Reading Reviews for Days Like This
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Akussa Day's Like This

17th July 2013:
That was such a cute little story! You really captured Rose's loneliness perfectly; it is so hard to be single when all of your friends are in love!

You did a wonderful job describing and making us feel Rose's emotional journey. Going from how much she didn't want to go to how happy she was to have decided (alright being forced) to go!

Finally I have to say that the opening two lines really got me hooked instantly,it reaaly set the tone for this story; great job!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks a lot for this! I know just how much it sucks when you feel like everyone else is getting together with someone but you, and it sucks! So i'm glad that I was able to get other people to understand just what exactly it was that she was going through at this time and how lonely she felt. I'm glad the first two lines really hooked you in! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Day's Like This

19th April 2013:
Here for review tag!

Aww this was such a cute little one-shot. I enjoy a fluffy ScoRose occasionally, so I really liked this one. It was short but very sweet, and made me smile. I liked your portrayal of Rose secretly having wanted Scorpius, and feeling sad at being single when she was surrounded by couples. It does seem very insecure, and insecurity is something that her mother and father both possessed, so it was kind of canon which was good. I also liked the totally awesome way in which Scorpius just strode in and comforted her, and then, they didn't need to say anything to each other, just go in together and dance, and everything fell into place. It was slightly cliche of course, but hey, everyone needs some fluffy cliche once in a while.

All in all, I really liked this. Good job!

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

 Report Review

Review #3, by The Misfit Day's Like This

22nd January 2013:
Hi - it's me again! :) I'm sorry for the lateness of this review; RL got hectic yesterday!

The very first line of your story instantly captured my attention, which was really good! I like how you never mention outright that it's Rose, but instead reveal her identity by slipping little clues into the story - that she's Albus' cousin, has red hair and has blue eyes.

I love how you've characterized her, giving her a mixture of Ron and Hermione's qualities, which is fantastic! :D You've also done well to avoid the cliches of them getting together at school, and of Rose being this super-confident person - you've written her realistically here, with her insecurities at being single.

I'd suggest including some backstory to explain why Rose and Scorpius didn't get together at school. :)

This was a really sweet one-shot, well done! ♥

Author's Response: I have thought of writing another oneshot to go off of this, explaining why they never got together in school but I just have not gotten around to it yet. I'm glad that the first line was able to hook you and make you want to continue reading. With this story, I never wanted to come right out and say who is it but have it pretty obvious through clues in the story. The fact that you liked my characterization of Rose is so wonderful and I'm very glad. Feeling alone and left out is never a great feeling and when you are surrounded by people who are happy and with someone it can feel like they are just flaunting it in your face. Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #4, by 800 words of heaven Day's Like This

14th January 2013:
Hello from Review Tag! (I always say this - must change opening!)

Wow! What a short and sweet little story! I really enjoyed it! I mean, I always love me some good ol' ScoRose, so this was totally awesome!

Scorpius was so manly and silent in the way he interacted with Rose - reminded me of those brooding hero types, which seemed to fit him well.

Rose was also interesting, although it would have been nice to see the tough side of her, just so that the juxtoposition between what she pretended to be and what she really was would be so much stronger - but I still liked it anyways! I think considering the length of this, just knowing that she pretended to be tough may have been enough - otherwise it might have detracted from the main part of the story - Scorpius and Rose's emotional interaction.

Anywho, a wonderful story all 'round!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I wanted to write something that was just kinda short and sweet and fluffy between the two of them and I'm glad that the responses have been wonderful for this story! I really didn't want them to say much between each other instead its more of that "I know what you're thinking and yes I love you too" type of things. Im glad you enjoyed this! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #5, by patronus_charm Day's Like This

12th January 2013:
Hey it's patronus_charm from the review tag:)

I'm glad you made Rose single as I often find it unrealistic when they're all married or dating and happy as that always seem to be the case in fan fiction. So it was a great twist to see that you couldn't always have a fairytale ending! I thought it was a nice way introduce Scorpius as generally they end up together at school and I've never read one, where they end up together after school so it was a nice and interesting twist. Overall I thought it was really good and short and sweet :)

