229 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 Midnight Routines

27th September 2015:
Tasha here for our swap.

Yay for reunions! Yay for cliffhangers! I'm really not kidding I love cliffhangers lol.

You've done it again. You captured the grief of losing a child so well and the torn emotions between not wanting to believe someone is alive when you thought they were dead and the hope that it might just be your lost child. Either you have been though something similar for which i want to say I'm sorry you had to go through it or you've done your research for which I have to say Well done.

As a side note I like that you've kept Sirius alive as I refuse to accept the fact that he is dead. I look forward to seeing how Devlin reacts when he discovers that Harry is his father. I'm also curious to see why Voldemort allows Devlin to call him Grandfather and not My Lord as he requires of his followers.

On to the next chapter (I really should start reading more than one at a time.)

Peace Love and Tacos


 Report Review

Review #2, by Panda Weasley  The Informant

23rd September 2015:
Hey, GingeredTea!
I really enjoyed this chapter. I normally don't read fics like this, but I thought this was really well written and will probably read more in the future. I felt that you had original ideas and through your writing I could really picture what was happening. I liked how you started with Devlin and then switched to Harry focusing on the pain he feels and the war. It was an interesting contrast and the two sections fit together perfectly.

I noticed several places where two words would be combined and needed a space between them. Other than that though I didn't notice any mistakes or errors, and there is nothing I would have changed besides those few typos.

Excellent work!

 Report Review

Review #3, by TreacleTart Midnight Routines

22nd September 2015:
Hello there!

I'm here for our review swap! I read chapters one and two a while back and after the big reveal that Devlin was still alive, I was excited to see what happened next.

The first thing that really registered for me is how hard it is for Harry to accept that his son has basically been brainwashed. When Geoffrey is telling him that he won't recognize his child, he just sort of excuses it away. He seems to think that if he can just get a hold of the boy, he can reverse everything, but I have a feeling it isn't going to work that way at all. Unfortunately, I think it's going to break Harry's heart.

Alexandra is remarkably calm considering the situation. I know everyone handles things differently, but she seems borderline emotionless to me. Maybe it's just that she doesn't want to allow herself any hope until her child is safely in her arms. That way if he does end up dead she won't end up crushed all over again.

I was surprised by how much Geoffrey does actually seem to care for Devlin. He knows the boy well and has clearly spent a lot of time watching after him. I'm glad that he was able to talk a bit of sense into Harry because Harry was certainly behaving a bit impulsively.

Now that Geoffrey has whisked Devlin away to the safe house, I have to wonder how Harry is going to go about de-programming him. I can't imagine that it's going to be easy to undo all of the damage that the Dark Lord has done. In fact, I wonder if it's even possible. Based on the little bit we see at the end, it seems the child is ready to fight if need be.

My only tiny bit of CC for this chapter is that there are a couple places where you switched from past tense to present tense within one sentence. It didn't happen a ton, but when it did happen, it threw me off for just a second.

All in all, I thought this was another successful chapter. I'm intensely curious about what's to come next.


 Report Review

Review #4, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 Only Blood

22nd September 2015:
Tasha here for the review swap ;)

Yay for cliffhangers! Lol

I can tell you've done your research (either that or I haven't) Devlin has been hardened because of his treatment and seems to do anything he can to please Voldemort. Seems like a textbook case of Stockholm Syndrome to me but I'm not that familiar with it.

I did notice a couple possible typos or verb tense errors at the beginning but other than that I thought this was well written and I look forward to seeing what happens if and when Harry finally comes face to face with his son.

Great Job!

