Reading Reviews for In The Red
  
264 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BettyBlack The Precaution

7th February 2014:
I know I'm *very* late to the party but I just had to say - absolutely love your writing! I stumbled across 'In the Black' while looking for Sirius fics and this has just -unexpectedly - reignited my love for all things Snape. You have developed a side to his personality that is lacking in many other stories - you write him in a way that is so human, and my heart genuinely breaks for him and Beth at times. Throughout their meetings in "In the Red" I found myself screaming "JUST KISS HIM/HER" at either one, at various times... But genius prevails!

Author's Response: This review just made my entire day -- thank you so much! I'm actually rather honored that you came across this fic looking for Sirius and stayed for Snape. They are arguably my two favorite characters in this trilogy. ♥

I'm so happy you find Snape to be so human, too! I strove very hard to make every single one of my characters human -- nobody wants to read about someone who isn't, in my opinion -- and I'm so happy you found it to work.

THEY REALLY SHOULD JUST KISS, THOUGH. IT WOULD SOLVE ALL THEIR PROBLEMS. Thank you so much for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Rumpelstiltskin The Precaution

9th October 2013:
Oh my god.

I'm so flooded with emotions right now. I don't think I know exactly what to say...or even how to put the way I feel about this into words!!

All that I can think is Oh. My. God!

I HAVE to start reading the next book RIGHT NOW or I may actually keel over in anticipation!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: EEK. ♥ I'm excited that you're excited! You are reading these books so fast, and I'm so grateful for it -- not to mention jealous. I wish I could read so fast!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review and for being so enthusiastic! It's a slump period for me right now, and I needed that boost to make me keep writing. You're fantastic. :)

Hope to be hearing more from you soon!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Courtney Dark The Precaution

16th September 2013:
PERFECT WAY TO END THE STORY!

I am dying to go ahead and read the first chapter of the next book, but I am going to exercise a little something called self-control because it is late and I may or may not have two exams tomorrow. And instead of studying I have been reading and writing fanfiction, making graphics and watching Supernatural all day. Whoopsies.

There were so many bits of this chapter I loved.

Baby Harry being passed around just turned my insides into goo because it was so perfect and adorable and Sirius was so perfect and adorable (yes, I just used those two words twice) being all over-protective and AHH! I just love him so much!

And then James broke my heart when he made that comment about when Sirius has kids because SIRIUS NEVER HAS KIDS! HE PRACTICALLY HAS NO FUTURE! And I'm actually starting to get teary eyes just writing this...the things your story does to me...

And then Severus comes in and looks at Beth and she's wearing the bracelet and HE STILL DOESN'T REMEMBER HER! I mean, I knew he wouldn't BUT IT'S JUST SO HEARTBREAKING!! I wasn't expecting all these people to know Severus is a spy for Dumbledore though - I always thought only Dumbledore knew.

And then that ending...OMG PERFECTION! Honestly, overall, In The Red is one of the best fanfictions I have ever read - you should definitely be proud, and I am jealous of your writing skills!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Ew, self-control. Ew, studying. ♥ But I cannot fault you for doing either, because both are more important than this silly thing of a story, and I've just decided that we're best friends because you waste your days making graphics and watching Supernatural. LONG-LOST TWINS, AMIRITE.

Ah, wee Harry. Still love him. ♥ Still hate that he has to grow up without all these people that already love him to absolute bits and pieces -- life is very cruel. AND YES, THAT COMMENT WAS ON PURPOSE. I've mentioned this before, but I'm rather fond of little barbs like that...

He really doesn't remember her. :( It's so sad and ugh. Just ugh. I still have so many emotions about this, especially because it doesn't feel like all that long ago that I was writing and/or posting this chapter.

I am so, so, so extremely flattered that this is one of the best fics you've ever read. ♥ That seriously made my day all over again! I loved writing these books and posting them for others, and really, they're a huge part of who I am. I wouldn't trade them for the world.

THANK YOU for being such an awesome reviewer, and yes -- I'll respond to all your reviews eventually! I promise! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Courtney Dark July 31, 1980

16th September 2013:
This is going to be yet another extremely short review because I just so badly want to read the last chapter!

This chapter was absolutely perfect. I don't think you could have written it better because BABY HARRY! Oh my god, it was so weird to read, even though I've been waiting for it for ages. And James and Lily and Beth and Sirius - they were just all perfect! Sirius and Beth as god-parents! Perfect!

Alrighty, onto the last chapter - how exciting! And then I still have a whole book to go, lucky me!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Run, Courtney, run! Short reviews are always accepted (because you're reviewing at all and that's awesome), but doubly so when you're racing to read the next. ;) Baby Harry! ♥ As you've probably noticed by now, I just adore writing him. Can't get enough. And writing Sirius and Beth as godparents -- couldn't get enough of that, either!

