Reading Reviews for Trying not to love you
  
730 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Amelia Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

27th May 2016:
This story is honestly amazing. I really like how you characterise both Gwen and James, but most of all, I love their dynamic. Wow.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Keanna Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

4th May 2016:
I keep checking back and I would really like to know what happens next!!! Pleaaassseee update!!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ceece Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

21st April 2016:
I love this story, but at the same time it's Killing me. When are these two going to talk to each other? Relly talk to each other, honestly and not hiding their feelings anymore? I'd like to think that James really has some feelings for her, but I'm not totally sure about this, one moment it seems that he might, but the next...I'm very confused and curious. I hope you'll update as soon as you can, I'm dying here ahahaha :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Haruna Chapter four - Good Behaviour

30th March 2016:
I must say, it is an interesting premise. Is there a reason why James and Gwen started off as besties? Because I often see stories like that where the main protagonist is best friends with James or absolutely hates him...

 Report Review

Review #5, by penname Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

10th February 2016:
Your story is EXTREMELY captivating and addictive; so much so that I have just read it through for the 3rd time!! Can you please have pity on me and update so I can read a chapter where I don't yet know the outcome???

Thanks!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by I'm so happy right now^^ Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

29th January 2016:
OH MY GOD. Okay so I read this story up to the point where you stopped posting chapters, I continued to check this story for at least a year every month, even though I wasn't on HPFF anymore at all. After three years I decided to check on this story again(not really thinking that there'd be a new chapter), AND YOU UPDATED IT! I'm honestly quite emotional right now, because I just loved this story so much, I didn't want to give up on it. THANK YOU SO MUCH for writing this story, (from a girl that first read this story when she was like 12, and now just turned 16!!... Honestly this feels incredibly surreal to me and you just completely made my day.)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Felicia Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

1st January 2016:
Please write more!I really want to know what happens after this

 Report Review

Review #8, by harrypotter310 Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

29th December 2015:
THANK YOU FOR UPDATING!!! I'm so excited to see where everything is going! I have loved reading this fic over the time that you've been writing it and this is such a slow burn. I love James and I think you made a wonderful choice in making Joshua so understanding and helpful for Gwen. I had ~hoped~ that maybe we'd get one more kiss on the couch in this chapter, but I totally understand why Gwen wouldn't do it again. To satisfy the wicked readers, next chapter might include a (jealous) confrontation that might end with paralled realizations?? I'm rooting for you and this fic! Please update soon, I'm fan girling this so hard

 Report Review

Review #9, by Celeste Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

17th December 2015:
I am so glad this chapter is out. Oh man. But after reading it I realised I need to re read this fic again. So I'm going to do just that this weekend.

I loved this chapter it had everything you could need in a chapter. I feel like her and James will finally admit to each other how they feel as opposed to telling everyone else. Gwen and Joshua will become very good friends I'm certain and it will be great. Other than the fact that her dad may or may not get out.

I can't wait for the next chapter. I really do love this story.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Tim Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

16th December 2015:
I literally need the next chapter. Pleease when will you update?

 Report Review

Review #11, by Keekee Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

29th November 2015:
Please update again!! I've been dying checking the status of this story for so long!!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Keanna Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

25th November 2015:
OMG YOU ARE FINALLY BACK!!! *happy tears*

 Report Review

Review #13, by KLB1234 Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

22nd November 2015:
I thought I was seeing things for a moment when I saw this update! I'm so glad you have come back to the story. I liked the chapter. To be honest I thought the situation with Joshua was a little too clean. I get that he is understanding, but he seemed to be really attached to Gwen in previous chapters, and thought he would be a little more emotional during the interaction. But well written either way. Keep it up :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Taps_017 Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

18th November 2015:
I am so unbelievably glad that you updated!! I only check this site for updates from you now, and I was starting to lose faith! However, you completely delivered with this chapter. I'm glad that Gwen and James are starting to behave like more reasonable adults, and that the Joshua situation has been resolved. I am really looking forward to the next chapter, please don't leave it so long this time! Thanks so much for updating 😊

 Report Review

Review #15, by lovechild Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

12th November 2015:
This is literally my favourite story ever!!! Gwen is such an amazing character and you write her relationship with James so beautifuly!! I have loved every single bit of this story and I can't wait to see what's next! Please update soon :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Mauderette Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

10th November 2015:
Dear Elina, your story is so thrilling and buautifully written. I read it again from the beginning, when you finally posted the nee chapter. Please write a New one very soon.I hope Gwen will now be able to fly again.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Felicia Chapter twenty-five News

10th November 2015:
I like that things don't turn out as espected, that's what makes this story so addictive

 Report Review

Review #18, by Felicia Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

10th November 2015:
This is more a wish than a review: please write another chapter asap! And please: when (if?) James and Gwen finally end up together don't end the story there or just skip to a prologue. I want to read about their relationship!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Anonymous Reviewer <3 Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

7th November 2015:
Was Andy Cornell an Office reference? Love the story btw, it's prevented my from doing homework but I don't care because it's so good.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Raylis Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

6th November 2015:
This story is beautiful. I've never read chemistry like you've written. Stunningly beautiful.

