10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MsErrol A Language More Lovely Than Speaking

3rd December 2013:
This was really amazing! I'm glad you did it like this, with Hollie being deaf. It makes the Magical world so new and interesting! Please keep writing, this is Wonderful!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ice A Language More Lovely Than Speaking

22nd May 2013:
Post the next chapter! P.S. I wanted to put 11 out of 10 on the rating but it wouldn't let me. : (

Author's Response: XD thank you Ice! That makes me feel all happy and warm and fuzzy inside! :D and I will try to as soon as I can! :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by hpfan1 Platform 9 3/4

7th March 2013:
It's an interesting story idea, but I'm confused with the whole deaf thing. If they are a part of the wizarding world, why doesn't Hollie just get her hearing repaired by healers at St. Mungo's? Just a thought, but otherwise well written.

Author's Response: Well, Dumbledore didn't know she was deaf when he left Hollie and Harry on the front porch, and the Dursleys weren't about to try and contact wizards when they found out...I hope this answers your question. And thanks! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by megygirl A Language More Lovely Than Speaking

2nd February 2013:
update! please cant wait!

Author's Response: okay, I will as soon as I can! thanks for reading! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by ??? But you can't.

8th January 2013:
Love it please update soon! Love the plot so far and I love hollie!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by LaLaLand But you can't.

1st December 2012:
Hi!! Remember me??? I'm your first ever reviewer!!! But , if you show that you actually read your reviews , you'd get loads more!

Author's Response: how do I do that? it's a serious question, I have no clue.

 Report Review

Review #7, by The Misfit But you can't.

21st November 2012:
Hi! I saw your banner request on TDA and I was really intrigued that you had deafness as a theme in your story- I'm deaf myself but I've never seen a fanfic with deafness in it, so it's good that you're writing one!

I don't usually read AU fics, but I'm liking this one. Malfoy and Snape's lack of awareness is authentic, as are the reactions of other people such as Lavender etc. All those "Ohmygosh, I'm so sorry"s are exactly what people tell me too :')

I like that you're being realistic and that you're reflecting Harry's frustration with Hollie's deafness; it certainly does happen in real life and it's good to see someone reflecting that.

I would advise toning down on Hollie's swearing; I know "bloody" doesn't seem that bad but this is an eleven-year-old we're talking about- not even Ron swore that much in his first year ;)

In addition, you might want to add more description. I know we all know what the canon characters look like, but are they particularly dishevelled that day- if so, why? Have they just been in a fight with Slytherins or were they running away from Filch when they bumped into Hollie? Interesting details like that help to draw the reader in and build a better visual of the scene around them :)

Overall I really like this fanfic; I'll keep an eye out for the next chapter! Also, do you mind if I ask- are you deaf yourself? :)

Author's Response: I really appreciate this! it helps me write a better story. and i will definitely take it into account. :) and of course I don't mind you asking, but no, I am not deaf. I've just always been intrigued with sign language. just let me know if at anytime I mess things up! XD thanks again for the feedback! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by CharlieBellaPotter But you can't.

20th November 2012:
Please write more, its really interesting!!
I cant believe harry acted like that, disappointing :L

 Report Review

Review #9, by LALATHE GAME!!!! No really, what house am I in?

13th November 2012:
OK ,please update ! I'm the deaf girl , you know THIS . IS . FUCKING . AMAZING !!! girl !!?? , ya , well all the good things that I said last time , KK ?? Good writing !!

Author's Response: thank you again! I'll try and update as soon as I can. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Caramel Poinsettia Blaze , daughter of Hecate , most epic st Platform 9 3/4

10th November 2012:
THIS . IS . FUCKING . EPIC! Love how Hollie can read lips like that !! I'm deaf , too , and everybody loves me !!! Nah, not really . I'm bullied all the time !! Mostly physical , seeing as they think that no mattet how they present the insults my 'thick' mind won't be able to prossess it. I have ADHD , too , so that doesn't help much. Anyhow , instead of me sitting here pretending like you actually care about my life , I'm gonna tell you how much you BLO0DY NEED TO UPDATE , OR ELSE I'M GONNA GO CRAZY AND EAT that .. that . that distracting blue enchilada . yum!!

-

You can chain me,
You can torture me ,
you can destroy this body ..
But you can never imprison my mind.

-

Poetic , huh ??

Author's Response: thank you so much! I'll have the next one up as soon as possible! and yes, that is totally poetic! would you mind if I put that as the story description?

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login