I'm so pleased you enjoyed this chapter. ♥ Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Courtney Dark The Remembering

16th September 2013:
Before I forget! The word happening in the last review was meant to be expecting! GRR! I spotted that just after I posted the review and it really irked me and...sorry. I can be a bit of a perfectionist and I make a LOT of mistakes when typing fast. Anyway, I should probably scroll back to the top of the page and read the chapter now...

OH MY GOD!

OH MY FREAKING GOD!

I honestly don't know what else to say. HOLY CRAP! My mind is seriously whirring. SEVERUS AND BETH KISSED! BUT THEN HE'S GOING TO FORGET ALL ABOUT IT!

My brain is not functioning. Must go on and read the next chapter.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: No worries at all! I mess up so often when typing reviews and/or review responses, and I didn't even realize you'd messed up until you pointed it out. :P So much for my reading skills, huh?

OH MY GOD. ♥ Ah, this chapter. And because I feast on readers' tears, it's probably one of my favorites in the entire trilogy. But you predicted it! THEY KISSED AND HE'S GOING TO FORGET ALL ABOUT IT AND BASICALLY I'M AWFUL.

*hugs for your poor brain* ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Courtney Dark What Severus Told

16th September 2013:
Oooh, I wasn't happening all this to happen so soon, meaning that I enjoyed this chapter even more than usual!

I honestly didn't think, at the end of last chapter, that this was what Severus was going to do. I thought he was going to try and make himself forget about Beth or Beth forget about him or do something even more drastic like turn her in to the Death Eater's or something. So GO SEVERUS is all I really have to say, YOU ROCK!

Oh, and you wrote Dumbledore perfectly in this chapter! I could seriously picture him in my mind, studying Severus like he was an open book.

And I loved Peter's point of view, too! I'm glad that you felt bad, Peter! Although that does not make up for the fact that you are a dirty, nine fingered (toed? It's confusing when you're a rat and a miserable excuse for a person) rat. And that last line just wrapped the chapter up perfectly!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: It's time for the enacting of canon events, yes! And oh MAN, your predictions... I can't say anything about them even though you know what happens already, but were you on the money or what? I think you're the only person without foreknowledge who predicted that! Severus, you really do rock. ♥

I'm glad you liked Dumbledore too! I've found him generally easy/fun to write, because I can tap into him pretty easily, I think. Voldemort and Bellatrix... not so much.

I think he's nine-toed? Who knows, really. He is a very miserable person, but I somehow have sympathy for him, after writing these books. Not a LOT, but more sympathy than I had before writing them. Which was none. :P

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Courtney Dark A Decision and a Dilemma

16th September 2013:
I really enjoyed the marauder banter! It was definitely nice to see the gang back together again - even Peter. Well, not really, but I'm trying to see him from Beth and Sirius and James and Remus' point of view and I'm sure they were all glad he was there. Anyway.

I'm not sure I've said this before (I've left too many reviews on this story and the one before to remember everything I've written) but there is something so unbelievably sad about these young adults sitting around laughing and talking and playing Exploding Snap when we know their lives are going to start going seriously downhill. Soon.

But anyway, I loved the conversation between Sirius and Beth as always and James talking about Baby Harry and Lily was just so sweet! And I'm guessing Sirius DOESN'T tell Dumbledore about them being Animaguses, seeing as he managed to break into Hogwarts...

But that's all in the future!

I enjoyed Severus' point of view too, mainly because of that cliffhanger. What on earth is he going to do?

Great chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: I miss writing Marauder banter! Definitely one of my favorite parts of this era. :) And yes, Peter's still very much a part of the group at this point -- even if we as readers are suspicious of his motives...

This era is VERY sad, and it's emphasized by such a forward-looking attitude toward the carefree future. It's easy to think this could be them in 20 years, playing Exploding Snap like always, but reality has something else planned for them.

You've probably answered the Animagi question for yourself at this point. ;) Since I'm so dreadfully behind on review responses! But I really am so happy you enjoyed this chapter, and all the others. Knowing I've entertained people through my writing is one of the best feelings. ♥ Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Courtney Dark Worth It

15th September 2013:
This chapter was full of so much perfection that I don't really know where to start!

Pfft. Of course I do! THAT ENDING! THE KISS! Well, it wasn't quite a kiss but we're getting there! And it was just so sweet and perfect!

