67 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Teddy1993 The Battle Of Hogwarts.

4th February 2014:
Great chapter. There were a few spelling mistakes like Hogsmeade and Dervish and Banges, but it doesn't influence the story at all. I liked how you wrote Grindelwald into the Battle of Hogwarts.

Author's Response: Thanks for all your reviews so far, appreciate them so much. I know, me a few years ago was awful at spelling - I think I'm a little better now!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Teddy1993 Chapter 2: Escape!

3rd February 2014:
I like the fact that even another dark wizard like Grindelwald can see how twisted Voldemort is. That man truly brought evil to a whole new level. You really handled the scene where Grindelwald misleads Voldemort well. Good chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Teddy1993 Prologue

3rd February 2014:
Promising first chapter. Nice writing. I liked how you described the duel between Dumbledore and Grindelwald, especially the quote from the first book about standing up to your friends.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by StarFeather Chapter 25: Kreacher

14th January 2014:
Another great chapter, I really enjoyed the scene when Kreacher helped Harry and Ron to rescue Dedalus, which reminded me of Dobby's helping Harry and his friends during their capture in the seventh book.

Author's Response: That's what I was trying to recreate :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by StarFeather Chapter 15: A Race Against Time.

10th January 2014:
A great action scene! I enjoyed, thank you!
Wow,Seven Potters! A brilliant idea!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by StarFeather Chapter 13: Depature

10th January 2014:
The most impressive part for me here was when Grindelwald was stunned at Draco's saying Harry possessed the Invisibility Cloak, and feared Harry might have three Deathly Hallows. Great story!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by StarFeather Chapter 6: Godric's Hollow.

9th January 2014:
The best post-Hogwarts fanfic I've ever read so far. The chapter 5 was good, I was thrilled for angry Ginny,and Ron's admonishing his sister, this chapter is also good, especially the friendship between Hermione and Harry. I laughed at the scene Harry and Ron were eating greedily.
Oops,I forgot reading Hermione's wand and Ron's were taken at Malfoy Manor, I should have added that in my fanfic, just my remorse.
Thank you !

Author's Response: Really glad you enjoyed it and cheers for all the reviews :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by StarFeather Prologue

7th January 2014:
Hello,the title of your sequel "the Knights of Mordred" brought me here, haha :) I'm also a fan of "Merlin" the BBC series, I decided to read through your first one. I like your picturesque descriptive way , description of nature, and duel scene.

Author's Response: Ahh I see, I had to chose an interesting title, might draw some people in. Glad to see it worked, and I'm glad you're enjoying so far.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Patty Epilogue

23rd November 2013:
Great story. Thanks! The duelling scenes are really fun to read.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it, I really tried to recreate the dueling scenes, lot of research went into offensive spells, believe me there's a lot more than people seem to use!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Lukas J Epilogue

6th July 2013:
This was an amazing story. Thanks for writing it.

Author's Response: You're very very welcome

 Report Review

Review #11, by Lukas J Chapter 26: Family's important

28th June 2013:
This story is completely amazing and seems like i was written by Rowling herself. It is kinda messed up that Ginny and Harry have...physical relations in the house Harry's parents were murdered in.

Author's Response: Maybe it wasn't clear enough, I did say they went back to Grimmauld Place haha, I agree that WOULD be too messed up.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Jdante Epilogue

1st June 2013:
This is a story review.
I must say, I very much enjoyed the story line. Well thought out.just enough romance and fighting, mixed together. A very nice balance. I'd liked to see more from you.
I would, however, liked to have seen this gone though a proof reader. There are times when 'then' and 'than' are used incorrectly. Also, there were several occuraces of senteces that were either missing words or had words that should have been omitted. Unfortunately, it makes you retread the same sentence a few times for it to make sense. This takes the reader out of the flow of the storyline, which at times sucks, especially when the action is really exciting!
That aside, a very enjoyable story.
Thanks for all the hard work!

