Reading Reviews for Next Midnight
  
111 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Veritaserum27 Maternal

4th August 2014:
Hi!

I thought I would do another chapter for the BvB review battle!

This chapter was so cute and funny! I love tthe first line about Rose thinking Scorpius was congratulating himself. This seems to be brand new territory for Rose - and not just the pregnancy thing. It seems like she has always known what she wanted and what to do with herself. Now she has to think about another life and is really unsure of even the simple things - like apparating.

Teddy is right - Scorpius will make an excellent Mum! Haha.

This line from Teddy was hysterical!

"Other people's children are dreadful," Teddy agreed. "I only like ours. Most of the time."

So true. All I'm gonna say.

I think I read in an earlier chapter that Rose thought Hermione and Ron were secretly hoping that Rose and Scorpius would break up. I don't think this is the case, based on their reactions here. They seem genuinely happy for their daughter. Although Hermione wants her to quit her job, that is nothing new.

Great Chapter!

Beth

 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 Contagious

4th August 2014:
Hello!

Here for the BvB review battle. I was intending on reviewing more of this story for WTM appreciation day but... er... real life happened. So! I was excited to see that you were participating in the battle and here I am!

Love. This. Story. I love your characterization of Rose and of Scorpius. (I may have said this in an earlier review, so I'm sorry if I'm repeating). Rose here is the very opposite of how she is normally portrayed. I like that she isn't the "brightest witch of her age" - not very good at maths. I also like that she is tough and making her own way in the world - at the same time, you've made her realistic and not over-the-top with her tough girl act.

Scorpius is just plain adorable. You've managed to give him some unique characterization as well. I love artist-Scorpius. Although the two of them are such opposites, they are really in love with each other. Again, you've done this without making their relationship too dramatic.

I really liked Rose's reaction to holding the baby.

partly because I was afraid I'd drop them and partly because it always made me wish a little bit that I had one as well

I like that she has some inkling of wanting to be a mother (especially concerning how this chapter turned out).

Nice job with the pacing of this! Usually the pregnancy is revealed in the first chapter or it is far too drawn out. She goes home and tells Scorpius, and they have one of their typical conversations - almost like their discussing dinner plans, but they both realize the magnitude of this life change.

Great chapter!

Beth

 Report Review

Review #3, by Veritaserum27 Number Five

1st August 2014:
Hi again!

The entire first part of this chapter had me laughing out loud! The zebra print, the white fur vest, the ultra-tight low cut white robes - all on an aging rock star and his wife. Eww...

Scorpius is so adorable. It seems as if he does the cooking and the cleaning - and the reminding to Rose about how important family is. And he appears to be the one that would like to have children.

I really like what you've done with his character here. A lot of "canon police" probably wouldn't agree that Scorpius would end up a free-lance painter who lives in sin with the daughter of his father's worst enemy, but I actually disagree. Who's to say that this next generation of kids won't "get" what their parents went through. They will have completely different lives and probably be similar to the Generation X kids of America.

Enough with my analysis of the culture of the next gen kids.

I love your story. I love your characters. Thanks for writing this!

Beth

Reviewed for WTMAD

 Report Review

Review #4, by Veritaserum27 Wedding Disasters

1st August 2014:
Hello!

So this is my first go at the "Midnight" series. I hope you don't mind I started in the middle, but I clicked on the first chapter and couldn't stop reading! Teddy and Victoire are hysterical! Victoire especially. I laughed out loud at her "inappropriate moans" while the other cousins stared on in shock - the mark of a woman who has experienced enough discomfort to not care terribly much about her lack of decorum.

Ugh! Johnny seems like a nightmare. Why are those kids always at weddings? Great scene with the punch bowl!

The way you've placed the conversations that reveals little tidbits about each character's personality is brilliant. A lot of times, in the first chapter of a story that is part of a series, the author ends up explaining a lot of back story. I know a little bit is necessary, but you've avoided making it tedious and dragged-out. Great first chapter!

