Reading Reviews for Before They Fall
  
880 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Allison The Force That Drives Us

27th July 2014:
Excellent Story. I loved the foreshadowing into events that Rowling writes in her books.

 Report Review

Review #2, by PinkRose The Force That Drives Us

22nd July 2014:
Thank you for the fantastic story

 Report Review

Review #3, by PinkRose A Servant's Attack

21st July 2014:
I must say, I read this chapter with my heart lifting and falling as I heard the various characters express plans for the future that due to J.K. Rowlings stories we know can't entirely come true. It's beautiful that you've given a life to these characters that technically didn't exist. It was beautiful to read and imagine the things they went through at Hogwarts (thus far) and I can't wait to see the rest!

 Report Review

Review #4, by PinkRose Trouble on the Hogwarts Express

19th July 2014:
Lovely, I love the way you write. I can feel the emotions and the tensions building like tides.

 Report Review

Review #5, by PinkRose Christmas Day

19th July 2014:
This chapter was so cute. Made my heart feel all melty and that's been rather difficult as of late

 Report Review

Review #6, by Maddy The Order

18th July 2014:
I couldn't handle the feels when I realized that Lily and James's deaths were the boiling point that led to the end of the war (their deaths caused Voldemort's spell to rebound off Harry). I don't know if you were intentionally foreshadowing but I thought it was a great bittersweet moment

 Report Review

Review #7, by TheMaraudersBabe The Picture of Friendship

18th July 2014:
I love that you make up your own spells. It really adds both a personal touch and realism because there certainly would have been a spell like that in a world full of witches and wizards. Props to you for (1) looking the words up to make it sound legitimate and (2) for being brave enough to throw your own twist into the Harry Potter universe. Then again, I suppose that's what every fanfiction writer does. However, you do it exceptionally well! I'm loving it. xo.

 Report Review

Review #8, by TheMaraudersBabe Secrets Surrounding Us

18th July 2014:
I thought that you did a good job of writing Dumbledore! I don't know why you worried. I usually very much enjoy reading your chapters [even though it's been a while for me]. xo.

 Report Review

Review #9, by PinkRose Hogwarts Express

17th July 2014:
As of late I have been reading a lot of Draco/Hermione stories. I know this one is completed, but I had to let you know that so far I am truly enjoying it. The way you have vocalized the imagery of the house, and the train is fantastic!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ferruacia Not Just Friends

13th July 2014:
I enjoy your novel, but this couldn`t just slip past my eyes.
"Sure, they may not look a day over fifty, but the truth was that they were nearing their eighties."
Unless James`s mother gave birth to him in her 60`s, your calculations are nowhere near correct.

Author's Response: It's actually a canon fact that James's parents (or mom, I guess) gave birth very late in life :)! And with wizards life span being substantially longer than muggles, 60's is probably on the 'young' end of the spectrum. I'm so happy you're enjoying this, and I hope that clears it up!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #11, by nott theodore The Force That Drives Us

12th July 2014:
Hi, Jami! ♥

I can't believe that I've finally got to the end of this story. I know I started reading it much later on than most people did and then kept getting dragged away but it's still been in my mind for such a long time that I kind of didn't expect it to end. I know you've got a few chapters of the sequel up so I'll be heading straight to those but I just wanted to say thank you for sharing this story with us, first of all. It's so beautiful and such a great story and I love what you've written.

This was such a devastating chapter. I had tears in my eyes again as I thought of Belle being buried and the fact that she was torn from them, and she wouldn't be with them anymore. It's just so, so unfair but then I suppose that's what this war is. And more of them will suffer - all of them, in fact - from now on. There's no happy ending.

I was really glad that her sister came to the funeral, though. At least someone made an effort even if she hadn't helped her enough when she was alive. But it was still great.

The grief and emotion were beautifully told in this chapter. So raw, especially with Sirius - like it was radiating from the screen. Belle has left a massive hole in all of their lives that won't ever be filled.

I loved the way that you ended this. A lot of stories have these characters joining the Order while they're still in school and being told all about it but I liked the way that Belle's death prompted their decision to fight - removed all of the doubt there. Now they've got something which is possibly even harder to face but I'm looking forward to it!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #12, by nott theodore Forever Frozen In Time

12th July 2014:
So many tears and feels right now.

