Reading Reviews for These Dark and Hollow Nights
  
245 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GeekMom13 Epilogue: Always

15th November 2016:
There needs to be a sequel. This is just too sad of an ending!

Author's Response: I've been very busy editing my original work and trying to do edits to this when I have the time. Its possible I may post a sequel in the future, though!! There is still hope!! I have it planned out mostly though.
Thanks so much for reading! I'm glad you enjoyed it!!


 Report Review

Review #2, by GeekMom13 Chapter Thirty-Two: Unearthing

15th November 2016:
I'm just hoping this is the plan they were concocting in the potion room

Author's Response: ;) you'll seee

 Report Review

Review #3, by Samara Epilogue: Always

7th November 2016:
This is the best fanfic I've ever read. It made me crry.

Author's Response: THANK YOU SO MUCH LOVE. That made my day!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ravenclawandslytherinqueens Darkness

24th August 2016:
While I am very much enjoying the story, the plot, and the character development, I did have a question. During the meeting they were talking about doing a ball, but if I am not mistaken hadn't Draco brought the idea before, and they had even set the Hogsmead trip for October? Why was it brought back again as a new idea?

Author's Response: They hadn't told the rest of the prefects about it so there was a meeting to discuss the Halloween Ball and there were other ideas given by the other prefects :) hope that makes sense!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Alice Longbottom Epilogue: Always

2nd June 2016:
Okay so I know it's been a while since this story has been completed but I just wanted to say that I find it amazing and beautifully written. That ending omg... I understand why some readers may dislike it because of the pairing, however in my personal opinion it is one of the best endings I have read. Like seriously, it had me in pieces. And that for me, is the sign of a good, gripping ending.

You're able to portray the emotions of a love that essentially could never be, as both of the characters have been through so much and they realise that their love would not be for the best - sometimes that sacrifice shows the purity of the love. And oh my! You get these emotions across so well to me as a reader. I was able to understand the pain and heartbreak that Draco and Hermione faced in the last two chapters, (not to mention how Blaise, Astoria and Ron all felt watching the people they loved, love somebody else) because you displayed this to me, personally, in such an elequent way within your writing.

As for the story overall, I loved it! I found the narration and level of your writing was consistent throughout and the plot of the story was such an original concept which really captured my interest and the fact that you gave Hermione 'Gryffindor Blood' - as such - was different and unique (to me) and I really didn't see it coming at all. I enjoyed that you used the cliche of Hermione and Draco being Head Girl and Head Boy, (because, let's face it I - along with many others - am a sucker for a good cliche) however I liked the way you turned it around and gave this story a path that I was not expecting when I first started to read it.

I would like to admit that I thought Harry acted out of character a little bit when he found out that Ginny was actually an 'imposter'. I did love the added twist of this theme, but I thought that maybe the scene where Harry found out about this could've been handled slightly differently as to the way he reacted? I just don't feel that Harry would've been able to carry on as normal with this hanging over his head. Obviously those are just my thoughts, and I understand that you as a writer have interpreted different characters in other ways as to how I have done.

So anyway, overall I thought this story was brilliant. It caught me up in the plot within the first chapter, and I must say that I read it all in a day because it kept me entertained so much! I loved it, well done! I hope to read more of your writing in the future. :)

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much!! This review made my day! Ok so glad you liked the ending and you understood what I was trying to get across, that some loves are just not meant to be, and sometimes it's for the best but it doesn't mean you don't love that person any less.
I have always had a hard time writing Harry's POV and honestly it's a bit intimidating to write from Harry's POV because I could never get it right.
Thank you again for the amazing review! I'm so glad you loved it!


 Report Review

Review #6, by sly_the_rin Epilogue: Always

7th May 2016:
if you're going to make it a ron/hermione pairing you might want to put that in ur pairings section. I wasted my time reading this story. I dont ship romione and i don't appreciate you wasting hours of my time on what could have been, and was until the last chapter, an amazing story but the ending makes me want to punch something. I apologize for being cras s but i am simply furious.