Beth

Reviewed for WTMAD (WTM Appreciation Day)

 Report Review

Review #5, by LightLeviosa5443 Weasley-Malfoy

17th April 2014:
Last one! So bittersweet!

I love that this last chapter starts with Vic sitting in the room with Rose. I love that. Cousinly bonding. So brilliant. Roses point of view on everything is so funny and pure and just raw. I love the way you use description to highlight her thoughts and opinions on everything. I also love the way that you show her transition from Pregnant Rose to Not-Pregnant-Rose. It's wonderful. I can't wait to see some more of little baby Weasley-Malfoy. Also what gender is it?!?!

Right, we were all idiots. Haha, oh gosh. That's so great. So sweet of Vic to leave. AND OH GOSH I LOVE THE WAY ROSE THINGS. I had done all the work. Gosh Rose, don't hold back, tell us how you really feel. :P STOP ENDING THINGS SO PERFECTLY REALLY?! Really?! Ugh, every single chapter, of every single story has a perfect ending. I love that. You and I have never followed traditions. We still don't know if it's a girl or a boy (or do we and I'm totally just blanking) and we don't know the name. But it's literally the perfect ending. This entire story was just so wonderful. The way you characterized everyone. Your transitions from Rose to Scorpius to Rose every couple of chapters. Even the way that you had Rose kind of evolve from this person who didn't want to have anything to do with marriage or kids to a Mum with Scorpius. And she thought of marriage a couple of times. I saw that.

This was just really lovely. You're an absolutely brilliant writer.

xoxo Sarah ♥
Huffleclaw - Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

Author's Response: There's a lot more Rose on my author's page though! Three whole novels, actually, and some one-shots. The gender and name are a surprise - it's revealed in the first chapter of Midnight Over Broadway ;)

It really is a big change when you're not pregnant anymore. Sort of weird, the sudden transition, although it's not really back to normal for quite a while. Rose is totally sassy about doing all the delivering-the-baby work. Although she does have a point. Women do the heavy lifting with making the babies.

She did think of marriage a few times. And didn't freak out ;) But not yet. Thank you so much for the reviews! I'm really glad you liked this one. If you get a chance to read the other Rose stories, please let me know what you think of them!


 Report Review

Review #6, by LightLeviosa5443 Delivery

17th April 2014:
Next chapter is the last chapter. I think I thought it was this one. I'm glad it's not. It's kind of bittersweet, though.

I love that with Rose being pregnant, Scorpius has picked up so much more work, and it's supporting them so well. That's exciting and awesome, and yay! Things are working out! I love when things work out! Bored, pregnant Rose sounds slightly terrifying. I wouldn't want to be the one locked up alone in a house with her. I think it's funny that all of the Weasley women just blurt out whatever they're thinking when they're pregnant. My friend was like that, it was madness.

Hahaha, probably guilt. Rose is sassy and I love it. I love that Scorpius loves it. I love all of this. I'm in love with the way you've written your characters in this chapter. I like seeing both of their characters grow and develop as these chapters go on. It's really fun and enjoyable. I also love that Rose doesn't want to know what the gender of the baby is, as long as there is one. That's brilliant. Also that Scorpius was relieved when he found out it wouldn't be twins. That was probably the best moment.

OH MY GOD SHE SLAPPED HIM. Haha, this gets better and better and better. "It's supposed to be my job to get all freaked out. You're the responsible one." that was priceless. I definitely thought Rose would be more freaked out. It's great that Scorp snapped right back after that. Go him! Awe. Haha, he fainted. I say haha a lot, I feel like I don't have enough words to express how much I'm enjoying this story. I also feel like all of these reviews are entirely blabbery and confusing. I'm so sorry.

xoxo Sarah ♥
Huffleclaw-Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

Author's Response: It's good that he's able to support them at this point, cause they actually have been evicted before for not being able to pay the rent. ;)

Rose is happy either way, so long as there's only one baby. She's heard way too many twins stories from her family! haha. Rose is very sassy, and yeah, bored and pregnant is terrifying.

