Reading Reviews for New Beginnings
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BLONDEbehaviour The Letter Arrives

9th September 2013:
Hi there! Blondie here with your requested review :)

This sounds like it can be an interesting story! I think you have started it well, and it gives an air of mystery around Kai, as we are yet to know more about him, which is exciting!

I like how he seems to have been a muggleborn, and I'm interested in knowing how his moth handles this significant change in her son, as it is something that is not really touched on, so that would be interesting to see.

Something that I think you could improve on if you liked is the description, both character and imagery-wise. So the readers can get a feel and image of the place and Kai's thoughts and involve themselves more in the story :)

When it comes to grammar and such I did see a few mistakes, but just having a read through (reading out loud helps a lot) will fix those easy as :)

I like how you portrayed Neville! Seemed very like him, so no problems there :)


Feel free to re-request for chapter, Its a great start, well done!!

Please respond to this review, thanks :)

Grace

Author's Response: Hi BLONDEbehaviour thanks for the review I am very pleased that you thought that I got Neville right. Thanks for the tips as well!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Half Raven Prince Denial

28th February 2012:
great story hope to see more soon

Author's Response: Hi Thank you for your review:) I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Sheriff The First Day

23rd February 2012:
I think the concept and ideas here are really well thought out and quite intelligently realised, but this chapter really, really needs proof-reading from the first sentence onwards.

That first sentence has 81 words without any punctuation of any kind, and that makes it very difficult to read and follow. The same applies to the directed speech later in the chapter; punctuation is essential for clarity in your work and it often needed re-reads to tell who was speaking here.

New speaker = New paragraph. Always!

Author's Response: Hello Sheriff I'm sorry about the grammer and when my beta catches up it will be much better in grammer and punctuation throughout the story. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #4, by magicmuggle01 Denial

12th February 2012:
Wow. Kai certainly let rip with the demand to change house. I don't think that McGonagall has ever been spoken to before like that. And Anton sounds like another Filch. 10/10 and plz update soon.

Author's Response: Hi:) I hoped you enjoyed this chapter and I hope I got McGonagall's reaction right and I will update as soon as my beta catches up with the story. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #5, by magicmuggle01 The First Day

12th February 2012:
Nice chapter. I wonder if you'll somehow have Albus and kai as friends, which in turn (in a way) will kind of unite two houses. 9/10

Author's Response: Hi :) thank you for reviewing and giving 9/10. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Lizzfizz The Blackened Hat

30th January 2012:
Awesome descrition, As well As it being detailed it also talks about Things almost like it is from Kai's perspective. It makes me feel As if i'm there at Hogwarts As well:)
I loved the idea of portholes in the slytherin dorm to See in the Lake :)
Really enjoyed Reading this :D

Author's Response: HI I'm glad I got the detail right that was a challenge for me and for it too make someone feel like their at Hogwarts is a real achivment for me. I also liked the porthole idea if I do say so myself :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Lizzfizz The Train

30th January 2012:
You have charactierised an eleven year soon to be Hogwarts student really well and his mother. :) teehee I hope they pull more pranks on Scorpius >:)
looking forward to Reading more :D

Author's Response: Hi :) I am glad that I got characterization right for both Kai and his mum. I like you enjoyed the prank :D. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Lizzfizz Diagon Alley

30th January 2012:
Hi again,
Yay! I love Diagon Alley. Your description of them apparating was really amazing, you described it really well and I like the idea of Neville almost throwing up after that because I can so imagine that happening. Also liked that Neville wouldn't tell him much about Hogwarts which was nice, I can see why he would do that so it is even more magical for Kai.
Thw wand, hmm I really want to know what Ollivander meant when he said Yet or course, especially as he is muggle-born. Also I have the feeling that Scorpius Mafloy will be a bit of an enemy to Kai. I like how you have potrayed him, very like Draco in both looks and mind. Looking forward to seeig what happens at Hogwarts :)

Author's Response: Hi, again a great review thank you so much for liking my ideas and I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lizzfizz The Letter Arrives

30th January 2012:
Heya, ahh that was really fun to read. I think you all the reactions that people would have spot-on. You 've captured the birthday very well. Nice questions, maybe a little obvious but then when you already know the answers it does make the questions seem simple and obvious. While it is a simple start, I quite like it because it makes me want to read what will happen to Kai. Good start :)

Author's Response: Hi Lizzfizz thank you for your positive review especially the reactions. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #10, by magicmuggle01 The Blackened Hat

29th January 2012:
Well that sorting took me totally by surprise. I actually gasped with shock when you placed Kai in Slytherin. Now I find myself wondering what other surprises you have in store for your readers. 10/10 and plz update soon.