Peace, Love, and Tacos


 Report Review

Review #5, by CassiePotter The Informant

22nd September 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was an incredible first chapter! I'm completely fascinated! I've never read anything like this, and thought it was brilliant.
I think Devlin's character is really interesting. He's clearly very intelligent, even for a child so young. And also brave. He's definitely Harry Potter's son, and wants to be brave until the end. That being said, it made my heart break to read the way he was being treated. He's just a child and they're being so horrible to him. At the end, when the Death Eater was saying how they tortured him, I got chills. Really it made my stomach turn to think about.
I love the way you write Harry. He has so much more anger than when we see him in the books. He's suffered even more loss than he did when he was growing up, and it's a whole new kind of suffering. He's lost a child, and can't move past that. I definitely see why he's so angry, but I just hope he doesn't do anything he'll regret because he's being ruled by his emotions.
Sirius is alive! I wasn't expecting that! But it was a really nice surprise! I think he's a great addition to this.
I'm really intrigued by this Death Eater! I want to know how it is! Also, I think it was so interesting how he seemed so interested in seeing Harry prove himself and prove that he loves his son. Definitely not something I'd expect from a Death Eater.
Oh my gosh Devlin isn't dead! I did not see that coming! But it also makes me nervous. Because if he's spent so much time among Voldemort and Death Eaters, and is being tortured, chances are he's changed. I really hope he doesn't have any kind of hatred or rage towards his father because he hasn't been rescued...
This was really, really amazing. I thought it was so original and so captivating! I definitely want to read more!
Thank you so much for the review swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by ScorpiusRose17 The Informant

22nd August 2015:

Here for the review swap! :)

This was interesting. I really thought you did an amazing job characterizing Harry. It reminded me a lot of the anger that we see coming through in the OotP, but this was different in terms of situation and growth of the character.

Your descriptions are well done. I will admit, whenever I read anyone describing Voldemort I always have high expectations and I want to feel creeped out. I want to have that spine tingling feeling you get when you see something scary. You met that expectation so wonderfully in so little words! I am truly impressed.

You also did a wonderful job drawing me in to the story and I found myself eagerly wanting to know what is going to happen especially with the cliff hanger at the end. I will be adding this to my reading list!

Keep up the awesome writing and I look forward to reading more of your story! :)


Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Thank you so much! I love hearing that the Voldemort/Devlin scene was okay, because I had to alter it a lot for the site (no child abuse).

Glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Gabriella Hunter Professor for a Day

22nd August 2015:

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review and its been so long! I haven't stopped by this story in ages and it's great to be reading it again! I never really forgot this story, since it's one of the most unique tales on the archives. Remember how you said you felt about Audrey Tang? Well, I felt the same about this. :D

So, it seems like Devlin is continually changing. I really like this angle of him though, he's not quite sure who he is at some moments but he's so sure of what he's been taught. I thought it was an interesting contrast with him meeting Dumbledore and the lack of awe and fear that comes along with it. I don't know if I would have been bold enough to ignore anything that the Headmaster said but it was clear that Devlin THINKS that he knows everything about a person just from first glance and that is a bit arrogant on his part, I think. He should be more careful about that but what I liked was that he held onto Harry's hand and kept close to his side. I would want them to get closer, of course but I think that there are still plenty of barriers between them, though Harry is still determined to look at him as his son and not the clever, broken thing that he is. Devlin is once more just as complicated, devious and fascinating as the last time that I read this and I'm blown away by your writing.

I think that you've created this dark, twisted universe with some elements that we all recognize and even adore. You break some down and give me something even better in return--the entire scene with the Unforgivable Curses was a great example. I don't think Devlin truly understood the depths to how evil they were until he saw them being used, I believe that he'll be thinking of that rat for quite some time and his peculiar fear of crowds.

It was great coming back to this and thanks so much for the read! :D

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #8, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 The Informant

21st August 2015:
Review Swap!

First I chose this chapter to review since I haven't read this fic yet and wanted to get whole story before I read your newer one so please don't hate me *falls to knees begging*

Second I'm going to have to do review swaps more often. I keep finding new stuff to read thats outside of my norm. I prefer not to read the What if Voldemort lived stories because that's just not a world I want to live in real or fantasy but this first chapter is so well written it makes me want to read more.

Third I loved how you captured the emotion Harry was feeling when he found the picture and the trememdous amount of love in the memory.

Fourth I'm weird I love a cliffhanger! It keeps me engaged in the story and makes me yell at my computer screen. Only downside to them is I generally find myself up until 3am and it's no fun going to work on less than an hour of sleep.

So that's all for now and i look foward to reading the next chapters and once I'm done starting on the next story.

