Reading Reviews for Ignite
  
460 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MercyWaters Steam Out

19th January 2016:
This is GREAT. Absolutely love how you've characterized them all. Can't wait to read more!

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it! Plenty to read from here. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ayumi Embers

8th January 2016:
OMFG.
It is literally so late (or should i say early?) but this was one of those rare gems that you just CANNOT stop reading. All of that in a single sitting, and absolutely no regrets whatsoever. You're an incredible writer!! So many things about it were absolutely incredible - character developments, beautiful descriptions, povs that were so clear that you didn't have to write who they belonged to...the list goes on. I am ecstatic that there's a sequel, which I am going to start right now :D thank you so much !!

Author's Response: In a single sitting! Wow! That's quite a session, but I'm thrilled you enjoyed it so much you couldn't put it down (switch it of?)!

Thank you so much for all your kind words, and I'm utterly grateful you enjoyed the story. Now go, enjoy the sequel!

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #3, by cherry_pop94 Embers

18th December 2015:
Hello!

I'm so sorry that I didn't review every chapter as I read this. Actually, I'm already on Oblivion, but I just couldn't zip through this trilogy without at least leaving a few reviews for you!

This story is absolutely PHENOMENAL. I read this in about two sittings I think because I just could not put it down! I have terrible timing though, I've got exams!

There are just so many things about this that were absolutely brilliant. The plot, the pacing, the characters, the drama, the fact that despite all this darkness, you managed to put in so much humour still. You're an incredible writer and this is one of the best stories I've ever read here.

Methuselah's death absolutely broke my heart. I did not see it coming at all, but I should have known, someone's got to die here. I just... he was such a lovely character! His fears about his relationship with Selena were just so real. And when she realized he was dead... chills down my whole body. I could feel her pain through me it was absolutely devastating.

Seriously, this series is absolutely brilliant! I've favourited them all!

Stefanie

Author's Response: It's about time I got to your reviews! Frankly I'm just happy for any readers, so never be sorry, even for not reviewing! Not to mention it's been more than made up for with the slew of attention since, for which I'm HUGELY grateful.

I never really intended for the series to get as dark as it did - I knew it would grow up from the hijinks of the earliest chapters, but I figured the humour would remain. I'm glad that turned compelling rather than a bit odd for mood.

Poor Methuselah. I'm cruellest of all to him; there was an awful lot more to the character in terms of how he could have grown and developed and I still kind of hate myself for ending it when I did. But then, if his character arc was already over, it wouldn't have been so compelling that he DID die.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by The Basilisk Heartburn

17th December 2015:
It isss rare for me to review one chapter right after the other but thisss, thisss ssstory demands it. I am absssolutely in love with how you have crafted the charactersss. I know from the sssumary that there is more thingsss to come than what hasss happened thusss far but honessstly, I am hooked with what you have written already. If thisss was just a regular ssstory without the coming added sssussspenssse of the quarantine I would ssstill be enjoying thisss ssstory.

Author's Response: I have the Basilisk's attention. This might be dangerous.

The kids were quite fun to write in all their teenaged silliness. I do sometimes wonder if there'd be mileage in an AU of 'Ignite, except if the illness didn't happen,' which wouldn't be really an AU at all, just a more regular Next Gen drama.

But I digress and you are hungry and I am very grateful for your kind, snakey words!


 Report Review

Review #5, by The Basilisk Steam Out

16th December 2015:
I decided to ssstop by and give a review to sssomething of yoursss. I figured there was little better than to look into what ssso many othersss have enjoyed. Clearly you have made a mark by earning a Dobby and I can sssee why.

I was instantly charmed by your wordsss. You have made very clear and well rounded charactersss that are full of life. I love how you filled Ssscorpiusss with wit. His humor highly amused me. I like his quipsss and how he just juggled thingsss and rolled with the punchesss as it were.

I think though I knew I was going to like thisss ssstory when I read the line about how Hufflepuffsss hunt in packsss. It is ssso true! You have a very good grasssp on the charctersss and houssse traitsss.

