Reading Reviews for Keep Calm and Carry On
  
413 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hufflepuffheart Happy New Year?

29th March 2015:
So you know how people binge watch television shows on Netflix and all? Well I believe it's safe to say I just binge read this entire story, and I can't say I regretted a moment of it! Not too often do I come across stories that hold my interest (I'm rather scatterbrained) to hunker down in a blanket fort and read every single chapter made available, but I couldn't help myself with your story! You've done a spectacular job giving each character itheir own voice and their own distinct personality, something I think that can be difficult to do at times - it's easy to let certain characters that start off strong disappear into the void, but you have done an excellent job at avoiding this! I do miss the drunken excursions of Seamus, Dean, and Edie - those moments were always so much fun to read, made me want to sit in a pub and have a few drinks with them and try and keep up with their quidditch banter and ridiculously high tolerance for alcohol. But I realize that these came few and far between as Edie changed and went through her trials and tribulations. Edie is such a strong and pretty lovable character (even though she could be stubborn to the point of yelling at times) and you've done a beautiful job developing her and having her grow as a person. I also have to comment on Rose's character, and tell you that I liked her at first, THEN ABSOLUTELY HATED HER, and now after this chapter I kinda like her again. I love when that happens so please, keep doing what you're doing! Anywho, it's getting a bit late on my end, so I will quit my incessant babbling here, but I look forward to finding out what happens with Grimma and the FGC, with Dean and Edie and Mr. Finnegan, and of course Edie and Oliver. And thank you again, for providing me with funny and excellently written story to read! Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Happy New Year?

21st March 2015:
The bottle of champagne that he brought specifically for this moment is popped, and he sprays it everywhere, shouting to everyoneís protests, ďITíS OKAY, IíM AN AUROR!Ē

Seamus, you DA man.

I feel bad about Dean. I miss Dean. He has kinda been given the shaft in this story.

ďDefinitely not married! It was my best mateís wedding! We didnít even go together!Ē

ďThe lobster puffs were extraordinary,Ē Seamus says.

Seamus is no help whatsoever but heís still the man but heís going to end this relationship before it has even started if he doesnít hush up.

ďIt wasnít her, Edith!Ē Mr. Wardís lilting voice has a sharp edge that Iíve never noticed.

NO WAY. IíM HORRIFIED. I LIKED YOU, WARD. I DID! YOU WERE MY COMIC RELIEF IN THIS VERY FUNNY STORY.

Uh, heartbreaking but there was a part of me that knew this was going to happen. I mean, just because she burned it hello thereís magic in the world. And if this was the muggle world all these places have cameras. They could have seen what she was typing or went into her harddrive because most computers are set up to the main system where anyone can snoop on it. Totes illegal but come on, you know itís done.

Depressing! Come on Ollie, have a brain. Hate to say Edie deserves it but she's kinda naive anyway.

Author's Response: Huehuehuehue, Seamus. I was struggling with how to start this chapter and was like, "Seamus. Duh." Hence he has the very opening line... It really helped. He's so much fun to write that I just speed-typed wrote the whole thing in one sitting. And yes, Dean's been kind of given the shaft, but it seemed like the best way to convey the strains on Best Friendship Meets Unrequited "Love." It's so uncomfortable that neither of them actually wants to talk about it. Plus a dramatic confrontation would just be too much with all of the ~other drama~ going on (cheating on Rose, Do-We-Or-Do-We-Not-Date?, losing her job, everything with Ada, etc.)

WAAARRRD YOU JERK.

Another thing I changed--originally Rose WAS gonna have been the one to publish the stories. But I was like, "Ehh, how much Woman vs. Woman does this story really need?" Hence the almost-friendship between Rose and Edie.

Yeah, I know what you mean. "But... magic." Of course someone would find out. Like, why didn't James and Lily just Apparate to baby Harry's room and then Apparate all of them away? There is probably a canon reason for this that I am totally oblivious to buT MY POINT IS. It totally could have been prevented/foreseen because of magic, but it needed to happen because otherwise there would be no story ;) (Wow I am not comparing the romantic turmoil of Edie to the genius that is JKR's writing, promise.)

Aww, I don't think Edie deserves it! Maybe I'm totally biased? I don't know, she's been pretty terrible up til recently. But she made a careless mistake and had no bad intentions, and Ward took advantage of her... I dunno. At least this one single time, I'm gonna say she didn't deserve it ;) But yes--she is certainly naive!

Thank you again, as always, lovely reviewer! I have the next chapter all written but it took a Very Dark Turn that I had not at all intended. It needs to be re-worked... I have GOT to end this thing sometime, and I can't keep adding more to the plot. Especially when it's all angst, angst, angst!



 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A King on Her Throne

21st March 2015:
Iím finally back! YAY! *cheer*

Musicians never wake up early! Itís part of his artistic process

Man, I should have stuck with playing the guitar.

meanwhile he didnít think twice before selling me out to the Wizardazzi

YOUíRE WELCOME! :D

There never was a choice. There was always only one answer, and it was handed to me from the beginning. Itís only taken me this long to realize it.

Edie, for the love of Merlin. Thank goodness. Iím glad youíve somewhat come to your senses. I cannot trust youíve come to them 100% because you are you but still.

ďCruel!Ē she laughs. ďIf you were a man doing this, would you be cruel? Or would you just be a hardened reporter, doing whatever it takes to get the job done? You were biased, yes, but never cruel.Ē

Thereís some truth to that. Though I disagree and think she was rather cruel in the beginning. But in order to be a reporter you have to create distance between you and your subject. This is why a lot of reporters get so much flak because they start to become friends with some of them, go out to drinks, dinner, and then theyíre asked: hey, donít write that. And then they donít and the whole institution of journalism is hurt because it comes out ten years later that so and so was bought or told the half-truth instead of the full truth.

I used to have a drinking problem. Right after my parents died. I took it horribly, and I didnít act like an adult, and I really let Ada down.

Well, I didnít see that coming but is Ďused toí mean it was only because of his parents or he really shouldnít be drinking and his bender and attitude when he first met Edie was because of the alcohol and perhaps Oliver is an alcoholic.

I feel like we are nearing the end and that saddens me but I have to say this chapter was fantastic. Iíve been waiting for Edie to grow up and come to some realizations for the past few chapters but I think it finally hit her and she has.

May I ask what are you going to work on next once this story is over?