Peace Love and Tacos


Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Thanks for starting at the beginning - it is a complex story and I genuinely wouldn't have been happy with a review if you didn't understand what you were reading. :)

I love review swaps for that reason. If I am smart I don't even look at profiles - just say "Yes" and force myself. More often than not, I end up really enjoying what I read. :)

If you love cliffhangers you will love most of this...I think there is a cliffhanger for at least the first 15 chapters...

 Report Review

Review #9, by The_Crookshanks_Saga The Informant

28th June 2015:
I hope this is ok for the swap :)

OK, usually I hate fics about the Golden Trio, but this one makes me reconsider my stance :D Definitely reading on.

I like how canon the characters are, and how Harry's different in all OC ways. Same with Ron-- and Sirius is alive?! How could you do that to my poor heart ;_;

I'm super-impressed by the flow of this, though you were moving all over the place it read like a waltz. I really enjoyed it.

The only slight problem was that there were a few discrepancies in tense. That's seriously it. Everything else about this was perfect.

Can't wait to keep reading!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Unicorn_Charm Only Blood

19th April 2015:
Hi there!

I am so sorry! I re-read the first chapter, got distracted by RL and the totally forgot about the swap for this chapter!

As weird as this may sound, I actually kind of like Geoffrey. He obviously cares for Devlin and is sharing this information with Harry, Sirius and Alex, so he can't be that bad. But then he is a Death Eater, so he can't be that good either.

Oh, speaking of Sirius, I'm thrilled you have him and apparently Remus both alive in this. :)

I felt bad for Harry and Alex here. I mean, it's great that they've found out that Devlin is still alive, but he's just so different than what they remember. He's almost kind of creepy from what we saw in Geoffrey's memories. He's incredibly powerful though, you can't deny that. Almost frighteningly so.

Really very interesting story and plot you have here. Again, I'm so sorry about that swap, I totally dropped the ball there. Thanks so much for doing it with me!! :)

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #11, by Penelope Inkwell Midnight Routines

18th April 2015:
Wow--it's been a while since I'd read the first two chapters of this story, but most of it came back really quickly!

This was such an intense chapter. I mean, the last one was, as well, of course. I like Geoffrey. I'm glad Devlin. He really seems to care about Devlin, even to the point of risking his own life. On some level he must feel like it's better that Devlin is back with his family, right? Or he could have just walked back to the Death Eaters and never showed up at the safe house. It also makes sense, though, that after all this time Devlin would be pretty brain washed. And being brainwashed by Voldemort, of all people...

I still don't feel like I know a whole lot about Devlin, but I like how you juxtapose these images of him as a tired little kid with others of him being kind of mouthy and even a little creepy. It definitely sets up how messed up his upbringing has been, and what a challenge it will be for him to acclimate.

The idea that he would reject Harry, though, is just really heartbreaking. Hopefully he comes around. After all they've been through, they deserve to be a family!


"Now that there were no eyes to preform in front of..."
--"preform" should be "perform".

There were no eyes to see him, not even the boys.
--"boys" should be boy's

Very intense chapter. It certainly makes me curious (if a little apprehensive), but I'm holding out hope that things will be alright in the end! Thanks for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #12, by krazyboutharryginny The Informant

18th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
There's a lot of stuff I really, really like about this first chapter. My favourite thing is that Sirius is still alive. I think you've done an awesome job of showing what Sirius and Harry's relationship would have been like if it had been allowed to develop further.
I also love the changes you've shown in Harry's personality since the loss of his son. The line "Harry Potter was no longer so Golden" totally captured my interest. The fact that he himself if aware of the ways in which he's changed is great. It's almost scarier, in a way? When characters are unaware of the ways in which they are changing and becoming more vicious, you get a sense that they're just out of control. When they're aware of it, like Harry is, it's more frightening because they're obviously still in control, but their minds have gone somewhere dark.
That scene with the lilies was so beautiful and touching. It's hard to get a sense of Devlin from the opening scene aside from the fact that he's very brave. That scene showed that he was a sweet and thoughtful little boy.
I'm interested to know who this Death Eater is, and whether he's really unimportant, as Harry thinks he is, or whether he's something more. I think I'm going to come back and continue reading this when I have time.
Awesome first chapter!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Startafire The Informant

18th April 2015:
Hello there!

