Reading Reviews for Growing Up Magical
  
214 Reviews Found

Review #1, by H Epilogue

30th April 2014:
Loved this story way too much:)
One thing! I don't know if it was delibrate but you mentioned all the people in previous chapters bar Oliver and Cedric:(
Great end though!

 Report Review

Review #2, by H Seamus

30th April 2014:
Poor Johnny. That must have been a BIT of a shock:) I loved this chapter as well, shame Seamus didn't get a bigger part in the books:(

 Report Review

Review #3, by H Harry

30th April 2014:
I love little Harry! He's so well written and I adore the idea that he had his own place to go when Dudders and co came after him:) the tree is very clever, perhaps a kinder whomping willow, or just Harry's own magic? Either way, vv well done

 Report Review

Review #4, by H Cedric

30th April 2014:
Cedric:) why do you die:'( another gr8 chapter, I love the style :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by H Hermione

30th April 2014:
Aww cute:) she sounds kinda like me as well:)

 Report Review

Review #6, by H Draco

30th April 2014:
I love you little Draco;) he's so cute I just want to hug him:3!

 Report Review

Review #7, by H Luna

30th April 2014:
Luna is the best character, and this is amazing:D you've written her perfectly, and I love the idea that her imagination is not always so wide:) brilliant chapter!

 Report Review

Review #8, by H Colin

30th April 2014:
Adorable! It's so cute:) this is totally how I imagine Colin, shame he had to die:'(

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ms Longbottom Epilogue

9th November 2013:
I know you said that you're done with 'Growing Up' storys, but this is just a suggestion. You could do one with the new gen! I would love to see this, and I'm sure I'm not the only one! And, knowing you, you'll be amazing at bringing them to life! I hope you'll take it into consideration. ~Ms Longbottom~

Author's Response: That's a suggestion I've had many times before -- it's actually something I considered doing before writing this particular pre-Hogwarts collection. :) I'm not very confident in next generation, and I do think I'm done with the "Growing Up" series, but I'll never say never! It is duly noted that you're interested, and I'm flattered you think I would do a good job with that as well. ♥

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by lovemesomethinSirius Seamus

5th September 2013:
Ahhh, baby Seamus is so stinkin' cuuute!!! Honestly, I'm torn on my "favorite" out of these short stories, but little Seamus vies for top spot! You did an amazing job capturing their personalities!

Author's Response: Seamus! His story was a lot of fun to write -- well, they all were. :) I'd be hard pressed to pick a favorite, actually! Maybe Neville, but there are bits and pieces from each that I love. I did a collection about the little Weasleys, too (on the second page of my author page) and I actually had more fun writing those, if you can believe it! Weasleys. I can't get enough of them. ♥

Thank you for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ron 4 Hermione Neville

17th July 2013:
Aww, poor Neville! I doubt his Uncle means any harm but I suppose Neville can't help being terrified, and you got that across perfectly. Him trying to distract him, and not be alone with him, but alas, it didn't work. Thank god he was alright, I know we've heard this tale in the book but there was still a moment of terror when he dropped and Neville was thinking about dying!

I love how you portrayed Augusta, strict but caring. From noticing the missing sugar cube to then bursting into tears when she found out Neville had magic in him, it was great.

I love the idea of this though, can't wait to see what else you write about! You've did a great job with this one! :)

Author's Response: Neville was so much fun to write in this collection -- so endearing. I couldn't help but love his wee self. :) There was something innocent and trusting about him, even though clearly Great-Uncle Algie is someone not to be trusted, and we should all be very grateful that Neville bounced!

Augusta was tons of fun, too, and reading over this review makes me want to write more about Neville and his grandmother. ♥ I'm glad you liked her!

Thank you for reviewing this for me! It was unexpected and so appreciated, and I'm so pleased you enjoyed it. I hope you return to look at the other stories too!


 Report Review

Review #12, by oneday_miracle Oliver

20th June 2013:
stop. just stop. I love Oliver so much and my feels are now out of control. this was so adorable! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed it! I love Oliver -- I'm so happy you thought that his story was adorable. :) Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #13, by tubicans Neville

11th May 2013:
This was great!

so Neville controls his emotions so well, that he never really gets a chance to accidentally spew magic. at least thats how I took it.

That summed up Neville very well.

