Reading Reviews for Sweet Dreams
  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Owlpost68 Sweet Dreams

4th August 2013:
lol, I loved how you ended it. That's probably way too true for some parents, oh the baby's asleep and someone's watching him, maybe we...z lol
I also loved the inclusion of Butterscotch and her playing piano :) great ideas.

You know, this was a pretty great day. Went out for Indian food, went clothes shopping, played on Pottermore, and Stouffers french bread pizza and tea in a HP mug for dinner while reading more of your wonderful stories. Then to top it off later I'll get to talk with my boyfriend and listen to his adventures at comicon :)
Still, this is like icing on a cake :)

Author's Response: Hehe this was the first time I wrote Butterscotch. I knew Lily would get him from James, but hadn't gotten to that chapter in BTF yet :P!

Awww haha you're too sweet. I'm so happy I could be part of your good night!!! Thank you so much for making me feel like my writing is making someone else happy, and all the awesome reviews you're spoiling me with ♥ I hope you had some good adventure stories to listen to! I was so sad I couldn't co to comicon... sons of anarchy cast was there! ♥ *in love*


 Report Review

Review #2, by Chivalrous Sweet Dreams

7th July 2013:
Aw that was too cute! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing another story!! I love writing the more 'normal' moments of Lily and James's life, and I'm so excited you liked it ♥

Jami


 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp Sweet Dreams

11th March 2013:
Hey there! Here for review tag!

Ah this was definitely a fun one-shot to read! I absolutely enjoyed this, it was so cute, and definitely not pointless.

I think you showed a very believable take on James and Lily struggling with parenting. I have never been through the phase myself, but I've seen enough people go through it to say that it is indeed a phase full of exhaustion and irritation, and extreme worry, as you aptly showed here.

James and Lily's bickering in the beginning was really amusing, and I loved how it evolved into love and care for each other as the story progressed. My favourite part was Lily comparing the cat to her son though, it made me chuckle :P

Lily finally managing to lull Harry into sleep by her keyboard playing and James admission to her made me go aww. It was really very sweet.

I liked Sirius' and Alice's arrival as well, as the interaction between them and the Potters gave a brief glimpse into the outside situation. It showed that outside a war is waging, and yet James and Lily have some normalcy in their lives too as they deal with normal stuff like parenting. I really liked that whole scenario, good job!

The ending was the sweetest. The way James and Lily had a little time to each other yet were so exhausted they just fell asleep - again, very realistic.

All in all, this was a great read. I enjoyed your characterisations of James and Lily, the writing style, the plot, and the dialogues too. I don't have any CC for you. Great work!

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hi m'dear!!

I'm so happy you liked this. I really love showing the more 'normal' parts of Lily and James. I think imagining them in their days of parenthood, trying to figure out what on earth to do with this tiny little human being, is so much fun.

You know from my other Marauders one shot that I am pretty much obsessed with this group, so it makes me really happy that you enjoy how I've characterized them ♥

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such a lovely review!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #4, by soufflegirl99 Sweet Dreams

4th March 2013:
This is such an awesome story! It was cute, thoughtful and absolutely brilliant! I loved your description of Lily, and you made James and Lily so sweet together - not the arrogant cocky James some people portray him as. The sarcasm in their dialogue makes it so funny, and even sadder to think their lives were lost with such a full life. I love how it's just a small, humorous,perfectly sized one shot thats very thoughtful and an insight in to what Lily and James were like as parents. This is a unique one shot, DEFINITELY not pointless because it totally cheered me up reading this. From the light cat rambles, to the heavier emotions of exhaustion, this one shot is pure genius and shows both innocence of their adult hood, and the realism of new parenthood. The quirky bits of honour (like the swear word) and James' sarcasm made it even more enjoyable.
I loved it! :D

Author's Response: Hi there darling!!

I'm so happy you liked this story! It was really fun to just get to explore these two as young parents. I'm really excited to write book two of my marauders series and get to go through everything with them, because it's just such a crazy time for these two! And the rest of the friends, of course ;).

I really didn't want to make it seem like they were anything close to perfect parents. No one is. Especially not two people so young dealing with so much already.

Thank you so, so much for stopping by to review ♥ it made my night!


 Report Review

Review #5, by ScarletEye158 Sweet Dreams

3rd March 2013:
aw this was so sweet! I never really read stories about James and Lily when they were parents for that short amount of time so it was a nice change and a cute little one-shot to get lost in :)

Your characterization of Lily and James was really nice. I could still see the love they had for each other even though they were both exhausted and frustrated and I liked that. They both needed to know there was someone who loved them out there and I know from experience that it's hard to think about when you're so stressed out.

