Reading Reviews for Abandon
  
111 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheEmotionalTeaspoon Strangers and Fireworks

10th May 2016:
Hello, TheEmotionalTeaspoon from the forums here :)

Oooh, this was an interesting start! I really like how you wrote Malfoy at the end, he certainly seems like he could be quite dark, handsome and mysterious. ...I have to admit, I do like my romantic interests angsty and intense like that! You also did a good job of hooking us with that cliffhanger, and I'm definitely interested to see what happens next!

You've done a good job of introducing Roxanne's family, and that's always kind of difficult with next gen fics, since there are so many characters! I think introducing us to the story at a family gathering was a great way to establish Roxanne's relationship with different family members and friends while also telling us more about her as a character. I also liked all the dancing, I can definitely imagine that happening!

My only criticisms were that I did notice a few typos here and there, but a proof read or a beta could sort this out! Also, there were a few times where I was a little lost in Roxanne's inner monologue at the beginning, and although it did a good job of setting the scene, it could also be good to have Roxanne demonstrate certain traits or pieces of her history through actions, rather than her thoughts, as it might be a bit easier for the reader to digest. That said, inner monologues can still be entertaining to read, and overall I think you did a great job with this chapter. I did chuckle when I read that Percy's wife was a stripper!

Great work, good luck with the rest of the story!

-Kate :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for the review!

Benjamin is a mysterious character and that ending was meant to give you guys a jolt. I'm going through another revision of this story so in the original version, you never really get the feeling that he would ever be there.

I had to clean that up in this one though because I wanted to hint at that ending without giving it away. :D

Writing the Weasley family is really hard because there are so many of them. I don't think I've done this again either, it took me forever to balance everyone out. Haha.

I feel like this chapter is just the warm up to the rest of the story. I didn't do as much with Roxanne as I would have liked but I'm happy that you liked her! :)

I edited this in the middle of the night, which is my usual habit but thanks for letting me know about the typos. You'll be getting more of Roxanne in the next chapter though so I hope you'll come back!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #2, by Felpata Lupin Strangers and Fireworks

6th May 2016:
Hello, my dearest!!!
Here (finally... *rolls eyes to self*) with your review for our swap! :D

I decided to stop by here because... you see... because Benjamin!!! :P And one chapter in, I'm already so intrigued! Did I ever tell you that I love your writing? ;)

Big Weasley gatherins are always the best! They are such a huge bunch, and every character is so unique, and you manage to write them all so wonderfully!!! I love the care you put in it!

I'm already loving Roxanne! She's a fun girl! And I loved her relationship with Fred... I mean, Perce... that second name thing seems a bit weird, actually, but that's me because I'm trying to match him with his uncle...

By the way, Percy and Audrey were great! And I love that Percy tries to organize huge events to make amends. It's so Percy, but also so sweet!!!

George and Angelina are the best! But I guess I wouldn't want to be theit niece. Poor Al and Rosie... :P

And, well... I loved just about everyone! Can't recall the details, because I read this a few hours ago, but it was just so funny and so Weasley-crazy! :D

Ok... What is Ben doing in Arthur's shed, I wonder? Not very polite to go messing around with people's private property. But I guess polite is not a word in Benjamin Malfoy's vocabulary, is it? :P

Well, you definitely have me intrigued (never happens with your stories... *rolls eyes again*)

Thank you so much for the wonderful read, the swap, and the lovely review on Liar!

Much love,
Chiara

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for taking the time to leave another one of your awesome reviews! :D

I don't have a lot of people reading this at the moment so this made me happy! It's great to see that you like Benjamin so much. Hahaha.

Weasley gatherings are the best in the world and they're so much fun to write! I tried my best to make each Weasley stand out without bogging down the whole chapter and I somehow made it.

Roxanne is a pretty fun character and she's really underused in fanfiction. I love her relationship with Perce too!

Not too many people call him Fred and Roxanne rarely does unless she's mad at him.

George/Angelina are awesome! They're kind of known for picking on the younger kids though.

Why is Ben in the shed? All of those answers will be in the next chapter. Hahah.

Hope you stop by again!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Unicorn_Charm Benjamin Fredrick Malfoy

12th October 2015:
Hey Gabbie!! :)

I really don't think I like Benjamin at all. He seems so toxic. Roxanne is sweet and really pretty innocent (at least, it seems like she is) and he has this dangerous and dark vibe about him. That's probably some of the attraction I guess. But I don't like how he talks to her or treats her. It's very manipulative. I kind of want to shake her and tell her to stay away.

My heart broke for Roxanne in that flashback. I can't believe that kids were that cruel to her. It's too bad that James or Fred didn't know what those kids said to her. I'm sure they would have made them really regret it. ;) I guess Benjamin was kind enough to her there. But still, there was the condescending attitude towards her there. I don't know how to explain it, but it feels more sinister and more cruel than him just being part of the Malfoy family. I wonder who his birth parents were/are? Maybe he's some sort of descendant of Voldemort's and that's why he's kind of creepy/scary/manipulative?

I'm very much intrigued by that little snippet between Draco and Ben. So they both disappeared together? What happened?! (I know you can't tell me, but I'm still horribly curious) Whatever did happen felt like it was something big.

I like your Draco. He still feels like Draco, but you can see that he's changed; matured. I like that he's trying to atone for what he has done in he past.

I'm really dying to know what Benjamin's story is. He's an intriguing character. Very dark, mysterious and eerily charming. Roxanne certainly seemed to have fallen under his spell. She's totally helpless around him. Even when she starts to hold her own, she ends up faltering. The poor girl has got it bad. :p

I'm loving this story a lot! I can't wait to read on!! Thanks for doing this swap with me and I'm sorry for taking forever with my reviews. I ended up with a stomach bug, I think. I've felt horrible all day. :( I'll get them done asap though!

Much love,
Meg ♥

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving this lovely review. :D

There are a lot of people who don't like Benjamin and I've gotten quite a few complaints about him. I wrote this so long ago and looking back, I'm not proud of the way he's turned out so I've tried to fix that in later chapters. I hope you stick around! Roxanne is a really sweet girl though and the point of Ben manipulating her is revealed later but you won't like him much after that. Hahah.

I wanted to make a point in the flashback to show that just because the world had changed after the War didn't mean that racism and prejudice had as well. Kids can be cruel and I pulled this experience, minus the punching, from something that I went through when I was around her age. I didn't have Benjamin but I had a smart mouth. Hahaha. Ben doesn't know how to act around other kids his age much because he's never been around them all that often, he doesn't explain it but I hope you understand by chapter six and seven in the flashbacks there.

