15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HollyStone73 Recklessness and Thought

14th March 2014:
This was ridiculously cute!! I loved it! Super well done and fun to read. I have not read any stories about the founders being young and think you did very well with this. You played out the Gryffindor and Slytherin traits very well in the both of them and even managed to get some foresight into Hogwart's in there!! I love the relationship between the two of them. I also very much like you giving Salazar a bit of a troubled family life. It made me think a bit of Draco and his father. I think my favorite was how you managed to work in Hogwart's motto in there. All in all a delightful little story! I loved it!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you!

It was a very fun thing for me to write; it was something new for me and it was interesting to think about how things for them would be before the school came and everything changed between them. I'm very glad you liked it. :D

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #2, by TheGirlOnFire Recklessness and Thought

2nd March 2014:
Hello,

This is for the blackout bingo.

I really enjoyed reading this. I like the way you wrote Salazar and Godrics relationship. I found the scene of which they came up with the Hogwarts motto really funny. And the uses of Dragons blood. I thought the hints of a Gryffindor and Slytherin rivalry was very cleverly put in. The two friends may have been joking but in the future the rivalry is very mush serious.

This was fun,

TheGirlOnFirexx

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you. I loved writing this, thinking of life for them when things were simple and they were just friends. Before all the bad stuff. I'm glad you liked it.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #3, by anythingcouldhappen Recklessness and Thought

1st March 2014:
Hi! I'm reviewing this for Blackout Bingo :)

This was a lot of fun to read. The founders are such fascinating characters, and I love seeing them at any point in their lives! I liked that they were friends, and they worked together to beat the dragon (although Godric admittedly didn't do a whole lot). It always makes me wonder how they reached the point of Slytherin leaving Hogwarts!

I think you did a great job showing both characters qualities. Godric's rash rushing in, and Salazar's cool more thoughtful approach are exactly what you wold expect from a Gryffindor and a Slytherin! I liked their little motto too--and their thinking up the Hogwarts motto!

Overall, just a great story!

Sam

Author's Response: Hello!

It was fun to write. It was very new for me and I was interested in how thing would be before they started Hogwarts. I imagine, it would have been these two who were friends the longest and planning things that will eventually happens; it make what will happen a little sadder in a way.

Yeah, big, brave Godric didn't do much. Maybe a little of it was my Slytherin bias, but it fit where I want edit he story to go more. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by alicia and anne Recklessness and Thought

18th March 2013:
This is my 900th review! Woo! :D
I really like the friendship between Godric and Salazar, and how they are around each other, I'm kinda hoping for a Godric and Salazar romance haha.
That's good that Godric wants to save the Dragon, those mean Dragon dealers! I really like how you've shown Godrics bravery and Salazars fear, and Salazar pushing Godric out of the way of the spell, even if he did knock him unconcious.
I absolutely love how they came with the motto like that, :D If only they knew that it would become the motto for the school that they would build.
This was really fun to read, I really enjoyed it and I loved seeing the friendship between both Salazar and Godric, they're really good friends.

Author's Response: 900! Wow p, that's so cool! Well done! :D

Haha. No, no romance this time. Just close friends, like brothers... For now, at least.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by accioHPFF Recklessness and Thought

15th March 2013:
Sam! I've read a couple of these House Cup entries today, so when I saw another one on your author page, I thought I'd stop by and leave a review! :)

I really liked the fact that you based this story on their childhood. The idea that they would go into the forest on adventures is a really nice idea. At first, I did think them to be a little younger than sixteen, but having reread it, I think I was just making an assumption early on.

I liked the way that you portrayed their friendship- they appeared to be close, which is a little sad given their falling out later in life. I think you did well to get the banter and laid-back feeling into that friendship, so well done there.

You managed to weave the challenge features/mentions in really well, especially the five uses of Dragon Blood. That was one of the ones that I rejected as being too difficult initially, yet you managed to incorporate it in such a natural way. Well done :D

-Scott

Author's Response: Hey, Scott!

I just had to write them as teens. Given everything we know will happen, how conflict causes them to fall apart, I wanted to show them before the inevitable happened. When things were simple and fun. I really liked how it turned out. :)

Thank you so much. And for leaving such an amazing review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by CambAngst Recklessness and Thought

12th March 2013:
Hi, Sam! ☺ For some reason, I suspect this story has been very popular lately. ;)

So, I loved what you did with the friendship between Godric and Salazar. I think a lot of authors forget that these two were supposed to have been friends before their infamous falling out. Even though some of the differences of opinion are already starting to show through, it's obvious that there's a genuine affection between the two of them in your story. The way that Godric makes sure that Salazar eats, even when his father is punishing him, and the way that Salazar protects his fallen friend from the dragon and the Dealers bespeaks a brotherly relationship.

The banter between the two of them as they make their way back from the forest was clever and lighthearted. It definitely sounded like a conversation that the two of them have had on more than just this occasion. And you even managed to come up with a plausible explanation for where the Hogwarts motto came from! That was really, really clever on your part!

I thought you did a great job picking prompts that you could work seamlessly into your story. This didn't sound awkward or forced like most of the entries for this challenge. I commend you for not even bothering with the dreaded "characteristic of the champion's wand" prompt. That one ruined the majority of the stories where it was included.

Suggestions? I did think that it was difficult in several places to follow which character was speaking because of the lack of dialog tag verbs. Especially during the conversation between Godric and Salazar on the way back to Salazar's home. I also saw one small typo:

Men clad in animal furs and leaves came out into the clearing and used their wands to control the creature, while trying protecting themselves from potential fire. - while trying to protect themselves?

Overall, this was a really good entry. I think it makes a fine free-standing story, even without the challenge. Nice job!

