Reading Reviews for New Zealand Export
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Zibbling Dispersal

22nd November 2014:
To be honest, I feel like this is trying too hard to be set in New Zealand. It's accurate, so I guess you live here, but.. meh. On the upside, I loved the Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship, which was one of the best written fanfic's I've ever read. Please continue with the sequel. :)

Author's Response: I'm sorry you feel that way. I do make a point of making my Kiwi stories reflect the reality of living here, and while there are a myriad of problems with this chapter (given it was written nearly four years ago) I've never felt like it was overly Kiwi. I did write this chapter while living overseas so there may have been an element of missing home that was reflected in the writing. I intend to rewrite the older chapters of this story when I have time, and I hope that will fix the problem if you choose to revisit the story. I am the first to admit that my older writing is terrible in comparison to my contemporary stories (like TFWMS - I'm glad you enjoyed it, by the way) and I hope you can make allowances for that if you choose to read my older, unedited work.

Thanks for reading - and in future I would advise you to check publication dates on my stories and avoid anything published pre-2014 unless they've been rewritten - I don't want to delete them as they are part of my writing history, but they should be treated as such. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #2, by emmacweasley To Athens

21st August 2014:
When was the last time you updated this, you witch? Do it again. it's sweet and funny and very PFI-like, but the characters are endearing and i love it. (not that the PFI characters aren't endearing. just saying.)

ily
emma

 Report Review

Review #3, by grednforge217 To Athens

21st June 2014:
This is so great! I loved the original Southern Cross story, and it's very cool to read more about the characters that I enjoyed so much. Also, super cool the way that you are fleshing out the Wizarding World beyond Hogwarts. I often forget that there is one (well, besides Durmstrang and Beaxbatons), and yours is probably the most convincing I've read by far, so well done! Also, love hearing about New Zealand. Never been, but this is making me want to go so badly!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I had great fun writing Southern Cross back in 2011 - pure self indulgence, of course, and patriotism - and exploring the wizarding world outside Hogwarts/the UK is incredibly rewarding and allows free reign for creativity. New Zealand is amazing, and you should definitely come here sometime!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Sabrina Dispersal

4th April 2014:
OMG reading this because I live in NZ!! and you used the amazing ELLEN PAGE on your banner! Oh my she is the best actress and person ever :) you're awesome!

Author's Response: Thank you! I hoped this story would appeal to the Kiwis of HPFF, and I hope you enjoy it! (PS Ellen Page is amazing, I totally agree)

 Report Review

Review #5, by corruptedlungs Dispersal

8th March 2014:
i love this omg, i used to live in picton :') i loved southern cross so much, i'm glad it has a sequel!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad I still have readers familiar with Southern Cross, it's been a shamefully long time! Thanks for reading and I hope to see you back for later chapters :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Kc Windy Wellington

23rd February 2013:
Love it! Please finish it!

Author's Response: Sorry for abandoning this, thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #7, by jem2311 Windy Wellington

3rd November 2012:
I'm from the US, so maybe its a NZ thing but what are Sealegs?

Author's Response: Sealegs is a brand of motion sickness medicine :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by littlemisssnape Windy Wellington

6th April 2012:
lovely chapter as always, i cannot wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by stormydreams Dispersal

5th March 2012:
HEY!! I'm sooo glad you decided to do a sequel.
FYI, WELLINGTON IS AWESOME!!! And its not ALL Hills ya know!!
And wind is good. Who wouldn't wanna live in Wellywood???
Great, story, keep on updating!!

:):):):)

Author's Response: Wellington is awesome, I agree. It is also all hills. I will stand by this. Glad you're enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ginny_malfoy22 Dispersal

10th February 2012:
OMG WELLINGTON BASHING HOW DARE YOU! :P

Author's Response: I said nothing that wasn't true :P (I kid, I kid, I love Wellington)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Olympia1863 Dispersal

5th February 2012:
This made me really, really want to visit New Zealand. Also, it made me wish it weren't 26F where I am *sigh*

What I mean to say was your description in this was lovely lovely lovely, an excellent start to what I'm pretty sure is gunna be a sweet sequel. I also thought the exchange between the boys and especially Georgia and Adelaide was cute. I think I had a similar one with my friends before leaving for college the summer after school ended. You did it really well and realistically, so it's cool to see you've kept that up.