Sorry it's taken me so long to get back to you for the review swap as I got caught up in some stuff. Anyway I'm glad I took the time to read this writing because it's very well written and little Devlin had my heart souring for him. He's definitely Harry Potters son. He's brave, strong and I love he won't give into the dark lord.

From what I've read so far the bond between father and son seemed very strong. I was beginning to worry Harry had given up on him but then he finds out he's alive! I particularly enjoy your description of Voldemort, you make him just as eerie and scary as he should be, especially from a six year olds point of view.

I'm left wondering and hoping they rescue him soon, hopefully he's okay! Amazing first chapter.

- Ella

 Report Review

Review #14, by Pixileanin Professor for a Day

17th April 2015:
Hi there! It's great to be back into this story!

It's also pretty creepy, the way that Devlin draws parallels between Dumbledore and Voldemort. I suppose it makes sense, because a boy would do that, and they're both supposed to be incredibly powerful wizards. But still... creepy.

Always questioning, this boy. I cringe at how his childhood must have been in order to end up this way. Gives me the shivers, in fact. And eek, all the suggestiveness with the Slytherins and what they were going to tell about him. Good lord, this poor kid.

And oh my god, the missing toe! I didn't know what to think of the whole knut/rat thing, and then wondered why Harry would go an pet the rat like that... like he cared about it... That was truly great. I saw what you did there. Not sure why or how it ties into the story, but I really liked it.

So this line had me wondering the most: "Dubhan wondered briefly if Potter knew why Lily Potter had been given the chance to step aside."

I have a feeling that you will be expanding on this little nugget, and I am very intrigued as to where you're going to take us with it. I have something (else) to ponder over now. Hmm...

I love the way that Devlin is so sure he knows what all is going on around him. He is, after all, a very perceptive and smart boy. But I love the way you turn things on their heads for him. He is still a child after all, and he won't get things as fully as he thinks. So when Harry explained his worries to Devlin, it just rang so true to me. There now, little boy. You're not as all-knowing as you think you are. And I also love the way you just cut Devlin off. He doesn't even get to retort back about anything.

Your writing is so thorough. I get so much internals and descriptives, and the action is all actiony when it needs to be. And the little things. Now you have me dying to know what the Galleon is all about...

Great chapter! So glad we swapped tonight!

 Report Review

Review #15, by TreacleTart Only Blood

15th April 2015:
Hello again!

I'm here for our review swap!

This chapter was really interesting. Geoffrey provided some very unusual memories to Harry, Alex, and Sirius. It seems that he was right in saying that the young Devlin they remember is dead and gone. He is clearly moving down a very dark path quite quickly. The choice of name change really represented this well. I'm sure that must be a massive shock to them, but at least he's still alive.

I did notice that during this chapter you switched back and forth from past to present tense quite a bit. I found it a bit disconcerting and it honestly pulled me back out of the story a bit. I don't know if this was a purposeful style choice, but I think it would read better if it was all past tense or all present tense.

I also wondered how Alex knew that Harry and Sirius were at Grimmuald Place with a Death Eater. Did Ron send her there? Did someone owl her? Was a patronus sent? Forgive me if this is actually in the story and I just somehow missed it.

I will say that the pace of the story moves rather nicely. I was immediately drawn in on the first chapter and the second chapter has definitely maintained my interest. I think you have a very intriguing plot and a good set of characters. I can't wait to see what you do with it!

Thanks again for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #16, by TreacleTart The Informant

14th April 2015:
Hi there!

I'm here for our review swap!

Upon reading the summary of this story, I was immediately intrigued! What if the Potters and Voldemort had lived? What if the war had continued? I just couldn't resist.

The beginning section about Devlin really pulled me in. I was immediately entranced by the brave action and thought process of this little boy. He seems so mature and collected for his age. I felt so bad for him that he was captured by Voldemort, but I feel hopeful that Harry will find and rescue him.

I noticed that you've kept Harry and Ron as Aurors, but in this case they seem to be rounding up the Death Eaters as the war is going on. The revelation that this particular Death Eater knew anything about Devlin was surprising. Since Harry thought Devlin was dead, I assumed he was as well...particularly since we see him get tortured in the beginning.

