Reading Reviews for These Dark and Hollow Nights
  
175 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Crump Chapter One: The Daily Prophet

21st September 2014:
this is so good so far

Author's Response: Thanks!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFan The Room of Requirements

21st September 2014:
WOAH WOAH WOAH WOAH I WAS TOTALLY WRONG ABOUT WHO THE SECRET ADMIRERER WAS. I mean it crossed my mind briefly that it was Theodore but then I shook my head because he couldn't possibly be so obvious about his identity. I thought he would've at least changed the initial of his name. I was so convinced that it was Blaise so it was kind of a shocker for me to find out that it was Nott.

But I mean, I can ship Nott and Hermione, there wasn't much written about his character so he's basically an OC. He could be well with Hermione depending on how you characterized him. But if the two of them start dating her someone's going to have to tell him that "Mudblood" is not a term of endearment and to knock it off.

Author's Response: HAHAHA. Yep, it was Nott!! And yes, "mudblood" is definitely not a term of endearment. But I think you will be surprised in the next few chapters. I can't say much but it's definitely a shocker to most people.

 Report Review

Review #3, by AlexFan The Secret Admirer

21st September 2014:
Blaise is totally not being mysterious and a hundred percent believable. For people that keep calling Hermione such a horrible slur, all of these boys have a crush on her and a strange way of showing affection. Someone needs to tell Malfoy that you can be rude to someone without bringing out the slurs. It's possible to make Hermione angry without having to constantly tell her "Hey always remember that your bloodline is less than mine."

But at least Hermione hasn't undergone a complete transformation where she turns into a babe so kudos to you on that!

I know that you're alluding to the fact that Ginny is pregnant, but see she's never explicitly said that she and Harry are doing it, I mean, it something that Hermione thought about when she went up into Ginny's room but other than that there was never any indication from any other character so Ginny really could just have a cold.

I can see Ron being aggressive towards Malfoy but not so much so that he would corner him in an empty hallway and then try to basically kill him. Ron has anger issues but he's not a psychopath.

Author's Response: Ron's anger issues will be explained later on because right now, he's not himself. And yeah I don't like when Hermione goes this transformation where she's suddenly a total babe lol, so I avoided THAT cliche at least. As far as Ginny, that will also be explained later on as well!! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by AlexFan Professor Quincey

21st September 2014:
Apparently being a prejudiced butthead doesn't stop people from wanting to meddle in their friends' love lives. I want to punch Nott in the face but then he acts like a decent human being for about three seconds and the urge disappears.

I almost snorted when Hermione's schedule said Defense because she could probably teach the class let's be honest here. Self-defense is a good thing to know but I mean, these people can do magic, they would use their wands to fight and defend themselves with. And even if they were to be disarmed, how useful would their self-defense knowledge be with their opponent having them at wand point. One move and they would be done for. I can see this being taught in muggle studies though.

Author's Response: That is true. And yes, later on self-Defence may be introduced in muggle studies. But this DOES come in handy as wizards are used to their wands and wouldn't be expecting to be punched in the face, so they would have the element of surprise. :) and the Golden Trio can probably teach Defense lol

 Report Review

Review #5, by AlexFan Chapter Three: House Unity

21st September 2014:
I don't know, I can see Dumbledore giving people a second chance but I can't really see him pre-planning the Head Boy just because he might die, like on a list of things that he needed to take care of before he died, that would've probably been near the bottom. And I certainly can't see him giving it to Draco, for a lot of reasons but mostly because everyone knows who this boy is and what he has done, how many of them are really going to take his authority seriously? Besides the Slytherins, how many students are really going to listen to what Draco says? I guess it's a good way of showing that he's not that bad but it would take a lot of work.

Ah yes, the "you're sharing a dormitory" cliche, I was a little surprised to see it crop up but then I was a little excited because I wanted to see the kind of shenangians that would go on. I like how you have the whole prejudice thing still going. Because even though Harry defeated Voldemort, that didn't necessarily mean that everyone all of a suddenly stopped being prejudiced, and certainly not in a year so I liked how you showed that it would be a long time before everyone considered each other equal.

Author's Response: Yes, the dormitory is so cliche and I cringe when this is in other fics but it was necessary for this story. And yes, Draco does have a hard time getting people to respect him and listen to him. Even some of the Slytherins don't.
Lots of people are more likely to listen to Hermione than Draco since Draco was, for a while, on the wrong side of the war, as sad as that is. And it takes a while for them to start thinking of each other as equals.