Author's Response: Hi I'm am very happily surprised with the fact you gasped with shock. WOW thank you for your perfect 10/10. I will update as soon as possible.

 Report Review

Review #11, by magicmuggle01 The Train

29th January 2012:
I have a funny feeling that Kai and Scorpy are going to be enemies. Another good chapter. 9/10 and moving on.

Author's Response: Wow another 9/10 thank you. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story

 Report Review

Review #12, by magicmuggle01 Diagon Alley

29th January 2012:
I do like the wand choosing part of going to Diagon Alley. Another good chapter and 9/10. Must move on.

Author's Response: Hello another 9/10 thank you very much :) glad to have got the wand choosing part to somebody's liking.

 Report Review

Review #13, by magicmuggle01 The Letter Arrives

29th January 2012:
Sounds excellent. I like stories where people find out their magical for the first time. I must move on so 9/10 for your opener.

Author's Response: Hello thank you for 9/10 I hope it stays entertaning for you.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Sheriff The Blackened Hat

19th January 2012:
A big improvement on the last chapter (which needs a proof-read, and re-submitting) in terms of grammar and syntax - well done for taking that on board (and to your beta reader). The only significant thing I noticed was something of a lack of commas, moreso later in the chapter and particularly around reported speech. Every instance where a sentence leads into speechmarks needs punctuation.

Otherwise, well done - the plot's advancing and you're set up to take your story in your own direction - the Albus/Kai/Scorpius dynamic has potential. Having done "mudbloods in Slytherin" in my last fic, it'll be interesting to see what you do with it. I'd like to see a little more body language and emotion, just to explain their actions, and give a little more character depth. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Hi Sheriff thanks for reviewing. I'm glad I got the grammer and syntax right this time. Sorry for the lack of commas. I will mention more emotion and body language in the future. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #15, by SilentConfession Diagon Alley

15th January 2012:
Hi, i'm here for your review request

So you have a nice chapter here, it's still has a good balance between dialogue and narrative. You're style of describing things is very simple, which makes your work very readable and enjoyable to read. I like the style of this, it reminds me a bit of JKR herself.

As i'm reading this, i'm really unsure of Kai, mostly because i don't really know what to make of him. He seems a bit bratty and aloof at times, but than others he acts in different ways. Also how would he know that was a wizard name?

I feel like Neville wouldn't have gotten annoyed, i mean, if he does this with all the new first year muggle born, than he'd be used to and even open to the questions. Or, is there something especially annoying about Kai? If there is, i'd suggest showing it because, to me at least, simply asking questions about a world you know nothing about isn't annoying. Which makes me think of why his mother didn't go with him, isn't that what they typically do? Think of Hermione's parents, they were always with her in Diagon Alley, if she's such an overprotective mother, i think she would have insisted on going to keep him safe.

It would have been really great to see some of Kai's reaction to the magic as well, he's never seen it before, i'd have thought he'd be a little more awestruck by seeing the tape measure measuring him or these people with the long robes. I feel like if we had some of his perspective on things, it would make the story more alluring, i have read stories that come from no one's perspective, and they are great, but it seems that in the style you're writing, that would be beneficial.

I like however that you seem to be foreshadowing his house? He seems inquisitive and questioning everything so are you showing his place in Ravenclaw?

Would Ollivander still be alive? He was ancient already in Harry's era and even if he's a famous wand maker, it doesn't mean he lives forever.

Generally you have a nice start here and i think your plot is slowly unfolding now into this chapter. I'm curious about the conflict that will push this story further and i wonder what is in store for Kai. Thanks for requesting me.