You had some nice small details that really added life into the story and I loved reading them :) The part where James and Lily were sitting on the floor and not the couches so that they wouldn't fall asleep was very believable and really added a lot! It showed how much they both loved Harry and how they were willing to sacrifice a lot for him... sleep is something most people would kill for at times!

I also liked the part where she stubbed her toe... It was so random and realistic that it made me laugh :) poor Lily just had everything going wrong for her!

Ahh, the piano! I really wish I knew how to play :( I'm glad Lily finally found something that could calm Harry down. They were literally on the point of breaking and I bet it was a huge weight off of their shoulders when Harry finally fell asleep!

haha, thank god for Sirius! I'm really glad you added him into the story right at the end :) I feel like a story with Lily and James is never really complete without at least one entrance from Sirius! :P

This was such a cute one-shot and I'm happy I stopped by and read it. nice job!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanada!!

I love, love, love this time period in Lily and James's life. I'm so excited to start book two of my marauders so I can write more about this group coping with adult hood.

Lily and James are two people that I am most picky about their portrayal, so It makes me really, really happy that you enjoyed mine in this story. I think that a lot of authors have a tendency to simplify what they'd have been through. Yes, they were amazing people who died for each other and their child. But they weren't saints. They didn't have Harry and sit in a happy sort of place until their end came. They had to deal with his crying, with being so young, with not knowing what to do when he was crying... that's a lot for two barely adults!


Hahahah I so agree about a J/L never being complete without Sirius! Love that you said that!

Thank you so much for stopping by to review, Amanda! It put such a huge smile on my face! ♥ Jami


 Report Review

Review #6, by Toujours Padfoot Sweet Dreams

20th February 2013:
Poor Lily and James! I have a very selective memory and the first year of my baby's life was such a blur that I can't recall too many sleepless nights. I do remember walking around in circles while carrying her, patting her on the back and singing Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer over and over because Christmas songs are the only songs I can remember all the words for when I'm sleep-deprived and in a pinch. Jingle Bells instead of lullabies, lol.

Lily totally said the f word in front of wee Harry! Bahaha! I like how Lily was so exhausted that she was ready to snap, and meanwhile James is still good old James, never too tired to joke. I've never looked better a day in my life, darling." - I cracked up at that. His good mood even in spite of the situation must have been infuriating for her. If she's miserable, the world must go down with her! And it was very realistic, too, because when you're tired the littlest things can make you cry. The constant wails of a baby and the frustration of not being able to soothe him would understandably send you over the edge. James's unhelpful suggestion of feeding him really, really took me back to my new motherhood days. Everyone's answer every single time my baby cried was to shove more food in her mouth. It might shut her up for a minute, but when she's done, she'll have an uncomfortably full belly on top of whatever problem she already had, and it just made it worse. The first response from other people, albeit well-meaning, is always to give them more food, so James had me rolling my eyes there and I smiled when Lily snapped at him.

What a sweet offer from Sirius and Alice! I'm glad you chose to write about a moment like this. It could have been very sunshine-and-daisies and only the wonderful aspects of parenthood, but you gave them the hard experiences, too, and I'm actually pleased you did so. They got such little time with their son that I hope they crammed a lifetime worth of learning experiences into that span of just a little over a year. You have to cherish the good as well as the bad, so that wherever Lily and James are they will still have all of those memories to reflect on.

Lovely story, Jami!

Author's Response: Hi Sarah! You know, I hear that SO often from parents. Especially when they're pregnant again. They'll make comments about how they kind of forgot about how terrible those first few weeks were, hahaha.

And I have to say, there's a very good chance I'm going to steal that bit from you where you said you walked around singing Christmas tunes because you couldn't remember any lullabies in a pinch. That feels very Lily. If I do use it when that time comes, I'll credit you of course :).

