Reading Reviews for The Truth About the Marauders
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BellatrixLover3 Nine

1st November 2014:
I want a Bellatrix POV!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Tina B. Thirteen

13th October 2014:
So I just finished the latest chapter of your story, and, honestly, I don't do reviews on stories - ever really - but as I quite unexpectedly came to the end, I was quite surprised and rather frustrated. I don't read WIP's very often, simply because I hate catching up and then being disappointed in waiting for the next chapter. (I had that heartbreak when Life and Times stopped being updated over a year ago. Still not recovered from that)

HOWEVER, I really enjoyed this story. I never really enjoyed AU stories, at least not with this story. For me, there's so much that hasn't been told on it already, adding in wholly new and different stories that break from the original doesn't interest me. SO, when I found yours and it has many characters original to the story, and it appears you're in keeping with the integrity of the story, I decided to check it out. I was slightly skeptical about the Jennifer character at first, but I find that I love her. She compliments the other characters quite well and adds a wonderful element to the plot that's missing otherwise. Great story thus far, remarkably well written, and I will be begrudgingly following your updates. ;)

WHICH brings me to my final question of how often you usually update. Is it set days, like every Sunday, or just whenever you finish? Also, how long do you usually go between updates? (PLEASE don't tell me a year? I don't think I could take another heartbreak. lol)

I will be waiting with bated breath for the continuation of your story. ; )

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I know that it gets difficult with reviewing, and I certainly have suffered from the depression of waiting for WIPs to be updated. This is a story that is dear to my heart because I simply love the Marauders. The past month has been really busy with school, and I haven't been able to write as often as I wanted to, but rest assured! I do have the entire rest of the novel planned out and the next update is in the works. I don't have a set schedule for updates, although I used to dish out updates every two weeks. Now, it really depends on my school workload *which sucks* but I will try my best to update as often as possible!

Thanks so much for reading! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by ladyrae Thirteen

24th September 2014:
Yay you updated!!! This was a good chapter, and I really enjoyed the reconciliation between Jen and Sirius. It'll be interesting to see Jen join the team and get some of that popularity that James has always had. Can't wait for the next!!

Author's Response: The next update is halfway done! :)
I think Jen and Sirius really do need a period of time to really adjust themselves and mature. Their arguments makes even me tired! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by ladyrae Twelve

8th April 2014:
So I just read your entire story, and I'm absolutely in love with it! I'm so excited to see how it goes now that it's out of the snapshot-prequel phase, and I'm really interested in the development of Sirius' character (and everyone else's, clearly). Really interested in how Mary will deal with the war getting more and more dangerous, and if Marlene has any lingering feelings towards Sirius. Will Sirius start dating around, especially to spite his parents now that he's somewhat betrothed? Will Jennifer realize that she should let herself be happy and not focus on a guy she has no future with (here I'm just guessing at how she might view it, not what I really think about their relationship). How will her interest in other guys (attainable ones, unlike Wayne) affect James and Sirius? And will she PLEASE realize that Remus isn't just the guy a girl might see and wonder "how did I never notice him?" and actually notice him? (That could be especially fun with the Sirius relationship.)

Anyone, I can't wait for the next chapter! Wonderful writing.

Author's Response: Hi! I apologize for the long waits in between chapters, but life has been so busy.

There are a lot more developments in everyone to be coming, especially because they're hitting that stage in their teenage lives when they're all changing both physically and mentally.

The relationship-dynamic between all of them will certainly be interesting! (not to mention, James and Lily will most certainly be getting developments!)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by AniaSelTay1DHP Ten

15th October 2013:
Sorry for asking it here but I already reviewed the last chapter! Anyway, did you post the next three years already? I can't find it and I don't know, if it's my fault or you just didn't post it yet:) Could you tell me the title of the next book?:) Thank you! And let me tell you one more time that I really love this story and I think that you're an amazing writer:)

Author's Response: No I haven't uploaded it! I'm on a hiatus because school has been really busy, but thank you so much! Just keep an eye out with this story, and I promise the next update will be up soon! It's in the works! (: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by AniaSelTay1DHP Eleven

15th October 2013:
I really loved these 'snapshots':) You're a great writer!

