Reading Reviews for The Satellite Heart
  
64 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Momo 7.

30th October 2014:
Slightly dissapointed with this ending tbh you had me so hooked and I feel like this could have been turned into a really interesting plot but you went with the easy way out... Your style is stunning though and so very entertaining.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Whiskey 7.

6th April 2014:
May I politely recommend reclassifying this story? Because it's currently listed under 'humor,' and with all due respect, this was probably the least funny story I've ever read. It was wonderfully interesting and a total mindf*ck, which I totally go in for, but as far as comedy, IT'S A TRAP.

 Report Review

Review #3, by theblacksisters 7.

27th January 2014:
I nearly cried. :' But I liked the ending. And the story.

 Report Review

Review #4, by theblacksisters 5.

27th January 2014:
So canon (ish) is a dream and the other stuff is real (maybe?). This is getting more confusing than I thought . . .

 Report Review

Review #5, by theblacksisters 4.

27th January 2014:
I love the dialogue-you write the ship very well, and the conversations are so funny.

 Report Review

Review #6, by theblacksisters 3.

27th January 2014:
This story is incredibly hooking. I can't wait to see how it turns out. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by theblacksisters 2.

27th January 2014:
I laughed so hard at the 'Minister Riddle' part - I have wondered about that happening in an AU. This is a fascinating fic: I'm really enjoying it! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by theblacksisters 1.

27th January 2014:
I don't usually read slash, but I saw this recommended in the 'original idea' thread in the forums. It's definitely something I'll be reading the rest of.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Back in Black 7.

15th September 2013:
OMG can't believe it ended! So so good, but dying to find out what actually happened next!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Izzie 7.

24th October 2012:
Wow, that was amazing.. Best story i've read in a while, very touching and just wow.. great

 Report Review

Review #11, by padfooot 7.

23rd September 2012:
OMG HOW COULD YOU? I WANT AN EXPLANATION OMG OMG OMG

i am dying here. ughhh

 Report Review

Review #12, by Indigo Seas 7.

23rd August 2012:
I cannot even begin to tell you how beautiful that was. I was sort of left at the end, looking down at my sheets and willing myself to say something clever and witty and maybe something that you'd remember for a little while, but I can't. Because I am struck with the utter gorgeousness of what you have succeeded in writing.

I hardly ever go through stories like I just did this one. I'll read a chapter or two, then come back. But this was so interesting, so deep, so sincere. I just... I'm kind of a mumbling idiot over here because I have no idea what to say to you that could possibly convey how much I absolutely adored this story.

It's brilliant. And so are you.

xx Rin

 Report Review

Review #13, by hdawg 7.

25th July 2012:
THE LAST CHAPTER :( NO. I am sad, but I have favourited the story so that I can read it over and over again. I just want to say, before I read the ending, thank you. Thank you for coming up with this wonderful piece of writing, for your amazing imagination, to Mel for convincing you to write it, to Rachel to betaing, and to Julia for recommending it to me.

You truly are a fantastic writer and I hope that you continue to write for many years. I am a huge fan of your work and I hope to be able to read and review some more (if not all, although that may be a mean feat that takes a while) of your stuff. And now onto the last chapter...

Your quotes are beautiful. I think I'll write them down just to remember them, to look back on them and reflect. I might even start a dream diary, although I tried that once when I was 11 and I realised that I can't describe accurately, and that my dreams were insane.

Draco and I are alike in this respect: "Draco sulks and fiddles with the Muggle car radio, fighting Harry off so he can listen to the oldies station". The oldies are always the best (especially David Bowie, he's my man)

"He thinks: this one." Okay, this line is probably crazy simple, but could you explain it a bit to me? I'm a dunce, and the simple lines always catch me out. Come to think of it, the complex ones do too. I'm just a dunce all round.

Oh no Harry has stopped eating. If he's stopped, does that mean he stays in his dream world forever because, well, he can't wake up without food? I don't know whether I'm just trying to make things fit, but I want them to. I want them to so badly.