With your comedic touch and way of making the charactersss real along with having a good narrative voice, I look forward to reading more of your ssstory when I get the chance to return.

Author's Response: I am lucky indeed to get so much Basilisk attention! You are a little hissier than in past days, so I hope you're well-fed. I don't want to be marauded by a hungry Basilisk.

Scorpius has always been a hoot to write, and really is the cause and source of most of the comedy of the series. So it's just as well people like him, or they'd doubtless find my writing hard to stomach!

Not that I want you to really stomach anything about my writing. Or me. Let's, in fact, forget I used the word 'stomach', and I'll just thank you and we'll move on and I'll invest in some mirrors?


 Report Review

Review #6, by AutumnRed Embers

16th December 2015:
This is, genuinely, one of the BEST stories I have ever read. I loved the elaboration on characters, giving them very distinct qualities and traits. The story itself is just BRILLIANT, and I remained captivated the entire time. I'm envious at the genius ideas throughout, as I could never think up such amazingly creative and different things. I must say I sobbed at Methuselah's death. So much emotion and wit went into this and it paid off exceedingly well.

Off to read the next of the series (which I'm so glad you wrote)!

Love and Magic.
xoxo,
AutumnRed.

Author's Response: Thank you! I am so pleased you enjoyed the story, and a little sorry I made people cry at Methuselah's death. It was pretty tough to write, poor kid.

Thank you so much for reviewing, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the series; it's now complete!

~ Slide


 Report Review

Review #7, by Crookshanks11 Embers

10th December 2015:
This story was absolutely amazing, and I loved every second of it! And i'm holding out hope that in the sequel Draco will become a slightly more decent human to his son.

Author's Response: Draco does have his very own arc in the trilogy. He's certainly different by the end to how he was at the beginning. Maybe he won't disappoint you too badly!

Thank you so much for your kind words and for reviewing. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review

Review #8, by LiveInTheAM The Melting Pot

4th December 2015:
I know this is a review made for a chapter long ago written and inevitably unread, but I have to say this before I forget. I've been reading this story non-stop and don't intend to ever quit until I'm done, and - allow me to affect true Harry Potter fashion here - bloody hell, mate, you are one talented writer. Your pace is perfect. Your descriptions are individual and delightful. And your characters are deep. I'll say it again, you are incredibly talented. Publish something, anything.

Author's Response: I got to the review! Eventually, it's been a busy week. I'm so glad you've found the story and are enjoying it; I hope you stick it through to the very end.

I do, indeed, self-publish some bits and bobs; they're out there in the cyberspace somewhere for those who know where to look. ;-)

Thank you very much for your kind words, and for your review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Hannah Irons in the Fire

16th November 2015:
Really loving your story! It is very well written with engaging characters and an intriguing plot. I love your interpretation of Scorpius in particular.

Author's Response: Really glad to know you're enjoying the story. Scorpius was a pleasure to write; popped into my head fully formed and was a nuisance until I agreed to tell his story.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Anon Embers

2nd November 2015:
Absolutely beautiful. This story is brilliant. You've made me laugh and cry and everything in between. I am speechless. Just amazing. Thank you.

Author's Response: I am so glad you've enjoyed! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Kaist Embers

16th October 2015:
Hi, I'm an anon who probably never would've found this site if it weren't for TV Tropes. What can I say about this story? I can say... I can say it blew me away, like wow. OCs, now, OCs are usually difficult and the characterizations of the new generation of Potters and Weasleys get so very old and tired in this fandom- but this is different, and I saw myself in Scorpius and Methuselah. There's irony in that, considering how different they are. But isn't that the point of a lovely story? It resonates with you. And I saw Methuselah's sacrifice coming from miles away, but oh, how I wish he had lived. Your little cast and their situation were refreshingly different and maybe just a little bit beautiful.

And Lockett- I wanted to comment on her. Because it's not so often that we see the one who deals with everything via humor in a jaded position, y'know? Or if they are, it's usually stated flat out. But you didn't do that with her, and that made for a really good compare/contrast situation with Scorp.