I always try to add a bit of constructive criticism, here it is: Neville is hanging from a window by a guy who will probably drop him. Shouldn't he be screaming right now? He's so calm!

Author's Response: Neville's "early" magic is purely accidental, which somewhat makes sense for him. I get the feeling that if he'd consciously tried to do magic at all, he wouldn't have been able to achieve it. He comes into his own by the end of the series, certainly, but I have a soft spot for bumbling, befuddled early-book Neville. ♥

He is quite calm, isn't he? :P I'm rather under the impression that he's in shock!

Thank you for reviewing! This and your other reviews really have served to make my entire day, and again, I'm very sorry it took me so long to respond to them. I seriously am so happy you reviewed in the first place!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Kc Neville

17th February 2013:
Loved it. Neville is just right.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for your comment about Neville, too. :) Hope to see more from you soon! Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by FriendofMolly Epilogue

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
A perfect ending and beginning. I will mention that you left Victoire off the list of cousins that James will have around. For Harry it was the send off he never got, well until he had Sirius in his life. A bit too late. But your whole story was very canon. Thank You.
FoM

Author's Response: I am aware that Victoire is missing from the list; there are a few other cousins missing, too. Harry didn't provide his son with an extensive list. ;) I'm really flattered that you think the beginning and ending were "perfect," though! It was indeed the send-off Harry himself never got, and I think he would have tried that much harder to cement his kids in the magical world he never had, growing up.

I work very hard to make most, if not all, of my writing as canon as possible. And I'm just really pleased you saw that here. :) Honestly, all your reviews just really, really made my day, if not my week. I cannot tell you how grateful I am for your reviewing every single chapter, and in such a short space of time, too! Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by FriendofMolly Seamus

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley.
You have a perfect shot of Seamus as a tot. Of course he wanted a sparkler. It was so much like his Mams wooden stick that shot colors. I'd love to see what happen when she was forced to admit to her Hubby that she was a witch. All Seamus said that it was a bit of a surprise.

Author's Response: I'm happy that you enjoyed this story, too! I think out of all of these chapters, Seamus's was the most difficult to write, but I'm pleased with the end result. You should definitely think about writing a one-shot about his father discovering his mother was a witch, though -- that's really not a bad idea! I wonder if anyone's done that...

Well, what can I say that's not been said before? So glad you're enjoying the story, and even more glad you took the time to tell me so! ♥ Seriously fab!


 Report Review

Review #17, by FriendofMolly Harry

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
Bravo and a BIG Thank you. I always love reading when Harry thwarts Dudders. I wonder if some friend of Lily and James enchanted the tree just so Harry would have a bit of magic around him? Or perhaps this was Lily protecting Harry from the beyond! Coyld happen!
FoM

Author's Response: Harry will always thwart Dudley -- that's just how the world works! ;) It would have been hard, I think, to write a story about Harry's childhood and NOT include Dudley. I think the tree would have been a bit of accidental magic on Harry's part, much like him finding himself on the roof, or turning his teacher's wig a different color. It could have been Lily from the beyond, though! You never know!

Thank you, as always, for taking the time to review this chapter for me! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMolly Cedric

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
I found some irony in this chapter too. Amos "flicked" on the lights? That would indicate electricity. With a strong Magical presence electricity wouldn't work. Amos being in charge of Magical creatures, Ced should know his father would control them. Cedric was so talented Magically, he certainly was inventive when he didn't have a wand.
FoM

Author's Response: Ahh -- I think that's one of those Muggle sort of words that just crept into this chapter, isn't it? ;) Then again, one could "flick" their wand to turn on the lights... I'll probably leave it, for laziness if nothing else, but you're quite an astute reviewer, pointing that out! I loved writing little Cedric battling a monster under his bed, though, and you're right: He certainly was quite inventive. :)

So glad that you liked this chapter, too, and I just have to tell you again how much your reviews mean to me! ♥ You are awesome!


 Report Review

Review #19, by FriendofMolly Hermione

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
Oh Yeah,I can see Hermione doing just this. She's being a bit bossy, no surprise there. If only she hadn't held her temper in check so long, she would have decked Draco that much sooner. It's funny how when she first hit a muggle boy it was with magic. The first time she hit a wizard it was with physical force. Irony!
FoM

Author's Response: I said this in an earlier response on this chapter, but I think a lot of readers and writers identify a lot with Hermione -- I used a lot of my own memories in writing this particular chapter! There is definite evidence here of what she does to Draco in the future. ;) And I love that parallel between the magical/physical force! Brilliant!

