9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LiamPayneJokesNotFunnyOhWell Albus Potter and the Worst Excuses Ever

30th September 2012:
I wish I was as funny as you.
Seriously! I know two jokes- Why did the mushroom go to the party? He was a fun guy.
The other one involves a dinosaur rowing a boat with it's teeny tiny little arms. Imagine that; big T-Rex trying to row, having to throw itself side to side. But that's not really a joke, more like creative visualising.
Does Albus get the girl? This could be a really good prequel, by the way.
Follow up story?

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! :) I'm not sure if I'm going to write a full sequel to this - maybe at some point down the road - but Albus and Bridget do get revisited in 'The Wrinkles of the Road,' if you're interested. :)

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by ohmymerlin Albus Potter and the Worst Excuses Ever

31st May 2012:
i actually groaned when I saw al said he wasn't interested... right now :p
and then when he had to reject the guy
poor thing! he's such a fail but he's so adorable!
will there be a longer story on al? :)
all in all, great story and love your writing :D
10/10 :D

Author's Response: Not right now, but there probably will be eventually! I've got a few plunnies for short story - novel length fics floating around for when I finish up some of my current WIPs, and several involve Albus.

Thank you so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Hope's Mom Albus Potter and the Worst Excuses Ever

5th May 2012:
Awesome! When you referenced Al's girl issues in "Curiousity" I wondered what happened. This one shot is great especially the "I don't like girls (right now) excuse. I was laughing out loud while reading it! Does Al ever get brave enough to ask out Bridget? Thanks for making my day!

Author's Response: I think he does - they both go on to be Aurors, and he will have to deal with it then. I'll probably write a short story or novella about it at some point... so many plunnies, so little time. :P

Thank you for the review! I'm glad you liked this!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Allison Albus Potter and the Worst Excuses Ever

29th March 2012:
I can't even describe how much I adored this!!! It was such great fun to experience Albus's point of view. I've also decided that he and I are kindred spirits. We seem to have a similiar thought process.

Albus's confusion was adorable. He was incredibly awkward to the point of me cringing at his horrible excuses, but I still thought that it was realistic. One of my favorite lines was the one about him feeling as though he had opened the door to the leaky Cauldron and instead found a Hungarian Horntail. That one had me laughing out loud! It's a funny line, but also a really good simile for how Albus was feeling. I've been in that situation myself and I think it definitely describes the emotions and surprise involved.

And being the huge Rose/Scorpius shipper that I am, I loved all of the extra information about them. I mean, I figured that they would end up together, but it was nice to see that confirmed. And I don't feel as though you're giving away any information for "Curiosity" by bringing up as frequently as you did.

Part of me wants Albus to go for it and ask out Bridget, but I also think that after Claire mellowed out, they would do well together. Out of curiosity, who do you see him ending up with?

I thought this was exceptionally well written and I enjoyed every moment of reading! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! :) It was kind of just sitting around my computer - I'd written it all up, but hadn't gotten around to editing it yet so that it was good enough to see the light of day. :P But I sat down, fixed it up, and I'm really happy with the way it came out.

I'm not sure who I see Albus ending up with - probably not Claire, because I think she's got a bit too much of an edge for him even mellowed out, but I'm not entirely sure he'll ever get up the confidence to ask Bridget out, especially once they both start Auror training.

I have a short story plunnie about that running around my head... but I'm going to make myself finish some of my current WIPs first. :P

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by academica Albus Potter and the Worst Excuses Ever

25th March 2012:
And we're back, for prize review #3, challenge winner :)

"I'm okay right now" -- Haha, I love awkward Albus. I like him, and I've seen him written a lot of different ways, but I think this one is especially believable (especially considering that... erm... unique name his father chose for him). It's very interesting that you made him a redhead! Cute. And I love that he's friends with Scorpius. It seems to be a bit cliche (granted, I don't read much next gen, so who knows really), but it's a cliche I like, and I think it sort of makes sense.

Speaking of Scorpius, I love that he's cool and witty, and I love that Rose is as fiery as her hair, the way that so (read: too many, for my taste) many people write Ginny. You've taken my characterizations and written them, and now I see that I'm not crazy, they really do work well. So there. I'm not all that into Rose/Scorpius, but their snark works together beautifully here. I nearly snorted out loud at the dialogue.

