Reading Reviews for Teach thy Parents
  
116 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Doug james Back to Everyday

8th April 2014:
Loved this sequel to your Horcrux novel. The characters of Teddy and Ray fitted very nicely with the older Harry and this more mature Harry's character also read very true. The Marauders and the normal Hogwarts cast were also very well integrated into the story and overall it was very readable. I think I could see where you were going with Dumbledore and the nose bleeds but as you didn't pursue this it obviously matters not! You obviously have the right elements with your story line to pursue further development of this HP future. I hope you do as it has been very enjoyable to read. Much appreciated, Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I was going to have Dumbledore's portrait explain to Harry upon his return about keeping the memories in the bottles. The fact that Dumbledore had his lifetime and Harry's lifetime of memories in his head was causing the nosebleeds. It wasn't until he placed them into the bottles that the nosebleeds subsided. I should have added that sequence in, but it felt as though the chapter would have dragged out a little.

 Report Review

Review #2, by FriendofMolly Back to Everyday

7th October 2013:
Manwe,
That was the best ending. It was the way this story needed to end. I was riveted while I read this. You mention the next story completes your Trilogy. Even though I've not read it yet, but already I'm wishing you'd write another. I can only wish that JKR (who sometimes reads fan fiction)reads yours I believe she would be very pleased. Thank you for a very entertaining 4 days. Maybe someday I will reread it as I always find something I missed the first time. You made me gasp, cry, laugh, frown and cheer. That was quite a ride.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you very much for all the wonderful reviews. You mention a trilogy. I have actually written five segments to After the Horcrux. There is a Prequel from Ginny's POV, a One-Shot from James Sirius POV, this story and a Potter Christmas which immediately follows the last chapter of this story.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #3, by FriendofMolly Sayng Goodbye

7th October 2013:
Manwe,
Yes they changed the future, but it should only be to enhance what happens. After what Lily wrote, she did name her son Harry. So who knows what they would have named him if they had never met?
FoM

Author's Response: They were instrumental in determining the future. Lily naming her son after Professor James, only made come full circle. This mission didn't alter the future it set it so that the future that Harry remembers will happen. More on that in the final chapter.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #4, by FriendofMolly The Start of Something

7th October 2013:
Manwe,
Oh the last part was the best part. I understand why Severus hesitated. After all he needs to live in the same house as the cretins. Still, he could have done something. I guess Harry was watching his Map. It's unfortunate that the Gryffs had to be punished too. They were put in an untenable position. I can't wait to see what else they'll have to do.
FoM
PS. I wonder how Harry convinced the House Elves to allow the students to clean up the kitchens?

Author's Response: Yes, Snape had already lost Lily's respect, but he never wanted to hurt her. He was caught in a terrible situation, where to keep his face with his house mates and fellow future Death Eaters, he had to watch the love of his life get hurt.
He probably had to beg the House Elves.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #5, by FriendofMolly Patronus

7th October 2013:
Manwe,
How ironic. I did guess that Harry is the one to teach Remus, who will teach him when he is 13. It is strange that Professor Dumbledore is attending this Defense class. I bet you'll let out the why in the next.
FoM

Author's Response: You touched on a hidden plot to this story. Dumbledore is also there to learn how to send a talking Patronus. Rather synchronistic to have Harry teach things to people who will later teach them to him.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #6, by FriendofMolly Hi Dad!

7th October 2013:
Manwe,
Well that made me tear up. I am glad Harry didn't obliviate him. I just hope James forgets that he is betrayed. That might change the future. But perhaps not. I do see a start of a better relationship between James and Lily. I remember how much Harry lamented not knowing his parents, and not having memories of them. Now he does. I must continue.
FoM

Author's Response: James was just a fun loving lad, but now he knows his future is short. He will do what it takes to treasure the time he has left. I left him with those memories so he would change. Remus told Harry that something happened between their 6th and 7th years.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #7, by FriendofMolly Bye, Bye

6th October 2013:
Manwe,
One gone, two to go. I wonder if now that Teddy is gone, if Harry will tell Professor Dumbledore, just who he was? Or if by performing Legilimency on Harry, he already knows. On the Marauders Map, I can't wait to see James's reaction. Onward I go.
FoM