 Report Review

Review #6, by AlexFan Trial and Error

20th September 2014:
I CAN SMELL THE DRAMIONE ON YOU! But I mean, it's not the worst ship out there so I can work with it.

You know it's funny that everyone is calling Hermione 'Mione now because I personally never thought that the name would catch on. Hermione was just always one of those people that didn't have a nickname for whatever reason. I personally thought that it was out of character for her to actually bewitch and entire jury into letting Malfoy go free. Hermione is all about following the rules (even though she broke just about every single one there was) and I just can't see her doing something like this for Malfoy of all people. I get that she's supposed to fall in love with him but this seems like a lot to do for someone that you don't even get along with. I feel like it would take longer than simply one year to get over all of their problems.

I kind of like Draco but I kind of want to punch him in the face but at least he hasn't lost his arrogant nature!

Author's Response: Ok so Hermione bewitching the Jury was a LOT far fetched but this chapter was one of the ones I wrote and didn't reread before I posted it and then looking back I sort of cringe at it :( but this WILL be fixed and changed. I admit that I actually had a hard time keeping everyone in character and you might notice this later on as well.
And yes Draco's still arrogant and probably deserves being punched in the face, tbh.

Thank you again for the review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFan Chapter One: The Daily Prophet

20th September 2014:
Heyo! So I was supposed to leave you six reviews for the challenge prize but you never PMed me so I figured I'd just pick the story myself!

As a hardcore Romione shipper, this basically broke my heart because Ron has his faults, it would be stupid to deny that, but being unfaithful is definitely not one of them . If Ron was going to be unfaithful then he wouldn't have been put in Gryffindor. But let's say that I can see him cheating on Hermione, with Lavender of all people? I know that she went through an entire war and all but I still doubt that Ron would've picked her of all people. She would've matured after the war of course but I don't know how likely it would've been that Ron would decide to get back together with her.

But I think he's learned his lesson now, don't mess with Hermione Granger or she is going to hurt you. I agree with Hermione though , they've just been trough a war it's difficult to get over something like that in a year and of course she's going to be haunted by the things that she witnessed, they all would and it was just so stupid of Ron to think "I don't want to deal with your problems anymore so I'm going to become one." But it seems just like Ron to think that he was actually preventing hurt by keeping his affair a secret instead of being honest with Hermione in the first place.

I feel like George overreacted to be perfectly honest with you. If the War taught the Weasley's anything it's that family sticks together no matter what so I don't think that George would actually attack Ron like he did, he'd be extremely disappointed and angry with his brother but I don't think that he would attack Ron.

Onto chapter 2!

Author's Response: Thank you for the lengthy review! I seem to have forgotten what challenge this was for? Oops!!
Yeah, ok I can totally see where you're coming from. Every Dramione story has its flaws, and unfortunately so does mine. Of course it's unedited so later on the flaws will be fixed but alas, they are there.
Thanks for the review anyways and though I cannot remember what challenge I entered I appreciate the review all the same.
:)


 Report Review

Review #8, by heretherebedragonslover Epilogue: Always

16th September 2014:
please i'm begging you to write the sequel

Author's Response: The sequel is still undecided but there is a high chance that it might happen. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by dracoislife The Halloween Ball

15th September 2014:
veryyy verrry good i love this book

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by JaydeTheSpaz Epilogue: Always

14th September 2014:
So there's going to be a sequel? Lol I'm just a huge Dramonie fan and want them to have an HEA all the time :-D

Author's Response: I am still undecided about the sequel at the moment, and even if there is one it might take a while for me to post it. I may or may not write one. It depends on whether or not the storyline makes sense for me and whether I actually want to write one or not.
Until then, I have really enjoyed reading your reviews and hope to see you again if there is a sequel :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Carissa Epilogue: Always

14th September 2014:
Bwahahahahahahaha! :'(

So sad!

*chants* Sequel, sequel!!!