Honestly, by the time you're at the end of the pregnancy, you don't even care anymore. You just want the baby/babies OUT, so freaking out isn't necessary. Not for everyone, but it's definitely how I felt. Reversing their usual roles there was fun though - normally Rose would be the one to freak out while Scorpius remained calm.

Not blabby or confusing at all! You're fine. I love reading your reviews.


 Report Review

Review #7, by LightLeviosa5443 Chaos

17th April 2014:
AWE. I WANT TO BE THEM. I WANT THIS RELATIONSHIP.

I love that Scorpius wakes up and he's just happy. I love that he tries to feel Rose's stomach, and does it so often that she swats him away. I love that they're happy and cute and adorable. I love tha the tried to get her to stop going to work and was so sweet about it. He didn't pick a fight, he was gentle and loving and explained and asked. He didn't demand. Ugh. He's literally the perfect man. I need myself a Scorpius Malfoy. Especially if he acts the way you've written him.

Rose is so sweet. At least she can act cordial to his parents. I hate how stiff they are. I wish they'd take the news well. I'm almost afraid to read on, I want them to take it well so badly. Ugh. I love your use of the chapter title in this. That whole line from He wanted Chaos to Or maybe she'd just always been this beautiful. Your stories are so wonderfully written and make me so jealous that I don't have all of this in my life. You paint such a lovely picture and use such incredible imagery. I love this.

Oh, they don't take it well. Oh, he's sticking up for her. I love him. I love Scorpius. Oh that's so lovely that Astoria came by and got Rose and bought baby furniture with her. So kind of her. Even if they aren't kind, and it's an awkward situation with the Malfoys. It was still great. HAHAHA. He had to confiscate her books. This story literally gets better and better. He sent her to Victoires to calm down. Does that actually work? Poor Scorp. He wants marriage, but he settles for no marriage because he loves Rose so much. This is so lovely. I love the way you write. One more chapter!

xoxo Sarah ♥
Huffleclaw-Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

Author's Response: Hehehehe... They're in love, it's cute. Even though Rose isn't very demonstrative, they do suit each other well. He is perfect for Rose, and it's good that he's not as much of a slacker now that his artwork is doing better ;) but otherwise, they're both sort of lazy.

Scorpius and his parents don't have a very close relationship in my Next Gens. He's too different from them. While they avoid outright hostility for the most part, they're not close.

Victoire actually is able to calm Rose down when she gets all freaked out. Victoire is very soothing haha. She's such a mom. Poor guy, he tried to get her to marry him, but nope, she's not into it. She just wants to be together. Thank you so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by LightLeviosa5443 Maternal

17th April 2014:
I wish Rose was more happy about it, still. Go Scorpius though. Good for him. I love the way you put that whole line, though. OMG. TEDDY'S REACTION IS LITERALLY SO PERFECT. This whole story is so perfect. How have I not ready anything of yours before? How do you not have a million thousand and one reviews on everything? Hahaha. Oh my gosh, I love Teddy. "who had once declared his intentions of having enough children to field his own Quidditch team." Rethinking that decision there, Ted?

I literally love that about babies. I can play with them, hug them, hold them, enjoy them, and then at the end of the day give them back to their parents and enjoy my quiet kid-free home. I love that Rose thinks the same way, and that you clearly have thought it to, as you wrote it. Awe, poor Rose. I would hate feeling inadequate like that. I would hate feeling like my partner would be better than me. Apparently Rose doesn't mind.

Oh Teddy, making it a contest. This is all priceless. Oh boy, they're telling the parents. Do I need to brace myself for that? Oh, I'm so happy her parents are happy. That was such a lovely reaciton. So sweet. I might tear up a bit. Stop writing lovely stories, it's not fair to the rest of us!! Another perfect ending to a perfect chapter.

xoxo Sarah ♥
Huffleclaw-Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

Author's Response: Being pregnant wasn't in her plan, and it's scary and frankly uncomfortable, so I can't entirely blame her for not being super happy about it. She'll like being a mum, though, don't worry.