Author's Response: I apologize, and I will definitely fix that.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jenny Epilogue: Always

22nd April 2016:
You made me cry 😭 I love and hate the ending 😢 Oh man I don't think any book has made me feel that much emotion. Beautifully written.

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much!! I'm so glad that people are still enjoying this story. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by EVERYTHINGISAWESOME Chapter Three: House Unity

7th October 2015:
Oh. My. God Y U PUT LUCIOUS IN THE SCHOOL THIRD CHAPTER... DAT DADA TEACHER IS LUCIOUS MALFOY I BET YOU 100 GALLEONS

Author's Response: Ahah well that's definitely the most interesting theory I've seen :) can't tell you if your right or not, you'll have to find out for yourself

 Report Review

Review #9, by Minnu Chapter One: The Daily Prophet

10th September 2015:
Hey. The intro looked fine but you're missing the touch of the characters. That's not the way individual characters speak. And you don't use stupefy spell at random. Something like a batbogey or furnunculus would look better.

Author's Response: Sorry. When I first wrote the chapters it was a couple years ago, so I wasn't so bothered with speech and specific spells and things. Now I am more careful about characterization and such.

 Report Review

Review #10, by M Chapter Six: The Room of Requirement

9th September 2015:
I like the storyline, and will probably finish reading, soon! My only complaint is the text. It would be easier to read if it was single spaced and contained proper paragraphs.

Author's Response: Apologies for the text. When I first uploaded this novel, the website made me have the document be double spaced so i did that. I will be changing it! I am glad you like it tho

 Report Review

Review #11, by April Epilogue: Always

20th August 2015:
NO. NO. THIS STORY WAS GREAT. WHY DID SHE END UP WITH RON 😭

Author's Response: Sorry!! I'm editing the book to change the ending.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Kylie Epilogue: Always

11th August 2015:
Omg the ending broke my heart. I'm currently a mess because of this.
Was written so well but holy Shit the ending was heartbreaking.
I loved this story so much
You did an amazing job with it. Try not breaking us into pieces next time x

Author's Response: Aww thank you! Sorry for breaking your heart! I'm glad you liked it! And that you thought it was well written!!
As for next time, I'm putting the sequel on hold because I'm editing the whole book (there will be a different, hopefully less heart breaking ending when I edit it.) but stay tuned! Thank you so much for reading and I'm glad you liked it!!


 Report Review

Review #13, by maty500 Epilogue: Always

24th July 2015:
no it can't be finished i want draco and hermione being together it's not fair a was expecting a happy - well, happier - ending where she leaves ron or something and goes back to draco

Author's Response: Lol sorry. I'm editing the novel now, so the ending will be different. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by songbird0345 Chapter Twenty-Five: Forgiven and Free

16th June 2015:
So I know you did some revising in the first 5 chapters, but the inconsistency is somewhat painful. First, I thought Draco had gotten a tattoo over his dark mark after the trial. Second, I thought Ron got her a necklace, not a bracelet. There are a couple other things that are different from the first 5 chapters, but for the life of me I cannot remember. I do remember reading this story before the revisions, and I wanted to read it again becasue I absolutely love this story. Anywho, I'll get back to reading. :)

Author's Response: I apologize for the inconstancy. I have been trying my hardest to revise and post new chapters frequently but I am very busy. I think I may make a new draft of the story so that readers do not get too confused with old vs new versions. Sorry again!

 Report Review

Review #15, by DixieGirl Chapter Thirty-Six: Graduation

17th May 2015:
Actually really unhappy with the way this ended but that might just be because I hate Ron/hermione and I read this because it was supposed to be Dramione. Anyways. That didn't have to happen.

Author's Response: The ending will change; this is just a draft, and I'm editing it right now.