Yes! You're so right. She is miserable, and it can't be okay! James can't be joking and laughing when she's a second away from snapping into crazy mode! I'm so happy the feeding suggestion hit home. I think it would be so frustrating having people throw these obvious suggestions at you. "Oh, nursing? That's what I should try? Because you don't think I tried that five hours ago when she started crying??" yeah, we can tell I'm going to be a ball of sunshine when I have a baby, huh? :P

One of my biggest pet-peeves with Marauders era stuff is when James and Lily are made to be perfect. When they always just take things as they come, joke and laugh, are the saints of all parents... it just makes them feel so unearthly and that really diminishes the fact that they *died for their child.* If a saint dies for someone, it's almost expected. It's just as moving. But Lily and James weren't these little angel humans that couldn't have acted any other way. They were real people who dealt with some of the most stressful things a person could imagine. Okay, I don't really know where this rant was going. HAHAH. Sorry, pardon me and my over sharing of my Marauders era feels :P

Thank you so much for this review, Sarah ♥ And again for holding such an awesome challenge in the first place!! I'm excited to come by your AP this weekend!


 Report Review

Review #7, by slytherinchica08 Sweet Dreams

15th January 2013:
Oh I love it! Its just so cute and sweet and wonderful! I think you did a wonderful job describing the dynamics of two people in love who are adjusting to having a baby who no matter what they had tried wouldn't stop crying. The description in this really caught my attention. I think you did such a fantastic job with it all and I'm just in love. The ending was so perfect and wonderful what with Sirius and Alice coming over and agreeing to stay up and watch over Harry so that James and Lily could get some sleep. And then the part where James wants to try and start something more between the two since its the first time in ages that theyve been alone in a bed together they both fall asleep before they can even really start something. It was just great and a perfect little read! I enjoyed it very much! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hi m'dear! I'm so happy you liked this little one shot! I was a bit unsure about it when I posted it because it really doesn't have much of a point, but I love showing Lily and James as normal parents and not the saints who will eventually die for their son. So yeah, that was kind of my deciding factor on putting this up.

Thank you so much for your sweet review ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by patronus_charm Sweet Dreams

11th January 2013:
Hey it's patronus_charm from the review tag!

I'm really glad that you're showing the less than perfect side to James and Lily's relationship, as though many potray as perfect I highly doubt it was! I thought Lily's despair over Harry was great as it showed that she wasn't always calm and collected, and even wizards can't always handle babies!

I like how you included Butterscotch, as many people do forget that Lily did mention having a cat in her letter to Sirius, so even though it was a minor detail plot wise it was nice to see that included :)

I thought it was a nice idea to make Lily a piano player, as I can imagine her being quite musical given her muggle roots, and it would definitely soothe a baby!

Overall I really enjoyed this one-shot as it was comparatively different to many others I have read in a good way! It provided a different and often ignored perspective to Lily and James's relationship! Kiana :)

Author's Response: Hi m'dear!

I'm so happy you enjoyed this one shot. I really love writing about the times in Lily and James's life when things like this did happen. They weren't always these incredible war heroes, these beyond brave people who lived and died as saints... sometimes they were just two parents who really sort of wanted to get a moment of piece and for their child to just stop crying :P

Thank you so much for stopping by and reviewing, and for the lovely compliments ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by Phoenix_feather123 Sweet Dreams

9th November 2012:
Tag!

I thought this was really good! I really liked the plot and flow, continue writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #10, by someone___1 Sweet Dreams

6th November 2012:
Aww! That was kind of cute. And awful. Just thinking of crying babies gives me a headache lol. That wasn't pointless at all! I liked it.

Author's Response: Hahaha I know what you mean. I think it's important to show that Lily and James weren't perfect parents that always did everything right, and that a crying baby will drive ANYONE crazy :P

Thank you so much for review, it means a lot to me!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #11, by ginerva_molly_weasley Sweet Dreams

16th October 2012:
This is beautiful. A realistic parenting story is a complete rarity and It's nice for people to realise that parenting isn't actually all a barrell of laughs and children are sometimes really tiring.

The whole idea of them not wanting to go to sleep is so funny because I can just imagine them crouched on the floor trying not to get too comfortable! It's such a James and Lily thing to do.

I'm so glad you portrayed them like this. They seem like normal, sane parents which is as parents should be seen in fanfiction. They are amazing with Harry and rthey are on their last wit. I'm glad you put Lily as losing it though. It added some extra 'fizz' to the situation as she normally is portrayed to be the really calm one.

The idea of the keyboard calming him down though is honestly lovely. The soothing sounds would have had no choice for Harry to fall asleep and thats amazing.

Good job with this.

P.S I love the last paragraph!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for these awesome reviews, Summer! I really hate when Lily and James are portrayed as saints. They died for their son, and the amazing thing about that is they didn't have to. At least Lily didn't. She chose to. So making her into this Godly person who walks on water and has a halo of gold drives me nuts. She was an exceptional woman who became a hero. Rant over. Haha!