Author's Response: I know, its pretty uncommon to find a story where the characters didn't get together in school and stay together all the way until they die. I just wanted to make this a sweet oneshot that maybe happily ever afters can come a bit later in life and that we all feel a little lonely at times. I wanted to make Rose headstrong so that while she was hurting on the inside nobody else could really see it, except for maybe scorpius! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #6, by CloakAuror9 Day's Like This

8th January 2013:
This was so cute and fluffy, though at the start I really felt sorry for Rose. I like how she says that she's always been strong, but on the inside she's all torn up and not even her cousins could notice that.

When Scorpius came out of the Great Hall though, I started smiling and it just got wider and wider. By the end of the one-shot, I was probably grinning ear to ear. They are honestly such an adorable couple, and you portrayed that really well in a way that didn't turn the story melodramatic.

I'd really love if you wrote a backstory to all of this, though. I think it'd be really nice to see how and why Rose is alone.

Great job! :D

~Izzy

Review number 17 out of 100.

Author's Response: I love this oneshot! I think its so real and does show the human emotions! I'm thinking of writing more for this story some time as a lot of people seem to be really interested in more about Scorpius and what they had been like before this. I wanted this to just be a fun and sweet oneshot about the two finally getting together years after school. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Day's Like This

6th January 2013:
Tag!! :D


GAH! This is just so sweet and cute and perfect and... EEK! All the feels!! I really, REALLY love this dear! (In case that wasn't already obvious!) Everything about it is just SO perfect and I LOVE the way it ended, but a part of me was screaming "No!! That CAN'T be it!! I need MOAR!" :P

I think probably my favorite thing about the whole piece is that it's not your normal, Rose-and-Scorpius-start-dating-during-their-school-years type thing. Just about EVERY Scorose I've read is like that, so this is exciting and refreshing!

And as I said before with "He Never Told Her", you did a wonderfully great job of conveying the emotions here: Rose's heartbreak at not having that special someone, and how Al just randomly abandoned her once they got to the reunion! I love it to pieces!!

10/10 and going in my favorites!!

Author's Response: Aw Jayde this review is just so sweet! I really just wanted to make a rather sweet oneshot about Rose and Scorpius finally getting together years later because not all relationships start in school and last forever. And some people really do feel lonely at the idea of everyone else seeming to pair off together. I'm glad that you feel I've done a good job with emotions not just in this story but in others. Thank you so much for this review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #8, by Pixileanin Day's Like This

1st January 2013:
Awww!

Very fairytale-like ending for Rose! You ahd her so convinced that the reunion was going to be a bad idea, and the shame that she felt about still being single so inescapable. Everyone wants someone to love, and Rose just hadn't found her someone yet, or at least he hadn't let her know how he felt about her yet. I'm glad you let her have this moment of triumph over her self-torture.

The way that he just walks right up to her, knows what she needs and then takes her back into the room: it's like he knew her really well. I'd have liked a little hint of how and why they hadn't gotten together before this, or maybe they had and it wasn't quite right yet. If you're planning on writing that other one-shot from his POV, I'd love to read it!

You wrote her from such a "I'm so inside my own head that I can't seem to get out" place. I liked the style of this. I enjoyed reading this!

Author's Response: Yeah a lot of people really would like to see more, something that gives a hint at what happened before this/ how he knew what she needed and I do have plans on making that happen someday. This review was really awesome and completely made my day! I'm so glad you enjoyed Rose, and I feel that she is so realistic. I mean I know I've felt so alone and almost like a loser because it seems like everyone else is pairing off and then there's me all alone! I'm so glad you enjoyed this oneshot! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #9, by classicblack Day's Like This

14th December 2012:
Hey it's Ali from the Holiday Review Swap! Sorry it took me so long to get here; life's been quite hectic lately.

