31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BookDinosaur A Mother's Tale

4th January 2014:
Hello Deets! I'm here for the Ninth of the Twelve Days of Reviewing Challenge. :)

I really liked reading this! I mean, normally AU or non-canon stuff really bothers me, but in this instance it really did help us to see a different side of Narcissa that we don't see in canon until the very end of the series.

I really enjoyed reading about her love here. I think, unlike the other Death Eaters and her master, she did retain the ability to love, and her strong love for her son shows us that. I'm not really sure whether she actually loved Lucius, because I think their marriage was arranged, but she truly loved Draco and was willing to do anything for him.

I think the part with the Boggart really helped to bring out that side of her here, how she saw her son's body, making that her worst fear, made her a really caring mother. It was interesting that Draco appeared to her before Lucius in the Boggart, which madde it more obvious that she's a caring mother but perhaps not as caring a wife.

I really liked one line, where she says she cast a strong Transfiguration spell 'only her kind could cast'. I think it was a really good way of showing us how prejudiced she was, as if everyone who didn't have her skill was beneath her, somehow. It was very realistic, and was a great way of showing us her natural arrogance.

All in all, I really enjoyed reading this oneshot, I think it really captured Narcissa's love for her son and desperation to keep him alive. Well done to you! :D

Author's Response: Hey Emily =) I don't know what that challenge is but it got you to review my story so yay xP Sorry for the late response!

I am pleased you liked this despite not being a fan of AU stuff.

It's good to know you liked reading the way I portrayed Narcissa here and her love for her son. She did grow to love Lucius later on in their marriage (at least that's what I believe) but of course being a mother her love for Draco is much greater.

I am glad you noticed that point of Draco's body in the boggart appearing before Lucius' as it was done to make my point of showing that her love for Draco was above anyone else's.

Yes, despite being a good mother and loving her son and all that, Narcissa is still a pureblood with prejudiced views and I am pleased that you caught on to the little details hinting that. She is surely arrogant and I wanted to show it and make it realistic, so I'm glad it worked.

Thank you for your review. I am happy you liked this!


 Report Review

Review #2, by theblacksisters A Mother's Tale

16th October 2013:
It's not that Lucius cannot have a patronus, it's just that he's never bothered to learn. I mean, if Dolores Umbridge is able to make a patronus, Lucius Malfoy can.

Author's Response: hey thanks so much for reading and reviewing. Exactly, If Umbridge can, then Lucius also can =)

 Report Review

Review #3, by 800 words of heaven A Mother's Tale

26th May 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

I really liked this story! I don't usually like non-canon stuff, but I think it was a great way to show a side of Narcissa that we only ever get to see later on in the books.

I think it makes complete sense that Narcissa would abandon a fight to go to her child. We know that she'd do anything to save her son - including lying to Voldemort's face, so I don't think it's completely unbelievable that she'd leave a fight.

This was also a really subtle way of showing Narcissa's intelligence and skill as a witch - it takes a lot of planning and forethought and powerful magic to think up of the defences she put in place to safeguard her son.

That line about Lucius hardly ever failing really struck a chord with me. He fails in so many ways in the books, so it was a great bit of ironic foreshadowing (is that even a thing?)!

A wonderful piece! It was very emotive!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

I am glad you liked this story even though you're a canon person!

It's great to hear that you think it made sense for Narcissa to abandon the fight for her child, and you found it believable. I took the idea from her lying to Voldemort for Draco so yeah xD

Ah I always admired Narcissa and felt like she was a woman of intelligence and skill so this was my headcanon way of showing it!

Indeed, I always felt that Narcissa had too much faith in her husband - thus that line. As you said, it's ironic. (And yes I think it's a thing haha).

Thanks again for your lovely words!


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauder5 A Mother's Tale

20th May 2013:
Hi! I'm here for the review tag! :)

Aw, this was really good! What I love about this story is that it captures the essence of Narcissa's character! I don't necessarily think of her as a very good person, but the trait that separates her from many of the other Death Eaters is her strong love for her son (and for her husband too, I guess). Her love for Draco is what motivates her choices throughout the HP series, which is why this story is so interesting! It's also what made me sort of like her character in a way - especially in that moment in the forbidden forest when she no longer cares about who wins or who loses, as long as Draco is still alive. That's the same feeling I got from this one-shot. It was beautifully written with very vivid descriptions, and I don't have any criticism at all! Even though you say this is AU, I can imagine something simular to this happening in the original series!

