Reading Reviews for Remember the Slytherins
  
189 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StarlightAsteria I see (love) when I close my eyes

26th June 2014:
I love this story! I found it last night and read the entire thing almost in one go - my parents had to kick me up to bed even though I'm nineteen :). Seriously, this is fantastic. You make me laugh, you make me weep and growl with anger, it's brilliant. It's rare these days to find an author who is willing to put their characters through hell, something which I think makes stories so much better. Keep writing, whatever anyone tells you - you're fantastic! I can't wait for the next chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jazmine I see (love) when I close my eyes

12th June 2014:
I LOVE IT! You are an amazing writer and I have no idea how you put this all together. Anyways, if you need any ideas, perhaps an epilogue where all the slytherins of that year get in a reunion and take a photo. You don't have to listen to me , but I thought it would be a cute way to end this fanfic. OH, don't forget Flynn!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Failed_and_Forgotten I see (love) when I close my eyes

23rd March 2014:
Is the end near? Because honestly, i'm almost fearing it... but at the same time i'm excited to know how things as *excuse me please* f*cked up as their life would end up. Would Nick be fine? Or would she die (for some sick reason in my head i want to see this happen//shot)? Would she be pleaded guilty as charge of being a murderer (which is most likely not XD)? Or would thing end up messy but satisfying at the end? Would they get through the trial in one piece? Would the Snakes have their sanity back?

I'm already in great depression of what initially happened to Nick and Flynn, and now Liam is her older brother and owen is trying hard not to breakdown and with even Harry effin Potter throwing everything out, and now this is driving me in the brink of insanity because my freaking house is already in the deepest pits of what the heck ever they do not deserve.
Excuse my rant of unimportant things but this is what really goes on in my head right now, I could literally feel the tension and sadness over the internet. //shot


It's been ages too, since i've dropped off here and i'm glad that i could read your new updates. I still think i might end up a lunatic because of this tho. (that i dunno if it'll be a good thing//dies)

 Report Review

Review #4, by amuggle_ephemeral_tale I see (love) when I close my eyes

9th March 2014:
I absolutely love your story.it offers a whole new perspective.

 Report Review

Review #5, by BKL8008 I see (love) when I close my eyes

15th January 2014:
"I don't forgive you, and I don't trust you."

Probably the quintessential line of the story. As Don Henley said in his song "The End of the Innocence," - 'but happily ever after fails, and we've been poisoned by these fairy tales. Lawyers clean up all details, since Daddy had to lie.' I can't help but think of this song as I read over this story, and it makes me think that the roses-and-clover ending of the canon must, simply MUST, proceed into darker territory somewhere down the line.
While I cannot claim to have gone though anything like these characters have, some of us can certainly relate to the tragic moments when 1.Innocence dies, and 2.We confront the parent who failed about it.
In just the sentence above, you captured the conflict between Harry & Albus. Sadly, the damage is done, and there it is. A lengthy conversation between them isn't needed now, although there are certainly a few more nails that can be driven in here. I'll say it again - excellent work.

 Report Review

Review #6, by ribe featherquill I see (love) when I close my eyes

15th January 2014:
Thank you for another great chapter.

It was heartbreaking how the NEWT-students all felt like it was their fault that Flynn ended up doing what he did, but also very believable. Liam telling why he didn't know in the start of the story was well written. And THANK YOU for making Harry realise how wrong he has been.

I'll follow this story untill it's finished.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Olga916 I see (love) when I close my eyes

14th January 2014:
A wonderful chapter in a wonderful story from a wonderful writer. That said, it was a tremendous(but happily received) surprise to hear the connection between Liam and Nick. Hearing more about the upcoming trial is worrisome imagining Piper and Flynn being cross-examined by a draconian lawyer, who in my head closelh resembles a certain toady proffessor. All in all it was a much welcome update and respite from studying for semester exams. Sad to see this story end as it was the first one where I was so emotionally invested that I was brought to tears while reading, a feat not even accomplished by the great JK Rowling.
10/10

 Report Review

Review #8, by theblacksisters I see (love) when I close my eyes

14th January 2014:
I'm glad Flynn is getting at least a partly good ending. :) Also, I can't wait for the next chapter/developments; totally hooked on this story. Update soon!

 Report Review

Review #9, by BKL8008 You feel like laughing, but then you start to cry

13th January 2014:
Two words: Excellent work.
You write such raw emotion and develop such real characters that we cannot help but be moved.
As always, worth the wait to see into this world that, more than likely, would have turned out like this - and not the canon.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. :)

I'm sorry I haven't replied to your email--it's been on my to-do list for weeks-- but I'm so glad you're still reading this. I just can't see the generation after having such an easy time, like the canon suggests.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #10, by MeanieMeldrixEer You feel like laughing, but then you start to cry

12th January 2014:
AH! MERLIN'S SOGGY UNDERPANTS! Sweet baby Jesus! I almost hate your cliffhangers as much as Rick Riorden's. I'm sitting here in my mothers car waiting to get home so I can reread this and do my happy/freak-out dance and squeal loudly to myself. You could definitely write professionally, just saying! AH! I love you and this story so much!

