Reading Reviews for The Price of Redemption
  
32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HEG The Price of Redemption

19th April 2014:
Hi!

At first, I wasn't sure what was really going on. It all became clear to me when Hagrid was taken away because he's a half giant and he's teaching at Hogwarts. I think it's quite unfair that he doesn't have a say in the matter because, none of it was his fault. It was all Voldemort's.

I think you're very good at writing and you have a nice balance of dialogue and description. I can't really find a fault with it so it really is amazing for your first one shot.

I tink you've portaryed Harry's anger excellently in the scene where he was arguing with Doge but for me, the nding was the highlight. A nice read and very well written.

HEG

Author's Response: Hi, there!

There were obviously lots of loose ends left over from the books, but I always felt like Hagrid's story was especially untidy. He was expelled based on lies that were exposed for all to see in book #2. It only seemed logical to me that he would want to clear his name -- or his friends would want to clear it for him -- after the war was over.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed the story. Thanks for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #2, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The Price of Redemption

24th March 2014:
A Hagrid story! Cool. I don't read many Hagrid stories. Given the title, the summary and him dressing up I guess he's going to the Ministry for a hearing or something to help clear his name for what happened when he was in school? Which I really hope they can do.

Ooh, yes, a full-on hearing, it seems. I'm very nervous. *Wishes Hagrid good luck with Ginny*

It's sad that even after a war that was partly about blood purity (at least for the Pureblood Death Eaters), prejudice is still the biggest issue in Hagrid's case. Understandable to see it and naive to think that centuries of these thoughs would just go away, but still sad. Especially when Hagrid is innocent and would still have his wand if not for Voldemort. I really hope they can help.

Oooh, using Harry's influence. And use it Harry did. For his friend, and a worthy cause (and I don't think that Harry would actually put his name on the list if it wasn't true... is it true?... maybe. Because Harry is good, deep down. I guess we'll see).

Aww, poor Harry. He made the best of a bad situation; it was harsh and it upset him, but I believe that. So maybe he can have a little fun at the party.

Aww, they fixed his wand! That'd be, like, the best present ever after having the pieces for so long. I wish the Elder wand weren't so powerful and persuasive, for a scary moment I thought Harry was going to keep it... Then again, it wouldn't be the Elder wand if it didn't do that.

Brilliant one-shot!

Sam.

P.S. I have nothing left of yours to review... Weird. :P

Author's Response: I really need to get writing again. I think that's an inescapable conclusion of this exercise. Yes, need to write again.

I haven't read very many Hagrid stories either, which is partly why I wanted to write this one. I feel a little bad for the big guy, like his story was left much more in limbo than a lot of the other major characters.

Prejudice never goes away as quickly or as completely as we'd like. Just because the war is over and Voldemort lost, it doesn't mean that a lot of the same sentiment doesn't still linger. It just becomes unfashionable to express those views in polite company. What I liked about Wilton Anderson is that he's not actually a pureblood extremist. He's a half-blood wizard whose family worked hard to overcome the prejudice of the pureblood elite. The problem is that he took all the wrong lessons away from that experience. I think of him as being very similar to the Tea Party set in the U.S. When their grandparents were taking advantage of government assistance during the Great Depression, they saw that as the government "taking care of its own". Now that they've "made it" they call the same sorts of social programs "handouts" and say that they encourage laziness and dependency. Enough soap-boxing, though.

Harry does use his influence, and in a way that's really tricky to justify from a moral standpoint. You can condemn the choice that he makes almost as easily as you can rationalize it, and that was sort of the point. There's no black and white here. He's faced with a no-win situation and he makes what he thinks is the best choice at the time. I'm sure that Dumbledore was in the same spot many times as he struggled with the moral implications of using Harry to destroy Voldemort. In a sense, Harry finds himself in a microcosm of Dumbledore's situation. Dumbledore chose to serve "The Greater Good" at the expense of one person while Harry chooses to save one person at the expense of high-minded ideas of right and wrong. I think it says something about each of them.

Several times, I have nearly gone back and deleted the section at the end where Harry uses the Elder Wand to mend Hagrid's broken wand. I'm just not sure how well it really meshes with the rest of the story, and I'm also not sure it's something that Harry actually would have done. The Elder Wand was meant to be sealed away forever. Eh, still not sure about that...

I'm really pleased that you liked this. I was taking a much-needed break from CoB at the time, and the story actually ended up being a lot more than I'd planned on.

Gah, I need to go write more. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Joe The Price of Redemption

23rd March 2014:
Quite a good story.

I admire that you didn't try to write like Rowling, rather letting your own style show through.

Obviously, you wrote this before it became known that Hermione returned to Hogwarts; that's entirely forgivable.

Good job!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed it. I felt like Hagrid's story was a pretty major unresolved plot thread left over from the end of the books, and it was fun to imagine how things might have turned out for the big guy.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by 1917farmgirl The Price of Redemption

20th August 2013:
Okay, I kind of hate you right now.

That was a harsh statement so I should probably explain. I have ALWAYS felt so bad that Hagrid's fate was left hanging the way it was, and that wrong never righted. So, I figured I'd do something about it in Healing, eventually.