Author's Response: Weee, you're back!! Yes, thank you for Wizardazzi! You clever thing, you. :)

As for the "Choice" Edie had, I suppose there always was one, if you look at it from one angle. I had a hard time explaining it in the chapter (didn't want to spoon feed y'all too much!) so hopefully this helps... She was always able to choose Oliver or her career. Obviously, choosing Oliver meant forsaking her career because she wouldn't write mean things about him; choosing her career meant letting go of Oliver, etc. etc. etc. But! She had always thought that there would be that job. A few times she worries and wonders if she will be kept as an employee after the articles are published, but never enough to inquire about it. (Again she's sweeping things under the rug here and ignoring her problems, which I'm not at all defending--but I'm totally guilty of it!) So yeah, her realization that "there was always only one answer" doesn't mean that he answer is "I have to choose Oliver; I have to be the bigger person; I have to not write the articles." The answer was that there was logistically never a future for her at WW. I didn't want this story to be about the MC being forced to choose between love and a career, because I don't see how the two are even on the same level (and I think I've harped on that enough on other review responses!!)

WHEW.

Anyway I hope that was explained well enough in the story, but in case it wasn't... there's an unnecessarily lengthy explanation for you. (And you probably already knew all of that but oh well!)

I love how knowledgeable you are about journalism, because all of your points--like journalists becoming friends with subjects and being asked to not write certain things--are all interesting. They makes me wonder how this story could have changed, vastly or insignificantly, with little tweaks like that. For example, if Edie and Oliver had hit it off initially, instead of her getting ahead of herself, and him asking her not to publish about Ada "as a friend" vs. not telling her about Ada because he didn't trust Edie.

Interesting!

Ohh sorry for any confusion there--Oliver is not an alcoholic. At least not by my definition. I hadn't considered the thought that somebody who "used to" have a drinking problem, but still drinks, therefore STILL has a drinking problem. But I didn't intend for him to be an alcoholic at all. Maybe that all has to do with perspective, though? I'm sure some readers would consider Edie's drinking to be questionable, especially towards the beginning of the fic, but I just see it as part of being a twenty-something who genuinely enjoys the taste of beer (and also a good time.) I dunno. Anyway, when I first mapped out the fic I played with the idea of Oliver being a recovering alcoholic. It just didn't sit well with me, though, because of the strains that could put on his relationship(?) with Edie. It opened a lot of doors and opportunities for angst that I didn't want to pursue.

Oh my god I just really blabbed SO much. Thank you so much for all of your reviews, and if you made it this far into my response I'm very impressed ♥

As for writing projects, I'm finally dabbling in original fiction. (I wrote KC&CO after like 5 years' absence from HPFF because I wanted to write a novel but didn't think people would read it.) So as much as I love this story, and I'm gonna be so sad when it's over, in a way it's been one big writing exercise.

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan Happy New Year?

18th March 2015:
Omg. That... could have gone better. I see Edie has not lost her talent for ending up in really terrible situations. I had a bad feeling about that article she wrote in the last chapter - like I thought someone might have seen it - but I didn't expect anyhing quite that bad. Eek!

On the oher hand, I really, really loved the appearance of Seamus again. I had missed him! It felt like kind of a throwback to old times, except with a little weirdness about Dean now. Ooh and I like that Rose and Edie are kind-of-friends now. That was a lovely scene. I like that they have each other at least - both of them have been screwed over by their former jobs, and been dumped (by the same person!) so at least they can understand each other a lot more, and gripe about how unfair life is, haha.

This was a great chapter!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for reviewing ♥

Yes, she definitely does have a penchant for the less than ideal. It was weird writing it because normally I try to make the situations humorous (or at least not be totally devastating) but this time she really is experiencing something fully, and letting herself be upset by it instead of sweeping it under a rug, making light with jokes, etc. I didn't really say it in the story but it was a huge deal that she cried at all, as she's emotionally stunted and can't ever fully grasp how terrible things can be enough to experience it emotionally. She's not very empathetic, but that includes things that happen to her. She's selfish and self-centered, yes (ohhh yes very), but rarely does she fully acknowledge the Truly Terrible. The fact that she cried in front of Ward and Rose, two people she disliked, is saying something.

WOW YOU DID NOT ASK THAT AT ALL sorry.

Yes Rose! That was a last-minute change to the plot, actually, but I'm glad for it. Originally Edie and Lisa were going to be hanging out, but I wanted to express change, etc., so Edie suddenly being back to having girl time with Lisa (who, let's face it, cannot function without Justin) felt too comfortable. Plus, like you said, things have come full circle and Rose and Edie are now in the same boat!

Thanks so much for reading. I can't believe how close this story is to being done (no I will not stop saying that, not even after it's already done.)

♥!


 Report Review

Review #5, by chicken addiction Happy New Year?

18th March 2015:
ANGST.SADNESS. :( more.

Author's Response: Soon! ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by heartjily4ever A King on Her Throne

14th March 2015:
I love this chapter so much lovely, I feel very proud of Edie and her character development. The resignation was done very well - I approve wholeheartedly of the reasons for it - especially in light of adorable Oliver's new reveals. Blakeslee is a huge prat who clearly does not care enough about other people - but you do wickedly selfish career driven women very well.

I am with Edie and her family on the hillwalking hating. My family love doing Chrimbo walks for fresh air which is total rubbish because I could very easily just open a window. And you have to put on so many layers and then just take them off again later - I could complain forever but I won't because your fabulous writing is very distracting.

The Oliver scenes were done so well!! His admition is perfect and he is opening up on purpose which is so great.I love his character more and more as each chapter arrives, with the little bits of him all coming together into this knotted little lump of cutely vulnerable but ruggedly protective and perfect for Edie in every way-ness.

I really like the idea of writing the article and burning it - I hope it doesn't come back to bite her one the bum, although I don't know how it could. I think it will cleanse her writing palate and really just help her as a journalist - speaking of which I hope she finds another job soon. As always I would cherish some more Ginger in any chapter, and I can't wait for the next

Author's Response: Hey dere!

I'm glad that Edie is finally getting on everyone's (maybe?) good sides. Or at least she's showing her potential for being an actual adult. Blakeslee is selfish, yes, but to me it's just in her nature. The things that we would see as selfish (namely not caring who she screws over in the name of getting a good story) she doesn't see as so. You and I would see human decency and compassion for coworkers/interview subjects as most important; she most values being a thorough reporter, upholding Witch Weekly's standards, and providing readers with interesting material.

