Reading Reviews for Southanger Abbey
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 In which Our Heroine forms an expedient acquaintance

22nd September 2012:
Hi Ren! Finally back to review the second chapter of this. I quite like it and it definitely has a very Austen-esque feel to the prose, while at the same time you've managed to mold in the wizarding world with the muggle. I'm looking forward to seeing Remus make his first appearance.

Oh, and I caught a grammar error: 'Now that they was bosom companions,...' It would flow better if 'was' was changed to 'were', aside from that it flowed and read well. Great chapter and I'm looking forward to reading more when I can. :)

Author's Response: Hey Leslie! Thanks so much for coming back to review! I had so much fun trying to mesh the Austen-period with the obviously modern, though slightly anachronistic, wizard world. It's been like doing a big puzzle, and I find it really interesting.

Thanks also for catching that error. I don't have a beta for this story, and obviously I can't always catch every single typo. I'll make sure to change that next time I update. I type really fast and sometimes my fingers get ahead of where my mind is :)

Thank you again, and I hope you like the Remus stuff when you get to it! He's not a character I normally write (though I'm actually now using him in my other story, partly because I liked writing him in this one, so that's all thanks to you and your assignment). I'm having fun exploring his slightly wacky, Henry Tilney-based interpretation. Thanks again! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap In which Our Heroine is painfully unobservant

28th June 2012:
Next, you simply must read The Dark Lighthouse, followed by The Curse of the Dementor, Seriously Black Intentions, The Boggart's Bride, Escape from Nurmengard, and A Case of Stolen Virtue

^ All very intriguing titles. I'm most interested in, The Boggart's Bride, that one must be quite a page turner.

the fact that it was now August the first meaning it was high time to start thinking about winter wear

^ That really irks me. I don't know why women insist on shopping so early for the winter. It's not going to start snowing, atleast where I am, come September but people seem to think once September rolls around the sweaters, jackets and boots must come out quickly. Of course, when it is actually winter I see some girls where I'm at, wearing skirts and little tops as if it's spring. Coordinate with the weather people!

she also found herself already bristling with annoyance with the young man after only meeting him five minutes ago

^ You and me both Catherine, you and me both.

Oh lord. I would not want Isabella as my sister-in-law. Granted, I'm thinking ahead of the game but I realized the small hints you were dropping here and there with the looks they were giving each other. She's so painfully dramatic and her brother was a nuisance. Poor Catherine, she'll probably have to deal with him some more.

I still have the book in my room. It's collecting dust because I havenít had time to read it yet. I hope when I do start reading it, that it's as entertaining as your story.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for taking a moment to stop in a catch up with my ridiculous characters ;)

Those story titles were pretty fun to think up. They're really not much worse than the ones in the original book. Some people read some real trash back then. I guess not much has changed, huh? How else would a really messed-up sounding book based on Twilight fan fiction sell a bajillion copies?

Oh. My. God. I'm the same way with fashion, hence why I had to put that little jab in. Some things I get, like bikinis in February cause a lot of people go away on cruises or whatever. But WHY do I need to be looking at wool sweaters when it's seriously 90 degrees out?! And don't get me started on the moronic girls wearing flip flops in the beginning of March in New England around college campuses. I always wanted to beat them with my book bag for being so stupid.

You really should check out the book, or at least watch the more recent movie that just came out a few years ago. It really is pretty silly and funny. It's also really short compared to Jane Austen's other books, so you could probably finish it easily in an afternoon. I should also probably attempt to start work on the next chapter of this... but no! Severus and Avrille must come first! They're like my first-borns! Thanks so much for the review, Deeds! See you around! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #3, by forsakenphoenix In which Our Heroine forms an expedient acquaintance

25th June 2012:
I love how Catherine and Mrs. Allen walked down to the spa but Mrs. Allen wanted to Floo back because she wouldn't be able to make it up the hill. Heh, poor dear. By the way, I don't think any fashionable shoes are considered sensible!

I also really liked this line: He was very polite and commented that both women looked even more radiant than before even though, in all honesty, he couldn't truly see a difference. Men! They can never tell, ever.