Author's Response: Hello omg I can't believe I remind you of JKR that is such a complement to me thanks. I will aim to put more detail in and everything else you have mentioned. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #16, by HarryPotterGeek The Train

14th January 2012:
I LOVE this story so far!

Author's Response: Yay at least I know someone loves my story I hope you review the rest of my story chapters. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #17, by HarryPotterGeek Diagon Alley

14th January 2012:
Awesome! Keep writting! I cant wait until the next chapter!

Author's Response: Cheers for saying my story is awesome I will indeed keep posting my chapters. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #18, by HarryPotterGeek The Letter Arrives

14th January 2012:
This looks like its going to be a great story

Author's Response: Thanks for thinking this is going to be a great story. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Beeezie The Letter Arrives

10th January 2012:
Hey this is Beeezie, here with your (delayed) review!

I think that this story has a lot of promise. I think I've only ever read one other story about a muggleborn on their eleventh birthday getting a letter from Hogwarts, but I really love the concept and think that it's a great way to start a story. I think that you have the beginnings of a really good story here - but I also think that there are some issues that you might want to consider looking at, because right now I think that they're dragging the story down.

First off, I noticed a few mechanical errors. You didn't always capitalize the word at the beginning of a sentence ("now" in the third paragraph and "when" in the fifth, for example), and you sometimes capitalized words that you didn't have to ("birthday" in the first paragraph, for example - as it is not a proper noun, it really shouldn't be capitalized). Additionally, you occasionally had issues with punctuation and dialogue formatting - there's a great article about dialogue formatting in the Grammar Guidelines section of the forums if you need a refresher, and it's really helpful. :)

I also thought that there were points where you overused adjectives and/or verbs, which made some of your descriptions fall a little flat. A few examples of this are "clear mock annoyance" (third paragraph), "said Mum with a sigh and a shake of her head, smiling exasperatedly" (seventh paragraph), and "Mum said teasingly with a frown and a very annoyed voice" (ninth paragraph). Squishing all of that together tends to just come across as awkward, especially when it's not really clear what the person is feeling.

I'd cut some of the words out entirely (for example, I don't think that you need "clear" in the third paragraph - it just weighs down the sentence without adding anything to it) and split others up (for example, in the tenth paragraph, I think you could have slowed down a little and described one thing at a time, rather than sticking it all together, so it might have read instead, "The boy sighed and with his bowl of porridge in hand he went into the living room. The usual large amount of presents were wrapped in shiny blue wrapping paper, and they sat under a bright, glowing sapphire-blue banner that read, 'HAPPY 11th BIRTHDAY KAI'" - do you see the difference there? I didn't really change what you'd said, but I split it up a little, which really helps the flow, at least in my opinion).

I'm kind of of two minds about your narrative style. On one hand, I'm actually a huge fan of just jumping into a story rather than spending a lot of time on explicit introductions, because I feel like they usually come off as awkward without adding any useful or essential information. You have just jumped into the story, and you get across a lot of information without coming out and saying, "Kai is turning eleven today" or "Kai is spoiled" or "Kai's mother is energetic." That's a good thing, and a lot of people can't do that when they're first starting out.

However, I did wish that you'd had a more consistent narrator throughout - there were a few points where you showed Kai's thoughts, but other than that, the narration was just kind of impersonal and lacked something concrete to really tie it to the scene. That's not necessary - I've read great stories that aren't really told from anyone's pov - but for this kind of story, I think it really would have helped, particularly in the beginning. The first five or six paragraphs came off as a bit awkward - just inserting some of Kai's perspective would have helped that immensely. Rather than, "said a gleeful voice on a bright sunny day," you could have written, "Kai heard a gleeful voice say." Does that makes sense?

Again, I don't think that you should change the way you just jump into the story, because I think that that's great. I just think that restructuring a few of your descriptions so that they included more of Kai's perspective would have helped strengthen the story and make me more invested in his character as a reader.

