Reading Reviews for Break Out
  
293 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RedHairGinny XV.

24th April 2014:
Romione forever!
Oh my god! This epilogue was lovely.
And I feel the need to clarify certain things here - about my review of the last chapter.
I wrote it in a state of confusion as to how it had all happened.
Now I understand it better, and on second thoughts, Percy was a perfect person to put over there.
He needed to do something to show himself, to show everyone he's still a Weasley.
Except, I still don't get the Voldemort-dying-from-Expelliarmus part of it.
Anyway, your story, on the whole, was very nice. I liked it a lot.
A wonderful take on what would have happened had Harry died.
I'd still like to imagine the canon version as being better (JKR wrote it - duh! Also, not as many people die there!) but this was still a well-written and surprisingly perceptive story.
Oh, I know I must have told you that a thousand times by now. But really, you have interpreted the characters really well. Your portrayal of them is perfect too!

 Report Review

Review #2, by RedHairGinny XIV.

24th April 2014:
Umm... I'm not flaming or anything, but the ending was kind of disappointing.
You built up to what should have ben a wonderful grand-finale, but the climax was nothing like what I had anticipated.
I don't even understand it. Why would Voldemort die of three Expelliarmuses? It doesn't really make sense...
And who were the three people you mentioned? Ron and Hermione... and Percy?
How would Percy know to use Expelliarmus? He knows hardly anything about all this!

 Report Review

Review #3, by RedHairGinny XIII.

24th April 2014:
Oh! Sheer happiness!
It's so good that Bellatrix was killed by Molly, in the same way as in the book.
I thought for once when they both met that there would be a twist here - Molly would die instead. But yay! You killed Bellatrix. I don't really know why, but I hate that woman.
I'm still sad for Charlie, though. He can't be dead...

 Report Review

Review #4, by RedHairGinny XII.

24th April 2014:
Nonononononononono.
Not Charlie.
If you've killed Charlie too... I don't know what I'll do.
But no, Charlie can't die. Not possible. No.

 Report Review

Review #5, by RedHairGinny IX.

24th April 2014:
Another cool chapter.
This was much better, and at the same time, much worse than the previous!
Do you get what I mean? It was better as there was very little grief, and worse because there was less action as well...
I think the four of them should have attacked the Death-Eaters, though. From the behind. One Stupefy for each of them, and they could have rescued Charlie, too.
And since the Statute of Secrecy isn't going to be followed up anymore - what with there being no Ministry - I don't think it would have mattered.

 Report Review

Review #6, by RedHairGinny VIII.

24th April 2014:
No... this is way too bad to comprehend!
Why would you kill Neville and Dean?
I don't like this one bit.
It's not enough that the canon deaths had to happen. No, Harry has to die too. And Dean. And Neville.
This is unfair.
Okay, (drawing deep breath) I understand why you did this. I love your story, I love your imagination, I love your depth of perception, I love everything about your style of writing.
It's just too dark for me to bear, though. I know, it'll get better.
I'm hoping that happens soon, because except for the deaths, this story is one of my favourites.

 Report Review

Review #7, by RedHairGinny IV.

24th April 2014:
This is really very amazing.
I think you have played the characters very well, nothing seems OOC.
It's exactly what might have happened if Harry had died. It's not at all difficult to imagine all of this taking place, and I think that displays your wonderful perception of the characters.
One word for this - amazing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by BKL8008 XV.

25th January 2014:
Sorry it's taken me so long.
A great ending to a great AU story,and as I usually run from AU's, I am glad I didn't on this one. Well crafted, excellent work!

Author's Response: I'm really very excited to see you returned to finish the story at all, especially knowing it's an AU.

Thank you very much for giving this one a shot -- I loved writing it, and it's even better knowing how much you enjoyed it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by Han Alister XV.

29th October 2013:
Okay. This is one of the very few fanfictions that have actually gotten me it tears. Great writing and great plot!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That really does mean so much, knowing that I was able to evoke such emotion in you -- and knowing that it apparently doesn't happen often makes it that much more gratifying. I'm just so happy right now!

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review -- it seriously means the world to me that you thought it was good. :) I hope to see you back very soon, too!