I think that the part with the Boggart was the best part of this story. At first, I freaked out and thought no! He's dead! Draco's dead! And when he turned into Lucius I was confused for a moment before I realised what was going on. I think this shows an even more likable side to Narcissa, because it gives her a similarity to Mrs Weasley, who is most likely the most loving and caring mother in the series (perhaps there's a tie between her and Lily...) So yes, I guess that your story made me like Narcissa more, if that makes any sense, haha! ;)

Once again, you've impressed me with your great writing! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks a ton for your lovely review.

I am pleased you liked this story and found Narcissa portrayed well. Yeah, I tried to 'expand' on her love for Draco that we see in the books, in this story, and it's great to know that you got that feeling. I am flattered that you can connect this with the original series and that you found my descriptions vivid!

Ah I enjoyed writing the boggart part and I am glad you liked it too. Yes, Narcissa is a mother so I wanted to show that similarity between her and Molly. It's awesome to hear that you like Narcissa more after reading my story, and it made sense!

Thank you for all your kind words!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Illuminate A Mother's Tale

5th May 2013:
Hi! Review Tag!

This is a really nice oneshot! You always feel like Narcissa is not just a Death Eater, she's a very good mother and cares deeply for Draco. It makes complete sense that she would do everything you've written her to do in this story.

Good job incorporating the Challenge requirements, all of the spells and such made it feel comfortably magical xD Especially with the Boggart, that definitely gave some drama and surprise to it.

A peacock is perfect for Lucius! I love figuring out what all the characters' Patronuses would be.

Great job!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

I am glad you liked this one-shot, and that Narcissa's actions made sense to you.

It wasn't easy incorporating the challenge requirements but I tried my best so thanks for the appreciation.

Haha I love figuring out patronuses too. I always thought peacock would suit Lucius.

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #6, by GingeredTea A Mother's Tale

2nd February 2013:
Wow. I really enjoyed this story as a whole. You did a good job writing about a moment in cannon I've never seen written before. Thanks for the read!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I am pleased to know you liked it =)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Debra20 A Mother's Tale

21st January 2013:
Hey there! I'm here from the Snakes Review Tag.

Out of all your stories this one shot caught my eye almost immediately. There is always something special, something deep and meaningful about a mother's tale and her desire to protect her children. And this was Narcissa! I couldn't let the opportunity pass without reading a story where she defies everything for the love of her new born Draco.

I liked the fast pace of the story. The rhythm of the action, the fast movement of her actions and the quick course of her thoughts served as proof to her love for Draco and her urgency to reach his hideout and check he is safe. It created the much needed "feel" for a story of this sort that in turn allowed us to sympathize more with Narcissa.

Seeing we already had a testimony of Narcissa's love for her family in the books, it's not hard to imagine that it wasn't the first time she was willing to sacrifice the war she fought in, her master for the safety of her son. So on that account she felt perfectly in character. Very good portrayal of her motherly love. You offered us another chance to see that side of her that we didn't see in the books, except in Deathly Hallows. Not to mention that you managed to insert the prompts with ease until the point that they were part of the story. Had only one of them been removed the story would not be the same. Well done!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

I am glad that this caught your eye, I always believe in a Mother's love strongly too, so its good to know that you were interesting in reading this Mother's tale.

This was my first time writing action of sorts, so I am glad you liked it, and found the rhythm, movement, and course in align with the story feel.

I am glad you found her Narcissa in character, and didnt found the prompts to be forced in the story but rather as vital to the plot.

Thank you so much for your kind words!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Cassius Alcinder A Mother's Tale

21st December 2012:
Review Tag!

So this younger version of Narcissa with Draco seems to fit in very well with the image we see of Narcissa in book 7 during the final battle; seemingly right in the thick of things with the death eaters, but much more concerned with the safety of her family over anything else. You did a good job of portraying her strong maternal instincts and how that would be her driving force in the situation.

You mentioned the departures from canon, but aside from a couple details, it still didn't seem too far off from what was likely happening despite being AU. If Lucius was able to conjure a patronus, a peacock is certainly an interesting choice. It seems symbolic of his deep pride and boastful appearance, which would be a good metaphor.

The scene with the boggart was particularly effective; it provided us with a brief moment to gasp, before putting things back in the proper perspective.

Overall this was an insightful look at Narcissa's character and role as a mother.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading & reviewing!

I am glad you found this younger Narcissa close to canon, and liked the highlight of her maternal instincts.