Haha, so glad that a few of you seem to be on Edie's side with the Christmas walk. I'm more on Hypatia's wavelength, honestly, though perhaps in a less creepy way than standing over one's bed while they sleep.

"Knotted little clump of cutely vulnerable but ruggedly protective." Ummm I need to remember this to put it on my tumblr or something. That is one of the greatest descriptions of Oliver that I've read yet! Thank you! :D

Yes, writing and burning the last article was indeed a cathartic moment. She just had to get it out of her system. She also know that it would never be read, so that she could write the way she wanted to without any repercussions. Therapy, in a way!

Ginger so good. Best. Best pup. It's really hard writing from Edie's perspective, because she's bad with animals and is just like "Eh, okay, I guess you're cute... Come along, then." Whereas I would never leave Ginger alone and poke her squished-in face. I have a little headcanon about Ginger that may come as a fun surprise, but I'm not sure if I can fit in in the story! If not here, it'll be in the blog, trust.

Thank you so much! The next chapter has been validated ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by fran A King on Her Throne

14th March 2015:
Omigoodness my parents are all for stupid little walks on Christmas day, especially if we have visitors and it's so annoying - it's as if they don't know its a holiday for sitting eating too much food and watching TV. You shouldn't do any form of exercise at all. I firmly agree with Edie - the only way through is the power of hot chocolate.
I'm totally proud of this new Edie with her job and the way she handled Olivers revelations - which I also love that he is opening up and such. It was a very mature move by Edie which i completely approve of especially in light of new Oliver secrets. Blakeslee is a jerk obviously - career gone to her head maybe? I'm a huge supporter of career driven women going for what they want, but less so at the expense of others privacy. But I guess thats journalism for you.
I hope things take a turn for the better for Edie job wise soon, seeing as her love life is on the up. Hoping for more Ada in the story as well :D. Great piece of writing again - I've found it funny the whole way through so you've done a fabby job. Can't wait to read more lovey.

Author's Response: Aww, I wish my parents wanted to do a Christmas Day walk! They're of the "sitting around, staring at space, nobody really talking, eating a lot, awkward silences" type. I'd honestly love to have a Christmas with lots of chatter and hiking and such. And yes--lots of hot chocolate!

I'm so surprised by everyone's reactions to Blakeslee! Well, I suppose she's not exactly the kindest of people, but she's always been better than Mr. Ward. At least in my mind. She's definitely not a warm and fuzzy person, and we've really only seen her when she's angry or disappointed in Edie, for various reasons. But I have a love-hate (mostly love?) relationship with her.

Adaaa! This cast is huge, and unfortunately not everyone gets enough screen time. She's so fun to write, because she's in the midst of her petulant "Ughhh, whatever" pre-teen phase that I recall oh so well. I like when she and Oliver kind of gang up on Edie, as in both smirk at her with raised eyebrows and such. But she's also very sweet in her own way.

Glad it's still funny! I've been worried about keeping the voice lighthearted while Edie goes through some turbulence. Glad it's holding up.

Thanks so much for taking the time to review ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

13th March 2015:
I have had my eye on this story for quite some time! So I am so happy that you asked for this one to be reviewed :D

YES! It's got Dean and Seamus in it! It's going to be pure awesome! I can already tell. Especially because they're picking holes in Seamus' flirting techniques. :P

Edie is pure brilliance! I absolutely love her! The love is so strong she is so amazing!

This first chapter is absolutely brilliant! It's so hilarious and I am already hooked on it! I am going to be favouriting this right now so that I can read and review the rest of it. I can't wait to see how her morning is going to go. I honestly can't stop giggling.

Seamus, Dean and Edie are pure amazing and I can't wait to see more of them together, their chemistry together is superb and they just seem to bounce off of each other. I am so very excited about this story!

Absolutely fabulous chapter, hun! You are so talented :D Keep up the amazing work!

Author's Response: Woohoo! I've suckered another reader in.

Dean and Seamus forever and ever and ever, seriously, I love them both so much. JKR created so many lovely minor characters that it's very easy to let them take their own course, and have their own voices, and be generally great. Those boys. And I suck so much and didn't really keep up with Seamus's flirting tendencies as I could have... I mostly stuck with the loudmouthed party-going fellow. One of the major edits I'll be doing soon is to keep his flirty tendencies in the forefront. But not with Edie. Just no.

Aww, I'm glad you like Edie! Seriously, it's like one of the most flattering things to hear that people enjoy an original character. They can be very tricky and I have written many a terrible Mary Sue in my day. Trust.

Thank you so much for offering some reviews! I'm actually almost done with this fic, with just 3 or so chapters left, so it's nice to get new readers every now and again.

♥!


 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan A King on Her Throne

13th March 2015:
This was such a good chapter! (They all are, honestly) I thought you handled her resignation really well, and I liked the way it was more complicated than just choosing between a boyfriend and a career - life is more complex than that and you illustrated that in here. I think she made the right decision though - the job was turning her into someone she didn't like, who wrote cruel things about people, and she wouldnt have been happy there in the long run. And with that ending, as Oliver says it is a new beginning (though I can really relate to Edie on how much she is dreading searching for jobs again. Ugh it's the worst haha.)

And wow, Oliver's story! I really didn't expect any of that. It' does explain a lot though, and ties some loose ends together. I love how the way Oliver is portrayed in this story has changed so much, and it has a lot to do with how much Edie had changed over time - she has come a long way from when she just saw him as the privileged, pompous jerk.

Lovely writing! I can't believe the story is winding to a close - I'm simultaneously really looking forward to it and also not wanting it to end because I just love reading it. :)

Author's Response: Heya!

It was really important to me that Edie doubts her decision quit the magazine. Even moreso that she truly didn't *have* a choice, and that the way things stacked against her, she couldn't choose a career. It's always bothered me in stories and films when somebody completely gives up on something (usually a job) for the romantic interest in the story--who, in many cases, they just met. In real life, making that rash of a decision based on somebody you just met or barely have spent time with, doesn't work out. At least not always. So that's why Edie has the moment where she thinks "Oliver and I aren't getting married, by any means, and he's not necessarily my boyfriend--has this all been worth it?"

There were, of course, other reasons for quitting. As you pointed out, it was turning her into somebody she didn't like... which is a big reason, and maybe the "right" reason to quit.

It's all very complicated! hehe.

Yes, hopefully she and Oliver have both grown tremendously! Although to be fair, Edie actually had the majority of the growing up to do--Oliver just needed to be explained a little better.