Oh, Teddy still wants his own Quidditch team, never fear. He likes having a dozen kids around him, especially when he can parent by saying sternly, "Listen to your mother" and then reading the newspaper. lol

I totally love that about babies too. It's why I haven't had any more and was happy when my brother's wife had one - I was like yay more babies that I don't have to wake up all night with! More fun that way.

Rose is fully accustomed to Scorpius being the responsible one who takes care of everything. She makes the money, and otherwise she's pretty much useless around the house. So to her, of course Scorpius will keep the baby alive. It's what he does. haha

Nah, Ron's not mad. I never cared for the interpretation where he throws her out or screams or anything. For one, I don't see Ron that way, and for another, it's not like it's news, as he says. They've been together for years. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by LightLeviosa5443 Contagious

17th April 2014:
Hahaha, I love how self-centered Dominique is. It's so perfect. Oh, right, Hi again. :) Not that you're surprised to have a review from at at this point, I suppose.

I love that Roxanne is a writer and hasn't sold any books, but Dom writes an angry vengeance book and she sells her book. Poor Rox, good for Dom (I guess, I mean, I'd rather root for Rox, I think.) Sometimes it was hard being related to her. We all have that one relative, and I love this line because it was so relatable and I felt like it just jumped out and really spoke to me. I know that feeling. I like how you've put "She was good at that. She should've been a politician" in two stories from two different peoples point of views about two different people for two similar reasons. It shows how families tend to think alike, and I feel like it's almost like a signature in a way. Even if it wasn't intentional.

Poor Rose, being forced to stay sober. I love that you used Designated Apparator. Can I use that? It's absolutely brilliant! Yay! Molly! Haha, I love the boys, this is so great. I feel like this is actually quite similar to some of the parties that my family throws. I'm absolutely loving it so far!! Oh lord, she's evil. I'll call their mums to come fetch them later. I like the way Rose thinks. I love love love that Molly and Rose aren't super distant from each other, too. It's fantastic!! I love all of these touches to the story!

Oooh. Morning sickness? Is Rose pregnant?!?! I love that that's what I first jump to. I hope I'm right. Maybe if she is, Vic will spot it now. I love that Rose doesn't want to hold a kid, either. C'mon Rose, buck up. It's not that bad. Victoire the mother. Who would've thought?? HAHAHA. OH MY GOSH. The comparison between Remus and Johnny. I might cry laughing.

YES. I WAS RIGHT. HEHEHEHEHE. Yay! Rose is gonna has a baby!!! I'm afraid this is going to take a sad twist. I hope it won't. Haha, are babies contagious. So funny. So so so funny. Oh Rose. YAY! I'm so excited about this. I'm in love with Roses reaction, and Scorpius'. I wish she was more enthusiastic, though!!! STOP ENDING CHAPTERS SO PERFECTLY!!! They're so cute. Can I be them?

xoxo Sarah ♥
Huffleclaw-Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

Author's Response: It is totally fitting for how things work out for Dominique that she wrote a book and it becomes a best-seller, while Roxanne has been paying her writer's dues, so to speak, and getting nowhere really. Dominique lands on her feet, no matter what happens. Husband leaves her? Makes herself a best-seller off it. First marriage falls apart? Gets a better husband the second time around. It's her. And she's pretentious and self-centered. It kind of cracks me up. She's just one of those people.

I totally didn't intend that, but yeah let's say I did it on purpose to show Rose and Molly's thought patterns in common. Yup. haha.

Yes, use Designated Apparators! I absolutely think that would be insane to try Apparating when drunk, so much like you pick a designated driver, you pick someone to get you home safely in the wizarding world as well. And the boys are fun. I love writing James and Fred. They're complete idiots.

Yes, morning sickness! And Johnny Lupin is insane. He's a lot like Rose, she just never really sees it. They got the crazy gene that Fred & George had, for sure.

No sad twists in this. Just fluffy goodness ;) Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by LightLeviosa5443 Number Five

17th April 2014:
Ooh. Scorpius' point of view. I like that this switches every other. Fun fun fun. I hope he talks Rose into marriage.