I really liked this one-shot. It was an adorable Scorose without all the unecessary drama that usually accompanies such fics. It was sort of like you were coming in say "Scorose! Scorose at the Hogwarts reunion! Thought you out to know *faints*"... Ok maybe not like that, that was just me trying and failing to be clever, but I think you like the point. I love how you very subtley implied that it was Rose, apart from the fact that the narrator was paired with Scorpius and that Rose was mentioned in the summary/ description. You mentioned her freckles and how Albus was her cousin. You mentioned Ron's blue eyes. Very niely done!

Overall, wonderful job! I really loved the description and the plot of this.
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: Wow thanks for this awesome review! I didn't really want to come right out and say I'm Rose I'm Rose with this one but I wanted it to be implied that its her. I just wanted to write something short sweet and simple between the two and this is sort of what came out. I also wanted to touch on the feelings of being lonely and feeling like everyone else around you is pairing off except for you. I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #10, by Harrypotterbookworm Day's Like This

14th December 2012:
Daw. Just dawww. So short but so lovely.This was exactly what I wanted to read!

You know, I don't normally like ScoRose, but in this little one, I gave in. Just a little. Your style is such a ... cute style, you describe Rose's feeling really well. You made her relatable to people, which is sometimes a hard thing to do, so good job on that!

The plot is adorable, but I do think it could have been lengthened a bit. I mean, do Scorpius and Rose know each other? Does she like him? Had they been together in the past? I think a little more plot development would have been good and made this piece even better!

Your description is wonderful. I just can't get over it. You show the scene perfectly and show what's going on without it feeling dense. Again, a little more length, with more things for you to wonderfully describe would have been good, but what you have done is amazing.

- Nikki

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much for this wonderful review! I've thought about writing another oneshot based on this story, possibly even two, one to show their past, and one to show Scorpius and whats going on with him during the time he isn't with her while this is going on. I'm so thrilled that you think my description is good, and I'll look into possibly adding in more description and working on that! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #11, by CambAngst Day's Like This

11th October 2012:
Hi, there! I am excited to have the opportunity to tag you back after the lovely reviews you left for me earlier today.

I really liked the slow way that you introduced the plot to this story. In a story this short, I have to imagine there's a big temptation to dump the major plot points -- Rose is at her fifth reunion because Albus dragged her there and she's still single -- onto the reader right away. Instead, you worked it all in gradually, building up Rose's emotional state alongside the delivery of the A B C's of the story. And you did a terrific job of really making me feel her loneliness, vulnerability and embarrassment. As a person -- a guy, but we still count ;) -- who was single well into his 30's, I can relate so easily to the awkward feeling of being at a social gathering where everybody else is involved in a relationship. You stick out. In your own mind, you feel as though everyone is looking at you, studying you, trying to figure out what flaw prevents you from finding that special someone that would complete your life in their eyes. It's really not true in most cases, but it seems that way.

The slightly snarky way that she explains her feelings of inadequacy was a great characterization. I can feel elements of both of her parents - Ron's sense of humor and Hermione's desire for social acceptance.

The way that Scorpius saunters into her life reads almost like something out of a dream. Without even speaking to her, he realizes what she's feeling and what will make her feel better. There's an effortless quality to his actions, as though he can read her mind. He doesn't pull her out of her isolation. Instead he enters it and joins her. This is a fairytale scenario, very well written from her point of view. His last line seals the deal, as far as I'm concerned. It's like closure and happy ever after all at once.

Suggestions? I'm quite curious as to the history between the two of them. Why didn't they ever get together before? It seems like I'm probably meant to feel this way, and it certainly didn't diminish the beautiful scene that you set for us. But a thought or two from Rose about "why hasn't he ever done this before" might smooth out the transition a bit.

This was a lovely piece and I really enjoyed reading it. I hope my review was helpful or at least encouraging!

