Reading Reviews for End of an Era
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Kathrynen End of an Era

21st January 2013:
Beautifully written, a lovely reflection. Minerva was the one person who could possibly have done that, she saw everything, an awesome woman.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love Minerva as a character, she is so strong and well rounded and I'm happy you liked her as well!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Gryffindor Secret Santa End of an Era

1st January 2013:
Hello!!

Oh my gosh, I LOVED this! To me, Dumbledore and McGonagall were the pinnacle of what a teacher should be like. I love the fact that both Dumbledore and McGonagall tried other things before realizing that it was in teaching that laid their true calling.

And the way you wrote McGonagall in this was great! I always liked to think that McGonagall retired when Next Generation left Hogwarts, but that wasn't so. This was very realistic and very canon, which I love!

Another thing that I loved was that you didn't just write about McGonagall's time at Hogwarts; you incorporated things from McGonagall's life before Hogwarts, and I loved that we got an inside look to McGonagall's life because I feel like so many of those things shape who McGonagall is in the days of the First and Second War.

I love that you wrote how Fred and James were like the Marauders and the Twins conjointly returning to Hogwarts, and how McGonagall recognized that she wouldn't be able to keep up with them as she had with the Marauders and the Twins.

I'm really glad you wrote this plot bunny because McGonagall definitely needed her time to shine.

This was great!
Secret Santa

Author's Response: The idea for this came when I read about McGonagall online after the final book was released. I found her life to be so interesting and I just wanted to see what it would look like through her eyes.

I'm really happy you liked it, since this one shot is very dear to me. :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by marinahill End of an Era

16th December 2012:
Oh wow, this was so wonderfully nostalgic! Minerva saw so much at Hogwarts, either as a student or as a Professor. It just seems so impossible to think of Hogwarts without her, though the same could be said for Dumbledore too. I liked how you explored her relationship with her parents and explained how that influenced her life later on. How do you walk away from something like Hogwarts after seventy years? I'm sure that was a very difficult decision for her to make. She could have easily convinced herself "just one more year" until it was too late. This was she gets to leave with her dignity and on a high, with good memories to take with her when she finally takes a well-earned and deserved retirement.

Merry Christmas!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! It was really interesting to try and picture Hogwarts from her POV.

Merry Christmas to you too!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Gaius Scipio End of an Era

13th December 2012:
WOW! Can I just say it once again - WOW! That was amazing Missy. Touching, heartfelt and all around brilliant. Truly this is one of the best Fan Fic stories I have ever read. Nothing, and I mean nothing wrong here, this was absolutely marvelous. The only bad part was when I came to the end. I WANT MORE DAMN IT!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely comment! :) I'm really happy you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by AC_rules End of an Era

8th December 2012:
Okay, so this was just so lovely! I started my own Minerva story before we got the extra information from Pottermore, and I'm not entirely sure I can forgive myself for the canon now being wrong especially when I look at how beautifully this turned out!

McGonagall is such an underrated character! Because you can quite clearly gleam from the pages that she absolutely loves all of her students to death, as well as being strict and just, really, the perfect teacher to everyone. This was so great and emotional - I really really liked it.

There was just this one mistake I saw here She mved to Hogwarts and the castle became home for the woman. So, if you just go back and put that O in I'm pretty sure I'll be without complaint, and that was just a typo anyway.

Thanks for writing!

-AC

Author's Response: Hello! First of all, let me just say that I'm so thrilled you read my story since I am such a big fan of yours! Now that that's out of the way...

The idea for this actually came when I was reading about Minerva online and I saw all the lovely canon info provided after the books. I just had to do it.

As for the mistakes, I keep editing and looking over but sometimes things just slip. I'll get to it.

Thank you for the feedback!


 Report Review

Review #6, by parashar_harry End of an Era

17th November 2012:
really good work. i must agree with u that its strictly cannon even a little detail like filius his only classmate nice work.
i always wonder abt fred jr and james sirius era!! what it would be like...see both are connected to masters of mischief makers from different era , anyway i am rambling now and lost in my own thought like minerwa lolzzz
nice one...10/10

Author's Response: Thank you for your comment! I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #7, by caoty End of an Era

12th November 2012:
Hey, I'm from the common room tag.

So, this is lovely. The structure, part retrospective and part anticipation of an announcement, is well done and you've captured that warm, proud, law-abiding Minerva McGonagall perfectly. Your OCs fit into your telling of her life well, too - though I've no idea how canon it is 'cause I don't have a Pottermore account - so well done with all that.

