Reading Reviews for Painted Blind
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lovemesomethinSirius Painted Blind

5th September 2013:
Chills and tears in my eyes. So lovely. Good job!

Author's Response: I'm so honored. :) Evoking that sort of emotion is what I aim for! And honestly, if I'm allowed to say it, this is one of my favorite one-shots on this page. It hit all the notes I wanted it to hit, and it just feels RIGHT. Sometimes what's in my head doesn't 100% translate onto the page, but here... it did.

Thank you (yet again) for reviewing! These reviews really made my morning!


 Report Review

Review #2, by loveology Painted Blind

11th July 2013:
Okay, so I was initially attracted to this fic by scrolling through your stories, then noticing a Shakespeare-inspired title. :)

"Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind, and therefore is winged Cupid painted blind."

I didn't even look at the pairing, just clicked. So I immediately notice, with pleasure, that it was Bill/Fleur. They are probably one of my favorite canon pairings, and I just can't get enough of them!

I love how Fleur sticks through his family dislikes her and ends up surprising them all as she loves him despite his scars. Their love is just so real.

I love how you incorporated the few canon moments we have! It's so lovely, and quite sad. But your last two words just nailed it and completed the fic so completely perfectly.

Thanks for writing such a cute and awesome fic! :)

Author's Response: This was a Shakespeare title! Good eye. ;) I wanted a quote for a title for a long time before this, and I hit upon this by chance while scrolling through some Shakespeare quotes. I already had the idea, but the quote definitely prompted me to write it! Bill/Fleur is something I'd never tackled before this, but writing this story gave me a new appreciation for that pairing, and it's neat to find someone else who likes them a lot, too. :)

Fleur is actually a lot stronger than I used to give her credit for, and she's incredibly brave, especially throughout HBP. It was easy for me to dismiss her in that one because we read the book through the eyes of people who also did, but she really does love Bill, and it can't have been easy to have been hated by his family for all those months.

It was kind of difficult to get in all their canon moments, actually, but I'm super glad you appreciated it! ♥ Thanks again for another awesome review, and just for reading in the first place. It really means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #3, by prettywishes Painted Blind

22nd November 2012:
This is the most adorable love story ever! The short glimpses into their world was such a neat way to convey the way in which they went from strangers to lovers, one day becoming parents. I struggle with long drawn out fics about love, but this short, to the point, fic was something that I absolutely adored!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I'm not sure what made me write about Bill and Fleur's story in such small snippets, and I don't think it was a conscious decision. I wanted to write a love story, but I didn't want to WRITE it as a short story or novella. This was a very good alternative. ;)

I'm beginning to sound like a broken record, I know. But I have to tell you again just how happy it made me to get all these reviews from you. That's honestly such an incredible thing to do for someone, and I'm honored you've enjoyed my writing so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Remus Painted Blind

20th September 2012:
Alrighty! Perelandra here with your review! So! I would've been here sooner but I had some browser issues.but they're fixed now! *celebrate*

I'm glad that you requested a Bill/Fleur stories! I love those!

I really like the set up you have. We're seeing those moments we never heard of in the books. Bill actually being shy made me laugh a bit because I always imagined him being a lady's man and knowing how to talk to girls so when he made an inhuman noise due to seeing her, I just had to laugh. Its so cute!

"Her arms are wrapped snugly around his waist, her cheek against the curve of his back, and he tries to make himself remember that it is not Harry."--That line confused me! It took me a few seconds to remember The Seven Harrys chapter. Haha!

Favorite line: The thestral beneath them has suddenly faded into view--Without over wording it, you managed to tell us that they had seen Moody and how, within an instant, death came come.

And now I'm teary eyed! Fred's death is always the moment when I break down in DH. When I read it on my first go, I froze on that page, stared at it, put the book down and cried my eyes out. Could not believe it! You managed to bring that sadness with a few simple paragraphs and little dialogue. The wording, I think, is what worked perfectly! Very heart wrenching!

The last line though! With two worlds you managed to summarize what HP is all about.

This was both a lovely and bittersweet read!! :D Thanks for giving the the opportunity to read it!

--Rosie/Perelandra

Author's Response: Hey -- thank you so much again for doing this for everyone! That's really an awesome thing to see. You're an inspiration; I have half a mind to do something similar soon. And no worries about when you left the review, or anything like that. Seriously!

I'm so happy you liked this story, too. I'm fairly proud of it, even if I'm not quite sure where it came from, and it's not the sort of thing I normally write, you know? I just liked the idea, though, when I got to thinking about it. I didn't want to write out a whole fic about their relationship (though I probably could have), so I went for a sort of snapshot-form instead.