Author's Response: Haha. Sequel is still undecided!! Sorry

 Report Review

Review #12, by Whovian10 Epilogue: Always

12th September 2014:
Aww I loved it! Please write the sequel :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Sequel is still undecided, but I may just write it. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Sam Epilogue: Always

12th September 2014:
Oh my goodness! That epilogue tho... Ugh, I can't believe he remembered everything! I guess that "faulty magic" she was experiencing during her pregnancy surfaced when she needed to use it the most! Please do a sequel, I've been following this for ages and I know a sequel would be difficult to do with everyone living a content life in the end with the new baby coming but :(:(

Author's Response: Lol yeah it did!! :) I might write a sequel but for now I'm writing this next gen story, featuring Albus, which is sort of a sequel to A Bit of Luck (the oneshot featuring Neville I wrote a while ago). The first chapter of that will be posted soon. It's called Ardor. :) but a sequel for this story is possible. I have a sort-of plot bunny for it, but I have to put it into words so I'm still undecided as of now. But in the mean time check out some of my other works!
Thanks for the review!! Xoxo


 Report Review

Review #14, by HDLM Epilogue: Always

12th September 2014:
I didn't like the epilogue, I LOVED it lol. It was great. I wish it was kinda longer, but it was great. Congratulations on completing the story.

Author's Response: Thank you!! :) I'm so glad that you loved it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Stunned Epilogue: Always

12th September 2014:
I love this story so much! Don't know if I can go on living unless there is a sequel (they still love each other and to me I kind of dislike the fact they are not together!) Anyway, you are a wonderful writer, thank you for giving me such pleasure when reading your story.
Stunned x

Author's Response: Aw thanks. As far as the sequel is concerned I am still undecided. You are so welcome, and thanks for the lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Hope F Moore Epilogue: Always

12th September 2014:
holy s**t. I've been reading this for years and I can't believe it's over either. I loved Draco's letter and it's just really wonderful! You're a great writer and I can't wait for the sequel (if it happens!!!

Author's Response: Aww thanks. I wrote two versions of the epilogue and I liked this one better. And I'm still undecided about the sequel. I am so glad you liked it and thank you for saying I'm a great writer. :)
Thanks for the review. :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by HDLM Chapter Thirty-Six: Graduation

12th September 2014:
I got mixed feelings about this story. I like the story because it's different, but still true to the books. I also liked it because it shows Draco in a positive light. It shows how vulnerable he was and is. It confused me because I wasn't sure if you're going to use what we already is going happen, but now I see going with a different chain of events which is good. To be honest I like how it turned out. I would done somethings different but it's your story and it came out great. I haven't been on this site in a long time, since I was a sophomore or junior in high school(2004-2005) and this was the first story I read. All in all it was a great read and I can't wait till the epilogue :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I am glad you liked how everything has turned out this far. So many people have mixed feelings, and it's hard to tell whether they love it or hate it. The epilogue will up shortly. It's currently waiting validation so it should only take a couple more days. I'm so honored that this was the first story you read, and that you liked it. :)
Thank you so much for the review!! Hope to hear what you think in the epilogue. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Hope F Moore Chapter Thirty-Six: Graduation

11th September 2014:
I think this was a really good ending. Even though I don't think Hermione would really keep the baby or be so careless to get pregnant, you stuck with it and it made sense in the end to the point where we had closure. I've loved reading this story, and I can't wait for the epilogue!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!! I've really enjoyed reading your reviews as well. The epilogue should be up soon. :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Bexis Chapter Thirty-Six: Graduation

9th September 2014:
I know that Dramione has to deal with the ship being a good bit unbelievable but the idea that Ron would get back together with Hermione after she's been with a Death Eater is just crazy. Ron would hang himself before taking Death Eater leftovers.

Author's Response: OK... That is quite harsh. The only thing I can say to you is that I highly doubt Ron would be so drastic. And why wouldn't he get back with Hermione?? He and Draco both cared about her and loved her and wanted to protect her. He understood and accepted that. Also the fact that Draco WAS a Death Eater no longer matters to him the way it did before. So saying he would rather hang himself than take "Death Eater leftovers" is really harsh. Maybe it's a bit unbelievable but this is MY story. I wrote it how I wanted and not to please anyone else. Sorry if you don't like that. I respect your opinion, but I think you were being a bit too harsh.
Have a nice day.


