Reading Reviews for Rampant Magic
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Nerdface A Confederacy of Four

28th January 2013:
Are you going to write more?

Author's Response: yes, i will don't worry. I'm just about to put up the next chapter. :P

 Report Review

Review #2, by TheSortingHat A Confederacy of Four

13th November 2012:
This story is, I believe, going to be EVER so good. I can't wait to see how it progresses, and I like that it has Helga as the narrating character, since Hufflepuff gets so often overlooked. What's more, I'll be very interested to see if Godric and Helga fall in love. I also think it's unexpected that Rowena is already married- it will be very interesting to see how this plays out.

Author's Response: wow, thank you so much! and all i will say is that you are very perceptive. i still have a special place in my heart for Helga, because of Tonks and because that's what I was sorted as when I took a quiz years ago, even though on Pottermore I've been sorted into Ravenclaw, but that's cool too.

the whole Rowena being married was so that she could have her daughter, Helena Ravenclaw, bearing that name. She'd have to be married, otherwise Rowena would've had to have been an unmarried, and Rowena didn't seem the type to have a kid before marriage, regardless of her time period's decorum etc.

but thanks so much for the awesome review! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by The Last Marauder A Confederacy of Four

9th September 2012:
Hi there!

Sorry for the delay in reviewing, I have been so unbelievably busy! Everything is all over the place!

Anyway, I really liked this chapter - I think what is great about it is that you managed to capture the whole Medieval atmosphere in the very words you tell the story with, while, at the same time, making sure that it is not difficult to understand, if you get me - you struck a nice balance there.

I am just in awe of your dialogue, how you can capture the era in the words you use. It really is fantastic!

Loved this line, it made me laugh (because I know it's true, but from a person living in the 21st century it just seems mad!): "leaving Rowena no choice but to follow her in turn, for it wouldn’t be proper for an unescorted lady to be in the sole company of two gentleman."

I also like how you have them so conscious of the Muggle population too, how they want to protect them/look out for them as well as wizards, you know?

I can't wait to see where you go with this - I liked your author's note, where you say that you are going to capture how they become great - this is shaping up to be a really interesting story and I am looking forward to more (and more "Moonlight" too!!). Please keep writing :-)

Author's Response: thank you so much! :D i'm glad you liked it, and i've got the next chap of Moonlight done I just have to go through and edit it before i post it. and looking forward to more of door into the dark! i'm actually on my way to check for an update. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ToeJamInBellybutton A Confederacy of Four

2nd September 2012:
So far, I have only noticed one typo for each chapter! "Gryffidnor" from chapter one, and a typo that I can't remember from the beginning chapter two. Apologies, I feel that I am somewhat a perfectionist. :P
As for the story, I don't have words to suit the exact greatness of it.

Author's Response: wow, thank you! :D and thanks for pointing those out, i didn't even realize. good eye. ;)


 Report Review

Review #5, by ToeJamInBellybutton The Midwinter Feast

2nd September 2012:
Wow. You are truly talented. Very few fanfiction writers have the ability to write as well as you do. I am so glad that I happened to stumble upon Rampant Magic. I'm hoping that you have other stories written, too. :)

Author's Response: aw, thank you so much! and yes i do have other stories written, so feel free to check 'em out. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by XxMuffinxX The Midwinter Feast

15th August 2012:
This is very interesting and I hope you write more!

Author's Response: thank you so much! :D (oops it looks like this came up twice, lol)

 Report Review

Review #7, by XxMuffinxX The Midwinter Feast

15th August 2012:
This is very interesting and I hope you write more!

Author's Response: thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by The Last Marauder The Midwinter Feast

24th May 2012:
I really liked this! It was really good, and you captured so much in such a short piece. I really liked the 'inaccuracies' in the tapestry bit - that was really good. I also liked Slytherin's little joke too on Elaisse! Overall, I was instantly reminded of the world of a Shakespeare play to tell you the truth, what with the scenes of the court, like in Richard III or Henry V etc; and then the House of Hufflepuff, or House of Gryffindor, reminding me of the House of Capulet, or Montague in Romeo and Juliet.

I loved the prophecy with the hag at the end, and I love that you are showing the two worlds - wizard and Muggle - living side by side, aware of eachother, that is something I had never thought about before, so I really glad you are doing it, and I am really interested in seeing where you go from here! Please do update soon! :)

With regards to your author's note at the end - I would say definitely continue as you are, and don't try and replicate the middle English dialect. I was forced against my will to go through the original versions of "The Canterbury Tales", and "Sir Gawain and the Green Knight", as well as "Le Morte d'Arthur" against my will for college, and the middle-English dialect just wrecked my head, with yoghs and thorns, and 'v's being 'u's and 'u's being 'v's, and 's's as 'f's - and I had to keep referring to the glossery or notes and it drove me mad - so I would advise you to stick with what you are doing and don't try and use middle-English, because it will make reading this difficult, and reading HPFF shouldn't be difficult, it should be fun (or so I think anyway!) - all that been said - loved the line you threw in about Chaucer - and how "The Book of the Duchess" was an "Ill-used vulgar text of English" - that actually made me laugh out loud in the library, people stared, my nerdyness really knows no bounds!

Anyway, can't wait for more, please keep writing, I always love it when you have a new story up (or an update of Moonlight)!

Ps. just out of curiosity - any particular reason why you've put four 'a's in Salazar?

Author's Response: oh i'm so glad you liked it! i wasn't too sure about it, because it's kind of hard to get a good feel for this since it takes place in the medieval era, rather than modern, no less in the books with which we are all much more familiar with. :)

oh and salazar has an extra a because i thought there was one, but i guess not so i'll go back and fix it. (oops!)

and i'm glad you picked up on my comment about the ill-used vulgar text English, i have high school english and yes, canterbury tales, to thank for that, so it's kind of a shout out to Lit Nerds everywhere. ;D


 Report Review

Review #9, by BKL8008 The Midwinter Feast

23rd May 2012:
First off, sorry for not having time to keep up with your stories. This one was brilliant for such a short beginning. Normally, I RUN from Founders stories. But I am already sucked into this one. The characterization, in so few words, is good and you set the scene so well that it feels like we're there. Can't wait to see more!

Author's Response: no it's okay! and i'm so glad that this founders' story sucked you in, ofc. must have done something right. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login