And Beth is secret keeper as well? I did not see that coming! And now my mind is whirring and I'm wondering how everything is going to work out with Beth/Sirius/Peter/the betrayal? Does something happen to Beth before Peter betrays them all? I hope not! But then if it doesn't...does she go to Azkaban too? Or flee the country? Does she obtain a fake identity? Is she really Madam Puddifoot in disguise?

I think my theories are becoming a little unlikely.

I loved the moving in to Godric's Hollow scene. Seriously loved it because IT'S GODRIC'S HOLLOW! But there is something so sad about reading James and Lily, when their death is rapidly drawing nearer and nearer. HOLY CRAP! I just realized there's only just over a year until James and Lily died and Sirius goes to Azkaban and Peter rats out and eventually ends up with the Weasleys and Beth becomes Madam Puddifoot! Wow...

When that letter arrived, I actually felt scared, because it reminded me so much of those times I was called to the deans room at school and didn't know whether I was about to be rewarded or reprimanded.

I forgot that Dumbledore can be quite a scary dude. But that scene was absolutely perfect, and I felt so nervous for Beth throughout the whole thing!

Amazing chapter - probably one of my favourites!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: The almost-kiss! ♥ Took long enough to happen, right? I do like taking my time with this romance, apparently... but oh well. We'll get there in the end, to tweak what you've just said!

She is indeed a Secret-Keeper, at least for now, and I apologize in advance for the great muddiness of the whole Secret-Keeping thing. It's never clearly outlined in canon, either, and it's very difficult to make canon events happen based around the little that J.K. Rowling told us, so I tried my best to provide some explanations for why things happened as they did. But all of those sad things, should I choose to include them, are very much far away in the future!

Dumbledore can be VERY scary. I have mixed feelings about him, which sometimes got written into these books. :P But he's not that nice, genial, everybody's-friend sort of guy that a lot of people portray him as. He's got a dark side, for sure.

I'm so glad you liked this chapter! Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Courtney Dark A Suspicion Confirmed

15th September 2013:
I love Sirius, I really do, but sometimes he can be quite, well, stupid! Oh, Sirius:( I feel like I say that a lot.

I really liked the start of the chapter, and I totally thought it was a build up to what was going to be a light, fluffy chapter.

I love you add random little details into your chapters, like Sirius' conversation with the man on the stairwell - that made me laugh, and just seemed so Sirius and, again, made me sure that this chapter was going to be fluffy.

The first thing that came to mind as I read the start of Sirius and Beth's encounter, as Beth rustled about in the kitchen, was how different it was to the conversation between Beth and Severus in the last chapter. Beth's relationship with Sirius seems so much easier and she obviously doesn't have to think about what she should say next or how she should act...but then everything started going downhill. Why must the two of you argue so much? You're breaking my sad little heart!

And then the letter! I was so not expecting that - why Sirius, why? I think I know what it's got to do with but I am definitely curious as to what Minerva's suspicions were - and I loved the Dumbledore point of view, by the way!

I told myself I was going to stop after this chapter, but I think I'll just have to read the next one now.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Sirius can be very stupid at times, you're quite right -- and largely because, I think, he doesn't imagine the full consequences to his actions. He thinks he's doing the right thing by Beth, but he hasn't ever really stopped and thought about it, and of course it blows up in his face.

Beth has a very different relationship with "her boys" than she does with Sev for many reasons -- for a start, the Marauders know much more about her, and as a second reason, she's not really trying to impress them. She wants to show Sev her best front, of course, but with the boys she can be 100% herself without any potential repercussions, which is what everyone needs with their friends. And, as you see here, that can sometimes lead to head-butting. :P

Thanks for your review, as always! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by Courtney Dark The Prophecy Unearthed

15th September 2013:
Ooooh, interesting chapter, not what I expected at all!

Oh, Beth! I loved how nervous she was before Severus' arrival, because it just felt so normal and so Beth. And this is kind of random, but I love that she has this habit of rubbing her nose when she's nervous or anxious. Hehe, and I can just imagine Sirius and Peter (I have to keep reminding myself that he's already the rat, grrr) getting out of their quickly when she declared she was having feminine problems.

The conversation between Severus and Beth was perfect - again, I loved the awkward atmosphere between them. And then I really wasn't expecting Severus to tell Beth he'd overheard the prophecy! I wonder what she'll do with the information? And then their hug was a perfect way to end!

And then the James POV at the end was a lovely way to wrap the chapter up - I love getting these glimpses into James and Lily's life, especially with Baby Harry on the way!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I think a lot of Beth's nerves/anxiety came from me, because I have an anxiety disorder -- she's quite anxious a lot of the time, but then again, meeting Severus would freak me out too. :P Her nose-rubbing thing's a habit of mine, too! She's a lot of me put together, and also things I wish I were, if that makes sense at all.