NO. IF YOU KNEW HOW HARD I WAS TYPING, YOU WOULD UNDERSTAND THE EMOTIONS I AM FEELING. WHY WOULD YOU MAKE THEM CRASH? AND ALL BECAUSE OF SOME (delicious) PASTRIES? ;_;

I cannot describe my emotions right now.

I want to procrastinate for a moment. Bear with me. So Harry collapsed in reality (without Draco) and was dying for lack of food. And Harry and Draco were hit by a truck in the dream (or what I hope is reality). And then Harry dies in the real world, to be pulled into the dreamworld, but then dies in that as well? Please let me know or I will be filled with these emotions for so long and I won't be able to read another fic with Draco in without thinking of his affinity for pastries and his awful cooking skills :(

This fic is beautiful. It's like Inception, Source Code, The Matrix and Memento all rolled into one. It not only captures the question of what is real and what isn't real, but also the true feelings of love and loss. You not only make Harry seem like Harry, but you make him your own which is something that has to be congratulated.

Your Draco is beautiful. Beautiful in a way that I never thought I could think of him as being. You have added a whole new side to him that I hope (I hope so much) is there, or could have been there if it wasn't for Voldemort.

Annie, you are gifted. Truly, you are. This is one of the most thought-provoking and beautiful pieces of writing that I have ever read, that not only tells a love story, but also asks questions of the readers that I know have never been asked before. I am in awe of you. And I am beyond happiness knowing that you are my friend.

Lots of love,
Hannah

 Report Review

Review #14, by hdawg 6.

25th July 2012:
Your quote at the beginning has been swimming at the corners of my memory during the reading of this fic. This was the line that made me cry the first time I read the book because it just seemed to hit me in all the sore places. And this fic is doing the same (although I'm not crying...yet). I just hope it's an ending with catharsis (aka it's real, not a dream ;))

Ohmygosh the Dark Mark bit made my imagination run wild for a moment. I thought maybe things from reality and his dreams had crossed, like maybe there was a Voldemort but it didn't involve Harry or something. And then I read that Draco just had a normal tattoo and I was sad. You got me again!

Ahehe, this is so lovely and cocky, like the proper (happier) Draco: "There, written in between his wrist and elbow in elaborate calligraphy, are the words 'PROPERTY OF DRACO MALFOY'." And their relationship bliss is making me squee in jealousy. Don't try and take these happy feelings away from me!

"Harry tells himself that at least Draco is attracted to green eyes and dark hair and then absolutely refuses to try and figure out why that matters to him so much." This bit, just.this bit. You know what I'm trying to say, but I can't get it out right. I'm sorry.

"The hand-drawn words "PROPERTY OF D -" are peeking out from under his sleeve, the dark ink of the pen startlingly clear against the pale skin of his forearm." AH. WHY WOULD YOU SAY THIS. THE THOUGHTS ARE RUNNING THROUGH MY HEAD AGAIN. AH. "But Harry knows, without a doubt, that if he were to take a sample of Draco Malfoy's handwriting and compare it to the writing on his body, the two would be an exact match."

"And it isn't that Draco is mindblowingly attractive or anything." Lies. Pure lies again. I thought I'd told you to stop saying these things, Harry?

And Harry's little jealousy thing is so cute and real and I fel so many fels. Eugh Annie, you are bloody fantastic and I am so jealous and so wrapped up in your world that I don't want to stop reading but it's going to end soon :(

You handled the sex scene very well. At least I hope that was meant to be a sex scene or I am reading too much into their kissing. It was easy to read. These words that I am saying are all wrong, but you know what I mean. I could read it and not get cringed out. And that's a feat in itself, because I get cringed out by the simplest of things, like people singing. Yeah.

"Harry wishes he could wake up here every morning for the rest of his life. " MY HEART ;_; WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO ME?

Only one chapter to go and I am too sad for this just to be a story, and possibly not even real :'(

 Report Review

Review #15, by hdawg 5.

25th July 2012:
I read your A/N before the actual chapter, and have to say that HARRY IS NOT DELUSIONAL. THIS IS REAL LIFE. I WILL REMAIN ON THIS SHIP UNTIL THE END. I AM THE CAPTAIN OF THIS SHIP (lies, that's mel). THIS IS REAL I TELL YOU. Anyway, onwards with this wonderful piece of writing.

