Reading Reviews for A Street Vendor's Rose
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DracoFerret11 Take Me Dancing

8th July 2014:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums here to review for you for the House Cup 2014! So, let's go over things:

Plot: What an interesting story! I wouldn't have thought to write about Hermione and Draco dancing, but now that I've read this, I remember that the VERY FIRST Dramione I ever read was called Two to Tango. It's what got me hooked on fanfiction in the first place. So well done and thank you for the memories!

Characterization: I think you wrote for Hermione and Draco quite well. Hermione was, of course, a bit more outgoing than book-Hermione is, but I can believe that Draco's influence would have changed that for her. And he was so charming and alluring. Really well done.

Descriptions: I loved the details you painted about the dance and how the street looked and felt. I could almost imagine being there. I also loved how you wove the Spanish into the story. Your translations were close enough, don't worry. :) Great job!

Emotions: I really liked that I could feel the passion throughout this story. The flashback in particular was so really good. I loved how you framed that with the poor couple who only wanted to dance. So sweet and lovely.

Interactions: Great job showing Hermione and Draco's relationship. I could completely believe that Draco would take her to Argentina to dance. It's beautiful and sweet and just a little over-the-top. So great, really. ;)

I loved the flow of this story. Congratulations on not breaking that flow when you added the flashback. It all worked very well. Good job and good luck to Slytherin in the House Cup!

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #2, by redrose97 Take Me Dancing

16th June 2014:
This. Is. So. CUTE!!! I just died. :D Plus I love Dramione so ya know that helps too. love it!

Author's Response: redrose97,

Awe, thank you so much for your review of this little story. I'm so glad that you liked it. It kinda goes well with your pen name. ;D

I really had fun writing it and researching people actually dancing the tango. LOL!

And Dramione? Yes, please!

Thanks so much again,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #3, by LeT11 Take Me Dancing

27th April 2013:
Wow! That was fantastico! :) Gracias for this story and the chance to learn something!

Author's Response: LeT11,

I had some fun writing this story, especially the couple that started the tango... so romantic. :)

Watching people dance so sensually is so inspiring. *throws roses*

I kinda just 'made' it a Dramione within an original fiction story. I'm glad that you enjoyed it.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper



 Report Review

Review #4, by sarsh Take Me Dancing

24th April 2013:
this is a very cute story!

Author's Response: sarsh,

Thank you so much for your little review. This story was fun to write as I imagined how the original pair that might've began the dance long ago.

I'm glad that you liked it.
Thanks for commenting,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #5, by ForeverCharmed98 Take Me Dancing

24th April 2013:
so love it! you know youshould write more and finish that other story of ur- 'Disappear with Me'...love that too :)

Author's Response: ForeverCharmed98,

Oh, thank you for your review of my litte tango story. I had fun writing of the poor couple who started it all.

Disappear with Me... well thank you for mentioning that one. I have gone back and read what I have for future chapters and I don't like it at all. It's quite terrible actually and the end I had planned is really, really fluffy and hardly believable. I'm not sure if I'll go back to it... but thanks so much for the encouragement. :)

I have thought... that if I ever leave this site, I'd like to finish all that I started, so maybe I will when my time comes to an end. *shrugs* So far, I only have 2 stories that are unfinished. The other 8 are completed works.

Thanks Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #6, by LovingYou Take Me Dancing

24th February 2013:
Where can I find this true love? *sigh* Draco and hermione are perfect for one another and you are perfect in making me emotional whenever I read your stories :) I love this, I love them and I absolutely love you!

Author's Response: Ah, true love... It really does exist, I can tell you. There are loads of single, lonely people in this world that would fall in love easily.

I too, think they are perfect for each other. Teehee.

And thank you so much for your compliment about my stories making you emotional. That is wonderful for you to say.

Right now, I'm actually working on a Dramione one-shot that is so sad, I cried while writing it. (Talk about emotional). Lol!

And I love you for your lovely review (and your name).

Keep seeking love and you my dear will find it one day. Probably with someone you least expect. :)

To Love...
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #7, by Cynthia Avila Take Me Dancing

13th February 2013:
My mouth is the one which drops to the dance floor (or any other kind of floor...) with every and each story you write about my favourite couple! You REALLY know how to go deep in the subject... and that thrills me.

About the other thing... well, I think that 22 years of dancing Tango Argentino had made me a "very passionate woman" not only on stage, so... I will be asking for Valentine s day (today!!) "a Draco", but not just for dancing... ;)
And it definitely has to have an extraordinary GOOD ENDING! Jajaja..!!!

Estare aqui esperando mas de tu ARTE plasmado en Dramiones.
Mi eterno agradecimiento Dark Whisper.

Author's Response: Cynthia,

Ah, thank you so much for your wonderful words. 22 years of Tango dancing? Wow, you must be outstanding and of course, passionate. For someone like you to find my story is truly amazing.

I hope you had an extraordinaryly good Valentine's Day. Tee hee. ;)

I entered your comments into an online translator. THANK YOU! You are so sweet and your words are much appreciated.

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #8, by Cynthia Take Me Dancing

7th February 2013:
Well. well, well... FANTASTICA HISTORIA... AGAIN !

Important note: I am from Argentina and I am a professional Tango dancer my dear Dark Whisper, so... imagine my happiness when I found your story... Hermione and Draco... the best romantic and passionate couple ever... now, the best Tango Argentino couple of dancers too... A DREAM CAME TRUE! GRACIAS POR EL REGALO... your ART!