I haven't gotten into who Ben's birth parents are (They'r still alive) because I haven't had the time to really start back up on this story. I won't say that they're pleasant people but no, he's not Voldemort's descendant or anything like that. That attitude that you get from him is mostly his own.

Draco and Ben DID leave the country together but I still haven't said why. Hahaha. I want that to be more of a surprise for later so bear with me. I have written Draco a lot in my story, "A Force of Wills" and he has changed quite a bit in comparison. He's a lot more mature here and sadder too but that's not something I go into detail much yet in this chapter.

I think that I'm going to have to go into more detail about Ben's background in later chapters because you guys keep asking. Hahaha. I think that Roxanne is really interested in Ben mostly from the fact that they practically grew up together. Aside from him being being good looking and mysterious, you have that. Hahaha.

Thanks SO much for the review and no worries about time! It's all good. :D

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #4, by Pixileanin Benjamin Fredrick Malfoy

27th September 2015:
"She had thought about him so constantly that she had nearly forsaken all of her studies, ignored her family to stay locked in her room and worried that she would probably never see his tall, dark shape again, “I didn’t think about you at all.” Somehow, her voice managed to sound both pathetically squeaky and wistful."


This. This right here. This is what I would have liked a hint to in that first chapter. I wouldn't have needed to know the who or any of the details, but just the fact that she had gotten over, or had thought she had gotten over something in her past that allowed her to finally enjoy the family gathering without people needing to be concerned for her... that sort of thing. So when the twist happens at the end, it means something deeper to her character.

Okay, with that out of the way, I think you did a fantastic job of heightening the mystery of why the Malfoy boys had to hightail it out of Britain for a while and what it did to their family. Benjamin feels guilt and hurt, even though he tries to hide it and play up that he's unaffected to Roxanne, and I liked seeing that kind of vulnerability in him. It also explains why Roxanne can see another side of him than most other people and why she continues to trust him enough to carry on with him.

I won't comment on the kiss other than acknowledge that it happened and you know, squee... or whatever. I'm still not happy with Benjamin's attitude, no matter what else is going on. He's ingenuine on one side, and a complete prat on the other side, so even though Roxanne feels sorry for him and there's this hot factor going on that she can't control, I'd demand more honesty from a so-called friend who's abandoned me for a year without so much as an owl, no matter how tight-chested he is.

So, um. Good job for getting a reaction out of me. That means that the writing is still solid, and the undercurrent of a plot is starting to unfold, which makes my little plotty heart very happy.

I'll try to return later for more, RL willing and the creek don't rise...

Pix

Author's Response: Hello!

You've made a great point about that quote that I should have used for the first chapter. I should have given more information about Roxanne's relationship with Benjamin but oh, my youth was on me then. I wouldn't make the same mistake if I were writing this now.

I tried to hint what had happened to Benjamin and his father without giving it all away but I think you would be able to figure it out if you re-read it. Benjamin doesn't have a lot of moments when he's vulnerable but they do happen, more so in the flashbacks. I think that he only shows that side to Roxanne because of their history together and because despite what he may want, he can trust her. Roxanne sees the potential in everyone, she's a lot like her mother in that aspect and just LIKE her mother, she's going to cry a lot because of it. I am a horrible person...

Bwhahaha. IF you honestly don't want to continue reading this, I understand. I think that you may like Audrey Tang a lot better than this, I won't say A Force of Wills because no one wants to be cuddling up with Draco Malfoy and his ickiness. Eh.

MEh.

Eh.

Thanks so much for these reviews though, you're fantastic. :D I will stop by Rabbit Heart soon because I miss that Bunny.

Why did that sound so dirty?

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #5, by Pixileanin Stealth and Lies

27th September 2015:
“She’s a nice girl and you’re just…” she thought about it and he raised his brows, which were as black as the rest of his hair, so black that it reminded her of midnight, “There isn’t even a word for what you are.”

I feel this right here. Whatever happened in the past, it made Roxanne trust this crazy person a whole lot more than she should right now. It's obvious they had something going on, and her physical reaction to him is alarming.

"He was watching her intently from the other side, a blurred shape of muscle and lines, “I don’t want to lose you either,” she whispered under her breath and without hesitating another moment, she took his hand and let him pull her through."

Nooo. I generally scream in the direction of your characters. Sigh. Okay, so nothing much happened here except that Roxanne snuck out and Benjamin is still giving me the creeps. Dom's right. She needs to be more careful. I'm now getting this possessive vibe from Benjamin that I really, really don't like.

I know this wasn't much of a review besides getting all screamy with your characters, but that's all I have to say right now. I anticipate some finger shaking in the next chapter, so let's get on with that.

Pix

Author's Response: Hello!

Welcome back! People usually comment on that line from Roxanne, which is exactly how I was feeling about Benjamin at this point. I honestly don't really go into detail about what happened between them in the past, which is the failure of epic fails on my part as the author BUT it was a pretty bad falling out. I think Roxanne is too busy lamenting over the fact that she missed him and her hurt feelings to have better judgment right now.

SCREAM! SCREAM! You'll hate me by chapter six and if you don't want to read anymore of this story because of it, I understand. I am seriously reconsidering how I've written these characters and Benjamin in particular.almost to the point where I want to go back and change him. Drastically.

Ugh.

Thanks again!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #6, by Pixileanin Yes and No

27th September 2015:
This is bad. Benjamin is bad. Bad bad Benjamin. I don't like him at all, and I wish that Roxanne would have the sense to not be so curious about what he's been up to, but then there'd be no story here so...

I really don't know who this guy thinks he's trying to impress, just being that rude to someone he obviously wants to spend time with. Roxanne seems like a complete pushover here, and I sincerely hope that's not how she turns out to be.

Compared to the first chapter, this one was intensely in the moment, even with the flashback. It was contained and focused, and well-rounded in content. Nice work here.

Pix

Author's Response: HELLO!

Benjamin is bad. You have every right to hate him and honestly, I really hate the way that I wrote him in these early chapters. I don't know what I was thinking, really and I tried to make up for it in later chapters but the damage has been done.