And aw Harry, buying the scones for Draco. That whole paragraph made me hopeful and sad at the same time. Why can't his dreams be reality too? And does Draco dream these things as well? I hope he does and they're both meeting in these dreams together, unaware that the other knows it's not real...or is it?

"Yes. You look like you're in love," she smiles" YEAH HE IS! AWO~

This is so deep and hits on the core of the story (I feel. You as author can debate me and squash me like a bug, but this is what I have been trying to say when I talk about reality and dreams in my other reviews, but you being wonderful hit it on the head so easily): "suddenly Harry is sad for her. What if she's missing out on the person she's supposed to be with because he doesn't exist here? Did it even work like that?"

Harry has nightmares within his dreams? Or is it that every time he wakes up it's from the 'nightmare' of his own reality? And the only safety he feels is within this haven he's built for himself in his head, in which everything is the opposite of what it is in real life? Okay, you kind of answered my questions: "Those dreams...they sound a lot like his life during the war."

YES! "Is it really such a stretch to think that maybe this whole thing isn't as much of a dream as he has always told himself?/What if this is real and the life he always remembered living is all in his head?" This is such a mindfuck but this is brilliant. A proper Inception/Memento piece. Christopher Nolan would be proud.

"no matter how angry they get, there's a mutual understanding that chocolate and gifts can fix just about anything." There is nothing in the world more important to marital/relationship bliss than chocolate/alcohol.

STOP MESSING WITH MY MIND AND MY EMOTIONS ANNIE! THIS IS BRILL AND I WANT IT TO BE REAL AND I AM SAD THAT IT MIGHT NOT BE AND THAT I ONLY HAVE TWO CHAPTERS LEFT. ARE YOU SURE YOU'RE NOT CHRISTOPHER NOLAN?

 Report Review

Review #16, by hdawg 4.

25th July 2012:
Half-way through and still completely caught up in your writing. I don't want it to end and I wish it was real :(

Harry's starting to sound like Cobb in 'Inception' - not wanting to wake up because the reality in his head is so much better than the reality he is really living. And I feel for him (and hope that he doesn't get back with Ginny, I am aboard this ship and will cling to the poopdeck until I turn into Jack/Rose Dawson)

"It isn't love, because Harry thinks he knows what that's like." Lies. Pure lies.

I like this: "if someone manages to give Draco a gift that he really likes, they suddenly became his new favorite person for at least the next hour." It makes him sound like a puppy. A really loveable puppy. And the image of Draco in my head pretending to be a puppy is on a par with the image in my head of Sarah's Scorpius being a cat and talking with Mrs Norris. I think you have an idea of how much I like this mental image.

OHMYGOD I LOVE YOU SO MUCH: "Draco finishes telling him about the dream he had last night where he had to save a poor ram from being mauled by a flock of puffins" So so much.

Aheheee, this made me laugh. I want to have conversations like this: "Good afternoon, kettle. Has anyone ever told you that talking to other cookware is probably a sign of insanity?" Instead I tend to forget the correct ending to the anecdote and end up telling my sister that she's an oven.

Eugh Harry! It is love! Stop denying it and help me steer this damn ship to Destination Drarry! But woo! He's just realised he's in love and my little stomach butterflies are being all annoying and lovely at the same time.

You got that right: "Harry forgets his umbrella like he always does because he is, at least as Draco always tells him, "the worst Englishman ever" and Mark Gatiss/Mycroft Holmes would agree with you there.

This sentence made me squee: "His boyfriend is so odd and Harry really canít understand why he loves Draco in spite of his ridiculousness." I am head-over-heels in love with this story, and therefore with you and your imagination. Thought you ought to know...again.

NO! "It's not like itís real. This whole thing is a dream, so what he thinks here doesn't matter much. After all, it's just happening in his head." It does matter! This story and this love is the reason I returned home from the pub early because I couldn't stop thinking about it! It makes me sound sad, but this is so lovely and wonderful, and I just don't want it to end. I know it's not reality, but I really wish it was :(

Once more, I ask of you, 'why do you make me feel these impossible feels?'