This was just so cute, and I really enjoyed seeing Albus floundering in all of his ridiculous excuses. I like the message you're sending, too -- you don't need to make excuses, just be who you are and say what you feel and everybody will just have to respect that and leave it alone. The ending was a little abrupt for my taste, but otherwise, this flowed wonderfully and was lovely from start to finish.

Great job! I really should spend more time over here. You're very talented and you definitely deserved to win my challenge. I hope you enjoy all of your prize reviews :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Oh, I am so, so glad you like this! I actually had this sitting around on my hard drive for awhile but I was a little unsure about it, so I never got around to posting it. Having you tell me that you like it makes me feel a lot more confident. :)

Albus really can be written a lot of ways, can't he? When I started writing him (which was actually in Curiosity is Not a Sin, my first fic ever), I'd read enough Rose/Scorpius fics to know that generally, either Albus and Scorpius are in Slytherin together and are best friends, or Albus is in Gryffindor and they hate each other. I always saw Albus as a Gryffindor without a manipulative bone in his body (who was nearly hatstalled because of his Hufflepuff tendencies), but I also always saw him as someone who was almost relentlessly openminded and accepting. (In part because I knew I wanted Rose, James, and Roxanne to be the opposite.) So I split the difference, because Albus and Scorpius being friends is a cliche I like, too. :P I'm really pleased that it worked for you.

I am also really, really glad that you liked Scorpius - you are one of my two favourite Slytherins on the site, so your opinion of my Slytherin characters means a lot to me. (Also in general, but you knew that.) Scorpius is one of the next-gens I think I've done the best job with, so when people like him, I always feel very happy. (Also, I love writing him, so he keeps finding his way into stories that aren't actually about him.)

(I am also happy that you like Rose, of course.)

I definitely know what you mean about the ending - when I get a chance, I'll look it over and try to smooth it out a little.

I am so sorry it's taken me so long to answer this. Thank you for your reviews. You are awesome.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Cavell Albus Potter and the Worst Excuses Ever

19th February 2012:
Aww, this was so sweet! I loved Albus and his incredible awkwardness, though I wished he said yes to Claire - I liked her better than all of the other girls. You're a brilliant writer, and deserve more reviews, especially on this story. Although, in your last line, you mentioned someone named Caitlin, but there doesn't seem to be anyone named Caitlin in the story. Who is she? And I honestly liked this story so much, I wish it was longer!

Author's Response: Oh, Claire. I enjoy Claire. She's also a character in my monster Rose/Scorpius novel who comes up a few times in later chapters, and she's so much fun to write.

Caitlin was one of the sections I actually ended up cutting out because I didn't really feel like it added much to the story. I missed the mention at the end, though - I'll go back and fix it. :)

I'm glad you enjoyed this so much! Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by BlameItOnTheNargles  Albus Potter and the Worst Excuses Ever

11th February 2012:
Albus is so cute! That is exactly how I would imagine him being so awkward with girls and making up terrible excuses.
I think it was better that you did put it into a one-shot than a load of mini chapters!
So did Al ever find someone? Or did he actually get Bridgit?
I would love to find out more about Bridgit as you don't actually find out much about her in the story apart from she is older and has a great smile haha! :D
Anyway a great one-shot.

~BlameItOnTheNargles

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. :) I really appreciate it!

I like to think that Al did eventually get Bridget - I might write a one-shot about it at some point.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Loopy456 Albus Potter and the Worst Excuses Ever

10th February 2012:
Hehe, I am loving socially awkward Albus. He's so cute. Of course fifteen is too young to have a girlfriend..! I wish there was going to be more of this... but it is a also nice as a one shot :)

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! :)

I actually originally made it a chaptered story, but then decided it worked better as a one-shot. The edited version is in the queue right now - check back in the next few days for more, because what I've edited in will make this about 6600 words. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by AlbusPotter123456789123456789 Albus Potter and the Worst Excuses Ever

8th February 2012:
Great chapter. It's going to be really great once it gets going . One suggestion though, could you make your chapter a bit longer. I mean keep the readers know their going to get something good when you update.

Author's Response: Thank you you for your review! :)

I actually decided to edit it so that it was a one-shot rather than a chaptered fic - the entire thing should be updated in the next day or two, if you're interested. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login