 Report Review

Review #20, by blackdiamond Chapter Thirty-Six: Graduation

8th September 2014:
Dear Author: My heart is broke. I feel emotional so the following My Thoughts might not make complete sense cause I'm venting. I prepared for romantic tragedy ending as much as I could but it is still sad and hard to accept. But PLEASE don't break it further. Scared me more when mentioning repairing relationship with Ron. Friendship fine but it makes no sense to me if you put them back romantically. If she can't be with Draco how can she be with anyone romantically and it not be dangerous for them. The thought of her with Ron and Ron raising Draco's child makes me sick to my stomach. I really like and care about Astoria but am heartbroken that Draco and Hermione will not be together and raise their child. When I said she will go through life alone , I meant she could never marry. If she can't have Draco why not put her with Blaise if she can be with anyone but not Ron. I would rather she dies in childbirth (than end up with Ron) and Draco with Astoria raise Draco and Hermione's child as Astoria will love the baby and do right for the child. Please don't put her with Ron -they don't fit and she loves Draco so much. Only reason for sequel would be to reverse romantic tragedy to some extent-if not what is point? Hope Draco remembers and knows truth eventually and has courage to honor Hermione's choice and live with results unless he doesn't marry Astoria and finds some way to be with H and his child. Await epiloge and Draco POV one shot. If sequel I will definately read and follow. Scenes that touched me so were Christmas and the exchanging of gifts and Narcissa telling Draco "to keep her close". This story was fun and exciting but the end is so sad for me. Poor Hermione-she is always sacrificing for others. It would be great to see her win and find happiness. I know her child will bring her pride and contentment . Hope she can keep child safe. I am with Harry in that I don't think she should have obliviated Draco/she should have at least talked to him first and his memories do make him who he is. How will this effect him? Honest thought but forgive my rant and vent. This chapter was interesting with all the participants together at graduation. Liked the interaction between Astoria and Hermione very much. So pleased Grisilda went to Dark Wizard Pit/Nott got his just deserves/Lucius is where he belongs. Golden Trio and Order prevail. Thank You for incredible story and hope you clear up a few loose ends-who was cloaked figure? Who did Lucius send patronus to or did Grisilda do that? Will Draco accept Quincy as bio dad and have relationship with him but keep Malfoy name and heritage? How powerful is Hermione and child? Will Hermione be able to keep the secret of Griffendor's heir? Will those that know help keep her secret? Narcissa knows Draco loves Hermione -What will she do?
Best to you-ALWAYS. Keep writing .

Author's Response: I am sorry for the broken heart :( I will do my best not to be offended that you feel that way about Hermione and Ron (Not exactly a Romione fan, then?)
Sequel, as I said, may or may not happen. As for whether or not Draco remembers, that will be revealed in the epilogue. I'm so glad you liked the Christmas scenes and Narcissa telling him "to keep her close"! And I am so glad you liked the story! I also agreed with Harry, but Hermione sort of made up her own mind and just basically wrote herself (if you understand what I mean). Lol I also loved he interaction with Hermione and Astoria.
As for Lucius and his Patronus, that WAS never cleared up, was it? It was Lucius. He was sending the Patronus to Griselda, lol.
As far as the cloaked figure? The figure watching Hermione/Blaise-etc was Griselda, gathering info. The figure watching Narcissa was Quincey, keeping an eye on her. :) Yes and yes to both your questions regarding Draco/Quincey. And Hermione and child are both incredibly powerful. As for what Narcissa will do, you'll find out in the epilogue. :)
Thanks again for such an awesome review! I love reading your reviews! :)




 Report Review

Review #21, by JaydeTheSpaz Chapter Thirty-Six: Graduation

8th September 2014:
Ok, I guess you're somewhat forgiven for the last chapter. I really like this one, but I can't help but think certain things will fade? One hope right? :-D

Author's Response: Ah thank goodness you liked this one!! And yes indeed, one can hope ;)

 Report Review

Review #22, by blackdiamond Chapter Thirty-Five: Memoria

3rd September 2014:
Zinger-you just had to stun me again. I told you Romeo & Juliet references scared me. Romantic tragedy OR some more My Thoughts: 1. She did not obliviate real Draco 2. Draco is also very smart and anticipated Hermione and saved his memories and they will get put back somehow. If romantic tragedy- 1. What about the baby. The baby is in same boat as Hermione -how does she have baby and protect and keep baby?
2. Hermione will go through life alone and 3. Draco ends up with Astoria if obliviated for real. 4. Draco keeps Malfoy name vs letting line die out. 5. Narcissa ends up with Quincy. 6.I need to reread some chapters about necklace because I thought that was power that saved Hermione . What special powers did Hermione have -she couldn't even fight off Nott or Grisilda without necklace. 7. Why is Hermione dangerous if last heir of Griffindor- she shows no signs of threat ever. Her life is work, love, sacrifice. 8. Nah!!! I'm going to hold out with the tiniest spark of hope that you have another surprise up your sleeve. You've got one more chapter -I'll give up all hope after that for Romeo & Juliet Ending.

