Reading Reviews for Freshly Mown Grass
  
43 Reviews Found

Review #1, by love_is_magic_ Freshly Mown Grass

21st November 2013:
Love it! Always wondered where Hermione had gotten "freshly mown grass" and now I will have a explanation :D Thanks!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed the story :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by rozen_maiden Freshly Mown Grass

11th August 2013:
I don't usually read the Ron/Hermione pairing, but I'm really, really happy I read this. It was sweet and funny and just really perfect. Amazing writing, I really loved it :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm really glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Debra20 Freshly Mown Grass

17th July 2013:
Ditto, the Weasleys were made for you WTM! I don't think there is anyone else on these forums, Archives, or in fact any other HPPF fanfiction site that could possibly write them better than you. Your characterisation glues me to the screen with my mouth open...literally...

This was a very sweet piece. Witnessing Hermione's feelings for Ron gives me a fuzzy feeling inside my heart. I've always loved them together (thought have been completely oblivious that they fancied each other in the books, until way past GoF *shame*) but having read the books from Harry's perspective, who was already full of hormones and confused about love, I never really got the chance to enjoy them. So thank you for this wonderful piece of fluff! It made my night a lot better :D

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! I do love my Weasleys. I suppose that's obvious when virtually all of my stories are about them ;)

Hermione lusting after Ron makes me giggle. I do love those two. I totally shipped them in the books, but I came to the fandom late so I was able to read the first 5 books all at once and saw the Harry/Ginny and Ron/Hermione emerging. Harry is definitely always confused by girls and their feelings. Not surprising when you consider how he grew up, I suppose.

Thank you very much for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by ginerva_molly_weasley Freshly Mown Grass

17th July 2013:
This is so wonderful. I clicked on it not really knowing what to expect but I thought it was one of the best Ron and Hermione pieces I've read about them pre relationship.

There must have been some attraction for them before they got together so I love this little snapshot of Hermione looking at him through the window, with him completely unaware and actually realising his attractiveness and her true feelings towards him.

The structure also aided the flow of the story and I think that the little piece at the beginning about Ron being too hot really set the scene here which was completely wonderful!

I loved it

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the story. I do love my Ronmione ;)

I absolutely think they were both attracted to each other physically (and intellectually and emotionally and whatnot), so I wanted to show Hermione crushing on him. Watching your man mow the lawn can be fun. I tried to set up the second half with the first bit with Ron, and of course it's inspired by his whining about chores in Half-Blood Prince. Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Beeezie Freshly Mown Grass

17th July 2013:
One-shots that focus on little moments from the Hogwarts Era like this are awesome, and pretty much never fail to make me smile. That was certainly true here.

Ron was (obviously) perfect - his irritation at having to do chores made me laugh, but it really was so realistic. I didn't even mind his using an excuse that he'd used in the books - I often would, but this just fit in so perfectly, and I actually like thinking that his complaint in HBP (I think?) when asked to cut vegetables for dinner was used a lot. I mean, it's just so Ron.

And Hermione was also amazing. I think that you captured her in all of her perfectionist, thoughtful glory in that she's insisting on helping the Weasleys with chores - I never thought about it, but you're right, Hermione would not be the type to sit idly by!

Hermione is also not the type to not have at least two thoughts when confronted with anything, I don't think, so the brain/heart/hormone conversation was excellent. (Also, you're so right - hormones totally don't speak in sentences!)

This was awesome. Great job!

House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I love a missing moments story ;)

Ron would definitely whine about the same thing a lot. Kids generally do. And "why do I have to do it?" is a common refrain when one has siblings. I hear it all the time from my boys, they would always rather throw their brother under the bus than just do as they're told. "Why can't he do it?" Sheesh. hahaha

Normally I would also not want to reuse something straight out of the books, but yeah, Ron would absolutely trot that one out every time he's asked to do something. In fairness, I'd bet the twins said the same thing about Percy and Percy said the same thing about Charlie, etc. Ah siblings.

I'm glad you liked Hermione! She would never be a guest for an entire summer without helping with chores, she's too well-brought-up for that. And she would want to feel part of the Weasleys, particularly after she realizes her feelings for Ron.

Ohh yes multiple thoughts seems very fitting for her, I thought. Hormones wouldn't speak in sentences even in Hermione!