This story is mostly about Roxanne growing up and learning to be herself SO the whole thing about her being naive, a pushover and immature are done on purpose. I honestly don't try to write characters that you guys automatically like because that's no fun. I mean, Teddy Lupin in my story Transparent is a horrible person but people love him for some reason. What does that say about me?! What does that say about everyone else?! *Flips table*

Anyway, thanks for liking the flashback! There are actually far too many of them later on but eh...

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pixileanin Strangers and Fireworks

27th September 2015:
Hello Gabbie!

I have finally slogged through the RL mud to throw myself at your feet for being so late. But here I am now, and I'm reading this story, Abandon.

Hey, hey, but it's all these Weasley/Potters all over the place. I always found it intimidating to write a ton of people in a scene like this. You managed to show everyone's personality through their actions, and how Roxanne related to them, which was good characterization and setup. I also liked that you included some not-so-common things in the mix, like the twins being held back TWICE for seventh year. It's weird, but I never thought of it like that. I had often wondered if they'd just be kicked out of school, like, "Nope, you're out. Just go and sweep floors or something." But it's cool that they get second, and sometimes third chances. It will make the mix of ages interesting for that year.

Roxanne's dad telling her that her OWLS didn't matter so much was also an interesting detail. I like that he has this attitude that life isn't all about how you did in school, that there are bigger things than test scores. In that way, I agree with him. It's nice to see some parents who aren't putting pressure on their kids to excel. Kids will do what they do, and at some point, the parents just have to sit back and let them be who they are. Within reason. Which I'm betting that Roxanne's dad doesn't have a ton of. Hmm.

One thing that threw me out of this chapter a bit was all the short paragraphs that were descriptive in their own right, but didn't connect as well to the next thought. I think that if you ever go back and edit this, you might want to consider flow more closely. I had this same issue with my older novel. It was written in this choppy, broken style, and I didn't know what to do with it until I had written more words. It read almost like Roxanne was taking little snapshots of the people around her in her mind.

So then this mysterious Benjamin appears, obviously not in a place where he should be, obviously not invited to the party, and from what you told us, he's someone that Roxanne "used" to be close to. And he sounds a bit cackly too. Of all the things that Roxanne thinks about during the party, this guy never once entered her thoughts, so I had no reference to how she should react to him here. I think you're going to get into that in the next chapter, but generally, if there's a twist to the end of a chapter, there should be a hint of why it's twisty, somewhere within the chapter itself. Was she avoiding someone, or was she deliberately trying not to think about going back to school because something happened between her and her best friend (or you don't even have to bring up who, or what, but just a general feeling of unease towards school, or maybe just that she had to get over some disappointment and this year would be different...) ? You know, that sort of hint in her character so we have a bit of context when you present the twist.

Your writing certainly did get my curiosity up, so I need the next chapter, if only to answer my own questions. :)

Onwards!

Pix

Author's Response: Hello!

I certainly wasn't expecting to see these reviews today but what a nice surprise! I feel like I should have had you read something else on my AP but now that we've got this started, let me dig right into this. :D

I really, really don't like writing a lot of characters all in one place. I think that it's really difficult and when it comes to the Weasleys and Potters, there are just SO many of them and it gets confusing. I don't think that I've done this again because it took so long for me to get right but I made a few mistakes here and there too. You know, I figured that the twins wouldn't be allowed back to Hogwarts after flunking twice but for some reason, that thought never came back to me until after this chapter had been up there for a while. I kind of think that they would have to take their classes back home or something but I'm not sure how that would work. Hm...

I didn't really delve that much into this but George isn't really very strict with either of his children. I think that he's just the sort of parent that likes to take things easy and later on, he doesn't even discipline Roxanne or Perce (Fred) because he doesn't like being that "mean parent". Angelina is the one who takes care of all of that stuff and I think that says a lot about the way their family is and their relationship as a couple. BUT that doesn't really get into this story until chapter six or so.

I think this is the fourth story that I posted up or the second but either way, my style has changed a lot since this. It's nowhere near perfect or anything but when I look back at these older chapters, I cringe a little. Well, a lot. I cringe a whole bunch.

You know, the whole thing about Roxanne not really thinking about Benjamin through this chapter didn't hit me until after this was posted. A year later. When I was too lazy to go in an update it. It would have made more sense for her to have him on her mind but that scene always gives people a little jolt, I think. Eh.

Thanks for this!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #8, by AlecJamesCaius_ Yes and No

25th September 2015:
Hiya! Next review! This one is going to be a lot longer because I just have more to say;p

I liked the flashback, in the first chapter I didn't quite grasp Roxanne's character as much as in this one. She is incredibly nice -- like, on another level nice. Ben is mean but he undoubtedly has his reasons. Draco seems to have changed drastically.
Anyways, I do dislike Benjamin so far. This seems to fit the typical James/OC stereotype for me. You have the MC (in this case canon) who doesn't want to fancy the love interest but no matter how hard she tries, she just can't resist his incredible "charm" "good looks" and especially. "badboyishness).

Personally, I'm not a big fan of James/OC type fics that follow this stereotype, because, except for that its always the same and you know what to expect, I hate how (some) girls are so incredibly attracted to bad boys. In this case as well, regardless of what reasonings Ben may have for his behavior, he was acting like your right git in this chapter. Especially his comment about Roxanne's breasts didn't sit right with me -- don't misunderstand, I'm a bloke and I'm all for big breasts -- but what he said was just very rude. I found him to be borderline sexual harassing in general, in this chapter. Of course, you could argue he knew Roxanne likes him, but if a girl continuously pushes you away and tells you to stop, you just stop, regardless of the situation. After all, you can't read minds and you could be interpretating her feelings wrong.
Its funny, Ben kinda reminds me of another JKR character, however this one is not in the HP-universe. I'm talking about Fats, from A Casual Vacancy. I'm reading it right now and I think its great -- you should read it too if you haven't already.
Anyways, poor poor shy,insecure,naive Roxanne. She seems like a truly amazing girl, I wish better for her than that arrogant git of a Benjamin ;p

I'll swallow all my words if his back story ends up making up for his behavior though! Dom was really cute by the way! So she's taller than Victoire? But Victore is supposed to be in her 20ies at this point... Dom is described as very young. Is Victoire abnormally short...? This part was a bit confusing.

Again, amazing contrast with my Dom, who is pretty much the opposite of your Dom. I wonder what will happen next Gabs, you've got me really excited! :D I just KNOW you've got all kinds of interesting stuff -- twists and turns and all that-- in store for me! Characterization truly is one of your strong points, it seems!