I completely agree! Every time I write a new chapter--which has been happening REALLY fast these days--I feel so sad! Partially I'm very proud, because I've never actually finished a novel before on HPFF. But I also don't want to stop writing about these characters I've come to love so much!

Thanks for sticking around ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by chicken addiction A King on Her Throne

11th March 2015:
LOVE IT. LOVE THEM. YAY.

Author's Response: THANK YOU. YOUR USERNAME IS REALLY FUNNY :) I have the next two chapters already written (???! Me? Ahead of the game? What?) So they'll be up shortly. ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by PurpleShoes2 A King on Her Throne

11th March 2015:
I'm glad theres finally an update, I check almost daily I really enjoy your writing.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! The next two chapters are all written, so if you keep up the habit, there will be an update waiting for you soon ;)

 Report Review

Review #12, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Unfortunate Truth

24th February 2015:
No, of course not! You would be a member of our editorial staff. A writer.

My heart dropped because I know I should be excited but itís too easy and nothing comes easy for Edie.

Iím sure we wonít have any problems, but itís important that you understand.

You canít have it all Edie. You cannot. There it is. She can have Oliver and work for Witch Weekly but come on WHY WOULD SHE WANT TO? Letís be serious here: Edie is not a celebrity journalist. Sheís not. Sports writing would be her niche or even things that are current events, news, thatís where she belongs not at Witch Weekly stepping in as the next Rose Zeller.

Yeah, Iím all for getting a job and starting your career and a guy shouldnít stop you but she wants to be a real journalist. She wants to write substance. I donít see her happy for the next decade writing about Harry Potterís dishy children in the future or did you see what so and so was wearing? Donít get me wrong she can gossip. Especially with Lisa and in her head and when sheís mad but come on.

I think her final article will tell the truth. The truth about her relationship and the truth about Oliver.

And then itíll be over but there MIGHT be a light at the end of the tunnel and sheíll get that position she applied for at the Oracle or whatever it was called or for someone else.

Really? You were going to turn me into a tentacle?Ē

HAHA. Sorry Oliver, but you deserve it. Thatís HORRIBLE. Really, Edie and Oliver have no tact whatsoever. They really are meant to be together.

The only difference is that you pretend to better than the rest of us! Your writing gave Wood bad publicity, just like my photos.

I KNEW IT WAS THEO THE FIRST TIME.

So theyíre going to know. Itís either going to be front page gossip tomorrow or Edieís going to write her article and come clean or sheís just going to be pushed out of WW and thatís that. I donít know. I feel like Iím missing something here but I canít figure out quite what.

I canít believe I donít have another chapter to read. Update soon?

Author's Response: Exactly! Why would she want to work for WW? She openly criticizes it as a poor publication. This is just another example of her misinterpreting the desire to have a job, be stable, and make something of herself, for wanting to work at WW. She would be completely miserable as a fashion writer. Not to downplay that profession at all; I would give an arm to be a fashion journalist but Edie would have given up too much and ruined too many relationships (Dean, Rose, Oliver) to really enjoy the job.

Unfortunately, she's also faced with another problem: she and Oliver aren't even officially dating. She wouldn't even call him her boyfriend. Obviously there's a strong connection between them, and "when you know, you know" or whatever, but what about a couple months down the road? Is it worth giving up a career for a guy she isn't serious about? That was something that always bugged me with Rom-Coms following similar plot lines. Like, you barely speak to this guy other than casual run-ins but you know that he's worth giving up an entire lifetime of work?

But more on that in the next chapter.

Your points are really great too, though, and I don't really explore them as much as I could (because there is just WAY TOO MUCH going on in this story tbh.) Edie doesn't really consider it from that perspective, but she would be very unhappy.

Oh ho ho HO I love that nobody has guessed what's going to happen, weee!! What was that I just said in another response, about loving to surprise readers too much?

I love that you went from "They have no tact" to "they really are meant to be together." Like, yes, these people are not perfect but that doesn't mean they shouldn't hang!

YOU DID KNOW IT WAS THEO. I think you're the first person to guess it, too, maybe. I can't remember. But if not the very first, then one of the first. 50 points to Gryffindor (or wherever you belong!)

I have my laptop working today and I'm going to attempt the next chapter. This will be my third complete re-write, though. To say that it's giving me trouble is an understatement. There's a certain Big Reveal that requires a lot of emotion and a pinch of angst, but I don't want the whole chapter to be sad... So I'm struggling to find a consistent voice. Maybe that was just a bit of an overshare, but I want you guys to know why it's taking so long! It's because of this! And also because of watching a lot of Broad City.

Seriously though, it's been so great following as you read this story from beginning to end! Maybe you've noticed but I started this over two years ago, and most of my reviewers are return readers. So it's fun seeing it through fresh eyes. Thanks again for all of your reviews!



 Report Review

Review #13, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap And What a Mess It's Been

22nd February 2015:
ďI want you to know that I read them. Your articles.Ē

WHAT!

WHAT DO YOU MEAN?

WHAT DOES THIS MEAN?

WHAT!

NO WAY!

YOU HAVE JUST SHOCKED ME COMPLETELY. I CANíT GO ON! WHAT!

HE DID WHAT?

NO!

ďWill Oliver be joining us for breakfast? Itís waffle day.Ē

Iím dead. I donít know how I can go on from here. The getting it on and the parentals and the brothers coming in and seeing Oliver. The waffle party.

Good lord, you are amazing. No words. This isnít a review this is me gaping at your amazing ness and trying to comprehend everything that just happened.

Author's Response: Okay, NOW I can say that I loved that Oliver gave Edie a letter from Amelia Jones, but it technically doesn't make sense, because it was written after the match she made him lose (hence the "PS - Try not to yell so loudly next time") but by that time Oliver had already read the articles and was upset. If he'd decided he was going to sever ties with Edie he probably wouldn't have gone to the trouble... Obviously it didn't work, but still.

Anyway!

"The waffle party!" Pahaha, I love it! I kind of wish it was the name of this chapter... Too fluffy, probably. But it's great.

I'm glad you liked this chapter! It was like 87% sex so I was unsure. Huehuehuehue.



 Report Review

Review #14, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Good Decisions

22nd February 2015:
Tomorrow? Canít you just leave the wedding and come back?

Eager, arenít we Edie?

Please, Edie. Youíve been training for this your whole life.Ē

I like how seriously she says this.