Ahaha, perhaps I should have made the allusion to the seven Harrys a bit stronger! I love that you caught the bit about the thestral, though; it's a slight thinker. ;) That line's also one of my favorites, though, and I love it when readers pull out lines I simultaneously enjoy! ♥

Thank you for offering to review this for me! I really am so, so grateful, and am very pleased to see you enjoyed it so much. :3 I hope to see you back soon!!


 Report Review

Review #5, by WishfulMuggle Painted Blind

6th July 2012:
It seems every other story of yours I read, I'm brought to tears. You are such a good writer.

Author's Response: Brought to tears? Oh, I'm flattered -- not to have made you cry, of course, but at the fact that my writing's evoked emotion in you. I don't know, but that's just awesome to me. I'm happy you liked the story!

Thank you for that last comment, too. Writing's something I'm so, so passionate about, and if I could someday do it for a living, I'd need nothing else in this world. ♥ It's reviewers like you that keep me writing, keep me coming back here, so I really just have to give you tremendous thanks for that! I hope to see you back before long!


 Report Review

Review #6, by tangledconstellations Painted Blind

19th June 2012:
Hey lovely, congratulations on getting featured one shot at TGS! This is so wonderful, and completely and utterly deserving of that title. You made me really emotional by the end; this really was so lovely.

I've always loved Bill and Fleurs story, because it's so unique and it just made so much sense for it to occurr. I really think you did it justice with this piece. You captured Bill's nervousness, and boyish awkwardness, but transformed it into pride and duty and love so beautifully.

Thank you for writing this, because it was a real pleasure to read,

Laura x

Author's Response: Oh, how sweet of you to drop by and review this for me -- and thank you for the congratulations! :) I'm so happy you liked the story!

Bill and Fleur's story wasn't one I took into much consideration before writing this, and I definitely think I gained a new appreciation for it in doing so. Romance isn't ever perfect, and I do try and write it realistically (although I can't say I speak from a terrible amount of personal experience), so whenever it seems to have come off well for a reader, that's just really gratifying. :)

Thanks again for giving this a look -- I'm so happy you did, and that you took the time to tell me what you thought! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by lia_2390 Painted Blind

17th June 2012:
Jane!

Why must you insist on doing this to me? This story is so incredibly sweet, so sweet that my eyes grew foggy for a bit, and I wasn't even halfway through. Are you happy now? This is the second time you've done this!

Bill's character was quite on par with what I would expect in a situation like this. He wasn't what I expected him to be based on the earring, the long hair, and the dragon-hide boots. He was sheepish, and shy which I find very endearing.

And to give Fleur some credit too, I loved how you've written her. I was a big supporter of her in the books, especially in HBP when I thought the Weasleys' were being unnecessarily judgmental to someone they didn't know. I loved that you put hers and Bill's reactions in there as well. Like one of your reviewers said, I never thought much about how their behaviour would have affected the couple. So when Fleur finally put Molly Weasley in her place, I was cheering.

I loved, loved the use of present tense in this story. To me, it works really well, and adds more effect than another tense would.


The snapshots into their lives - from when he met her to Percy's funeral - were what I loved most about this story. But OMG, Percy's funeral! Never in a million years would I have considered that at all. It was so heartbreaking having that visual of the brothers standing in a line at the coffin with a gap present where Percy was supposed to be….two gaps actually (I almost forgot about Fred). I'm glad they said they were proud of him too. It needed to be said.

This was a beautiful one-shot! I'm glad I got to read it :)

Lia

Author's Response: Baww, Lia! I never mean to make you cry! ♥ (Is it bad if I'm a bit happy to evoke emotion? I just won't say it aloud, then. :3)

I think a lot of people think Bill's a bit different than how I wrote him here, for the reasons you mention (his boots and hair and earring), so I'm really glad you appreciate him! Being a Weasley, I've got to figure he's at least partially cut from the same mold as some of the more canonically-present Weasleys. :D

I /love/ that so many people, like myself, never thought about what Fleur might have been going through when the Weasleys were so cold to her. Because it's something that made me stop and think, too! And making other people think is always a goal of mine, especially in one-shots. :)

I normally hate writing in present tense, and although I combed it thoroughly, I'm sure there's a place in there where I slipped up. :P But I do think it works well here and it's great to hear you agree!

