Reading Reviews for A Green Rose
  
167 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kayleefrank Hell Hath No Fury

11th August 2014:
Tabitha is crazy. Scorpius is lucky to have gotten away from all that psycho lol. Great job. Love this story so far.

 Report Review

Review #2, by UnluckyStar57 September 1st

1st January 2014:
Hi! I have come to review your story for Day Six of the Twelve Days of Reviewing at the forums. :)

I think that this story is off to a very good start! The juxtaposition between Rose and Scorpius can't be any more striking than it already is! Rose has (a seemingly) good relationship with her family--she feels the need to watch over Hugo, and she admires Hermione for her skillful magicianship. Scorpius, however, is sick of his mother and father--and rightly so! His mother tells him to stay away from Albus Potter, his friend, and his father just isn't there. Two people could never be more different!

The meeting between the two was priceless. Rose teasing Scorpius--well, that showcases their relationship nicely! They obviously can't stand each other, and I can only imagine what could come of such intense dislike!

Great first chapter! I'll come back and read the rest when I find the time! :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I wanted to get their dynamic right from the beginning, but I also wanted to explore them as individuals by giving them their own perspectives in the first chapter.
I hope you do read the rest, and I would love to hear what you thought of it! It feels like ages ago since I wrote this chapter, so it was lovely to know that people are still reading it for the first time!
Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #3, by bellatrixlestrange123 The Welcoming Feast

27th December 2013:
Hi there!

I'm here as part of the 12 days of reviewing thread over at the forums!

First up, I love next gen stories so I was quite interested to see what you had done with this one! I really did like it and that's why I had to read on :)

I think the way that you started the first paragraph off was good to set the mood for the rest of the chapter pretty quickly. We know that Rose is the protagonist, at least for the first half and the fact that she is quite apathetic about the first years as her hunger comes first is very Rose like, and so her character is kept authentic through that.

Also, you've integrated humor into your writing very well; the line 'have they fallen into lake' was very effective! However, at first I thought you were talking about the elves preparing the food so I did get a little bit confused, but that's probably down to my own inattentiveness hahah

But wait! You wrote your own sorting hat song?! That was brilliant! I honestly thought that it was pre-written but seriously, well done! It is beyond my patience to write something that ingenious! The first verse:

ĎI was just a normal hat,
Plucked from a wizardís head,
When the founders of Hogwarts decided that,
I should sort students instead'

was really good, i'm jealous!

Over and above that, you did make me relatively hungry with your description of the feast! it was great! hahah

Now, for some CC. I do hate to give critique out because there really wasn't much to find faults with in your work. The only thing I can say is that I did find the writing a tiny bit jumpy in some parts. For example, after the sorting hat's song. The 'prospective' of the chapter moved to Scorpius but I found that it was a little bit arubpt and I had to read back to see if you had introduced his character and I had missed it. I just think that if you had added something like 'Across the room, at the Slytherin table, Scorpius grabbed a chicken drumstick...'. But of course, you being the author have poetic license to write however you wish!

All in all, well done for a lovely piece of work and I will definitely be reading on! Keep up the good work!

Bella :)

Author's Response: Cool! That's a really great idea and I'll have to check it out!

I'm glad you liked the characterisation of Rose, because it was difficult to write about characters that had never really been provided with a personality in the actual books. I like to think that Rose inherited a little bit from each of her parents, and I was really thinking of Ron here. That is, she takes after him in the sense that they are both solely motivated by their stomachs! ;)

I really loved writing the Sorting Hat song, although I cheated a little bit by changing the rhyme scheme of it... Oh well, that's what HPFF is all about!

And thank you for the constructive criticism, because it only makes me a better writer to receive it. I wrote these chapters so long ago, and sometimes I look over them and just cringe at the way I wrote them! Hopefully one thing I've got better at it making my writing more fluid, but I'll definitely be more careful from now on and bear in mind what you've said!

Thank you so much for your lovely review, and I hope you'll read the rest of the fanfiction and tell me what you thought of it! Also, I've got some more fanfictions coming up in the New Year, so if you feel inclined, I'd love you to have a read of those too! (Your reviews are so helpfully detailed that I'd love to see more of them!)