With my hands on her shoulders, and hers on my waist, we look ballroom-ready. There is an awkward mumbling. I spot Seamus in the crowd, doubled over in laughter.

I will never finish this chapter because I will just be pulling out my favorite parts for the next twenty minutes and giggling.

We never see you anymore, unless you need something from us. We broke into a building for you.

Go Dean! But come on the girl doesnít feel for you the way you do for her. Let it go mate. Things are different because sheís been in her own little world but even if she wasnít how comfortable would he be with her and Oliver together?

Itís awkward and weird. Admit your feelings Dean and then meet someone wonderful who will love you the way you deserve to be loved.

Wow this review took a sudden turn. The feels.

ďAnyway, I snuck out so often that I started carrying little treats for Mrs. Norris.Ē

WHY!

WHY CANíT THIS BE CANON.

Oh my God! Amelia Jones answered my letters!Ē

Edie, marry this man.

I friend zoned a guy once. It was awful and then for some reason I thought hey I will date him. We kissed it was horrid and his breath smelled and well letís just say he wasnít packing and I donít know why I overshare in my reviews to you but our friendship ended instantly. All well. I felt bad for a long time until I found out he was calling me fat and ugly and all these other things behind my back as he still tried to get together with me. No no, and all his friends that I was Ďfriendsí with dumped me and said all these things about me too. Whatever, Iíve got an awesome boyfriend now. Hopefully Dean doesnít get too mean but if he doesÖwell, they had a long run but you honestly cannot be friends with guys if they like you.

Author's Response: Haha, yes! Very eager indeed. I don't want to go over the 12+ rule here, but I always thought Edie and Oliver's "romantic life" would be very, erm, spirited. To say the least.

Yes, Dean's feels are at last out in the open... Although 487392472% of you have guessed it by now. I think I honestly didn't even really plan on him having feelings for her, or at least never making it so obvious, but everyone started shipping Deadie and what am I supposed to do, huh? Leave you guys hanging?

(Plus it really truly honestly happened to me, and it was SO horrible. Like I had to hide every time I had a boyfriend from my "best friend" because he was so jealous, but also so passive-aggressive that he would never come out and say it, and only gave me the silent treatment. It really ruined our friendship for a long time and things probably won't ever go back. It's better now; he's engaged to someone really amazing for him and I'm actually in the bridal party? As a groomsman? For him??? Like, hello, drama? But it's actually totally fine now. I just like to share all of the Edie-things that happen to yours truly.)

The Amelia Jones letter was a last-minute addition, but I love it! And Mrs. Norris. I kind of wish that Edie and Oliver somehow knew each other at Hogwarts, just for the random flashback here and there, or so that he could be like "Yeah, you tripped down the stairs once, I saw it." But that wouldn't work with the story because she had to not know him in order to not recognize him impersonating Krum.

Alas.



 Report Review

Review #15, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Makeshift

21st February 2015:
ďOh,Ē Peter says dejectedly, ďYouíve already found your somebody. Well, congratulations I suppose. Looks like Iíll be leaving alone tonight. ĎPeter Finch-Fletchley, party of one.íĒ

I was trying to get through the entire chapter without pulling out quotes but I cannot. Between all the biblical references and Edie comparing herself to livestock and then this poor Peter. Oh man.

You just know how to make a crummy day better.

You ought to write jingles.

I turn his head towards me, lift my chin, and press my lips against his. This time, I kiss him.

YES!

YES!

A THOUSAND TIMES YES!

I KNEW THEY WERE GOING TO GET IT ON AT THE WEDDING. WEDDINGS = ROMANCE AND SHAGGING AND BAD DANCING AND OLIVER AND EDIE, THE COUPLE.

THE PAIR.

If you pull them apart after this chapter Iím going to shake my fist at the computer screen angrily.

At you.

Naughty author.

Wow. I knew he had the hots for her and I didnít realize thatís why he didnít persue her. Her fake career. Oh Edie, youíve dug yourself in quite the hole. I wonder what he will think when the truth comes out. I wonder how the truth will come out. For some reason I see Dean being a part of it.

And wait the childrenís wing! How much shall I bet that Oliver DID give them some money but he did it under a different name or anonymously or something. Or maybe he didnít because the money wouldnít have actually gone to the children?

Oliver has so many layers and secrets but so does Edie. It's like they're meant for each other.

Author's Response: Ha! I do the same thing with pulling out quotes. It does really hinder/interrupt your reading (at least for me) but I like it because it forces me to acknowledge why I like something or found something troubling, because I have to explain it to somebody else, and in a way helps me to better understand the story. Either way, pointing out which parts did or didn't work for you is very helpful to me! So thanks :)

YEEEZZZ the kiss! Much like Edie's apology in the last chapter, it was important that this came from her. Oliver's been pursuing her mostly thus far, though in more subtle ways (and I hope his admitting that he was beginning to be pathetic was enough to not make this the Boy-Chase-Girl trope.) I was nervous about the line with her owing him because it could have been misconstrued for her owing him affection simply because he put time into her--NOT THE CASE, FRIENDS. (I'm sure you realize this, Deeds, but I like to throw in disclaimers where I can.)

Ohhh I wanted to do the dancing, romance, silly stuff you see in weddings because, let's be honest, I love it. But sadly I wanted to avoid this so there is actually no dancing! Especially none of the heated-sexual-tension-anger-tango scenes. But you can pretend that it happened. Imagine away! Write me a spinoff, in fact.

Ohhh, I never even considered Dean to be a part of the truth coming out, honestly. I feel like I've taken enough liberties with his character already--I mean I assumed he was always a bit controlling or jealous because of the fights he always had with Ginny. But he's so wonderful and one of the better Gryffindor "extras" in my opinion, so I really didn't want to make him spiteful in this fic on top of everything else. So, sorry to ruin any surprises, but nope! Sweet, lonely Dean is not to blame here.

I like your ideas about the children's wing too. But that's all I will say for now!



 Report Review

Review #16, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Opposite of Dreadful

21st February 2015:
Oliver was so uneasy at the mentioning of her name. I had thought he was hiding a secret girlfriend. But it was his much younger sister he was protecting.

I forgot all about that. Youíre so sneaky!

But when I donít, he positively beams at me.

Uh. Iím jelly. I feel like the witch in what is it, the wizard of oz? I AM MELTING.

That chapter was fluff city but Iím not mad about it. Awesome really. I loved his sister. She was so cute and spunky. Iím guessing this is why good old Ginger is important to the story?

