Reading Reviews for Choices
  
71 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronusflight14 Books and Brothers

26th January 2014:
i love this story! i can't wait till you update again!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! The next chapter is in progress. I'm not sure when it'll be finished but I promise I will update eventually. Thank you for reading!

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #2, by Mackenzie Books and Brothers

22nd September 2013:
Please update soon! I love this story and can't wait to hear what happens next!

Author's Response: Hi - sorry I haven't been able to respond, it's been a while since I've been on HPFF.

I really wish I could tell you that I have an update coming soon, but the truth is that I have no idea. I've been more focused on writing original fiction as of late, but I do sincerely hope to get back to this. I write a little when I can, but not a lot.

I won't make any promises about any future updates except that there should hopefully be some eventually.

Thank you for your patience and for reading my story! It really does mean a lot to me.

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #3, by Mackenzie Books and Brothers

16th September 2013:
OMG please update soon I wanna know what happens in the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Britt Books and Brothers

9th September 2013:
This is BY FAR my favorite fanfic I have read! please continue!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you like it. I can't give you a time to expect an update, but I'm working on it! Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Something Like A Spy

17th July 2013:
“Isn’t it obvious? Clearly Selene and I are trying to make a human pretzel. So far our attempts have been unsuccessful, but I’m sure with a bit more practice, we’ll have it down in no time.”

That line cracked me up so much. I'm pretty sure I just woke up every sleeping person in this house. I blame it on you :)

Your Potter family conversations are just so witty, funny and all around awesome. It is probably my favorite part of this story, and the story is really good so far!

Author's Response: Haha, thank you so much! I really enjoy writing the dialogue in this story. Sometimes it's so ridiculous I wonder if this should actually just be a crack!fic. But whatever. Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Something Home for the Holidays

17th July 2013:
I love your Potter-family dialogue. It is amazing! Just thought I should let you know. Keep up the good works

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by PotterUnited Books and Brothers

23rd April 2013:
YAY YAY YAY UPDATE! I've been checking constantly for the last few months and was pleasantly surprised when my wishes came true... It made my day :)

Firstly I love how your story is so feel good. Even with the christmas drama and James's punishment it wasn't too dramatic, which is nice cos this story is a purely relaxing story to read (if that makes sense? I don't have to fear that the parents are going to kick the pregnant teen out of the house...)

James is hilarious. For an idiot he uses such exuberant language!

I can't wait to find out more about the complexity of Leena's relationship with the Weasleys, and Jelene's (my new couple name for them) relationship progressing.

Awesome chapter! I went through the previous chapters before reading this and they were just as awesome as I remember them being.

One last thing, please update promptly. Preferably in the next week. Or few days. Whatever suits you :) just please don't leave us hanging all this time without an update... Needless to say it was torturous. I missed my daily (or near daily) dose of James Potter's idiocy :) giving you 10/10!

Author's Response: I finally updated! Yay!

The last story I wrote was really emotional and dramatic and I kind of wanted to break away from this. Choices is primarily a comedy, with a side of romance and drama. There really shouldn't be too much suspense and tension in the story. There may be some, but not a lot.

The thing about James is that he really isn't unintelligent. He's by no means brilliant, but he's not stupid. He just doesn't think things through and gets himself into ridiculous situations. And that's why we all love him so much :)

Selene just has an interesting relationship with people in general. She doesn't like people and people don't really like her. Except for James, of course. But more on that later.

The update should not take as long this time. I can't promise it'll be soon, but it will not be as bad as last time. The new chapter is in the works and I have a very good idea of what I want to happen in it.

Thanks for the lovely review!

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #8, by EmmaLois Books and Brothers

22nd April 2013:
This chapter was funny and awesome. Update soon please its been soo long. Kinda. :P

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm working on the next chapter, but I can't say when it'll be posted. Hopefully soon(ish)!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Dezire_427 Books and Brothers

17th April 2013:
So, we're back on the late review cycle, it would seem. In my defense, my school's reopened and I'm now in the most difficult and important part of my education career.

However, talking about this chapter...

James, please come and live at my place. i promise to feed you fudge every day. Just, you awesome person every time i read you, I feel pretty sure my lungs will explode within my chest from all the laughing i do.