Not only were you a prompt reviewer, you were an extremely complimentary and lovely one, and I feel like you're just a big packaage of bonus. :D Thank you so much for reading this for me, and I'm so super happy you liked it! ♥ You're awesome, Lia!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Renfair Painted Blind

11th June 2012:
Hey Jane! Wow, CONGRATS on your featured story! I finally have some time this month to check out the "winners" and was so happy you were one of them because, as I've said on numerous occasions, you're sickeningly talented for your age. Really. It's nauseating. If I didn't like you so much, I'd hate you ^.^ *hugs!*

So first off, my experiences reading fan fiction aren't as vast and varied as some people, so this is actually my first Bill and Fleur story to review. I really love stories like this that fill in missing moments or answer questions I've always wondered in the back of my mind, like how *did* Bill and Fleur end up together? I just assumed they were both so gorgeous, they attracted each other like oppositely charged molecules or something, but you did a wonderful job of figuring all those details out for us people who had never considered them before.

At the very get go, I was "meh" about the present tense, because I feel like present tense is a sort of fad thing in literature right now, and most of the time I don't understand why it's used. But I think there are stories where it works very well ("The Time Traveler's Wife" always comes to mind for me because, really, the past, present, and future ARE all the main character's present). This was definitely an instance where it's very fitting to use present tense, and it actually adds to the writing instead of being a distraction.

I like the format of this, how it's sort of a one-shot made up of snap shots. It's like reading a photo album where I can see each moment in time so clearly. Each little blip in their lives we see has just enough description and insight from Bill to make it powerful without being overbearing.

"His first Christmas with her is forever embedded with the sounds of summer." --I love that. Maybe it wouldn't be as relevant for someone like me who grew up next to the ocean, but for Bill it's such a lovely description.

"Their first child is born two years, to the day, after that battle. They call her Victoire. Victory. He has never been prouder of her." --I love the slight hint of another meaning you've given to Victorie's name. I always just thought of it as referring to the Order's victory over Voldemort, but what in the world could ever be a greater victory than a woman fighting her way through the war of labor and delivery to bring forth a new life? As a woman who has done that herself, I think every single baby should be named "Victory." :)

So over all, wonderful job! It was neat to read something of yours that wasn't about Snape (I'm trying to write some of those myself... but it's so HARD to not talk about him at all!) Congrats again! ~Renny

Author's Response: Howdy, Renny! Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a long and lovely review. :) I'm so happy you did, and even more happy that you enjoyed the story! Although I don't wish to make you sick. :D ♥

Before writing this, I hadn't read a lot of Bill/Fleur, either, but I've gained a new appreciation for them through this -- and that's very exciting for me! There wasn't a lot of planning that went into this -- more of OH, MERLIN, THEY NEED TO MEET, QUICK, ARRANGE A MEETING.

Present tense was something I just sort of fell into here -- I'm really not a fan of it, but in my last few one shots I've done second person POV and first person, and this story was largely inspired by a set of Ron/Hermione one-shots set in third person, past tense. I knew that if I didn't want to kick myself for making something too similar (even if only in my own mind) to something already out there, I'd have to do present tense. :D It was kind of a struggle to not stray from it, too!

I like the comparison of the sections to vignettes in a photo album. :3 It's quite accurate, now that I think about it. And that summer line is one of my favorites, too!

Gah -- thanks so much again for such a sweet, heartfelt review. Writing about Snape is great, but it is, of course, good to take a break once in a while! :P You're fab!


 Report Review

Review #9, by SiriuslyPeeved Painted Blind

11th June 2012:
Oh, this was so beautiful. I loved your characterizations of Bill and Fleur, particularly how hurt Bill was by the Weasleys' initial coolness towards her. Every little detail in each vignette makes the story so real -- I laughed at the idea of the cold soup and the warm salad. I will probably have to read this several more times :). Thanks for this lovely read!!

Author's Response: Mary! Oh my gosh, thank you so much for being willing to come by and review this. :) I'm seriously so happy that you did!

I think that's one of the most eye-opening things, for me, in writing this one-shot -- how Fleur and Bill might have felt about the Weasleys' seeming distaste in their oldest's choice of a wife. I never really thought about that before writing this, and actually don't really know where it came from, but I'm glad it made it into the story. :)

I'm so happy the story seemed real for you, too. I try hard to make the things I write as realistic as possible, besides -- well, magic. :D So to hear it's been accomplished is always really gratifying! Ah, this review. ♥ I seriously appreciate it more than I can say. Thank you again for it!


 Report Review

Review #10, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Painted Blind

8th June 2012:
I really wasn't expecting it. I just started to cry at the end, the last three lines just..wow. I didn't know what I was reading coming into this but a few people have rec'd this to me and I've finally gotten around to reading this. No one explained to me that I would wind up feeling such emotion in the end.