Oh my goodness. From the start of this chapter I was getting worried about what would happen, because the chapter title wasn't exactly promising something happy. But I thought that if this was going to happen, then it would be in the sequel, and not this early on! They only just left Hogwarts and everything was so happy and hopeful for the future, with all the friends together and the beginnings of their relationships and now I'm just a little bit heartbroken because I can't believe that you did that.

(Also it's very possible this review is incoherent but I can't help that, it's entirely your fault for being so mean with this story :P)

I loved the nostalgic and almost melancholic feel as they left Hogwarts. They've been there for seven years so of course it's difficult to leave, especially when the world they're going to is so uncertain. I loved the friendship staying through this though, and Belle's plan to get Sirius's inheritance back - I'm so glad it worked! Actually, I noticed now there are a lot more Belle and Sirius moments in this chapter and it's so sad but sweet that they had them.

Poor, poor Belle. I can't believe she had to suffer the way she did for saving her friends' lives. And then Sirius. It was so upsetting reading from his perspective at the end. I can't believe it happened but I'm going to read on and hope it didn't...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #13, by nott theodore A Test of Wills

12th July 2014:
Hi again, Jami!

Oh wow, what a chapter. This was so dramatic and I wasn't expecting the year to end this way for them at all - I just didn't expect there to be something like a Death Eater attack while they were doing their final exams at Hogwarts. But I suppose that it's all another reminder of how much of an effect the war has on the world and even those inside the walls of Hogwarts aren't always safe.

I liked the touch of Lily still saying good luck to Snape before they went into the exams, though. And then when they got in there I thought that the examiner was acting strangely, but I hadn't expected that there'd be an attempted attack on them in the school! I'm so glad they were able to avert it, and how cute the result was! Lily has shown James that her Patronus is the partner to his and they belong together!

Oh no, that final part of the chapter was absolutely terrifying. This was part of the test that Bellatrix had set for the new recruits, right? What's going to happen to Belle? I'm so worried now!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #14, by nott theodore The Last Match

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami!

I really liked the Order meeting at the beginning of this chapter - it's so nice that we can get a bigger picture of all that's going on with the war and we're seeing it from both sides in this story. It's impressive the way that you're able to handle so many plotlines and bring everything together like that. The only suggestion I'd make is during the meeting, there's one point when you refer to Marlene as 'Miss McKinnon' in the narrative, which felt a bit out of place when everyone else is called by first names. But I liked the reminder that they're just children and the moral dilemma that comes with it - do they involve someone that young in the war?

I really enjoyed reading the build up to the match and the match itself as well. It's great that Lily and Belle will have a flat in the same building as the boys! And I loved reading the match - of course, the fact that Gryffindor just one the Quidditch Cup made it even better! The ending was great though, because I thought that it was a good reminder of the way that Lily's been affected by all the recent events, I'm just glad that James was there for her! ♥

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodore Lily's Creation

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami!

Bellatrix's return to this was so terrifying. Seriously, I don't know how you manage to write her so well, but it really does chill me to the bone when I'm reading the sections about her, especially the sections when she's alone. I actually feel a bit sorry for the prospective Death Eaters now that I know that she's the one setting the test. You just capture her so well, though - her inherent sense of superiority and the devotion for Voldemort. Also, I'm starting to seriously worry about Belle. Should I be worrying about Belle? Jami, please don't do anything to Belle!

It was so great to see Lily returning to being herself and starting to get over some of the things that have happened to her - she's been through so much in less than twelve months and it's nice to know she's got such great friends to keep her on track. I loved Belle's out-spokenness in this chapter and the way James noticed Sirius behaved around her. The part when Lily brewed the potion was actually really interesting, and I loved the detail that you put into it - there was so much there and it was quite soothing to read about something calmer!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #16, by nott theodore Accepting and Understanding

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami!

After all that you've put me through emotionally with the last few chapters, I'm kind of glad that this one was a bit slower and less action-packed, because I'm not sure how much of it I'd be able to take! Accepting and Understanding was a great chapter title for what went on here, though.

I'm so glad that Lily's slowly recovering from her ordeal, and I liked the fact that you showed how it had not only affected her, but Sirius as well, and because of that he was now being even more protective of Belle. The meeting with Dumbledore and McGonagall was well written and I loved the fact that all of the friends turned up, even though they hadn't all been invited. The news of Alrek's death - and Professor Genov's - was shocking for them and it's showing them how far reaching this war is, and the extent to which the enemy are prepared to go.

