Reading Reviews for The Writing on the Wall.
  
111 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore The First Night.

20th November 2014:
Hi Margaret! I'm finally here for our review swap (I got caught up in a few unexpected things today, and then when I finally tried to post this my internet cut out, so I'm sorry it's taken me so long!) I've wanted to try and get to this story for a while now and I thought that this was as good a time as any to do it!

I thought that this was such a fantastic start to your story! For some reason, I can't remember ever actually reading a story like this one on the archives, that focuses on the next generation children from the time that they start Hogwarts, and I'm really glad because I was able to enjoy this as if I was reading the books again. Another thing I absolutely loved here was the way that it felt like it fitted in so well with the books - not only does it pick up as soon as we left off with the seventh book, but there's a return to the familiar scene and occasion and that makes me feel kind of nostalgic (if it's possible to feel nostalgia for a fictional world) and I couldn't help smiling straight away. It was also nice to get the sense that we're returning to some of the more innocent aspects of the earlier books with this story, since it's a much safer time.

I really liked the way that you opened this with Albus panicking as the Sorting approached. It makes a lot of sense to me that he'd be so worried - Harry was terrified, and he hadn't grown up with the same amount of expectation. Even though his dad did his best to try and allay his fears, I can imagine Albus being so scared at this point. I thought you did a great job of showing the way that the Sorting seemed to drag on and on for Albus, in his fear, without making it drag on for the reader, too!

Albus's thoughts during the Sorting were very believable and felt in character for him - at least, how I imagine him to be. At this point, we've only got his appearance in the epilogue to go off, so you've got a lot of freedom. I really liked the diversity in names of students that crept in with the first years' names being read out, too - especially the Irish that I spotted in there ;)

I did notice a couple of typos in that first part, though. Nothing major - just 'house' instead of 'hat' a couple of times, and a 'Gryffindor' that's missing the 'R', but if you wanted to edit them out I thought I'd let you know they're there.

Yay! Despite being a proud Gryffie, my head canon for Albus actually puts him in Ravenclaw, so I was really pleased to see him there! I don't know why, but for me he actually fits there better than any other houses. I liked the fact that he hadn't even considered the possibility of any other house but Gryffindor and Slytherin, but I get the feeling he'll definitely fit in with the Ravenclaws! It's great for him that he's got Lucy to help guide him through as well, and that Rose joined him in Ravenclaw. I get the idea that they'll stay really close friends through this story, and I'm glad about that.

Oh my goodness, do you have any idea what you've just done to me with those delicious descriptions of the food at the feast? To be honest, even listing British foods is enough to make me hungry right now, but I thought you really captured the sort of indulgence that I always imagine the start-of-term feast to be. It just seemed so Hogwarts-y to me.

I thought you wrote McGonagall very well here, even if she only made a brief appearance in reminding people of the rules. She seems to have taken a lot of her speech from Dumbledore, but why not when he was such a role model for her?

I liked the way that they all approached the Ravenclaw tower - because it's a different house to the one that Harry was in, I got more of a sense of excitement than I would have done if Albus had been Sorted into Gryffindor, I think. The riddle was really good too (although I found myself hoping that the door knocker is able to distinguish between first and seventh years). The descriptions of everything made me smile - I felt like I was returning to Hogwarts with Albus, and now this is making me question why I've not read more stories like this before, because this is giving me the chance to go back and start over with them!

From what I've seen of them so far, the other boys in Albus's dormitory seem nice! I liked the inclusion of a Muggle-born to remind us more of the sense of wonder and how overwhelming an experience like this can be, especially if you've not grown up expecting it to happen. I think it must have been nice for Albus to talk to someone who didn't know about his father, too.

One other aspect I thought you achieved really well here was capturing these children as characters. They're still only children, quite young at eleven or twelve, but at the same time you haven't written them too young. I find that balance hard to manage, so I'm really impressed by how much these characters seemed to fit in with their age and all we know about them!

This was a really great opening chapter to your story, and I'm hoping I can make it back soon to continue on (since there's plenty more of it to read)!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. Hope you weren't up too late writing it. *grins*

Yes, while these are mysteries, I'm avoiding major warfare and Dark Lords, because I kind of feel that another war or another Dark Lord's rise would kind of take from the Trio's sacrifices. I like the idea of their having created a safer world for the next generation. So while villains exist in this series and may hurt individuals, there isn't going to be a whole society living in fear.