Ah, I couldn't have explained the significance of the peacock patronus better. I thought along the same lines :)

I am glad you liked the boggart scene, it took me a few tries to get it just right with the flow xD

Thanks again! Glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #9, by KCKibbles A Mother's Tale

17th December 2012:
I'm here from the review tag :)

I really did like this since the Malfoy family has always interested me with their haughty attitudes and I just love jerks. Narcissa's desperation to reach her son was also very believable, especially after you see how much the family cares for one another in the books. Despite how much I like them, I've never read a story of them that took place in the first war so I did look forward to this.

"She wasn't a coward, she just was not one to endanger her son's life."

That part is pretty much what I think all Slytherins stand for (not endangering their lives), so I enjoyed that line.
How she guarded Draco was actually both amusing and impressive. Amusing because it seems overdone and impressive because of how much she cares for Draco and that she used all those enchantments and creatures to protect him.

It's sad that Draco was not able to avoid Voldemort in the end and the family got dragged into his service. This story really makes you sympathize with the family.

Although this isn't canon-compliant, I still enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

I am glad you liked it. The Malfoy family has always interested me too xD I am happy that you liked this especially since it was your first story reading of a First Wizarding War.

I kind of agree with you there, that line does stand for all slytherins.

Hmm, I didn't think of it as "amusing" but now that you explain it, I can see why it would be xD

Its good to know that the story made you sympathise with the family as that was my intention.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Lady Asphodel A Mother's Tale

16th December 2012:
Hello, I'm here from the review thread. :)

So, off to my reviewing...

This was a very good read. I loved how you described no matter what, a mother would do anything to get to her child. Now everyone knows that, you know, but maybe you are a mother yourself and so you put your input on how you would protect your child in case of situation like Narcissa's???

Well if not, then you really did a good portrayal of Lady Malfoy and Lucius even though he is a small part in this story.

I find Draco just as adorable when you wrote how was drinking his bottle.


Anyways, again this was an enjoyable one-shot, and please do keep writing. ^_^


-Asphodel

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for reading and reviewing! I am glad you liked this story!

Haha, I am not a mother myself, in fact I am very young right now - far from being a mother - but I have seen and know about a mother's love and thus wrote this. I am glad you found it a good portrayal.

I could actually imagine a cute baby Draco while writing this, so glad you found him adorable!

Thanks again, and I sure will!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Courtney Dark A Mother's Tale

4th December 2012:
Tag!
I actually really enjoyed this. I haven't read anything about the first wizarding war before and as I read yout fanfiction, I found myself wanting to read more.
I think a sign of a good fanfiction or story of any type is when it puts new ideas in your head, or makes you think about what you could write. This one shot did both of those, so good job!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading & reviewing! I am glad you enjoyed this, and flattered to know that it makes you want more, and that it gave you ideas on what you could write.

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Pixileanin A Mother's Tale

4th December 2012:
You picked a great setup for the "Triumphs over adversity" theme for this challenge. I loved the boggart in the hallway and how you wrote Narcissa's panic at finding her worst fear lying in front of her. The action flowed really well as you took us through her journey to the hiding place where she had stowed Draco away.

I think you did a great job with Narcissa, building her up and showing us what a capable witch she was without doing anything overly dramatic with it. Every action she had was well-thought and deliberately placed and I really enjoyed that about this piece. I know it's difficult to think through a challenge on a timed deadline, because I did this challenge too and kept second-guessing myself, but I thought you did a fantastic job including the prompts that you chose and leaving out the ones that would seem jarring or out of place. The addition of the Dragon's Blood that you snuck in there was a great touch.

The Narcissa that you portrayed is very much the Narcissa I envisioned at the end of the Second Wizarding War. Oh, what kind of future would Draco have had if they had turned away after the First War? Maybe you can run with that one day.

A very enjoyable read!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading & reviewing!

I am glad you liked this, from the theme to the action, to Narcissa's character.

Yeah, I kept second-guessing myself too, so its a relief to know that you think I did a great job with it.

Ah, that seems like a good idea. I would love to write on what kind of future would Draco have had if they had turned away after the First War. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #13, by teh tarik A Mother's Tale

2nd December 2012:
Hello! I'm from the review tag :)

Wow, this is one fast-paced and entertaining read! I love the action sequences! And these were a nice contrast to the softer, warmer moments where Narcissa shows her more maternal side :) She's never been portrayed as a particularly maternal figure in the books (yes, I know she fears a lot for Draco and all, but still...) and I'm really glad you chose to really accentuate this quality about her. I enjoyed the level of detail you went into to depict the elaborate protective measures constructed by Narcissa. The boggart part had me for a while!