Drunk!Ginny is awesomer than Sober!Ginny. It seems impossible, but it's true. and Harry was so in character, it was actually really endearing and commendable.

The best part has to be "The Book of Horrors''. Finally a boy understands what it feels like to be born with two x chromosomes.

I loved the bit at the end, about how even though she is the mother of his unborn child, James has no expectations of Love of the Romantic Kind from Selene. Their friendship is exemplary. And sibling interaction is always loved :D

And Laura, face the facts of life. You're not a loser. You're the most fantastic internet pen-pal to have ever lived.

Love and cookies,
-Akansha.

Author's Response: Hello love! You're review really isn't all that late. And let's be honest here: this chapter was long overdue from me. So it's all good. And good luck with school!

I'm thinking I'm going to keep bringing up The Book of Horrors in the future. It's something that will truly appall James. Which will certainly provide endless humor for everyone.

Hee hee, the end bit was my little snub at guys who complain about being in "the friend-zone." Seriously, that's one of the stupidest things I've ever heard. And James, thankfully, is one of the guys who agrees with that :)

Aw, thanks. You're pretty fantastic yourself, Miss Akansha.

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #10, by LoonyLovegood11 Books and Brothers

17th April 2013:
Another great chapter :D
Good job xx

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #11, by potterfan310 Books and Brothers

15th April 2013:
I've said it before and I'll say it again JAMES IS SO GOD DAMN SUPERMEGAFOXYAWESEOMEHOT AMAZING!

"I present to you the man who killed Voldemort. Frightened of his own wife." - I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this line especially since James is not only a mummy's boy but just like his father he's scared of Ginny. Not too mention most of the other girls/women he knows ♥ ♥

Aww I love Ginny, she's just such an awesome mother. I think it's great she's all laid back and is like 'go do whatever, "Selene's already pregnant, so what’s the worst that can happen."

Love George!!! and drunk Ginny!! "I had an odd aversion to clothes and was prone to stripping down and running about the neighborhood starkers." - The funny thing is I can actually see James doing this, bless him. Laughing so hard it's unreal! :D

N'aww when Harry and James had their little moment awww. I'm sat here awwing out loud, it's so adorable.

"I don't understand why tea is always associated with England and the U.K. in general. We're not a bunch of tea-obsessed nutters like other countries..." - I agree with this so much, I hate tea with a passion and I live in the UK. I really don't understand all the fuss about it, coffee is so much nicer.

Ohmygod, the book. Crying with laughter!! And James "The terrible book of horrors."

Al and James bonding, *insert me awwing about a hundred times here* The Potters brothers are so adorable. And I like that Al's giving James advice even though he went for advice off him.

'Mu mum's, especially' - My instead of Mu.
'in a pool of jello' - Jelly is the UK name for Jello.
'Book of Horrors of my bed' - Off my bed instead of of.

Oh god, James never fails to make me laugh. Can he just get over his awkwardness and ask Sleene out.for.gods.sake. she's.already.carrying.his.baby. Can they just get together already??

When James metioned C'est La Vie, all I could think of was the song and it was playing in my mind as I read the end of this chapter.

So much Jelene ♥ ♥
I LOVE THIS CHAPTER SO MUCH!!!

12/10
-Potterfan310
Soph xx :D

Author's Response: Hello dearest! I always look forward to your reviews. They're so wonderful and amusing and you're just fabulous.

Yes, James really does take after Harry when it comes to that whole "fear of women" thing. Although, in their defense, the women they tend to associate with tend to be rather intimidating.

I'm glad you liked the tea thing! I am not from the UK, I'm from America. But I figured they're really not as obsessed with tea as we jokingly purport you all to be. I don't like tea either. Or coffee, for that matter. Like James, I drink hot chocolate.

Thanks for pointing out the mistakes! Like I said, this chapter was completely unedited, so I'll have to go back and fix those.

The thing about James is he's a horrible procrastinator. He puts things off for as long as he can. So he might need a bit of a push (read: a giant push many many times) before he asks her out. IF he asks her out, that is ;)

Thanks again for such a fabulous review!

