Reading Reviews for Descent into Madness
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ShadowRose Constant Vigilance!

7th April 2013:
Due to a series of random clicking, I ended up on this one-shot - and I'm sure glad I did!

The way you portray Moody is just perfect, in my opinion. It's exactly how I would see his brain working, and you just put it onto paper (or computer screen, I guess!) magnificently.

The description in here is excellent - especially considering this one-shot's only 700 words.

That's another thing that amazes me: how much detail and character you manage to pack into such a short story. I feel like I've been reading a novel about him, for all the information about his life that this one-shot shares.

I definitely feel that he would have died smiling. He was happiest in the battlefield, so dying for his comrades would be, in his opinion, the best way to die.

Moody is just one of those characters who kind of piques you interest as you're reading the HP series, and I think you do an excellent job of giving him the depth that J.K. left out.

Great job - I really enjoyed reading this!

-ShadowRose

Author's Response: Well, thank you! I'm pleased that you were drawn in enough to give it a read and that you enjoyed the story. That's what an author loves to hear.

I'm so happy you like the details of my imagery and characterization. This was just a little burst of an idea, and I don't know that I could have sustained it for a longer piece. I do find Moody interesting and I liked exploring him a little bit. It's great to hear that you liked the way he smiled as he came to face death. I like to think of it as his last hurrah.

Thank you for this really wonderful review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Constant Vigilance!

25th November 2012:
Tag!

This was another well-written story of yours, good job :) I liked how you wrote Moody, and incorporated the whole Constant vigilance thing in it. The backstory about his father being in war and such was thoughtful indeed. The best part I liked in this was the ending, how Moody was envisioning the near future, and how he died smiling. It was so sad yet touching, and it made me smile a sad smile too. I think you captured him brilliantly over all, and the narrative was well done. All in all, I loved it. Another great piece of writing :)

10/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hey AD! Thanks for tagging me!

I'm glad you liked getting a glimpse of Moody's background and seeing where the roots of "Constant Vigilance!" came from. It's great that you liked the ending, too. I figured Moody would be precisely the kind of guy who would literally smile at death as it came to take him. I'm happy that you felt like characterization was in line and liked the writing style, too. Thanks for your kind review!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #3, by slytherinchica08 Constant Vigilance!

15th October 2012:
Oh wow! How sad! This is a very interesting concept for a oneshot! I would have never thought to write a oneshot about Moody as he is Free Falling and thinking about how suited he is for war and then as he is closer to hitting the ground, his funeral. It was very interesting to read and I thought well written. Moody seemed to be in character, and I liked the small look into why he is always saying constant vigilance and always looking around his surrounding. I thought that it set up his character very well and was a good look into the last few moments of his life, from the moment Mundungus left him to the moment he hit the harsh ground below. Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hello, and thanks for stopping by! :)

I'm glad this one-shot seemed original to you. I still love it, even though it's short and fairly old. It's great that Moody seemed in character and that you liked getting a glimpse into his past.

Thanks again for your very kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #4, by Renfair Constant Vigilance!

1st July 2012:
Alright! It's Renny from TGS to head-hunt you for the third review challenge :D I've wanted to read something of yours for a while, and this review challenge has been awesome for forcing me to make time to try out the many authors on my "to-read" list (which is extensive, believe me). This story stuck out at me with its fabulous Sean Bean banner when I was looking through your page a challenge or two ago for something that qualified, so it's cool I got to come back and read it.

So! I've always really liked Moody. Yeah, he bordered on paranoid, but can you really blame him after the things he must have seen in his life? I found his CONSTANT VIGILANCE refreshing in a series of books where, honestly, the three main characters often run off to do really stupid things without thinking about how their actions affect anyone, including themselves. I'm also very into members of the Order right now since I'm currently writing a lot of Order scenes in my new story.

Let me say I LOVE the idea that Moody's father volunteered to go fight in World War II. It's such a noble, honorable thing to do since obviously they wouldn't have been registered for the draft (or however they called it in England. Sorry I'm not very learned in British military things). I've often wondered what level of involvement there was between Muggles and wizards in the world wars. I know there was a statute of secrecy and all, but how could the British Ministry sit by while knowing the atrocities being committed? Whoops, sorry for the tangent there.

I guess I never really thought about how brave Moody was to keep fighting despite his "disabilities." If he'd been in the Army, he'd be given a well-earned honorable discharge for either one of those things, but Moody kept going. He's really such an amazing man. I have to constantly remind myself how awesome he is because I often confuse Imposter-Moody with him and his totally un-cool treatment of Severus while he was DADA teacher.