He wants to shake them all until their teeth rattle, and make them love her as he loves her. Because it kills him to be made to feel like he has choose, and he refuses to even think about making it.

^ That was my first favorite part but still even at the end it's one of the parts I find myself thinking over. I never really thought how if effected him when his family was being so cold to Fleur. I just never thought of him having to choose. The Weasley's are so close and I'm kind of shocked now, thinking back to it, that they wouldn't accept her with open arms. Fleur was a strong woman just like Molly and Ginny, they should have at least appreciated that from her.

Author's Response: Aargh, Deeds! Your reviews are /too much/. ♥ I can't even begin to tell you how happy this made me -- and to hear that people have recommended this story besides! Boggles the mind, really. You are fabulous, and I didn't mean to make you cry!

That was, I think, my favorite epiphanous moment that came out of this one-shot -- and there actually were several. I was surprised. But you kind of get sucked into that Fleur's-awful mindset with Ginny and Mrs. Weasley when reading HBP, and it's easy to forget that she's there for a reason, you know? Bill loves her, and it would be just horrible to have your family hate the person you're going to marry. (I'm rambling again. I do that a lot in responses to you.)

Seriously. Made my day, and then some. ♥ Congratulations again on 25k (that's amazing!), and thank you so, so much for such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ravenclaw_Charm Painted Blind

2nd June 2012:
Hi, it's Ravenclaw_Charm here with your requested review! Sorry this took forever! :P

Anyway, this was a beautifully written one-shot. I have no critiques. I found one spelling mistake - unawares shouldn't have the "s" at the end - but other than that, you're good. You're so talented. You captured Bill's emotions so perfectly; I love it! The funeral scene - though incredibly depressing and heart-wrenching (RIP Fred) - was my favorite. It shows that their relationship is strong enough to get through anything that comes their way. Also, the restaurant scene was incredibly cute! Your descriptions and characterizations were brilliant. Again, an amazing one-shot! 10/10

Sorry, again, for taking so long! Thanks for requesting! :)

Author's Response: Hey! No worries about the waiting length -- honestly, the fact that you came by at all is awesome. :) Thanks for the review!

Oh, I'm so glad you liked this. (And actually, 'unawares' can be spelled with an 's' at the end. It's a sort of choice thing, an older usage of the word, and sometimes it makes a piece more poetic, I think.) And I'm really glad you like the Weasley characterization, too -- you got exactly what I wanted you to out of the funeral scene!

Again, thank you very much for taking them time to review this. :) Hope to see you back here before too long! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by WeasleyTwins Painted Blind

28th May 2012:
Hello, WeasleyTwins here to review as requested!

First of all, I LOVE your title. I am a firm believer in interesting, unique, and simply gorgeous titles that really make a story stand out. You've definitely got that with 'Painted Blind.' I also absolutely adore your summary. Not only does that beautiful line come from your story, it has this sort of presence about it - it resonated with me, that's for sure.

I'd like to start off with your description. I think your place descriptions, and more so, your emotional descriptions are phenomenal. There is nothing more powerful than prose that can elicit the same sort of feelings it seeks to convey. I'm a sap - I have these terribly romantic sensibilities and I just adore a good love story. Let me tell you, my dear, that this made me physically hurt, like ache. I could literally feel the emotion in my soul. You've done a fantastic job of using your description to ensnare the reader - it was almost as if I was a part of the story. In 2700 words, you have created a beautiful love story that made me hope and yearn and wish and dream for something so glorious, so similar, something as beautiful.

I thoroughly enjoyed your characterization of Bill. Sometimes, it is difficult to convey the emotions of a man, honestly. They think differently than women, they notice different things and remember different things than we do. A lot of times, a woman who is writing from the perspective of a man loses sight of this and the male character ends up seeming very, very feminine. However, you accomplished something fabulous - you made a man sound like a man. His thoughts, emotions, his observations of Fleur, they are all so...perfect, yes that's it, perfect. My best friend is a man, so I've pretty much figured out how he thinks, and I swear, I thought you were writing from his perspective. It seemed so like him. For your style to elicit such a reaction from me shows your skill as a writer because I connected with it on a personal level - that's not an easy feat, I tell you.

I wanted to point out a few of your more beautiful lines, but it's impossible - they're all so gorgeous! I absolutely and completely enjoyed this oneshot. I didn't see anything that would prompt me to give you any CC (which is phenomenal because I'm such a picky reader). This is definitely going into my favorites. I'm sorry that this was one big ramble.