Severus and Beth exist almost solely on unsaid things and awkwardness, but it works for them. ♥ I really do miss writing about them so much, more than I imagined I would (and that was already quite a bit).

Baby Harry! One of my favorite parts of the whole trilogy, as I'm sure you've gleaned by now in BE. He's really too adorable NOT to write, though.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Courtney Dark Sirius and Severus

15th September 2013:
Great chapter!

I really enjoyed the Order of the Phoenix meeting because (I've got a strong feeling I've said this before) I find it super interesting and fascinating finding out what's going on during the First Wizarding War, how all the canon characters are involved, and you do a really good job of writing it! I love that you manage to include so many canon characters, and that we got to see a little more of Marlene in this chapter. I haven't really thought much about Marlene, to be honest, but for some reason I really enjoyed Beth's conversation with her.

And the bit from Severus' point of view was great! The encounter between Severus and Sirius...you just wrote it so perfectly! I could practically hear the tension sizzling, and it kinda reminded me of the argument they had in PoA. You really nailed their characters in this chapter! And I am also very surprised at the end of result of their encounter - and quite proud of Sirius for showing so much restraint!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I know I've said THIS before, but I'm so glad you enjoy Order chapters as much as you do! They weren't ever my favorites to write, with maybe a few exceptions, but of course they were necessary anyway. These books were a very hefty balance of canon and AU, figuring out what needed to fit and what I could throw out for Beth's sake. As it turns out, not that much! (Marlene, I admit, fell to the wayside, as did Mary, which is largely why she crops up here... but I'm glad you liked their talk too.)

SEVERUS AND SIRIUS. ♥ They play so well off each other, in a bad way for both of them and a good way for me and you. ;) I was inspired by PoA in writing this scene, and it makes me happy you saw that!

Sirius knows what'll make Beth happy, and he wants that happiness for her enough to allow it to be with Severus. :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Courtney Dark Missing

14th September 2013:
Aaagh, another amazing chapter! I am so sad that I can't keep reading now, because everything is just so perfect and delicious and fantastic! Those probably weren't quite the words I was looking for but, once again, I am writing this very quickly.

I really, really enjoyed the scene from James' point of view, and how many of the things we know about he and Lily and their life pre-Harry is starting to come together. It's very exciting!

And then the scene from Severus' point of view was great, too. I wasn't sure who that haughty man was going to be, and now I really, really don't like Travers for spilling that piece of news. Then again, I REALLY like Severus and he spilled an even bigger piece of information. I should probably get my priorities straight.

I also think you wrote Bellatrix really well, especially because we know that she and Severus don't get on, from the HP books.

Great chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: I promise I'm going to respond to all of your ITR reviews today! ;) You keep leaving them so fast, I'm dizzy trying to stay on top of them! Not a complaint, of course -- I really am grateful. ♥

I'm glad you like James! I'm always happy when people do, since he is my favorite, and I wonder sometimes if that showed in writing him. :P Ah, and this was the point when you didn't know what was yet to come... but I digress, and anyway, you know now, eh?

Bellatrix is a total witch. In the worst sense of the word. Which trumps the fact that I find her intimidating to write, and makes it fun!

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Courtney Dark Among Friends

14th September 2013:
Of course I enjoyed this chapter!

I actually love filler chapters, because they remind me so much of my life! And that just made me sound incredibly boring and dull, but we'll ignore that little fact, shall we? Anyway, my point is people's lives aren't super exciting all the time and I think Beth's life reflects this - although admittedly her life is a LOT more exciting that mine. Oh, how I wish I was a witch. Although perhaps not necessarily during the First Wizarding War. Although there are several perks. Sirius, for example...

Enough with my waffling! The relationship between Severus and Beth is just perfect, and I actually love how long it's taking to develop. And that letter from Sirius just made me grin all over!

Great chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Filler chapters always make me very nervous, because there's always the potential for boredom or restlessness there, you know? So it makes me very happy to hear that you enjoyed this nonetheless! You're very right -- not every chapter of a person's life can be dangerous missions or heated kisses or eavesdropped conversations, or anything like that. Sometimes there are lulls, and for someone like me, who strives to write realism, it's important to include both. I'm seriously SO glad that you recognize and see this! ♥

Severus/Beth. I seriously don't think it's allowed to ship your own pairing so much, but then again, I hardly care. It'll just be that much more satisfying at the end! ;)

Thank you for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Courtney Dark A Visit Home

14th September 2013:
Poor Beth:( Her family situation really does suck - I am so glad that my parents aren't like that! I really, really don't blame Beth for not wanting much to do with them. And I certainly wasn't expecting her father to be a Gryffindor and her mother a Slytherin - I can't help but wonder how something like that happened! And for some reason Prescott strikes me as a very Slytherin-y name!