P.S. I forgot to mention it in my previous review, but I think its so cool you read Attack on Titan! :D I've only seen season 1 of the anime though but I thought it was great. I'm an anime lover too :)

See ya on the next one!

Alec

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for stopping by and giving me these great reviews. I'm actually happy that you had more to say for this chapter because I honestly have quite a bit to say as well but we'll get to that. :D

I have no idea why I decided to include the flashbacks in this particular story. It was originally put up about a year or two ago called "Growth" and it just never really took off. When I started this version, I thought that it would be an interesting contrast to show how Roxanne has changed and the contrasts between the past and present. If you keep reading, you'll see that the events in the past kind of foreshadow events that happen in the current chapter. Anyway, Roxie is actually a very sweet little girl. I think that she's a lot like her father in that regard but the thing with Benjamin is that you're right, he has reasons for being the way he is. I can't spoil it for you just now though because it kind of made my readers upset when they learned the truth later on.

Ah, Benjamin. There are quite a few people who loathe him. Like, seriously hate him. I didn't intend for him to be that way because I was trying to go for the "mysterious bad boy" cliche but now that I look back on it, I would really change his character. This story is a bit old now and the current chapters have evolved a lot so when I look back on these older chapters, I wince a little. I've tried to soften Benjamin up in later chapters but in all honesty--I'm kind of embarrassed about how he's been written. I'm personally a fan of the bad boy cliche, which is why I like writing characters like this so much. (Check out Teddy Lupin in my story Transparent if you want to know more about that. Yeesh.)

Anyway, Benjamin does have a side of him that I'm not too keen on. I would probably go back and drastically change his character if I had the time but for right now, I'm just trying to focus on getting this story finished. I think that Roxanne is attracted to Benjamin because she's known him for so long and considers him a friend no matter what happened in the past BUT the entire thing about him intimidating her a little kind of makes me cringe. I'm not proud of that at all. Hahaha. It's nice to get a man's perspective on this though because the lovely ladies who have reviewed this story kind of skimp over that.

Warning: You will not like Benjamin by Chapter six. You will want to hit me. You are allowed to send me an angry PM about it.

About Dominique: Dom is taller than Victoire, I don't know why I pictured her that way but I thought it would be neat that she towered over her sister in height but was so shy. Anyway, the thing about the ages in this story isn't canon or what we know as canon when it comes to the grandkids. Dom is sixteen in this story, Victoire is eighteen, Roxanne is fifteen, Teddy Lupin is almost twenty and God help me if I remember how old the rest of them are.

All of my stories are interlinked so if you had wanted to go in order, you would do it this way:

A Force of Wills

This is Angelina

This is Audrey Tang: The Bad Taste

Transparent

Abandon

Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince.


P.S.: I am a HUGE anime nerd and I love Attack on Titan! Nightmare fuel for sure but it's pure bliss. The second season is going to be coming out next year! I'm so excited! *Fangirls*

Much love,

Gabbie >:)


 Report Review

Review #9, by AlecJamesCaius_ Strangers and Fireworks

25th September 2015:
Hey, doing my part of the swap! I didn't have much time to properly sit down and r&r your story the last couple of days until now. I hope you don't mind.

So we have Roxanne as our MC here. She goes to one of, I suspect the many, party/reunions of the Weasley's and I think it was done well. Its a nice touch how George made his workplace like the Burrow :) Its funny to see the contrasts between your story and mine and how we imagine characters differently! Benjamin was interesting at the end, his back story could end up being crazy. What did he do to Roxanne? I'm excited to see what the next chapter brings!

Alec

Author's Response: Hello!

For some reason, I completely missed this first review for Abandon. Here I am with your response!

I tried to start this story somewhere else but for some reason, the fact that everyone was there for a family gathering felt better. I wanted to have Roxanne introduced as a very loved person and I'm happy that it turned out okay because writing so many Weasley's and Potters was hard. I cried a little...

Hahah. I try to reference the HP books as often as I can. I don't know why the joke shop would resemble the Burrow after a while but it just does in my head. George and Lee have a bad habit of blowing things up... I also love the contrasts between your story and mine! It's so much fun!

Oh, Benjamin. You find out all you need later and you left wonderful critique on him too. :D

Thanks for stopping by!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne Strangers and Fireworks

25th September 2015:
Hello! I am finally here! (stupid life deciding to throw everything at me at once *rolls eyes*) But I am excited to start reading and reviewing this!

You're right, not many people do like writing Roxanne stories, so I'm glad that we both have so that we can do this review swap, much like with our Percy/Audrey's :D (I really need to catch up on that)

Haha I can just imagine that a lot of George's inventions try to turn the Burrow into mush. I love that he's done so much to his home to make it resemble The Burrow :D That makes me really happy to know, as well as knowing that Angelina helps give ideas as well with Lee and Alicia.

Wow, that is awesome that Fred's middle name is Percival, that's in honour to Percy right? I love that so much!

Hahaha she has totally got George wrapped around her little finger! :D

Fred and Roxanne have a really great bond as siblings, and I think it's brilliant that they have that instead of fighting all the time, it's obvious to tell how much they mean to each other.

AHHH! THIS IS CONNECTED TO YOUR PERCY/AUDREY! YES! BRILLIANT!

All this dancing is making me happy, and I can imagine them all dancing wildly to the music. They're the best family ever! And the way that the cousins act with each other is fantastic, and shows a brilliant family dynamic.

:O Is there going to be a dance off between Audrey and George? I LOVE THEM SO MUCH!

EURGH! Who is this man in the shed and pushing boxes around? He sounds like a creep! :O A MALFOY!

NO! How could you end it there? I need to know more!

Absolutely wonderful first chapter! I can't wait to read more and see what's happened between her and Benjamin. :D

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for dropping by and no worries about being late or whatever. Real life sometimes gets in the way and I'm just glad that you showed up with this awesome review! :D

I think that it's a shame that people don't write Roxanne. She's a really great character to get into but I'm afraid that it just doesn't happen very often and it's really sad. We should swap with our Percy/Audrey stories again sometime!

I'm not sure why the joke shop ended up being another version of the Burrow but I couldn't get it out of my mind. Hahaha. George has no restraint when it comes to his inventions and Angelina is no better because she usually helps him.