Now that Harry knows he's alive, I imagine he will stop at no ends to find his son. I wonder if he will be able to maintain the moral high ground or if he will start bending his morals a bit in order to get answers.

I have a bad feeling about this Death Eater being so forth right with information. As far as I can tell, he really has no reason to give Harry any information at all and odds are he will be tortured or killed by Voldemort for doing so. I'm almost wondering if this was a trap?

I thought this was a very unique AU. I'm always a bit skeptical when I read something that drastically changes the original plot, mainly because it's so hard to do well, but you've done a great job here! You've managed to keep the characterization of each character pretty similar to who they were in the books.

I'm really interested to see where this goes! I may have to add this to my currently reading list now!

Great work! I really enjoyed our swap!


Author's Response: Glad you liked it! I should really say "Skeptical AU people: read this. It is awesome." because every skeptic ends up saying exactly what you have. LOL

Oh, the Death Eater is up to something, I'll give you that. ;-)

Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Dirigible_Plums The Informant

14th December 2014:
Hey, I'm here for the review you requested in the review swap :) I have to admit that I am quite excited to read this. I've seen it a few times around the site and always thought it looked interesting (unfortunately my attention span appears to be unnecessarily short which is why I didn't read this before).

Wow. This was powerful from the very beginning and already has me intrigued. I think you were very talented in your depictions, particularly of Voldemort. His deceptively calm manner, the way he had the others bend to his whim without really doing anything. I'm not sure why but the mere way he twirls his wand seems so sinister.

Naturally I'm still confused.There's no question that this is AU and a lot of questions have been unanswered as of yet. For example, I found myself wondering what year it is, why Voldemort is still undefeated, how the sequence of events turned out. Since you've clearly made the decision to keep Sirius alive how has this diverted from the books that follow?

All in all this seems to be a great story. Your writing is consistent and styled well, the concept seems amazing and that cliffhanger at the end is reason enough to read on. Aside from a few grammatical errors- simply a few missing apostrophes and the wrong 'than/then' at one point- this has shaped up to be a wonderful chapter.

Dirigible_Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #18, by Veritaserum27 Midnight Routines

28th November 2014:
Hi there!

Here for our review swap! Before I continue, I wanted to start off by saying that I think you've achieved an excellent balance between making this story very dark and carefully portraying real, vivid emotions with your characters. I really enjoy the undercurrent of a much deeper, darker story and you've managed to capture that without overdoing it - as is common with most dark fanfics - and published work as well.

Harry has real emotions, and bounces back and forth between the compassion he feels as a father and the realism that he's grown to know as an Auror. His brain tells him to take it slow with Devlin and keep his emotions in check, but his heart just wants to feel his little boy in his arms again. The opposing sides are setting the tone for the rest of the story - and I must read on.

Alexandra is another captivating character. I know you wrote this before the books were all published - WAY before, but to me, she is a lot like the Ginny character - not to a tee, but has a lot of the same traits. For one, she both balances and draws strength from Harry. They have a connection that is deeper than most spouses and they know how to read each other and react to each other. I look forward to seeing the two of them take on this next challenge that they will have once Devlin is back at home and adjusting.

Hmmm... it's very interesting that Devlin has a wand. I wonder why Voldemort would allow that at all. It sounds like Devlin has some serious powers - even without the wand.

I like the way you showed how Harry knows that Devlin is afraid - both in the beginning of the chapter and then you brought it back at the end. That is really important that Harry can recognize that in his son - and sad at the same time that his fear now comes from his own father.

Another thing that intrigued me is the fact that the death eaters were so easily captured. I feel like that is going to come into play later on as well.

Great job with this - I'm really curious to find out what happens next! Thanks for doing a swap!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review, Beth!

It is so much fun reading reviews on early chapters and knowing exactly where the reader is in the much larger plot! Thank you for the compliment on my writing - it is a huge one!

That's interesting, I don't think I have ever had someone compare Alexandra to Ginny before. I will be intrigued to see if you feel the same way as the story goes on. Regardless, I think they come together as both very strong people, made stronger by each other.

I itch to answer your other ideas but will hold myself back for the sake of your reading experience.