Thank you for your review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by FriendofMolly Oliver

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
I think you came up with the best idea for Oliver. It was more than his Dads poor eyesight that led them outside the lockerroom. Perfect!
FoM

Author's Response: I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed Oliver's chapter. :) Writing Quidditch has never been one of my strong points, but of course I'd decide to do a Quidditch-centric chapter here. It wasn't as bad as I anticipated, though! His extreme passion for the sport is great for me, though, just because... I don't know. It's a very honest thing, that obsession, and I admire it.

I honestly cannot thank you enough for doing this for me, though. Seriously -- it means a LOT. So glad you're enjoying the story thus far!


 Report Review

Review #21, by FriendofMolly Draco

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
Draco sure didn't change much. He defied authority all his life. Of course every kid wanted to sneak into their parents parties, you'd think he'd have a little more stealth.
FoM

Author's Response: Draco really didn't change much! I do like to think that these stories are as canon compliant as I could make them (although I do realize I've got a massive bias to that end), and I think he really might have been like this, before his family's views on blood purity really had opportunity to imprint themselves so firmly in his mind. Stealth is, to be sure, not one of his strong points... Not here, at least!

Thank you, once again, for your amazing string of reviews on this story! I really am very, very appreciative! ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by FriendofMolly Luna

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
I think you did a perfect job with this chapter. I think perhaps Luna and Ginny met sometime after her Mum was killed. So of course her friend would be her shadow and her Mum. Brilliant name for the shadow!
FoM

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked this chapter! I love writing Luna, and this chapter was a lot of fun, seeing as how I had my share of imaginary friends in childhood. And I love the name Dandelion for a shadow, too! Luna seems very much the sort of person who's have a shadow friend, don't you think?

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! :3


 Report Review

Review #23, by FriendofMolly Colin

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
I, thank you for including the Muggleborns. They have the most excellent reactions. So I'm guessing both boys added a little magic to the day. Sweet!
FoM

Author's Response: Of course I include the Muggle-borns! I made a point with Colin, Hermione, and Harry (who, of course, didn't grow up in the magical world) to include little magical elements inside the chapter. Growing up with MAGIC, and all that, yeah? :D The boys did indeed add a little magic to the day!

And while I'm thinking about it: Honestly, it just means so much to me that you took the time to review every single chapter in this story. Not a lot of people do that, and it means more to me than I can type here. ♥ Thank you so much!!


 Report Review

Review #24, by FriendofMolly Neville

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
I learned of you through another author. I am intrigued. JKR gave us hints of the growing years of the principle characters. I'm glad you have expounded upon them. So for, so very good.
FoM

Author's Response: That is fantastic! I love it when people tell me they found my name through someone else -- that just really makes me feel good about my writing. :) I think a lot of why I wanted to write these growing-up stories is because of those hints of JKR's you mentioned.

Thank you for taking the time to review for me, and I'm looking forward to hearing your opinions on all the other chapters, too!


 Report Review

Review #25, by prettywishes Epilogue

23rd November 2012:
Eeeek! This was the perfect way to wrap everything up. I really wasn't sure what you were going to do to link all of these together, but the last thing that I expected was for it to be when they were older sending their own kids off to school! The little comments that were linked throughout the story really pulled everything together, so kudos on that! Also, I adored the way that you wrote James! His fear about going off to school was so genuine and you captured the moment really well!

Author's Response: For both this and GUW, the epilogues were some of my favorite chapters to write (though I realize I probably have said that at least once about every chapter), because tying everything together was like a really fun puzzle. And I liked them especially because I intentionally wrote them without any sense of finality -- in each, there's a bit of a carrying on theme, that childhood and growing up in this magical world will go on forever. And I'm really happy to hear you liked James, too! I'm not normally a fan of the next generation, but I'll make some exceptions where wee kids are involved. ;)

Seriously. I cannot even begin to tell you how much I appreciate all these reviews you've left for me -- and not just on this story, but on all the ones you've stopped by recently. It seriously is so amazing of you to do that, and I hope you know that. ♥ Thank you so, so much!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>