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #12, by Hannah Books and Brothers

14th April 2013:
HII I'm Jewish, and it's totally fine by me. Not offended in the slightest. However, I don't think the Israeli Prime Minister wouldn't be horrified...we Jews don't live under a rock, you know, and we do know that other people eat pork and stuff. It would be incredibly awkward, but we wouldn't be horrified...other than that pretty great :D And yeah, I HATE Percy and Audrey...can I just shoot them? Or Avada Kedavra them?? They really don't deserve to live...JK Rowling should have killed Percy off rather than Fred in my opinion. Happy writings! :)

Author's Response: Haha, yes I do know Jews don't live under a rock. It was just for the purpose of the joke and to show how awkward James is. I'm glad you didn't take offense though :)

Yes, they're very unpleasant. Sometimes I like to imagine Percy would become much more tolerable. Other times... not so much. As you can tell.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Slygrifflepuffclaw Books and Brothers

14th April 2013:
Another great chapter! wish you'd update more though :(
Also whats with the new banner

Author's Response: Thank you! And yeah, I'm sorry about that. Life has been really busy and I've been having some writer's block, but hopefully the next update will come sooner!

I got a new banner because I didn't really think the old one suited the story. It was too girly and James wasn't featured on it very prominently. Plus, this one has my actual faceclaims for what James and Selene look like.


 Report Review

Review #14, by nott theodore Books and Brothers

14th April 2013:
AN UPDATE! YAY!

^Sorry about that. Moving on...

You know, one thing about your version of James is that he never fails to make me laugh. His thought process is so completely random and chaotic but I think that makes it even more hilarious.

Actually, I was laughing through the entire chapter. Especially when Ginny got drunk, and even more so when James received that book as his punishment!

I think one thing that I'd really love to see more of is all of these nice qualities that Selene supposedly has. I like the fact that her loyalty really came through in this chapter, but sometimes it is difficult to see why James likes her so much. Although I have to say, I do agree with Albus. James needs to man up and ask Selene out!

I thought this whole chapter flowed really well and I do love your characterisation!

Just a few typos I noticed:
'sleep wins over you and my conscious' - this should be conscience?
'some desire to self-sacrificially kind to you.' - be kind to you?
'see to think' - seem to think?

On a slightly irrelevant note, gallivanting is a brilliant word!

nott theodore :)

Author's Response: No need to apologize - I'm aware this took a long time - extra long, since the chapter was rejected at first.

Yes, I do know that I haven't shown much of Selene's better qualities. And this, actually, has been done purposefully. We see her from James's perspective, but I want people to understand her a bit more from other people's perspective. That way, when we do see more of Selene, it will really hit you :) I have plans for this. Believe me, I have plans.

Thanks for pointing out the typos! Like I said, I never edited this, so I'm actually surprised you didn't find more! I'll go back through and re-do this eventually.

Thanks for a very lovely review!

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #15, by Hogwarts Varsity Swim Capton Books and Brothers

14th April 2013:
Holy Merlin's pants an update! It made my day to see this up! As you said befor a little rougher then most of your chapters but a chapter non the less. I really can't wait to see what you have next for the young not yet a couple, couple.

Author's Response: Ugh, I know it took so long! I'm not the happiest with the chapter, but... it's a chapter. I'm glad you liked it and I should hopefully update sooner next time!

 Report Review

Review #16, by ObsessedReaderfromtheMoon Questioning

27th March 2013:
'Kay. So, I am starting to really love this story. It is quite funny, a tiny bit cliche with the pregnancy bit but not so much as its james/oc instead of rose/ scorpius, and your writing is flawless. Ps. I love cliche things with a bit of a twist. :)

Jamsie Poo, Jimmy Jams, James - whatever you'd like to call him- is perfect. I mean, his characteristics are clever and witty and smart. I love his whole The Look concept and I adore the fact that he spurts out random facts when he's nervous or just trying to get out of a sticky situation.

Selene is great too. For some reason, I feel a lot of admiration for her and I haven't really thought about why. She's just one of those characters that you immediately feel compassion for and yes, she's pregnant but her whole way of going about taking care of her baby and her sincerity to james about everything is beautiful.

As i said before, Ginny is excellently portrayed. But, now thinking about it, Harry is well portrayed too. You give us tiny tidbits of his personality subtly and I really enjoy the fact that you highlight his family first quality.

And, now that the characters are now at a safe point in the story, I am extremely eager to see what chaos ensues. I know your writing this week because you have break, but don't feel too pressured to write. We (your readers) know that you write out of your love to write and that you have a real life and don't always write because of your own personal life.