And I think the story had a great ending; I like that it concludes with Voldemort's downfall and the uncertainty for the Malfoys.

OK, great work, and I hope to read more of your writing soon :D

Author's Response: Thanks for reading & reviewing!

I am glad you enjoyed reading this, and the action as well as warm moments, as well as the small details I put in, and the ending.

Thanks a lot for your flattering comments!


 Report Review

Review #14, by WitnesstoitAll A Mother's Tale

25th November 2012:
Here from the forums Review Tag!!

So when I was browsing over your page to decide which of your one shots I wanted to read, this one immediately caught my eye. Then, when I looked more closely at it and realized that this was a task one entry... I very nearly decided against reading it -- there were so many stories about characters and dragons whether real or metaphorical, that I just wasn't certain that I could stomach another one. However, I did click it and I'm quite pleased with what I found. This was very different from what I had expected it to be, and I suppose, a lesson on why not to judge a book (or a fic, in this case :P ) by it's cover.

I thought you did a very good job with Narcissa's characterization -- no matter her political or social affiliations, it was always clear in canon that she was a devoted and loving mother. I also thought you did a good job of balancing her internal monologe with the action of the scene -- the part with the boggart was particularly well written and gave me the chills.

Perhaps it's just your style of writing (I know myself, that I sometimes have a way of sort of writing sentences in a backwards/round-about sort of a way), but I felt like the only thing in this fic that could perhaps be improved on was the sentence construction. Some of your sentences seemed to use too many words to get to the point causing the flow of the story to be disrupted. As I said earlier, this happens to me all the time! I've found that reading a chapter out loud helps me to find the places where the wording gets a bit awkward, so perhaps you might find that helpful!

All in all, this was a lovely little one shot that I wouldn't at all of had a hard time fitting into my concept of pre-Hogwarts Canon if it wasn't for your A/N at the end!! It was well written and very sweet to see a softer more feminine side of Narcissa.

Well done!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

I know what you mean, I have read a lot of Task one entries, and I couldn't stomach any more of them either, lol. That's why I tried to write something that was a little more different and hopefully original, and glad you liked it xD

I am happy to know that you liked my characterisation of Narcissa. I tried to maintain a balance between the action and the internal monologue really hard, especially because I have never written action before, so good to know it worked for you :)

Since I am not a native english speaker, I understand that my sentence construction can be a little off at times, I just don't know what to do about it. Thanks for the tip though, I'll try the next time I am writing :)

Thank you so much for reviewing this, once again. I am glad you enjoyed this!


 Report Review

Review #15, by UnluckyStar57 A Mother's Tale

21st November 2012:
I'm here from the review tag!

Okay, the characterization of Narcissa is really spot-on. It doesn't matter if it was AU or not... You still managed to capture her desperation and her intense love for Draco.
The obstacles that she had to get through were priceless. I got a bit worried when I read the part about Draco being dead... But lo and behold, it was only a boggart! Excellent work!!

Overall, awesome job! I don't really have any constructive criticism... :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!! I am glad you liked this! Thanks x

 Report Review

Review #16, by Phoenix_feather123 A Mother's Tale

10th November 2012:
I thought this was a nice little story, not too long, yet not lacking detail. I loved the part when Cissy had to get past her own barriers.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for reading and reviewing. I am glad you liked this.

 Report Review

Review #17, by caoty A Mother's Tale

5th November 2012:
Hey there, I'm from tag.

So I love Narcissa, and your characterisation of her is lovely; you've balanced her social and political situation with her more human concerns as a mother very well, and... aww. I just want to give her and baby!Draco big hugs, because the latter is adorable in this too, and I don't usually consider Draco adorable. So well done with that.

That said, in my opinion, there are things here which you could improve upon. Mostly, it's just sentence structure - it can get a bit awkward sometimes, such as with:
It was easily seen that the Order members were overpowering the Death Eaters.
I mean, I get what you're trying to say, it's just... awkward? There are more straightforward ways which you can write sentences like these, I think.

Also, your paragraphs can get quite big, which can be very off-putting for the first-time reader.

Anyway, I hope this review wasn't entirely useless, and I'll see you around. :)

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading & reviewing!

I am glad to know that you liked Narcissa in my story and found Draco adorable, hehe.

Thanks for the CC. I'll look into the sentence structure and the paragraph lengths when I do an edit. Your review certainly wasn't useless..

Tahnks!