But, in the meantime, I decided I'd better do something about being a rather lousy friend first and not making time in my life to read all these wonderful stories my friends have posted. I've been slowing working my way through my friend's archive pages, and figured the best place to start on each was at the bottom.

Which is where I found this...this amazing story.

And I don't really hate you. I just know I can't write that scene I had planned now, LOL.

Not sure I could have ever written it anyway, as writing Hagrid is HARD, although you make it look so easy.

But it's actually a lot deeper than that. My little scene would have been simple, easy...blink and you miss it. And reading this story has made me see how wrong that is. Because, this issue is neither simple nor easy.

I'm having a really hard time here, putting into words the thoughts reading this story gave me. I was so impressed (and simultaneously horrified) at the path you lead Harry down in this story. Your grasp of the political aspects of this tale. And the way you absolutely refused to pull your punches.

And then there were your characters. AMAZINGLY spot on, so spot on it almost hurt because I knew I would have to think of a way to tell you how good they were and I couldn't put the words together.

Harry and the Elderwand, him taking Ron because he knew Ron could make him put it back, Hagrid's pure joy at having his wand back. Pure great writing.

And, on a lighter note - I grinned a lot at the idea of McGonagall tipsy enough to allow a party by the lake, one that went past curfew.

Thanks for sharing this great story, and your amazing talent with us. I promise I will be back, working my way up your page. I might not be the speediest or promptest friend alive, but I'm stubborn. :D

Author's Response: Holy cow... I think you're the first person who's even read this story in a year, let alone reviewed it. I actually had to go back and re-read parts of it to be able to respond intelligently. Blast from the past!

And I know you don't really hate me. I'm sure you hate the feeling of having a good idea and then realizing that somebody else has already taken it and ran with it. I hate that feeling, too. Happens to me more often than I'd like to admit. And don't you go calling yourself a lousy friend! You're here, aren't you? Stop that silliness right now!

Writing Hagrid is definitely not easy. I agree with you that the way his story is treated in the books is very unsatisfying. The guy is there at so many pivotal moments in Harry's life, but Deathly Hallows just sort of leaves him dangling. I needed closure. So I wrote this. Now I'm just waiting for JKR to come along and write something for Pottermore that blows my premise to bits and the circle will be complete. ;)

I really love delving into wizarding politics when a story gives me the opportunity. There's something really entertaining about how seriously these people take themselves, considering the way that they dress and act.

The last section with the Elder Wand is something that I'm still not sure about. At times I reread this and it seems like it fits. Other times, it seems kind of excessive. Never quite enough to go back and edit it, though. I'll just continue agonizing...

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. This one-shot was the first "break" that I took while writing Conspiracy of Blood, and I've never felt like I did quite as good of a job as I could have. It's really good to know that it works for somebody! Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Mrs_H The Price of Redemption

29th November 2012:
Great short story -- I'm so glad that somebody remembered to clear Hagrid's name and get his wand back for him! An oversight from the original, IMHO. Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I always felt like Hagrid's story was left very incomplete by both the books and the epilogue. So I decided to try to do something about that.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lady Asphodel The Price of Redemption

19th October 2012:
Wow, this was wonderful. Very good indeed. I wish this was an actual novel here.

The words flowed so well. I could really picture the trial and Harry threatening Anderson.

This was truly a good read.

Keep on writing!

From the review tag,


-Asphodel

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, I guess.

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #7, by javct The Price of Redemption

25th September 2012:
Wow. Just wow.

I have to compliment you on the originality of this story. In all my time on the forums and this website I've never come across such a story as this. It's unique and something completely different. There are plenty of post-hogwarts fan fictions out there but all of them focus around Lavender Brown and all the trio, I'm really glad that someone remembered Hagrid. He's a character that is usually forgotten about in the wonderful land of fan fiction :D

Characterisation wise, this story was fine. I cannot pick up any mistakes with the characterisation -- I can defiantly see Harry threatening someone for his friend's sake (be it any friend!) and I also adore how you have got Hagrid's speech downpat; now, I have never written Hagrid-dialogue but I have always imagined it to be really hard because of his slight-illiterate problem but you have made Hagrid sound like, well, Hagrid.

Out of the whole story there was only mistake I picked up, and a small typo none the less, here:

"Thanks," be offered weakly as he regained his balance.

Should be

"Thanks," HE offered weakly as he regained his balance.

Just thought I should point that out :D
Happy writing and congratulations on a excellent story!
Jasmine, x

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I'm glad you thought the story was interesting and original. Hagrid's story always seemed like one of the larger holes -- no pun intended -- left over after the end of the books. We know that he's still teaching at Hogwarts 19 years later, but we really don't know anything about what happened to him after the war. We do know that he suffered a terrible injustice at the hands of Tom Riddle, and I always liked to think that things were set right somehow.

I write canon stories. They're pretty much all I write, so I'm really glad that you thought the characterization was good. I went back and forth a few times on Harry's demeanor in this, trying to get it just right. There are a lot of different things that would have tweaked his confidence in one direction or the other after the end of DH, I think. Overall, I think of him as being even more self-conscious about his fame, but also much more assertive about confronting injustices because he knows what a high price was paid to defeat Voldemort.