You do have some typos, a couple of accidental tense changes, and this:
George Weasley lost his soul mate
Yeah... I know what you're trying to say, but I shouldn't have to think "isn't that incest?" at first glance. :P

Anyway. This was a wonderful idea and it made me smile, even though a lot of it is quite sad. Well done. :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you for the feedback! I really appreciate it.
I know this has a few flaws about it, but I actually never considered that line to be something that would trigger such thoughts. =)

Again, I really appreciate you taking the time to leave me some feedback!


 Report Review

Review #8, by shadowycorner End of an Era

10th November 2012:
This was such a nice story. I had to read it as soon as I spotted it on your page, because Minerva is such an amazing strong character we all love. You had me really tearing up towards the end. The emotion with which she thought about her most important students was touching. It really felt like she cared deeply for all of them. I also believed that Minerva was one of those people for whom Hogwarts had been a home like no other. That was wonderfully written in between the lines. One thing, though, I think in the Wizarding World when you're 80 something, technically that's not old. I mean, Dumbledore was like over one hundred when he was still Headmaster. Also, the beginning is a little stiff. The information that we get is nice, but it should be wrapped in a bit of writing and emotions. This got very good toward the end of the piece, though, so just a little tweaking of the beginning and this will be perfect. :)

I have to say I really enjoyed reading this. Thank you for taking one of the coolest characters from the books and writing such a lovely story about her final days at Hogwarts.

Liz

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for the feedback! I've actually been meaning to go back and edit this, seeing as I've spotted a few things of my own I'd liked changed so I will do that... Soon. I hope.

As for the "old" in wizarding years, I actually have no idea why she would retire in her 80s, this is the information given to us by canon, but I guess if you've fought two wars in your lifetime, you deserve an early retierment.

I was really touched by the lovely review, thank you for reading!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jchrissy End of an Era

1st November 2012:
Hi darling!

First if all, I LOVE how well you stuck to canon information with this. It was really nice to remember all the things Minerva had done in her life.. How many people she loved and lost.

I also really enjoyed the chronological order of this. I had forgotten a few of the things I read in Pottermore so this was an awesome reminder.

The fact that you had her thinking about all this at this particular time in her life..When she's preparing to say goodbye to a home she knew for so very long, also felt perfect.

The only critique I have, is this sort of read like an article. Which isn't bad at all, it just kept me from getting emotionally invested because of the detachment it had from the reader. If that's ever something you wanted to change, I think it could be fixed by paying more detail to how she felt about all these things, and less detail to the amount of facts.

This was a really well written one shot, and I loved stepping back into Minerva world for a bit!

Jami

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for your feedback! Actually, the reason why it was written in this register is because I never saw McGonagall as a very emotional woman. (Paraphrasing DH "the scream was even more terrible because he had not though McGonagall capable of making such a sound") so writting a story where she thought back on her life with regret or getting over emotional because of things past didn't really seem McGonagall to me.

Thank you again for you review!

XoXo


 Report Review

Review #10, by Lumos_x End of an Era

9th September 2012:
Wow, this was really nice. I was intrigued because Minerva McGonagall is one of my favourite characters. I really liked how you described the various generations through the eyes of a teacher who has seen a lot in her time. I had to smile at the lines - "Behind him in the great clutter of first years, a mop of untidy jet black hair stood out. Potter hair." Haha, you can almost picture her face! :) I was looking for something just like this - different, not too long, canon... etc. So yeah, thanks! :D

Author's Response: I love Minerva, she is awesome and she deserves to be recognized as such. And you just have to love the look teacher's get when they see somebody related to a person who was troublesome.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by FriendofMolly End of an Era

8th September 2012:
An interesting story. Sad, but very well written. It does confuse me a bit. Dumbledore was well into his 12th decade, when he died. So why at the young age of 83 is Minerva hanging up her Heads position? You would think she's want to be around to see what the next generation of Potter/Weasleys do with there magical abilities? Even with my questions I enjoyed your story.
FoM

Author's Response: I actually have no idea why that is. All the information comes from JKR herself on Pottermore and interviews and such. Her age was calculated in accordance with the date of birth provided and her last year was the year Harry's oldest started, so around her 83rd birthday. Why she did that is anybody's guess.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope this answers your question.

XoXo


 Report Review

Review #12, by Curtis2point0 End of an Era

7th September 2012:
This would be a wonderful second series beginning. I'd beg that women to write more. =[

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login