 Report Review

Review #19, by lindslo2012 The Man at the Table

10th November 2014:
Here for the review swap, and wow, what a good chapter.
I think it was very intense from the starts because now we are actually inside Devlin's head and seeing what he has been thinking. I am jealous of your talent to write great detail and surroundings because I am kind of bad at that I have noticed :)
I can see that Devlin is not in his best place right now. I mean who would be if they had been a puppet of Voldemort's for quite awhile. It's a surprise he is doing as well as he is! I can see that he remembers some kind of attachment to little Emma, but he is afraid to acknowledge it.
It's sad, the things that Voldy ingrained into his head for him to hear. I just hope that he will recover eventually, but I have a feeling there is quite a long road ahead of him.
I loved this chapter, I am glad we finally got to see inside his head.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Cannons The Informant

28th October 2014:
Hi, I am here with your promised review.

I thought this was an interesting start, it is always hit and miss with AU's for me so I was surprised to say that I enjoyed it. Despite the fact that there were quite a lot of things that had changed. It always takes a little while for me to get adjusted in AU but you held my attention for the full chapter and ended it with a magnificent cliff hanger!

So despite the fact that I will have to get my head around your new world, I really did enjoy this chapter.

There are so many things that I want to pick up on! I am excited by Devlin, there were two points in the chapter in which you indicated that he was powerful at such a young age. The first with Harry and then the second by refusing to scream when being tortured. Which is such a huge thing because as we know being tortured by Voldemort is no joke.

Add that to the fact that he seems to want to be able to impress Voldemort and the Death Eater mentioned that he actually managed to impress Voldemort. I am hoping that Voldemort actually takes Devlin under his wing and harness that incredible power he seems to posses. Seeing Harry come up against his own son would be so interesting. I know that sounds really crazy but it would be fascinating! Also as you mentioned he is only six, he seems well aware of his surroundings.

I am liking this Death Eater, he is not at all intimidated or shows and signs of being scared but there is something real about him. Unlike other Death Eaters he shows some emotion and regret almost where Devlin is concerned and he seems pretty paranoid about Voldemort as he wont say anything unless Harry proves himself to him. I am really intrigued to find out more about him.

The only thing I would say was the line break annoyed me, but that is pretty pedantic of me to mention I guess. :P

Anyway, this is a gripping first chapter.


 Report Review

Review #21, by BellaLestrange87 The Informant

25th October 2014:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap! I was going to read this story anyways and now seemed like a good time to start.

This is an amazing first chapter. The first thing I would like to say, before getting into the meat of my review, is that your writing sounds very professional and you could easily write OF. (I don't know if you do or not, but if you do, please continue. If you don't, please start.) I know this story is AU and I'm beginning to wonder how the AU-ness (I know it's not a word but it's the best I could come up with) affects the plot. I know that description was bad but mainly I was wondering who was alive, who was dead and what was changed (e.g. Battle of Hogwarts, Dumbledore's death). I'm going to guess we'll find out in later chapters.

First off, Devlin sounds very much like a 6 year old, as your author's note says he is. Just the way he describes things in his head - for example, "He hadn't known the word, but he had known what 'worth' and 'less' meant, and he had sensed when the man had put them both together he had meant something about Devlin wasn't 'good enough.'" Also, that desire to impress Voldemort, only to have it turn out wrong, horribly wrong, brilliantly written, from the POV of a 6 year old who thinks saying Voldemort's birth name will earn brownie points. I was extremely surprised when it turned out to be just a nightmare, and that he was safe, at home in his bed, with Harry. Of course, then I read down and saw that Harry was mad about someone taking his son, and realised he was not safe at all.

"The thought always proved to him, over and over again, how far he had traveled from innocence." Oh yes. Wonderful line. You can tell how exhausted Harry is from the war, and how he isn't the optimistic 11-year-old we meet in the first book.

"'My wand is against you neck,' Harry said, deadly, when the Death Eater dared to try and move away. Those blue and gold eyes, still unfocused and dazed, found his green." My wand is against your neck?

"'Tell me about that photo,' Harry commanded, his hands on either side of the chair, his body leaning forward, too close for the Death Eater to be comfortable. But uncomfortable or not, he didn't breath a word." He didn't breathe a word?