Yep. Fred's full name is Frederick Percival Weasley II but try saying that five times fast, eh? It's an honor of both Fred and Percy and I get all fuzzy thinking about it. :3

Roxanne is a daddy's girl through and through.

I think that Roxanne and Perce (She never calls him Fred) have a good relationship too. They argue but there's that underlining bit of love there too. :D

ALL OF MY STORIES ARE CONNECTED! Hahahaha.

I'm all for family dynamics!

Audrey won the dance off!

Benjamin Malfoy in your shed is a bad thing!

I hope you stop by again!

Thanks a ton!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #11, by carry on with your knitting Strangers and Fireworks

23rd September 2015:
Gabbie! :)

I'm here for our review swap! :D Sorry it's late!

I think you may have me hooked on another of your stories...

I loved how easily this chapter flowed and how you included all of the members of the family and their friends, pointing out just enough about each character for the reader to get to know them :) I also loved that they all linked to your other stories! e.g. the mention of Audrey dancing like a stripper, I loved that reference! And teddy trying to make someone cry, it's typical of the way you write him! So that was a lovely touch :)

The atmosphere of the party you created was just so lovely and homely like a proper family party! It kind of reminded me of my family a little which was nice :) and I kinda wish I could have been there, it sound just so friendly and banter filled and perfect! :D

Okay now onto the creepy shed bit... So I loved the idea that she wanted some time to herself to find a quiet stop, I think we all get like that from time to time and I know I often go off and get away from everything at parties :) I loved that she seemed as fascinated with the muggle things as her grandfather, it must have been passed down to her! :) But Benjamin... that was so freaky and scary! I can already tell I probably won't like him, he seems like a very dodgy character indeed, especially trying to scare a young girl like that! Is he older then her? Because I saw you mentioned she was 15 nearly 16, but he was described as older I thought?


It was another great start to a story! I just love your descriptions, it was brilliant as always! :D

Much Love!
Katie :)

Author's Response: HELLO!

Thanks for leaving me this great review and reading most of my stories. That really means a lot to me! I hope I see you around more often in the future! :D

I tried to include all of the members of Roxanne's family but it was really tough! I am not really good with writing so many people all at once but I'm glad that it turned out okay. I think I mentioned it before but all of my stories are interlinked but if you ahd wanted to try them out in order, they go like this:

A Force of Wills

This is Angelina

Again

This is Audrey Tang: The Bad Taste

That Night

At Midnight

Glass

Transparent

Restraint

Abandon

Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince. :D

I wanted this party to feel like a real family gathering. I have never been to an anniversary but I know that they're a lot of fun from what I've been told!

Oh, that shed. Benjamin was hiding in there for a while and for some reason, people always get really creeped out by that. I do make it seem like she's in danger though so it's my fault. Hahaha. You won't like Benjamin. I'm just going to be honest. Hahahaha.

Benjamin is seventeen, he'll be eighteen by the time this story is finished. Hahaha.

Thanks for stopping by!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #12, by Unicorn_Charm Stealth and Lies

11th August 2015:
Hey Gabbie!!

Number 100 (I hope no one snuck in while I'm writing this :p) yay!!! *throws confetti*

I think I kind of hate Benjamin. Like, I want to grab Roxanne and shake her and tell her, "He's no good! Run away! Run away now!" I think Dom was totally right and he is a bit creepy. Not to mention condescending, rude, smug and mean. Bah! Bad Roxanne. Get out. Get out now!

I really love Roxanne. She seems like such a smart girl, which is why I'm so mad at her for putting up with Benjamin's crap. I'm glad she doesn't [i]completely[/i] take it, though. She does snap at him quite a bit, which is good. She's not letting him totally walk all over her.

I want to know what he did to her! These little snippets of what he said about her the year before are KILLING me! What happened, Gabbie?! Why was he gone for a year? Did they have a falling out? Did he humiliate her in front of the school? What happened?!?

Once again I thought she was adorable. When she was getting ready to sneak out and all of her little insecurities. I just want to tell her, you're beautiful. Stop it! And the whole stuffing clothes under the covers thing haha. I'm sure that's something her father and Fred pulled at least once in their lives. I have a feeling she's going to get caught. Molly lived through Fred and George. There really isn't much that you can put past her, I'm sure. :)

I need more. I need to read more. I have to know what exactly is/was going on between them. It's such an interesting (but not exactly healthy, it seems) dynamic between Roxanne and Benjamin. There's something really shady about him and I'm dying to find out what it is!

Great chapter once again my dear! I'll be back. You're stuck with me now! Mwahahaha! :p

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: HELLO!

Thanks for the great review, I've been meaning to reply to this for ages but real life kind of grabbed me by the hair and dragged me away. ;__;

Thanks for being number 100! *Sobs*

Bwhahah, there are quite a few people who really hate Benjamin. There are a few others out there who are kind of in love with him so it's that cliche about bad boys showing its ugly head. I do agree though that in these early chapters, he does come across as being kind of a jerk and that's my fault. I should have softened him a bit but in the end, it worked out the way I wanted because by chapter six, Roxanne is going to be regretting her decision not to run away too. Hhehehehhe.

I'm glad that you like Roxanne though. I tried to make sure out to be just like an ordinary girl, she's not like the others on my AP (Thank God) so it was nice to get back into a fifteen year old girl's mind for a while. Well, Roxanne has known Ben since she was about ten years old so she knows how to stand up to him. I just don't think she knows what to DO with him, you know?

I never quite say what Benjamin did to Roxanne. I do mention it a lot in later chapters and through flashbacks but I'll get to it eventually. Hahaha.

Hahahaha, awww! Roxanne has a lot of normal insecurities about her body and her personality but isn't she loveable? Like, you just want to squish her. I'm pretty sure the sneaking out thing was something she inherited from her father. Well, maybe Angelina too. Hahahaha.

I hope you stop by again! It was great seeing you here with this review!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #13, by Unicorn_Charm Yes and No

11th August 2015:
Hi Gabbie! Finally here for our swap!

I'm so thrilled that you asked for one, because I've totally been meaning to get back to this story. I really love it so far. Your writing is just wonderful and such a pleasure to read. I adore your characterization of Roxanne. I love that she's not a carbon copy of her parents. She really feels like her own person.

I am DYING to know more back story between Roxanne and Benjamin!! He seems to affect her so much and I can't wait to see the reasons why. She seems almost entranced by him, yet terrified at the same time. It's like those old stories about vampires (not the ones that sparkle, real ones :p).