So thank you for writing this. It was brilliant.

Author's Response: Yay, my TV Tropes rec! I've always been so pleased by that. And I love writing my OCs, and subverting tropes where I can, so I'm glad both have worked for a satisfying story!

I wouldn't have thought anyone would see themselves in BOTH Scorpius and Methuselah, but thinking about it they do share certain insecurities and engrossing themselves in aspects of themselves to control that (or you relate to them in an entirely different way).

Lockett was a challenge to write; I wanted the cranky mentor archetype, but producing a sardonic, older character laden with a LOT of her own issues was tough. Satisfying, but tough, and she made a fun foil for Scorpius.

So glad you enjoyed! Thank you for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #12, by RoseFromGryffindor Hot Blooded

11th October 2015:
Until Professor Lockett cam it I was screaming at them to use Veritaserum

Author's Response: Veritaserum did have to come in, but yeah, as the chapter establishes, at this point in time Veritaserum is MUCH less used! But Lockett can, of course, brew it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by RoseFromGryffindor Rising Heat

10th October 2015:
Nononononononononononononononononononononononononononono

Author's Response: Sometimes I'm mean.

 Report Review

Review #14, by StarFeather Fever Pitch

8th October 2015:
Hi, Im happy to be back to your story again. The story got more interesting after the first student caught the unidentified infection in the previous chapter. Im completely knocked out by your well planned characterization. If I dont have work tomorrow, Id like to read till the end of the story. One after another, teachers got sick and most of the students caught the contagion and Rose Weasley had to be charged with looking after them. Even Lily Potter was caught. Plus a drunken unreliable professor. How can I say, its thrilling, cant stop reading, not only mystery but also full of friendship. And you set one more entertainment for readers. Investigation by desperate students. At least Methuselah Jones isnt desperate, I know. Im certain he will help Scorpius with finding answers.

I enjoyed the scene of the question and the answer in front of Ravenclaw CR. How did you think of the question?

Ill be back tomorrow! Congrats, Dobby Awards!


Kenny

Author's Response: Really glad you're enjoying the story! Things pick up from here, heavily. :-D Nobody really knows what they're doing, and while Methuselah's pretty smart and confident, he IS also only a 16 year-old boy!

I can't lie; I trawled riddle books and pages and the like to find the question. I am no Riddle-smith.

Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #15, by TreacleTart Heartburn

20th September 2015:
Hello again!

Back for chapter 2!

Wow! I don't know this Miranda girl well at all, but can I just tell you how much I dislike her already. Whatever she did to Scorpius sounds pretty awful. It's a shame that he doesn't feel like sticking up for himself and correcting the lie. It must be miserable walking around having everyone think your worthless.

I really enjoyed the whole interaction with Warwick and Scorpius. I liked that Warwick didn't just plant the dungbombs the first chance he got, but instead waited and planned the best moment to do it. He sort of reminds me a bit of Colin Creevey in a way.

I wonder what Albus was upset about in the beginning in the common room. Everything so far suggests that he doesn't really get upset or lash out in frustration, but he was clearly frustrated with Scorpius. That seems unusual and then for him to deflect the questions instead of giving Scorpius a proper answer.

Rose came off as a bit of a git here. Obviously, she's listening to what her boyfriend tells her, but it's really a shame that she doesn't realize he's a humongous git. Anyway, the way she laid into Scorpius like that was a bit below the belt. If she could stop being so blinded by hate for a few minutes she might actually realize what's going on. When she said that about Miranda, I was a little surprised that Albus didn't say something. I know he's sworn to secrecy, but I think it probably really bothered him not being able to correct his cousin.

This was another good chapter! The dynamic between all of your characters is excellent and I'm really enjoying how this is progressing.

Good work! I'll be back for the next chapter soon!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hullo!

Miranda has been a brat, absolutely, and she's good enough at it - and he's been hurt enough by it - that he doesn't want to get into a public slugging match of he said/she said.