I don't think that Death Eater is any normal Death Eater. First of all, even though he is one of the ones left behind, and therefore weaker (according to Harry) he knows that Voldemort cannot love. As you noted in the story, this means he spends a lot of time with Voldemort. If he can manipulate Harry into getting a memory than he obviously is in the inner inner circle. Also, he seemed affected by the memory in a way that makes me think he isn't the psychopath most Death Eaters are portrayed as being.

"'You swear? Uncle Sirius said he was ready but then he fell down. Youíre not gonna fall down, are you?'" This made me laugh. It sounds exactly like a six year old, straightforward to the point of being funny.

It sounds like Devlin in the memory had the upbringing (up until he was kidnapped) that Harry would've had if Voldemort hadn't killed Lily and James - Uncles Sirius and Remus, happy endings.

Wow. I didn't see that revelation coming at all. Of course, I like to think that a lot of stories have happy endings, but this isn't the ending, it's the first chapter. A very good first chapter, too.

I definitely enjoyed reading this, and if you ever want to review swap again, let me know!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Roisin Only Blood

17th October 2014:

So I reviewed the first chapter for our last swap, and yay, reading the second!

AND OH MAN WHAT A ROLLERCOASTER OF FEELS! Brainwashed children! Parental angst! Child being turned into a weapon, maybe? I mean, that's the first thing I can think of - because Voldy must have an endgame. Plus I can totally see that being a decision he'd make.

Your universe is so tightly plotted, and I can tell a huge amount of creative thought went into this. And I love the way you conceptualize magic, too.

And just, to say it again, FEELS. You've really stretched everything to do with love and family, and introduced so many moving parts. The ruminations are all fascinating!

Thank you for the swap!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! So sorry it's taken me a bit to get back to you!

My universe is intensely plotted to the point that I often have to research my own story! LOL. It never really slows down - although we climb a couple hills and you might sometimes mistake them for a calm. :)

Hope to see you around!

 Report Review

Review #23, by maraudertimes Only Blood

17th October 2014:
Hi! Review swap!

Okay, so I read the first chapter a while ago but I'm glad to be back. Devlin is such a cutie, especially with the whole 'Lord' thing.

Okay, so the start was really cool, detailing how magical Harry is, and really shows how Geoffrey (and the rest of the werewolf kind) need to adapt to survive.

The fact that Geoffrey showed Harry and Alex the memories is scary. Imagine having to watch your child in the hands of Voldemort. Imagine now being scared that your child was actually dead after learning he was alive. And then when Geoffrey said that? I would've broken down.

This was a great chapter and thanks for the swap!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Yay, glad to see you back!! Thanks for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Midnight spark The Informant

12th October 2014:
Hey, review swap!

Ooh... I have no idea why I didn't read this story before, it's amazing!

My favorite part was the memory-it made me smile so much. It was like the only ray of light in this dark story. So awesome truly saying. And my, what a cliffhanger? I can't wait to see what happens next! And the fact that Devlin refused to scream under the Cruciatus Curse reminded me of Harry. Who is this Alexandra, why is this happening,how will Devlin turn out? So many questions!

Author's Response: I have no idea either! ;-) Thank you for the awesome review. I hope to continue to see you around! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by pointless_proclamations The Informant

11th October 2014:
Dear GingeredTea,

This is exhilarating! I am in awe at how well you write. There was so much excitement. I could not manage to tear my eyes from your words from the first sentence to the last.

Speaking of the last sentence, I read it over so many times, I caught one tiny, very tiny thing: a missing apostrophe [hides behind couch and says in muffled voice: I still love this story].

You have an interesting way of characterising Harry that you made complete sense out of, especially after all that has happened to him.

And that scene with Devlin and the lilies was so pure and spectacular. I can see how Harry might think it's tainted after letting the Death Eater into it, but that Death Eater, though? Who is he? Even he seems to have a sort of background story to him that I am dying to know.

This is awesome.


Author's Response: Wow, what a compliment!

I'm terrible at apostrophes! I'll make an effort to fix it. Thank you for pointing it out!

The Death Eater does indeed have a story! Everyone has a story in my story. LOL

Thank you for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>