I liked the fact that James has realised he needs to give Lily her space, even if he doesn't want to have to leave her alone. Sirius isn't quite there yet and I'm not sure he will be because of his personality. The talk between Remus and Lily was sweet, though, and I think that he was the best person to go and talk to her after all of it. Another fantastic chapter!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #17, by nott theodore A Servant's Attack

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami!

You're seriously making my hearts race so much with these chapters, I'm not sure how much more I can handle it. But then I'm pretty sure that with the last few chapters that are in store I'm going to be suffering too.

Alrek was just so... evil, in this chapter. It was honestly scary to read the way that he was treating Lily and how determined he was to kill her; the only good thing is that (if this can be considered good in any way) he didn't try and kill Lily straight away, because it gave her a chance to call for help. I'm so glad that she got James that snitch now and that she was able to communicate what was happening! The way that you wrote those short sections and cut between them quickly worked really well to build up all the tension - I'm just so glad that they were able to get to her and save her!

The end section with Alrek was so chilling. There's no mercy at all in the Death Eater ranks and I almost felt sorry for Alrek - he was still so young and desperate to prove himself, but then he's suffered the worst fate possible because of it.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #18, by nott theodore Alrek's Plans

12th July 2014:
Hey Jami!

Oh no. Oh no, oh no. I'm so scared after this chapter that I'm having to write this review as quickly as possible so that I can press next chapter and find out what's going to happen next. How could you do that to me?

I loved the first part of the chapter which mentioned Alrek's plans briefly, just hinting at them without giving us confirmation. And then the transition into all the friends talking together worked really well. I loved the way the boys were all interested in the girl talk even though they pretended not to care, and it was so exciting and so hopeful to read them all planning for the future, their careers and who they're going to live with once they leave school! It's kind of exciting and then...

Bam. You go and set my heart racing with this plan that Alrek's cooked up, separating James and Lily so that he can do whatever he's got planned for her... I'm so scared right now. The shortness of those sections was great because it had more impact, but now I have to read on to find out what's happening!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #19, by nott theodore How To Love You

12th July 2014:
Hey Jami!

Wow, what a chapter! I was really glad to see James standing up to Abigail and not letting her target Lily in that way because she's really nasty and just so frustrating. Definitely the sort of person who I can see going on to become a Death Eater, or at least helping them! I'm glad the rest of the prefects rallied round as well because it's nice to know that they do appreciate James and Lily and all the work that they put into their positions.

Oh my goodness. That scene with Violet and Alrek! Here was me hoping that Violet would get the message soon and now I suspect that she's going to have been pulled into something else much bigger, far beyond her understanding, and extremely dangerous. It was a great plot twist because I didn't see that coming, that the romance and the danger in this story would collide and come together like that - I'm so scared for them now!

The last scene was adorable, too. I loved the fact that you showed some of Lily's insecurities because it just made me like her even more, and James was so sweet responding to them. They're just so cute together!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #20, by nott theodore Compromising and Conniving

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami!

Ah, I can't believe I'm down to the last ten chapters of this story now! It's taken me so long to read it and I'm sorry for that, but I'm loving the chance to get back to it now!

It's kind of scary how well you write Bellatrix and Voldemort. They're just so... chilling. Every scene you write including them just seems to include such brilliant portrayals and every single word seems to be something I can hear coming from their mouths. Bellatrix, especially - her utter devotion to Voldemort and the fact that she loves being in his presence. But now I'm really worried because of the end of that section - Bellatrix has it out for Belle and I feel like it's not going to end well...

It was great to see some of this story from Alice's POV! She's such a lovely character and I liked the discussion of their relationship so that we got to see how it started and the way that they've both developed as people from when they were younger, because it reminded me of Neville. And it made me laugh that Frank discussed the problem with Augusta - at least she made him see sense, though!

Ugh, Violet is just irritating. I hope that it won't turn into anything worse at the moment because it's just so strange for her to carry on behaving this way - can't she see that James is besotted with Lily? Lily behaved really well though, but I'd like to see Belle let loose on her!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodore Dueling Lessons

12th July 2014:
Hello, lovely!

I really liked the way that you wrote the Duelling Lessons in this chapter. I think it's a great idea to include them and I can imagine that Dumbledore would want his students to be as prepared as they possibly can be for the world outside of Hogwarts, even if that means that some of the Slytherins are possibly gaining some skills from them. I liked the fact that Moody was the one to teach them as well, because it fits in nicely with why Dumbledore might eventually turn to him as DADA professor and I think your portrayal of him is great; he doesn't care what anyone thinks and McGonagall has to keep correcting him.