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #4, by 12worlds7 The Welcoming Feast

30th October 2013:
Brilliant - you're telling the story I've been craving for, I love your style of writing and your sorting hat song is flawless. ;)
Off to read another part.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm getting rather emotional reading this! That was actually one of the reasons I started writing this story, because there are so many great Scorpius/Rose fanfictions, but I couldn't find one that had everything I wanted to read about. I hope that I managed to make you satisfied in the same way I was when finished writing! :)
I hope you enjoy the rest of the fanfiction, and read the other stories that are currently in development... ;)

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Sarah Platforms Are Where We Do Battle

2nd September 2013:
Brilliant, read the whole thing in one sitting.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much! You're probably fed up of me now, but I hope you check out my next story!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Oxy Moron Platforms Are Where We Do Battle

11th August 2013:
How is it the last chapter already, it feels like yesterday i was reading the first chapter but I guess you have come to the end of the race and have crossed the finish line. Thank you for the lovely dedication. I think it was a really good idea for Scorpius to reject and leave his parents but I'm sad he had such horrible parents A great end to a great novel (I sound so cheesy). Can't wait for 'An Occupational Hazard' I'm sure it will just as great as 'A Green Rose'.

Author's Response: I understand completely! Although I can't really remember writing the first chapter, I remember thinking around the third or fourth upload that I could write this forever and now it's completed and I have to move on. (I also liked the way you put it, I have always had strong admiration for racing metaphors. In fact, the phrase you used is up there in my top 5 t-shirt slogans. Right behind 'I thought about giving up chocolate, but I'm not a quitter'.)
You are totally welcome, although it was cripplingly simple for doing something that means so much to me! You are very cool, Ox! :)
NEVER APOLOGISE FOR CHEESINESS. Especially after the reading the last chapter!
I hope you do enjoy my next story, which should be up very soon, and continue to leave such wonderful reviews!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Oxy Moron Hell Hath No Fury

11th August 2013:
The best people are in hufflepuff. I wasn't expecting that Tabitha would have such a violent revenge and I do feel sorry for Toby even though he was extremely annoying. I liked the bit about Albus and Alice and Neville's child being called Alice after his mum was very fitting and what I imagine Neville would do. I so glad Tabitha 'got her comeuppance' and she still annoyed in this chapter. I'm sad the novel is coming to an end and am going to read the next chapter right now. Sorry for the rambling.

Author's Response: Well, the next best people after those in Ravenclaw. Obviously. ;) I never quite understood why you found him so irritating- but I guess that under the influence of love potion, he was rather grating! I wanted Neville in there somewhere, and I think it was fitting too so I had to put it in. I was a bit sad anyway that he didn't end up with Luna, but Rolf Scamander is probably a better match for her anyway, because of the love of animals and stuff... And never apologise for rambling (after all, I just did quite a lot of that...)!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #8, by AnnaG1303 The Welcoming Feast

7th August 2013:
I'm absolutely loving the Sorting Hat song. :) Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Good, I'm glad you like that because it took several rewrites to get it to a readable standard! I hope you read the rest and leave more reviews to tell me what you thought!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #9, by muggleborninNZ September 1st

4th August 2013:
This is a good insight into the character's family lives!

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope you read the rest and leave me more reviews!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Solana Platforms Are Where We Do Battle

4th August 2013:
Loved it. Truly, it was an entertaining, well-written story full of just the right amount of drama and seemingly all the right words, movements, motivations, feelings and actions of the characters. I'm happy that you kept as close to canon as possible. And the ending was satisfying and realistic. Happy as can be. And yes, I think they've a good chance of staying together forever. At least ... I hope so. Why did you ask, btw? Any intention of sequeling this?