That flashback, from when they were small, was cute, I thought. Roxanne seemed like such a sweet girl and wanted to make a friend, no matter what his last name might be. I like that Draco was not only shopping at WWW, but was perfectly polite to her, even those Benjamin wasn't so much. She was just adorable; I wanted to hug her haha. You can definitely sense, even then, that Benjamin is/was trouble. He's got that bad boy vibe to him.

Things got a little heavy in that shed, didn't they? I'm seriously dying to know more about their relationship! Was it just a friendship? Was there a little more? Was it ever a full blown romance thing? Gah! You can tell there is a lot between them, and definitely not all good. I'm so intrigued! I mean, Dominique was certainly not happy to see him, which even more makes me wonder what in the world happened!

I'm definitely going to be back. I need to know if she goes with him. I can't not know. I have to know!

Great chapter and really great story so far! Thanks for sharing and I'll be back soon!! Thanks for the swap!! *hugs*

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for stopping by and this review is just the sweetest. I don't think anyone has said such nice things about this story in a while! I really wonder what you'll say to me after chapter six though. You may not like me so much after that. Hahahaha.

*Gulp*

I think that a lot of people are eager to know more about Ben and Roxie. I never really clear it up much though for some reason, you're left wondering through flashbacks if they almost but not quite got together. Hahahha. I'm not sure what it is about Benjamin but he seems to have people lust/hate him most of the time.

I think that Roxie's feelings for him are so complicated because she's known him for so long. It's a mixture of attraction, denial and fear--kind of like how you notice that person in your group of friends has gotten hot and you don't like it. Hahahahah.

There are quite a few flashbacks that show and give more detail to Roxanne's relationship with Benjamin. She's a very sweet girl though, isn't she? I like the idea of Draco shopping WWW too, though I'm not sure if I can imagine him playing with the toys.

I think that you might have a different opinion of Benjamin when you get to the next flashback. He has a reason for acting so mean and I think that you would like him a tad more for it. Benjamin is only eleven or twelve though, so you have to cut him some slack in the flashbacks. Just a little though.

Hmmm, things DO get very heavy in the shed but we're not quite sure what that means! Are they a couple? Are they enemies? Not all of their past is good but it makes you wonder. Dominique is wise beyond her years, though you don't really get much on why for some reason. Hahahah.

Thanks for the review!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #14, by Unicorn_Charm Strangers and Fireworks

11th July 2015:
Hey Gabbie! I'm here for our swap!

Yeah, I know what you mean. I've also seen you around the forums and the archives but haven't really been by your AP. I'm quite sad that I haven't been before now, because I absolutely loved this. :)

I haven't had a Next-Gen immediately suck me in like this in a little while now, so this was completely refreshing. I really, really love Roxanne. I know she's a daddy's girl and says she's spoiled, but she's not a brat. At least she's not coming off as one yet. Who knows what the future chapters hold? :)

I do think it's completely realistic that George would deal with his grief by spoiling his children and being more friend than parent to them as well. You could absolutely see that Roxanne and George have a very loose relationship as father and daughter. She speaks to him like he's a peer, and same with him regarding her. One part that it really showed was when George was trying to convince Rose to stick a spider down Ron's shirt (which that whole thing had me literally laughing out loud) and she came over and scolded him for it.

The way you introduced all of the characters was basically flawless. With the Next-Gen there are SO many Weasleys/Potters to start showing and you did it without it all becoming overwhelming. You managed to give a brief little snippet or mention of almost all of them, yet it didn't feel like you were just listing characters. There were bits of their personalities shown in each description, which really keeps you engaged. It was so beautifully done!

I enjoyed the little wink from canon that you threw in with Angelina's dancing. GoF her and Fred's dancing was described as almost potentially hazardous to those around them, and it was funny to see that brought about here with her and Albus. And the comments made about how she might harm him haha. Loved it! :D

Roxanne and Perce(Fred)'s relationship is really cute. They have that nice balance of picking on one another and truly caring for the other. It was an entirely realistic brother/sister dynamic. It wasn't over done at all.

The plot is intriguing. I'm definitely interested in this adoptive son of Malfoy's and to see what he has to do with Roxanne and how he came to be a Malfoy at all. The reaction she had to him was very mixed, so that had me needing to read on for sure!

Overall I thought this was a fantastic opening chapter of what looks like will be an awesome story! I've put this on my reading list. I will with out a doubt be back to continue on!! Thanks so much for the swap!! I'm so thrilled I had a chance to read this. ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: HELLO!

Thank you so much for this great review, I certainly didn't expect you to give this a shot but you've made me so happy! :D

I really love Roxanne too and I adore Next Gen. Sadly, we don't see her character being the main voice for stories on the archives very often. It's strange, because she's great! I think that she's a bit spoiled as well but I'm not sure if she's a brat until much later. Actually, it's Benjamin that kind of tells her that she is and it doesn't go well for him. Hahaha.

You know, I didn't think about that point with George. I know that grief can take many forms and spoiling his children is actually a great way to bring that up, I never even considered that! I do think that him spoiling the kids is going to backfire on him though and he does seem like he's more friend than father. I figure that Angelina would be more forceful with the kids if she had to be, I can't picture George doing that for some reason.

I really, really don't like having a lot of characters in one scene! All those Weasley's are hard to write! I tried to weave through them all as easily as I could and I'm glad that you liked it. You'll see Lucy, Molly, Dom, Victoire and a few others more in future chapters but for right now, just knowing who they are right now helps.

Angelina is a horrible dancer and thank you! That WAS a nod to GoF, which is my favorite HP book! :D

Roxanne and Perce are really cute together, I'm glad that they came across as real siblings.

Oooh, I wish that you would keep reading if you wanted to learn more about Benjamin Malfoy! Roxanne's mixed feelings for him will become clear in the next three chapters but by then, you may not like him so much. ;)

Thanks again!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #15, by ms simone Pressure

1st June 2015:
roxanne does feel something for ben, not sure what!! adam like her, she should get him... cool that rox thinking the intership in potion!!

Author's Response: HellO!

Thanks for stopping by again, its been a while! I'm not sure if Roxie is going to go for Adam or not but we shall see. I kind of have an idea for the next chapter so you'll just have to stay tuned.

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #16, by ms simone Poison

1st June 2015:
an interesting scene between roxanne and ben!!

Author's Response: Hello!