First paragraph and I'm already snickering. You're a brilliant writer. I love the way Scorpius thinks and describes things compared to Rose. I can see how they fit each other so well, yet how they are so individually their own person. Oh my gosh. I'm laughing at those outfits. Talk about eccentric. That was just so priceless. I can't even handle how ridiculous that whole ordeal was. Poor Scorpius. My eyes would hurt trying to sketch that. Let alone doing it for four hours and scheduling ANOTHER sitting for a later date. Merlin save him.

Okay, I'm intrigued. What does Rose do with her days that she has singed hair and has to hide bruises and try to heal cuts? And give him a smile that he knows means she did something he didn't want her to do. They're so cute together. Ugh. I want a romance like Rose and Scorpius. Maybe I shouldn't say that this early into the story...

"Rose looked as if she very much wanted to miss it, but Scorpius made her go. Family was important, even when they were mental." I am relating to Rose quite a bit in this story. There has never been a truer line than this one. Interesting that Dom wasn't there, was she watching the kids? That would make sense. Wow, 5, that's crazy. Teddy is hilarious. Hahahaha, Fleur. I can't. You're hilarious.

Oh no. Scorp has baby fever. I get the remote feeling that Scorpius holding the baby was a bad idea. Though if William had the same effect on Rose then maybe it'd be a good idea. Rose should hold the baby! I love how both Scorpius and Rose thought/said He'll look like a Weasley soon enough. Weasley traits always prevail, I assume :P . Onto the next chapter! Yay!

xoxo Sarah ♥
Huffleclaw-Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

Author's Response: I normally write only from Rose's POV, so having Scorpius as a POV character (so to speak) was fun to write in this. A nice change-up to show his perspective. He's much less wacky than Rose is.

Ah Rose's job. Well, there are two novel-length stories before this one that explain that (Just Another Midnight Run, and A Weirder Shade of Midnight. Then Midnight Over Broadway is after this story.), but Rose is a bounty hunter. That is purely artistic license on my part, because those don't exist in England, but since the wizardng world is archaic in a lot of ways, and I really wanted to write it, I went with it.

Teddy and Victoire have a LOT of kids, yes. And yeah, Dominique was babysitting their other kids. Someone has to keep an eye on Johnny! I like Fleur's cameos in these stories. I have a good time writing her. And Teddy Lupin. He's a twit and I love it.

Scorpius gets recurring baby fever any time Rose's cousins pop out a new one, the poor guy. Weasley genes are strong! Thank you so much for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #11, by LightLeviosa5443 Wedding Disasters

17th April 2014:
Hi! So I've decided to read some of your other stuff, and then I found ScoRose and got super excited. Yay!

I love this already. I feel like I just need to read all of your stories now. I probably will. Give me a couple of days. Expect many fangirling non-sensical reviews. Don't say I didn't warn you. I'm loving this so far, I love that Scorpius is the one who gets misty-eyed and he's the one who wants to get married. I feel like a lot of people push Rose and Scorp into marriage, and I've always wondered if Rose would actually be okay with that. I love that you've made her so not okay with that. I also love that Victoire knew to come over and save Rose. That was a really really awesome touch. She's pregnant. So cute. Plopping is literal, hahaha.

Haha, oh lord. "Lily was really good at the flirtatious giggle." It's little lines like these that make me laugh out loud and look like a total loon to the people around me. I'm also convinced that they're part of what takes your stories from good to ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT. The capitalization was absolutely necessary there, by the way. I'm literally in love with the way you've characterized Rose and pregnant Vic, this is so awesome. Another one. "And then Johnny Lupin ran past us with streaks of frosting across his cheeks and his grandmother puffing after him. Aunt Fleur looked as if she might kill him when she got a hold of him." SO funny, so brilliant, so perfectly places. Okay, I might just re-quote this entire story back to you. It's filled with so many funny and perfect moments. Especially with Johnny. I'm getting a kick out of this.

Hahaha. That last line. Why do you always end your chapters so brilliantly? Oh I'm definitely following this story through. Wonderful writing again.

xoxo Sarah ♥
Huffleclaw-Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

P.S. I swear I'm not as weird as these reviews probably make me seem.