"...with one hand tied behind his back and his eyes closed by the time he graduated." --I guess good training for one eye and one leg, huh?

The last image of Moody smiling is great. I *think* that chapter was called something like "Fallen Warrior?" Yeah, it was sad Moody died and the Order lost such a strong member, but I'm sure that's how he would have wanted to go: in the heat of battle protecting the innocent instead of dozens of years later in the wizarding equivalent of a nursing home since he had no family.

For only 700-odd words, you definitely packed a lot in here. It seemed like a good length for that one moment since it was very quick but must have also stretched out a bit for Moody as he was falling. I'm really glad I was able to finally read something of yours :) See you around TGS and congrats again on your well-deserved promotion! ~Renny

Author's Response: Hey Renny! Thanks for choosing me! :)

Yep, love the banner - it was actually an UFG find, and it actually just now hit me that this could technically fall into the Sean-Bean-dies-in-everything pop culture legend. Haha.

You make a great point about Moody - even in his paranoia, he does sort of represent a role model for the trio, and I think he'd be proud of the way they relentlessly hunted for Horcruxes in the final book, even without him.

In working with Moody's character, I was trying to figure out where 'Constant Vigilance' came from. In the few stories I've read about him, it usually comes from his mother, from some sort of overbearing or even borderline abusive childhood. I wanted to take a different tack here and suggest that his father might have had a military background, thus inspiring his son to want to be 'just like his old man'. I'm glad you felt like those elements fit.

Well, we have to remember that GOF Moody was actually Barty in disguise, and we know just how fondly he felt for some of his fellow Death Eaters, particularly those suspected of being traitors. Then again, I imagine that Moody wouldn't have been his biggest fan either. I guess I find Snape's interactions with everyone interesting. Okay, major tangent!

I agree - the central point of this was that Moody was always a fighter and would have wanted to go out that way, too. He would never have been content with retirement, in my mind, largely because I don't know if he could be convinced that things were safe. (Seriously, can you imagine him in Next Gen? I think JKR sort of did him a favor there.)

Thanks so much for this really lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #5, by WitnesstoitAll Constant Vigilance!

28th June 2012:
I was trolling around the archives looking for a good minor character fic for the Review challenge at TGS and this caught my eye!

I have always found Alastor to be an incredibly interesting character. He is very two dimensional in the HP series, which opens all sorts of questions in the world of fanfiction. I thought this was a brilliant way to tie together a picture of his life and motivations in a life flash before your eyes sort of way. I have never really thought out my own head-canon for Alastor, but it makes so much sense the way you've portrayed it here. His father marching off to war with the Muggles, that he committed himself to his studies, strived to be the best.

I loved his assurity that they would lay his order of merlin on his tomb. What spirt he has! and the fact that he was smiling when it was all said and done. How apropriate -- he was a proud man, and he died content with the life he lived.

Great one shot!!

Author's Response: Ooh, thanks for picking me :)

Alastor was fun to write - very difficult, but very interesting. I'm glad you liked my brief bit of head canon and how I tried to bring him out from being two-dimensional to really being his own man with his own ideals.

Thanks so much for this kind review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #6, by Debra20 Constant Vigilance!

12th March 2012:
Today is the day I resumed reading fanfictions. And I really wanted to read your work. I have been urging myself to do so for some time now but uni work has prevented me from doing it earlier.

As the rest of your stories, this was a pleasure to my still developing artistic senses to read. You successfully captured Moody's essence in this little one shot. One of the phrases that reinforces my thought is "This time, they had Harry Potter, an unprecedented weapon that would help the Order avenge all they had lost in the initial conflict". I know Moody appreciated and respected Harry for the bravery with which he withstood everything that his difficult life threw at him, but this little phrase here just screams Moody. And the particular words would be "Harry Potter - the weapon". As a trained war fighter I guess he considered everyone and everything a weapon for achieving victory. And who is to blame him? After all he has seen, I guess the greater good mattered more.

I liked how the whole story revolved around his life motto. He kept true to it even in his last moments. I can't find a better word to describe him than: brave. I can't imagine how hard it must be to know you are going to die, feel the numbness creeping in, and still have the immense power to not break.

Wonderful piece! As always :)

Author's Response: I'm so honored that you wanted to stop by, and I'm sorry that this response took so long!