This is going to be a very short review, but that does not diminish the fact that I really enjoyed this chapter! Moving on to the next one - I am actually loving this story more and more, the more I read! Wow. I need to extend my vocabulary. Or have a thesaurus handy at all time.

Anyway, amazing chapter! (If I haven't said that already)

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I loved writing Beth's parents -- because they were really fun to hate. :) I'm not sure why, but this was actually one of my favorite chapters in the book! I can just picture it all really clearly in my head, you know? I'm pretty sure the Bridgers has a semi-arranged, your-daughter-really-needs-to-marry-my-son sort of marriage. And yet from them we have Beth, and it's probably very conceited to say so, but I love her enough to deal with her parents. ♥

I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter! I need a thesaurus to keep thanking you properly, too. :P It means so much to me that you've been such an awesome returning reader/reviewer, all this time!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Courtney Dark The Dark Lord

14th September 2013:
I love the fact that there were so many Severus chapters, because I think you are doing at excellent job at writing all these canon events and making them so real - I know that if I was trying to write a Severus based story I would never have been able to do it justice - but you most definitely have!

There is so much I could say about this chapter, but I really don't know how to word it - Severus' first encounter with Voldemort was written absolutely perfectly, and I feel like all these little canon events are beginning to come into place, and I love it!

I also enjoyed Severus' encounter with Peter, simply because it was just so interesting! And now I have to go and read more - apologies for all these pathetically short reviews, just know that I am finding this story so exciting and gripping - I always want to know what will happen next!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I couldn't help including so many Sev chapters in a row. I just love him! :) I'm so, so pleased that you found this string of canon chapters to be generally accurate, although I'm sure you'd be able to do is justice, too. I'm just SO PLEASED that people think I've done one of my all-time favorite characters justice!

I think I intentionally left Voldemort out of the picture until now to build a sort of suspense, and now I think about it, he doesn't really appear in the trilogy as a whole all that much. He's much more fearful in the shadows, just like in canon.

Oh my gosh, please don't feel the need to apologize for your reviews! ♥ If anything, it's these responses that need apologies -- they are hopelessly pathetic, but I am trying to convey my sheer gratitude. I'm so glad you're enjoying it so much!

Thank you for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Courtney Dark Things Overheard

14th September 2013:
OMG! I completely forgot about this chapter (I mean, I know I never KNEW about it in the first place, but...oh, you know what I mean! Probably!

Anyway, this was absolutely fantastic and really well written. I was impressed at our original you were able to make it, and how you put your own spin on it, while I still felt like I was reading the books and that what Professor Trelawney had said to Harry was true. I'm pretty sure none of that made any sense because I'm think and typing very fast here because I'm so eager to get to the next chapter!

I'd say more, but I'm too eager to keep reading - it has been too long!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I do know what you mean! :) But I'm so glad you liked this chapter! Rewriting canon events to make them my own was always a challenge with this story, not just because I wanted to do them justice, but because I wanted to make them my OWN at the same time... which might not make any sense, but oh well. Anyway, it seems like everything I sought to achieve resonated in you, and that makes me so happy! ♥

Apologies for these near-senseless responses, but it's so hard to thank you over and over without sounding like a broken record. I appreciate your consistent reviews so much!


 Report Review

Review #17, by CassiePotter Missing

8th September 2013:
James and Lily and Sev and Bellatrix and Frank and Travers... I don't even know what to say about how I feel after reading that chapter. I just have to go to the next one because this story is BRILLIANT! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I had to re-read this chapter when you reviewed it -- quite a lot went on, didn't it? :P I'm glad that you enjoyed it and wanted to continue on after reading it, though, all the same!

Thank you (again) for your review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by CassiePotter Among Friends

8th September 2013:
And I'm finally back to Beth and the gang! I missed them!
Every time you write Beth and Severus together, it just makes me sit here and grin. They're so wonderfully awkward and adorable together, and I LOVE IT! I have a bad habit of writing relationships that work out really well, and it happens really quickly. Something I love about Beth and Sev is that it took them a long time to get to where they are now, and they still aren't totally comfortable and relaxed together. It feels so realistic, because not all relationships come together right away. I'm definitely learning something just from reading that aspect of the story!
I also loved Sirius's letter at the end of this chapter. I like when he and Beth get along and things aren't weird between them! Haha.
I can't wait for the next chapter, which I'm going to go read right now! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Cassie! Oh my gosh, hi -- it's so wonderful to see you back again! ♥ The gang have all been here waiting for you, never fear.