Thank you again for this wonderful review, and I'm so happy that you enjoyed it. I hope the pregnancy is going as smoothly as possible :)!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #12, by Emma Sweet Dreams

11th October 2012:
I absolutely love this short story :) its nice to read something like this, about the times were lily and James are with Harry and when lily and James were parents :) it accully really make me sad that they died so suddenly :'( I really love lily and James, they really are the cutest couple :) love, love, love this story!!! You should write some more of them cause I really like them :D !!!

Author's Response: Hi darling! Thank you so much for this awesome review!

I do have a Marauders Era novel that has ten chapters up and is centered around Lily and James! I might do more one shots of them, but mainly it's all going into that novel :)! It's called Before They Fall, and you can get to it by clicking on the 'JChrissy'.. that leads to my Author Page.

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review, you have no idea how much it means to me!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #13, by Illuminate Sweet Dreams

8th October 2012:
Hi! Tag!

I bet loads could relate to this. Colic sucks, and it drives parents crazy. Goodness knows I did it to my parents xD I think you described their desperation really well (I felt exhausted for them just reading it) while still bringing out their characters, especially James.

I really enjoyed it, good job!

Author's Response: Hi darling! I'm so happy you enjoyed this! I feel like these two are often portrayed as such saints, and truth is they were (at this point) just two very young parents trying to figure things out.

Thanks for the review :)!!


 Report Review

Review #14, by ohmymerlin Sweet Dreams

3rd October 2012:
Naw, this was adorable! I'm not a mother but I had to look after a fake baby that cried and cried and cried and cried and cried so I know what it's like for her! Luckily I only had mine for two days not forever! :p
Anyway, so this was just so adorably cute! :) I loved it.
I think you portrayed James and Lily really well. I especially liked the idea of Lily trying to cheat - it just seems like something she would do. :p
Anyway, I really liked this one-shot, you did really well with it! :D
10/10. :D

Author's Response: I'm so happy you liked this! I don't have any children either, but it was really fun to play with the idea of Lily being a mother. And I'm really glad that you feel like they were characterized well!

Thanks again for the awesome review!!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #15, by Kim Sweet Dreams

19th September 2012:
aw so cute!!! i love it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review, I'm so thrilled that you loved it! ♥

 Report Review

Review #16, by forsakenphoenix Sweet Dreams

16th September 2012:
Normally I would've gone for the angst, but it's James and Lily and a colicky baby. How could I say no to that?

I love stories that write about the real problems of being a parent. It's so unrealistic for James and Lily to have had a perfect time being parents to Harry and I think this was the perfect snapshot into their lives. Exhaustion is the best way to describe it and I think you did a wonderful job showcasing how utterly at their wit's end they were, trying to think of ways to quiet Harry's crying. You could see it in the way that Lily was slightly hysterical and her silly worries about being a terrible mother.

James was perfect here. So patient and sweet to Lily. I love how tender he is, especially when he rests his head on her chest and then later when he kisses her neck. It's so sweet and reminds me why J/L is one of my OTPs.

I kind of chuckled at the end, but I feel like it's so realistic for them to finally have some alone time - someone else to watch Harry - but to just fall asleep because of how exhausted they are.

This was a really cute and sweet look at first time parents and the struggles they deal with, and I'm glad to see something a little fluffy to remind me of how such good parents they were before their untimely demise. :(

I loved it!

Author's Response: I was *so* surprised you went for this once and not the angst! But I'm a bit proud of it, so i was happy you did. The angst one also centers around child abuse, and that isn't everyone's cup of tea.

I hate when these two are portrayed as constant saints. They were human beings, regular people who put their lives on the line for what they believed in. They weren't these amazing humans, they were normal people who died for an amazing cause, and I think recognizing and showcasing that makes their sacrifice much stronger. Because saints are supposed to die to save, amazing people are supposed to do amazing things... but these were just two young parents who were truly heroes. Okay... sorry I get a bit carried away with these two, haha!

Hysterical Lily was SO much fun to write. I work with a lot of first time parents who think their five month old has a behavioral issue just because they won't stop crying, and I've seen mothers do everything from fall onto my office floor bawling to begging me to recommend that they get a live in nanny to help.Haha! I tried to put Lily kind of in the middle of the spectrum.

I don't get to start writing Lily and James as parents until chapter 9 of the sequel to Before They Fall, so this was a fun little way for me to get out some of my L&J as mommy and daddy-ness out.

