Reading Reviews for Shenanigans and Hi-Jinks
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ravenclaw333 The Hogwarts Express

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #6

This is such a fantastic little story! I love everything about this - the friendship between Fred and Victoire, and the exchange of blame between them about who was responsible for making them late - I don't know why that bit stuck out to me, but it does and it's fantastic - and trying to figure out how to get to school, and the idea of getting Teddy to help them. Your characterisation is lovely, and I definitely want to read more of these two, so I'll be checking out your other stories! And was that a bit of Teddy/Victoire there? That was so sweet and awkward and perfect!

I'm really curious about how they spent their day now. This was a wonderful story, and I'm so keen to read more stories that fit into this universe!

Author's Response: That was definitely a bit of Teddy/Victoire! They're one of my favorite couples - I have a lot of Teddy/Victoire fics, and I think they were the first couple I tackled after my initial Rose/Scorpius story, so I'm quite fond of them.

I'm so glad you liked it, and thank you so much for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 The Hogwarts Express

9th July 2014:
Hi!

I think this story is really promising. I liked the fact that Victoire and Fred are best buddies. I've never seen that pairing as a friendship before. They seem to be like best friends on minute and siblings the nexts. It was a great dynamic. I also liked that there is some Teddy/Victoire tension going on. It seems like Teddy has a small crush on Victoire, but she has never really thought of him that way before. Floo to WWW in Hogsmeade and just hope that no one notices. Oh dear, this plan does not seem very well thought out at all. I feel like there are more hijinks and shenanigans to come. This is a great fist chapter and promises to be a funny, light story!

House Cup 2014 Review
Educational Decree #6

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked my Fred/Victoire dynamic! I know a lot of people make Fred more James's age, but I always saw George and Angelina as getting together and having kids much sooner than that, so I actually put Roxanne at James's age instead. :) Teddy definitely has a small crush on Victoire that she's not really aware of, but Fred obviously is. :P

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #3, by DracoFerret11 The Hogwarts Express

9th July 2014:
Hello! It's me again. :)

Plot: How interesting! I'm not huge on Next-Gen, but this looked cute and funny, so I decided to give it a look, and I wasn't disappointed. The idea of Weasleys missing the train is funny and compelling, and I liked it a lot. They made some odd choices, though, in my opinion. First of all, not trying to contact the school? Or their parents? In that situation, I would be concerned I wasn't going to be able to get to Hogwarts at all! And the fact that they didn't panic or anything, just decided to go to Teddy's and hang out. Hmm. Odd.

Characterization & Interaction: I had a hard time at first picturing Victoire and Fred as close enough in age to be spending time together. That seemed a bit random to me, but you did pull off characterizing both of them. Victoire was more naive than I normally see her, but I actually liked that. And I loved how the two of them bickered. I can imagine cousins doing that. I also think you wrote well for Teddy. I LOVED the subtle hints about his fondness for Victoire. Super cute.

Descriptions: Good job showing the scene in King's Cross, but some of the other settings were a bit nondescript. I could see the characters because I already have head-canon about how they look, but it was a bit hard to really get into the experience of the story. The one part that I really did feel like I was present for, though, was when Teddy was making breakfast. I could almost smell it. :) (Though, that might be because it's nearly two AM and I'm ridiculously hungry.)

Emotions: I oddly didn't get a lot of panic from the cousins. I don't know why they WOULDN'T panic, though, so I was pretty confused. They were quite casual and level-headed about the whole thing. I also would have thought that Teddy would be a bit more mature and express concern or at least exasperation at the two of them for missing the train.

Overall, though, I think this was pretty cute and funny. The way they acted didn't make a whole lot of sense to me, but I just might be more uptight than they are. Good job with this!

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Oooh, I can see what you mean.

In my head canon, it wasn't a big deal because they knew that they could Floo to Hogsmeade - Victoire and Fred are not really people who follow the rules very well, so they know all kinds of ways of skirting around them. However, I can definitely see how that could come off as odd, and I'll go back and tweak the story a bit so it works better.