I CAN'T STOP GRINNING ABOUT BETH AND SEVERUS, EITHER. And though it's for reasons ahead of where you are in the story, I know you'll get there eventually and it just makes me so excited until I'm not even coherent anymore. I'm very glad with the pacing their relationship took, even though it made me want to shake them (and probably made people want to shake me) at times. As someone who's written more than her fair share of hurried romances, it was nothing short of miraculous, really. :P

Thank you for dropping back by here and reviewing! It really does mean a lot to me!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Courtney Dark Missions and Mudbloods

6th September 2013:
This was an amazing chapter, and just so well written!

I really struggle to write chapters that are packed with action and drama and huge intense moments like this one, but you did a really good job! Thinking back on it, my heart was racing inside my chest for the duration of the chapter, which is definitely a clear signal I enjoyed it.

You write Snape so perfectly and so canon, as well. He seemed so...human in this chapter, with these real sort of emotions, and I can definitely see him turning spy for Dumbledore after this chapter. And you wrote Lucius Malfoy really well, as well. Hmm, and if Baby Harry and Baby Neville are on the way, that means Baby Draco is on the way too!

The encounter between Beth and Severus was awesome! I don't even know how to describe how I loved it so much, so just know that I, erm, loved it. Yay! (My reviews always sound so weird!)

Anyway, I really enjoyed this chapter.
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I feel like I say that a lot, but I really am glad when you love a chapter! I always think I struggle writing action, but it always does appear to work out in my favor, and it makes me breathe a sort of sigh of relief when someone thinks I did it right. :P

SNAPEEE. ♥ I've been having major Snape feels of late, let me tell you, and it just tickles me pink to hear (still) that people think I've got him right! Above all else, he -- and all the other characters in this and every book -- are humans, and I seek to write humans, not wizards or werewolves or whatever else.

I keep forgetting what you have to look forward to and what's around the bend for you, and I'll bite my tongue so I don't give anything away. :P But I really hope you enjoy it! Or something along those lines...

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Courtney Dark Epiphany

5th September 2013:
Hey there!

It's been a while since my last review - it's so depressing that I can't find much time to read fanfiction now - why do I have a social life? Maybe I should just become a hermit...

Anyway, I really, really enjoyed this chapter, largely thanks to the fact that it was from Sirius' point of view, and I just love Sirius to pieces, especially the way you have portrayed him. I honestly don't think this chapter could have been better. It really did show what a mess poor Sirius is and I just...gah! I find it very disappointing that Sirius is a fictional character, to say the least.

I really loved the conversation between James and Sirius, for a number of reasons. It helped remind me that, although James has Lily now, he and Sirius are still really great friends, and they always will be, and Sirius will remember and long for James even years after his death. And Sirius is going to be a godfather! I mean, yes, we knew that already but it was still exciting to read it! I really liked (plus find kinda sad) Sirius' comment about James' son wanting to come and live with him. Because Harry does, eventually...but not in a way that anyone would want or expect.

It's weird, when Sirius was looking at the Marauders Map and felt homesick, I also felt a twinge of homesickness, even though I've never been to Hogwarts, unfortunately. Maybe it's time to break out the Harry Potter movies again.

I had a feeling something bad was going to happen at the Three Broomsticks, and was pleasantly surprised when Sirius showed a bit of restraint, though I felt so bad for him when he saw that even Sarah was with someone. I really hope he manages to get it together!

Amazing chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: If I could get paid to read and write fan fiction, there aren't even words for how quickly I'd hop on that train. :P REAL LIFE SUCKS SOMETIMES. But alas, it must happen, or we wouldn't appreciate fan fiction for what it is, right? Whatever the case, I'm glad you're returning at all!

This chapter is just about the messiest Sirius gets, which is so sad, but maybe it makes you feel a little better...? I still feel bad for him, re-reading it to myself. Poor guy. He's so disillusioned and depressed, and he thought he held the key but it was all a lie, and there's nothing so humiliating and humbling as having your best friend sit down and have a "talk" with you.

I think I can relate, too, at least to the intense pains of nostalgia if nothing else. He wants his life back to the way it used to be because he is, I think, terrified of change, and everything's changing so quickly around him. I'm on a Potter kick right now after seeing bits and pieces of four of the movies in sporadic increments over the weekend. I JUST LOVE HOGWARTS.

Thank you for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by Courtney Dark The Truth Revealed

25th August 2013:
OMG I LOVED THIS CHAPTER!