Thanks for the awesome swap, darling ♥!!!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jess the Enthusiast Sweet Dreams

15th September 2012:
This is so adorable and well-written; I love it!!! :D

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much for the awesome review! I'm happy you liked it!!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #18, by Moondanser83 Sweet Dreams

9th September 2012:
Ahh... The joys of being a first time parent.
You portrayed that feeling of completely helplessness and frustration that all parents go through so well.

I absolutely loved it when Lily slipped up and dropped the F-bomb... It was so out of character (from what we know about her) that it was the perfect tension breaker, and James reaction was great ;)

The last ditch attempt to lull baby Harry to sleep with the music was so sweet and when Sirius and Alice showed up I had to fight a couple tears off.
Lily's gratitude when he offered to keep an eye on Harry felt incredibly sincere. You could actually feel her relief. And the end where they fell asleep before they could even attempt ... other activities... was so sweet.

All in all a wonderful little oneshot!

I love the little glimpses into the lives of the Potters during that one year before tragedy struck.

Keep up the great work darling!!

~Moon~

Author's Response: Hahah I liked the F bomb part too, just because I don't think (when it comes to constantly all night and day crying) anything goes to far, haha!

I am so happy you liked this little glimpse, I really can't wait to get to the sequel for Before They Fall because these moments are SO much fun to write.

Thank you so much for stopping by darling ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by True Author Sweet Dreams

6th September 2012:
Aww this was so cuute!!! I really loved this dear little one-shot! Don't you dare to say it was pointless.
From the first book, I've always been a bit curious about the year James and Lily spent with their son because they are my favorite couple. I really loved this story... truly. I don't know why but i thought it was touching. oh and have you ever seen the tv show Friends? this kind of reminded me of the episode when Rachel and Monica try their best but Emma would not stop crying!
I am from review tag!
True Author

Author's Response: Aww I'm so happy you liked this story ♥ haha I know exactly what episode you're talking about! Friends is awesome!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #20, by caoty Sweet Dreams

31st August 2012:
First off, the title put the Eurythmics song into my head, so I can't not like this fic. I just love that bass line. But anyway.

Everything about Lily/James is absolutely perfect and you show that so well and it's great as both a part of the BTFverse and as a standalone.
(Sentences like that^ are what happens when I read fluff.)

And I love the idea that Sirius saves the day. That's fantastic. I also imagine that's what TVTropes calls 'author appeal'. :P

But anyway, I have literally nothing else to say except you've been busy. Bloody hell. See ya, and sorry for the expletive review.

Author's Response: I was a bit surprised when you chose to read this piece, so I'm really happy you enjoyed it ♥

Of course Sirius saves the day! He's Sirius!! ;)!!

Thanks for this wonderful review, darling ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by ClawBabe Sweet Dreams

26th August 2012:
Ohmyrowling Jily. Why, Jo, why?

Throughout this amazing fic, I was on the verge of absolute bawling. They don't even get to freaking see him grow up!

Your James was utterly, perfectly, absolutely, completely, James. I mean it. Trust Prongs to be all sarcastic and hilarious even in the toughest of situations hah. So James. Gah how I love that boy-er man(as you so rightly put it).

So Harry was a tad bit...let's say whiny, back then too, was he? Haha. :P

Ah, the joys of parenthood. Not that I've experienced any, seeing that I'm still a child(haha), but I can totally imagine. O__o

Oh James. I really can't get over the fact that I'm irrevocably in love with a ficitional character, who's be around 53 if he were living right now. Oh, and did I mention he dies at the beginning of the series and fanfiction's pretty much all the contact I've got with him? Well. Whatever :)

Peace.

Author's Response: I am so happy you liked this!! Sirius is my head over heels in love with fictional man, so I totally get it. I just want to shake JKR and say WHY DID YOU DO THIS TO ALL OF THEM?? So it's nice to talk to someone who shares the same sentiments ;).

I'm so happy you enjoyed this, and that you got to have a bit of James love ;)!!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #22, by Keira7794 Sweet Dreams

26th August 2012:
How on earth was this pointless? This was ridiculously cute and so easy to relate to! I'm not a parent but this seems to realistic to how I imagine infants must be like - especially as most parents complain of their lack of sleep. :P

I think this is my favourite part about this story - many of us are at fault of getting swept into the magic world (it's no bad thing) but at the same time it's so nice to read a story which has direct links to the world we live in.