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! That is very high praise indeed, and my inner pessimist is thinking of all of the ways I could have made this story better! So, since I trust your judgement, I'll try not to rip it to pieces with merciless editing. And I'll think on this project as a job done sufficiently... ;)
I'm glad you think they will last as a couple, because I wanted to see whether you guys thought they were as solid a couple as I intended to portray. In answer to your question, I don't have any immediate plans to write a sequel but I'll never rule it out just in case I get a good idea for a scenario that would happen to Rose and Scorpius. They'll also be mentioned in my next story about James II- check that out if you're interested in the other Next Generation characters! ;) I would really appreciate it!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #11, by MadiMalfoy Platforms Are Where We Do Battle

3rd August 2013:
I'm going to be super sad when I end my first novel too, so I'm procrastinating a whole lot and it's just terrible!! I don't think it was overly romantic or anything! It was very funny towards the end with Albus/Alice in the compartment, and then Scorpius going into the Professors' compartment instead, I literally laughed out loud! Honestly, it was a very good ending to a phenomenal story. You were able to wrap everything up nice and neat without overdoing it or dragging it out further. It was short, sweet, and to the point, but with a very good point. I'll have to check out your new story too, once I get more time!! :D Congrats on finishing this, you wrote this beautifully. :) x

Author's Response: I know exactly what you mean; but don't dread getting to the end because then you'll get to read wonderful reviews just like this one! Good Luck though! I'm glad you found it funny, although I think you may be the only person to ever laugh at one of my jokes... ;)
My new story isn't going to be out for a little while yet, so hopefully you'll have more free time when it does emerge! I hope you keep reading and reviewing though, because I'd hate to have to say goodbye to you along with Rose and Scorpius! :)
Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #12, by MadiMalfoy Hell Hath No Fury

3rd August 2013:
Seriously, I thought it was going to be Scorpius that Tabitha gave the love potion to and then it would've been this whole cliche sort of deal but you made it so much better!! The way you made it unclear as to who she was attacking and that both Toby and Scorpius like to go for morning Quidditch practice is great and helped build the suspense wonderfully! I'm glad you resolved it in the same chapter though, since it would've been dragged out too long in my opinion otherwise. Albus and Alice are cute together. :) Off to read the next chapter! x

Author's Response: Thanks, I'd already written half of the chapter when I realised I wanted a bit of uncertainty as to how Tabitha had attacked. I agree that it would have dragged on too long if I hadn't revealed the person later in the chapter; but I wanted to keep the story at a nice round 25 chapters anyway! I think they're cute too, and I'm glad someone else thinks so. I only put them in at the very end for my own personal satisfaction- so now I feel less selfish!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #13, by AriesGirl40 Hell Hath No Fury

1st August 2013:
That was an exciting chapter, I didnt see Toby getting involved any other way except by love potion. Tabitha is on her way outta there.

My guess is that with your next book you are going to mainly focus on Al and the new love of his life and use Rose and Scorpius as the extras, that way we can still keep tabs on whats going on in their relationship too.

1 chapter left! See you then :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Yup, she's pretty radical...
Oooh, you're so very close! But you'll find out very soon what I've got planned as there is a chapter summary in the final (eek!) chapter. And luckily, I've already put that up for validation! :)
I hope you like the ending and thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Persephones_Child The Question

29th July 2013:
Oh. My. God.

You are so talented it's unbelievable. WHAT ARE YOU DOING WRITING FANFICTION? PUBLISH A BOOK! You're way better than some real authors out there. I'm serious. You're immensely talented.

Author's Response: Aw, this had made my day! :) Thank you so much! I would love to write a book one day but fanfiction is so much fun! And it means I get to read lovely reviews like this one! I hope you like the next chapter!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-) x


 Report Review

Review #15, by Persephones_Child So... Good Talk

29th July 2013:
ERRRMMMERRGUUURRRD I DESPISE TABITHA!

P.s I think I just fell in love with with Toby Green. Is he single?

Author's Response: Unfortunately, he is fictional. But if he weren't... HE WOULD BE MINE! Sorry, but I've got my claws in... ;)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Persephones_Child Malfoy Returns

28th July 2013:
URGH SCORPITHA! JE DETESTE LA SCORPITHA.

HEURSEMENT, J'ADORE LE ROSIUS.