Writing Hagrid's dialog was hard, so I'm glad you liked it. Whew... ;)

Thanks for pointing out that typo. I'll get in there and patch that up.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Shay_Gryff The Price of Redemption

9th August 2012:
OMGodric! That was awesome! And very original! I like the fact that it wasn't a huge win, it was marginal and more realistic. Good job with that!

Shay_Gryff

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Remus The Price of Redemption

9th June 2012:
So...you didn't put this in my review queue...so I took it upon myself to do it for you. :D And...I'm uber bored at work...

I liked how it began with Hagrid. To be honest, he's never been my favorite character in the series. However, your characterization for him was great. The narrative really felt that you had studied Hagrid's personality and got his essence in this fic. Also, thank you for not fixing the castle right away. I really dislike some Post-Hogwarts fics that have the castle fixed right up with a flick of a wand. It did take four founders to build the school...it should take some hard work by people to fix the castle and put the enchantments back.

On the second part, since I'm sometimes a canon-nazi, isn't Hermione suppose to be in school as well rather than work? She did went back to school (the only one out of the trio) for her N.E.W.T.s. Just an observation.

In the sentences "Instead, they were the result of the so-called Chamber of Secrets" it feels like they STILL don't believe that the CoS is real. However, they do accept that Riddle did it and that there was a basilisk. In fact, I've always wondered about this, bu after Harry and co found the Chamber wouldn't it stop being a myth? Not even McGonagall believed it back then.

Hagrid's dialogue was great. Sometimes people overdo his dialect to the point where I cannot read it, however you seemed to really capture the way he speaks just fine.

"Those are bitter pills for them to swallow." I think the word 'pills' just really throws the 'magical' perspective Doge would have. Perhaps instead of pills perhaps 'potions' would work better? Just a thought. Do they even have pills in the magical world? Now you left me to wonder...

Overall, I love the political view you have in this story. Very different than anything I've read. In fact, not everyone touches these type of subjects when writing Post-Hogwarts fics...that's why I'm very picky with them due to always being the same old "Rose and Scorpius", "Al accepting that he's a Slytherin", "Ron and Malfoy still hating eachother.." pretty much, very cliche and repetitive. You definitely bring a different light into a Post-Hogwarts situation that's very real.

Overall, another great story.

Now where's the next chapter of CoB? :P

--Perelandra

Author's Response: Hey, there, you! I owe you an answer on your question, which I'm turning to as soon as I'm done with this response.

This story was an idea that I've had in the back of my mind since before I started reading HP fan fic. As soon as I learned that Hagrid had been framed by Riddle, in fact, I started to wonder whether he would someday clear his name. And then the war happened and all of that, but the thought was always vaguely there. So when I was at a point where I was feeling burned out on CoB, I threw this together.

To me, I've always imagined that wizarding society recovering from the war was a very long, difficult process. So much was destroyed, so many people were hurt or killed and so many people joined the Death Eaters. All of that would have needed to be sorted out. And in the midst of it, there are these people like Hagrid who were unfairly wronged in some way.

I take your point on Hermione. You're probably right about her going back to school. Just roll with me for this one fic and I promise I won't break canon again. :P

When I wrote that sentence, I didn't mean to imply that the Wizengamot didn't believe in the Chamber, but I could see how it would read that way. It was written more in the spirit of, "we don't really know what this thing was buried in the bowels of Hogwarts, but most people call if the Chamber of Secrets."

I'm glad you liked Hagrid's dialog, because I struggled with it a lot. I found myself going back and reading sections of the first three books, trying to zero in on the right sound. He's very hard to get right.

Again, good point on the bitter pills. Bitter potions might really read better.

If you like this take on a post-Hogwarts story, I have high hopes for your reaction to my next big project, which I hope will be a Ron-Hermione fic where they go to Aussie-land to find her parents. But that's pie in the sky until CoB is complete. Chapter 34 went into the queue on Thursday, so I have high hopes that maybe it will get validated by Monday morning.

Thanks for reading and reviewing this! I really appreciate all of your feedback. Now off to answer your PM...


 Report Review

Review #10, by caoty The Price of Redemption

30th May 2012:
Bonjour, here from the common room thread~

Overall, I felt that your characterisation in particular was excellent. Harry's morally ambiguous actions, and talking to Doge about them, could have gone horribly wrong, but you manage to pull it off without making Harry OOC. Even the characters who don't feature so much in this story, like Ginny and Ron, really do sound and feel like their canon selves, which is fantastic. (I can't do that. I have to cheat by writing Next-Gen and saying that they don't sound like themselves because of prior character development.)

I also really liked the going into detail of the effects of the Elder Wand on Harry. It makes it easier to understand why he got rid of it in DH; before reading this, I just thought he got rid of it 'cause it wasn't the wand he loved and cherished and so on.

However - did catch a few typos:
-"My complements to your tailor" should be "My compliments to your tailor"
-'apparition' should be capitalised
-I doubt they'd refer to Riddle as 'Tom' in court
-"Wizarding Britian" should be "Wizarding Britain"
-"Beaubatons" should be "Beauxbatons"
-Units of wizarding money are generally capitalised, I think, maybe I'm wrong about this (so 'Galleons' instead of 'galleons')
-I think someone else mentioned that 'patronus' is capitalised
-'ďIt was Oak. Sixteen inches, biggest one Olivander ever made,Ē Hagrid said thoughtfully.' - oak is not capitalised, Ollivander has two ls.