Absolutely fabulous. 10/10
Shelby

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, how to even begin to respond to this review? I suppose a large THANK YOU is in order, and even that feels very inadequate!

One of my good friends uses Shakespeare for many of her titles, and I always wanted to, as well. When nothing was sparking inspiration when it came time to titling this, I thought I'd give it a whirl. And that 'Midsummer' quote came into being probably two minutes later!

All the emotions you described are EXACTLY what I, too, look for in a good romance, so the fact that something I wrote made you feel that way -- that's one of the highest compliments I can remember receiving on my writing. :3 Above all, I wanted this to just be a love story, a BillandFleur story, and you seemed to respond exactly the way I'd hoped readers would respond. As an author, that's beyond gratifying to see!

I've never spent a huge amount of time around men except my dad, having no brothers or other close male relatives, and so I'm SO pleased this read as a 'man'. :) That's always a challenge for me, that gender barrier, simply because I don't ever know if it's accurate. And, like you mentioned, the last thing I want Bill to come across as is feminine! :P

This review totally, totally made my day -- and then some! ♥ Seriously, Shelby, I honestly cannot thank you enough for leaving it. And then offering to podcast it -- oh, I am SO excited! I can't wait to see how that turns out! ♥ Thank you so much. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Charlotte Painted Blind

28th May 2012:
Hi,

This is a really well written thought provoking story. I haven't read many Bill/Fleur stories but I have always loved them. Your story certainly made me think about how their relationship was and I feel that you've captured their relationship very well.

The only thing I found was this "Harry’s arms (no, Fleur’s) [tighten] around him momentarily" It seems to me that it should be [tightens] not [tighten].

Have you ever thought about doing a sequel to this about the moments instead from Fleur's point of view instead of Bill's. I think that that would be really interesting to read.

Mystique

Author's Response: Thank you for leaving a review -- and thank you even more for doing it so quickly! I'm very pleased that you enjoyed the story, and although I haven't written much Bill/Fleur, I've become more inclined to their pairing in writing this. Which really should be what fan fiction's about, in my opinion.

I see where you might have gotten confused, but the direct object in that sentence is 'arms' and it wouldn't make much sense for me to write 'arms tightens'. Thank you for being such an astute reader, though! Really, thanks again for the review, and I hope to see you back before long. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by CassiePotter Painted Blind

20th May 2012:
Jane this was absolutely incredible! The writing was gorgeous, and I could picture every last detail in it. I love that you wrote about Bill and Fleur in such a tender, romantic way, because what we see of her from JKR is more of Ron's puppy love and Molly's dislike. I really enjoyed reading Bill's love for her, and how it gets him through the war and his brother's death. One thing that was really beautiful in particular is the way you wrote Mad Eye's death. How the thestral slowly fades into view. I thought this one-shot was very poetic, and I really enjoyed reading it! And Midsummer is my favorite of Shakespeare's plays :) 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so glad you enjoyed this, Cassie! It's one of my favorite stories of my more recent writing, and this is the kind of romance I love writing. :3 Bill and Fleur, I found through writing this, are such a great pairing, and I've got newfound appreciation for them!

And YAY, you got the line about the thestral! You are one of three to mention is thus far, and I really enjoy that -- it's one of those little things that requires, I think, a tad more thinking, since I didn't explain it explicitly. ;)

Midsummer is one of my favorite Shakespeare plays, too! We have that in common. :3 Thank you so very much for your review on this, Cassie -- you're so incredible, and every time I see a new review from you I just light up! Your words are really appreciated so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ashling586 Painted Blind

18th May 2012:
Here with your review request. My first impression from this story was that Bill was dying and was seeing flashes of his life. Each little section was more like little flashes with the bare amount of details. Each one could easily be expanded into a chapter each, and have a short story on your hands. I liked the insight into how bill was feeling in each of the flashes.
Overall it was a nice job. The characterization of Bill I thought was really nice and gave me a different perspective of bill that I didn't have before reading your story. However, I have to admit that I found the flow of the story a bit disjointed.
Good job.

Author's Response: Oh, well -- no, I did not write this with the intention of having Bill be near death, although I can certainly see how you might have thought that. :) That's an interesting perspective! I suppose expansion is possible, although I'm more than comfortable with leaving this as a one-shot.

