkwardly. I could tell even then that he still cared about her enough not to want her to be completely embarrassed, but he was so cold (comparatively) and it was so awkward to see the two of them so far from what they used to be to each other.

I loved getting to see Neville and Aurelia as teachers at Hogwarts, too, and the way that you described Hogwarts was so cool - it kind of felt like we were returning there with Edie, since it's been a while since I read the books. I loved the way that she felt surrounded in magic again because the whole place is designed specifically for it. It really made me feel like I was going back there with her.

The idea of the staff having a party at the end of the year is a great one - I don't blame them for it either, since teaching is such a hard job. I feel like they definitely deserved to let off steam, and it made me laugh how excited Neville was to get drunk at school. It would definitely feel a bit strange to drink where you'd never been allowed to.

Hannah ♥ It was great to see her, and I love the way you portrayed her here, she's so sweet and lovely. Her and Neville make such a good couple!

Ah, the photo! I was so sure that something different was going to come from Edie discovering that Oliver still kept the photo of them in his robes when I read that part, but I'm not sure any more - still hoping, though! I definitely think that Edie and Oliver needed to talk properly about the situation and everything that had happened, and I'm glad she's had a chance to apologise, but I'm really hoping for a different ending. I'm reading on to find out :)

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan Morning

22nd April 2016:
Sarah! Ahh, first things first, CONGRATS ON FINISHING!!! I know you've been working on this story for years so you're probably in this weird state of combined 'HOORAY I finished' and 'I can't believe it's over' and 'the story still won't get out of my head so here's 12 sequels'. But it is really exciting to see this marked complete! (And a bit sad, because I have loved taking this journey along with Edie and seeing her grow up and learn to put on her Big Girl Pants, as you called it :P If you ever write any fic sequels to this I'm sure I'll be right there to read them!

So maybe it was a little cliche with the cheesy, happy ending and Oliver literally running onto the train to catch her. But despite that, it still doesn't feel wildly unrealistic, because the two of them are still three-dimensional people with real problems. They seriously messed up before, and it's implied that they still have a lot of work to do on their relationship. They'll argue, learn from the past, and work towards being better people. But isn't that what we all do? So even with the cheesy factor turned all the way up to 11, it's still such a perfect ending and ties everything together really well. It shows how far Edie has come and that even with all the mistakes she makes, it doesn't mean she's ruined everything. She learns from her mistakes and things turn out better. So as well as your message of "it's okay to be unsure of How To Be An Adult", there's also an underlying message of "it's okay to make mistakes"... rather fitting as those go together well haha.

If you're taking votes about which of the thousand epilogues to write, I vote for one with Dean and Seamus in it. They were such awesome supporting characters in this fic and I loved whenever they turned up :P

Last but not least, Edie and Oliver's conversation about their ineptitude at healing spells was hilarious. And that Quidditch is basically sustaining injuries for money :P This story was such a fun read from start to finish, and I've absolutely loved reading it. Congrats once again on completing it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by madness Morning

21st April 2016:


Author's Response: Yes hello!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Andromeda You Can Never Really Go Home

13th April 2016:
OH MY GOD YOU FINALLY UPDATED I LOVE IT PLEASE POST THE NEXT PART AS SOON AS YOU CAN! I'M SO EXCITED I'M SHAKING!

Author's Response: Yes, I did! The final chapter is in the queue :) Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Bella You Can Never Really Go Home

5th April 2016:
Aa I have waited for ever! This is one of the best fanfics I have read. I have to reread it because I have forgotten alot. My heart breaks, this is too much like real life, feels like my break up when he says he doesn't feel anything for her. I hate cliches but this is so sad :( I don't know, suprise me, and post the next chapter now!! Love you :*

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I know it's taken forever--I really had no idea it had been almost a year until I casually glanced at my "last published" on chapter 31 and was like O_O

So thank you for sticking with this story! The fact that people put up with my procrastination is actually amazing. And I'm sorry to hear about your breakup! Sending hugs your way. Last time I went through that, I read a lot of fic and ate a lot of candy...

The next chapter is written, and I'm just scared to post it because I don't know if it's ready or not! Editing editing editing is my new mantra, since most of this fic was just word-vomited onto the site.

Thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by RoseVaughan And What a Mess It's Been

2nd April 2016:
Ahhh oh my heavens! I am loving this story! People messing up and acting irrationally then after some apologies being forgiven, like actual adult behaviour.
This has to be my favourite chapter, I ended up giggling on the bus when all the family piled into the bedroom!
Poor Dean though, here is hoping you have a happy ending for him in the pipeline. Also loving the friendship between the girls, you have a wonderful way of writing interactions between the characters.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for stopping by to review. I love getting feedback on older chapters I may have forgotten about.

This was one of my favorites too, for the things you mentioned--specifically Edie's who family not being able to stay out of her life or give her any privacy. Oh, the joys of moving back in with your parents! I did it for two months and, man, I don't recommend it.

Lisa is a favorite of mine in this chapter. She just has her life so together that she seamlessly goes her entire wedding night without drinking or drawing any attention to her pregnant self. A real Gwendolyn Phire, that one.

Thank you so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by Emily You Can Never Really Go Home

24th March 2016:
More please! Seriously, you are an amazing writer- I check back every few weeks to peek for an update and it made my night when I saw this chapter! Thanks for updating! :)

Author's Response: Awww, thank you! I really appreciate that people are still checking back on this story to see if it's still alive... It does have a pulse, albeit faint ;) Working away to edit the last chapter to perfection! As usual a thousand plunnies are jumping at me and I'm fighting to keep from putting all of them in and adding ANOTHER chapter.



 Report Review

Review #10, by B You Can Never Really Go Home

16th March 2016:
SO excited to see read update!!! Loved Oliver, Edie and your writing, as always. Seriously cannot wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you!! I really thought I'd have the next chapter up by now... Y'see I don't actually own a computer and have to use the bf's when he doesn't need it, which is only when he isn't working, which is when I'd rather be playing Uno and drinking beer with him than writing and DO YOU SEE MY PREDICAMENT. Anyway, long story short, I have the laptop now and am working away! :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap You Can Never Really Go Home

6th March 2016:
ďFor the HPFF Review-A-ThonĒ

Youíre back! Yay! And I just came back too. Right in time for your update.

In the end I am straddling his leg, vice gripping him like a koala to a tree. To save my dignity he offers a one-armed half-hug with about as much vigor as a dead fish.

Well you canít say the girl doesnít deserve it. That would be my reaction too. He agreed to meet her but Oliver doesnít have to make it easy for her. He also doesnít owe her anything.

Slap my face and call me Voldemort, Neville Longbottom got hot.

Well, itís not like we all havenít said it before.

Oh boy. Between awkward exchanges, invites and them finally talking I donít know what to think or feel. I guess Iíve always wanted them to end up together in the end but sometimes that doesnít work out. I understand how Oliver feels. She completely betrayed him and his life was turned upside down. Yes, she made a mistake and he realized that later on but the effects were still too great. Plus, if he brings her back into his life how will his sister feel? Thatís a lot to think about and consider.

I feel like Edie has been redeemed a little bit with this chapter. The only thing I didnít like was her little lie about a boyfriend. Obviously he saw right through her but just for once for me anyway I wanted her to be outright and tell the truth. I just wanted her to apologize. Iím glad she did in the end. I think they could work it out but I see the final chapter as them being at least friends for awhile unless you surprise me and do a time jump or something else entirely.

Author's Response: Hello again! Glad to have you back :)

Yes, exactly! The most important thing they need to think about--especially Oliver, after his rough start to legal guardianship--is what Ada has to say about it.

Glad Edie is redeemed! I struggled a lot with how to convey that she was truly, genuinely sorry, and that she realizes how terrible she's been, without her being forceful about his forgiveness. Any emotion Oliver feels towards her, good or bad, has to be his own. So hopefully that came across okay!

And I actually agree about the fake boyfriend thing. I was struggling so much with this interaction, which is unusual. Edie and Oliver flirting or talking about Quidditch or cute-bickering? Psshh, easy. This was really tough and I thought that if she told a stupid lie, small enough to not matter, and to add a bit of humor to the situation, it would flow better. But I think I need to re-work this section because it's not imperative enough to the story and, you're right, it does paint her in a bad light again.

Time jump?

We will see.