I'm very pleased that you saw little pieces of Moody's character in this story. You're right in that years of being a soldier have hardened him quite a bit, and that the greater good is more important to him than any one life, even his own.

There are many ways to imagine Gryffindor bravery, and I thought Moody made for a good example of one extreme version of courage. It's certainly a quality I wish I had more of.

Thanks very much for such a sweet review! :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #7, by forsakenphoenix Constant Vigilance!

15th January 2012:
You have this fantastic way of delving deep into these characters that we know next to nothing about and exposing them for us in ways that are consistent with their canon-selves but still staying true to your own personal style. This is no exception.

Moody is fantastic here, and I guess I'm not surprised that his father fought in the war as well. Moody really has that soldier mentality and you did a wonderful job explaining that. You took his "Constant vigilance" and applied it not only to the war, but his time at Hogwarts as well. It kind of saddens me how paranoid he is, and how consumed he is by fighting - because it's the only thing he knows. I wish he knew more of a normal life, but if he's happy with his life, then so be it. At least he died smiling.

I think one of my favorite lines in this was this one: Mundungus knew nothing of vigilance, and he was certainly not known for being particularly constant. He vanished without a second look. - you reveal a lot about characters with so few sentences and it's wonderful how well you do it.

I know I read this before, and I'm apologizing now for never getting around to reviewing it. I'll read more of your things soon, I promise. Nicely done with this.

Author's Response: Thanks! I really enjoy exploring those "under-loved" characters who fade into the background both in canon and in fanfiction. Pair that with a chance to come up with a moment that could fit seamlessly into canon, and I'm in heaven :)

I'm pleased to see that the soldier backstory provided a satisfactory backdrop for the "constant vigilance" catchphrase that Moody likes to use. It is definitely sad to see that he's become paranoid, but I feel like it could very well happen after having been such a big part of not just one war, but two of them. I did try to emphasize that he's satisfied with the path he chose, and I'm glad you could appreciate that.

Yes, Mundungus was interesting. He's another character that I'd love to explore further one day. I'm flattered to hear that my brevity works well even with characterization.

You're sweet, as always :) Thanks for stopping by (again), and I do hope you check out some of the others before too long, though I know you're crazy busy. I really appreciate it!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #8, by Beeezie Constant Vigilance!

8th November 2011:
Here for review tag. :)

I have to say, I really, really enjoyed this. I thought that you captured Moody beautifully. You added to him in ways that were really consistent with his character - the idea that he never went anywhere for dinner, his thoughts about his father, his not wanting to show any pain on his face... it was such a great look at the character.

In particular, I liked the fact that you had him think about how part of him was actually happy when the war started back up again, because that was just what he was comfortable with.

One quick tiny thing - Professor Merrythought was actually female. Other than that, this was really perfect.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for stopping by! I'm so glad you liked the story and all the detail I put into it. I had no idea about Merrythought - thanks!

I always appreciate your kind reviews :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #9, by accioHPFF Constant Vigilance!

28th October 2011:
Wow!

I saw you were talking about a review swap, and I was bored so I hope you don't mind me leaving you a review! :)

I loved this. It was a great angle to do, and you did a lot of thinking about Moody's character and past.

It was great how you explained about his past, and how it led to affect his lifestyle and choices throughout life.

You managed to fit in so much of his past into this relatively short story, and it was brilliant. I loved your descriptions and incase you haven't figured it out yet, I love everything about this story!

*adds to Favourites*

Great job, good luck in the challenge!

-accioHPFF

Author's Response: Hi! MIND? Oh my gosh, I never mind! Thank you!

I'm so flattered by your compliments. I was a little hesitant about the length, but my muse told me it was done, and you have to listen to your muse, I guess :) I did try to explain a little bit of the behind-the-scenes stuff with Moody, so it's great that that worked well for you. I also try to include as much description as I can in my stories, so I'm happy that you enjoyed those as well.

Thanks again for leaving such a kind review! :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #10, by DetectiveMenace Constant Vigilance!

25th October 2011:
What a great one-shot! I'm entered in the same challenge, but I must say that I hope you win. Mad-Eye seems like one of those characters who's often overlooked and written OOC; you, however, captured his personality perfectly!

Grr...Mundungus. I'm still mad about him betraying Moody. No, I'm still mad at him for stealing things from Grimmauld Place before Sirius was even cold in his grave! But alas, I digress.

Constant vigilance! Such a fine way to start the fic off. :) The words he lived and died by...