Author's Response: I guess if I had a part-Veela for a wife, I would be anxious to get back to her. The rest will unfold in future chapters.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #8, by FriendofMolly A Lonely Christmas

6th October 2013:
Manwe,
Oh my! I was thinking, 'Oh Good" it's over. I really hope there weren't more NDE's. I also hope they haven't communicated the future to the original DE's. Or if they did, I can only hope that Riddles crew won't believe them. I promise I will write a much longer review when I finish the last chapter.
FoM

Author's Response: The NDE's have been captured, but there are still loose ends to tie up.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #9, by FriendofMolly Feeling Weak

6th October 2013:
Manwe,
I guess deep down, James isn't forgetting how much he loves Lily. When he expressed his concern that Lily and Professor James share a connection, I just had to smile. I just wish he, himself would feel a connection. My heart goes out to him. The conversation between Remus and Lily give me hope.
To the next,
FoM

Author's Response: Remus was always the sensible Marauder according to Lily.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #10, by FriendofMolly A Surprise Before Christmas

6th October 2013:
Manwe,
I think I know why Harry collapsed. If James gives up being with Lily, Harry won't exist. This isn't good. Unfortunately, Harry will need to convince James to continue to love and not give up on Lily. This could go pear-shaped really fast. I know somehow you don't let the worst happen, but I can't wait to see how you fix it.
FoM

Author's Response: You were close. It wasn't that James gave up on Lily. It was the other way around. Despite her insistence, Lily has always found James an attractive git.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #11, by FriendofMolly Professor Ray

6th October 2013:
Manwe,
Obviously the revelation of Ray's full name doesn't mean anything to me, at the moment. I do though, am very interested in knowing just why she tries to hide her identity? Why is Teddy acting the way he is? I do wish you had at least one of the House Elves speak to Harry. They always did when someone in the books entered the kitchens. I do keep forgetting that they are in the past.
FoM

Author's Response: Could you imagine going through school with a name like that one. I know that there are several celebrities that give their children similar names.
They spoke to the group, but Harry was consumed by his memories of Dobby.
Teddy has some issues that will arise later.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #12, by FriendofMolly Rejected

5th October 2013:
Manwe,
Oh Dear. Perhaps if she and James confronted Harry together there wouldn't be the problem. If Harry doesn't there could be bigger problems.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #13, by FriendofMolly Memories of the Future

5th October 2013:
Manwe,
I hope James confronts Teddy. He needs to be aware so he doesn't blow their cover. If Harry and Teddy can convince him of their sincerity, maybe he'll calm down and let them do their jobs.
Lily too is going to be convinced not to ask too many questions.
I have to go on.
FoM
PS Did Travers perish, or was he released by the pseudo Ministry officials?

Author's Response: There are other complications coming for them to deal with.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #14, by FriendofMolly Ministry Meddling

5th October 2013:
Manwe,
OMG! So there's only Harry, Ray, Teddy Alastor, James, Lily and Albus who remember the Battle. I'm sad to think that before he goes, Harry will have to remove the memories of those not from the future. Lily and James will have no memory of Professor James. That I find very sad. I do understand. But the big worry now, other than the soon to be released DE's, is what the actual Ministry will know of this trouble.
On to the Next,
FoM

Author's Response: The Ministry then is much like the Ministry when Harry was in school, believing what is best for them.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #15, by FriendofMolly Once a parent...

5th October 2013:
Manwe,
That was an incredible Battle. The appearance of a DE disguised as a Hit Wizard, was scary. I can only hope no one heard Harry being called Potter. Oh the questions that would raise. I guess the use of a talking Patronus wasn't used before this. It appears that this was a turning point in the First War with Riddle. You certainly picked up many nuances that would have created a problem during the Second, The Dual Core Wands, the Patronus, (wouldn't it be ironic if Harry is the one to teach Mooney) and the near death of both his parents. Chilling. I can't imagine the stories he'll come back to the future with. What will he say to the Prewett Twins? He obviously can't tell them of their demise. So sad. He better keep his watch covered.
FoM

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed the battle scene. I never even thought about the watch. Hopefully, they made several of that type of watches.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #16, by FriendofMolly Exposed