Oh you know Edie and Oliver are going to get it on at that wedding since Rose wonít be there. The champagne will be flowing and the clothes will be coming OFF.

YEAH GIRL.

It blew my mind she apologized to him and gave him a compliment. Sweet. Almost makes me think maybe just maybe our Edie is growing up and going in the right direction but you always throw a curveball my way so I wonít get my hopes too high.

Author's Response: ~~Sneaky sneaky meee~~ Yes, it's true. I love sneaking around in my fics... Sometimes I wonder if I actually compromise the plot for the sake of an a-HA moment with readers.

Fluff city, yes! There are a few of those chapters coming your way, but don't worry, things will all go horribly wrong again. Probably.

I honestly keep forgetting to make Edie show her good side--I almost really messed up this scene and didn't make her give him a clear apology. Like, I know in my head where this story is going and that Edie is a decent person, somewhere under all of that. But readers don't necessarily know that, and in fact I'm sure a lot of you find her pretty irritating! So yeah, I'm glad I had that sincere apology in there after all. Hehe.


 Report Review

Review #17, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Twenty-Two

21st February 2015:
But itís even better; more real. I realize that my jaw has dropped, that Iím staring, that everyone knows Iím staring, and worst of allóthat Oliver knows.

OH MY GOD. I'M DEAD. I am honestly laughing really hard right now because I experienced one of these moments and I didn't even like the guy. It was my best friends boyfriend and I told her AND naturally she made me video tape what I said to her and told him. But literally his abs were SO ripped and one day he was taking off his sweater and his shirt went up and...

Well, my world stopped and I could do was stare.

HE WAS HOT.

HAHA.

Oh my god, this is really funny.

You donít know everything, because he tried to explain himself on numerous occasions, and you let your wounded pride get in the way. Oliver has tried to apologise, a few times in fact. And youíre going out of your way to hurt him with your articles, because he hurt you. Thatís notÖthatís not nice. In fact itís rather wicked, and I think youíre better than that

HYPATIA, YOU GO GIRL! MOM OF THE YEAR AWARD GOES TO YOU.

Thank goodness someone FINALLY said it to her. Maybe Edie will open her eyes finally and just LISTEN to what Oliver has to say.

I don't think Oliver is past the point of being forgiven because let's face it Edie likes him. She does and she can't hold a grudge well she can but she shouldn't because when she accepts her true feelings what is she going to do run for the hills? Be a spinster? Come on.

Author's Response: Haaa that's funny! Even better is your friend's reaction and how she was so excited about it, and was just like "He needs to know." She sounds like a cool gal.

Hypatia Lennox, serving Cold Hard Truths since 1980. Or 1979? I'm not even entirely sure when Edie's birthday is (March seems good, she's a total Aries.)

Yeeesss, I really wanted to stress the difference between Edie and Oliver's relationship.

(**Spoilers ahead? Maybe??**)

It's not the case that the story opens after they've met, when they've already decided that they "hate" one another for no real reason (ie. he pulled my hair when we were six), nor is there sexual tension based on an unfounded, mysterious, mutual dislike. Rather he made a bad impression on her and she handled it poorly, using things that were honest mistakes as ammo against him (okay, his drunken Viktor Krum behaviour was pretty pathetic, but as you've probably figured out, he doesn't have a lot of friends and was trying to impress his teammates.) It was her own compulsive and spiteful behavior that got them past the point of return. She realized too late that, actually, there is not a whole lot wrong with Oliver. But she'd already dug her hole too deep. By the time she actually started being really, truly interested in him, there was no real way out.

(**End of spoilers??**)

Ahem.

Thanks for reading! ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Apology Not Accepted

21st February 2015:
Well, the sun was out, and it can be very bright. You know how you can get all squinty

LOL.

Theyíre paying him all this money but you know the sunÖit makes you get all squinty.

ďOutside!Ē my Mum points to the door, while Andrew calmly sips his tea, ďGo outside and play!Ē

Because at their age thatís normal.

Uh. For a second I thought Rose was faking being drunk. I think she actually likes Oliver and the fame obviously but at first I thought she was just using him because heís Oliver Wood. Now Iím not too sure. I do know she says all those things to Edie just to bother her. Sure she can have her articles but she canít have her man.

Yet.

Edie really likes to sink to rock bottom, doesnít she? Calling for Jae. Come on girl, get your life together. Score for Oliver for calling her out for not apologizing for anything. I feel like they are going to get into a fight and then theyíre going to rip each otherís clothes off.

Cause thatís Edie for you. I should feel bad for Rose because she's going to be the victim here but I don't. She's not too nice. If she was nicer than I would feel for her.

Author's Response: I imagine Deverill to be this really old guy who's past his prime, but is so kind and fatherly to all the players that they've let him stay as Puddlemere's team manager for ever. And when he made that little comment Katie probably gave him a consolatory "Why don't you sit the next couple rounds out?" pat on the shoulder and covered his tracks to the media. I ship their friendship so hard.

Honestly I toyed with the idea of Rose actually being sober. Before the edits, Edie even looked back in the restaurant and noticed that Rose seemed normal. Your first impression was right! Because the person Rose is based off of would TOTALLY do something like that. I don't mean to sound catty. Rose is just so 100% This Girl that I don't even imagine her with a British accent, because I so clearly see this "LS" gal in my head when writing. Anyway, you weren't far off at all with that guess!

YESSS, Edie really hit rock bottom there... But haven't we all done that? Maybe? Or just some of us? At the risk of generalizing, I think we've all gone back to the person who didn't make us feel so great out of loneliness or boredom or what have you. What's even worse, though, is that in the edited version of this story (yet to be validated on HPFF) it's Edie who tries to keep things going with Jae that morning when she realizes how old he is, and he's the one to be like "Uh, no."

HAAA it hurts, it hurts.


 Report Review

Review #19, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Match

21st February 2015:
Good luck today, youíre a shining medallion and you smell like Christmas.

Haha.

Rose Zeller is hugging me.

This cannot be good. Run for the hills Edie!

The stadium is absolutely roaring. But then I realize exactly whatís happening, and why everyone is looking at me murderously, and what everyone is screaming about.

AH! HE WAS LOOKING AT HER, NOT ROSE! He was distracted by our dear Edie but I canít blame him. Come on girl, you should not have been drinking like that it is unprofessional and you should not have been cheering loudly for the opposing team.

When will she learn?