Author's Response: Cynthia,

What? Seriously? You are a Tango Pro from Argentina?! Pardon while my mouth drops to the dance floor! Oh my stars, how wonderful and completely unexpected?!

I must apologize for any and all errors in my story (the language, the true history, my poor descriptions of dance moves, etc...).

I do love to watch professional dancers move so effortlessly and beautifully. I love the Tango especially because it is truly a lover's dance... Is it not? I mean, really, it is mesmerizing.

God truly gave us the gift of music and dance that can capture the imagination and inspire stories. The poses I saw in my research were enough to stir passion. Fantastica, for real!

To call my writing "ART" is a wonderful compliment. Thank you so very much!

Find your Draco and go dancing! :)

Gracias,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #9, by Silver Take Me Dancing

1st November 2012:
Amazing! :) very, very well written. insightful, too.

Author's Response: Silver,

Thank you. :) I'm glad you liked this little one-shot. I had fun writing the poor lovers and how he accidentally tore her dress.

Ah, the tango... a lover's dance, indeed.

Thanks so much for leaving a review.
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #10, by carla Take Me Dancing

31st October 2012:
your data about the Argentinian tango is a little off. It was the poor immigrants who invented the tango and therefore, they were the ones who danced it.

Author's Response: carla,

I agree 100%, which is why I wrote this original couple as being very poor immigrants (from Spain) living in Argentina.

I took a bit of poet license mixed with history (aka historical fiction) and came up with a poor immigrant couple making up their own dance as they went (the very first tango) in the street and had others join them.

I think I might go back and make it a bit more obvious of the history, perhaps having those that joined in be people like them (other poor immigrants) to support the true history.

In my hopeless romantic head, one couple must've started it, right? Maybe, maybe not, but that's why it is fiction.

Thanks so much for reviewing. I appreciate your insight and shall tweak it a bit when I have some time.
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #11, by MadiMalfoy Take Me Dancing

31st October 2012:
I dont normally read one-shots, but this one intrigued me! This piece was very well written, and I appreciate the depth of your research to make it all the better. I'm a huge fan of your most recent Dramione (Delilah's Book of Black Poems) and absolutely love the way you write and the depth of your writing; you make it seem real, and that is a very hard thing to do! Keep up the good work, write more! :)

Author's Response: MadiMalfoy,

You don't normally read one-shots? Well thank you so much for giving this one a chance. :) I'm so glad that you liked it and wrote a review.

I really did research the origins of the tango so that I could come up with something somewhat believable. But when I didn't find any kind of fiction or legend of how it started, I was a bit surprised and decided to make one of my own and I must admit I had fun describing their movements and how he tore her dress... :)

It is wonderful to see fans of my novel find their way to my other stories. It is a compliment, indeed.

Trying to keep things 'real' is a hard thing to do. Thank you for your compliments. They make my day.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #12, by Izzy Take Me Dancing

19th July 2012:
That was a lovely story and so beautifully written x

Author's Response: Izzy,

Oh, thank you so much. I'm glad that you enjoyed this little one-shot.

I wasn't sure that anyone would really, since it is about the dance really and not those two.

Thank you so very much for your compliment.

:)
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #13, by MagicalMrMistoffelees Take Me Dancing

14th July 2012:
This was absolutely gorgeous! It is the kind of passion I believe every girl wants in her romance, and every TRUE gentleman endeavors to give to her!

Wonderful!!

--MMM

Author's Response: MMM,

Wow, Thank you! I LOVE your comment. It is romantic all by itself. :)

Yes, a TRUE gentleman... Is it a lost art form? Maybe not lost... just rare.

Thank you so very much for your Review!

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #14, by lulu Take Me Dancing

4th July 2012:
Great story!! I hope you write another chapter :)

Author's Response: lulu,

Awe, thanks. I'm so glad that you liked it. :)

This story was just a little one-shot. Only one little chapter is as far as it will go. But I do have other stories on the Archive that you might like.

Thank you so much for reviewing. I wasn't sure if I would get any response for this one since it is a little light on Dramione storyline.

Truly, I thank you for commenting.
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #15, by Gin_gin06 Take Me Dancing

2nd July 2012:
How come this one-shot only has one review?? This is amazing, it made me tear up, it gave me chills when both Draco and Hermione and the old lovers were dancing. I love how the storys not focused on just Draco and Hermione, but the origin of the dance and how you incorporated their love with it. The story behind the dance with the poor lovers was beautiful. I thought the idea was well written. And the way you wrote their love for each ohter, I could truly feel it in the writing. This is my favorite one-shot ever!

Author's Response: Gin gin06,

You are so kind to me. Thank you.

I wasn't sure that anyone would review this because this is not a 'normal' Dramione. Nothing is said of how they fell in love, or how old they are, or any of those kind of details about them.

I'm so glad that you liked my story of the original couple and how the Tango came to be. I suppose it is an "original fiction" story embedded into fanfiction.

Thank you so much for your lovely review and that you understand that it is really about the dance. I cannot thank you enough.

:D

Dark Whisper



 Report Review

Review #16, by AppreciativeReader Take Me Dancing

30th June 2012:
OMG... it was the most intense one shot story every.

I could actually visualize the streets of bygone era Argentina, the gas-light street lamps and the couple dancing.

I was entranced by reading the story. Loved it. One of my few favorites...

Author's Response: AppreciativeReader,

Wow! Thank you so much for your review of this little one-shot story.

I'm so glad that you liked it, especially since it is more about how I imagined this dance came to be and not a true Dramione story. LOL! :P

It really means a lot to me that you left a comment. You will most likely be the only one.

My heart thanks you for your kind words.

Much appreciated,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login