Sorry for being so pedantic, but I figured it'd be best if you knew. :P

Apart from that, though, it's brilliant - an original idea brought to life using canon style. Well done. :)

Author's Response: Hello, fellow Gryffie!

I'm really glad you liked the characterization. It's very important to me, because I try my best to maintain and grow the characters from the way I recall them from the books. It's odd. I started out planning to write a Hagrid story and ended up with more of a Harry story. Doge seemed like a good character to use as a confidant, since he apparently played that role for Dumbledore, as well.

The part with the Elder Wand is something that I still may edit out someday, because I'm not sure how well it fits with the rest of the story. Nevertheless, I'm glad you liked it.

Thanks for all of the typos and other issues you pointed out. I'll go back and take a look at them. Don't worry about being pedantic. It can only make the story better.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I was able to tag you back and read your one-shot story, which I thought was brilliant.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Jchrissy The Price of Redemption

29th May 2012:
This story has so much depth to it. What started out as relatively simple grew into a wonderful one shot very quickly. I really love the position you put Harry in, it does a great job in showing how good his heart has stayed but that he is willing to do what is necessary to keep fighting for the innocent.

Your Beta did a wonderful job proof reading, I didn't spot a single error. I was tempted to start reading your novel for review tag, but considering this had much less reviews I went with it, and I'm really happy I did. It is toughing story that stays so Canon it felt like I was reading about THE actual characters, not just your imitations of them.

Now I will definitely have to start your novel, your writing skill is obvious and by the looks of this one shot, you are very creative.


Thank you for telling such a beautiful and touching story!

Author's Response: Hi, there.

This was one of those stories where I had a certain idea when I started writing and it just took on a direction of its own. It started out being a Hagrid story and morphed into a Harry story by the end. Not sure how that happened. ;)

She always does a spectacular job, doesn't she? I'm glad that you thought the characters sounded consistent with canon. That's important to me, since I try very hard to write canon stories. It's just what I enjoy.

I hope you enjoy Conspiracy of Blood. It's definitely my baby.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Kwan The Price of Redemption

20th May 2012:
Tagging from the review thread!

I do love myself a good political courtroom drama. You didn't disappoint here and the machinations on Wilton and Harry's part were well done. I particularly like Harry's blackmail and use of clout to convince Wilton to vote for something that he truly believes against. It's one thing if Wilton is just being played, but the drama is increased tenfold when he truly thinks Hagrid doesn't deserve to have a wand.

I liked Dodge's character too as Kingsley's inside man. His conversation with Harry was thoughtful and provoking and there was an added dash of humor when he told Harry that Dumbledore's problems were much bigger.

The addition of the Elder Wand at the end was both poignant and scary. It is a show of Harry's goodness that he refuse the Wand's call and used it to repair Hagrid's wand instead of trying to claim power and glory like it's previous owners.

The writing was superb here and I'm really glad I got to read this story.

Author's Response: Hello, and thanks for the tag!

I'm not sure I started off planning to write a courtroom drama, but that's sort of where the story ended up. Much like I went into it planning to write a Hagrid story and somehow ended up with a Harry story. Sometimes you start off writing one story and end up with another entirely.

Ha. You're probably the first reviewer who actually liked Harry's choices in this. It was a difficult scene to write, because it was really hard to get Harry's words to sound correct. At any rate, I'm glad that somebody like it. ;)

I was really intrigued with the concept of Elphias Doge. As a longtime friend and confidant of Dumbledore's, I always assumed that he had to be a pretty astute fellow.

I'm still going back and forth on whether the ending with the Elder Wand will survive the cut if I ever get around to going back and editing this. I'll take this as one vote in favor.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by CherryBoom The Price of Redemption

10th May 2012:
This was really wonderful one-shot. Hagrid and Harry were both really truthful to books and it was great that Hagrid finally got his wand and his rights as a wizard back.

I especially liked Hagrid's grooming methods in the beginning of the fic. They reminded me so much about the time when Hagrid courted madam Maxime in Goblet of Fire.

There aren't many Hagrid fanfics out there, so this was really welcome for a change. I enjoyed it. =)

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to read and review.

I felt like this was an interesting story to explore, and I've also noticed that there aren't many Hagrid stories in the archives. He's not a very good romantic lead, so most HPFF authors shy away from him.

I'm glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Shortie The Price of Redemption

9th May 2012:
I've always read romance on this site because well, that's my speciality and that's what I thought was best.

But you've aggressively proved me very wrong.

This piece of work is amazing. It's not a beginning or an ending, but just a point of a great big story but the reader hardly minds or wonders about the rest.

It's great and you've inspired me to come out of the box and try something new :)

Author's Response: Hi, there.

I'm glad that you liked the story. If you feel like it broadened your horizons, I'm really happy about that, as well. There are an awful lot of interesting ideas in the archives, and I think they're all worth sampling to see what you might enjoy.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by HappyMollyWeasley The Price of Redemption

5th May 2012:
Hi!

You have a pleasant way of writing, and your story captured me from the first paragraph.