The story was supposed to be a bit disjointed, and I think that's more of a stylistic thing than anything. It wasn't written to flow seamlessly together. ;) Thanks so much for the speedy review, and I'm glad you enjoyed Bill's characterization, too! Glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #16, by angelicdemon1209 Painted Blind

18th May 2012:
You made me cry. Again..
Ohh this is soo beautiful. I really, at times, think that we share some thoughts. I have always been, in the beginning, too afraid, and later, too busy, to actually start with a story of my own. But I have always wished for some stories that I would love to read, the best Cedric/OC was given by you, and this most wonderful Bill/Fleur, also by you. And I am so grateful to you, trust me. :)
This is so beautifully written. I can sense Bill's feelings like he is a friend of mine, through your story. You have a gift, you are wonderfully talented. You can really bring characters to life.
Fleur is amazing, as I have always thought. Fred's death is the worst thing in my experience of the HP world, and a mere mentiion brings tears to my eyes instantly.
Thank you so much for this.

Author's Response: Oh, did I really? I didn't mean to make you cry -- and yet I'm oddly glad that my stories are able to evoke such emotion in you. :3 Seriously, that's such an amazing thing to hear as an author!

You should never be afraid to start stories of your own. But I am glad that mine were able to touch some part of you, however small. :) Trust ME, I am indubitably grateful to you, as well! I loved writing this story, getting a feel for a pairing I've not before tried, and one that I ended up loving as a result.

Thank you so much for this review -- one of the most heartfelt I've gotten in a long, long time. :3 I can't thank you enough for annihilating my author's page as you have! It seriously floors me -- you're awesome! ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by BoOkWoRm24 Painted Blind

17th May 2012:
Requested Review

Alright so I've heard you were a great writer around the forums, but I hadn't yet gotten a chance to check out some of your work. Let me tell you that this one shot completely lived up to all the expectations I had.

The characterization of Bill was great. His complete love for Fluer was really sweet, and fit, I think, perfectly with what we know of him in the books.

Also I liked your characterization of Fluer. I have seen some fics that play her up as some kind of super controling snappy cheerleader type character. You seem to have keyed into the Fluer that got picked for the Triwizard Tournament. She seemed brave, supportive, and loving as I imagine she would be.

My favorite part was when you described his feelings while they were in shell cottage post wedding. It was interesting to see all of Bill's feelings as Ron and then later Harry and Hermione pass through.

I didn't see any attribution to a beta, but it certainly seemed like it had been beta'd to perfection because I didn't see any mispellings or grammar issues throughout.

Now I had an extremely hard time trying to find something to critique, but alas as this was requested I feel like it would be wrong to leave with out finding some type of concrit. So after searching for the better half of fifteen minutes I indeed found one really tiny thing. Towards the very end when Fluer says "We will be allright" you left out her accent. That is literally all I could find that might need fixing.

Anyway this was an amazingly good one shot, keep up the good work :)

-BW24

Author's Response: Oh! I can't imagine who's told you that -- but nevertheless, I am so, so flattered that it seems to have reached your ears one way or another. :) I'm very glad you enjoyed this piece, and that you thought Bill and Fleur were characterized well. I put a lot of effort in my writing, consciously or no, to get everyone as in canon as possible.

I actually didn't have a beta for this; it's very rare that I send something off to a beta, actually. I don't know if that sounds conceited or not, and I hope it doesn't, but I'm generally secure enough in my own writing to let readers find flaws, should they exist. Toujours Padfoot is listed as my trilogy beta simply because I plot hash with her forever, and she gives endless amount of support for that story. :) But anyway, what I suppose I'm trying to say is -- since I'm my own beta, thank you!

I do know what part you're talking about, and I think the confusion comes from this: When a French person would say those words, they wouldn't necessarily be accented. ;) When I write Fleur or Madame Maxime, or whoever, I speak in my head with a French accent and alter any words I change verbally. In the instance of that sentence, nothing sounded changed, so I didn't overcorrect. (I hope that makes sense!)

This was a very, very lovely review, and I am so glad to have received it. And again, I'm so happy you enjoyed it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by witnesstoitall Painted Blind

16th May 2012:
Alright, so basically I have already told you a great portion of the things I'd normally comment on elsewhere. Nothing like live reviews. (H) I want to reiterate something I said there. You really do have a gift. I read a lot of the things you write, and you change styles and constructions beautifully and with very little apparent effort. Do me a favor and never forget how talented you are. This was gorgeous in it's simplicity. It was what, two thousand and some odd words? Maybe three? and you managed to capture a relationship better than some fics do in entire novels. I think the simplicity of it was what made it so effective (hoping I chose the right word there. my brain is muddled and I can't decide if I needed a noun or a verb... so NOUN YOU GOT). The bit about the thestral was spectacular. And I adore the bit about the sheer amount of orange in the RoR before the battle. It must have been all the more stressful knowing that literally his entire family was there in that battle risking their lives. The funeral, I can't even begin to comment on it or I'll get all worked up and teary again. I do not handle the immediate aftermath of Fred's death well (notice I start WAT like what, three full months later? I'm a sneakeh cheater that avoids the Feels). I think you did a marvelous job though and I'll leave it at that. Lastly, your closing line was tops.