Oh, there will be many more. I promise you that things aren't over between them just yet!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #17, by ms simone The Ultimate Quidditch Royale

1st June 2015:
cool- to see another major sport event at hogwart, after what years ago.

Author's Response: Hello!

It's been a long time since anything like this has happened at Hogwarts. I do hope that I'll make it interesting to read!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #18, by CassiePotter Pressure

30th May 2015:
I'm back again, and am caught up with another one of your stories!
I thought the beginning of this chapter was hilarious, but I felt kind of bad for Roxie. Georgia and Leanne were so funny in the way that they were pining after Benjamin, and the guys' reactions made it even better. Perce getting all huffy and jealous was funny to read, and you could really tell that Teddy is like Roxie's older brother from the way he was acting whenever the talked about her and Ben.
I was so surprised when Blaise Zabini himself made and appearance and was actually almost happy! I think it's great for Roxanne that they want her to do the internship. I hope that it works out!
And they talked about the changes in Teddy, too. I still think that it has something to do with Dom!
The end really caught me off guard! I really didn't expect Roxie to respond to Adam the way she did! I thought she would reject him, but she's actually giving him a chance! I'm not sure how I feel about it, though... And Ben saw them, which can't end well!
This chapter was really great, and I'm so excited for more! Especially the Quidditch Royale. Great job, Gabbie!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: HellO!

Thanks for stopping by with another lovely review. It means a lot, I don't too many of these for this story so this always makes me feel better!

I had a lot of fun writing the beginning of this chapter and Roxie's reactions were really great. She was going through so much emotionally that it kind of heightened everyone's reaction to Benjamin. The twins really enjoyed teasing the boys and I think Perce was about to boil over with anger. Hahaha.

Teddy considers Roxie his sister so he's very overprotective. He's carrying a secret as well though so he can't quite judge her too harshly but you'll find out what I mean later. Hehehehe.

Blaise Zabini DID make an appearance in this story! You know how much I adore him and while he has gone through a lot in Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince, he's had some time to heal. I think it's been good for him but anyway, Roxanne may get a chance at that internship if she takes a shot at it.

Teddy's change has a lot to do with Dom but since Transparent is still going, it might be a while before you find out exactly what happened between them. :3

Hahah, I don't think a lot of people expected Roxanne to settle on Adam. I think that she was weighing her options and oh, how unlucky was it that Ben happened to see them? I did that on purpose to propel you all into the next chapter and while it doesn't end well, you'll probably understand why.

Or something like that.

Thanks so much for the review!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotter Antidote

29th May 2015:
Oh, man. Oh. man. This chapter was so packed with emotions!
I loved that Roxie and Adam got some time together. Even though Adam wants to be with her, and Roxanne doesn't feel the same way about him, they're still really close friends, and I think it's important for her to have someone to talk to, even if she isn't always completely honest with him. But I really liked that Adam let Roxie know where he stood in the whole situation, and told her how she felt, so there's at least one thing in her life that she doesn't have to be confused about.
I loved the second part of this chapter when Teddy, Perce, and the twins joined them! The dynamic of that group is always so interesting to read! I thought the tension between Teddy and Leanne really added to it. And Dom showed up again! It's fascinating seeing her and Teddy interact without knowing exactly what their deal is, especially since I'm also reading Transparent.
And Ben showed up again! I'm surprised he went to far as to use pet names for Roxanne and actually touch her when other people were around. But things are definitely really, really intense between them. Again, I have no idea how they're going to eventually forgive each other and be happy!
This chapter was a long one, but worth it. I hope there are more group scenes like the end of the chapter, and can't wait to find out more about the Quidditch Royale, as well! Great job, Gabbie!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for stopping by again, Cassie! It's great to see that you're still with me on this.

I honestly have no idea why this chapter turned out to be so long but I couldn't get all that I wanted if it had been shorter. Hahah. Anyway, Roxie and Adam needed this moment alone together. We've seen her with Ben and her friends but I hadn't developed their relationship much. I wanted to show that Adam wasn't just interested in her because he had a one-sided crush, he actually appreciates her as a friend. I also wanted to hint what would happen in "Pressure" too, Roxie's thoughts about Adam shifted from this point on.

Now, what she'll do about it is what I can't wait to write. Hehehehe...

Anyhoo, yes! I LOVE writing Teddy and the gang together. They've all grown up together so they know each other well, so writing their dynamics was fun but challenging.

Oh, Dom. I'm afraid you won't find out what's going on with her and Teddy until way later. It's not what you think but if I finish Transparent before that's revealed, you'll understand why she's avoiding him.

Hahah, Ben. I think that he enjoys toying with people a little too much. He doesn't care about what Perce or the others think either, if he wants Roxanne, he'd take her. Hahaha. I think he wanted to make her realize that things aren't over with them yet and you know how he is, he likes stirring the pot too. Perce's reaction was what he wanted to make fun of.

Things aren't over between Roxie and Ben, I'm just getting started. Hehehehe.

Thanks so much for the review!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotter Poison

27th May 2015:
Hello! I'm back again!
So this chapter was quite the intense one! Whenever Ben and Roxanne are alone together, I always get nervous that one of their fights will get really out of hand. Luckily, they usually end before anything too horrible happens. But I always feel really bad for Roxie after she and Ben fight. The downside of knowing each other so well is that they each know what to say to the other to get under their skin. Ben knows exactly how to push her buttons, so it seems like they never make any progress in their relationship after talking.
Ben got really scary towards the middle of the chapter! Since Roxie physically couldn't get away from him, I was really worried that this fight would get really bad! But then she got out of his grip, and Adam found them.
I'm really curious to see how their relationship develops from here. Since Roxie said it's definitely over, and seems like she doesn't want to talk to Ben again for a very, very long time, I have no clue how they'll forgive each other and eventually get together! I guess I'll have to wait and find out!
Great job on this chapter, Gabbie! Only a few more and I'll be all caught up on this story, too!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

It's good to see you back reading "Abandon", I missed you! I always love writing Roxanne and Benjamin but I wince a little whenever they start fighting. They can't be in a scene without snarling at each other but I would never have Ben laying a hand on her or vice versa. The thing about them is that they still love each other but don't want to admit it and knowing so much about a person can be dangerous, especially when you're not in control of your emotions.

I think Ben is far scarier than Roxanne when he's pushed to the limit. Roxie has a bad habit of running away from her problems and he wasn't going to let her go this time but in the end, they both lost something in this fight.