Tim's pretty eager to please, but he's a canny kid. He knows how to do it right. Also, he's a Slytherin (so cunning, but harder to plant dungbombs on a Hufflepuff!).

I never really picked up on that thread of cranky Al in this chapter. I originally intended a bit of a subplot of how Al wanted to focus hard on his NEWTs and do well but Scorpius kept horsing around and that created a tension between them - the sort of 'do you remain friends as you get older?' thing - but then Plot Happened and there was no room for that thread.

Rose doesn't know what she's doing; she's been lied to and she's not psychic. BUT she's being a bull in a china shop, and she does know, deep down, that Hector is Flawed. And she has a serious bee in her bonnet about Scorpius. So she's ignorant, but kind of wilfully ignorant because it's inconvenient for her to think about it.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by TreacleTart Steam Out

20th September 2015:
Hi there!

I'm making an effort to review all of the Dobby nominated stories and that led me here. Congratulations on your nomination!

To be honest, I'm not really sure how I haven't read your stories before. I've heard nothing but positive reviews of them and just the summary of this story alone was enough to convince me that I'm going to like this.

I was immediately drawn into your story by Scorpius wandering through the train station on his own. I wondered where Draco and Astoria were and why they wouldn't accompany him on his departure for school. It's kind of sad that he feels like it's less complicated if they aren't there. I wonder if that's because somethings wrong with Draco or because Scorpius is the normal embarrassed teenager.

Your characterizations really stood out to me. I adore Scorpius as the snarky, quick as a whip, sort of socially awkward boy. I also enjoyed Albus as calm and collected. I think the way you wrote the friendship between the two of them creates a really nice balance. They seem to sort of feed off each other.

There was one thing that I really loved and it was a minor detail, but something that stood out, was the fact that Ron was nice to Scorpius and even laughed at his jokes. I literally have never seen anyone make Ron amicable towards Scorpius, but I'm so glad that you did. I always liked to think that Ron had a good sense of humor and was a nice guy and I think after all of those years he might be able to move past his own problems with Draco. The part about Hermione's last name made me giggle a bit too. That seems exactly like something she'd do.

Rose was quite the pistol and I'm not sure why she hates Scorpius so much. To me it almost seemed that he's really into her, but since she isn't into him, he's decided to drive her crazy so at least he gets a bit of attention.

As for Rose's boyfriend, he seems like a tool. I know Scorpius was looking to start problems, but there's just something about him that grates on my nerves. Maybe it's his inability to keep up with the witty repartee.

I thought what Harry said to Scorpius was really sweet. Of course, Harry can relate to being alone at the train station and it was really kind of him to let Scorpius know that he was there for him if he needed it. I know Scorpius felt awkward about it, but I think deep down it means more to him than he's letting on.

This first chapter really was very enjoyable and did a great job of introducing each character. I feel like I now have a clear sense of who each of them is and what's going on in their lives. I can't wait to see them develop and to see where this plot goes.

As far as CC goes, I did notice one tiny little typo, but that's it.

And wve had this conversation over and over. - weve

All in all, a very solid start. I'm truly eager to read more. In fact, I think I'll head to the next chapter right now!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: I have been terrible at replying to reviews. *cough* I'm glad you've heard good things! And gladder you're here now!

Scorpius is a pretty normal embarrassed teenager in some ways, but his relationship with his parents is, to say the least, rather fraught. But he and Al work well together; this Al could do with someone to make him brighten up, and this Scorpius definitely needs people to calm him down!

I kind of hate the trope of Ron being antagonistic to Scorpius. I can see him never wanting to be nice to Draco (maybe able to be a Polite Adult but never more than that), but I don't see him actually judging Draco's child without reason. And Ron is good enough to his family that Scorpius being Albus' friend is a reason to be NICE. But then, I am very protective of Ron.

I couldn't see Hermione taking her husband's name at the best of times; I absolutely can't see her wanting to be called, "Mrs Weasley." No way!

Scorpius' actions are a little bit 'pulling pigtails' for attention, yeah. Also a lot retribution for Rose being mean to him - but also over the years it's become a bit of a chicken-or-egg rivalry, with poor Albus in the middle.