 Report Review

Review #16, by DixieGirl Chapter Twenty-Seven: A Measure of Darkness

16th May 2015:
But wait, wouldn't that mean that Hermione is a descendant of Godric Gryffindor?? Because that changes everything oh my

Author's Response: Normally I don't like to give spoilers but you're right; Hermione is a descendant of Godric Gryffindor. And it does Change everything. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by ChloePotter Epilogue: Always

17th April 2015:
This story is so good! You are very talented.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I'm so glad you think so!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ChloePotter Chapter Thirty-Five: Memoria

16th April 2015:
I am so mad right now!

Author's Response: So sorry!! Don't kill me?

 Report Review

Review #19, by ChloePotter Chapter Twenty-Four: The Broken Heart

12th April 2015:
I have a prediction: Professor Quincey is the person Narcissa loved. They were in love and when Narcissa was pregnant with Draco, Lucius "killed Quincey. After all of these years though, he is alive.

Author's Response: You will have to keep reading to find out!! I won't spoil it for you!! ;)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Graceymaee Epilogue: Always

8th April 2015:
This story was so good omg you had me bawling the minute she "removed" Draco's memories.

Author's Response: Thank you Im so glad you liked it!! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by jnk4401 Chapter Thirty-Two: Turmoil

13th February 2015:
I try to stay away from the Draco Hermione plots because they are all kind of generic. This is far from it and you've done an amazing job. That being said, if this lady, Mrs. Granger, has been around so long and had a girl with Godric, how would the surname work so that Hermione would be descended from this lady?

Author's Response: Glad you asked! Ok so Mrs. granger actually never told who the father was, and she kept her last name, so that's why it was such a huge secret because no one knew. So basically Hermione's family (it's her dads side because obviously men keep their name all their life), is very distantly related to her. She's like her super-great grandmother basically.
it was tradition for the Granger women to keep their last name even after marriage because THIS Mrs. Granger wanted it that way. Of course there are several who haven't, but they likely wouldn't be included in the family tree.
I'm not sure how heritage works, only that I worked it out so that this Mrs. Granger is basically her super great-great grandmother. But Hermione is the only one who's ever had magic, which makes her really special. It's possible to have a family member who had, let's say, black hair and blue eyes, but that particular combination has never happened since that family member until one day a child is born with black hair and blue eyes, and even though everyone claims the mother had an affair DNA tests are done and she never had an affair, but then they find out that Great Uncle Alan had the exact same combinations. Does that make sense?
I hope I explained it well enough! Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoy the rest!! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Dodo2002 Epilogue: Always

2nd February 2015:
Very lovely story, and it has a touching ending.

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Dodo2002 A Display of Affection

27th January 2015:
I loved your story so much. It's Excellent!

Author's Response: Thankyou!! I hope you continue reading and that you love the rest as well!! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Yukoman997 Epilogue: Always

26th January 2015:
I have been reading this story for about a month now. I usually just read a chapter a night, but I read the last 5 or 6 in a row tonight. I just couldn't break away. While I must say that the ending truly did disappoint me, (not that I found it bad or unreasonable, but I had grown to love your portrayal of Draco and Hermione) the story overall was very good. Your ability to depict emotion in your writing reminds me of JK herself. I particularly liked how you took your time building the love story. So many fan fics that include a new relationship rush that relationship into existence. Romance and emotion can't be rushed that way in my opinion. Thank you for giving me another glimpse of Hogwarts magic. I hope for and look forward to a sequel.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! And wow, a comparison to JK Rowling? That is probably the best thing anyone has ever said to me!
I am so glad you liked it! Keep in mind though that chapters are being edited so check back every so often to reread them because I am making MAJOR CHANGES, including a completely different ending;)
Thanks again for the awesome review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Anj Epilogue: Always

9th January 2015:
This story is wonderful. Even though it broke my heart and still breaks it with Hermione suddenly takes Draco's memories. Its so sad that they didnt end up with each other, but like what Hermione had said, in this life, they could never be together. And because of that, I'll be waiting for that life! :) Great story, really!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words! I am so glad you enjoyed it and I hope to see you again when I post the sequel (which will now be called All Things Dark and Lovely). I'll be doing edits first, and major changes for the ending here. So hope to see you again!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>