You are a She Devil (hope no offence) but I love this mystery story and you have done a great work even though you are breaking my heart now.

Author's Response: Ok so I can clear some things up (but not all because a lot of your questions will be answered in both the final chapter and the epilogue).
Hermione won't go through life alone, as the people who love her wouldnt let her do so. As for Draco's memories, I have a one-shot planned that will be told in his POV after the events. The necklace DID actually save Hermione. And she is no more dangerous than she was before, but being the last heir of Gryffindor a lot of people will fear her. Sort of like people feared Harry when they thought he was the Heir of Slytherin. They wouldn't know what she was really capable of (Hermione actually has no idea herself.)
I can tell you no more, else it would spoil ending and oneshot and possible sequel. Sorry. And yes you were right about the Romeo and Juliet ending ;)
Sorry about breaking your heart!! But hang in there!! I am so glad that you have loved the mystery and that you think I did a good job!! (Notice that I'm ignoring the She Devil comment there.)
Thanks for another awesome review! Can't wait to hear what you think about the next chapter and the epilogue!! :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Cie Chapter Thirty-Five: Memoria

3rd September 2014:
NO! NO ABSOLUTELY NOT!

I'M IN TEARS, HOW COULD YOU!?!?!?!?!??!???

NO.

I HATE YOU

no...not really. please update soon. love you very much. i sorry.

Author's Response: Sorry :( *offers tub of favorite ice cream and box of Kleenex*
The next chapter is currently waiting validation. Shouldn't be too much longer- hang in there!!
Phew. I'm so glad you don't hate me!! And is it wrong that I am partially pleased my story made someone cry?? I am sorry for causing you pain though!!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Silenceislouderthanwords14 Chapter Thirty-Five: Memoria

3rd September 2014:
Besides the part with her parents, I do not like the ending of this chapter!! I understand her reasoning for doing it, but honestly at this rate she should have done it to all the people who know! They are all in danger as well, not just Draco. Please don't take that rudely, I am still trying to process my emotions!

If Draco goes back to how he was before, my heart might break a little more. Everything will have to go back to the way it was, before they fell in love. This is such a good story but so sad :( I love them together so much. They were meant to be. Ugh! Why does doing the right thing have to seem so wrong sometimes?

Anyway, emotional rant over! Sorry for putting you through that! This truly has been a great story to read, and I am so sad to see it end! I would definitely read a sequel, even if it's just a one shot about how Hermione is coping with the outcome of all of this, and her new life. :) Great job, seriously! I love this story :)

Author's Response: I can understand why you would think that she would've had to do the same to everyone who knew. But Draco knew a lot more than most of them did. He knew she was Godric Gryffindors ancestor. He also knew that she was capable of extremely powerful magic- wand less magic, even. She is powerful. And not only that, if anyone found out who she was, they would've used Draco the same way Voldemort might have used Ginny against her. And she didn't completely wipe his memories. She just altered them so that he didn remember anything that would've put him in danger- like the bits about the necklace and her heritage, and lovin her. As for everyone else's memories, maybe they should've been changed/wiped, too. But Draco was in the most danger because of his relationship to her. Now you could argue that Ron and Blaise could also be used against her in the same way, as could Harry and Ginny. But Blaise, Harry & Ron didn't know very much, except that Hermione was related to Gryffindor. And same with Ginny. Of course everyone did see what the necklace did, but they will chalk that up to a very powerful Patronus charm. Perhaps they will decide that the dragon symbolizes her love for Draco (which it sort of does.)
It isn't that the people who know are in any less danger or that she doesn't see the need to protect them too. It's that she ended to keep Draco safe because 1. She loves him and can't stand the thought of him being hurt because of her, and 2. It is too dangerous for him to be with her.
I hope that makes sense. I know the whole memory thing is confusing. There's still one more chapter and the epilogue left to go. They'll give you an insight as to what happened afterwards and such. As for the sequel, I am still undecided as of now but that may change.
Thanks so much for the awesome review and I'm sorry about putting you through an emotional roller coaster :(


 Report Review

Review #25, by JaydeTheSpaz Chapter Thirty-Five: Memoria

2nd September 2014:
WHY?! She better lift that nonsense in the next chapter! For shame Hermione!

Author's Response: Sorry, but that "nonsense" will end up saving Draco's life. Remember how Harry had to break up with Ginny so Voldemort didn't use her against him? Yeah. Think of it like that. Hermione didn't want to do it, but in order to protect him, she'll do whatever it takes.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>