I have never read a story with Hagrid as the main character before. But he deserves to be the main character for a change. There could hardly be someone who is more kind or unselfish than Hagrid is.

I'm glad that his name was cleared in the end, but you did a great job holding us in suspense during the hearing. I guess that your are right about that not everybody would accept half-giants as equals just because Voldemort was gone.

Harry is really daring and hard when he thretens Anderson, and I find it most in chararcter that he is questioning himself afterwards.

I like how you have included information on what happened to Harry, Ron, Hermione and the others after the war in the story too, but without making it the main theme.

Over all, I like this fic, and I'm glad that I found it! :-)

Author's Response: Hello, there!

I'm really glad that you were able to get into it. I agree with the sentiment that Hagrid's story after the war really needs to be told. I feel sort of like I started to write that story and then it morphed into more of a Harry story. Not sure how that happened, but it didn't really end the way I was planning for it to.

I mostly just followed the canon story for what happens to the three main characters, but I'm glad you liked my embellishments.

Thanks for reading and leaving such a nice review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Faux Pax The Price of Redemption

30th April 2012:
I really like this. It's an interesting idea that i haven't seen before and really well written. The only fault I can find in it is that it seemed like it was supposed to be about Hagrid but Harry managed to steal the lime light.

Author's Response: Yeah, it's funny how sometimes you start off with an idea for a story and then it sort of gets away from you. That's what happened with this one. I'm glad you enjoyed it, though.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by SilentConfession The Price of Redemption

31st March 2012:
Hi! I'm here for your requested review and I am VERY sorry for the long wait! It's been a ridiculously busy month! Thank you so much for your patience, I really appreciate it.

To answer some of your specific questions, yes, i think it's very interesting. I've never read someone exploring what happened to Hagrid after the war and I love that you've given him this desire to be reinstated as a wizard and to gain back his honour. I think it was a really beautiful and unique idea. It also makes it stand out from all the other stories because people haven't really thought too much about him and it makes me wonder what JKR would have done with him.

Although this was a Hagrid story, i felt it sometimes shifted to Harry. Simply because of some of the tough ethical questions that were brought up. I'm not sure if this is a bad thing or not, it didn't, for me, take away from the story because it was those questions that made this story so interesting. I loved the heavy decision that Harry had to make and it was interesting to read about if the means are worth the end. I also loved how people were just not willing to give up their prejudices and that's so true to life, we hang on to prejudices a lot longer than needed and something as horrifying as the war isn't going to instantly wipe them away.

Another question you had was if it made sense and i think it generally did. I liked the sober and formal way the trial was conducted. It was laced with tradition and I think that's how it would have been. I was unsure about Harry revealing his connection with Voldemort. Would Harry tell everyone about that? Would people believe it or would Harry lose credibility because having that link (because he did have part of Voldemort's soul as part of him) with Voldemort might make people very uneasy and uncomfortable. I feel like there would have been a better way to show that they were sure it was Voldemort was behind it. What about bringing up the situation in 2nd year instead? Tom Riddle was behind that and it was the same situation so it would be logical to make the connection.

Another thing i questioned was whether Harry would have access to the jurors so easily. In typical court cases, if there is a recess that is only for that short of time, aren't they put into their own room so there isn't any interference? I realize it was something that had to be there to move the story forward but it did strike me as odd.

Although i really liked how Harry was struggling with his decision to threaten an innocent, albeit, annoying man with Azkaban, there was something about that interaction that didn't seem quite right and i'm having a hard time putting into words exactly what struck me as not weird. I liked the man's reasons to why he wouldn't support Hagrid mostly because they made absolutely no sense and it was twisted. But i felt like that was real and wouldn't change that at all. I believe he was described to be a progressive voter? I think that is what made me not believe that interaction and seemed out of the blue and odd. Maybe if was described as simply a neutral voter or they didn't know where he stood it would have seemed more consistent. That's my own opinion though and i think you really did have great details in that part of the story.

To address you final question about the ending. I'm torn, although I partly think that it doesn't really need to be there as it isn't really progressing the story forward. However, I liked that you explored the power of the Elder wand and there was something really nice about that scene. I especially liked those last few lines and i felt that really summed up the story really well. It was nice to see that human part of it how it closed the story with Harry feeling like he made the right decision because he redeemed his friend. It had a nice closure to it. In the end, whether you keep it or not is your decision.

Thank you for requesting me to read this, it was really a great story and such an interesting premise! You writing tone is really quite lovely and an enjoyable. Although this was a long long one-shot, i didn't really feel like it dragged too much and thought you did a great job with keeping the flow going throughout. Great job.

Author's Response: Wow, such a long and detailed review! I love it!

First off, no need to apologize for the delay. We all have lives away from reading and writing fan fic and it's totally understandable. I'm just glad that you found the time to get to it.

I'm glad that you found it interesting. Like you, I've never seen a fic that addresses this specific topic, so I was excited to take a stab at it. It seems so logical that Hagrid would want this, for his own sake and perhaps to honor his father's memory.

It definitely drifted from a "Hagrid story" to a "Harry story" by the end. It wasn't really what I had in mind when I started, but my train of thought just gravitated in that direction and I decided not to try to redirect it.