 Report Review

Review #18, by LadyOrobourus A Mother's Tale

5th November 2012:
Oh wow, first off amazing detail. I didn't think your Narcissa canon was off, she has almost always put Draco first. I loved the story. :3 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing! I am glad you liked my story, and you I think I maintained canon Narcissa xD

 Report Review

Review #19, by shadowycorner A Mother's Tale

4th November 2012:
I actually think this could easily be canon. Narcissa was always a devoted mother and perhaps Lucius knew how to produce a Patronus. Besides, his patronus being a peacock is so fitting.

I liked how you balanced out action with Narcissa's train of throughts. It kept me reading this all at once without being distracted. And I like reading about the stories that might've happened but we were never told. This was an interesting and creative blank to fill in. We could really see Narcissa's love for her son and her mother's instict working hard to protect him. I also liked the irony towards the end, where Narcissa hopes Draco will be now safe from the darkness, while we know that he won't because of his involvement in the 'let's kill Dumbledore plot'.

Great job. It was a nice read. :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for reading and reviewing. I am flattered that you think this could be canon.

I am glad you liked reading this. Thanks a lot!


 Report Review

Review #20, by magnolia_magic A Mother's Tale

16th August 2012:
Hi! magnolia_magic here with your requested review :) I'll just go through the things you mentioned as areas of concern, and I hope it helps!

Characterization: I think you've done a really awesome job capturing the most important parts of Narcissa's character. The first few paragraphs were a great way to show where her priorities truly lie. She isn't a die-hard Death Eater like Lucius; her main focus is always on her family. One part that was really striking to me is that she used the Killing Curse without a moment's hesitation, not even caring who she hit. It didn't matter, because anyone who stood between her and Draco was a threat. It was a great way of showing the lengths she'll go to in order to protect her son. I thought it was really well done :)

Her characterization remained strong throughout the rest of the story, too. Her boggart made perfect sense, and I loved how she was so gentle with baby Draco. She's the picture of a devoted mother, which is Narcissa's defining trait in the books, I think. You've done a great job with her!

Plot: The first half of this is very fast-paced and action-packed, which was so much fun to read. I loved the obstacles Narcissa placed to protect Draco; they were very creative, and I literally found myself on the edge of my seat as she raced through them to get to her son. You've got a real thrill ride here! The abrupt change of pace near the end gave me whiplash for a minute there; you've got all this action, and then it all drops off all of a sudden when she gets to Draco. But the sweet moment between mother and son was very well-written, so I got back into it pretty quickly :)

Flow: I think you're fine in this area. Like I said earlier, there could be a smoother transition between the action of the obstacles and the calm of Draco's room, but that's a nit-picky thing. I had to work to find concrit for this one!

Emotional intensity: For me, the strongest emotion came during the boggart scene. You did a great job describing Narcissa's reaction to the sight (physically and emotionally), and I was completely pulled in. You delve into Narcissa's thoughts and emotions throughout the whole piece, but that part stood out to me as the most intense.

Thanks for requesting! I enjoyed this a lot, and I think you did a great job with this challenge. Keep up the good work! :)

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing! Your comments mean a lot to me. I'll look into everything you mentioned. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Mihali1432 A Mother's Tale

8th August 2012:
Hmmm, I'm not a Malfoy reader but I have to admit, I quiet liked this! Although, I kinda wondered where the war was being held and where Narcissa went (Malfoy Manor? ) I still enjoyed it! I thought when you made her boggart Draco then Lucius and that's how she figured it wasn't real, cause Lucius isn't there! And, just saying, everyone has a patronus except maybe Voldemort. Just not everyone can preform the spell :P

I thought Narcissa's characterization was great! And her small little conceited thoughts were perfectly mixed in with her worrying over Draco. And the emotions that were flying around were well written too!

Although, I just wanna say I think they barriers would've been just a tad stronger than just a reducto on a wall and a blast ended screwt :p Although thinking to add barriers at all was a good choice! :D It made the prompts fit in nicely!

Great job Aditi!!

Mike.

Author's Response: Mike! OMG I can't believe I haven't responded to your review yet!

Thanks a ton for reading and reviewing first off xD

I am glad you liked this little piece of mine. Well I didn't really add those details since I didn't think they were necessary, but I will add them if I do an edit later.
Haha that's a cool thought, thanks!

I am happy you liked my Narcissa and the way her emotions were flying all over the place!

Haha I think so too, but I am not good when it comes to actions and barriers and stuff, you're the expert there, so I just put it in :P

Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing Mike :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A Mother's Tale

27th July 2012:
Among this fighting mass was one lone figure that was focused on getting out of the war zone and not on fighting enemies.