That's all. I know this review was all mushy and you're going to answer something about being blobby, but I don't even care... I needed to be able to say all these things.

Keep up the spectacular work. If I can't have all your talents (which is a bit facetious of me), at least continue to share the product of them with me.

xoxo

Author's Response: This is unfair in the highest. I just made a complete mess of responding to Sarah's review on this story /and now I have to make an attempt at yours/. I cry foul. ♥

Thank you so, so much for writing this for me. Endlessly. I cannot even begin to try and formulate responses to all of your wonderful compliments, just /thank you/ for encouraging me, and keeping me going, and just everything. Your reviews mean a lot to me. :)

GAHH. JUST THANK YOU. SERIOUSLY. I CANNOT SAY ANYTHING ELSE. ♥ ♥ Sorry for how rambly/nonsensical this was, but I do appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Toujours Padfoot Painted Blind

16th May 2012:
JANECHEL. WHY MUST YOU DO THIS TO ME. I am a sniveling pile of mush over here. And extremely jealous, not gonna lie (SO MUCH ENVY GOING ON). I love this. I love BillandFleur. I love how Fleur was polite after their crappy meal and said thank you for the lovely time, and that it broke Bill's heart to watch his family treat her so rudely after I'm sure he'd spent a fair amount of time gushing about how wonderful they were. That would be so humiliating and I've never even thought about that, but you made it so real and they were so real and CAN I JUST SAY THAT I LOVE YOU FOR WRITING SUCH BEAUTIFUL THINGS. Okay this is such a mess of a review. I love the end with Victoire, and OH MY GOD, THE GAP IN THE LINE OF BOYS AT THE FUNERAL. I just wanted to die. I'm pretty sure that that's where I fell apart, just, like...human jelly or something. Oldest to youngest, with the gap. It's such a simple, small detail but you managed to make it so...larger-than-life because of the meaning. Everything is subtle and beautiful and I love all of these scenes that go in order from the beginning of their relationship all the way to Victoire's birth. You made me love Bill and admire Victoire. His scars and how she didn't care about them, and how the war seemed so far away when they were in Shell Cottage, and how he wouldn't degrade her by telling her to go home and not fight in the battle. But my favorite - my absolute /favorite/ part was the Battle of the Seven Harry's. It was like, just a couple of paragraph longs and it completely knocked me out of the water. So powerful. MIND BLOWN, etc. I got goosebumps so hardcore with the line about the thestral beneath them fading into view. That scene just made the scene in DH all the more real, and terrifying. AND OH, WHEN THEY ENTERED THE ROOM OF REQUIREMENT. And he choked up because of the sheer amount of orange hair. Oh my god, it hit me so hard right then about what it would be like to walk into that room, knowing you might not live past midnight, and see so many loved ones there. The risk, the emotional torture that would be, the fear. I can't even imagine. Bill's whole family is there, as well as Victoire, and in retrospect it's almost a miracle that they only lost one of their family's number. SO SORRY FOR THE RAMBLY QUALITY OF THIS REVIEW, I CAN'T HELP IT. I am still a pile of feels.

But I love it. I hope I have conveyed that properly by now.



Author's Response: UGGGH HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO RESPOND TO THIS REVIEW. And my brain is like two steps away from dead, so I can't even conceive of a riddle to retaliate your loveliness. Unfair.

I don't know why on earth you are jealous but you and Mel made me cry muchly and I really just have to thank you (again) for being so nice to me (again) and leaving me such an unfathomable review (again). I LOVE WRITING ROMANCE, IS THAT WEIRD. IT'S LIKE SOME UNREQUITED THING.

But anyway. I just am really, really glad you enjoyed this, and I think you are wonderful, and my eyes are getting a bit blurry so I'll stop here. ♥ Macaroni to my cheese! Peanut butter to my jelly! I loff youuu!