♥ Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #12, by LittleMissAutumn You Can Never Really Go Home

5th March 2016:
YOU UPDATED!!! ...now update again...please?! I want them to be happy together

Author's Response: Heya! Interesting to hear that some people still want it to work out between them :) That's all I'm saying... Well, that and thank you for reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #13, by G You Can Never Really Go Home

3rd March 2016:
Mmmfghfghfgh!!! Nearly a year of waiting, and you leave us with this horribly sad end to a chapter!? You are a cruel, cruel author! But its okay I forgive you, cause it was a damn good chapter, although Edie makes me cringe with her awkwardness, and oliver is just so moody is annoying (although i understands why) pls pls update soon

Author's Response: Hahaha! I'm sorry, I had to! It was just WAY TOO LONG to put into one chapter, and I am selfish, and didn't want details being skipped over because SO MUCH HEAVY TALKING happens.

Don't worry, it won't be another year this time :)



 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan You Can Never Really Go Home

2nd March 2016:
Hi! So glad to see this chapter appear :)

Slap my face and call me Voldemort -- I laughed so hard at this. XD

Ok, but onto the rest of it - I think you did a wonderful job with this chapter - it's so full of conflicting emotions and that aspect of it really shines. This chapter shows how much Edie has grown up, as here she apologises even though it's hard, and she really puts forth an unselfish effort to smooth things over. Yet at the same time she's so distinctly Edie, with her trunk falling open, and her last line of dialogue in the chapter haha, classic Edie. One thing I liked was how you showed Oliver's reaction to this, and I don't think you'd had this in the original draft yet, but the way you balanced his annoyance with Edie and his efforts to keep a professional, unattached manner, with the way her odd quirks still make him laugh despite himself - this was really well done and they both seem as if they're in this weird limbo of "now what?" Life is complicated and there are good and bad sides to everything, and that was really demonstrated in this chapter.

Last but not least, I love Neville and Hannah and their cameo in this story. :D Great chapter! Can't wait for the next one (which I still can't believe is the last one omg.)

Author's Response: Hello you! Thank you again for helping with this chapter. I've (finally) gone and reviewed your wonderful Myrtle one-shot... Sorry for the lateness! :)

lololol I struggled with the "slap my face" line because, realistically, would people be saying the name Voldemort? I dunno, probably, after it's been ten years and Edie has no filter anyway.

MAN I really was worried about the conflicting emotions. I didn't want it to seem that Oliver was just saying "but I can't!" for no real reason. But how would he possibly explain to Ada that he is dating the woman that outed him, and ruined their relationship? And you were really helpful with how I could make Edie apologize sincerely, but without pressure to make Oliver forgive her. So thank you for that!

As for Oliver's efforts to stay unattached and the fact that he still finds her quirks funny, I was basically channeling two unfortunate times in particular that I spent with an ex, after we'd broken up. There is still chemistry, obviously, because you made a decision to be with that person, but it's so different now that it feels like you can't really go back. You're kind of caught in this limbo between enjoying each other's company and suddenly remembering "oh, right, you did that terrible thing to me, I can't laugh at your jokes."

Yeess! Hannah was a last-minute addition to the story, and really doesn't serve much of a purpose, but I just wanted her in there because I'm obsessed with minor characters. Huehuehue.

The next chapter just needs some fine-tuning and then it'll be up! (Really, this time.)

Thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by HebrideanBlack You Can Never Really Go Home

2nd March 2016:
I remember reading this story quite recently (I just got back to HPFF after years of being away) and this story was among the few that REALLY reeled me back in. It was fresh and funny and had Donald Glover as Dean and it was amazing. Seeing how it got updated made me ecstatic. The tension between Edie and Oliver can be cut with a knife. I CAN'T WAIT.

Might go back and reread and leave more reviews just for you!

10/10, obviously.

Author's Response: Heya! I'm glad to hear that this story reeled you back in to HPFF-land. I myself was brought back just by writing it--it'd been five years (I think?) since I'd been on the site and one day I just got an inkling and, well, here we are (three years later oh man.)

Donald Glover is SO Dean, at least in this fic. Alfie Enoch is adorable, and probably more canon in personality too, but I like my mopey!Dean, and Donald is just enough hilarious and angsty to fill the role perfectly!