Author's Response: Wow! this review just leaves me with feels! I'm so glad that you understand exactly what i was going for and the whole feeling like you're being watched because you're single and everyone else is not... even if you are actually not being watched. I'm thinking about writing another oneshot that goes into this from his pov that explains exactly how he knows she is out there and such but we'll see! I'm really glad that you enjoyed the oneshot! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #12, by Remus Day's Like This

20th September 2012:
Heya!! :D Perelandra here once again! XD

Aww, poor Rose!!

I have to be honest, when I graduated high school and a few years after that I dreaded even thinking about my high school reunion. While it was many years away (though now its less than 5...) I had a lot of 'what ifs'. So this story brought those feelings back and I just felt so bad for her! Despite always being told to never put your happiness on someone else, its hard seeing your long time friends having a significant other, married, or with kids. Start feeling lonely. However, this story had a happy ending with Scorp finally making a move on her! Yay for Rose! :)

Anyway!! Your story was short but you were able to bring those emotions forth very well! The only critique that I have is that sometimes it felt too wordy. Perhaps, instead of using commas with some sentences, change it to a period. That way it'll flow a lot better.

--Rosie

Author's Response: Thank you for the suggestion, I will look into that in the future! I'm so glad that you were able to understand the emotions going through Rose and that you enjoyed the story! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #13, by Illuminate Day's Like This

25th August 2012:
Hi! Tag!

I really think you wrote the emotion in this oneshot perfectly- I really felt her pain and her shame, and I think it's so uplifting in the end. A really great Rose/Scorpius!

I only noticed one typo (decent should be descent) and I think you could chop up your paragraphs a little more, but that's only a little nitpicky thing.

Great job! :D

Author's Response: Oh I'm so glad you could feel the emotion in this piece and felt that it was a great ScoRose. Wow if you could only find the one small mistake then thats really awesome! thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #14, by EverDiggory Day's Like This

21st August 2012:
How cute! This was so beautiful, and I'm a complete sucker for ScoRose(:

I love Scorpius, you make him very fangirl worthy. Its so cute how he's quiet and supportive of Rose. You gave them a lot of chemistry, which is remarkable considering this is fairly short! You're so very talented, darling! Looking forward to reading more fo your stuff!

xx

Ever

Author's Response: AW Ever I love your reviews! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this and felt that Scorp was fangirl worthy! I'm glad that you could feel the chemistry between them even though they never really spoke much and it is really short! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #15, by justonemorefic Day's Like This

20th August 2012:
I haven't read anything on Rose for a while :) The events are described quite nicely, very sweeping and very romantic, a bit like a slo-mo montage, heh xD

I feel like a lot of her emotions are being told to me, rather than shown - things like how Rose is good at hiding her emotions. It might be a better idea to describe some incidents in her life, to give me more of a picture in my head of what's gone on in her life. Even describing the past will help describe the present, kind of like a backstory, and it also sets a mood. Subtlety can go a long way.

She seems very concerned with her relationship status, and it might be good to show why as well, to make it easier to understand where she's coming from, because she is still quite young! (Maybe it's just her envious eye talking. It is quite easy to get lost comparing oneself to others, tis true, and terrible when it gets out of control).

Hope that helps a bit! :)

Author's Response: thank you so much for the review! I am thinking about going back into this oneshot and adding in more information and actually writing another oneshot to go along with this that would be from his pov so that the reader can get the full story. I will look into these ideas though when/if I get around to fixing the story. Thank you again for reading and reviewing and I'm glad you liked it!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #16, by MagicalInk Day's Like This

20th August 2012:
Hey, here for the review swap!
Aww, I love me some fluffy Scorpius!

Anyway, I feel this story has a lot of potential, an with just a bit of work, could be wonderful!
So here's some recommendations you could or could not take, it's up to you in the end :)

I really like this Rose, it's unusual and original. I like the fact that she builds this facade, just like Hermione, and that she's supposed to be the strong one. I think that you really picked well the situation in which she'd crumble down, not thinking anyone would be so lonely to come out and find her. So actually, I think you should insist in her strength, for her crumbling down to be something more easily relatable, as the reader kin f knows her more. Just maybe add some back story to her, some memories that show this strength and others her facade so we can relate more to her ;)

I loved the fact that you didn't get Scorpius and Rose together during Hogwarts, that's really original too. It make sme wonder if Scorp ever thought of her in the previews meetings, and if they actually knew of each other's existence before these meetings. It'd be really cool if they met in, per say, the second one, and then he got a girlfriend and then she got sad. But you don't have to tell us everything, as it's just a one-shot (unless you want to make it a short story collection :P), but why did Scorpius suddenly decide to do that? Some back story on that would do this story wonders too!