I tend to stick in Irish characters when I get sick of trying to think up British surnames. And I couldn't imagine Fionnuala being other than Irish or Scottish anyway. I also have a few references to Irish wizarding customs sprinkled here and there. Just for fun.

Have fixed those errors. Leaving out the "r" is rather typical of my spelling patterns.

My immediate thought for Albus was Hufflepuff actually, but I have an older story that predates both Half Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows in which a son of Harry's ends up in Hufflepuff and Albus reminded me a little of that character from the little I saw of him in the epilogue, so I thought if I put him in Hufflepuff, I'd end up basically writing the same character again. So then I thought I could develop a personality for him that worked with Ravenclaw. While you can't really tell from one or two conversations, especially since Albus was clearly in a situation where any child would be a little subdued when we saw him, but he didn't strike me as predominantly courageous or ambitious.

*grins* I remembered to say "bacon" rather than "rashers". To me "bacon" are the thick slices you eat with cabbage, whereas the thin slices you have for breakfast or with chips and sausages are "rashers".

I love next gen. stories because there is so much freedom. We don't know much about the characters' personalities and we certainly don't know what'll happen to them at Hogwarts or how the wizarding world has changed since the war. I've read some next gens. that have investigated how the wizarding world would deal with the advent of 21st century technology. In the '90s, "I'm going to boarding school and there's always a queue for the phone, so I'll probably only be able to write" was perfectly credible. In today's world, with mobile phones and the internet, not so much. I've sort of glossed over that, as my characters aren't particularly connected to the Muggle world and I don't have any good ideas in that way anyway.

The riddles get progressively worse as this series goes on. And I'm still only two terms through their second year! I am rapidly running out of ideas. This one is one of the best, I think.

I'm glad you think my characters are convincing for their age. It is a hard age to write, because they're not really children, not little children, any more, but they're not teenagers either and it can be hard to balance between not making them act like 15 year olds or 8 year olds.

Really glad you liked the opening chapter. Hope you get a chance to read some more and that you enjoy it. I know there is a LOT there. I think of the story as really starting at the end of chapter 4 or in chapter 5. The first three chapters are basically introducing the characters and so on.

Thanks again for the utterly amazing review.


 Report Review

Review #2, by YourFan The First Night.

29th June 2014:
this is the first fanfiction I encountered that Albus was neither sorted into Gryffindor and Slytherine..

I always find it hard or to even think of Albus sorted in Slytherine.. He idolizes his father to much to be sorted in Slytherine..

and Albus being sorted at Revanclaw makes this a very interesting story.. i believe that it is very challenging to go in that direction of the story, but you did it effortlessly, so Congratulations!!

I think that you started the story admiringly :)

Author's Response: I had basically two reasons for having him somewhere other than Gryffindor or Slytherin. The first is that there are more than two houses, which he seemed to forget and I always feel that when a character only considers two houses, unless it's make clear they wouldn't fit the others, they should not end up in either of those two.

Also, from the little we saw of Albus, he did not appear either particularly brave or particularly cunning and ambitious. He seemed quiet, thoughtful, maybe a little insecure (although that may just be about starting a new school), slightly gullible. To be honest, my impression was that the house he'd fit best would be Hufflepuff, but I already wrote a story about Harry having a son in Hufflepuff, so I thought Ravenclaw was the next best fit.

Glad you liked it. Hope you continue to enjoy the story.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Anon The First Night.

14th May 2014:
Well this is certainly awsome. I look forward to more :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope you like the rest.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Teddy1993 Farewell Slughorn

3rd May 2014:
That was a nice chapter to finish with. I really enjoyed this story, from the very first chapter. Thank you for writing it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your continued reviews. Always nice to hear what somebody thinks.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Teddy1993 Questions and Answers.

3rd May 2014:
Well, I certainly didn't expect that, but I guess it makes sense if she is family of Nott. I liked the motive you gave her. I can easily see why she would hold a grudge against the Potters and the Malfoys. Great ending to a great story. One more chapter to go and then it's time for the sequel. :)

Author's Response: Glad you like the revelation.

I don't think many people figured it out in advance. A lot of people appear to have been surprised. It's hard for me to tell how obvious things are, because of course, I know which hints are important and which are red herrings.

Hope you enjoy the sequel as much.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Teddy1993 Rose's Plan.

3rd May 2014:
Great chapter. I can't wait to find out how this story ends.

Author's Response: Next chapter now will tell you most things. Glad your enjoying it and hope the ending doesn't disappoint.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Teddy1993 The Destruction of the Universe.

3rd May 2014:
I laughed at that last sentence :D Great job on the Quidditch final. Good job!