We love you and I can't tell you how happy it made me to realize that you had another story for me to read. I'm also on break this week and thought, well let's check on some old favorites and I saw this. I'm thrilled and I can't tell you how fantastic this piece of work is!

Please have a great week off! 10/10 m'dear! (Also, sorry about the long review!!!)

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! That was such a lovely review - no need to apologize for the length!

The whole premise of this story was to take one of your typical cliches from this site and try and put a new perspective and fresh twist to it - giving people something familiar, but in a different way, so to speak - so I'm really glad people seem to be responding well to it!

James just might be my most favorite character of all the ones I've written. I love being inside his head and writing all of his insanity.

I'm glad you like Selene. For the most part, people seem to be a bit indifferent to her, but I'm hoping that'll change with future chapters. I can't wait to tell more of her story.

Writing Harry is probably the most nerve-wracking thing I've ever done. It's so hard to do it because we all know and love Harry so much.

Right now, the plan is to be working in some more subplots and other things. I'd really like for this story to be less about a teen pregnancy and more about just the general insanity and goings-on of James's life - a large portion of which, admittedly, is focused on a teen pregnancy.

I've got around 5000 words of the next chapter written at this point and am getting close to finishing it. I'm tentatively hoping to put it in queue within the next two days.

Once again, thank so very much for your (very very) wonderful review, which now has a long response to match it!

Have a lovely break!

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #17, by ObsessedReaderfromtheMoon Home for the Holidays

26th March 2013:
So, I just want to tell you that I thoroughly enjoy your depiction of Ginny Weasley in this story. She is quite funny, witty, and down right sassy.

Love it.

10/10 for this story so far. Sorry I didn't review until now. :)

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! Ginny is one of my favorite characters and always has been so I'm glad you like my portrayal of her. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Hogwarts Varsity Swim Capton Questioning

22nd March 2013:
I literally check this page every 2 or 3 days to see if the next chapter is up. Please write soon!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks for that! I'm glad you like this story well enough to do that! The next chapter is currently in progress - has been for a while - I've just been swamped at school and having some writer's block.

The good news is, I'm just about to start my spring break - one week away from college! I'll have plently of time to write, so I should definitely get the next chapter up soon.


 Report Review

Review #19, by EmmaLois Questioning

20th February 2013:
Please carry on writing and update soon, I just can't take it! :P by far one of my favorite stories

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it so much! I am working on writing the next chapter, but my life is crazy busy right now, so it's had to be put on the backburner. Rest assured, though, that I will continue to write and update whenever I can!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Hogwarts swimteam caption Questioning

4th February 2013:
Please post more soon! I read thre the whole thing twice... I really enjoy it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am currently working on writing the next chapter of this. I do have to warn you, though, that I am rather busy college student and I have a lot of other priorities that come before my writing. I'll try to get it out soon, though. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Emily Weasley Stupid

21st January 2013:
This was a great chapter, but it was really sad. I feel really bad for James, but it wasn't only his fault that Selene is pregnant. I really like how Lily was in this chapter. You made her seem really funny, and without her, the whole chapter would have probably been boring. I think it was also very smart to intertwine the whole responsibility thing throughout the chapter. It made James realize that if he took responsibility, Selene wouldn't be pregnant. Good chaper!

Author's Response: Huh. You know, I've never thought about how sad this chapter actually is until now. And here I meant this story to be primarily a comedy. Oh well. Lily is a fun character to write. Actually, I like all of the characters. Thanks for leaving a review!

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #22, by Emily Weasley Unexpectedly Expecting

21st January 2013:
I really like your style of writing. Most of the pregnancy stories out there are from the girls point of view, not the boys, so it was a nice change. I like how you added so much of James's thoughts, it made your writing have more personality. Also, at first, the wide paragraph spacing got on my nerves at first but once I got used to it, it made your story a lot easier to read. Nice job!

Author's Response: Thank you! This is a very interesting experience for me, writing a story solely from a male perspective. James is a very fun character and his thought processes are a delight. I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far.

As for the spacing, I'm not really sure why it's like that. I try to make the spaces smaller, but they always end up big like that. I don't know why. Oh well, if you think it helps, I may just keep it like it is.

Thanks for reviewing!