Regarding your concern about Harry, I agree that he would have been very careful what he shared with the world about his relationship with Voldemort and especially the horcruxes. At the same time, I have always imagined that the information Harry learned from his connection to Voldemort would have been critical evidence against Death Eaters who tried to claim that they were merely acting under the imperius curse. So I feel like Harry would have had to acknowledge that he was able to see into Voldemort's mind even if he never explained exactly how.

As far as Harry's access to the members of the Wizengamot, I never got the sense from the books that the Wizengamot works like a muggle court of law. It always seemed to me like a combination of a kangaroo court and a drumhead, where who you were -- or perhaps more importantly who your friends were -- was at least as important and your guilt or innocence.

Thanks for your opinions on the ending. As I've gone back and read this a few times now, it feels kind of extraneous, and it definitely makes this more of a "Harry story" than it already is. I may yet change the story to end as Harry and Ginny leave the castle.

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by starryskies55 The Price of Redemption

28th March 2012:
*Tagging you from the review thread*

HAGRID!

I loved this. You've captured Hagrid's voice incredibly well, and I love that he got his original wand back- it was joined in my mind with Harry's own wand.

I don't like the way Harry used his power to get what he wanted- even though Hagrid was innocent. I think, if it was me I would have done the same, but I would have felt incredibly guilty. Although, the bloke he threatened didn't sound particularly innocent. He deserved to be put down a peg or two.

All your canon characters are superbly canon- I loved that Filch was continously telling McGonagall on the kids, and I absolutely adored the description of Hagrid's suit at the start- but who wipes their mouth on their tie? That's just weird and a little bit gross... oh, Hagrid.

Overall, brilliantly written and completely original idea for a one-shot :D

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for the tag!

Writing Hagrid was a bit challenging, so I'm glad you liked his dialog. I went back and did some reading to try to get his accent right.

Harry was put in what felt like a very untenable position. Everyone was counting on him, including Hagrid. I think Doge captured the trade-off well.

And I'm very glad that you found them all to be consistent with canon. That's how I write, so I'm really pleased with your reaction.

Thanks so much for reading and revewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Deltaris The Price of Redemption

28th March 2012:
Hagrid is absolutely fantastic in this. You captured him perfectly. He's nervous and worried and just everything that Hagrid is. I love his comment about Ginny having a heart of gold; it really shows the compassion and love that Hagrid holds in his heart for everyone around him.

You did wonderful in writing his speech, as well. A lot of people struggle with accents and just choose not to write them. Which is perfectly fine, they aren't necessary for the story at all, but it added that little touch that made the story so much better.

The amount of people there in support of Hagrid is fantastic. Honestly, I don't think I've ever considered what happened to Hagrid after the war. This is an amazing story of redemption and righting the wrongs done. The hearing that you wrote was amazing, as well. Things like that are hard to write and get just right, and you did. It was a believable and convincing argument.

I do have one concern. It's not the length, for you kept me interested in the story for the full length of the one shot. It's more of the switch from Hagrid to Harry during the intermission of the hearing. I can understand it being necessary to show how Harry needed to use his influence to swing the vote in Hagrid's favor, but I was a bit put off at the change in POV. I was really enjoying Hagrid and his plight in getting himself reinstated as a wizard, that the sudden switch to Harry was confusing. It was heart warming to see Hagrid's response to Harry and Ron fixing his old wand so he wouldn't have to get a new one, but them going after the Elder Wand just seemed out of place for me.

It's a very well written story and a great read, I just feel like there's not enough Hagrid after a point. Especially when the plot is about Hagrid's redemption.

Del<3

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading this!

I hadn't read much about Hagrid's life after the war, either. It seemed like one of those fun little loose ends to tackle with a very short story. I'm really glad that you liked the way I wrote Hagrid and all of his nuances and reactions. It was tricky in places to make it sound right.

I understand what you're saying about the shift in point of view. I started out wanting to write a Hagrid story and somewhere along the way it did shift to being more of a Harry story. I have a bad tendency to do that. I'm very close to making a decision to remove the entire section with the Elder Wand and just end the story where Harry and Ginny walk out the castle doors. I had that one extra idea, and I think it was too much.

At any rate, thanks so much for your opinion and your unbelievably fast turn-around!


 Report Review

Review #20, by horseyrosyrb The Price of Redemption

21st March 2012:
Here from the Gryffie common room!
Wow. Just wow. This was a brilliant story that transported me into its world just as convincingly as the original Harry Potter books do. Your characterization was excellent and I really believed your representation of the characters one year on. I also found your portrayal of Harry to be particularly good as far too often people turn him into a hero that seems to do no wrong. The fact that he still struggled - with the threatening and the Elder Wand - was a refreshing change.
Well done and keep up the good work!
~horseyrosyrb

Author's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed my story. It was an idea that I had been working on for a while in between chapters of my main ongoing project. It was important to me to keep the characters true to canon, so I'm glad you felt that way. And yes, people do tend to gloss over Harry's imperfections too often in fan fic. So I'm pleased that you liked the way I portrayed him.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by charlottetrips The Price of Redemption

6th March 2012:
har here from HPFF Forums with your requested review! Iím going to tell you right off that I have never read a story from Hagridís POV so this is very new to me! I look forward to seeing what lays in store for me with this tale.