 Report Review

Review #17, by hdawg 3.

25th July 2012:
I love 'Satelitte Heart' by Anya Marina, I wanted to say so in the first chapter but wasn't overly sure if that's what you'd based the title on. The plot is thickening and this review will surely be even worse than the last one!

Draco is such a love. I am now pining, wishing that this was real and in the HP books :( particularly this bit: "Well, we knew each other in school, a bit. But - different houses, different tables, different classes - I hadn't seen you since then, and I - I liked you." The stuttering and pauses are just right, like they're so in love as if they've been together for only months, but by the sounds of it it's been more like years. This is true love and I am so jealous (of both this and your writing which has made me jealous of this)

Oh Harry! Don't ruin everything now! It's all so perfect, and Draco is perfect, and your world is almost perfect and I am sad that you are ruining it :( and also at my inability to type and tell you my feelings.

Ohmygosh real-life Draco is there. And he's a Healer? He cares for people? I like that. It's strange, I'd never imagined that's what he'd do, but I like it. It shows he's moved on and wants a better life for himself and his family. Now I just can't wait to see what Harry says to him.

He prefers his 'dream Draco'! That sounds so cheesy, but it's true. I want to comment on the way you write it, but you know I'm a huge fan of your writing style. Like I have said: simple and effective. I think what I liked best about this chapter (so far) has to be Harry's realisation that Draco is married, and the fact that this hurts him so much makes want to go back to his Draco, because he likes their life together. And so do I. Why do you make me feel these things when they can't happen? :(

""You know what that does to my sex drive." I shouldn't have giggled as much as I did at that line. It's so cute and familiar for them. Shipping things are now going on within me and it's all your (wonderful) fault. And Mel's.

"Draco is the same. But he is also here, in this bed. He brought Harry soup and stayed with him even though he was sick and so many other things." I want to comment on my love for him, but I think the quote and my inability to tell you conveys my feelings.

Yes Harry! "Harry can't decide if having these dreams, this world, come to an end is something he even wants anymore." Your pacing is perfect for this revelation. Just perfect. If you'd said this in the first chapter, or made Harry wimp out about his dream (or is it reality?) anymore, it wouldn't feel right, wouldn't make us sit here and agree with Harry. Annie, this is just perfect.

Roddy has hit the nail on the head, and the way Harry reacts is perfect: angsty because he's hiding his real feelings and is confused.

I could try and form another way of saying that you are a fabulous writer and friend, but I can't. So for now you will have to trust me that you are, and my inability to tell you this merely highlights how in awe I am.

And...you have converted me.

 Report Review

Review #18, by hdawg 2.

25th July 2012:
A world without Voldemort, eh? This certainly is an alternative universe. I like it. It's so...free.

OHMYGOSH HIS PARENTS ARE ALIVE. I am really looking forward to meeting them (I hope he meets them) and how he interacts with them. JKR never really wrote a lot about their talking together, but this sounds like it could be...interesting. Especially as it sounds like James and Lily have broken up.

It's pure love, that's what it is: "Harry tells himself that he barely notices the way the material of Draco's T-shirt stretches over his shoulders as he watches him walk away." I love it. So simple, but speaks volumes. You are the queen of inferred meanings!

Lily's dead :'( why do you mess with my emotions in this way? I was really looking forward to hearing what she had to say about Harry, and Draco, and now you've taken her away from me :'( mean Annie.

I dislike James, and I don't like disliking him. But this, this bit broke my heart: "Throwing himself down on the sofa, Harry shoves his face into a cushion to muffle the sound and sobs like a child for hours." It's so powerful. Harry's been stuck as a child for years, unable to move on because of the death of his parents and having to grow up prematurely because of Voldemort, but he'd still just a child who wants his parents to love him. And it's so upsetting that his father is like this. I do love, however, the way that Harry doesn't consciously defend his relationship with Draco, like it's a natural reaction - as I said before, it makes it feel so real.

Woo Harry! "This may have been a different world, this dream, but Harry was still Harry, and if he had thought something was worth fighting for before, then Harry was going to try and figure out why." I feel things for him again. You are wonderful, Annie, you really are.