 Report Review

Review #10, by theblacksisters XV.

11th October 2013:
Please write an alternate ending?

Author's Response: I find it lovely that you're asking for an alternate ending to what is, essentially, an alternate ending! That's awesome to me somehow. :) I don't think I'll be returning to this story to write any more of it, alternate or note, but if you wanted to write your own and credit my story, I'd be interested to see how you did it!

Glad you enjoyed the story -- thank you for this review, and the others too! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by theblacksisters XIII.

11th October 2013:
why'd Bellatrix have to die?

Author's Response: Harry Potter is, to me, a good-triumphs-over-evil story at its core, and even in this story, that core won out. Many people died before Bellatrix, of course, on the "good" side, but it was her due to die in a way as horrible as they did.

I hope you enjoyed this chapter anyway! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by theblacksisters VIII.

11th October 2013:
Does this HAVE to have a happy ending? And if it does could you, like, write an alternate ending?

Author's Response: A happy ending was definitely not guaranteed, and in general, it was fairly grim. But I am glad someone out there prefers sad endings to happy ones! I'm the same way. The more likely something is to make me cry, chances are better that I'll like it.

Thank you for leaving your opinion!


 Report Review

Review #13, by theblacksisters IV.

11th October 2013:
I don't blame you for enjoying writing this chapter-I probably would too. It's a good one.

Author's Response: I'm happy you liked it! ♥ Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by theblacksisters I.

11th October 2013:
Great idea-looking forward to more.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far! :) This was one of my favorite things I put on this page -- it was the sort of thing I always wanted to write, and am so glad I did.

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Larry Hotter XV.

22nd July 2013:
Perfect ending.

All is well and they can live in peace.
Wonder what happens to Ginny in this AU. No James, Albus or Lily.

Weird, when you think of it.

Great job. Loved this story. Just a shame it was so short! :P

Author's Response: Even through all the deaths, there is peace at last in the epilogue -- and after all, what else is an epilogue for? I sort of like to think that Ginny might have tried dating Dean again, or she might have found someone completely new. I don't have a definite ending in mind for her, but definitely no James or Albus or Lily, like you said. Very weird!

Thanks for all your reviews, even the more honest ones. Again, I'm so glad you loved the story, and it really does mean a lot to me to have someone read what I write! I look forward to hearing more from you in the future. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Larry Hotter XIV.

22nd July 2013:
I'm a bit sad after reading this chapter, knowing it will be over soon. :(

What happened to Charlie, did Bellatrix kill her?

Still curious to how things will wrap up in the last chapter.

Well written, will definitely check out your other stories.

Author's Response: Charlie did die at the hands of the Death Eaters, yes -- he died so that Draco, Oliver, and Hermione could escape, and I'm very proud of him for laying his life down for them like that (even though, you know, I wrote it).

Thank you for reviewing! I'm so glad you thought this was well-written, and that you did end up enjoying the story and seeing it through. I'd love it if you checked out my other stories!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Larry Hotter XI.

21st July 2013:
Loving these late chapters.
Hermione being transformed to a now dead Lavender was kinda macabre. Also, Dean's potion is kept as well? What are the deatheaters planning on?

Author's Response: I'm very glad you're enjoying these chapters! As for what the Death Eaters were planning, storing up the Polyjuice of those they'd killed -- it isn't clear in the books, but I imagine them as being used as scare tactics, or to confuse and trick the survivors. If Dean Thomas, for example, walked into Shell Cottage claiming to have escaped the Death Eaters, the people who already were at Shell Cottage wouldn't necessarily know right away that he wasn't really Dean.

Does that make any sense? Probably not -- but it's my rationale anyway. ;) Thank you for continuing to review, and I hope you continue to enjoy as we build toward the climax of the story!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Larry Hotter X.

21st July 2013:
My last review seems to have glitched a bit! :p

Last chapter was a bit disappointing, but by no means is it gonna stop me from finishing this story! :)

I loved the start of it, but was just left with a sour taste at the end. 4 DE's wouldn't be such a big deal for the party IMO.