Author's Response: My ScoRose is a bit different from the usual run of things. I normally write Rose's POV and don't focus on the romance (even though romance is my favorite thing to write, aside from comedy), and Rose isn't a very romantic person, as you can probably tell from her POV chapters in this story. Scorpius, on the other hand, is a big romantic who probably cries at sappy movies.

Victoire and Rose are sort of besties among the cousins - they are very different personalities, with Victoire being down-to-earth and rational and very motherly, while Rose is flighty and chaotic and irresponsible. But somehow it works for them. They hang out a lot. And of course, Victoire's kids are hilarious to write, especially Johnny. He's a horrible brat haha.

Nothing wrong with being weird ;) Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by maraudertimes Wedding Disasters

3rd February 2014:
Hello!

Ooh I really like this! It's so funny and all the characters are either exactly how I would have imagined them, or better than I ever could have. Especially Victoire. I loved her. Her late-pregnancy off switch for her filter is very endearing, and I love her complete disinterest in anything other than Teddy rubbing her feet!

But Rose and Scorpius? I'm in love! It's a nice break from the usual 'boy not wanting to settle down and girl too excited for marriage' thing and I really liked it. I'm a sucker for ScoRose anyways, but the way you've portrayed their relationship is simply amazing.

Ah! Johnny Lupin! Little troublemaker, isn't he? Well, all I know is he better know how to keep running fast, because if Fleur catches him, it won't be pretty! He seems like a mini James or Fred, considering their due diligence in spiking the punch. I'm sensing some controversial idols right there!

I really liked this and the whole concept of this story is amazing! I'm really excited to read more as soon as I can!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Hiya! I'm glad you liked it! Victoire while pregnant is hilarious - she just says whatever she wants, and makes Rose all skittish. And hey, when you're that preggo, getting your feet rubbed is the only important thing. ;)

Ah this must be your first go-round with my version of ScoRose! Yes, Rose has no intention of "settling down", despite dating him for over 10 years and living together for 2 or 3 years at this point. You'd think that was settled, but not in Rose's head. Scorpius is a domestic sort of guy, and weddings make him all misty and romantic.

Johnny Lupin is a charismatic ball of pure evil ;) haha. He is a bit of a James. He's more calculated though. Fleur ought to catch him!

Thanks for reviewing! I'm really pleased that you're enjoying the story so far. I hope you like the rest!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Solana Weasley-Malfoy

15th September 2013:
Great story! I'm already well familiar with Rose the bounty hunter so I was pleasantly surprised you'd done this one too. This series puts an entirely different spin on both their personalities. It's a refreshing change!

But you never indicate the baby's gender. I thought it was a boy, from the other story? I forget his name, though.

Author's Response: This story comes between Weirder Shade of Midnight and Midnight Over Broadway. So yes, by M.O.B. Rose's baby's gender and name are revealed :) I wanted to be tricky here. Just for fun.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! It's a different story than the usual Rose outings, since the plot is so different the style wound up different too. And the addition of Scorpius's POV. Thank you so much for the kind review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Ram Weasley-Malfoy

7th May 2013:
Aww that was downright adorable I can't right now

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Kira McClure Wedding Disasters

14th April 2013:
Dear lord you're an amazing writer! Your work is captivating!

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Fawkes394 Weasley-Malfoy

10th February 2013:
Like always, I had lots of fun reading this : ) Poor kid, though, I'm sure he's going to have an awful name after all. I wonder what would be like to grow up with Scorpius and Rose as your parents and the rest of the Weasley-Potters around you...

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! The baby details are revealed in "Midnight Over Broadway" ;) Growing up in that group would be a heck of a thing. Thank you for the reviews!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Fawkes394 Maternal

10th February 2013:
"Scorpius will be a great mum," OMG The worst thing is I totally agree with that haha, he's just so stereotypical house-wife-like (without intending to offend anyone).
Teddy does sound like a little kid telling Harry everything, and so does Ron with his reaction to being told about Rose's pregnancy before Draco.
Poor kid, she/he's going to have the weirdest parents ever. I wonder what kind of name she/he will have.