Author's Response: Trust me, I hate Rick Riordan's cliffhangers, too. I've thought about writing professionally, but that's definitely not happening in the forseeable future, sadly. Thank you so much for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #11, by ribe featherquill You feel like laughing, but then you start to cry

10th January 2014:
I didn't see that one coming. Hmm.
I'm happy that Al is starting to confront how bad he is, how broken he is. It's really comforting.

Now I've hoped that you would update this on MNFF but no. There are now three (?) chapters missing there. This story is the sole reason I've found this site.

Author's Response: I'm sorry I haven't been on MNFF, but it's a lot harder to get things done there and I keep forgetting to update there. :/ Thank you so much for reading it here, though, and Al confronting how bad he's feeling is going to be really important.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #12, by theblacksisters You feel like laughing, but then you start to cry

9th January 2014:
I don't beleive it-Liam is Nick's brother! (unable to convey surprise in words). Loving the story! Keep it coming!

Author's Response: Haha, I thought that might be a bit of a shock. :) Thank you so much for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #13, by UnluckyStar57 Prologue: The Week of Tears

6th January 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the Eleventh Day of the Twelve Days of Reviewing. Today is devoted to reviewing stories in the mystery genre. :)

Wow, I really admire you for writing this story! I'm a Ravenclaw myself, but I agree with you--Slytherins are often given a very bad rap, just because a lot of bad guys came from Slytherin. It's great to know that someone is trying to show everyone that this is not the case for all Slytherins--it is incredibly dangerous to generalize and stereotype, and I am so glad that you're going to undermine all of the badmouthing that Slytherin gets.

I really feel sorry for Nicole, Albus, and Piper. As the only Slytherin first years, they'll have such a hard time withstanding the taunts and jeers from the other Houses. I can't believe that Albus' cousins and siblings are so cruel to him! And Piper... I always thought that Hannah was okay, but in this story, she obviously isn't quite as okay as I thought. Nicole definitely has the hardest life, though. As a foster kid, she's had to put up with deplorable situations, and the fact that her parents are in Azkaban doesn't make it any easier.

This is really intriguing so far! I shall read more later! :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for the lovely review!

The entire premise of the story is the backlash of Slytherins having a bad rep in Harry's era, and how that could carry over to the Next Gen, and also the backlash of the war.

Nick, Al, and Piper are only first years in the first chapter... the rest of the story is in their sixth year, but things won't get better. And generally, my headcanon Hannah is nice, but that didn't really work in this canon so I had to switch it up a bit.

Thanks again, and I would love it if you kept reading. :)
Ellie


 Report Review

Review #14, by MeanieMeldrixEer Give Me Love

20th December 2013:
*kises* LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! so very beautiful! You are such a talented writer! One of my usual FanFiction rules is that I don't read unfinished stories, but I make an exception for this one! I love Jane (one of my own characters also being (coincidentaly) named Jane) but I missed Owen (whose name is shared with one my own characters also). Don't feel bad about the long waits- how you're feeling is much more important than our sillily fangirling! You're already so much more talented than my silly one-shots-because-I'd-never-finish-a-chapter-story self who cant make up her mind on how things end... anyway... Much respect!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I know it's not finished, but it's getting there. I'm starting to wrap up all of the loose ends before the trial, and I have the very last chapter written. Don't worry; Owen is in the next chapter, and just thank you. I think I'm okay to write this again.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #15, by ribe featherquill the world hanging upside-down

18th December 2013:
Mad world. Just...
Really I have nothing to say about this... I just can't.
I had hoped for an update on Mugglenet fanfiction, but, no...

Author's Response: Yeah. I've got to find another beta if I want to post on MNFF (this is all unbetad). Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #16, by FashionablyHospitable Give Me Love

15th December 2013:
A new character, yay.

And that cliffhanger. :I

Author's Response: Don't worry. THe cliffhanger will be answered in the next chapter. Thank you so much for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #17, by BKL8008 Give Me Love

14th December 2013:
Well worth the wait!
Apparently, the RSS feeds don't work, so I had no idea you'd even updated.
I really like the addition of Jane, and the fact that Hermione is Nick's defense. This has a lot of possibilities.
As always, well done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, as always.

Be on the lookout when the queue reopens (Jan 3), because then I'll have 2-3 chapters ready to post.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #18, by theblacksisters Give Me Love

2nd December 2013:
I was beginning to lose hope this would ever be updated-so glad you've picked it up again :) This is really a good story and I'm looking forward to how it turns out. Keep writing!

Author's Response: I swear I will finish this piece. Thank you so much for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #19, by jkelly Give Me Love

1st December 2013:
Hey welcome back!!! I was afraid that this was another great story left in limbo. Hope your ok, hang in there. As always great chapter!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm already working on the next chapter, and it should be up within three weeks (at the very latest).