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #23, by potterfan310 Questioning

21st January 2013:
YAY!!!

Yes, James :) Loving his therory on Mcgonagall and Dumbledore having a secret relationship. Even though old Dumbledore was gay I will still ship them forever :D

"Just that you’re a complete Mummy’s Boy. But everyone already knows that." - In total agrement with Selen, James is a mummy's boy through and through which is a reaosn I love him so much. ♥ ♥

"JAMES SIRIUS POTTER YOU PUT ME DOWN RIGHT NOW OR SO HELP ME, YOU WON’T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT ACCIDENTALLY IMPREGNATING A GIRL EVER AGAIN!" - Yes Selene you tell him, as soon as I read that I burst out laughing because Monsters Inc came into my head. :D

James and Louis conversation = pure genius and a little awkward!
Blame it on the coconut why don't you James, what did a poor innocent coconut do to you, you insane child :)

"Fine," I said, throwing my hands in the air. "It was… well, frankly it was pretty awkward, but it was good. I, er, enjoyed myself –" Really? Enjoyed myself? Why do I talk? "It was satisfactory –" Wow, I’m smooth. "Overall a pleasant, though odd, experience." - OH MY GOD James! I actually have tears from laughing so hard.

You my friend are totally awesome!! ♥

Really can't wait for chapter 10 especially since it contains Al and so far he seems such a cutie, I just want to pick him up and hug him ♥

Forever shipping Jelene ♥

12/10
-Potterfan310
Soph xx

Author's Response: Hee hee, when I was younger, I ALWAYS thought there was something going on between Dumbledore and McGonagall. When Jo revealed that Dumbledore was gay it was like all my hopes and dreams were crushed. I'm glad I'm not the only one who shipped them, though!

James IS a mummy's boy! He can denial it all he wants, but we all know it's true. And ha! I hadn't even though of Monsters Inc. when I wrote that line, but I love that you made that connection! I love that movie!

In some ways, James is very mature for his age (more on that later in the story) but he can also be a bit childish at times as well. That conversation with Louis was so fun to write, but also awkward for me as well. Luckily, I have a really good guy friend who gives me advice when I need it for writing this story.

No, YOU are awesome!

I'm excited to write more Al. There hasn't been nearly enough of him in this yet. I'm looking forward to introducing more of his storyline.

YAY! A ship name for James and Selene :) I love it!

Thanks for another one of your always lovely reviews!

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #24, by PotterUnited Questioning

20th January 2013:
Next chapter, please! I need drama! This chapter was really cool, however we already knew about James and Selene's 'deed'. It didn't need to be repeated. :) similarly with the Dumbledore-McGonagall convo... it was brilliant we got to see them arguing but it didn't need to be that long... I was longing for the drama! but I do love how we got to find out how James was so awkward discussing it. That was awesome :)
P.S I'm SO happy you updated... Been waiting ever since you uploaded the last chapter! :D
P.P.S I need you to give me a lesson on how to make such awesome, realistic and convincing characters. If my characters were half as good as yours I'd be proud!

Author's Response: I get what you're saying about the James/Selene thing, but I guess I thought it was necessary to show more of James's personality and character and to expand on his relationship with both Louis and Selene. But I get what you're saying, and everyone is entitled to their own opinion :)

Thank you so much! I love inventing characters, so I'm glad you think I do it well. I guess when creating them, I just try to think of all their faults and all their good qualities and just really try to think in depth about who they are before I start writing.

Thanks for reviewing!

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #25, by nott theodore Questioning

20th January 2013:
I love this chapter! James makes me laugh so much, his thought processes are really funny! I like that James isn't some perfect character like you see in most stories, his awkwardness is kind of adorable. I'm glad that we got to see some more of the relationship between James and Selene in this chapter because it makes it easier to understand why they are best friends, and how close they really are. I also enjoyed the conversation between James and Louis because we haven't seen much interaction between them so far.
I think this is a brilliant chapter and I can't wait for the next one, please update soon!

Author's Response: Awkwardness is a genetic trait in my family, so I delight in writing it all the time. James really is one of my favorite characters I've ever written. He's a delight.

I really like writing the James/Selene relationship. I'm sure some people are sitting there and wondering why they're friends, but trust me there will be more on that!

Thanks for reviewing!

-Laura


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>