^ That was one of my favorite parts. I really liked it because it's so true. I feel like people see Narcissa as a coward but the thing is she never really chose a side. Sure she was on her husbands side but really she was on the side that would keep her family safe. I think blood purity obviously mattered to her but I don't think she would have been that hurt over Voldemort's fall and sharing a world with more muggleborns if it meant she could be with her husband and son.

You really took me on quite an adventure. It switched so easily that I did a little jump and was like, "He's drinking milk now? Oh wait! Different time!"

I love reading pieces where Draco is a child so the image of him drinking his milk and Narcissa watching him lovingly was really heart warming.

I also like that you made Narcissa attached to her husband even though he isn't really there. I read a lot of stories and they write the two as not being in love. I think they were, it's just Lucius was dug in so deeply he didn't realize how much he was harming her than helping her.

Nice job! I need to read more of these entries for the task still...I'm so behind! :D

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing!

I am glad that it was one of your favourite parts - I really wanted to convey the difference between Narcissa and the other fighters, and I am happy that sentence did it so well.

Yes, I agree with you, people see her as a coward, but she was always neutral (at least in my eyes). I am so happy to know that you share the same views as mine when it comes to Narcissa - and that my story reinforced them.

Haha thank you, I like switching scenes, I feel it brings more drama, and its good to know that you enjoyed it in a way.

I am glad that you liked the milk drinking scene, it was a way for me to convey Narcissa's motherly love =)

Yeah, well I have always felt that they were in love but it sort of faded away, and that's how I write them in my stories too.

Thank you so much once again for your sweet review, I am happy you enjoyed my story :)



 Report Review

Review #23, by megthechef43 A Mother's Tale

27th July 2012:
adluvshp,

I have never really thought much about what went on during the first wizarding war but this is an interesting take on Narcissa'a side of the story. I think Narcissa's true redeeming characteristic is her love for her son and I think you showed that well in this story. I love when she was perfectly content just watching her son eat. It was a truly sweet moment. I wish the last line had come true. I wish that the darkness had not returned.

I enjoyed reading your take on Narcissa's part in the first wizarding war.

Megthechef43

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing! I am glad you liked my take on Narcissa during the first war. I also felt that her love for her son was her redeeming quality and I am glad you think I explored it well. I think a mother loves the smallest things about her child so yeah it sure was a sweet moment :) Ah, don't we all wish that the darkness didn't return xD

Thanks a lot for your thoughtful review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Shortie A Mother's Tale

26th July 2012:
Whoa. I must say, whoa. This is a great fic.

I'm so glad that the wand description and the five uses of blood weren't crammed in. I've seen enough of the Task one stories with all the prompts crammed in uselessly so yay you :D

The prompts you have used have been inserted very skillfully and smoothly. I didn't feel like I was reading a story with prompts in it, rather like, I was reading a fantastic Narcissa story. So then again, Go YOU!

I didn't find any mistakes in grammar or vocabulary. So great work there.

I love the plot. You have taken so little and said so much. And who says Lucius can't have a patronus? Why can't he? Given the fact that he breeds/pets albino peacocks, it's a possibility.

So all in all this is great. Really really amazing :D

Happy passing the parcel :D

8Hugs*

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing.

I am glad that you liked my story and that you think all the prompts weren't uselessly crammed in and found the story good.

Aw fantastic Narcissa story? Really? Thank you! And I am happy you didnt find any grammar or vocabulary mistakes either.

Haha thanks for the patronus comment too. I am relieved to know you think it can work.

Thank you so much once again!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Jchrissy A Mother's Tale

26th July 2012:
Wow what a creative way to use the prompts! This story is a story on its own without the challenge and that's my favorite thing about it. I think your portrayal of Narcissa is amazing and so realistic. I've always seen her as the a mother whole would do anything to protect her son, and you showed that so well here!

I think you really displayed a ton of creativity in the use of your prompts! Like I said, this wouldn't even have needed the first tasks challenge to stand on it's own.

I also loved the part about how cute Draco was drinking his milk. It's so... Motherly. Haha!

Great job!

Jami

Author's Response: Hey, thanks a lot for reading and reviewing! I am glad you think that I used the prompts creatively. Aw, I am happy you think this story is on its own without the challenge itself. I am glad you think that my portrayal of Narcissa is realistic, and that I showed her well as the mother she is (I always saw her that way too).

Thank you so much for your awesome and flattering review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>