Hector's mostly just on the mean/selfish end of teenage boy. Which is pretty bad sometimes tbh.

I hadn't intended on the Harry/Scorpius connection when I planned the story, but it became very obvious once I realised! So while Harry hasn't known how to approach Scorp, despite being Albus' friend, he still wants to reach out for him on his own terms.

Curses! Typos even after all this time and editing!

Thanks for reviewing! Glad you enjoyed the chapter.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Penelope Inkwell Sackcloth and Ashes

18th September 2015:
Hey there! I remember I enjoyed this story so much the first time, but I wanted to re-familiarize myself with it a bit before Dobby voting.

Poor Scorpius. I mean, Albus had a point--what he did was more than a little stupid and unfair. But, like he says, Scorpius prefers an audience. Having 2/3 of the school or so giving him the silent treatment is probably the worst punishment you could give him. Especially with Al not talking to him, either.


The difference was that where Rose ranted, Hestia was more the kind to conclude her diatribe with informative pamphlets... And according to Albus, Scorpius had taken the pamphlet explaining what a menace to society he was and had it framed. She'd not had the heart to tell Hestia.

Somehow I think that leather pants aren't going to be quite as anti-Malfoy as Rose suspects...

I'm glad that you show us this bit with Rose and Hector. When smart girls are taken in by jerkish guys, I really like when you get to see why, because otherwise it doesn't seem to match up to their character. I mean, 'we're all fools in love' or whatever, but since it's quite clear that Rose isn't at all in love with Hector, I'm glad that we can see why she doesn't realize how he is. He's a completely different, seemingly quite likable and even considerate, person around her.

Oh Methuselah. You're such a frustration, and such a joy *cries*

It cracks me up that Scorpius is so up on the gossip, but it seems very him. He's such a social creature.

I have to say, insulting someone's earrings is pretty catty and unnecessary, but I think Selena's pretty justified in being miffed over getting detention. Especially a Forbidden Forest detention. No earring is worth that.

'Presumed destroyed, Professor, it's not proven.'
--bahaha!

Reading this just reminds me of how incredibly well you manage to weave such humor into the angsty, horrible situations that are soon to come. That's such a gift. Congratulations on your Dobby nominations! You've earned them!

--Penny

Author's Response: Yay, returning readers!

Albus is right; Scorpius was entirely petulant and lashing out. He kind of wants it both ways; he doesn't want to fight for the truth, but he doesn't really enjoy being judged on it. But he could cope with silent treatment, until it's from Al!

Yeah, Rose is perhaps being a bit oblivious in assuming leather trousers are going to deter anyone. Unhelpfully, Hector fails to compliment. But noo, Rose doesn't love him - she is, indeed, more interested in something easy, fun, in someone likeable (as he presents, of course, differently to her!).

Methuselah, such a hoot. And of course Scorpius is up on the gossip! He's a fussy little fellow sometimes. Selena IS totally petty enough to make an unkind, catty comment about someone's earrings, but she really IS getting a disproportionate punishment! Entirely there by bad luck.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by HeyMrsPotter Like Wildfire

13th September 2015:
Me again :)

I like that there's a hint of something going on with Scorpius and Draco in this chapter, and that makes sense with him travelling to King's Cross on his own for the previous two years. I wonder what it is... Rose pushing that subject can't be a good thing!

I really loved your desription of the forest, especially when the centaurs pased by, I really felt like I was there hearing them with the group. The twist in events here was so exciting! The build up was great, with the centaurs being spooked and then the fire and what happened to Scorpius at the end! I need to read the last few Dobby nominees but I'm going to add this to my favourites and come back to it asap!

I can really see why this was nominated, congratulations again.

Dee

Author's Response: I have been rubbish with replying to Ignite reviews. *cough*

Scorpius and Draco have a strained relationship - well, it rolls out in the story, but you're definitely picking up the clues! Though Rose doesn't realise she's poking an awkward topic.

