Reading Reviews for The Wandmaker
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by xoxo Teatime Talks

1st August 2014:
hi, um so i loved your story train wreck, and i know this is sort of a sequel since cassia and james appear it in.
but i was wondering what happened to train wreck? it's no longer on the site. was there a reason for it?

xoxo

 Report Review

Review #2, by longlive_harrypotter Teatime Talks

28th February 2012:
And. another magnificent chapter! Can't wait to read more!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by longlive_harrypotter Matchmaking

28th February 2012:
I can't believe I just discovered this! I had hoped to see more of Cassia and James in another story and wow! This is really great.

 Report Review

Review #4, by ohmymerlin Teatime Talks

25th February 2012:
this is quite a good story! please keep updating :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by potterfan310 Teatime Talks

20th February 2012:
aww brill, hope this is updated soon 10/10
p.s can you name all of james and cassia's children and their ages please
-potterfan310

Author's Response: Updates will be a while away as I'm on unofficial hiatus at the moment. James and Cassia's kids are Sophia (11) Isobel (7) Harriet (5) Christian & Ethan (4) and Amie (2). Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Aspidistra Teatime Talks

26th January 2012:
Hi!

I'll admit it, your story's now got me a little intrigued about wandlore cos it's not exactly something you see written about often around here.

Emilia's stance on not needing kids to be happy was another thing I liked, along with her sister's reaction "I...uh...got pregnant." Cassia and James = 7 CHILDREN!! I felt exhausted just reading that!!

I would've liked a little more info on how Em had got to where she was, but I suspect you'll reveal more as the story goes on :)

I can't wait to read the next chapter now and if you want me to review any other stories, I'm happy to do so (except for Dramione. To put it politely, I'm not a fan).

Author's Response: Ooh, I love it when stories have that effect on people (it's exciting!) and I hope you'll be back to hear some more wandlore in future chapters :)

Emilia's sort of flowing against the tide when it comes to family - she's at an age where a lot of her friends are "settling down" and of course her sister has six (soon to be seven) kids, but it's pretty understandable when you see how her career's beginning to take off.

All the background info will be in future chapters (including Emilia/Albus Hogwarts romance reminiscing!) and I admit it was a bit of a leap for those new to "my canon" - I've been writing the Rutherford family for quite a while now.

The next chapter should hopefully be out sometime next week. Maybe. I really don't know, I'm heading home from Japan tomorrow and it's a pretty long and involved process, but at any rate it shouldn't be too far away and I hope to see you back for it :) Feel free to review any of my other work, it should be pretty safe (I'm definitely no Dramione shipper, so you will find nothing of the sort - except for the parody I wrote for the Worst Story Ever challenge :P) Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Snapdragons Teatime Talks

26th January 2012:
"I drink a lot of tea with a lot of people who have nothing better to do." Everyone knows there's no better way to get gossip! (Also, I think Rose's job is super cool)

I liked seeing Emilia and Cassia in this chapter! Cassia's impossible not to love, haha. She and Emilia are such opposites and yet they go really well together.

"Who are you kidding?" she asked incredulously. "We have six. I assure you there has been much arguing over the last twelve years." Yes, I would assume so. :P Also, not totally sure if that was the best way to deal with the problem... but it worked! Somehow I can see the two of them as definitely being the type to have a big family. It suits them.

It is sort of refreshing in a way, though, how Emilia really doesn't want kids. I feel like a lot of characters I read about end up getting married young, having kids young - there's more to life, you know? I mean, I do love reading those stories anyways... it's just nice to see a new perspective. A bit of role reversal there.

I hope we get to see more of Albus soon! Reserving judgement on him until we know him better... but he sounds like a good sort. I approve. ;)

Super excited I found this story! :D

Author's Response: Yay for super cool jobs! Rose's is one of my own invention and, if I do say so myself, I like the idea of a big magical research and development centre. (Say hello to a new addition to my canon!)

I actually really enjoy the Cassia/Emilia relationship - they didn't get along very well as teenagers but they've gotten closer as they've grown up, which I think is pretty cool :P They are definitely very different people, but that just makes it all the more fun and rewarding to write them.

I don't normally give my characters massive families. But you're right, it suits James and Cassia. I couldn't really imagine them any other way :P

I know what you mean, which is strange because especially these days there's more of a push to have a career before a family. While the wizarding world is quite traditional, I don't think all women would be tripping over themselves to get married straight out of Hogwarts.

Yeah, I do need to throw a bit more Albus in there...He'll be in the next chapter and I hope he turns out well - I'm not entirely sure who he is yet myself :P

I'm super excited you found it as well! Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Snapdragons Matchmaking

26th January 2012:
Ooh, I love wandlore! You've sold me on this story with that simple title. Blame it on the Claw in me. (and for the record, Sophia's so totally going to be a Claw)

I love how you've got your own sort of canon and how natural and believable it feels. And it's so fun to go from story to story and notice these things - it's the little details that really make it, I think, and make me want to keep reading even more of your work.