His friends show their support in helping him look nice for whatís to come. Thatís so cute. I especially like the part where Hagridís thinking disappointedly that the necktie is too delicate to wipe his mouth with. As Iím reading along, I honestly feel that Iím just reading an extra chapter by JKR. Not that your writing is exactly the same because youíve got your own feel for the story but that the characterization is so spot on and the way you describe the surroundings are so familiar and so detailed. I can tell that you put a lot of thought into this and I really do appreciate the effort because it keeps me on familiar ground and able to be in the story without jarring differences that I have to get used to. Especially since the premise is something that very well couldíve happened after the War.

I get annoyed at Hagridís accent. I can understand why someone would want to put that in there and I admire the fact that you took the time to do that. However, I am still annoyed. I think I was even annoyed in the books. I donít know why.

Interesting that the MoM would be the one to represent the case. One would think that there would be a rule not allowing this. I mean, heís like the Minister, you know? Maybe not all-powerful but certainly having the power to sway.

install himself as the ruler of Wizarding [Britian] - [Britain]

Iím impressed by how formal youíve made the court hearing. Itís so believable because youíve got the language, the formalities and the stiffness one would expect from the Wizengamot. Though I have to say, Iím surprised that Harry would be so open about the fact that he had a telepathic connection to Voldemort. It seems to me that that would be something that he wouldnít really talk about publicly as it was really only known to a very few people.

I like how youíve picked it up from Kingsleyís POV. Again a character I donít often get to hear about. His perception of the scene in front of him shows that he is of keen mind and the fact that he was making private inquiries prior to the hearing to see what it would be like shows more of the loyalty that we were exposed to in the books. I like the silent communication between Doge and him. It shows that they are a team without you having to spell it out for the reader.

In a court of law, would one be allowed to speak to the Jury/Judges? It seems that it would violate some policy or another just due to the fact that things like this could happen, where the defendant or plaintiff could try to sway them to their side. I mean, I like that Kingsleyís got Hagridís best interest at heart (as well as the direction that the Wizarding world is going to go in) but it seems a bit unreal that they would be allowed to do that.

Fleurís comment: ďZey are from zee cafe Ďere, so eat at your own risk,Ē - is so Fleur. Harryís frustration that people would continue to let their prejudice is also so Harry. You can see here that he is still so young yet itís that pure fire that burns within him that allowed him to defeat the darkest Wizard of them all.

Iíd capitalize ďPatronusĒ.

Wow. Youíve managed to bring tears to my eyes in this whole impassioned exchange between Anderson and Harry. The undercurrents to such a simple story is amazing and youíve drawn it out well here. This is a great story (I havenít even reached the ending and donít know what the outcome will be) but itís great because of the issues youíve chosen to bring up here. This is where a kidís book evolves into something more because of the relevance one can see in relation to todayís society or relation to a time that isnít that far off from where we are today. I think youíve nailed it on the point of prejudice and how that claw-like creature can keeps its talons in a government or society far longer than the demise of its head supporter. Go Harry! Look at him! So maybe heís not so naÔve after all :)

LOL, the image of Minerva McGonagall drunk :)

Your insights into the Elder Wand is so true to me as well. Harry is still just a human here but one who has learned to overcome that darker part of him. I mean, he struggled with a part of Voldemort in him for years so I guess he would be able to tamp down on anything the Elder wand threw at him. Nicely done.

I AM IN AWE OF YOU AND YOUR STORY. Seriously! I honestly kind of expected a boring story when I started reading this (ďYeah, Hagrid, great. Iíll read this because I said I would.Ē) but then your writing, the actual story beneath Hagridís hearing and the overall message really got to me. Iím actually favoriting this because of all the above. Well done and please keep writing!

xChar

Author's Response: Wow. I'm in awe of the amount of thought you put into this review. You have no idea how much I appreciate it.

I've had the idea for this story in my head for a really long time. I always loved Hagrid and I felt like he got short-changed a lot in Half-Blood Prince and especially Deathly Hallows. Not that he was the only character who got that treatment, mind you, but it's just that he factors so prominently in the escape from Privet Drive and then disappears until the Forbidden Forest at the end. At any rate, I always hoped that he would have a chance to clear his name of the charges that Tom Riddle falsely laid at his feet. Since the Epilogue to DH doesn't really resolve much, I felt the need to take the scenario and run with it.

Hagrid's accent can certainly make things tough to read, but I'm a canon-freak so I really couldn't have gone about it any other way.

I've personally always imagined the Minister of Magic as being somewhat distinct from the Wizengamot, not unlike the Executive and Legislative branches of the US government. He is elected by the Wizengamot and rules with their consent, but his power is distinct and separate. So it didn't feel *that* out of place to me to have him advocate a cause before the body.

As far as Harry revealing his connection to Voldemort, I feel like he would do what was necessary to be able to make Hagrid's case to the Wizengamot. I was careful to not mention the horcruxes because I always felt like that's a secret that the trio would have taken to their graves, aside from a few trusted confidants like the elder members of the Order and maybe Ginny, Neville and Luna.