High society gossip at its best. I loved all the subtle jabs and sly remarks as each woman tried to slip in accomplishments without seeming to be bragging. Though I suppose Mrs. Burke's little slip with the spa treatment was not an accident. I can't imagine any business charging someone else on the assumption that they were together as a party, though, especially if Mrs. Burke had her own tab. I don't know, that just seemed a bit off to me. Maybe that's how these rich fuddy duddies roll.

Also, can I just say that I love the idea of the wizarding world still finding cause to celebrate Harry's life despite his disappearance from their world? It makes me happy that they have so much cause for celebration now but sad that Harry has never known any of it.

I find it amusing how Catherine wanted to find a nice gentleman on the first day on the town. She's just so ready to star in her own heroine novel, isn't she? I'm glad she found Isabella and that they've bonded over Rudolpho. I may be reading too much into it, but I'm curious as to Catherine's comment about her being in Slytherin and Isabella turning cold to correct her. I'm not sure if maybe it was because of the negative connotation with the house, especially considering the war or if there's something more that I just need to wait and see what happens.

Isabella is exactly what I expected in a high society girl and I find it humorous that Catherine has latched onto her, desperate for introductions to those fine young wizards. I wonder who Isabella's mystery man is!

I did notice one tiny mistake while reading this: "He own Quality Quidditch Supplies in Diagon Alley." Own should be owns. Otherwise, this was well-written and very posh. Exactly how I imagined Hidden Springs to be like, especially the people.

Sorry for taking so long to get this chapter. Hopefully I won't take nearly as long to finish the remaining chapters. :)

Author's Response: Men really can't tell!! Ugh! Ok, I guess I'm lucky in that my husband does notice stuff, but I also think a lot of the time when people pay tons of money to get spa treatments in real life, it's mostly just a placebo effect.

Mrs. Burke's payment slip was definitely not an accident, but people who are desperate for friends like Mrs. Allen and Catherine are usually able to overlook quite a bit before the realization sinks in that they're being taken advantage of.

Yay! I'm glad you liked the thing about them celebrating Harry! I admit, it was merely a way to have there be a ball. Obviously when the original "Northanger Abbey" was written in Jane Austen's time, balls were a very common occurrence. In the 1980's... um... not so much, even in a slightly weird, anachronistic wizarding place. It's very sad that Harry wasn't aware of this whole time period. I'm always struck by that whenever I re-read "Philosopher's Stone" (and also reminded that I don't actually hate Harry that much. OotP always makes me forget that).

You're definitely not reading into Catherine's remark about Slytherin. I don't consider this a "spoiler" or whatever, but I imagine they're the family of the "Borgin and Burke's" Mr. Burke from Nocturne Alley, so it's pretty safe to assume the whole family was in Slytherin. However, I imagined in this time period right after Voldemort's defeat, probably a lot of people would deny their association with that House because of its bad reputation of putting out a bunch of Death Eaters. I don't think I'll ever overtly say that, but there will be another comment later on to sort of hint that Isabella isn't the most truthful person.

Thanks for catching that typo! I'm always SO grateful to have those pointed out. I don't have a beta for this story, so I've just been proof-reading it myself and obviously miss things here or there. No worried at ALL for taking a while. Honestly, I don't think it was a while at all. It's taking me just as long to read your stuff ;) I started your Order short story collection, and will go back to review each one. Thanks so much for the wonderful, detailed review. It really was very helpful! See you around TGS :D ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #4, by forsakenphoenix In which we meet Our Heroine

20th June 2012:
Catherine is the epitome of a restless recently-graduated student. The deep desire for adventure when you aren't sure what you're going to do in life is a feeling a lot of us have problem felt at one point or another.

I kind of love that her favorite book is only one-thousand, seven-hundred and forty-two pages long and that she's reread it so many times she's had to rebind it. I think it's hilarious that she transfigured a copy of her textbook so she could keep the book to reread even more. I can't help but giggle at your descriptions of the book. It's so over the top ridiculous that it's fabulous. Poor girl needs to live in a trashy romance novel. That would be exciting. You know, with her fabulous long locks blowing in the wind as she waits for Rudolpha to sweep her off her feet.

Ooh, Hidden Springs. I bet she will find plenty of adventure there! I love how she finds Mrs Allen rather dull but when she invites Catherine away with them, all of a sudden Mrs. Allen is a sweet woman. I like the contrast between the Allens and the Macmillans and you make it a point to emphasize the Macmillans lack of funds that would enable Catherine to be one of those noble women from her books.