Author's Response: I really should go through my own stuff I'm terrible for it, it just gets to the point where I say "It'll do! I must upload!" Silly really. Sorry about that, but I'm glad you enjoyed it overall, and thanks very much for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Deepak Epilogue

11th May 2013:
a good effort, quite enjoyable. Thanks

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Will be back soon to finish the rest, I promise.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Tejas Prologue

22nd February 2013:
This is a review for the whole book, sorry. This is awesome! The style of this book is just like Rowling's.
You must have had to read the HP books so many times. I always wanted to meet James and Lily in a book. The portrait was the best. The style of them even is great, just like them! Amazing feat seeing that they were never really introduced in the books. Really, GREAT job. I'm gonna read the Knights of Mordred and the other one Pre Hogwarts.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it so much! That's a massive compliment you gave me there, thank you very much, although I'll admit I have read the books many, many times haha. I'm glad people like the portrait, it's an idea I've read in another story (I forget which) and decided I'd quite like to develop it myself.
Thanks for reviewing, hope you enjoy the other stories too!


 Report Review

Review #15, by riverwind Chapter 35: Gryffindor Vs Slytherin

26th January 2013:
What a great story, it had everything, love, adventure, danger, bad guys, good guys, quidditch, everything. It had the cliff hangers from chapter to chapter and the one liners. You captured each of the people those that we already know and the ones we got to know and each with their own distinct personality.

I look forward to reading your next story, and thanks again for writing this one.

River

Author's Response: Really glad you liked it so much, and your review means a lot. Hope you enjoy my next story as much as you did this one :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Mariano_Pingitore Chapter 2: Escape!

30th December 2012:
Hey, I just found your story and started reading it! It seems quite an interesting point of view, although I should at this point express my views on this chapter: While I like the way you string words together, cause it certainly shows you're an accomplished writer, I really believe Gridelwald escaped a little bit too easily. If he had been capable of using wandless magic for all those years he could have escaped sooner, or was he afraid of Dumbledore when he was alive? Perhaps that would be the smoothest explanation though it is not hinted in the chapter. Anyway, the story has gripped me already and I'll continue reading it ASAP.

(by the way if you go to my author's page you'll find but a single story with two chapters that haven't been updated since May. All I can say is that I had a rough year, but I intend to continue the story in 2013 (I have the first 10 chapters hand written, waiting for my lazy self to type them up.)

Cheers!

Author's Response: I always had it in my head that Grindelwald gained the use of wandless magic because he knew that if Voldemort came while he was still stuck in Nuremgard, he'd die, so he had to escape. Sorry if that wasn't clear.
Thanks for the compliments, and the review in general, and I'll be sure to check out your story :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by emmaharmon Prologue

26th November 2012:
i can see antony hopkins as gellert grindelewald

Author's Response: Totally, he'd be perfect haha. Just the right amount of madness.

 Report Review

Review #18, by hpfangirl Chapter 2: Escape!

12th November 2012:
Its really good so far :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoy it :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Fafner Prologue

10th November 2012:
There are absolutely NO mountains in northern Germany! It's flat as a pancake.

Author's Response: That's because you're a muggle-they're magically protected see?
I kid, it's a mess up haha. I'll move Nuremgard at some point.


 Report Review

Review #20, by onetreehill1 Prologue

5th November 2012:
I've been planning on reading this for awhile. i'm already in love with it. You write so well. I'm really excited to how this story is going to pan out, i could actually see this as a proper story Jk rowling herself could write about and the plot seems quite definite and straight forward so far, seriously can't wait to read more
- onetreehill1

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it, and thanks for the compliment, although I won't ever pretend I'm as good as JK it's nice to hear all the same.
I hope you enjoy the story!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Jimmbo Epilogue

28th October 2012:
Wow! even fluffier :P I thought we were in a for a Pride and Prejudice style double wedding there for a moment!

Also thanks so much for the acknowledgement at the end, as an author myself I know how nice it can be to get reviews, and I hope that I in some way contributed to helping you get the story out. Whilst not perfect, I really enjoyed your characterisation throughout, the way you wrote battle scenes and did the relationships between HP/GW and RW/HG. Your OCs were well thought out, especially Robards and you general plot stood up to the length of the piece which made it all the more satisfying.

One of the true pleasures for me on this site is sifting through stories and mostly finding fairly poor, badly spelt and thoughtout tales but then every once and a while coming across a real gem and this has been that! I really look forward to reading your next stories, I am sure you will not disappoint.

Congratulations on a superb story and, more importantly,

Thank You

Author's Response: Ah no! I don't think Hermione or Ginny would settle for sharing their special day (although Ron and Harry would've probably welcomed the idea)

I had to acknowledge you, you've been a fantastic reviewer for so long now!
I don't think I ever could be perfect-JK is perfect, and I don't think I could ever be that good if I live to be a thousand.
Robards has to be my favorite OC to write-he's just fantastic, lovely depth to the character too.