Author's Response: Haha, et moi! Mais, peut-etre, Scorpitha sera termine bientot! ;)

 Report Review

Review #17, by anonymous The Question

13th July 2013:
OMG You HAVE to keep writing! this is so amazing!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! Don't worry, there'll be another chapter very very soon... ;)
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #18, by iatevoldysnose The Question

4th July 2013:
Hello again! You're back! Sorry for taking a long time to review this, but didn't really get any time to...anyway... :)

ASDFGHJKL! THIS CHAPTER WAS SO FRICKEN ADORABUBBLE! IT'S JUST TOO MUCH *breaks down crying infront of laptop*
I'm kidding, I didn't cry, but it WAS beautiful :D

You wrote this chapter so well, it was like I was Rose and I could feel all that she was feeling...your description and writing was marvelous :) I especially loved the description of the dress :D

I couldn't help but laugh at the part about Scorpius wearing a leotard...ahh... :)

I found it...idk the word, but whatever...when both Scorp and Rose thought the other would be embarrassed, I thought that was cute :)

Oh how I wish I could use magic...then I could do make-up perfectly with just the flick of a wand...sigh...

Tabitha is still a meanie...I'm not going to use "foul" language ;) But siriusly, Tabitha IS a meanie! Just wondering, but did she actually make up the part where "Scorpius is going to ask Dom out", or did she actually hear it from someone?

You haven't failed to deliver a wonderful chapter once again...well done! I can't wait for the next "installment" of this marvelous story :D Hope you update soon :)

Love,
iatevoldysnose xox

P.S. If you have the time, I would greatly appreciate if you could take a look at my story and maybe give me some feedback?

Author's Response: What a wonderful review! Thank you so much, and it's great that you are my 150th review! :)
I'm glad you liked the chapter and enjoyed all of the romantic parts that I'm such a fan of... I was slightly worried that I was subjecting you guys to all of these cliches so I'm happy that you don't seem to mind!
I KNOW! As I was writing the chapter I was praying that there really was a spell for perfect makeup. Alas, we are forced to muddle on alone...!
I think Tabitha did make up that stuff with Scorpius: but I think she was moe concerned with trying to upset Rose rather than saying something realistic.
Hopefully the next chapter will be up soon. It has more about all the ways in which Tabitha is a 'meanie' so hopefully you'll enjoy that! ;)
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)

P.S. No problem! I am so flattered that you would want to hear my feedback! Expect a review soon! xxx


 Report Review

Review #19, by MadiMalfoy The Question

29th June 2013:
Yay you updated this! :D Don't worry about the delay, I'm doing that too a little bit what with challenges I have to get written, reviews to write that were requested, beta-ing, and real life too!!

Anyway, a great chapter! I'm glad you gave Rose and Scorpius some romantic moments, it's a nice change. And the foreshadowing with nasty Tabitha was great! And Rose's dress was perfect!! A little white to green ombre, perfect! :) You write so well, I'm excited for the next one, and don't worry about slow updates, they happen to us all! xx

Author's Response: Yeah, I've been avoiding that last one far too often! ;) Thanks for understanding! It IS a nice change; they don't have an easy ride in the next chapter either! Hopefully I'll get the next one up soon because the writing isn't as laborious as this one!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-) xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by Casey The Question

26th June 2013:
Wow! Great story, my one question is, why is this set in forth year? I feel like they are way more mature thAn 4th years and it'd be weird for their relatiOn ship to progress further sense they are only 14ish years old. Still good story, can't wait for an update!

Author's Response: Thanks! I have wanted to change that for a while, but I thought that if I made them any older the age difference between Rose and Hugo would be too large. However, I have changed their year to sixth year because I do enjoy continuity! :) Thanks for bringing it to my attention in the first place! But don't worry, I hadn't planned on them doing anything inappropriate to their age originally anyway!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Dahlia Bailey The Question

19th June 2013:
This is AMAZING!!! I love Rose and Scorpious together it's so sweet!
Dahlia

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you'll stick around to see what comes next for them!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #22, by AriesGirl40 The Question

19th June 2013:
I did enjoy the chapter, I wasnt too in love with the Tabitha moment for some reason. Maybe because she was so unconvincing to Rose. Rose didnt waver even for a second. But I do have to say that you did get across that she wants to interfere. She has to realize she cant get him back, but that doesnt mean she wants him to be happy with someone else either. Just how psycho is she going to turn out to be? Does she collect Scorps hair? does she have spies around to lift his combs in order to acquire more? What does she do with the hair? Make VooDoo dolls in his likeness to no avail? Or Polly juice dates in town to look like the man of her dreams? Polly juice herself? Not going there... lol Can you tell im very tired right now? :) Good chapter!