Not going to lie, I kind of chuckled when it was revealed Mr Macmillan didn't even think she'd get any N.E.W.T.s. Poor girl has her head living in the clouds, after all.

Oh, good! Ernie even wore pants for his sister's departure. How thoughtful of him. Haha, of course the Allens cottage is some elaborate mansion. Also, when I read she was placing her beloved copy of Rudolpho on the bedside table all I thought about was, "THIS IS MAHOGANY!" ;) Oh, Catherine, I'm not a fan of wine either. But I love that you characterize her at that girl who is desperate to do things she isn't supposed to, to prove that she's capable of being an adult despite not really knowing much about acting like an adult. She's still so young and girlish, naive in her view of the world. I think it helps us relate to her a bit.

I think you do a wonderful job with this parody. Your writing is very elegant and out-dated a bit (NOT in a bad way!), that makes it very reminiscent of a older heroine novel. I wasn't sure what to make of this story when I first read the summary, but I find myself pleasantly surprised at how enjoyable this is.

I'm going to hope to finish these chapters up within the next couple of days, but don't fret if it seems to take a while - I promise to get to them eventually if I don't sit down and get them all done soon.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much for the long and detailed review! It was definitely a fun challenge to do, and I really lucked out that I got a book to convert that I had not only already read, but also already referenced a lot of trashy, gothic, supernatural stuff so it was ridiculously easy to throw it into the wizarding world.

Catherine's first experience with wine is pretty much based on my own life. I remember for my high school graduation party, my grandfather (who was a wine expert) got a really expensive bottle of champagne for it. I had a taste and thought it was absolutely disgusting. Now that I'm older, I have actually acquired the taste for it, but it definitely took a while (beer took even longer).

Your comments on Catherine are really helpful because that's basically what the "original" Catherine is like in "Northanger Abbey," very naive, girlish, but also desperate to live a cosmopolitan life. Fortunately I've also read a lot of Jane Austen besides NA, so hopefully that did come across with my olden-times writing style :)

Thanks so much for the review! No problem at all if it takes a while. I'm off to pick something out on your author page to read to balance our pairing out a bit. Same with me, sorry if it takes me a while to get some reviews in since I have a crazy, teething, temper tantrum-ing toddler, but they WILL get done! Honoring my commitments is very important to me.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Ardeith In which Our Heroine is painfully unobservant

11th June 2012:
Another great chapter! You continue to seamlessly blend Jane Austen and Harry Potter world! It's hard to tell where the original leaves off and you begin... I mean, I imagine Northanger Abbey did not include the young men being on a Quidditch team and discussing brooms, but it seems so right!

Can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I really feel like this novel was just ripe for Harry Potter conversion with all of the supernatural references built right in. Of course in the original, John won't stop talking about his horse and gig (Schmoop likened it to a guy nowadays who won't shut up about his car) so I figured a luxury racing broom would fit in nicely. I also needed him and James to have some other connection since in the book they go to Oxford together, and they're too old to still be at Hogwarts. So...Quidditch! Glad you liked it! I feel horrible neglecting Avrille and Severus with this, but I'm really trying my best to get that chapter done as well. It's just harder to write since it's actually serious and I don't have yet another book to work off of. But hopefully it will be done very soon ;) Thank you for the review! ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #6, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap In which Our Heroine meets Our Hero

17th May 2012:
My father is constantly telling me I have the social graces of a drunk walrus

^ OH. What a wonderful way to introduce yourself, Mr Lupin.

Since I seem to be able to finally count the music in sets of three without needing to mouth the integers, I'm more than ready to hear your answers now

^ He has this best lines in this chapter.