Author's Response: Thank you Beeezie for your very and long review I hope that my story does hold promise in your's and other people's views I am pleased with your feedback and I will aim to improve what you have mentioned. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story

 Report Review

Review #20, by Sheriff Diagon Alley

6th January 2012:
Hey there.

Anything with the word "Slytherin" in usually catches my attention, so you can thank your username for this review! I think you've got a good starting point here, and a lot of the excerpts do feel authentically similar to JKR's original text - I particularly like the example of "teletration" in this chapter. The spelling and grammar seem generally good - I've not noticed anything that's stuck out (but that might be because it's 1.24am and I should have gone to bed some time ago).

Anyway, a couple of points that I'd suggest you target in the upcoming chapters are the pace of the plot and (linked with it) the development of the characters.

I'm not sure exactly what to make of Kai at the moment - a couple of things have made him come across as slightly arrogant/aloof/cold, but other sentences (namely the exchange with Malfoy) have hinted that this isn't the case. From my perspective, it's been difficult to tell as important events have happened "off camera" - such as what exactly happened after his mum came around on the day he received his letter. How did Mum react? What are Kai's emotions doing at the moment? I'm interested in what happens to him... but I'm not on his side yet.

I feel this is all summed up in the last sentence: "Kai with the smuggest face that is remotely possible got even smugger and was so ready to gloat about this later." It strikes me as a little rushed, and the language/syntax becomes a little childish - that's fine when it's an 11yo speaking, but not so good in the narrative voice. Hope this makes sense - I'll keep reading and I look forwards to the next bit: bringing a new OC to Hogwarts is a great opportunity for writing!

Sheriff

Author's Response: Hi Sheriff this is my first review of my second chapter (Thanks!) and I am happy with it. Sorry if I missed any events that you would like to know more about and if the syntax and language seemed childish in the narration. I will aim to improve what else you have mentioned. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #21, by SilentConfession The Letter Arrives

6th January 2012:
Hi, i'm here for your requested review!

Okay so i really liked the mother's reaction to getting the letter and it's how i imagine how some people might react to having this person with crazy robes come into my home. It all just seemed really shifty how he wanted to come into the house. I'd honestly be scared out of my wits if that happened to me. And then to say that magic exists. It would be rather surreal and unbelievable honestly. So i think you captured that well. Also it was nice seeing how getting the letter might be for a regular family and how they might react to this.

I think you have a pretty good balance between description and dialogue which is great because not many new ff writers can get that balance and it's even hard for some older and more seasoned writers so honestly, great job! One thing I'd point out is that there are more effective ways at describing characters than putting it into a blocky paragraph. You did great in that it wasn't a large and long drawn out paragraph about every last detail about your character but was quick and to the point. But if you drop the characters appearance in as the story goes along, it makes a more interesting read. For example, as hes getting up, have him ruffle his long dark hair. Or blink the sleep out of his hazel eyes. Something like that.

I can't comment too much on characterization since this is the first chapter. He seems, at this point, a bit like someone a little disdainful and ungrateful with the way he approached his presents. Perhaps it was because he and his mum don't have the greatest relationship. I think the way he reacted to things seemed like he was resentful of her, which i think would have fit with a 14 or 15 yr old teen who doesn't want to have anything to do with their parents. Again though, this is so early on in the story i can't comment too much on him.

Neville seems to be pretty well written as well. I liked that he seemed to sort of forget to tell him some things like the houses and was more like 'this is what it is' without explaining much. One part of me feels like he would explain the wizard thing a bit more and that he should be a bit clearer with his explanations. Another part of me liked the vagueness. Although, i don't think he would say you need to wait and find out, i think he'd be ready to answer all the questions. Or at the very least give an idea of what is being taught there. If you find a balance between vague and detail I think it would be great.

You have a few grammar issues here and there, i'd suggest a beta, they are wonderful creatures :D I always get beta's for my stories it's so nice to have a second pair of eyes. Also, make sure that every sentence you write means exactly what you mean for it to say. I was a little confused with a few sentences, for one, when his mum said teasingly with a frown and a very annoyed voice. I think i understood what you were trying to say, that she tried to make it sound light and funny but she was really irritated that he wasn't excited about his present and was being a right pest about it. But it was just worded really awkwardly.