Oh gosh oh gosh, if you left the reviews I would just love it. Thanks so much for coming back! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by madness You Can Never Really Go Home

1st March 2016:


Author's Response: Hehe, thanks for reading ;)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Holly Just Edie

2nd February 2016:
As a newly devoted fan who can't get enough Oliver wood I pray you'll finish this haha some many just quit. I love your characters and world you've built

Author's Response: Hey!! I am feeling much better about the current status of the last chapter; I've been doing lots of tweaking. I am also in the process of re-reading the whole fic and getting myself back in the mood to write more. Seriously I love hearing that readers love Oliver--he's just such a gent. And *cough* basically a self-insert for my boyfriend *cough* ♥ Thank you for reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by HufflepuffRave Just Edie

22nd January 2016:
Oh my goodness! I'm so so addicted to this story. I stayed up way too late reading it last night. I love how the characters have developed and grown and I can't wait to see how it ends!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I have to admit, without sounding completely arrogant, that I'm re-reading this whole fic from beginning to end myself. It's been quite a while since I've looked over older chapters! In my mind it was way more cringe-worthy, but really it isn't? I dunno. That sounds silly but I'm getting myself back in the mood to write, for sure! And having support from new readers like yourself is just the greatest motivation. Thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #19, by AlexFan Good Decisions

20th November 2015:
It's been so long since I've read this story and I'm finally catching up. I don't remember if I figured out that Dean liked Edie before in the story because it's been so long I don't remember every detail. Regardless, that came as quite the shock. I was sitting here with a hand slapped over my mouth in shock. I honestly didn't see that coming, I pretty much figured out Dean had a thing for Edie about a second before she did and then I was like, "wow."

I love this fluff, I live for this fluff to be honest with you. After everything that went down, this fluff is giving me life. Let Edie be happy, let her live, my baby is all grown up. I so look forward to seeing how Rose deals with being dumped, because knowing Rose, she's not going to take it well. But I mean, Edie did save her job, so she kind of owes the girl.

Anyway, fabulous chapter as usual.

Author's Response: Hey you!! It's been so long since I've *updated* this story. Man, feeling the pressure of writing a good final chapter... I'm glad you stopped by to review, though!

That's so funny that you don't remember if Dean liked Edie. It must have been a while since you last read, because I was not very subtle in writing it! Haha. That part of the story came after a very long (5-6 year) and unspoken and unrequited love-thing with my best guy friend from high school. Our friendship is okay now but it definitely will never be the same. We never actually spoke about it, it's all swept under the rug and nobody talks about it, so maybe that's why I wanted to have a scene like this where Dean so obviously has feelings for her. I realize it's TOTALLY a trope in stories, but it's probably a trope because it happens in real life so often. A lot of you readers have said they experienced similar things, so I hope to have given you guys some piece of mind, maybe?

This chapter was definitely one of the fluffier... In fact there are several pretty fluffy chapters in a row following after. I felt like i owed it to you guys after all of the things I put Edie and Oliver through ;) I live for this fluff too! I don't know what I'm going to do when the fic is over and I can't write hundreds and hundreds of words of pure Ediver fluff anymore ;A; (Probably do it anyway and post it on my tumblr...*cough*)

Ohh and as for Rose's reaction to all this, you'll just have to find out! I'm quite pleased with where she ended up in this story.

Thank you again, for another wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by Anon Just Edie

9th November 2015:
THIS. THIS. THIS.

This story is SO GOOD. I remember, vaguely, seeing this somewhere, but you've updated, and it's AMAZING.

I love, love, love the tension. How do you do it - it seems like everyone is awkward with each other. And all the problems that come up, and - wow. This is so so good oh my godd

Author's Response: Thank you!! I know it's taken forever to complete this fic (just one! more! chapter!) and I really appreciate the reviews and readers! Things are very very hectic lately but I really miss writing this fic, and Edie and Oliver, and Seamus, and Ginger, and I will update soon. Thank you ver much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #21, by CreekMomma Just Edie

18th September 2015:
So this is totally not fair... I just started (and apparently finished) reading this fanfic today and this is where I get left off at? Totally unfair. I need to know what happens next! I loved the story. Very interesting depiction of all the characters. Edie is a delightful mess and Oliver is the work of dreams. Your character development has been phenomenal. Definitely a selling point. I enjoyed it to say the least... now update!

Author's Response: Wow, all in one day! That seriously blows my mind and is also is probably my favorite thing to read in a review.

So sorry to be unfair though ;)

I need to compile a list of my favorite reviewers' descriptions of Edie. "A delightful mess" is right up there with "a hopped-up activist without a cause," and unfortunately I can't remember who said the latter! But thank you.

I promise you, an update is coming soon. Free time is harder and harder to come by these days. Also when we had such a PERFECT SUMMER in the Pacific Northwest and I can't be inside on my days off. But it's really gross out right now, which means I'm working away.