I can't think of anything much more wonderful than eating all the pumpkin pasties you could ever want and then being able to simply tighten a few stays to completely mask the aftereffects with only the tiniest discomfort of not being able to draw a full breath

^ I wish that was in style as well. Oh lord. This...I couldn't stop laughing at this! You're doing wonderful work. Remus was a breath of fresh air. So much fun.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so relieved that the lines you thought were most funny were ones I completely thought up myself instead of borrowing and adapting from the original novel. Remus definitely proved that he had horrible social graces simply by the way he publicly admitted it. :) I'm really glad Remus seems to be going over well. I wasn't sure if I was relying on the base of Henry Tilney too much. But I wanted to emphasize his kind of spastic humor in this chapter to offset his changed mood and dialogue later in the story. Thanks a million for reviewing each chapter! It was very cool, also, getting reviews from someone I've seen around the site a ton, but don't "know" (or put in a formal request to) :) Thanks again! ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #7, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap In which Our Heroine forms an expedient acquaintance

17th May 2012:
He was very polite and commented that both women looked even more radiant than before even though, in all honesty, he couldn't truly see a difference.

^ Why do men always do that? I know at least three or four guys that will honestly say 'I cannot notice a difference. What's the big deal anyway?' I'm like 'thank you!'

The Pump-room, the most exclusive spa in town; because Mrs Allen was very curious to try the spa's newest lip-plumping treatment,

^What a clever name/idea! I really liked that.

Oh! This story is wonderful. I love ridiculous high society talk between women, each trying to one-up the other.

Author's Response: I blame it on biology. Women have to be more attuned to things like the subtle changing of details to protect ourselves and our offspring, guaranteeing the continuation of the species. Men just stab things with pointed sticks. At least Mr Allen was smart enough to at least pretend that he saw a good reason for all of his hard-earned money going down the tube.

"The Pump-room" name is taken directly from "Northanger Abbey," so I didn't make that up, though it was my idea to change it into a spa since we don't really have social tea rooms in this day and age. At least with Harry Potter you can get away with anachronism pretty easily since wizards live in the modern age and have adapted to some Muggle ways, but also still have a very old-fashioned slant to things (like apparently, according to the movies, they never moved past Dickensian fashion). I was actually considering calling it "The Plump-room" but decided, WHO would want to go to a spa named that? Isn't half the point to try and melt inches off of your thighs with seaweed wraps and whatnot? Urgh, I feel like there was something else I was going to say about that, but now I forget. Oh well!

High society talk is rather crazy. Thank goodness Mrs Allen didn't have any children of her own or else I would have had to run on for about five more pages of them comparing whose kids were better just to make it realistic. Thanks for taking the time to review again! I really appreciate it so much! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap In which we meet Our Heroine

17th May 2012:
But after reading how all Gothic heroines must have long hair in order for it to whip about their pale faces while they stood on the moor gazing longingly in the distance for the faintest hint of a man on horseback, Catherine had stopped cutting it until it grew to an appropriate length.

^ I never realized that in stories. You really don't realize things until it's thrown out to you.

I thought this was really wonderful. I can tell that you're having fun writing this and since you're having so much fun writing it I'm having a lot of fun reading it. A spoof on a spoof, eh? Well I've never seen that done before!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Yeah, a spoof of a spoof sounds just incredibly silly, doesn't it? But that's the only was I could think of to describe what I was doing. I mean, adding the extra Harry Potter element... who could take that seriously? A Harry Potter retelling of a satirical novel poking fun at over-the-top Gothic novels? It's definitely fun to be writing a fic for once where I don't have this overwhelming pressure in my own mind to make it all crafted and perfect. Thanks so much for the review, and I hope the story gives you a laugh or two :D ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #9, by onestop_hpfan18 In which we meet Our Heroine

16th May 2012:
Renny, I really liked this and thought you did an excellent job playing this off in relation to Northanger Abbey by turning it into a parody of it. Your heroine, Catherine, is very much like your average teenager and I love how you write her as Jane Austen would any of her characters. The whole chapter felt very much like it came out of a Jane Austen novel, while at the same time it had a modern air to it, too, so kudos there.

Over all, it feels very original and I'm looking forward to reading how you write Remus Lupin once he steps into the story as the hero. Excellent conversion and keep up the excellent writing; I'm also happy to hear that this has stretched you to your limits by forcing you to write stories that focus on other characters and that Severus does not make an appearance. So far I think you're conquering this challenge pretty hardily. Keep up the fabulous work and I'm looking forward to reading more later. :)

Author's Response: Thanks, Leslie! I really thought this was such an amazing idea for a challenge, so it was impossible for me to pass up. It was totally worth sacrificing my "relaxing" time while my toddler is napping to do it. I'm really glad you're liking it so far, and that you think I did an ok job of Austen-izing the Harry Potter things (or did I Potter-ize the Austen things?).