 Report Review

Review #7, by MirandaTraveler Recklessness and Thought

7th March 2013:
I really liked this story a lot. Gryffindor and Slytherin ad close friends was really interesting, especially as so many stories are about after the rift between them. I really liked how they came up with the Hogwarts motto on the spot like that, too. Great story!

Author's Response: There are a lot of stories about the rift. I wanted to show them before that happened. I really like how it turned out, I'm glad you did, too. :)

Thank you for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by CloakAuror9 Recklessness and Thought

5th March 2013:
Hello! :)

I love your portrayal of Salazar and Godric's friendship! The two of them seemed really close and sometimes I just find it so hard to believe that their friendship ended so bitterly. I think you showed their character traits really well throughout the story. Salazar being so rebellious and sneaky like that and Godric being the helpful, headstrong and brave person he is.

A really great Founders fic, especially since its your first! I do hope that you write a second one, I think it'd be great. I really enjoyed the fact that the story flowed so well. Their 'little' adventure was really cool and I could easily imagine the two of them fighting off Dragon Dealers. Oh, and the banter the two of them had going was funny too. I just really enjoyed this one-shot! Great job! ♥

~Izzy

Author's Response: Hello!

Yeah, they're very close in this. It seemed interesting to write young versions, before the bitter rivalry and Salazar leaving the school. Having them as good friend kind of makes things sad in a way.

I have a Founders novel planned somewhere. Maybe I'll write that one day. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Celtic_Dreamer7 Recklessness and Thought

3rd March 2013:
This was very well written. I had a difficult time imagining these two friends so young but you wrote it very well. I didn't even notice the prompts until you mentioned them in the author's notes. Both friends coming together to "save" a dragon was an awesome adventure indeed. I could imagine things like this must have happened. It makes me wonder how much longer before they began the foundations for the school we all know and love. I didn't see any grammatical or spelling issues and the flow was really well written. For your first Founders fic, you did an amazing job. Well done.

~Celtic~

Author's Response: Hey!

Out of all of them, they seemed to be the ones most likely to me friends first in my head. Mostly because I like drama and angst and this makes their parting more sad in a way.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by MissMdsty Recklessness and Thought

2nd March 2013:
Hello there! Tag from the Review Battle on the forums?

I loved reading about the founders when they were young. I've always found it very hard to write them, since they come from a time I know so little about and even less about it in the magical community.

Their friendship was very heart warming, with Godric helping Salazar when he got in trouble at home and them going on little adventures.

My favorite part however, was the final one, after Godric woke up and they started writting down uses of dragon's blood and coming up with the school motto. It was such a fun and light story, but it was also action packed and didn't have a boring second!

The pace was very appropriate, the writting flowed perfectly, the descriptions were very good and I loved the overall atmosphere!

Good job!

Ral (A Gryffindor) :)

Author's Response: Hey, Ral!

I found it hard for the same reasons, that's why this is my first. :)

Their friendship is something I loved writing very much and I especially enjoyed writing about the motto and the dragon's blood. I'm glad you did, too. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Mihali1432 Recklessness and Thought

18th July 2012:
Sam! I'm here to review! And I decided to read this and I am so glad I did. I thought it was really good! I loved how close Godric and Salazar were and how they explained why they call each other Slytherin and Gryffindor. Also, the uses of Dragon's Blood was incorporated really well (And I thought the "To look funny" one was... Funny :P ). Anyways, great story!

Mike.

Author's Response: Thank you, Mike. I'm glad you liked it. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by luvinpadfoot Recklessness and Thought

14th July 2012:
I didn't remember that "Never tickle a sleeping dragon" was the Hogwarts motto! That's great that you remembered that and tied it into your story.

This story was written so light and carefree, but Salazar's father made me sad. It made all his punishments seem like he grew up in a bad home, although I'm probably looking too much into it.

His friendship with Godric was very well written and portrayed. I loved every minute of it! Wonderful story!

Slytherin House Cup 2012!

Author's Response: Yeah, I remembered it halfway through writing and just had to put it in. :P

Yeah, it's sad. He lives in a strict household, but it hasn't gotten to him (yet).

Thank you so much for reviewing. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Dark Whisper Recklessness and Thought

12th July 2012:
Heir,
Ooh, I liked these two adventurous young wizards. I think you did a great job on their characterization and I love the idea of "dragon dealers." Very good!

And Salazar getting into trouble all the time was well done too... a rebellious bad boy. I might have to read more Founders. LOL!

And I also really liked their sayings... "Never follow a Gryffindor and Never trust a Slytherin." So true! :)

Great job on this story and congrats on having so many stories now! Are you going for a record? LOL!

Go Slytherin!
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hey, Dark Whisper,

I loved writing the sayings, that was fun. :)

Thank you so much for reviewing. And, no, I'm not going for a record. :P

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Elphaba and Boyfriends Recklessness and Thought

11th July 2012:
Hi! I wandered over here from the Slytherin Common Room and just wanted to say that I like your story a lot! I like getting to see young versions of Gryffindor and Slytherin, their friendship seems believable despite their differences. I like that the story prompts are worked in in a very natural way, as well.

The one critique I have is that the way the dialog is formatted within the paragraphs makes it sometimes difficult to tell who is saying what. Breaking the dialog out into separate paragraphs would fix this.

Great job overall! :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm really glad you liked it. I'll go back and look at the dialogue format, Thank you for pointing it out. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #15, by BKL8008 Recklessness and Thought

10th July 2012:
Founders are usually another thing I run from, but this was a good one. To see the bickering boys as best friends, as most friends do, was refreshing. To hear about their boyhood, ambitions, and what they could do at that age was very much enough to make it a good plot. Good foreshadowing, as well. Well done!

Author's Response: This was my first Founders and I was kind of nervous about it, so thank you so much. I'm glad you liked it. :)

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login