Well, I mean, it was all so horrible and all that, but the tension and drama in it was AMAZING! But I feel so, so bad for both Beth and Sirius right now - especially Beth, considering how badly Sirius took the news. I mean, I always knew he'd take it badly but I just...gah! I'm feeling so many emotions right now! And I actually love reading this angry, darker side of Sirius, strange as that may seem - and I love how you write all this bad feeling and anger between Sirius and Severus, which then relates perfectly to how they feel about each other when they come face to face in PoA. I hope all that made sense. If it didn't, just know that I think you write Sirius perfectly.

James and Lily have decided on names! When Lily said that they had decided on 'Harry James' for a boy, I very almost cried with excitement. I managed to restrain myself though, never fear! And they're moving house - how exciting. I wonder if they're going to Godric's Hollow now?

And what was Peter up to? Was he doing some evil Death Eater thing or was I just over thinking this, and he really was sick?

Hmm, I guess I'll have to wait and find out the answers to my questions!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: You know, sometimes the dramatic/tense chapters are my favorites, and it's perfectly okay to love them. I definitely do! :) This chapter especially was one I kept looking forward to writing, because I'm all about confrontations and shouting and all that. There are a couple of good shouting scenes in BE, and those are some of my favorites in the whole book -- but you'll see those when you get there!

Sirius and Severus must have hated each other in canon for a reason, right? (Other than that they were horrible to each other, I guess.) One of the most fun things for me in writing the Marauders era was working backwards from canon and setting out little building blocks for things like the Sirius/Snape rivalry.

Harry James and Holly Joan! ♥ Same initials, you'll notice, but of course it was always destined to be Harry James. They are indeed moving to Godric's Hollow!

Ah, this review was a bit on the sucky side. But I really do appreciate your reviews all the same!!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Courtney Dark An Early Birthday

25th August 2013:
IF IT WAS POSSIBLE TO HUG A CHAPTER I WOULD BE SQUEEZING THE LIFE OUT OF THIS ONE!!

I probably didn't need to write that chapter all in capitals, but there you go: EMPHASIS! Anyway, in case you can't tell already, I loved this chapter - so many feels! Sigh. Yay for Sneth moments!

I can't believe Beth told Severus about Lily being pregnant! She has rather loose lips actually - she's as bad as James or Sirius! Well, not quite as bad, because she's (usually) a cautious person by nature, I think. I LOVE HER SO MUCH! She feels so real!

And all the shippiness (I don't think that's a word, but that's okay!) in this chapter was just amazing! I almost died when Beth hugged Severus. And then I actually died when Severus gave her that bracelet. And then I was reborn as a vampire and died again when he put the bracelet on her wrist.

And then that end section! I loved it, but at the same time it gave me the shivers, because it reminded me how much danger Beth and Severus would be in if the wrong person, from either side, found out what they were doing. And it also (weirdly enough) made me smile, because it reminded me of Snape giving Harry those disastrous Occlumency lessons.

Sorry for the extremely random review.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: YAY BETH'S BIRTHDAY AND SEVERUS AND THE BRACELET. *hugs chapter alongside you* Sneth moments aren't perhaps as frequent as some people would like, but romance doesn't always progress the way we want it to, does it?

I think Beth just blurted out Lily's pregnancy because she was nervous and didn't know what else to say, poor girl. But OH MY GOSH, I'm so glad she feels real for you! That's of course a huge concern when you introduce an original character, but I've written so much about her that she almost does feel real to me, too. It just makes me smile like mad to hear reviewers -- completely strangers, really -- have been sold on my depiction of her.

Keep an eye on that bracelet, by the way. ;) It does crop up again in Breaking Even, and it's actually pretty important in ways even my up-to-date readers haven't quite found out!

I can't wait for you to get to certain parts of this story, and the next one -- you're touching on things that get addressed, and I really hope you'll like them. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Courtney Dark Bonding Time

25th August 2013:
Oh, Sirius:(

Right now, I really wish I could just plunge myself into the screen of my laptop and become part of Beth's world. I'D GO OUT WITH YOU, SIRIUS! In fact, if I was in this story, everything would be dandy! Sirius and I would be together, and happy, leaving Beth and Severus - everyone wins!

Sigh.

Anyway, I loved this chapter! Mainly because I love Sirius so, so much but also because it was so amazingly written! I absolutely adore reading Beth's inner monologue and thoughts - especially her comments about the boys, and how they hadn't realized that Lily and Marlene and Mary were going shopping for baby things.

Ooh, I loved the tension that came with Remus' entrance - and I love how we are starting to get more and more snippets of canon events that we know of or have been mentioned - such as Peter's betrayal in the last chapter and Voldemort wanting James and Lily on his side, in this chapter. It's making me even more eager to find out what's going to happen next.