The desperation and longing to sleep was perfect! You can still tell how much they love their son, but it is perfectly balanced with the need to get the kid to shut up! :P

Your characterisation was spot-on - James' easy-going personality and his humour! Lily's kindness and her sneaky humour was great as well! :)

I really enjoyed reading this! It was absolutely how I'd always imagined their relationship and I'm glad Sirius was part of it - he never seems to be far away in my mind. Keira :)

Author's Response: This was such a wonderful review, darling!! It was really fun to show the more normal and human part of Lily and James, because they didn't just wake up heroes. They were normal, brave people who did incredible things, but pretending that they were just consonantly incredible and taking away the human aspect of them, I think really cheapens their sacrifice.

I'm so happy you liked these characters!! This was actually originally going to be part of book 2 in Before They Fall, but I really just wanted to post it now, haha!

Thanks again for this lovely review, I'm so happy you enjoyed the one shot ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by ginny_malfoy1231 Sweet Dreams

25th August 2012:
C-U-T-E!!! ooff this is just so cute!!! i love the way you had James and Lily's personality so... right you're an amazing author, keep writing!

Author's Response: Aww this was such an awesome review to wake up to!! I'm so happy you liked Lily and James, I'm working on a novel centered around those two which you might enjoy also.

thanks again for this wonderful review!!! :)

Jami


 Report Review

Review #24, by CambAngst Sweet Dreams

23rd August 2012:
Pointless? Darling, why must everything have a point? This was so lovely and easy to relate to. It took me right back to those god-awful nights when my boys were infants and they wouldn't stop crying... It's a universal experience among parents, at least those that don't have house elves. Isn't that what Harry Potter is all about, to some extent? Taking the amazing, fanciful, magical lives of witches and wizards and bringing them back into these very ordinary, human situations that we can all relate to? To me, that was the point of this, and you did a great job with it!

I though you captured that horrible sensation of desperate helplessness perfectly. When your child is crying, it's beyond wanting to be able to make it better. It's even beyond needing to. You absolutely feel that you should be able to and if you can't, you feel like a total failure. It's such a strong biological imperative. It makes a person do crazy things, like lying on a floor instead of a perfectly good couch. That was a nice touch, too, I thought.

All of the physical details of James and Lily and their house were perfect. Are you sure you're really the baby of your family? ;)

Ha! Lily tried to cheat when she and James were supposed to be taking turns watching Harry. It's such a humanizing thing, in a dastardly sort of way. You and I have had this conversation, about how fan fic tends to canonize Lily just on the basis of her one, great sacrifice to save Harry. What always gets glossed over is the fact that she was most certainly a normal, fallible human being with all of the weaknesses that go along with the condition. It makes her sacrifice that much more meaningful, I think, to realize that she wasn't some saint or super-human woman. Just an ordinary person who did something extraordinary.

"She couldnít believe how quickly he had gone from a boy to a man. The day Harry was born was the day that she fell for James Potter all over again." - Well, it happens to all of us. ;) And I think that happens to a lot of new mothers, as well. Lovely sentiment!

"... before either of them could lose themselves into one another, they both fell fast asleep." - Yep. I've been there.

There was nothing pointless about this. You took a very ordinary moment in the lives of two much-loved characters and used it to draw out new and interesting things about them and their relationship. That's what great writing does. It finds a way to make great meaning out of even the mundane parts of a story.

Author's Response: I'm so sorry for taking forever to response. The sister and bro-in-law have kept me VERY busy!!

Haha I am the baby I am I am! I was so happy that I've worked with so many frazzled parents though, because it felt very easy to get into the mind set of a newborn parent. And having someone that has actually been there (times two) and that it feels accurate makes me so happy!

This one shot made me so excited to start work on unnamed sequel to Before They Fall, because writing them as regular people who can do amazing things was really so much fun. I LOVED the idea of crazed sleep deprived Lily sneaking into the bedroom and switching James's pocket watch, then waking him to tell him it was her turn. It just made me giggle.

This was such an awesome review, Dan. You really know how to make my day. Thank you so much for always playing such a huge part in the confidence aspect of this whole writing thing. And for you lovely patience ;)!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Opalpixiechick Sweet Dreams

22nd August 2012:
Awww. :) I love this. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!!! I'm so happy you liked this one shot! I also have a WIP Lily and James novel, so if you've liked the way they are written here, that's also something you might enjoy :)!

Thanks again!!

Jami


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>