Mac? Ernie Macmillan? That's my guess. But Harry is happy(ish), and I like this alternative world. I want to say something more substantial for this review to be meaningful, but I am feelings things and enjoying it far too much to think of coherent ways of writing my thoughts down. I'm sorry :( but this is truly brilliant.

 Report Review

Review #19, by hdawg 1.

25th July 2012:
Hey Annie! This has come highly recommended, and I can tell by the gorgeous banner and descriptions that it is going to be a serious story, so I'm going to reel in my 'crack' and be cool. Like that could actually happen.

Before I start off, I thought I should mention that I've never read a Drarry before, nor have ever been in on the ship. I'm open-minded about it though, so I hope you can convert me ;)

Ooooh, they've fallen asleep together? "it's that he's in a bed, not wearing a shirt, with Malfoy of all people, and he's being treated like the man's own personal teddy bear." I like to imagine that Draco has a Harry teddy bear back in his bed for when he gets lonely ;)

OH RON MY BABY! "but lately Harry sees him fiddling with the tiny black jewelry box that he keeps in his robe pocket and he wonders how much that will change once Ron and Hermione get married. " That sentence is so simple and so cute and I love it (and you for writing it, obvs)

Okay, feeling things for Harry all over again now after Ginny left and he rearranged their apartment. It's so simply stated, but so realistic and makes me feel even worse for Harry. I guess I'd never thought about the toll Voldemort's death would take on him, but of course he'd never be the same. Silly me.

I love him. "Draco just keeps smiling and smiling at him, full of teasing and he's wearing glasses and Harry doesn't know how to react at all". Draco that is. He sounds so lovely in this already. (This review sucks at the moment, but like I said, I'm new to this ship)

I love the way in which Harry can't remember anything. It really reminds me of the film 'Memento', have you seen it? It just feels so real, like he's really lost his memory. The cards, the photographs, the apartment, it's just like a real life.

Wow. First chapter read and I surprised myself by actually believing in this ship. I never thought Draco and Harry would ever 'get together' in Hogwarts, but having the alternative kind of universe makes it seem so much more believable. And the way in which Harry is stuck between two realities, as it is, and his confusion is brilliantly written.

Onto the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #20, by orderofthephoenix 7.

10th July 2012:
This is the first Draco/Harry story I've ever read and I didn't dislike the ship as much as I thought I would. You handled their relationship quite well and I think I came to like the ship at about the same time Harry realised he was in love.

Writing dream fics are always tricky as the author need to distinguish between the real world and the dream world, which you did. The present tense of the story caught me by surprise and I did struggle to get to grips with it. However, it worked well in trying to demonstrate Harry's confusion and feelings towards both worlds. I also thought that Harry being so tolerant to Draco was odd. I assume enough time had passed after the war and Harry had accepted Draco a bit more?

The two worlds are interwoven cleverly. The similarities are astonishing and the differences ingenious. The part about Harry being Draco's patient because of his dreams of the other world was brilliant, and for a fleeting moment I wondered if the Drarry relationship might be the real one.

Harry's adaptation to the dream world and coming to terms with these new emotions was nicely done. I especially liked his reaction to finding out about Minister Riddle. How odd that must have looked to the other characters in that world. The banter between Draco and Harry was great. I would have liked to read a scene or two with Draco and Harry in the real world and how Harry might have taken to that.

I could tell Harry was getting drawn into the dream world more and more, and I hoped it wouldn't get to the point where he couldn't tell which was which. The tattoo doodle that Draco drew on his arm was very interesting. I think Harry probably drew it on himself while he was dreaming.

In all honesty, I think the ending was very abrupt. The shock factor was written well, and I liked the back and forth-ness, but I'd have preferred the ending to be developed a bit more. As to my thoughts on what happened, I think Harry died. His life with Draco was only a dream and the more he tried to hold onto it, the further he slipped away from the real world.

I enjoyed reading this story and the quotes at the beginning of chapters were a nice touch. Just out of interest, what was the timespan for this story? I don't think it was referred to and I'm curious. :)

-Sophia

 Report Review

Review #21, by peppersweet 7.