Thanks for taking the time to review ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by FeliciaSueLynn Just Edie

8th September 2015:
I first started reading this story years ago. And I had given up on it being updated. I was recently feeling super nostaglic and decided to find it and I'm so glad I did!! Not only does is it just as good as I remembered but so many new chapters! Sorry for all the exclamation points but I'm super happy and the writing is amazing and I'm pretty sure this is my favorite hp fic. Just so you know. :D

Author's Response: Ohhh that's great to hear! I'm so glad you checked back. I really never intended for this story to take OVER THREE YEARS to write--I just went from having a ton of free time to having none at all! I'm so glad to hear that some readers have checked back, because I've lost quite a few along the way.

*tear* Y-your favorite fic?

OH MAN.

Wow. That just makes my lil heart so happy. Seriously, thank you so much. Reviews like this are what make writers want to work harder, and to create a good product.

Thank you so very much!

♥!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Asia Just Edie

5th September 2015:
Can you please finish? I'm dying to know what happens. Omg I've been checking like crazy to see if you gave updated.

Anyway I love your writing so much!

Author's Response: Hey, thanks! It's been a crazy exciting summer for me, with lots of travel and friend-time and family/friends visiting from across the country, so writing took a backseat. It's about to get really ugly out, so you can expect this to be finished very soon! And I've been trying to make myself NOT write more fic, and work on original stories, but the plot bunnies keep coming. There may be another project on the horizons after KC&CO.



 Report Review

Review #24, by Devashree Just Edie

3rd September 2015:
Oh my God this did not just happen! I've been binge reason this story. And I pause here? Aaaarghh.
I cannot wait for the next update.
Anyway, I like this story. I feel for Edie. Especially because its hard to avoid making mistakes. And wanting to be perfect. Or comparing yourself to your best friends for that matter.
I wish Oliver's heart hadn't been broken though. Aww.

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for taking the time to review after your binge-read! It truly means a lot :3

I'm glad that you haven't totally lost faith in Edie! A lot of readers (understandably) have, so it's nice to know that a few people aren't angry-reading this fic, haha.

And poor Oliver was thrown under the bus :c But we'll see what happens!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Penelope Inkwell The Proposition

28th July 2015:
Edie Edie Edie don't do it! This is a very bad decision! Even if your writing's great, you'll never get the credit. It'll just move Rose up in the world. She's getting a free article and you are getting precisely nothing from this. Except a lot of work. The Slytherin in me is horrified.

So drunk!Oliver was pretending to be Viktor Krum? Well that's certainly interesting. I do wonder why.

Man, I am not cut out to be a bar tender. I applaud Edie for holding out as long as she did, and I applaud her for kicking them out. And for having the sense to use magic in a barfight!

CC:

"Iíve kicked my fair share of kicking people out of pubs, and being kicked out."
--I think this is either meant to say, "I've done my fair share of kicking people out of pubs, and being kicked out, myself," or "I've kicked my fair share of people out of pubs, and been kicked out, myself."

Enjoying this story. And wondering what is going to happen when Edie discovers that the man who's caused her all this trouble is Oliver Wood!

--Penny

Author's Response: I think that the standard way to read this fic is with fist in mouth, cringing, "EDIE NO NO DON'T, PLZ STOP, WHY."

Ohh the Viktor Krum impression. Mostly I wanted a means for Edie to not know that she was meeting Oliver. I wanted her to dislike him--and for a good reason, I think--but to not realize who she was disliking. Something about that seemed slightly more refreshing to me, plot-wise, but that may not be true. I wanted to go into this deeper, but Oliver underwent a major character change halfway through writing him.. I touch on it briefly, but! Oliver was hanging out with the Reserves, which is kinda like the senior hanging out with the freshmen, because he's actually pretty lacking in the friendship department. Throughout the fic you never really see him with any friends. So he was finally out with the team, who kinda know he has a penchant for being drunk and stupid, and he was trying to make them laugh and impress them by doing a dumb impression.

(I don't think I ever actually explained that fully in the fic, so there you go!)

Ugh, bartending would be just the worst. Working in a restaurant that is open late and serves alcohol is taxing enough, trust!

Thanks for pointing out those errors! It always helps to have a fresh pair of eyes reading over the sentences I've read a billion times (but, like, three years ago.)

Thanks again! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>