Thanks so much for reviewing! Ravenclaw for the win!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Owl Girl Freshly Mown Grass

4th June 2013:
This is Hilarity! I love it! I couldn't stop laughing! You did a good job of working with Mione's harmonies, since she's such a well-put girl most of the time!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :) I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #7, by hi Freshly Mown Grass

24th May 2013:
Want more must have more please

Author's Response: Thanks! I don't have any more planned for this story, it's just a one-shot. Hopefully I'll have something new posted soon :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Kerry Freshly Mown Grass

4th April 2013:
Absolutely adorable, and a perfect missing moment. I am counting this as canon as of now. :) Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That's a high compliment indeed :) I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Alopex Freshly Mown Grass

3rd April 2013:
Hahaha, oh my goodness, I loved the exchange at the end between Ginny and Hermione! That was hilarious. The way the twins teased Ron was pretty funny too, and it seemed like such an accurate older sibling infuriating thing to do! Also, I can bet just how impressed Ron was with his mother's argument about character building. All the exchanges and dialogue seemed so realistic and/or funny.

Somehow, I feel like the story might have been even better if Ron had been using one of those old rotary mowers. On the other hand, with Arthur Weasley around tinkering in his shed, of course he's got to play with a lawnmower sooner or later.

I've seen this story recommended many times, but I've never read it myself (as you know, by now I am ridiculously behind on reading your stories and everyone's stories, really). I'm glad I finally did! It definitely is a cute and fun story . . . short and sweet, as the saying goes.

Author's Response: Yay it's so nice to see a review from you! This really made my day. I'm sorry it took me a while to respond, I've not been assiduous about it this last week. Ah poor Ron, he gets teased a lot. And so does Hermione ;) And of course he doesn't believe in the character-building thing at all haha

I thought about that, using an old rotary mower, but I decided against it because (1) I thought Arthur was likely to have an old motor one that he couldn't get working and required charms instead of actual petrol, and (2) I couldn't remember what they were called. XD I imagine Arthur couldn't resist picking up an old broken mower out of the trash and tinkering with it. He does own a car, so I thought a mower wasn't outside the range of possibilities.

It is a very short story, but it was fun to do one this short after writing Rose novels sort of back-to-back for the past few years. Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm really glad you got a chance to check this one out!


 Report Review

Review #10, by NataliieW Freshly Mown Grass

12th February 2013:
Naw lol that was the cutest thing ever :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by calmbeforethestorm Freshly Mown Grass

20th January 2013:
That was a cute little story. I liked it =]

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Sincerely_Snape Freshly Mown Grass

26th December 2012:
That's hilariously funny. I love your take on why she said that in the book. I bet Jo would get a kick out of this :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by mau Freshly Mown Grass

14th December 2012:
nice piece of writing ..interesting

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Arithmancy_Wiz Freshly Mown Grass

13th December 2012:
It's shameful how few of your awesome stories I've reviewed. I'm so glad you tagged me for the review swap so I could cross at least one of them off my review list. This was, of course, just as good and sweet and fluffy as I knew it would be. I love this perfect explanation for Hermione's Amortentia. It's adorable and so true to character. Speaking of...

You have such a knack for getting all the canon characters right, no matter what story you're working on. You captured them all perfectly. The nagging but practical Molly, the quick-with-an-excuse Ron, the dutiful but infatuated Hermione. Even the brief appearances by George and Ginny were spot on. George using "Ronnie" instead of Ron and Ginny's "it's only laundry" were so the characters from the books.

I think that's why you're so good at writing ships. You get characters and you make their reactions to each other believable. And you don't over-romanticize stuff either. Ron is supposed to be lanky and awkward, but it doesn't matter a bit to Hermione. That's part of the charm of them as a couple.

Overall, this was just lovely. Between your uncanny ability to write any character you like and your simple but effective prose, this was everything a short but sweet one-shot to be :)

Author's Response: I always feel that way about staffers' stories. It's not our fault, we have too much going on to get to read much! This is total fluff, but I'm always down for fluff. I'm not fooling anyone haha

Ah thank you! I love my canon characters, especially the Weasleys, so I'm glad I did good with them. George and Ginny are kindred spirits, mockery from them all around for Ron and Hermione. I patterned the scene with Molly telling Ron to do a chore and him trying to pawn it off on his brothers on the scene in HBP when he whines about having to chop food or peel potatoes or something.