 Report Review

Review #20, by MadamePuddifoot Painted Blind

16th May 2012:
Wow, this is so brilliant! Really, it's the best piece I've read in a long time! The story summary was so ambiguous and intriguing that I just had to read on. I feel like you've really got into Bill's mindset and described all the important moments in their relationship so well. His sadness at the family not immeadiately accepting Fleur really came through and I loved the part where they were on the thestral and he had to keep telling himself that it wasn't Harry!
Overall, a really brilliant story that I'm adding to my favourites!!

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, thank you so much -- that's so sweet! ♥ I do feel like I use a lot of ambiguity in choosing quotes for story summaries, if only to, well, draw people in. And Merlin's beard, it worked! :P

I never thought before writing this at how sad Bill must have been that his family sort of hated Fleur, but that would KILL me if I was in similar circumstances. I felt so bad for him then. I'm so happy you added this to your favorites, and that you liked it in general! Thank you very much for reviewing! :3


 Report Review

Review #21, by BKL8008 Painted Blind

16th May 2012:
Normally, I don't like mooshy stuff, but this was so nicely done. The jumps from event to event were well placed, and I had to stop and think about the "Harry" bit when I realized when we were talking about! I never had any emotion other than irritation with Ron when he left Harry & Hermione, until the line where you describe him holding the Deluminator. I also enjoyed this: 'It becomes their restaurant, if only to make fun of the food and the people who, like them, have formed a Saturday night habit in coming here.' I know places like that! They're so bad you go back for the entertainment! Masterful piece.

Author's Response: Ah, I do remember that you're not one for romance. :P It makes me even happier you've dropped on by to check this out -- thank you very much! I think that Deluminator line comes from a very strong Ron/Hermione part of my soul, so there's that.

I definitely know places like that, too! I like the idea of that transferring over into the wizarding world, and it makes Bill and Fleur seem a bit more reachable, I think. :3 Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a great review -- it really does mean a lot to me that you do!


 Report Review

Review #22, by broadwaykat Painted Blind

15th May 2012:
I really liked this story - I've recently found that Bill and Fleur is an interesting couple to write - and you covered their relationship so eloquently even though it covers such a substantial amount of time.

I particularly like the ending - I believe somebody already mentioned that. But the connection with the name of their first child, and the idea of prevailing love, and the war...it just...fits.

Beautiful work.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much for taking the time to leave me a review on this! :D I'm so glad you liked it -- it was a lot of fun to write, and actually came rather quickly. There were a few times when I'd look down, and I'd written 500 words without even realizing it!

The endings actually my favorite part, too -- endings for stories are always my favorite bits to write. :D Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review on this; it was so lovely, and very much appreciated! ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by momotwins Painted Blind

15th May 2012:
OH MY GOD why are you the best thing ever. This is unbelievably beautiful, I loved every word of it. It's just brilliant. Romantic and sweet and poignant - MAN this is good stuff. You should write more Bill/Fleur. FABULOUS. Pardon my capslock.

Author's Response: THIS REVIEW. /YOU/ ARE CLEARLY THE BEST THING EVER. (Reciprocal capslock is clearly happening.)

MORE CAPSLOCK BECAUSE I LITERALLY JUST HAD ABOUT A MILLION AND ONE MOMENTS. I'm so, so glad you enjoyed this -- you completely and totally made my night! I definitely want to write more Bill/Fleur and you've pretty much made that an eventual certainty. Thanks a million times over, Meg! You're awesome! ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by Siriusgirl Painted Blind

15th May 2012:
Awww, that was so sweet and beautiful. Bill/Fleur are among my favourite ship. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review -- I'm really glad you liked it! I never realized how adorable Bill/Fleur really is, but I do think it's become one of my favorite ships in recent weeks (days?).

Hope to see you back again soon -- thanks again for such lovely comments! ♥ I really appreciate your doing this for me!


 Report Review

Review #25, by LyrisLovegood Painted Blind

15th May 2012:
Hi :)

So I thought this was really beautiful. I especially love the ending. I like the fact that even thought it's spread over two years? The story didn't seem to be too fast and was just at the right pace. I like how they had a favourite restaurant especially one they've visited on their first date. Very romantic ha!

I love the way you've portrayed them. Seems very believable.

Sorry the review is a bit short ^.^

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for the review -- you're super quick! :D I'm really glad you enjoyed this! I've never paid Bill/Fleur much attention before writing this, but I've got to say, I'm definitely on board that ship now. ;)

I'm glad you appreciated the pacing, too! And found it believable -- always a thing I struggle with, or imagine I do, in writing romance. You've got no worries about review length, I'm not one to quibble. Seriously, thanks so much for giving this a look! Glad you liked it! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login