So glad you've enjoyed the story so far! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by HeyMrsPotter Sackcloth and Ashes

13th September 2015:
Hey!

Another really enjoyable chapter. I liked the dynamic between Rose and her friends in her dormitory. It's obvious from their conversation how much she complains about Scorpius, he really gets under her skin doesn't he?

I'm so excited to read on about the groups venture into the forbidden forest, I can only assume it's going to lead to more disagreements between Rose and Scorpius, which I'm very much looking forward to :p

Dee

Author's Response: Rose is pretty fixated with Scorpius for someone she doesn't like. And to be fair, he does wind her up considerably. But she does have reasons, and they're not JUST an unstated attraction. ;)

Doubtless anything those two do will include more disagreement. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by HeyMrsPotter The Melting Pot

13th September 2015:
Hi, again :)

Oh goodness, it all went on in this chapter! I can see why Scorpius reacted the way that he did because of Rose throwing the Miranda thing in his face but at the same time Albus was totally right, it's Miranda and Flynn that Scorpius is angry at, not Rose. Having said that, Rose definitely gave as good as she got with that bat-bogey hex! Boy, there's a lot of tension between those two isn't there? I feel sorry for Albus being caught in the middle of them.

Another brilliant chapter :)

Dee

Author's Response: Scorpius threw a bit of a tantrum here! Rose wasn't to know what she said was a sore spot, but it was still unkind; Albus, however, is right. And also suffers a lot stuck between them! Rose doesn't hold back. Her temper is still her father's.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by HeyMrsPotter Heartburn

13th September 2015:
Me again :)

I'm really intrigued as to what the story behind Scorpius and Miranda's split it. By not telling us straight away, you've got me really interested in the story already. It's obviously something really bad...And the fact that Rose is using that as a way to insult him, oh dear! I wonder why he won't tell the truth about them.

omg, I laughed so hard at this line- I know that would be a dark, dark deed indeed, but I am not responsible for the existence of Hector Flynn. Youll have to take that up with his mother

Another great chapter!

Dee

Author's Response: I am cheap with the Scorpius/Miranda hookup - I mean, the story explains a lot about them, and a lot about people's preconceptions etc. In many ways, the reader starts out knowing about as much as Rose. There are secrets, and lies people tell each other, and uncovering the layers is a lot of the story.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by HeyMrsPotter Steam Out

13th September 2015:
Hello! I'm here on a quest to read the Dobby noms! Congratulations on your nomination :D

Hey, Mister Potter, Mrs Potter. Little Potter. when I first read this I had to do a double take because of my username :p

I think this is a great opening chapter. You've given just enough away so that I know where we are in the next-gen lives, what houses they've been placed in and such. I'm liking the personalities that you've given them so far, though I'm not keen on Flynn at all, Rose needs to dump him asap :p Harry was also perfectly in character by asking Scorpius if he could help at all, that was a nice moment between them.

On to the next!

Dee

Author's Response: Well, your username makes me want to sing, so making you double-take is the least I can do. ;)

I'm pretty proud of this chapter as an intro, so I'm glad you enjoy it, glad it works for introducing everything. Flynn's a pretty flawed guy, and Rose could do a lot better (unfortunately she has Scorpius). I hadn't intended originally on making a thing with Harry and Scorpius, but the similarities between them became impossible to ignore!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Penelope Inkwell Steam Out

11th September 2015:
Hello hello! I know I really enjoyed this story, but apparently I failed, when first reading through, to leave a review on this first chapter. But that's about to be remedied!

Ugh, Rose, break up with this guy. He's not even worthy of an adjective. Just an...ugh.

I liked Scorpius' characterization right from the start. You can tell that he uses humor as a shield, yeah, but it's also a central component of his overall personality. He's incorrigible, but you can't help but like him (unless, maybe, you're Rose. Or a scorned Hufflepuff). I enjoyed his awkward interactions with the Potter-Weasley parents, as everyone tried to figure out what to make of him and how to be polite.

Oh, Methuselah. Reading about him all the way back at the beginning gives me many emotions!