Ah, Adam to the rescue! Roxie is finished with Ben for sure but her relationship with Adam is going to develop pretty slowly, I'm not sure what will happen to them but it's not going to be an easy road. Ben isn't out of the picture yet!

Thanks for stopping by! :D

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #21, by CassiePotter The Ultimate Quidditch Royale

25th May 2015:
Hi Gabbie! I decided to get back into Abandon since I'm caught up with some of your other stuff!
I forgot that Teddy was at Hogwarts! But since he's there, that means there has to be some trouble that he's involved in... Does this story take place after Transparent? Because, if so, that would explain his interest in Dominique!
They announce the Ultimate Quidditch Royale! Woohoo! I can't wait for some of the foreign students to arrive! I'm so curious to see how you write all the new characters, and how they'll interact with the Hogwarts students. I thought Adam's line about Americans was hilarious!
And what an interesting choice of Head Boy and Girl! We knew Ben was Head Boy already, but I don't think you'd mentioned that Samantha Travers was Head Girl... Interesting that McGonagall picked two Slytherins.
I'm really excited for more of this, and I'll try and come back soon!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

It's good to see you back reading some of this story! I kind of doubted that I was going in the right direction with it for a while. There's much less Roxie/Ben interaction after this chapter (Well, after the next chapter, I should say) and it hasn't been received well. Hahahah. T-T

Anyway, Teddy is here! I thought that you would enjoy seeing him again. This story actually takes place a year after Transparent so yes, you're correct in assuming that his interest in Dominique has something to do with what happened back then. I shall not give anything away! ;)

Yesss, the Royale has been announced! I haven't really gotten into the details of what the foreign schools will be like but they'll give the Hogwarts kids some very good gossip for a while. Hahaha. This story was originally my version of Goblet of Fire and with all the Roxie/Ben stuff, I kind of forgot all about that. Hahahaha.

Oh, Americans... (Says the American)

I have never mentioned the Head Girl until right now but her name is actually a mistake. Her name is actually Rachel Travers, Samantha is her mother (You know, from A Force of Wills) so that was a fail on my part. Too many characters, man!

Anyway, thanks for the review!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ray Pressure

14th May 2015:
Love the direction Roxanne/Adam have taken. Haha can't wait to see how Benjamin reacts :) Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for magically appearing for this chapter, I hope to see you again soon!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #23, by merlins beard Strangers and Fireworks

4th May 2015:
Hi there.
Sorry it took me forever to get to your story.
I'm glad I finally made it.

I really like Roxy's POV. It's something that isn't written very often.
I think Roxy's brother is taking things a little too far teasing Molly all the time.

I always pictured Angelina to be the voice of Reason for George, not the bad influence, but -to my surprise- it works to see her as crazy as George.

I like the similarities George's flat has to the Burrow.

Benjamin Malfoy is a very interesting character. I hope we'll get to know more about his background story in the next few chapters. I can't wait to find out where he's been, and why Roxy is reacts so apprehensive to his reappearance.

This was great to read so far
Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Hello!

It's all right that it took you a minute to get back to me! No worries about that at all. There aren't a lot of stories that feature Roxanne as a main character or even an influential character and that's a real shame. I tried to make her relatable and I'm glad that you liked her.

Angelina and George are a little wild but she does manage him well. I think that they balance one another out nicely, she can get him to stop doing the craziest things and pull him out of depression as well. I don't really think that I mention that much in this story but it might be hinted at in later chapters.

Hahaha, I can't imagine WWW without picturing the Burrow for some reason.

Ah, Benjamin. You're going to be seeing a lot of him in the next few chapters and I'm not sure if you'll like him by the end of the sixth one. Hehehehe.

Thanks so much!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #24, by Hope Poison

20th November 2014:
I love this story so much and the tension in that chapter ugh... keep going I have to know what happens next to your amazing characters

Author's Response: Hello!

Aw, thank you so much! I have a fresh chapter up and I hope that you stick around for the end of this story!

Thanks again,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #25, by crestwood Stealth and Lies

9th October 2014:
Hi Gabbie!

This was my favorite chapter of this yet. I know you said that Benjamin comes off as a jerk here, but I kind of liked him a little bit more here and felt like he was being at least a little bit reasonable. I find him fascinating because as aloof as he seems, he does wait around for hours just to hang out with Roxanne. Of course, that could be for some sinister reason, but I like to think he just really wants to see her and actually has a heart.

You really have a thing for writing uncaring characters haha. You've written him and Teddy both as very callous individuals, but you've still managed to give them very distinct personalities in my opinion. Your character development is actually ridiculously good. I feel like every chapter tells me so much more about each character of yours.

I am so happy that Dom-Dom has a role in this story! Her character was the first of yours that I read and she fits in here so perfectly. She is pretty much correct about Benjamin, I'm afraid. I wonder what it is he's done to make her realize it though. I wonder what timeline this is happening as well. I'm not sure if this is all happening at the same time as Transparent or not. That's probably been answered already and I just missed the hint or something. I am endlessly interested in this shared universe of stories.

I knew Roxanne would go with him, but it's still kind of shocking. I just love her a lot and I don't want Benjamin to do anything terrible to her. I hope things go well at his place. I want him to just admit that he likes her. He was clearly jealous of her boyfriends that she's had in his absence. I have a feeling that he'll find a way to mess things up a few times before the end of the story, though. You don't tend to write stories in which everything goes right. That just makes things more interesting of course. I can't wait to see what happens next. This was so good!

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm sorry that it's taken me so long to get back to you! This wasn't one of my favorite chapters to write for some reason but it's gotten a very positive response. Benjamin does come off like a jerk here but you get the feeling that he would do anything for Roxanne. He's traveled all this way just to be with her and that says far more about his feelings for her than his words. If that makes any sense.

I love writing Ben and Teddy because not only are they rather cruel, they're so different from one another. I could never get them confused and they're nothing at all alike, personally.

Dom-Dom DOES make more than one appearance in this story! I was happy to include her but at the time of this chapter, her story had never even been thought of so I'm sorry if it confused you. I've done my calculations and this happens a year after Transparent. If you go back to reading that story, you'll understand why she feels so unsettled by Benjamin. They have a brief encounter at some point that makes her realize something that she's been denying about Teddy.

Ben will not hurt Roxanne because he wants t but I won't spoil the fun for you!

I hope to see you again! I miss you!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>