Author's Response: awww thank you so much!! (:

 Report Review

Review #7, by joy9494 One

20th August 2013:
Can I just say how funny it was that we were paired together because I've actually already started reading your story. I'm sorry I have not reviewed before this, it was going to be one of those enjoy the reading now and then leave a lengthy review at the end sort of thing. Anywho on with the review, at first the idea of James having a sister like cousin seems a little cliche, but you do cliche well, and despite the possible marysueness that could occur Jen is still fun and enjoyable to read. I do like how you've depicted Severus and Lily together I feel like he is sometimes forgotten or pushed to the side in marauder fics. I think my only complaint is that the story it's self has a lot of potential for cliches, the Jen and Lily rivalry, Jen's close relationship with James, ect. I also feel like Jen's character jumps around a bit, which is understandable because she is so young that it's unlikely she has a strong sense of who she is. She's intelligent, yet head strong, and nice, and has a boyish sense of humor. I feel like she's too much, almost too contradictory, and like I said before be careful because she is in a position that could easily turn Mary sue. Anyway that being said I immensely enjoyed the story and it is super entertaining! I look forward to reviewing and reading more.

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear that! Don't worry about it; I've been a silent reader plenty of times before.
Thank you so much for your thoughts! Jennifer definitely has a lot of possibilities for filling in different cliches, but I always found that it's more of the stereotype whenever James has a close family that she's best friends with Lily. There will be some stereotypes that I think people have seen before, but hopefully I can work it out well to a point where it doesn't seem so boring and typical! Thank you for reading and reviewing! (:


 Report Review

Review #8, by Cassius Alcinder Two

4th August 2013:
So now that the House Cup craziness is over with, I can finally get back to this story.

I think its to be expected that James and Jennifer would go their separate ways to an extent, and that part was shown pretty well. While they'll always be family, they're each going to have their own friends and interests.

And it looks like James is scheming already! It really shows how strong James and Sirius' friendship is becoming that he's willing to intentionally get detention.

Oh the angst of middle school romance! That part seemed pretty realistic and believable from what I can remember of being around that age, and since 2 years is a pretty big difference when you're that young, it's probably true that he wouldn't even be aware of her existence. We shall see what becomes of her newfound friendship with Lily!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I think after a while, James isn't going to be Jennifer's first go-to person, something that I do see a lot at school. Haha! Middle school romance! I remember when I was in middle school, it just seemed like the BIGGEST deal with your crush didn't like you back and everything. Again, thanks for reading and reviewing!(:

 Report Review

Review #9, by Forever_Sirius Five

27th July 2013:
Brilliant. I love James part it was just beautiful. Instead of he fell in love with her looks, or something along those lines. I like the way you made James come to that realization he liked Lily. So well done.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked it! I think that James's attraction for Lily has to come from somewhere real, and there isnt' anything else that I can think that would make it more real than that. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!(:

 Report Review

Review #10, by Cassius Alcinder One

24th June 2013:
Hey, here I am for the first chapter of our swap!

Jennifer seems like an easy to relate to character so far. While many stories have employed a female character who serves as sort of a "fifth marauder," usually that character is a Mary Sue who is bff's with Lily and is the only one who can tame the wild player Sirius, but Jennifer is definitely more well rounded than that. I also enjoyed that her interactions with Lily were a pretty realistic level of drama, there was some conflict, but it wasn't over the top or anything. But I fear I can't get too attached to Jennifer knowing that she can't be around when Harry is born.

Sirius's segment was pretty enjoyable as well. I think you captured the attitudes of 11 year old Sirius pretty well. You could tell he came from an aristocratic family, and he wasn't a full fledged rebel yet, but maybe the seeds were there.

I'm looking forward to Remus and Peter's entrance!

Author's Response: I'm glad that Jennifer seems very realistic. When I started this novel, one of my goals was to make the characterization realistic because the main character of my first novel seemed to me sort of like a Mary-Sue.

Sirius is always a fascinating character for me to write because whilst he is my favourite character as well, he is still so complicated!

Remus and Peter's entrance will, unfortunately, take a bit longer because I had wanted to focus on the girls before I get into the Marauders more in depth before Fifth Year.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! (:


 Report Review

Review #11, by KaterinaBlack Nine

1st June 2013:
I loved it! Jennifer is so going to end up explode on Marlene. I can't wait for the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: haha there's no saying what Jennifer will do. Thanks for reviewing! (:

 Report Review

Review #12, by CambAngst Two

31st May 2013:
Hi! Amazing how a month gets away from you. Let's see if I can squeeze in one more review before it's over.