Would Slughorn and McGonagall still be working at Hogwarts? Wizards are still people and they don't last forever.

I do think you have a great start here, especially for a first chapter for your first hp story. I hope you don't get disheartened with anything i've said, you really do have a good start here and everything i've said is simply my opinion. Thank you for requesting me :D

Author's Response: Hi I am pleased with the fact that I got the description and dialogue right. I will get a beta soon so that will help with the grammer. I am so happy with this review and I will aim to improve what you have mentioned. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Cassius Alcinder The Letter Arrives

3rd January 2012:
Hey its me from the forums with your requested review. Congrats on posting your first story, its definetely an exciting feeling.

I think you're off to a good start so far. You did a good job of showing a new student getting his Hogwarts letter, it incorported a lot of what we know from the process from the books, but it was nice to see what its like with a normal family instead of the Dursleys.

I enjoyed your portrayal of Neville, I picture him really enjoying his job as a professor, and he would definetley stick out in the muggle world.

I'm guessing from your pen name that Kai will end up in Slytherin, but I'm curious to know if that's true or not!

Author's Response: Hello Cassius I am happy someone thinks I got Nevelle right I had a little difficulty writing him. And I strive to stick to the books as much as possible so I'm glad I got that right. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #23, by academica The Letter Arrives

31st December 2011:
Hey! I thought I'd stop by and see what you'd written :)

First of all, congrats on publishing the first chapter of your first story! That can be a very exciting and very scary experience!

This was a pretty good first chapter. Was the blue and bronze wrapping paper a hint that Kai will end up in Ravenclaw? If so, that was great foreshadowing :) I also thought you did a good job with Kai and his mother reacting to Neville's presence. It was amusing to read Kai's inner monologue.

As far as critiques, I can offer a couple of small ones. One is that I feel like both Slughorn and McGonagall would be really, really old to still be teaching at Hogwarts. I think JKR said that McGonagall was done by the time Harry's children came to Hogwarts, and remember, Slughorn taught back when Tom Riddle was a student, and wizards can only be so old, you know? The other thing is just to remind you to proofread a little bit more carefully before posting next time. There are a few places where it feels like the flow of the story is interrupted by awkward phrasing or wording. If you find that you really struggle with it, you can always get a beta reader from the forums to check it out. They're super helpful! :)

Very nice job! Good luck with chapter two!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hello thanks for reviewing you are right I was indeed nervous about publishing my first chapter. I did'nt know that McGonagall might of been done by this time. I will aim to improve the awkward phrsaing or wording I will resume posting when the queue re-opens. I hope you enjoy the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #24, by accioHPFF The Letter Arrives

30th December 2011:
Hey!

First story? This was pretty good. I abandoned mine after one chapter, I'm terrible I know. This was really good, I mean, you've got the start of a really good story here.

You've also followed everything the book tells us, which is obviously great. You've got Longbottom as a teacher, and you've even gone as far as to use the letter from the book, which is great.

The only thing, and it's nothing major, is that this has a few mistakes. I'm a beta reader so I tend to look out for things like that because I'm used to doing it. But like I said, nothing major.

Hopefully, unlike me, we'll see an update when the queue re-opens :)

accioHPFF :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for your review. I will go over my chapters more so to remove mistakes and I am pleased that I am following the book correctly and I hope when the queue re-opens you will follow the rest of Kai's story.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Dramionie_Child The Letter Arrives

30th December 2011:
HEee ! ! !!

I was almost squealing; I love it when people get Hogwarts letters[I'm not a fun person to watch HPatPS with...;)]

I really liked the way you've balanced the description and speech [I'm real big on people getting that right] but I'd quite like to know about Kai's surroundings, becuase it builds up a better picture in my head.

The only bad point, for me, would be that he accepts things a bit too quickly. Most people[well, in my head] have a bit more of a denial towards these things. Apart from that, I loved it :)

Childy x

[I'm Hedwigs-hat on the forums!]

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for your review! I'm very happy with it! And I will aim to improve what you have mentioned. Thank you, I hope to have more reviews from you soon!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>