(For the record: seven children? If I were Cassia, James would /definitely/ be sleeping on the couch a bit more often... :P)

(Also, I totally laughed out loud at the way that she just mentioned that matter-of-fact. Love those two!)

I could completely understand the excitement and anticipation of choosing a wand (I mean, good Lord, I got excited with my /Pottermore/ wand choosing. Which I'm still internally squeeing over how perfect it was. Maple, unicorn hair, 10 in., rigid. Not like I've memorized it or anything...).

But it was such a sweet moment there at the end, with Sophia's first wand. And that last line - "You know what, Em? Keep doing what you do." Made me smile!

I love the Rutherfords and I love Emilia and I love wands and oh man, I love your writing. So excited for this to continue!

Author's Response: I love wandlore too. It's going to be super fun making stuff up for this one and playing with the info we've gotten from Pottermore - been itching to use it since I found out what all the woods meant :P I'm glad other people are just as interested about the wandlore as me - it's always exciting :P

I do have my own sort of canon. It's amazing how everything ties in together - though there are some aspects that don't quite fit because I wrote some stories before others. Eg. my canon says Rose and Scorpius were in Slytherin, but I wrote the beginning of Southern Cross a while ago, so their Sorting in that story doesn't quite fit. But there are a lot of little similarities and I enjoy slipping them in, so it means a lot to have readers like you who find them :)

Seven children, yes. But as you'll discover in the second chapter, it's not really James' fault at all :P

I got excited about my Pottermore wand choosing as well, which was good because it gave me something to be happeh about (I was put in the wrong house. Sadface) and I love matching wands to owners in my stories as well :P

I'm so glad you're enjoying it, and not just because it means I can look forward to more reviews from you :D It means a lot that you're reading and reviewing my work, so thank you so much :)



 Report Review

Review #9, by BellaCamille Teatime Talks

26th January 2012:
Their banter is so excellent! I am in complete awe of your ability to write dialogue and wittiness and etc. You are hilare. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: -basks- Thank you so much! Glad you're enjoying it, hope to see you back for the next chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by BellaCamille Matchmaking

26th January 2012:
Loving this beginning. Emilia is so seems so different form Cassia but so similar. (like that makes sense). But really, you weave Train Wreck into this one so seamlessly, without making it overpowering.

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you enjoyed it! Emilia and Cassia really are polar opposites, but they are sisters so they definitely have their similarities, especially now they're older and get along better (super-awkward 14-year-old Emilia in Train Wreck, anyone?)
The Rutherfords are my canon, so there are references to them woven into most of my stories. But this one does go with Train Wreck a lot - It's sort of a companion story, but not really...if that makes sense :P Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Loony_Scorpy Teatime Talks

25th January 2012:
Ahahaha I just love how many kids Cassia has/is having and she's so relaxed about it and WANTS MORE (perhaps). Woah. Even though her first was entirely accidental. I love all of this wandlore, it's going to be so interesting! And I've actually never read a story that has any more than the type of wand someone gets. It's so weird because I don't like Al. I usually LOVE Al. I think it's because I'm waiting for the wandy mystery guy. He better be worth it ;P Can't wait for the next chappie :D

Author's Response: Cassia is cool. I rather like her. She's the kind of person to have lots of kids and be totally chill about it.
The wandlore's interesting for me as well, but it means a heck of a lot of research to come up with anything new :P
I think it's mainly because I haven't included a lot of Al in this story yet, and when I do he's all "Emilia I want a baby and I want to get married and ARGUMENT" but there will be more of him, and in a more favourable light.
I'm looking forward to bringing in Dorian as well, mainly because he has the coolest name my brain has ever come up with and he looks like Benedict Cumberbatch.
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by The Captain Matchmaking

23rd January 2012:
Ooo, I'm excited to see where this goes! If you think about it, it's amazing how little people touch on wandlore considering all our characters wouldn't be witches and wizards without their wands. I'm definitely looking forward to seeing how you continue to cover the topic.
SEVEN?? Cassia needs to start making James sleep on the couch more often. So we've got Sophia, Isobel, the twins, Amie, mystery child, and the bun in the oven.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, wandlore is a branch of magic not explored very much, so it should be fun to get into that a bit more :P
Seven, yes. Mystery child is Harriet and slots between Isobel and the twins in terms of age. I would have mentioned her in this chapter but there were already way too many children :P


 Report Review

Review #13, by Loony_Scorpy Matchmaking

21st January 2012:
Here's one of my late reviews :D I'm really loving this already! I love how you've made it another story line altogether, yet you're still including the Train Wreck storyline as well. I really love the emotion you showed when Emily matched the wand perfectly - so sweet! I can't wait for more of this :D Ooh and I can't wait until the awesome wand maker from your summary makes an appearance ;)

Author's Response: Whoo! First review! -dances-
Train Wreck ties in with my own established Next Gen canon, and I do love that family way too much to stop writing them :P I look forward to introducing the awesome wand maker too :P Thanks for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login