I am serving up romantic realness, as RuPaul would say. lol. In all seriousness though, I really do try to make it real while still having the love there, you know? Romance is great, but cloying is not. Hermione loves Ron even if he's tall and skinny. But he'll probably fill out as he gets older, most guys do. He's young here.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! (((hugs)))


 Report Review

Review #15, by Mystique Freshly Mown Grass

9th December 2012:
This was such a sweet one-shot. I loved it, my favourite part was "she lowered her foot, backing down a step for a better view without being aware of what she was doing." It seemed to be exactly like Hermione might behave. And as for the congratulation of Ron and the other Weasleys, I think you've nailed them spot on.

Now I'm off to find more Ron/Hermione as this story has definitely put me in the mood for more.

Charlie

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. And that line, it's funny a few people have pointed it out and I thought it was a bit awkward and wasn't sure about it. I guess it's working after all!

I love Ron/Hermione. I've only really written them as a sort of background thing before in my Rose stories, so it was fun to write them here. You should try "Memory Dust" by shadowycorner for some good Ron/Hermione. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by justonemorefic Freshly Mown Grass

9th December 2012:
What with HP delving into war in the latter books, it's always nice to remember that they're still quite the kids in the in-between moments, where Ron still whines, Mum, why me 8D It really is dreadful considering Fred or George could do it, but then he'd never take off his shirt, so I suppose Ron mowing the lawn is for the greater good, right? Keep it up, Ron! For the greater good!

(but really, when you consider all of the achievements in human history, grass should not be as difficult to conquer as it is.)

Hee, I always wondered about Hermione's amortentia scent, because it's that little mystery that JKR teased, and even though we all knew we still wanted to know know the last thing. It's approximately 3am and I totally forgot that freshly mown grass was one of them until I read the second part, so I got to go 'aha!' Her brain and heart working all at once, only to be blindsided by her hormones - which never thought in full sentences the way the rest of her did - perf. Omg, I can totally imagine Hermione having this secret side of her dictated by one-word hormones and being utterly horrified by it.

And Ginny is the best wingwoman - Ron being her brother, she could be easily going eww, but instead lets Hermione ogle longer. That's a best friend right there.

Wah, so cute! ♥ A little Ron/Hermione is exactly what I needed :'D

Author's Response: Ron getting shirtless, I mean mowing the lawn, is totally for the greater good. Go Ron go! I patterned the Ron-whining-about-chores-that-the-twins-could-have-done-with-magic after the scene when he has to peel potatoes, I think it was, and whines about why the twins couldn't just do it magically. I bet when Percy came of age, the twins whined about why they had to do (insert chore here) when Percy could have done it. And on and on, all the Weasley brothers... Life as a younger sibling!

I totally agree that grass should be easier to cut by now. Well, I suppose a riding lawnmower makes it very easy. But I don't have one of those. So I have to kick and cuss at our mower to get it to behave.

There's one of those "HP secrets" going around saying the third thing Hermione would've smelled in Amortentia is Ron's hair, but most of those are spurious so who knows if JKR actually said it. It's a nice thought though! I enjoyed writing this version of her love for the smell of grass. It was fun to be fluffy and romantic and brief. Hadn't done a one-shot this short in ages.

Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm really glad you liked it :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Toujours Padfoot Freshly Mown Grass

8th December 2012:
He's very pale, her brain noted. And rather skinny, actually.

Who cares? put in her heart. He's perfect.

Her hormones, which never thought in full sentences the way the rest of her did, simply put in an urgent, Want.
- loool. ♥ When her heart shushed her brain, I said "Awww", and then laughed when her hormones chimed in.

I love this!! It's so adorable and perfectly explains the freshly-mown grass part of her reaction to Amortentia. I can only imagine what Ron would have thought if he'd known Hermione was ogling him through a window; I can imagine him strutting along, trying to catwalk across the lawn while pushing the lawn mower and flexing his arm muscles every now and then. To know that he was being admired would have puffed him up like a balloon.

And Ginny just stood there and let Hermione finish ogling at her leisure - bahaha. It led me to wonder what lengths Ginny might have gone to to check out Harry while Harry stayed at the Burrow. Creeping along with a pair of binoculars, darting from bush to bush while he played Quidditch and de-gnomed the garden.