 Report Review

Review #21, by jamessiriuspotterforever Chapter eighteen - Euphoria

4th November 2015:
This was so perfect. The scene with Kat, I am so happy she got what she deserved. I have a feeling that James likes Gwen too. I hope its true :')
P.S I love your story

 Report Review

Review #22, by ruby_slippers Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

3rd November 2015:
AGH! Oh my goodness please please please PLEASE be close to getting them together I'm not sure how much longer I can take this for haha! Oh man I am so excited! Poor Joshua he was such a sweetie but I'm glad she is being honest with him :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by HarryGinnyLove88 Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

3rd November 2015:
FINALLY :)
I hope you wont stop writing because I wnanna know how this story ends.
please please update soon :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by CambAngst Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

2nd November 2015:
Hi, Hanna!

First off, I'm excited beyond words that you're continuing to write this story. I was really worried there for a while that maybe life had gotten so busy that (sniff...) you'd given up on it. I'm relieved that isn't the case.

Getting my head back into the story was a snap. I didn't even re-read chapter 25, I just re-read my review of chapter 25 and everything clicked into place. The way you write is so memorable and gripping. It's never hard to come back to this.

I'm really hoping that the first part of this chapter represents "rock bottom" for Gwen. Things have been spiraling down for several chapters now. The lies she's telling everyone -- including herself -- keep getting worse and worse. It seems like James is really struggling to keep his feelings for her in check, which is only making things more difficult. Every time they're alone together, it feels like they're on the brink of another kiss. This is probably due to how well you've conditioned me, but I'm just not in favor of that anymore. They both have things that they need to sort out before they can be a couple. Getting together at this moment feels like a move with a lot of potential regret.

I love the way you wrote the atmosphere for Gwen's visit to her mother's grave. The cold inside and the cold outside seem to merge. She's trying so hard to feel nothing and for once it's like she's feeling everything. It was a great way to set up her frame of mind for the rest of the chapter.

I thought you paced the scene with her and James really well. Nothing happens automatically. Nothing is easy. They both have to work their way through things, slowly. Gwen isn't instantly giving in to her desires. Gradually, they start to relax and ease back into interacting as friends. James hugs her through her tears. They talk. They ponder the meaning of what's going on with Gwen's father. For a while, things really do seem normal.

Not to jump ahead to the scene with Joshua, but I do agree with him about James's motivations. It's not too hard to believe that his genuine concern was combined with some selfish desires when he makes her stay for a nap. And it works... almost. She wakes up so late that it would have been easier in some ways to simply admit that she didn't want to go back to Joshua. Back to another encounter where she would feel like she'd let him down. But if she hadn't gone back, it wouldn't be Gwen. So she flees another potential kiss and returns to France.

Even the vomiting scene seemed to me like it served a purpose in this chapter. By the time Gwen reaches Joshua's study, it feels like she's completely stripped of any sort of false pretenses. She just lost her lunch on his front walk, for god's sake!

If there's anything in this story I'm still struggling with, it's trying to figure out what on earth Joshua's angle is. Maybe he really is just the world's most perfect and understanding "friend with short-term benefits". Maybe he's still so messed up over Maggie that he consciously puts himself through these doomed relationships. Or maybe there's more to it than that. There are still so many mysterious things about the guy and I still have a feeling that he's going to tie into the mystery surrounding Gwen's father somehow.

For the moment, however, he finally administers a huge dose of blunt honesty to Gwen. One that she's been needing really badly. Beyond that, he's a source that's simply too credible for her to ignore because he has NOTHING to gain and EVERYTHING to lose by being honest with her. Yet he tells her the truth anyway. Even Gwen, with her nearly invincible powers of self-deception and denial, can't rationalize away everything he's saying. She's still not 100% of the way to admitting the truth, but she took a big step here.

I'm really excited to see what happens next. I think you told me once that you were planning somewhere around 30 chapters, so maybe we'll start to see some of the plot arcs come together soon? Please? Pretty please?

Awesome job!

 Report Review

Review #25, by MalfoyMannor Chapter twenty-six - An Apology

2nd November 2015:
uggh so much has happened, Quinn and James are both finally realizing what everyone else has been seeing for years, they're are made for each other :)

I love all of the annoying infuriating drama that you've put in the story to make it so good :)

I just next chapter please :) I need to know what happens :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>