I really liked the theme that ran through this chapter. It's perfectly natural for cousins -- even ones that are close as siblings -- to grow apart to an extent once they're in school and making new friends. Especially if they're not the same gender. You picked a really clever set of examples to highlight the change.

I loved the idea of James being determined to earn a detention just so he and Sirius could spend the time together. Or perhaps he just doesn't want to let Sirius have bragging rights for earning more detentions than him. Either way, the fact that the Slytherins were the victim of the prank that landed Sirius in detention -- as well as the one designed to land James beside him -- was a perfect touch.

Jennifer's crush on the Fifth Year Prefect was another nice touch. At times, she seems quite a bit older than 11 in this chapter, but that crush felt perfectly age-appropriate and situation-appropriate. She's at a brand new school, after all, and she doesn't yet understand how these things work. Having a Third Year sort of lead her along really cemented the situation together. Good stuff.

That, in turn, made for a really believable ice-melting between Jennifer and Lily. I was wondering how you were going to handle that, and I thought this was a great way to go about it. It plays on the traits that Lily is well known for and it didn't feel forced or fake. I really like the core group of female characters you've included here. They're all obviously tied into the books in one way or another.

Three little editing-type things that I noticed while reading:

No one liked the fact that Alex spoiled us whenever he saw us but fact remained that Alex was probably the only family member besides James, Aunt Elizabeth, and Uncle William that truly cared for me. -- but the fact remained

The two of us had long reached the Charms classroom by now so the two of us quickly went inside. -- you repeat "the two of us" in the sentence. It sounds odd.

Namely the fifth year Gryffindor prefect whose best mate happens to be the older brother of Alice Whitaker, a very friendly third year girl with whom Iíve gotten close with. -- "with whom I've gotten close with" reads oddly. I think you have one too many with's.

Otherwise, stellar writing in this chapter. It was a pleasant, easy read and the characters are starting to come along nicely. Good job!

Author's Response: Really, a month DOES just fly by you so quickly!

I'm glad that the break between James and Jennifer made perfect sense. It's been a while since I was eleven years old so I wanted to make sure that a break between them was understandable and made sense.

The crush was something that I had a bit difficulty with. I wasn't sure how I could go about trying to portray that she was still really young no matter what happened.

And Lily was definitely someone that I wanted to portray carefully. Even though Lily had faults, she was still known for her kindness and I wanted to portray the struggle between Jennifer seeing Lily as someone with a lot of faults and knowing what a good person Lily was because Jennifer still had to get over her initial prejudice over Lily's attitude towards James and Sirius.

I will definitely edit those mistakes. Thanks for pointing it out and thanks for reviewing! I hope that my chapters after this one will continue to do well! (:


 Report Review

Review #13, by CambAngst One

16th May 2013:
Hi, there! This is the first of probably several Gryffindor May Exchange reviews, if you'd like to make this more than a one-chapter event.

I was both excited and kind of sad to find out that Jennifer was James's cousin. Excited because I think it broadens James's back story in a really interesting way. In the books, he's only ever portrayed as a spoiled, somewhat arrogant only child who suddenly transforms into this wonderful, upstanding guy late in his Hogwarts years and sweeps the saintly Lily Evans off of her feet. I feel like his quasi-brother-sister-relationship with Jennifer will really add some depth and complexity to that picture and I'm looking forward to it. I'm kind of sad because we know that Harry has no family left by the time he's left with the Dursleys. That doesn't bode well for Jennifer's future. :(

You did a nice job with Sirius, too. You made him refined and aristocratic in a way, which felt more natural to me than the stories I've read where he's in full anti-pureblood rebellion mode before he even sets foot on the train. I can see the beginnings of who he'll become, but also the roots that he comes from. Overall, it was very well-balanced. It feels, at least at this early juncture, like you're setting Sirius and Jennifer up as a potential romantic pair. That should also add some interesting depth to Sirius's character, as well as some curious dynamics between Sirius and James. No way to know how James will cotton to the idea of Sirius snogging his almost-sister.