CC:

And wve had this conversation over and over.
--"w''ve" is short an e and has an extra apostrophe.



Your characterization is as excellent as I remember. Really good work, and congratulations on your Dobby nomination!

--Penny

Author's Response: Yay more reviews.

Aww, poor Hector - nah, he's not great. He is, however, a teenage boy and thus not beyond redemption. Rose is using him for his pretty face anyway.

Scorpius emerged in my head fully-formed and demanded I write a story about him. So I can't lie, right from the beginning, it was easy to get his personality down. I haven't had as... determined a manifestation of a character in a while.

Gah, typos, even after all this time. And thank you for the congratulations! Cheers for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #24, by StarFeather Like Wildfire

5th September 2015:
Hi, Ive read through from the first to here and decided to leave review. I like the chapter 1 and this chapter so far. Its so exciting to read the part when the centaurs were coming. Its so thrilling. You set each character very well. I like your definition of Albus, Scorpius and Rose. Albus is always calm and sees every good nature in a person like his grandmother, Lily. Scorpius is seeking for something thrilling and ends in being misunderstood and labeled the son of the Death Eaters. Rose always thinks that Scorpius is suspicious. I like the spot where she spoke ill of Scorpius, saying, So next time you misbehave and get away with it, Malfoy, I should just write to your father? I like his reaction and her apologetic attitude, too.

I love the scene when Scorpius grabbed her hand focusing on centaurs in front of them, hiding with Albus. Rose squeezed back tightly, which was the most impressive part in this story. After reading this story, I went back to the forums and posted your story in the best novel at Dobbys.

The last part is very intriguing and mysterious. Ill keep reading.

Kenny

Author's Response: It took me how long to get to these responses?!

Very glad you're enjoying the story. I try to present most of the characters here as different to the usual tropes, but still based off similar assumptions people have made about Next Gen characters (though my Rose is fairly typical in many ways).

Yeah, Scorpius has a lot of issues about his father. Rose pushed too far, but she's big enough to accept that she did and apologise. Even if she doesn't like it.

Thanks for reviewing - and nominating!


 Report Review

Review #25, by MuggleMaybe Melt Into Me

17th August 2015:
I have no words.

That's a lie. I have many words, but they are all jumbled with the emotions in my head from reading this. Perhaps a list...

1) I got only one hour of sleep last night thanks to my total disregard for anything other than this story.

2) THIS--> 'Get in the queue for hell, but be ready for a long wait 'cos some people have got express tickets.' --> WHAT A LINE! :wub:

3) Everything about this chapter was just so overwhelmingly, emotionally amazing. And then you go and close with that letter from Harry, who I already love so much, and MY HEART WAS NOT PREPARED FOR THIS!!!

4) Also about the letter, but I feel the poetic justice in Harry giving Sirius's watch to Scorpius deserves its own accolades. So brilliant, so moving.

THIS STORY IS UNBELIEVABLY GOOD! Like, why aren't you published yet? (Or maybe you are?) I would pay the outrageous price at a bookstore to own this book. In hardcover. Even if it wasn't on sale. Sincerely.

I hope you are VERY VERY VERY proud of this story, because you should be!!!

In awe,
Renee

Author's Response: I'm still only a LITTLE sorry about not enough sleep due to story reading. *cough*

Sometimes I give Scorpius good one-liners. Actually, no, sometimes Scorpius breaks into my brain and delivers good one-liners, then yells at me until I write them down. He's finnicky like that.

I was so excited when I got to write the letter from Harry! The bond with him and Scorpius wasn't planned at ALL, and then I was writing the very first chapter and the similarities between them struck me. I knew I had to revisit it, which was tough as they're separated by quarantine for the whole bloody story. But the letter seemed apt, as did Scorpius getting Sirius' watch.

Any publishing I have received is all self-published, and science fiction crime thrillers, which isn't always the cup of tea of my Harry Potter fanfic fans. If only I could publish this, alas. JK would rightfully have me. :-D

Thanks a whole bunch for your kind words and review!

- Cath


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>