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #20, by AlmostInvisible  the world hanging upside-down

13th November 2013:
A good writer should be able to make their readers feel what their characters feel. Have them feel every emotion that they are reading off the page, be it anger or happiness, bitterness or ectasy. If they are skilled enough writers, than their words should be able to magic their readers away with their words (pun intended).
You have done all of this.
All the anger, all the frustration, everything that the characters are feeling, I'm feeling.
It's kind of strange, actually. Here I am, previously in an alright mood, I decide to read some chapters of this story and BANG, I am irritated and rather angry because of words on a page.
When I think about it, it's actually pretty amazing. A little creepy, that your words can have such an impact on my mood; but it's still interesting.
Anyway.
The fic itself.
Right.
I was really quite annoyed and angry with Harry in this chapter (the entire novel, really, but I digress). I mean, how can he doubt his sons when one of them is lying, bruised and broken, on a hospital bed?
One of the things that I do when I read is that I like to put myself in the situacion, I like to imagine what I would say if I am in the story. Something that I would have really liked to tell Harry in this particular chaper goes something like this: "With all due respect, Mr. Potter, what do you actually know about predudice? Personally, I mean. Because I an drawing a blank on a time where YOU were persecuted because of something you believed in or because of who you were. Persecuted and nearly completely alone, I add. If I remember correctly, you may have had times when you were nearly alone, but you always, always had the support of somebody high up (Dumbledore) or a secret support group somewhere (Potterwatch radio show). So, really, what are you basing your judgement on?"
Anyway.
It was this line, "No. I don't see. The only people who do are you lot. The Slytherins. So sorry if I have difficulty believing the words of a sixteen-year-old who doesn't know true prejudice," that really made me angry and then prompted my outburst above. I have more of a similar nature and may comment them on other chapters at a later time.
Sorry about this being so long.
I have had a lot of feeling about this fic for a while and thought that at least some of them should be aired out.
Fantabulous job, my dear. Thank you for sticking with this and not abandoning it. My head might explode if you do.
Thank you.

Author's Response: I don't even know how to respond to this. I am so floored and honored by your response, I can't form words to even begin to address this review.

I can honestly tell you, though, I have been on the same emotional journey writing this. I have cried, and I have sat there fuming at the things that I am making these character do. Sometimes I have to bury my attachment to them in order to be able to continue with the plot.

Trust me, the Harry Issue is far from over. And the next chapter is in the queue! So look for that. Thank you so much for the simply amazing review.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #21, by theblacksisters the world hanging upside-down

25th October 2013:
I'm loving this story! Please, please get a new update soon!

Author's Response: A new chapter is in the queue. I repeat, a new chapter is in the queue. Thank you for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #22, by theblacksisters Potions

21st October 2013:
SNAKE! (Dang. Ten characters per review rule, again)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #23, by looneylizzie the world hanging upside-down

21st October 2013:
This story has brought me from laughter to tears and back again! You're an absolutely amazing writer and this story is SO moving and powerful! The characters are so dynamic, so full of depth and impossible to hate.

I can't believe that Harry freaking Potter doesn't believe his own son! I can't! My heart just breaks when I read Albus' interactions with his other family members. I SO want things to change for them, and I hope with all of my heart they do!

Will Nick wake up soon? Will Flynn be okay? And how in heaven's name is Jane Zabini going to help? (I mean, this in a positive way...) What sort of role will she play from here on out? And what about Owen's brother, Liam? And Beth? And Linus (is that his name? He's only been mentioned like once.)?

I've got so many questions I can't even start without going a bit mad.
Keep up the writing! This story is incredible and I cannot wait for the next update.

LL

(P.S. I'd love to read those other chapters... as disturbing as they might be. I'm not on the forums so I'm not sure how that'd work...)

Author's Response: Trust me when I say writing this has been an emotional rollercoaster. I have cried while writing it, especially as the story gets darker.

The Harry Issue will be addressed soon, but I think the initial shock of what happened to Albus is spurring the right kind of thoughts that will lead him in the right direction.

Ironically enough, almost all of those questions will be answered in the next chapter. The last one, though, you'll have to wait two or three for.

Thank you so much for the lovely review, and if you don't have a forum account the missing chapters are at fanfiction(.)mugglenet(.)com with the same username and story title.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jasmine the world hanging upside-down

13th September 2013:
please less bad words. I

Author's Response: I'm sorry, but I really don't think that's going to happen. I write the way that most teenagers (at least that I know) talk, especially when faced with situations like these. Thanks for the review, though!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #25, by Limbo the world hanging upside-down

18th August 2013:
Pls keep going! Great story, I need to know how it all ends

Author's Response: I know! I've just had an insane case of writer's block for this story, and am stuck in the middle of the next chapter. I do have the last chapter written out, though, so there is an ending! Thank you so much for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>