Author's Response: hahaha. It's so true. I'm glad you liked that bit. Teddy is a bit childish, but then he is a guy (no offense to my male readers). Ron likes any chance to one-up Draco.

The new addition will definitely have the weirdest parents ever. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Fawkes394 Wedding Disasters

10th February 2013:
Hahaha, this was sooo good! Rose seems not to notice she's as weird as the rest of her family haha.
Victoire and Johnny are as hilarious as ever, I love how she bosses Teddy around and Scorpius' amusement towards her honesty and Johnny's craziness. But really, who in their right mind would ever allow Johnny Lupin in a wedding? He's a menace.

Author's Response: She is at least equally crazy if not crazier than the rest of them! haha. But yeah, she doesn't seem to notice that.

Pregnant Victoire is so fun. Teddy is a bit henpecked. He's a Weasley husband. And really, nobody should have let Johnny Lupin come to the wedding, but no one would watch him! Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Headless Huntsman Weasley-Malfoy

9th January 2013:
I love your stories and really like your Rose/Scorpius dynamic. I have a question... Is your writing and your character of Rose in anyway influenced by the Stephanie Plum books by Janet Evanovich. The seem very similiar.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed my version of the Next Gen characters. Rose in the Midnight series is very much inspired by Stephanie Plum.

 Report Review

Review #20, by pennyardelle Weasley-Malfoy

11th September 2012:
*Part 2 of "Things I Read On Vacation and Was too Lazy to Review Until Now"*

Scorpius and Rose's relationship is one of my favourites. Ever. In both published writing and fan fiction. I love how they don't really fit all the stereotypes that should apply to them, and what I loved most about this story was that they accepted that fully. It was like you pulled out all of the boxes that a couple in their situation could acceptably fit into, and had them look at them and go, "Nah, we're all right here, thanks."

And the relative drama-free-ness of it! So refreshing. I can't tell you how happy it made me that when Rose didn't want to get married, Scorpius just loved her enough to be okay with it. No angsty almost-break-up, no sobby arguments.

I'm excited to see Rose and Scorpius taking on this new challenge. I actually haven't started reading Midnight Over Broadway yet, but I'm really looking forward to it, especially because...the name! Such a cruel cliffhanger. :P But your writing is so good that all's forgiven.

Author's Response: Hey at least you read things and reviewed them eventually! Doing better than I am there. ;)

I have to admit, I really love these two. Rose is so nutty, and Scorpius is so long-suffering (honestly, it's amazing he's still with her). The two of them don't fit the stereotypes you'd expect them to, which is what makes them fun to write. I dislike the drama stuff that often goes with this couple. I dislike drama in general though, particularly in real life. I need there to be low-key drama. lol. In reality, I don't think they'd be able to maintain a relationship with each other and with both families - too much baggage between the Weasleys and Malfoys - but for some reason I really like writing them together. Ron doesn't need to yell and act shocked and angry, because they've been together so long that this scenario has already occurred to him. He's already processed it. And Draco isn't going to be happy, isn't going to be a doting grandfather, because that's just not him, he's not a doting father, and she is a Weasley.

Anyway. I'm really glad to hear that you liked this story :) I hope you like the next novel of the Midnight universe! Thank you very much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Maya Weasley-Malfoy

2nd September 2012:
I have so fallen in love with the Scorpius you painted up. I have to find me one of those :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I love him too ;)

 Report Review

Review #22, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Weasley-Malfoy

10th August 2012:
Wait... what? Egyptian Weasley-Malfoy? What type of name is that? No. I mean, that's just a right weird name, even for Malfoy standards. I'm just... I'm over them. Maybe. A little bit.

Okay, so I'm in love with the characters and the plots and all of the little quirks that go along with them, including the weird names. Especially because of the weird names sometimes. I mean, who else can make me love people like Hilarion, Peregrine, or Pyxis Parmenter, yet hate Balthazar Pulford or Annable?