I really liked Katie. I wish she had a bigger role in the chapter. Maybe sheíll be in the next one but I thought her conversation with Edie was necessary because Oliver is a good guy and Edie paints him as a bad one even though she knows in her heart heís not. She needs to learn how to control herself and just be a reporter. Sure her first article mirrored the person she thought he was but the secondÖout of bounds.

I canít wait for the third. I hope her POV changes. As for Rose and her chummy behavior, please. You know theyíre going to have a blow out eventually.

Author's Response: Oh man, I just realized that you alone have pushed the reviews on this story to over 400! That's amazing, thank you so much!

Also--while my computer's on the fritz (read: little ability to write/update) I will use this moment to self-promote my KC&CO tumblr, if you want more, MORE, MORRREEE!!! The username is lennoxed ;)

I imagine Dean making his shining medallion comment with complete drunken sincerity, through heavily-lidded eyes, in kind of a whiny voice. I love it.

I was cringing when I wrote this, and not for Edie's embarrassment but for the fact that she was getting a little soused on the job. Like come ON, FRIEND. (To be fair, I'm pulling a lot of this from my Most Horrible Shameful Embarrassing Unprofessional Trip to New York City 2010.)

Katie! Yes! She really is great; she's one of those people who would never respond to "How are you?" with anything but the truth. She's very blunt but kind, aka ~JuSt LiKe OlIvEr~ which is why they dated for approximately a century.



 Report Review

Review #20, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Nothin' but a Number

21st February 2015:
With my hands resting near my head, I stare at a patch of moonlight on the ceiling, and Jae moves over me like a shadow.

Uh, that was actually quite depressing. She doesnít even like him and he canít even distract her. Plus, what does he have to be jealous about over Wood? He doesnít even know her.

ďThatís likeÖ seven years older than me! Youíd already graduated by the time I was a First-Year! You wereóyou were an adult when I was only ten!

NO! EDIE, NO. THATíSÖ.NO!

Please tell me the Jae-Edie saga is officially over because I cannot handle anymore sexual encouters.

Iím excited to meet Katie! See what she says and maybe another encounter with dear Wood? I also want to know Roseís reaction to all of this. Itís not going to be pleasant Iím sure.

I also think Dean is going to blow up at Edie sooner rather than later. His feelings need to come out. Itíll suck when heís rejected but he canít just keep his mouth shut this entire time.

Author's Response: You again! ♥

Haha, yeah, this story may or may not take a turn towards the more "depressing" subject matter. It's pretty difficult to fill the plot you've outlined without straying from straight humor into more serious matters.

Yay, I like when readers are as horrified by Jae and Edie's age difference as I was! Funnily enough right after I wrote this chapter, I met a guy at a coffee shop who was being very flirty and invited me to go contra dancing (um no) and got my numbre and such and then I found out he was 5 years younger... Not quite as terrible as Jae and Edie, but I did a quick backpedal there.

Katie is cool! I wish she was a larger part of the plot. I like her because she and Oliver are so similar--well, you'll see.

Thank you as always.


 Report Review

Review #21, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap You've Got Moxie, Kid

15th February 2015:
I look like a suspicious characteróa tormented poet at the least.


I wear black on black on black all the time and now Iím going to
laugh at myself because of the different shades of faded black I
wear and call myself a tormented poet. No one will understand my
plight. Or my laughter.

ďThe flying buttresses have it the worst!Ē

Iím pretty sure my love for you has grown immensely after this
paragraph.

What goes on in your head?

Her eyes go even narrower behind their spectacles, ďThey donít
allow it anymore.Ē

She should really get in touch with Filch.


OH MY GOD. IíM REQUESTING A MILDRED AND FILCH ONE-SHOT.

HOW HEAVENLY WOULD THAT BE?

( I LOVE FILCH)

Okay, I loved Jae and under different circumstances I would say
team Jae! But Iím already TEAM DEAN AND TEAM OLIVER so letís just
not confuse me so much, okay?

I thought it was ratherÖeasy? I guess for the truth to come out. It
didnít seem as shocking when she said it or that there were
consequences. I felt there should have been consequences. Edie
sticks up for Rose, why wouldnít she? Itís not like she wants to feel
her wrath all over again but I do think the two of them should be
punished. She could have hired her but maybe on probationary
standards or something. I donít know.

Iím glad itís out though. I suppose now we wait for Oliverís reaction
because theyíre going to have to interact soon. I think heíll finally
read the articles now, at least once the third one is out and itíll bite
her in the bum so maybe thatís what she needs. Plus, sheís a good
writer but she gets her ego and emotions in the way. She needs to
learn to control herself and write the truth, not the half-truth. I
imagine her less of a celebrity journalist and more of a sports
journalist and I donít think sheíll find that at WW. Plus, can she be a
journalist and have Oliver too? It seems like another hurdle because
it could be considered a conflict of interest. I think maybe thatís
why she didnít say anything about Oliver and Rose, plus sheís in
denial too but that could hurt Roseí career even more. It has to be
out in the open and readers have to know and editors need to
know. I guess we arenít even close to the end of this drama. Oh
Edie, digging yourself into a deeper whole as the chapters go on.

Author's Response: Hello again!

"What goes on in your head?" Ha!! That is a really great question... It's something like thinking about 58 things at once, and thinking that everyone you see is really really pretty, and constantly realizing that you've drank all your coffee and need more.

*Sips from coffee*

You're certainly not the first person to ask for a Mildred/Filch story, and I really have considered it... Unfortunately I have to force myself to be solely focused on this story, or I just won't write at all. I have a few ideas from time to time for new fics, but I just can't multitask that way and won't allow myself to write anything until KC&CO is finished (I've never technically finished a novel before.) Unfortunately that includes a Filch/Mildred... Milch? Filchred? I ship it.

Hahaha it's so funny how many of my readers really like Jae! The whole time I'm writing him I'm just like "ew." I imagine him being really cocky and womanizing and just kind of falling short of the mark. Like a lot of male characters on HPFF who are just so full of sass and swagger and good looks, and the characters end up falling for them. Jae is kind of like that except Edie doesn't fall for it. (Whoops! Spoiler?)

It was indeed an easy conversation with Blakeslee, and one that I re-wrote many times. I agree that it *does* seem a little too carefree up front, but I think this chapter mentions (or at least at one point it did) Edie's concern that they'll sack her as soon as the articles are done. She's gotten what she wants, in a way, but WW and Blakeslee are just using her to get their articles. She's of little value to them otherwise.