13th June 2012:
there are no words for these things that I am feeling

also, there is a song for this moment. 'the day that we took out a car in the rain...'
brb going to put it on and prepare myself for creys

nooo

no

n n noo nooo

Harry thinks with relief that maybe he finally, at long last, has woken up for the last time. That there will be no more dreaming after this.

no no nooo

GROSS SOBBING

;A;

but ♥

but HOW COULD YOU

 Report Review

Review #22, by peppersweet 6.

13th June 2012:
that little line - harry thinking, not here, please don't let that be true here - nearly broke my heart, I swear. I don't even know why this is affecting me so much but I am, like, on the verge of tears right now. TOO MANY FEELS.

AH HA HA tears cured. harry is ~property of draco malfoy~ I actually just laughed out loud. draco, you, oh, you.

oh, but I like post-war draco too. he's so...he's like my headcanon draco, haha. perpetually grumpy.

wait. WAIT. MINDTWIST. DID YOU JUST. NO. omg. THE WRITING IS ON HARRY'S ARM OMG.

that is some beautiful physical description of draco.

too many feels, too many feels. I can almost taste the sorrow of the ending from here in the review box.



 Report Review

Review #23, by peppersweet 5.

13th June 2012:
the quote you used to start this chapter. JUST. DON'T. DO THIS. TO MY FEELINGS.

omg the neon sign - there is a light and it never goes out, there is a light and it never goes out. this is so so weird but...I have a really powerful mental image whenever I listen to that song of two boys in a car, one driving the other home, in total silence, and the song is just what's going through the passenger's head, because he loves the driver more than anything and can't tell him at all. and the light that never goes out is a neon sign that reflects on the windshield. bit prosaic for such an epic song but...that mental image, I sort of see your harry and draco transplanted into it now. because ofc in the dreamworld harry can love draco and have him, but he can't in his reality and, yeah. that made no sense but I felt I had to tell you, haha.

omgg harry's dreamworld dreams are about voldemort. EVERYTHING MAKES SENSE AND EVERYTHING HURTS.

oh. oh. oh. oh my. is this the real life, or is this just fantasy, caught in a landslide, no escape from reality...

What if, Harry thinks. What if this is his life and heís somehow missed it all, lost in the dreams of another world? - no, annie, stop it. STOP IT.



 Report Review

Review #24, by peppersweet 4.

13th June 2012:
;A; HARRY. HARRY LET ME HUG YOU AND TELL YOU EVERYTHING'S GOING TO BE OKAY.

ooh I kind of like how you characterised ginny in that one little line. okay, she was feisty and stuff in the books, but she was a bit, you know, creepy at the same time, and I can imagine her saying that (it always creeps me out when people are like I'll do anything for youuu - but like, wow, no, please don't devote yourself to me and have a bit of fun instead)

They fight constantly and sometimes it takes them days to make up, but Harry just chalks that up to the fact that their love for each other burns so brightly that sometimes it catches fire and it always takes some time for the flames to go out. - ROMIONE IN A BEAUTIFUL NUTSHELL.

they're so adorable together. they read like the most perfect of real couples.

poor harry. poor, poor harry. omg I just...even though there are bursts of brilliant fluff in this fic, I feel so sad reading this. I just put on the saddest smiths song ever on repeat, by the way. prepare for gross sobbing errwhere.

just, you. ♥

 Report Review

Review #25, by peppersweet 3.

13th June 2012:
harry ;A; let me hug youuu

if this could be reality, I would be happy. but I don't know what reality is anymore. I just want harry and draco to be happy okay. OKAY.

But this ó he can almost taste the memories that are written on Dracoís lips and the whole thing nearly has him pressing forward to try and make the words out more clearly. - asdjkasdfasd brb hyperventilating at the loveliness of this line

I know drastoria is my otp but I'm willing to suspend that for this fic because - oh my days - when harry looked at draco and draco only /nodded/ in recognition my heart broke a wee bit.

SOUP FLUFF :3

ew I hate roddy already. omg what is that even short for. rodolphus? rudolph?

this was beautiful and heartwrenching and all other kinds of keyboard smashes asdafsfgdsfgdfgfghfgnhjghjhgkkl;;; ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>