Poor Ron, having to do hard Muggle work. But a stroke of luck for Hermione! I was sad that this was so short. I would have loved to read a few thousand more words about Hermione giving Ron the once-over, with her brain and her heart and her hormones all lining up to present opinions.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked this story! Thank you so much for reviewing.

Oh man, if Ron had known, he'd totally have been strutting. I can just see him, making the most out of every muscle flex. Hahaha... Ginny I think would mostly mock Hermione for ogling Ron, which is what I was trying to put across here. Hermione can't stop though, even though she knows she's going to get crap about it later ;) I totally picture Ginny ogling Harry at every opportunity. Binoculars, I love it XD

Thank you again for the review! I had fun reading it :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by house elf Freshly Mown Grass

3rd November 2012:
Oh, Hermione. This is such a lovely little story :) I can totally imagine this really happening ahah.

Love this line: 'Her hormones, which never thought in full sentences the way the rest of her did, simply put in an urgent, Want.'

You should definitely write more Romione!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it :) I appreciate the review. I have really only written Ron/Hermione as a couple in the background in my Next Gen Rose stories. It was fun to focus on them as the primary couple. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by ronhermione Freshly Mown Grass

12th October 2012:
I loved it! It is GREAT! Please write more stories!
:D

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Holly Rose Freshly Mown Grass

28th September 2012:
Love love love love c: xx

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by EnigmaticEyes16 Freshly Mown Grass

27th September 2012:
Hahaha, this was so cute. I loved how her mind was telling her he's not that attractive, and the other half of her mind (or her heart, I guess) didn't care. I totally get that. This was a lovely little one-shot and I'm glad I read it.

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it :) Your mind can know something, but that doesn't always convince your heart. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Jen Freshly Mown Grass

21st September 2012:
hahaha too sweet :) xx

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by writergirl8 Freshly Mown Grass

20th September 2012:
Oh. My. God. Shirtless, sweaty Ron mowing the lawn. This was the most beautiful Ron and Hermione fic I have ever read. I'm actually entranced by the mental image of Ron pushing an old, beat up lawn mower right now... I may have just been rendered totally incoherent by the pure perfection of it all.

As usual, your writing is amazing. You really have no parallel in your eloquence and your descriptions, etc. Thanks for recommending this fic. I just loved it :) Chicken soup for the Romione shipper's soul... ~writergirl8

Author's Response: asdfghjkl I'm so glad you liked it! I love your Ronmiones :D Ah Ron mowing the lawn, it stuck in my head and would not go away. I don't write this pairing often as a focal ship - I do love them, they just tend to wind up a side character in my Rose/Scorpius stories (though I do have a scene of them making out in Ron's office and getting caught by Rose) - so it was really fun to write them here. I'm so happy that you liked it! Thank you very much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by starryskies55 Freshly Mown Grass

11th September 2012:
Cor, I'd be exactly the same if I was faced with a topless Rupert Grint :P

I really liked this, it was short and cute and funny: "it's character building!" - I liked those bits especially. Ron's laziness and mulishness was brilliantly canon, and George's short appearance was great too. I loved Hermione's embarrassed and the way Ginny was just like 'Seriously? Fine, ogle my brother' :P

Freshly mown grass- that's a smell I thought Hermione didn't associate with Ron, but I really really adore this short piece- it's just great :P

Author's Response: Ha! I actually just saw a picture of him on tumblr all shirtless and he is lookin pretty good these days. Bit of muscle on him.

Ron is very lazy about chores. He doesn't seem to want to do anything. Typical teenage boy haha. Poor Hermione, confronted with the boy she really wants all shirtless and sweaty, and she can't have him. Ginny had to mock her for it.

I didn't think she associated it with him either, I just had this idea one day and decided to go with it. It's fun this way. :) Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Owlpost68 Freshly Mown Grass

14th August 2012:
Awww this was a great idea for a one shot. I wish I'd thought of it lol. Hermione and Ginny's exchange was cute, Hermione looking at Ron with no shirt, being caught and slightly teased, then about to carry on, but giving in to just look a little while longer. Very cute and funny story, great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! And I understand that feeling, I often read books and go "can't BELIEVE I didn't think of this first!" haha. I'm glad you enjoyed the story though, and thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>