Anyway, this new plot twist is just awesome!
I love how you managed to use that one detail from book 4 and use it as something major. (Who would have thought of that!?)

You are a genius. :)

Author's Response: They have a tendency to do that sometimes. :) I am glad to hear that you're sticking it out to the end! You do only have five chapters to go (four, I think, after your last review), and I'm anxious to hear how you'll find the ending.

Again -- so glad you like the twist! I tried coming up with as plausible an explanation as possible, if the canon ending was thrown out the window, and I worked very hard on it and the rest of the story. Genius? Maybe not, but I appreciate the sentiment all the same!

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Larry Hotter X.

21st July 2013:
WOW! In true JKR fasion did you reveal a key point of the story.
We.. thought out!
Ofcourse Harry's blood went through his veins... You are a GENIUS! :)

Author's Response: That's an awesome thing to say -- thank you! I can't pretend to be even half the writer J.K. Rowling is, but I wanted to build up to the revelation of the mystery behind Voldemort's blood and why he's dying, and it really makes me happy that you enjoyed it in the end.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Larry Hotter IX.

21st July 2013:
This chapter was 10/10 from the start, until the end when all they did was lay an egg. This chapter quickly turned to a waste of time, unfortunately...

I have to disagree with your interpretation of the characters here. The Weasleys would NEVER let Charlie be and just walk back home. I found it completely wrong.

Also, McGonagall should not be afraid of someone, but rather afraid that someone gets hurt. Again, IMO, that was wrong.

Rememeber she attacked Snape even though he was headmaster and Hogwarths was under DE control. She was there just because of the order, not because she was afraid.

Author's Response: I'm very sorry that you didn't like this chapter and that you thought it was a waste of time. I actually must disagree with you (which I'm sure you expected, since I wrote it): Even if their mission wasn't successful, any mission at all is progress. You have to remember that with Harry gone, the survivors of the battle have no way to guarantee their victory, no safeguard against losing. As far as they're concerned, their only hope is gone.

As for letting Charlie be, they certainly didn't. It's not that they just gave up on him at all. But there is a very real risk of danger at play in this chapter and how beneficial would it be for Ron to throw himself at his brother's captors, only to get himself captured and killed to? The answer's simple: It wouldn't be beneficial at all. The Weasleys aren't sitting idly by. They're working as hard as they can, but all the survivors also happen to be pragmatic and sensible about their situation.

I don't really understand why you think McGonagall shouldn't feel fear, either. Certainly it's not something she feels often -- Ron even makes note in the chapter that he'd never heard her sound scared before, but that absolutely does NOT mean that she isn't. She stood up to, and attacked, Snape, but who's to say she wasn't afraid while doing it?

I'm very sad that you didn't like this chapter, but I hope you will continue to read on. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Larry Hotter VIII.

21st July 2013:
I had to skip reviewing the last chapter because I just had to read on! :)

I am kinda glad this chapter is over, because damn, it was dark and depressing.

Luckily I've read your note at the end of the chapter, telling me that this is rock bottom.

Hopefully it will get better from here for out heroes.

The scene with Harry hanging high made a impression on me. The way you convey the feelings of prisoners are like they are real.

I've read some WW2 books by prisoners in camps, and Hermione's and Charlies parts really reminded me of them. You got the feeling right.

Author's Response: This story has the tendency to get dark and depressing -- that's largely what I like writing, when it comes down to it -- but I hope you'll stick it out anyway. :) It's not a light subject at all, because Harry's death really cast a shadow over the entire war. It was for a reason, as I hope you've seen from the first chapter, and they're working on a plan, of course.

Harry in the air was a very vivid spooky image I had while writing this story, but that's a good example of what I'm talking about -- one thing I absolutely did not want to do in writing this novella was sugarcoat things and make them seem less horrible than they actually are. Horrible is a weak word to use for how I see things, too; they're indescribably bad, and that's the nature of the story.

I'm glad you thought Hermione's and Charlie's parts reflected that feeling! I studied WWII and the Holocaust in depth my last year of high school and did draw on what I learned. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Larry hotter V.

20th July 2013:
OK.