I really like the start you're off to with Jennifer. You managed to define a lot of things about her without doing that horrible thing a lot of authors do where they roll out the proverbial Back Story Dump Truck and proceed to unload every conceivable bit of information about their OC in a long, pointless internal monologue that fills half of the first chapter. Instead you worked some important bits of information into the natural flow of events and left us some things to wonder about. I see similarities between her and James and also some important differences. I did really like the way she feels protective toward James and, by extension, Sirius. I assume she's destined to reconcile with Lily and that should be interesting when it plays out.

Lastly, there's Lily. You did a fantastic job of making her sound like what she actually is: a precocious and temperamental eleven-year-old girl who's also probably pretty frightened, seeing as how she's venturing into completely uncharted waters. The way that she didn't answer Jennifer in the dormitory seemed about right to me, although I'm pretty sure that her reason wasn't the one that Jennifer was thinking of. I'm guessing that she just didn't know what to say.

Let's see, what else? There were two passages that I liked so much I highlighted them as I was reading:

He had striking grey eyes that seemed to look like they pierced into your soul, along with the nicest head of hair I've ever seen on a boy.

It looked silky, lustrous, and well taken care of, though significantly longer than James's hair.
-- I chuckled to myself when I first read it, thinking of how mortified Sirius probably would have been if she'd said this out loud. But the more I thought about it, this is the sort of thing that eleven-year-old girls notice.

In all honesty, it wasnít an ugly name; if I had to grudgingly admit so, it was a nice sounding name, even if it was a name that should have stayed in the 15th century. -- All I could imagine when I read this was Sirius making a crack like, "The 15th century called and they want their name back." Great stuff!

Then there was one passage that felt a little, I don't know, forced to me:

Honestly, the way that James was going on and on, a nearby passer would have thought Salazar Slytherin himself arose from the dead and told everyone that he was setting a basilisk loose in the castle. -- I know what you're trying to do here, but I was kind of struggling with the idea that an eleven-year-old girl would know what a Basilisk was. Recall that even Hermione had to go look it up and Ron, who came from a pureblood family, had never heard of it.

Lastly, I saw two typos that I wanted to point out:

I hadnít meant to be eavesdropping but it was impossible to live under the same roof as James Potter for the majority of your like without picking up some troublemaking skills. - majority of your life

"Yes, she was but distantly related..." I murmured, not knowing why I wanted to tact that last bit on in the end and certainly not knowing why I didn't like the idea of being related to Sirius Black. -- tack that last bit

Otherwise, I thought you writing was really good. It all flowed very nicely and I liked your word choice. You had a good mix of narrative and dialog and nothing sounded awkward or singsongy. Great start!

Author's Response: Thank you SO much for this wonderful review!

First off, I'm glad that you found the characterizations good because to me, at the core of a Marauders' story is the characters and their interactions, much less of the plot because we know the general gist of what happens. The plot of the story means nothing if the characterization of the key figures isn't correct, so thank you!

Also, I really did try to get as much into an eleven year old girl's head as possible. To me, it makes the process of all of them growing up so much more plausible and actions that take place later on much more sense.

I'm definitely going to go back and edit that bit about the basilisk. You are definitely correct that an eleven year old really wouldn't know that, and I will definitely fix the typos.

Thank you SO much for this review! Seriously, it's not only one of the longest that I've received, but it's definitely one of the most thorough that I've ever received. Thanks so much! (:


 Report Review

Review #14, by PitchBlue One

13th May 2013:
Hello,

This was an interesting and promising first chapter. It gave a good introduction to the main characters, while not giving away too much about their personalities - I guess that will come in later chapters.

I have a remark to make about your use of paragraphs though. I noticed that you start a new paragraph with each sentence, which is not necessary. It doesn't bother me though, I'm not a punctuation - fanatic or anything, I just thought I'd point that out since there're 'rules' concerning this kind of thing. On the HPFF forums there are a lot of topics that explain this, you might want to look into them. But as I said, it doesn't bother me.

All in all, I like this chapter and I think it's promising!

-PB

Author's Response: Hello (: First off, thank you for the wonderful review. I'm glad that you found the introduction okay! And I will definitely have to look into that! I'm just not a huge fan of long paragraphs because I find it annoying to read as a reader but I'll definitely look into it!