As with the last one, this was well written. Have I mentioned you use present-tense really well? Normally I don't like it, but you do it super awesomely. Can't wait for an update!

-Elle :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you're enjoying it so far!

 Report Review

Review #12, by littlemisssnape Dispersal

27th January 2012:
I cannot tell you how happy it makes me to see you've posted a sequel. I missed Adelaide and Gerogia! I lovee Georgia. This is a great first chapter and the dialogs are great. The vibe of this story just puts me in a special place and it really made my day! Please update soon!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! I love my characters too :P I'll update soon, hopefully - within a week. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Snapdragons Dispersal

25th January 2012:
-pouts- I wanted first review. But I'm mostly just happy that I found this story because YAY I get more Adelaide! Winning.

Not to mention more Georgia, who I had been missing most terribly. She and Adelaide are just about the best pair ever. They've got such an awesome dynamic - everything they say just seems so real, and I can totally picture two of my friends happily bickering away like those two.

Also there is Henry and that makes me happy because oh man, I like Henry. He's awesome.

(Also, might be off my rocker, but I'm pretty sure said school where Ella's going is mentioned in the Thinkery. Yes? No? Maybe so?)

This chapter had this perfect balance of wistful reflection and friendly banter. It's sort of sad to think this could be one of the last times that they're all together at once... but I guess that's part of growing up.

Love this beginning. Already love this story. I can't wait for more - as soon as I saw this, I got so excited. And then when I finished reading it, it felt like I had come home. ♥ HOORAY FOR MORE ADELAIDE!

Author's Response: Whoo! I'm so glad you're back!

I've missed Georgia as well. I'm actually really sad I have to split those two up and send them off with their boyfriends instead of each other. They bicker away like I do with my friends :P

Henry is pretty awesome. I look forward to writing more Awesome Henry.

You're not off your rocker! Good spotting, the European University of Sorcery is the one featured in The Thinkery! As far as I'm concerned, that place is now canon.

It is sad that it could be the last time they're together as a group - I never realised how much I loved them being a group until I decided to split them up. I'm horrible.

I'm glad you enjoyed it, and you're back, and you're looking forward to the update! I'll try and get another chapter out before I begin my Epic Homeward Bound Journey (getting from my little town in Japan to my little town in NZ takes a while, y'see) and look forward to seeing you back :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Loony_Scorpy Dispersal

25th January 2012:
Loved it! I especially loved all of their chatter, because it was so realistic, and /exactly/ what people do - I've been in convos like that more often than necessary :/ Anyway what I'm saying is that quite often you read conversations that would /never/ happen in real life so it was refreshing :) I can't wait to see what goes on next! I love that Scorpius was there with them! And with Georgia ;) So happy about that! :D

Author's Response: I love writing chatter. Fabulous, fun, pointless chatter. I'm not really big on plot. I do plot by the seat of my pants.
I SHIP GEORGIA/SCORPIUS SO MUCH IT'S ALMOST PAINFUL.
Glad you enjoyed, and thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by HannahAbbot64 Dispersal

22nd January 2012:
Yay! The gang is back...can't wait to see what they do next! Please post next chapter soon! Tnx! :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! I'm happy to have the gang all back together again - even if it is only for a chapter :P I'll get the next one out soon, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by The Captain Dispersal

22nd January 2012:
Oh man, it's really late here but I couldn't resist reading and reviewing this ASAP. Some of my favorite parts: Scorpius' ideas about how girls operate and Georgia's response, everyone's secret affair, reading Henry's name again... And I'm just generally excited that the gang is back even if they are going their separate ways. Of course, they were separated for a good part of Southern Cross too.
Also, I've got English friends who do call dinner tea. Scorpius' confusion stood out to me because I've said similar things, but I'm American and they're English. Maybe not all English people say tea... Not sure.
I'm running out of things to say and it is late... So... Yay for sequels! And yay for Henry!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing even though it was really late :P
I loved those conversations. They were fun. I was going to say I'll miss Georgia, but she'll crop up every third chapter because I'm going to be switching perspectives all over the show for this one.
I can never be entirely sure what's native NZ slang and what's also used in other countries, and I don't have my go-to British friend at the moment because she's in NZ and I'm not.
Yay for sequels! Yay for Henry! And yay for your review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login