Also, I noticed there is no dialogue here? I'd recommend adding a couple of lines and no more, that way they'd sort of 'haunt' the reader and they can help with explaining some relationships!

So overall, this was a really sweet and fluffy one-shot that people could relate to and get hope, hopefully this CC will help you! I'd love to help :D
_val

Author's Response: Yeah I've realized that this oneshot still needs a bit of work to be better and I am hoping to write some more on it that will explain some of the missing pieces such as how he knew that she was out there alone and such. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jchrissy Day's Like This

19th August 2012:
This is a really lovely one shot. I'm thinking maybe this was the start of their relationship? And if so, I think it's a really new way to set them off together. I totally see Hogwarts age when it comes to pairing these characters together, but the idea of that not happening until their five year reunion is very different and fun!

I think you really had a good grasp on her emotions and showed those really well!

This made me very curious as to both of their backgrounds with one another, she had obviously always had feelings for him, so was this him finally returning them?

I think the feeling of being alone in this kind of situation could be a really realistic one, especially with countless classmates already seeming to have found their 'other half.'

Great joB!

Author's Response: Yep this is the start of their relationship. i wanted to capture the emotions of feeling alone and feeling like you are being looked at because you are not with someone already and everyone else you know is. I'm really glad that the emotions showed through for you. I'm thinking about writing another oneshot about this from his pov to clear up how he knew where she is and such like that. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #18, by Owlpost68 Day's Like This

19th August 2012:
This was really adorable. I'm forcing my mind not to get too into, but what was their history? Were they friends, or didn't they talk but always wanted to? Anyway, I thought there were a couple times in the beginning that it went from past to present or vice versa, but the rest was fine :) I really felt like this was extremely personal especially in the beginning, whether it was just personal for the character or for you I'm not sure, which just shows how great the writing was. I loved her characterization as well, it was a very good mix of Ron and Hermione, shy and insecure, and a bit clumbsy and unrefined lol. She was just adorable :) I loved how Scorpius just came over and was sweet, a little unexpected and unexplained, but that's ok. He could have just seen her and was like, this is enough, I just want to be with her :)
Really great job hun!

Author's Response: there are days when i can get to feeling like how I portrayed Rose in this oneshot so i'm sure some of my own emotions came through in this but i believe most of it is just writing. I'm really glad that people are finding Rose to have a great mix of both of her parents! I'm thinking about writing another oneshot about this in his pov to explain how he knew where she was and what he has been thinking. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #19, by Aether Day's Like This

19th August 2012:
Hi, I'm here from the review swap. Wonderful one-shot! I'm sort of curious about what Scorpius was thinking that night, too. Maybe he'd been building up the courage the whole time, just for that moment with Rose. This was really well-written and sweet. Also, it's very original to see such an angsty Rose Weasley. I'm used to seeing her as really outgoing.

I was sort of put-off by the "members of the opposite sex" thing in the first paragraph of the one-shot. It seemed like a bit of an awkward and strange thing to say, though I guess maybe Rose is a bit awkward in this story?

Otherwise, though, the flow of this story is really excellent, and I saw no grammar errors either. This is very well-written. Great job!

Aether

Author's Response: Yeah that bit is rather awkward now that I think about it. I may go back and change it so its not so awkward. I'm thinking about writing another oneshot about this that would be from his pov though i'm not sure yet. thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! I'm glad you liked it!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #20, by Mitten13 Day's Like This

17th August 2012:
Great story! Very well written.

Author's Response: thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! I'm glad you liked it!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login