Remus might seem a bit too much like Henry Tilney in what I've written so far, but I don't think it's much of a stretch to think he would be trying to move on from his grief four years after his friends died. Things will definitely get a bit more serious once Remus sees Catherine on his doorstep at home and realizes his harmless flirting of earlier has crossed into new territory. I'm really looking forward to writing the actual "Southanger" Abbey part, but of course it will take forever to get there just like in Austen's book! :)

And yes, Severus will not make an appearance AT ALL! There will be one tiny, aside mention of him as a joke (he's just too Gothic himself not to use that for added humor), but that's it. Thanks so much for creating such a cool challenge and for the review! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ardeith In which Our Heroine meets Our Hero

16th May 2012:
I really enjoyed your young Remus! Due to his furry little problem, most writers seem to make him fairly glum and humorless. Nice to see a Remus enjoying life!

Besides continuing to admire your style, now I'm really curious where the plot will go ... Can't wait till Catherine finds out her real life hero actually DOES have a deep dark secret...

Author's Response: Thanks! I've barely ever read young Remus and never written him, so I was worried he was going to be so OOC written as Henry Tilney. I think this Remus has been pretty depressed lately, thinking two best friends were murdered by a third one on top of his normal werewolf issues but was forcing himself to get out for once and try to live his life. I really got so insanely lucky with the story and character I was assigned. We don't know much about Remus's family in canon, so I can really do whatever I want with that. It's also great that he DOES have a supernatural, Gothic thing going on, so it makes it kind of funny that Catherine really will be correct in suspecting things are sinister at the manor when she goes there later (though she's going to be expecting sinister in a completely different direction, of course, since she's kind of crazy.) I wasn't going to keep working on this for a while, but now I'm tempted. Maybe I'll try to get as much done as I can these next couple weeks until I'll be in a better situation personally to do "serious" writing with NEM :) Thank you so much as always, Ardeith! You're the best! ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ardeith In which Our Heroine forms an expedient acquaintance

16th May 2012:
I continue to love this! So funny! This is totally the book Jane Austen would have written if she was a witch. :-) Lines like this:

"her lips not appearing much plumper but certainly improved greatly since the treatment had cost eight Galleons"

are just perfect!

Glad to hear you're not abandoning Avrille and Sev for this, but I at least am really enjoying it.

Author's Response: Oh, I'm just so relieved that you think it's funny! I wrote all of this in about four days, thinking, "Am I churning this out so quickly because I'm on a roll, or is it just complete nonsense?" Your compliment regarding Jane Austen is just too kind, and I could never accept it. :) Don't worry, Avrille and Severus are always in the back of my mind. I'm not able to do much actually writing at the moment, but I'm constantly thinking of ideas for later in the story (I had a great one last night!). I might continue working on this one at the moment because it seems easier to write since it isn't so serious. I feel like I have to craft my Severus stuff, where this is just for fun, you know? Anyway, thanks for the review! Sorry for the rambling like always! ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ardeith In which we meet Our Heroine

15th May 2012:
I love this! I love Jane Austen and Northanger Abbey and you've done a better job of capturing her tone (though modernizing and wizardizing it!) than most writers who try to do sequels.

And there are two more chapters to read!

Author's Response: Aw, Ardeith, thanks so much! This review was very unexpected, so even more fun to read. I haven't done any sort of promoting with this yet (I probably should go post it under new stories on the forum and all that...). It's not the sort of thing I feel like I need to request reviews for and get feedback since it really is just so silly and written half for fun and half to challenge myself with a non-dramatic-Severus story. I've never read a Jane Austen sequel, so maybe that worked in my favor :D I've been watching a lot of the movies lately, so at least I had the language in my head. I'm just so glad you liked it, AND you actually have read "Northanger Abbey"! living.free was tentative when she assigned this to me since not many people have read it, but fortunately I had in the past. Thanks again! Hope you like the rest of the silly fluff! I do intend to finish this story eventually, probably 7 more chapters or so, but I really want "Nothing Else Matters" to come first. :D ~Renny

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login