Oh Sirius:( I know I already said that, but I can't believe he chose that moment to hold Beth's hand. I'm just really, really loving all these traits of Sirius that your bringing out, traits that we see in him as a grown man, out of Azkaban. The line: 'Patience and perseverance, admittedly some of his least present personality traits, but it could work' especially stuck out to me.

I'm now realizing this review is waffling on about nothing in particular, so I'll just toddle off and read the next chapter.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I felt so bad for Sirius at this point in the book! He's just so lonely -- which I think he really was in canon, too -- and using Beth to help that was a bad set-up from the beginning, but he did it anyway, that lovable man. It was doomed to fail and I think he knew that, even when he was trying to convince himself that Beth could love him in time.

Much more canon comes into these last two books, solely because there was just more available after the Marauders left Hogwarts. :D There's more to come, too, and I'm eager for you to hit those parts with big canon moments! I did try to include them all.

I'm SO glad you think this Sirius reflect the older, canon Sirius, too. That really makes me happy, because that was exactly what I was going for. ♥

I'm sorry it sometimes takes me so long to respond to your reviews! It's nothing against them, of course, as I've said before. :) Thank you for reviewing at all!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Courtney Dark The Rat

22nd August 2013:
Oooh, this was a really, really good chapter! I have ALWAYS wondered what it was that made Peter betray James and Lily and all his other friends and go over to the Death Eaters and now I know! Well, I know your take on things, anyway, which I think you wrote really, really well! So many marauders writers forget about Peter and his betrayal and I am really, really glad you haven't.

We haven't seen much of Peter in either of these two novels, but I feel like, in this chapter, you portrayed him perfectly - he just seemed so Peter: cowardly and afraid, nervous and a little bumbling. And how could he not expect that he was going to have to make an unbreakable vow? MERLIN'S BEARD PETER!

You also wrote the Carrows really well - you definitely made me dislike them intensely in this chapter, and all your descriptions are wonderful! Oh, and I wonder if Severus will mention anything to Beth about seeing Peter? I guess I'll have to wait and see!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I think when I set out to write this story, one of the things that always bothered me most was not only that Peter was sort of given rough treatment even before his betrayal, but that no one (even J.K. Rowling, really) ever fully explained WHY he did it. I'm glad you found my take on the matter to be believable! That is, as I always say, one of my main aims in writing -- to make things real. :)

I don't see Peter as inherently evil, in very much the same way that I certainly don't see Snape as evil, either. He just let some of his worse traits win out. And moreover, I'm sure he was afraid; we get enough evidence of that in canon.

Ah, Severus's debate over what to tell Beth will definitely pop up again in later chapters. Can I just love the pair of them forever? ♥

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Courtney Dark Down Knockturn Alley

22nd August 2013:
I really enjoyed this chapter, too! It was definitely cool seeing all the action, and I love how eager and enthusiastic Sirius is about all their missions - I think Beth was definitely right when she said that was probably why Dumbledore assigned him the job, as it seems right up Sirius' alley!

I actually love that Sirius appeared at Beth's flat at a ridiculously early time in the morning - it's just so Sirius and I love every single conversation and interaction that he and Beth have with each other. I've definitely got to say that it seems as though, out of all the marauders, Beth is closest with Sirius, despite the fact that she is more open with James with her secrets - but James is a married man now, and has Lily!

You wrote the mission really well - and I liked that we got see a little bit more of Lucius Malfoy, as I love seeing witches and wizards from the other side, love seeing what they're up to! I wonder, more specifically, what exactly they were talking about? I wish Beth and Sirius could've found out more!

Your portrayal of Moody is absolutely fantastic - you have seriously written him just right and I loved the scene between him, Sirius and Beth.

Amazing chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: I love this chapter, if only because -- and I've said this many times -- I have VERY vivid memories of writing it because it was so unconventional. :) The very last day of high school, I drove my dad to a job a couple of hours away and wrote this entire chapter in one sitting, waiting for him in Starbucks. Man, being a writer is awesome.

Sirius and Beth really do have some awesome interaction in this chapter, if I do say so myself! And I imagine that Beth did grow a lot closer to Sirius in the years following Hogwarts, if only because they were around each other a lot by necessity. She's still very good friends with James, though -- there's an unbreakable bond there.

Thank you for saying that about the mission, too! :) Lucius is awesome. I totally loved writing him, and it was because of ToujoursPadfoot he was in here so much in the first place. I wish Beth and Sirius could have found out more, too!

YOU ARE TOO NICE. ♥ I cannot. I have lost the ability to can. Thank you for leaving me such a huge string of such lovely, wonderful reviews!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>