First off, allow me to humbly apologise for believing that you would turn Draco to an unselfish hero.
*humble bow*

You've actually nailed the character of Draco, and that is VERY rare. :)

I am suddenly no longer worried about Draco-Hermione pairings etc.

I can finally breathe out and relax and just enjoy this amazing story.

The plot thickens... This is the first 10/10 chapter, and my guess is there are many to come! ;)

Author's Response: No apologies necessary. :) But see? If you'd abandoned the story on the suspicion it was a Draco/Hermione, you'd never have known it actually wasn't! I'm glad you thought Draco was so in character, too; he was surprisingly tricky to write, but I went back and read some portrayals of him in the canon books to try and nail him down here.

The plot thickens indeed! More is definitely to come, and I'm very glad you've made it a third of the way into the story and appear to be keeping with it still. That really does make me so happy, and I truly mean that!

Thanks, as always, for reviewing!! I'm trying to keep up with your reviews as they come in, mostly because I have a bit of a backlog, but also because it's neat to sort of "read" the story alongside you. I hope to see you back for more before too much longer!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Larry Hotter IV.

20th July 2013:
I just loved the first half of the chapter.
I felt so sorry for Hermione...
It was truly gruesome, you really nailed the emotions.

The second part got me worried. As I said in my last review, that I was scared of screw-ups. Well, I feel a Draco-Hermione ship in the making.

If true, I WILL abandon this story! >:(
The LAST person on earth Hermione will hook up with is Draco. I truly despise that pairing.

Only one story made it work, and that was "Regretfully Yours"

Author's Response: It's good that you found Hermione's emotions so realistic! They were definitely intended to be so -- I try always to make my stories as real as HPFF can be, and hearing I've accomplished that is always very gratifying.

I myself am not a huge Draco/Hermione shipper, mostly because I find it to be an essentially unrealistic pairing, but I've been pleasantly surprised to find a couple I enjoyed over the years, and even took on the challenge of writing a canon-compliant Draco/Hermione one-shot. Rest assured, though, that "Break Out" is never, ever a Draco/Hermione, and it's not listed in the pairings, either. Ron and Hermione are firmly together at the beginning, and whatever happens throughout the course of the book, she won't go running after a Malfoy.

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Larry Hotter III.

20th July 2013:
I must admit, that a HP fanfic hasn't actually got me so... involved in the story.

Usually when stories goes too far AU, I drop them like a bad habit.

This one is so well-written, that I can't let it go.

After reading all the good stories on fanfiction-net, I was left with the not so good ones, and finally got bored of HP fanfics(only FF I read).

Now after an incident that gave me some sick-leave and free time, I tried again here.

I have to say, I have really got my hopes up for this story.

I really, REALLY hope now, that you suddenly don't do something weird and ruin the story for me! :P
Sorry for the pessimism, but that has happened too many times in fanfics.

Did I mention that this is freakishly well written with rich text and grammar? :)

Keep it up!

Author's Response: I'm very pleased that you're getting so into my story! That really is awesome to hear. :) I love AU stories and that may be why I chose to write one that's so explicitly AU, because it was something I'd never done before. Trying something out of your comfort zone is often a good way to find something you really like, and I'm very pleased that my story could be that for you.

I hope this story won't be ruined for you, either -- but I am personally very proud of it, and it's exactly the way I wanted to write it. :)

Thank you for reviewing, and for telling me how well-written it is! I work hard at maintaining top grammar and technicalities. Hoping to see you back soon!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Larry Hotter II.

20th July 2013:
I have to say that I really, REALLY dislike everybody dying. Even Hermione is left for dead.

Had it been any other story, I would have quit reading after this, but somehow, your story is keeping me reading.

Again, extremely well written. The reason I'm keeping on reading.

Just hope it doesn't go too far...

Author's Response: I didn't necessarily like all the deaths, either, although I've got a penchant for writing darker stories -- but in such an alternate scenario, I did think it would happen. I am pleased you're choosing to continue on! And I hope you won't let the dying scare you away from the rest of the story.

Again -- thank you for reviewing! At the risk of sounding false, it truly does mean so much to me. And your review name is great, by the way. ;) Hope to see you back before long!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>