Thank you so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ValWitch21 The Hogwarts Express

18th July 2013:
One more!

I'm going to assume that this is where Victoire started to fall for Teddy, correct?

Misskng trains (or airplanes for that matter) is seriously one of the things that I stress about the most. Therefore, the beginning of this one-shot had me practically screaming at the characters to move faster.

Again, I love Fred and Victoire's bickering dynamics. They remind me of myself and my brother: you annoy me, I annoy you, it balances out and I have to love you anyway.

Okay I am now craving bacon and eggs.

I wonder what Teddy's anything would be. A date with Victoire, I suppose?

On that note, I am going to fly to your last Teddy/Victoire one-shot and then maybe attack The Dark Side of the Moon.

Author's Response: It is indeed! :)

I know, I'm exactly the same way - I'm often late to things, but when it comes to trains and planes, I'm generally ridiculously early. :P

Thank you so much for your review - I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter so much!


 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia and anne The Hogwarts Express

15th March 2013:
This was fantastic!
I loved the fact that Victoire and Fred were late for the train because they were shopping, and that they had to be saved by Teddy.
I love the idea of Victoire and Fred being friends, or best friends. I have never seen that before and I must say that it's a nice change.
I love the fact that Teddy has pictures of Victoire and that they were flirting, there's definate love right there :D
It would be great if you did expand this into more chapters, it would be great to see what they all get up to, and how they're going to explain not being on the train, or how they would sneak into Hogwarts without being seen.
This was brilliant and was such a lovely read, I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I am thinking that I might expand this a bit - not necessarily the Hogwarts Express story, but maybe more about some of the other tricks and pranks they get up to that year. :P I'm glad you liked it - thank you for your review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Reagan The Hogwarts Express

9th September 2012:
Hi! I just wanted to say that I have read almost all of your fics and absolutely love them! You are by far my favorite fanfic author. If you can find time I really think that you should continue this fic, these are some of my favorite characters. Keep on writing!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :) I'm not entirely sure I will, but I'm in the middle of a one-shot about Vic and Fred's Halloween antics, if you want to check back for that in early/mid October!

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Up and Away The Hogwarts Express

29th August 2012:
Adorable. Please write more things about Teddy and V--they are my favorite couple. Also, I love Freddy and the hijinks he and V can get into :)

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you liked this!

I actually have quite a lot written about them - I'm not sure if you've seen it or not. There's Fish Out of Water, Fortune Favours the Bold, Cloud Nine, The Dark Side of the Moon, and In a Brown Study. I'm definitely planning to revisit them at some point as well - they're one of my favourite couples too! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Hope's Mom The Hogwarts Express

5th May 2012:
Too funny that they missed the train! Flooing to the Hogsmeade shop is a good idea. I am curious to see what plans Teddy has for them. Nice start!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :) I'll have the second part up soon... I keep getting distracted by Curiosity, which I hope isn't too disappointing to you. ;)

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Pavan The Hogwarts Express

5th April 2012:
Very well written.Waiting for the next xhapter

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ScorpiusRose17 The Hogwarts Express

2nd April 2012:
Hi there!

I thought this was a fun and entertaining chapter. I love Victorie and Fred together as cousins. I think they bring a lot to any story. I also really like Teddy. He's like the wise mentor of the next generation, but a do gooder all the same.

I liked all of your descriptivness. It really helped paint a wonderful picture of the story that you were trying to tell. It also flowed well and I didn't see any messy transitions.

I really liked it when Victorie asked Fred "Who sets their watch slow?" It sounds like a very Fred thing to do and a very Victorie thing to say.

Overall, I thought it was great and I really enjoyed reading it.

Keep up the great work! =)

-SR17

Author's Response: Hey! I'm so sorry that it's taken me so long to answer this - I got a little busy and backed up with reviews, but I've been trying to chip away at them.

I'm really glad you liked this, and felt that it flowed smoothly. You know how new stories are - you can sometimes get a bit insecure. :P

Thank you so much for the review! I really appreciate it. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login