I hope you like the next story, thanks for being so faithful!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Jimmbo Chapter 35: Gryffindor Vs Slytherin

28th October 2012:
Nothing like a bit of fluff to end on!

Author's Response: Nothing at all, not that Fluff is my favorite to write, but sometimes it's necessary :')

 Report Review

Review #23, by Jimmbo Chapter 34: Nurenmgard

28th October 2012:
Really liked the chapter, though maybe it could have been a little longer, more of the fight with Grindelwald? Otherwise it was excellent as always!

Author's Response: Honestly? I wanted to make it longer, but I genuinely ran out of things for them to do to one another haha. I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by nathan Chapter 35: Gryffindor Vs Slytherin

28th October 2012:
Continuing our previous conversation, I acknowledge your points and here is my counter-argument for each point.

I know that dumbledore theory of love is important but that only worked against voldemort because he never understood or felt love-who says grindlewald didn't?

Being able to fight off 100s of dementors may mean that harry is quite powerfull however that does not help when you're fighting against an experienced dueller who is faster than you (like grindlewald).

As you said he got knocked about by snape in the astronomy tower. Snape was very powerfull but dumbeldore was more powerfull and grindlewald was as powerfull as dumbledore so grindlewald should have been able to 'knock about' harry just like snape.

If you notice-harry rarely comes into contact with death eaters in book 7 and when he does he is either assisted by ron and hermione, or he escapes (apparates) or he is captured (malfoy manor). He didn't fight his way out of malfoy manor rather escaped with HELP of dobby.

When harry is doing his OWL's the examiner says he tested dumbledore as a teenager and dumbledore 'did things with a wand I never knew were even possible'. Harry never created any spells as a teenager. So grindlewald who was as powerful as dumbledore probably could-therefore he was more powerful.

Just want to end of with saying that I actually loved the rest of the story and appreciate all the time you must of put into it. I'm not trying to be ungratefull just want to express my difficulties with that chapter.
Sorry again if I'm upsetting you in any way.
Thanks a lot and really really looking forward to your next story.
PS: Quick question: Is the next story a continuation or about the marauders (I'll be happy with either).
Many thanks again

Author's Response: I think we should agree to disagree, mainly because I'm very tired and don't have the energy to reply to each of your points.
I'm glad you enjoyed the story though, and criticism is always good, you learn ways to improve, so your comments didn't upset me :)
In answer to your question, I think they're gonna run side by side, I'll just update each one according to which ever is further along.


 Report Review

Review #25, by nathan Chapter 34: Nurenmgard

26th October 2012:
Look mate-as much as I love harry potter (which incidently is a lot; I know the books back to front), harry potter himself is NOT a powerfull wizard, he only managed to defeat voldemort because he was the master of the elder wand and it COULDN'T kill him-had he been using the elder wand voldemort would have beaten him in the duel-its only because it belonged to him and couldn't kill him, did he manage to defeat voldemort. Therefore, grindlewald who was as powerfull as dumbledore couldn't have been defeated by harry even though harry had the elder wand (grindlewald had it and dumbledore managed to defeat him). Therefore I conclude that grindlewalds death was in my eyes RUBBISH-he should have been killed by around 4 aurors duelling with him. That said I think that the rest of your story was actually very good so I don't know why you made such an error. :(

Author's Response: I also know the books back to front, and I'd say he's actually fairly powerful! Let's look at the facts.
He was the only DA member not to get injured in the department of mysteries, fought off hundreds of dementors at 13, managed to win the triwizard tournament (albeit with help) at 14, didn't get hurt in the astronmoy tower fight until he got smacked about by Snape, managed to stay alive all through book 7 with all that shit, from the sky battle through to the Battle of Hogwarts. Then he became an Auror and after that, the youngest Auror office head in history.
Not a powerful wizard? He was very powerful. But I see your point, maybe not as powerful as Grindelwald-however, I did explain that strange power he gets now Voldemort's gone when he needs to protect someone he loves-in Godric's Hollow and Australia. Here, he's protecting everyone, literally; he knows Grindelwald will hunt down everyone who helped him, so he has to win. That and the Elder Wand levelled the playing field I think, it was an even fight after that.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>