Author's Response: Glad I made you laugh.

Wouldn't it be hilarious of Filch had painted the graffiti himself, when he threw such a fit about it?

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Teddy1993 Easter.

2nd May 2014:
I may be wrong, but I thought Muggles were able to get onto Platform Nine and Three Quarters? I'm not sure, but I think I remember a part during Snape's memories where Lily's parents and Petunia were there to see Lily off to school. Anyway, it doesn't really matter to the story and it's not really a mistake in canon. Just thought I'd point it out. Great chapter, by the way. I was kind of surprised when Scorpius wrote to Rose. Only four chapters left...

Author's Response: I must check that out about Muggles accessing Platform Nine and Three-Quarters. It's something I'm never entirely sure about. Thanks for pointing it out.

Yeah, only four more chapters and the last is really just a finishing-up sort of thing. You'll find out most of what's going on in Questions and Answers. I say "most" because there is one piece of information that remains to be revealed in chapter 1 of the sequel.

Scorpius is very anxious to find out who damaged him broom. It means a lot to him.

Thanks for your continued reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Teddy1993 Eleanor Lockhart.

2nd May 2014:
Good chapter. I don't really think Lockhart's niece has anything to do with it, but you never know... Great writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I LOVE hearing people's theories, partly because it tells me if I'm giving enough information, or too much and partly just because it's fun to see how people who don't know how it's going to end interpret things.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Teddy1993 Piecing the Jigsaw Together.

2nd May 2014:
Great chapter. I'm looking forward to the revelation of the story.

Author's Response: The villain is revealed in the second last chapter, so you've about five chapters to go. *grins* Hope you like it.

Thanks for all the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Teddy1993 The Malfoy Dynasty.

2nd May 2014:
Scorpius seems to be quite alright, although it's rather clear that he is a Malfoy when you look at his behaviour and the way he talks. Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Scorpius doesn't exactly have an easy time, considering the way his family is now viewed.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Teddy1993 The Golden Arrow.

2nd May 2014:
Great chapter. I'm really enjoying the story.

Author's Response: YAY, the 100th review for this story. I've never had a story get into triple figures with reviews before. And yeah, this is the first fanfiction I've posted with 26 chapters, but still. Thank you so much for making it reach 100.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Teddy1993 Hagrid's Memories.

1st May 2014:
I'm usually not a big fan of mystery stories, but I must say that you grabbed my attention with this one. Great work!

Author's Response: *grins* I think one of the most awesome comments one can get on something one wrote is something like "I don't usually like x, but I do like this version". So thank you and I hope you enjoy the rest.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Teddy1993 Return to Hogwarts.

1st May 2014:
The relationship between Albus and Rose strongly reminds me of the relationship between Harry and Hermione. Good chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Teddy1993 Gifts and Games.

1st May 2014:
It seems like James is really hitting puberty. It was great to see all the Weasleys again. Very good chapter. It was chaotic and entertaining, just as a Weasley christmas should be.

Author's Response: Yeah, James is definitely being a young teenager. He'll grow up eventually.

Glad you liked the chapter; thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Teddy1993 Home for Christmas.

1st May 2014:
Nice chapter. I like how you pictured all of the Potters together. It's pretty much how I imagined them. James being too cool to hug his little sister in public and Albus being more caring and thoughtfull. I loved his idea for his father's christmas present. I'm really enjoying the story so far!

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it. It was good craic to be able to write more of a family scene and the relationship between Albus and his siblings and parents.

Glad you liked his dad's Christmas present. The reason he was stuck on it was because I was and I wanted to put off writing it for a while. *laughs* I eventually thought of the fact Hogwarts meant so much to Harry.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Teddy1993 The Empty Inkwell.

1st May 2014:
That was another great chapter. I like that the fact that Albus and Rose were sorted into Ravenclaw supplies a different perspective on Hogwarts. I can understand they would rather go to Flitwick than McGonagall as she can be quite intimidating. You write very well. Good work.

Author's Response: I'm trying to give Flitwick a bit of an increased role here as their Head of House. Hadn't thought of it giving a different perspective on Hogwarts, but I guess it does.

Thanks again for the continued reviews and for saying I write well. I'm grinning as I read this. Hope you continue to enjoy the story.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Teddy1993 What the Portraits Saw.

1st May 2014:
It's clear Albus and Rose inherited the detective gene from their parents. Good chapter!

Author's Response: *grins* Yeah, they really did, didn't they?