I have spent entirely too much time reading tonight. I mean, it's five in the morning, and I'll probably have to wake in three hours. I feel like the Weasley cousins were definitely worth procrastinating and losing sleep. If you ever publish a legit novel, LET ME KNOW. I will buy it and read it and love it, promise.

Author's Response: Ah no, the name will be an Egyptian name. They were discussing categories: family names, astronomical names, and Scorpius suggested Egyptian.

Weird names are fun. I love throwing a weird name at a HP character, cause you just can't work some of those names as a Muggle. Although strangely, a few years after I wrote JAMR, I was reading a romance novel and one of the bad guys was named Butrus. I cracked up.

Five in the morning! OMG go to sleep before you pass out! But thank you so much for all the reviews, and I'm really glad you liked the story. If I'm ever published, I will absolutely let HPFFers know :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Delivery

10th August 2012:
Huh. I suppose that must be why they tell dads not to look when the mother is pushing then. Makes sense.

Pregnant-Rose is hilarious. I sort of wish that she did have a case to work on, just so that I could see more of that ^_^

Author's Response: Ha! One of the reasons, but they don't really tell them not to look these days. Childbirth now pretty much anyone can look if they want to. lol. Pregnant-Rose is insane and yet entertaining, kind of like regular Rose! I'm glad you liked her. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Chaos

10th August 2012:
Draco Malfoy is such a git. I'm glad that Draco didn't suddenly become doting because his son is having a baby. Although, he did spend a lot of money on baby furnishings, I'm figuring that's more a "this is my grandchild too" and "I bet I can still out-spend a Weasley so take that Ron" type thing. You know, Malfoy pride. I figure Astoria might make more of an effort towards Rose, if only so that she can see her grandchild. Mothers get like that about grandchildren, don't they? Even if the child's a half-blooded Weasley? Maybe?

Author's Response: Draco's never going to be doting, really. The best he ever learned from his dad was to buy a child's love, and he never did better for his own son, so as a granddad he's still going to be detached. And he'll never be happy that the kid's a Weasley too. It's a bit of out-spending Ron, but also that money is the only thing the kid will ever get from him. I suppose it's better than nothing. Astoria the way I write her is not going to be much better, but she'd at least hold the baby occasionally. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Contagious

10th August 2012:
Liam is a cute nickname for "William." I like it. I almost feel like Rose should be William's godmommy too, since he was the reason she realized she was pregnant in the first place. I also think it's amusing that while Rose was the first one to find out that Victoire was pregnant with her fourth, Victoire is the first one to find out that Rose was pregnant.

Oooh, that means Rose'll have to stop picking up bounties for a while... I feel afraid for the people around her now. I mean... stuff happens around Rose Weasley.

I hate holding newborn babies. Give me a three-month-old and I'll be barely fine. Anything younger than that and I am a nervous wreck, I always feel like I'ma break it. My twin asked what I would do when I have my own children -- won't be a problem then because it's my child. I don't want to break someone else's baby, I'll break my own, thanks. Not that I want to break my own child, but I mean, it's a completely different situation.

It's also very amusing because just in the chapter nine for Sparks Lucy was considering how terrible it would be if Rose had a child of her own XD

Author's Response: He needed a different nickname from his granddad Bill. I love the name Liam. Such a nice strong name. Rose is already godmother to Johnny, and Victoire's a long ways from running out of female relatives to honor ;) So someone else is Liam's godmother. For the record, the way I picture the godmothers is:
Remus - Dominique
Johnny - Rose
Dora - Lucy
Liam - Lily

So she's still got Roxanne and Molly before she runs out and has to double up haha.

Newborns are a little nerve-wracking if you're not used to babies. But it really is totally different with your own kids. You have a twin? I have twins :) Twins are awesome, they're such fun as kids. Hard as babies, but fun as they get bigger.

Lucy isn't the only one to think Rose as a mother is a bit scary haha. But she'll make it work. Mostly cause Scorpius will do the heavy lifting, so to speak. lol. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>