I am kind of intrigued to go back and consider your point about the /ex parte/ discussions between Team Hagrid and the members of the Wizengamot. I guess it depends on how you think about the wizarding government. From the books, I always got the impression that the Wizengamot was something of a glorified kangaroo court: draped in the trappings of formality, but very open to negotiation and outside influence. Hence men like Fudge.

I am so pleased that you found the conversation between Harry and Anderson moving. That was the part of the story I felt most uneasy about. I wasn't sure it came off as believable enough. That really makes my day!

Thank you so, so much for your awesome review. You've really made my day!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Aderyn The Price of Redemption

4th March 2012:
Hi! Sorry for the wait on this review.

Anyways, I enjoyed this oneshot. I think that you really found an interesting moment in Hagrid's life to write about. I hadn't really ever considered, before reading this, that he might be acquitted, but it makes sense that it could happen.

I think that, also, the resistance that some of the court showed is reasonable. It is established in canon that there is prejudice against Hagrid, so it seems that people might find it hard to look past his parents and see the truth.

I did have a bit of a problem with Harry's talk with Anderson. While I think Harry would go to great lengths to help his friends, he's threatening something serious with Anderson. I don't know if Anderson has been established as so malicious that it sits right to see him being manipulated. He seems annoying, certainly, but not evil. I think that it seemed strange for me to see Harry being that manipulative because Anderson wasn't completely deserving of it.

Overall, good job with this story. I think the characterization of Hagrid is strong. And the ending was very touching.

Author's Response: Hi, there! No worries on the wait. I appreciate you taking the time.

I also thought that this was a very interesting loose end that was left over from Deathly Hallows. Since there's only a minimal mention of Hagrid in the epilogue, we never find out whether he was able to clear his name and regain his status as a member of the wizarding world.

I was a little concerned about whether I pained Anderson as unsympathetic enough. I had pictured him as the type of nasty individual who has no moral qualms with oppressing somebody else in order to elevate his own station in life. Maybe that didn't come through quite clearly enough.

For his part, I imagined Harry as being so infuriated by the things that Anderson was saying about Hagrid and, by extension, characters like Remus and Firenze, that he stepped well outside of what he might have said if Anderson had been less direct. I also liked the parallel between the hard choice that Dumbledore made to sacrifice Harry and the choice that Harry was faced with here.

Regardless, I appreciate your opinion. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by cupcake_addict The Price of Redemption

1st March 2012:
Okay, so I'm not very good at reviewing, but I'll try my best.

First off, I just want to say that I envy your ability to write beautiful stories that display your mastery of the English language. I bow down to that. Second, this story kind of blew me away. I loved it so much that my eyes were practically glued to the computer screen. I bet all the money that I don't have that I looked like a zombie. Third, I thought you captured the spirit of Hagrid very well in this piece. Congratulations to you for doing something that I can't, haha. Anyway, great job here, and keep on writing. ;*

Author's Response: Hi, there. I always love meeting a new reviewer. Don't worry about whether you're "good" at reviewing. As an author, I just like to hear whatever you think.

You're making me self-conscious here. My "mastery" of English really boils down to one part spell checker, one part awesome beta reader and one part OCD. Bad writing drives me to distraction.

I'm really glad that the story captured your attention. It's an idea that I've had in my head since shortly after I finished reading DH and I finally managed to finish it in between writing chapters of my main ongoing story.

I honestly won't believe that you can't write something good. It sounds silly and cliche, but with effort, you can make things happen.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by lilypotterfan123 The Price of Redemption

13th February 2012:
Firstly, congrats on winning the review competition, you gave the most reviews so here I am to give some to you! Whilst reading through this I was lost for words just due to the fact that it's so amazing! So excuse me if this review is short, but I just think it's so great. Everyone's characterisation was spot on, Harry's, Hagrid's and Kingsley's especially. I just think that this story was realistic, well not realistic but authentic because it just seemed like something JK would come up with!
A 10/10 for definite and I think I have to add this to my favourites.
Bex

Author's Response: Hi. The competition was a lot of fun. Glad to have been involved.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Thanks for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #25, by ginerva_molly_weasley The Price of Redemption

12th February 2012:
Awh I love this so much mainly because the plot is so different to the others on the archives.

It is only natural that Hagrid would want to clear his name but it's a situation that's not really been thought of which is why it is just really so different.

I love the way that Hagrid's life had been changed so much by the battle and hoiw even deep seated prejudices didn't automatically go away even though Hagrid had more than proved himself several times over.

Harry still has that fierce Gryffindor pride which is really interesting to see as he would still do anything for his friends even if that means compromising his integrity :D

I really do like this!

Author's Response: I had been pecking away at this story on and off for a couple of months before it finally came together. I haven't done an exhaustive search of the archives, but my cursory search didn't turn up any other stories about Hagrid clearing his name. I suppose it's a little arrogant to think this on a site with over 70,000 stories, but I *might* just have come up with something unique.

A lot of things changed after the battle, but unfortunately some things also did not. So the task falls on Harry to find a way to carry the day. If I have one regret about this story, it's that somewhere along the way it changed from being a Hagrid Story to being a Harry Story. I'm not unhappy with how it turned out, but it wasn't exactly what I was planning from the outset.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>