Reading Reviews for Legend of a Thousand Winters
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MusicOfTheNight Friendship

20th May 2012:
I really like this story! I've never read a founder's era fanfic before, but this one is good. I like your characterizations, they are very unique!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying it, that always means a lot. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Cassius Alcinder In the Glade

24th November 2011:
Back for Chapter 2!

This was a very interesting chapter that moved the plot forward very nicely. So far the story seems to be moving at just the right pace; there's a lot of developments, but you are adequately explaining them.

I enjoyed Salazar's introduction; he seems dark and mysterious, exactly how you would picture a typical slytherin.

The dialogue continues to be excellent and totally believable within the context of the era. The medieval fear of witchcraft was a very real thing and you have captured that very well. Your description of Scotland and how English people would view it as a mysterious unsettled place seemed totally accurate as well and fitting with the biases of the time (like in Braveheart).

This story has loads of potential, and i definetely enjoyed reading it so far. Feel free to re-request!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you think the pace is working, I know I have a habit of moving things along too fast once I get past the introduction.

Salazar, in particular, is going to be quite a different character to how he was portrayed in canon. Without giving too much away, there was some twisting of the facts in the early days of Hogwarts, meaning the established canon is quite different to what actually happened. However Salazar definitely does have a lot of the traditional Slytherin traits - the best lies always have an element of truth, after all.

Once again, I'm really pleased you think it's historically accurate. Coming from New Zealand, this is an unfamiliar era and country to me, and I've never studied it formally either. So to get confirmation that I'm doing it right really is comforting.

Thank you for the review, and I certainly intend to re-request once I have a few more chapters up :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Cassius Alcinder Flight

24th November 2011:
It's me from the forums here with your review!

This is actually the first founders's era story I've read, and I think its off to a relaly good start. You had some excellent descritions that really created the feel of the time and place and created a sense of mystery and foreboding.

As far as characterization, we don't really know a whole lot aside from the basic traits we associate with the houses, so I think you should have a lot of room to work with. Rowena seems totally believable so far.

I saw you were concerned with historical accuracy, luckily I'm a history major. Probably the biggest mistake people make with historical pieces is mentioning technologies or slang phrases that did not exist in that era, which you obviously did not do. I personally woulnd't nit pick over little things like "you said henry IV was king but it was actually Henry V" or things like that, and i doubt most people would either. You used a high level of vocabularly and dialogue that seemed to fit the era well, and you effectively captured attitudes that seem common for people of the time, particularly the fear of witches and magic.

You did a really good job of starting the action right away and leaving us wondering where she is fleeing to and what she might find. Great start, and I would definetely keep reading.

Author's Response: It's actually surprising how many people have said this is the first Founders they've read! I suppose it's flattering that a number of people are willing to read something they wouldn't normally read.

I'm really glad I've pulled off the setting well. It's my first time writing Founders and it's quite different to what I'd normally write, so I'm definitely pleased you think I've got it right. Especially as you're a history major, that confirmation really means a lot :)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ZiggyPotter Godric

23rd November 2011:
Hurry and continue this story, I await the next installment

Author's Response: Next chapter shouldn't be too far away hopefully, thanks for your interest :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Godric

21st November 2011:
I'm loving how you're incorporating each 'House'!
And I love the quick updates too! :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm enjoying the characterisation of each Founder as well, and the fast updates are a mark of how much I'm loving writing this story :P Check back in a couple of days, there should be a new chapter up soon!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Brigitte Malfoy Wood Flight

21st November 2011:
You write so well and I love your style and the language you use! I don't usually enjoy Founders but this is a good start, though vague. I haven't read the other chapters yet but a small description of Rowena would be helpful to your story. For example, describing her hair, eyes and other features would give the reader a better image. I love this story and will keep reading and favourite! Brigitte xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad I've gotten you interested in Founders, it's always a massive compliment to know someone's reading something they don't normally read. In response to your comment, I know I haven't described Rowena much - describing physical appearance isn't my strong point and I'm deathly afraid of overdoing it - but I will bear that in mind and try to slip in more details about what she looks like. Thank you and I hope you keep reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Sylvia le Shrimp Godric

21st November 2011:
Lisa, this story is AMAZING. I love how you've worked in each house, and put a good spin on Slytherin. A new perspective!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! The whole purpose of this story is to completely twist the accepted story of the Founders :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Tamara Godric

21st November 2011:
This chapter was absolutely amazing! your portrayal of Godric Gryffindor ties in really well with the way J.K Rowling has made him seem, despite the fact that your version of the story is different to what it really was. I love how you have put a lot of thought into the plot of the story, and how well you have made it tie in with the books. I assume Helga will just be one of those girls that follows Godric around like a bad smell and is unable to think for herself.
I'm extremely excited to read future chapters of this story :).
I'm pretty sure i've already said this, but you good sir, are a genius.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love these characters already, they're so much fun to write and I really enjoy putting a different angle on the Founders. I'm pretty excited to write future chapters of this story, so we're even! Thanks again :P

 Report Review

Review #9, by Tamara In the Glade

21st November 2011:
This was an amazing chapter. Salazar seems like a very brave character as far as I know and seems like he would have a lot of charm ;D.
Over all, amazing chapter and i'm really actually enjoying this story so far :).

Author's Response: Thank you! I love Salazar, I think he gets better and better as I write him :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Tamara Flight

21st November 2011:
This is the absolute perfect start to this story. Rowena making the decision to leave and start her own journey. I expected it to start with her having already met Salazar and the other founders, but this will definitely make the story a lot more interesting and give people a clear understanding on how they came to meet. I also think you are just a natural at writing and i've read actual books that are definitely not up to your level of writing. Over all, WELL. FREAKING. DONE.
By the way, do expect reviews from me on every single chapter of this story :D.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's definitely important to have Rowena's decision to leave, it reveals a lot about her character and besides, who can resist a nice midnight escape scene? :P Thank you for the review and I look forward to seeing more on the next chapter :P

 Report Review

Review #11, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap In the Glade

18th November 2011:
I feel like Founders is tricky to write because people find it extremely boring. I know I do that's why I never read fics based on that era. I like this because it's short chapters and it's quick. I know it's only the beginning and more is going to happen but you're not overloading me with information which I appreciate tremendously.

'My lady' sounds so weird in my head. I know they spoke like that and I'll get used to it but it just sounds odd. Haha. I'm sure if they could hear us speak they would say the same thing. Or me anyway because I'm American.

I was surprised that Salazar found her though. Oh! It'll be interesting to see how they start Hogwarts (once the others come into play -- unless that's not what you're going for).

 Report Review

Review #12, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Flight

18th November 2011:
I never read Founders so I'm surprised this caught my attention. The summary sounded really interesting and I was not dissapointed with this chapter. I actually am curious about Rowena so I'll keep reading! :D

Author's Response: I'm thrilled that you're venturing into Founders with this story! It's my first foray into this era as well, so we're even :P I'm glad Rowena's caught your attention, and I hope she holds it in future chapters :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login