I think that my favourite part in this chapter was the girls' section when we got to see more of their friendship - you write it so well! But it's really interesting to see the cause of the argument between Alice and Frank as well, because they always seem like a perfect couple. I can imagine that he'd find it hard to deal with the thought of Alice in danger but it's unfair to expect her to sit at home and let him fight instead - at least we know they both became Aurors so they must work it out between them!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodore Valentine's Day

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami!

Ah, I loved the way that you wrote Sirius at the beginning of this chapter. He was so moody and angsty and acting as if he was trying to be all defiant, even though he had nobody to really defy. It made me laugh a bit actually, but I really liked reading him like that - he had no idea why he felt that way but obviously it's because Belle means so much more to him than any girl has before and he was nervous about the way that Valentine's Day with her would go. I kind of wanted to give him a hug, but at least she made him realise that she wasn't going to try and make him do anything he doesn't want to, like go to Madam Puddifoot's! And I love the idea of Belle running a bookshop!

Then when the attack came everything seemed to escalate very quickly. They all had a nice, undisturbed Christmas Day so I suppose it was too much to expect the same for Valentine's! But I really liked the way that you wrote it because I could sense the chaos and confusion about what was going on, as well as the fear. Poor McGonagall! And I absolutely loved Peter in that scene when he suggested taking her food or something, that was so cute!

Ugh, Alrek. I really don't like him, he's so awful. Why can't he just leave them all alone?!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodore A Game of Sorts

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami!

Aw, I loved James's thoughts on his relationship and the idea of being a boyfriend to Lily. It just made me smile, he was so cute! He's been waiting for this for so long now and it's so adorable that he's finally managed to start going out with Lily and they're slowly falling in love. It's just adorable.

Yes, finally! Lily has realised that Alrek might be the one who is feeding information to the Death Eaters. I know that she didn't seem convinced on the fact that he would be the one but at least they're wary now. And James's jealousy is now turning into something more substantial, and he's so protective over Lily.

I really enjoyed the Quidditch match and of course the fact that Gryffindor won! And James is lucky to be getting a chance at playing professional Quidditch, even if he doesn't get the chance. The Order meeting was fantastic; each of the participants was so well characterised and I especially loved Moody's rant about the Minister and the uselessness of the Ministry! At least they've been alerted to the fact that there's someone in the school passing along information now and hopefully they manage to stop Alrek soon!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodore The Marauder's Map

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami!

I really, really love the way that you write the friendships in this story and don't just put all of the emphasis on the relationship between James and Lily and then between Sirius and Belle as well. I think that friendship's one of the most important themes in the series and one of the things which helped get people through these wars, so it's great to see not only the Marauders but also the girls being close and helping each other when they need it, like when Lily and Alice were trying to persuade Belle to talk to Sirius.

I loved the whole interaction between Belle and Sirius as well, it seemed so believable from the characters we've seen this far. It made me smile when Belle got jealous of the Hufflepuff girl even though she was mad at Sirius :P I'm glad that they managed to survive their first fight as well and discuss some more important things.

Ah, the Marauders Map! I wondered when Lily would see it in this story and she's right, it's an incredible piece of magic. I still want to shout at them when they're not thinking about Alrek, though! At least Lily has got a good measure of Severus - even if they're not friends anymore, he wouldn't deliberately hurt her, I don't think.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #25, by nott theodore Trouble on the Hogwarts Express

12th July 2014:
Hello, Jami!

Aw, the opening part of this chapter was so cute! I love the idea of James and Lily being able to communicate with little pictures of each other, kind of like the two way mirrors but only for them, and it was adorable seeing James acting like a lovesick puppy, as he put it. The mention of how his friends would tease him was great, because it reminded us that they are just young still, and I loved the bit when James was happy about being able to get Lily all angry, it made me laugh so much.

Okay, I wanted to shout at the group of them when James finally told them that he thought there was someone at Hogwarts spying on them. IT'S ALREK, GUYS! It's so annoying that we know that but they don't, and I felt sorry for Regulus actually when Sirius automatically assumed it was him. Of course it's not, but that quick anger felt really in character for Sirius - maybe the fact that he made Belle angry with him will make him think twice about reacting so much, though! I wonder what this term has in store...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>