 Report Review

Review #19, by Teddy1993 Suspecting Scorpius.

1st May 2014:
Nice chapter. I enjoyed the scenes with Scorpius. It seems like Albus really is a lot like his father. The whole situation made me think of Harry suspecting Draco during their sixth year, although he was right back then. Good story so far!

Author's Response: Yeah, Albus has some traits in common with Harry, but he is rather more cautious and less likely to go rushing into danger. He's also a little more rule-abiding. And since he grew up in a much happier home, he trusts adults more and asks for advice rather than taking things into his own hands.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Teddy1993 The Chamber's Echo.

30th April 2014:
I'm not sure about Scorpius... I always imagined him to be kind of the odd one out in the Malfoy family, not following the ideas of his father and grandfather. But that has probably something to do with reading fanfiction. I'm sure there are also stories where he is a slimy git. Very good chapter. The story is really getting somewhere now and I like where it is going. Great job!

Author's Response: I did a lot of thinking as to how I could write Scorpius in an original way. I've read stories where he is a rival to Albus as Draco is to Harry and I've read stories where he forms a new trio with Rose and Albus, and while both of those can be really good and work really well, I wanted to do something different. I didn't want to subconsciously copy any of the stories I'd read. Now whether that something different involves making him the villain or something different altogether, I'm not going to give away here.

Glad you are continuing to enjoy this.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Teddy1993 Caught Red-Handed.

30th April 2014:
Another great chapter. I laughed at Filch muttering about Mrs Norris the first and the second. I also liked how McGonagall handled the situation. She seems pretty well in character as I remember her from the books.

Author's Response: Glad you found McGonagall in character. As you may have noticed, I write a lot of OCs or really minor characters, like Hesia Jones, where the issue of keeping them in character doesn't arise to the same degree.

And I got a lot of fun out of Filch and his cats. I was debating whether to give him the ghost of Mrs. Norris or whether he should have a new and lazier cat, but eventually decided on the latter.

Thanks again for your continued reviews. They are much appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Teddy1993 Hallowe'en.

30th April 2014:
I enjoyed reading about the Halloween feast. We didn't really see much of that in the books, mainly because Harry was getting himself in trouble most Halloweens. This was a nice, easy chapter that ended on a sinister note. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of your story!

Author's Response: Yeah, things tended to get rather interrupted in the books, due to the whole Dark Lord trying to kill Harry at all costs thing. While this is a mystery series, it's nowhere near as extreme as the events of the books.

Hope you continue to enjoy the story and thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the description of the Hallowe'en feast.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Teddy1993 Ravenclaw v. Gryffindor.

29th April 2014:
I liked the Quidditch game. You wrote it very well. Good story so far.

Author's Response: Really glad you liked my description of the Quidditch game, as I'm not very good at descriptive writing.

Thanks for the review and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story. More is about to happen in a couple of chapters!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Teddy1993 The Flying Lesson.

29th April 2014:
Another good chapter. It's funny you chose Cho as flying instructor (at least I presume it's her). She's actually the new flying instructor in my story too.

Author's Response: That IS a weird coincidence. I took a look at your stories a few days ago - just the summaries - and they look interesting. Must have a read sometime.

Yeah, I realised I was short a flying instructor and decided to find somebody we already knew to fill the position. I went looking through the books for Quidditch players who might fit the bill and eventually came up with Cho. I COULD just have kept Madame Hooch, I guess, but I decided against it.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Teddy1993 Mysteries.

29th April 2014:
I wonder if Professor Blackburn might be a werewolf. It would explain her foul mood the other night and maybe Slughorn was there to give her Wolfsbane. Either way, there is something going on with her and I'm sure we'll find out in the future. The whole situation with Albus and the chocolate cauldrons seems innocent enough, but I can understand it would be more creepy once he found out his brother didn't sent them as a prank. I think this was my favourite chapter so far. Great job!

Author's Response: *grins* Glad you enjoyed it. This was MY favourite chapter of the early ones too. Although I liked the end of the previous one, as it was so bizarre - giving detentions for essentially walking down a corridor.

And I LOVE your theory. Her being a werewolf WOULD explain a certain amount - her absence, her bad mood, what she is thanking Slughorn for. I love to hear what people think is going on. It all will be explained eventually, but not for a while. This is going to carry on having significance into year two.

And yeah, sending somebody swelling solution isn't MAJORLY serious, but you can imagine that Albus would find it a bit creepy that nobody seems to show any sign of having done it, especially as he's just started boarding school and is a bit nervous anyway.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>