5th October 2013:
Manwe,
I'm speechless from holding my breath. It's so much like the Battle. The good thing is that Harry is so much better than he was then. And he has companions with so much more skill, yet the same fire that drove the DA and the students of Hogwarts. What scares me is why this attack now? Is it the NDE's, or something else? And why is it taking Dumbledore and the Aurors so long? I must go on.
FoM

Author's Response: I must hove wrote it properly for you to have these feelings
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #17, by FriendofMolly Treacle Tart

5th October 2013:
Manwe,
Excellent, from beginning to end. I did like the time Harry got to spend with his Mum. Thank goodness he got interrupted before he could make a big mistake. I can understand why he wanted to tell her, but he can't. He should be thankful he is getting a chance to be around his parents. I have got to go on.
FoM

Author's Response: The demons and temptations he must face while doing his job is incredible. He always seem to overcome them. That is why he is the hero.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMolly Full Moon Antics

5th October 2013:
Manwe,
I must laugh at the last. I remember Harry saying the same thing to Professor Snape, in his sixth year. But the rest was almost surreal. The observing of Remus transformation, along with his fellow Marauders, was so brilliant, scary, sad and exhilarating. Again, this was a moment that Teddy will never forget. I must continue.
FoM

Author's Response: Harry and Teddy saw how much his father and the other Marauders cared for Remus and also enjoyed their moonlight runs.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #19, by FriendofMolly Welcome to Class

5th October 2013:
Manwe,
That was really perfect. Just what I thought would happen. Ingenious of Harry to use abracadabra, if I remember correctly, that was JKR's inspiration for the Killing Curse. I really enjoyed all the interactions of the focus characters.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you! I enjoy writing interactions like the ones in this chapter.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #20, by FriendofMolly Back to school

5th October 2013:
Manwe,
The last scene was the best. Even though they weren't conversing father to son, that was a moment I think Teddy will cherish. This all adding up to something special. As much as I would like to see Harry spend time with James and Lily, he belongs in his own time. Next chapter should be exciting.
FoM

Author's Response: I hope all the Marauders seem believable but not overly predictable.
Remus always impressed me as a carrying type.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #21, by FriendofMolly Your Hired

4th October 2013:
Manwe,
I don't understand why Harry said that Albus had not expressed that he would help him. I went back and read where the Headmaster did say he would help, but that he needed to sleep first. I did like how well Harry, Teddy, and Ray are working together. Ray taking the initiative in getting a job at the Three Broomsticks, was excellent. That will indeed help, with enough Fire Whiskey, tongues will start slipping. The next thing I look forward to is Harry teaching his parents and Severus, Defense! To the Next.
FoM

Author's Response: Harry at the beginning and even through the end of this chapter is worried about what Albus will do with the information he has.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #22, by FriendofMolly The Headmaster

4th October 2013:
Manwe,
Surely there was a less damaging way to exchange information? That was a whole lot of Magic, it's no wonder they were both exhausted! It also bothers me that Albus now has so much information of the future. Will Harry have to remove those memories, so that the future isn't changed? Harry certainly stood up while watching his Mum. It must have hurt not to be able to talk to her. On to the next.
FoM

Author's Response: Harry was surprised by Albus' attack of Leglimency. It will complicate things for the mission.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #23, by FriendofMolly Destiny

4th October 2013:
Manwe,
Chilling, is the first word I think of. I like that they found another Time Turner. If they can find them all, I think they'll gain control of the situation. You have certainly captured my imagination with this story. Your plotline is really gripping. I can't wait to see what happens next.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you! I am glad you enjoy the plotline for this story. There are so many things that can happen to Harry and company. They may actually accomplish there task.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #24, by FriendofMolly Into the Past

3rd October 2013:
Manwe,
That was really good and very creepy. I think, that is one of the things you're aiming for. So many thought are swirling in my head. So many ways this can go well or pear-shaped. I will continue.
FoM
PS Brilliant idea to seek out Albus. Too bad Harry will need to obliviate him before they leave.

Author's Response: Thank you! Harry and gang are walking a fine line to complete their mission without destroying the future.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #25, by FriendofMolly To the Rescue

3rd October 2013:
Manwe,
Let me say OMG! It sounds like someone made a huge time turner. Just who made it needs to be found out. I'm getting a very scary feeling. Let me compliment you, though. This is an extraordinary series. I can't wait to see what happens next.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you! Harry seems to be afraid of what might happen.
M.V.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>