Author's Response: Argh, sorry you didn't like that part! She is a real nutcase, but I can't imagine her going to the lengths you described!! She does have a further plan, however, and all will be revealed in the next chapter!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Oxy Moron The Question

17th June 2013:
So glad i went on hpff today as I finally got to read your new chapter. As usual Tabitha is extremely annoying but I still want to see the further developments with Tabitha. Loved the owl Doris, I wonder why you named her Doris? Great chapter! Can't wait for the next chapter. It's crazy that this chapter 23, it feels like yesterday I was reviewing your first chapter. Sorry about this long review.

Author's Response: Haha, yes, it was quite a long wait! Sorry about that! Still, I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter! Don't worry, I have big plans for Tabitha and I have the current inclination to write the next chapter from her perspective. We'll have to see whether that works out but I hope you'll come back regardless! And it is an unusual name, but it's one that holds a very special place in my heart for a number of reasons... :)
I am totally with you though in the fact that time has passed so quickly! I checked the other day and I started writing this in May last year. It really doesn't feel like a whole year (and a month) has gone by! Thanks for sticking with me through it all! xx
Sorry for this long response! ;) Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review

Review #24, by iatevoldysnose Easter

24th April 2013:
Hello again!
Sorry I didn't review sooner. I would have reviewed yesterday or the day before, but I sort of forgot to...anyway.

OK. So I was really glad that Hermione chose Rose's side over Ron's. You portray Ron exactly how I would have imagined him to act like in a situation like this. Although I love Ron, he can be quite irrational at times can't he? Him and Hermione are just so adorable.

And why exactly did Hermione dislike Toby? Or was it just an unexplainable sort of dislike?
How Hermione treated Toby was actually hilarious!
Ron's accusations of Scorpius poisoning Rose is so funny! Well done!
Hermione's taste in guys is so good ;) Ron's reaction is epic

Love it, and hope you update quickly:)
Can't wait for your next chapter!

Love,
iatevoldysnose xox

P.S. Alexis is an awesome name! Love it!

Author's Response: Haha, no problem- I'm happy with a review at any time! And yes he can, but the brilliant thing about him is that all of his irrationality is motivated by love! ;) I think Hermione disliked Toby because she knew he wasn't right for Rose, but she may also have been a bit protective over her daughter because she was a bit young when Toby and Rose started going out.
Don't worry, I am currently in the process of writing the next chapter. It won't be up right away because it'll be quite a monster when it's done. Hopefully it'll be worth it!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-) xxx

P.S. Thanks, I like it! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by iatevoldysnose Scose, Stew & Albus Too

22nd April 2013:
Even though this chapter was already updated when I read it, I totally get the writer's block thing! I had it too...(:

I like this chapter, and how you show their relationship:) awesome amazeballs:)

I don't get the last part, where Scorpius is asking Rose about keeper trials...can you please explain it to me?

Sorry for the short review! But I'm nearly finished chapter 22!

Wonderful chapter!

-iatevoldysnose

P.S. my OTPs are Scorpius/Rose, Fred/Luna, Albus/OC, Dom/Lysander and Draco/Hermione. If I think of any more I really like I'll tell you:)

P.P.S. I think this chapter is just fine! Dont stress:)

P.P.P.S. When do you think you will be updating next? Can't wait!

Author's Response: Yeah, writer's block really sucks! Hopefully it's behind us now! Thanks a lot, you have no idea how many romantic comedies I had to watch to get the feel of them right! And in reference to your question...
Scorpius never wanted to be Seeker, as we already know, because he was always interested in being a Keeper. So the significance of Rose telling him that he should be a Keeper is the fact that she understood what he wanted even though they've never discussed it (Rose just overhears Scorpius telling his dad in chapter 16). 'Oooh, she can read his mind, they're so in tune blah blah'. Yeah, I know, very cringey! However, the main point is that Rose is promising to help him tryout next year as Keeper, meaning that she thinks they'll still be a couple next year, and that she's in it for the long haul. And Scorpius is obviously pretty psyched about this... ;)
Don't worry, I'm in the process of writing the 23rd (??) chapter. Hopefully it'll be up before the 3rd or 4th of May (specific, I know), but if I get possessed then possibly before then! It's hard to say! Just stick around, because there is a lot more coming your way!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Alexis
:-)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>