Thanks for reviewing!(:


 Report Review

Review #15, by Emma Nine

27th April 2013:
I love this! I can't wait for the next bit :) I really want Jennifer and Sirius to get together, and James and Lily of course.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed my update! I definitely have lots in store in the romance department because I think fourth year is finally the year that things really get going (:

Thanks for your wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by RavenclawGirl11 Nine

10th April 2013:
Please update soon, amazing story. Maybe do a sirius pov?
~Macy x

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoy it! Yes, Sirius will definitely be coming soon xD Thanks for your wonderful review! (:

 Report Review

Review #17, by Lily Luna potter Eight

3rd April 2013:
I need to read the next chapter!! Please please please post
the next one!!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you like it! The next chapter should be coming soon. Thanks for reviewing! (:

 Report Review

Review #18, by BeautifulPeople Eight

2nd April 2013:
It's really good! I love the story :) please continue with it.

Author's Response: yay! I'm glad that you like the story!
The next update should be coming in soon! Thanks for reviewing! (:


 Report Review

Review #19, by Xallium Seven

5th March 2013:
Please update this is wonderful! More James and Lily please!

Author's Response: aww thank you so much! the next update should hopefully be coming soon once my queue clears up! (:

 Report Review

Review #20, by Xallium Five

5th March 2013:
I love James' point of view, do more of him and Lily!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you like James's POV! I'll take that into consideration (: thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Mia Seven

25th February 2013:
Your story is amazing. Please write more!

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! :)
The next update is in progress!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Secret Santa One

24th December 2012:
Ho ho ho, it's you Secret Santa here!

Hi :) I love this chapter! And Jennifer is awesome. I've read so many James Potter sister/cousin/some-sort-of-relation stories, and it's always the relation and Lily being instant BFF's- even though Lily hates James and is always badmouthing him. I don't see how that would work! I'm so glad that you did something different, and Jennifer stood up for herself and her cousin!

This looks like a promising story so far, and I'm definitely gonna keep reading this :)

The last line- " I dreaded to think what other sorts of trouble would follow us in our seven years at Hogwarts if this was what our first day had been like. "- Can I just say how perfect this line is?

Jennifer seems very perceptive for an 11 year old- then again, we've seen how smart 11 year olds can be, haven't we. I can't really even find much to critique about this! I love this story so far :) Great job!

Merry Christmas!

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much!
I'm glad that you found this intersting and promising! I won't let you down with future updates! Thanks for this awesome review! (:


 Report Review

Review #23, by zipzin Five

24th October 2012:
This is quite excellent! Love how you had James realize that he fancies Lily. Your inclusion of the attack is good and makes it realistic and also shows that you are not getting caught up with your plot so much you forget to mention the small stuff. I am guilty of this. :) Keep up the writing and good work! Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: awww thank you so much (:
im glad that you like how I made James fancy Lily. yeah, I'm trying to keep everything realistic; the war is a big part of their lives and I didn't think it'd be right to forget about it.
thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by TheHeirOfSlytherin One

13th October 2012:
Hey, it's SamMalfoy93 with your challenge review prize. I'm sorry it's taken so long, free time kind of left me.

This is a really great start to this story. I'm already loving Jennifer; the way she holds her own with Lily in the dorm and is honest, the way she is loyal to James but recognizes that he can be an idiot. She seems like a very loyal character and I look forward to reading more of her.

I enjoyed reading the points of view from both Jennifer and Sirus, giving different insights into situations. And I'm not sure I like Lily's character at the moment. I love Lily in general, but she was rude in defending Severus, when it seemed he started it.

I'll be back here soon. I enjoyed reading this and I look forward to knowing more about the characters. :)

Sam.

Author's Response: awww thanks for this review! (:
im glad that you like Jennifer! She's going to have very interesting character development.
I'm glad that the different points of view is good becuase I was worried that it would be too much.
awww Lily~ I feel like Lily deserves to be a far more complicated character than the Mary Sue that a lot of people portray her to be so I want to write her as more of an actual person, and we do know that Lily is very loyal as well.
Thanks so much for everything! (:


 Report Review

Review #25, by ValWitch21 Four

24th September 2012:
I really like this story! Please update soon? :)

By the way, you do know that robinet means the tap of a sink or a bathtub in french, right? Because it makes me laugh every single time...

Author's Response: yes sorry about the late updates! school is so busy! haha really?
i never knew that! thanks for telling me xD


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>