I wish I could address your last paragraph better, but I can't yet! Don't worry, pretty much everything that you've mentioned is addressed and comes to a culmination. As usual, there are 4738927321830912 things going on at once in this story and it takes time to get to all of them.

I suppose that's what happens when you write on a coffee-high.

Thank you again for another lovely review! Glad you're sticking around ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by anon The Unfortunate Truth

11th February 2015:
I absolutely love your writing! All of your characters are great and really fun to read. I hope we see more of Dean soon. I adore him. Anyway, great chapter! Looking forward to more xx

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you for the review. I really can't wait for Dean's next appearance either... The last few chapters have kinda been a landslide, as far as revelations go. With another one in the next chapter, it's so hard to give every plot point that needs attention its own face time...including Dean and Edie facing each other again. There's so much time sensitive stuff unfolding that Dean has taken the back seat for now... And sadly, so has Seamus ;A;

I promise you will see both of them again soon! Erm, not in the next chapter either... But soon!



 Report Review

Review #23, by 800 words of heaven Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

11th February 2015:
REVIEW SWAP.

I've been meaning to start reading this story for the longest time. It's been floating around the forums and tumblr, and I'm always like "I shall read that!... Tomorrow." But finally, tomorrow has arrived and I am here.

This is a great start. I'm not really a bar person and this has just underscored for me why. This is a good thing, because I was very vividly imagining the setting and the crowd and the noise... I am Lisa. An old maid.

I quite enjoy Edie's voice. She's a twenty-something with her life not like what people say it should be by then, but she's unconcerned. I really like that. I can somewhat relate to her situation and I take heart in her attitude.

What I'm most looking forward to in the next few chapters is getting to know Dean and Seamus better. They seem quite fun now and I'm sort of excited to read about their adventures through adulthood.

Excellent start. I shall be back for more... soon :)

Author's Response: Hey! Well I'm glad that "tomorrow has arrived," as you've said. Also pretty pumped that my incessant spamming of this fic on Tumblr is paying off ;)

Hahaha, that's funny--I can indeed see how a crowded room full of drunk Quidditch hooligans does not sound appealing.

As for Edie's unconcern with not really having a direction in life, it comes and goes. Some days she's fine with it, and some days she feels completely worthless.

Dean and Seamus! They are so present in the beginning of this story and then they just drop off the face of the planet, mostly because Edie is so terrible with keeping up with friends. But I indeed miss them.

Thanks for the review ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Incendio!

8th February 2015:
Yes, they must all wear black and leather gloves. They should also...

NO! BAD IDEA. What bad influences they are. Agreeing so easily. Boys.

Edie. Oh, Edie. I want to know what Oliver wrote in the note. I wonder if he's REALLY with Rose or it's just a pretense she's using to write the article. She flirts. Oliver doesn't really do anything but stand there dumbly.

A part of me doesn't want them to get together in the end. I mean I want them together but does Edie really deserve a happy ending? She doesn't necessarily have to get one. Or if anything they could be friends. But really she thinks she's better than so many of them when really she needs to take a hard look in the mirror or the bottom of her empty beer glass. She's honestly better than all of this though I think. I think Edie lacks real confidence. She's cocky but it's all a facade.

Oh, this is my last chapter for awhile. How did I get to chapter 17 so quickly?!

Author's Response: Huehuehue. This chapter was so unlike anything I've ever written, but it was REALLY FUN TO WRITE. I've never done any kind of humour action scenes (chases, magical duels, breaking and entering, etc.) but it came so naturally? Not to sound arrogant at all, as always this could use some editing. But I was surprised how fun it was! I don't want the whole fic to continue in this vein because it strays from the overall intended voice and language, but man oh man, was it fun.

I really like hearing people's honest opinions of Edie and Oliver. It feels the same way to me, at times--that she actually doesn't deserve him. I wanted to write a story exploring the "love/hate" trope (which I love and am obviously guilty of writing) and what happens when it may not work out. Obviously you disliked the person in the beginning, and that doesn't always go away. Even if you end up together, those fundamental things that made you dislike them so strongly at first will always be there.

"Take a hard look in the mirror or the bottom of her empty beer glass." SNORT. So, so true. And your opinion of her is pretty spot-on ;)

Oh my, this is the last of them. Wow! Seventeen reviews, what a fun surprise. Thank you so much, seriously. I'm excited because this is the first novel-length fic I'm really going to finish--excluding the complete crap I wrote in high school--and I hope you stick around!



 Report Review

Review #25, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Lisa Turpin-Finch-Fletchley Unravels

8th February 2015:
Is Justin happy about this? So many twists and turns I wasn't too focused on Lisa because for a moment when she said it in the other chapter I was like yeah right homegirl is knocked up but I'm a stress eater and I wanted to read more about Oliver.

Oh Lisa! It's going to be okay even though she has worked so hard to be a Healer and now she's going to have a baby and that's going back things up quite a bit and she has Edie as a house guest when the baby could be in that room.

Does Justin know?

Oh this is so sad! I do want Edie to tell her everything that's been going on. They need to share more. Well she needs to share more. Justin blowing up at her (sort of) was great. He cares but he's realistic and Edie needs that because she's got her head in the clouds a bit.

Author's Response: URRGHH Lisa is one of my biggest regrets in this story. She's just so two-dimensional right now. I wanted her to be a clear opposite from Edie as a means of emphasizing how differently their lives have gone since graduation, but it's to the point that I don't even see how their friendship works. OH ALSO I was really trying to avoid the trope of "That's my best mate... she's mental" that we see often, because in those situations the best friend is really just around as a conduit to get the main character into bad situations. ("I dare you to snog Oliver!" type nonsense that I ta-HO-tally did not want to write.) But it's backfired on me for sure. Lisa is too nice; I think Edie needs a bit more sass and mischief to stay interested. And somebody as rational and polite as Lisa would find Edie completely annoying. So anyway, I've been making some major edits with Lisa's entire character. They haven't made it to the site yet, but it's one of the bigger re-writes I'm doing, along with Oliver's dismissive attitude toward the press.

Anyway, with ~new Lisa~ she just doesn't want kids, probably ever. It's something that her and Justin have decided on before marriage (OMG can you even imagine Justin trying to raise a child?) but obviously that didn't pan out. So that's why ~New Lisa~ is so upset... and why she hasn't told Justin, because she's afraid he'll be like "Well crap."

Phew.

Thank you for reading my prattling on and on. ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>