Anyway, like I said, great job, and good luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: I'm so flattered! Thank you, although I'm sure you'll write/have written something wonderful as well :) I'm so happy that I captured Mad-Eye in the light you think is appropriate and didn't take him way out of character.

Yes, Mundungus does inspire much hatred, or at least annoyance. He was an entertaining character, and good for a bit of comic relief, but a coward through and through. Sigh.

Thanks again! I'm glad you enjoyed it! :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #11, by Cassius Alcinder Constant Vigilance!

25th October 2011:
Cassius Alcinder here with your review.

Mad Eye definetely is an underappreciated character, and I think you definetely did him justice here!

I've always been curious about his backstory and I like the way you filled in some of those gaps.

I also really like the way you portray him as being stoic and vigilent to the end, even when his death was inevitable.

He's a truly fascinating character and I really enjoyed having this window into his views.

This is a really good story, thanks for requesting!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for stopping by (and so quickly, too!)

I'm really glad that you enjoyed the story and liked getting to know Moody a little better. I'm also happy that I did well with his characterization. That's what I wanted to hear!

Thanks again for your kind review! :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #12, by The Wizard of Potterland Constant Vigilance!

24th October 2011:
I really liked it. I think you did ol' Moody justice with this.

Author's Response: Thank you! It was nice of you to review, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #13, by gingersnape Constant Vigilance!

24th October 2011:
Sorry for this being so late, but here I am and oh my goodness... this was stunning. The way you captured everything about Alastor Moody that I never even thought of is brilliant and there really is something amazing in the ability to capture the various emotions and pieces of a character's personality in less than a thousand words and the last few seconds of their life.

Moody isn't a character I've read a lot of, so I don't have much to base my impression of him on, but I thought the roots of constant vigilance were so well done, and I also liked how the story took place as he was finally being unseated from his vigilance, so I thought the way the whole thing played out with starting with constant vigilance and ending with it was great.

The descriptions of his school days were fascinating because it showed how much growing up Moody had done in the war. I also like the idea that the same piece of advice can mean so many different things and that his father had such a great effect on his son through hard times and good advice. I wasn't sure if the timing quite worked out with Professor McGonagal, but I haven't checked my years, so you're probably right on that count. :)

I was really impressed with the story as a whole because it did an amazing job capturing the essence of a character who is known so well, but not actually known because the majority of the canon interactions with him were through someone who was not him. I love your writing and can't wait to read more!

One more thing I really liked was your vocabulary. Can I steal it? Well, maybe just for NaNo... but oh my goodness the way your words just ring in my head is something I don't often get when I read stories, but from the very moment I started to the last words, I was just blown away by your descriptions and story telling. Amazing.

Annie

Author's Response: Hey!! Oh, thanks for stopping by to swap! :)

Okay, so I'm blushing furiously. Thank you! He really is an under-appreciated but fascinating character, I think, and it was fun playing with his past and personality for the challenge. I was worried that the depth wouldn't be there because I couldn't make it longer (blame my fickle muse) but it seems like it is, yay! You're most likely right about Professor McGonagall. Susan (Violet Gryfindor) already mentioned that to me and I'm planning on correcting it.

You're too kind :) You may borrow my vocabulary for NaNo if you like, provided you return it unharmed, haha! I kind of pride myself on that aspect of my writing and I love getting complimented on it, so thank you. I'm so pleased that you love my writing so much, because you know that I adore yours too! :)

Thanks again! It was fun swapping with you! Let's do it again sometime :)

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #14, by ginerva_molly_weasley Constant Vigilance!

24th October 2011:
Wow.

You asked if this gave an insight into Mad-Eye? Well it certainly made me see him in a different light and made me understand why Moody was always so protective.

The significance of the phrase constant vigilance which is basically Moody's motto is also explained and as to why it means so much to him.

I think you've done really well giving me an insight into how Moody came to be the way he was.

GinevraMollyPotter

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for the kind (and quick) review! I'm glad I was able to make you think a little more about an under-appreciated character :)

Thanks again!

academica


 Report Review

Review #15, by Violet Gryfindor Constant Vigilance!

24th October 2011:
Oh lord, this story! You've gotten me lost for words, and while there were a lot of thoughts going through my head as I read this - things I wanted to mention in this review, it's hard to think of them now that I've hit that last line. I feel like writing "insert unintelligible mass of sounds here" as my review because that's all I have. But I'll try to come up with something. ;)

To begin, you've done a fantastic job with Moody. He's so rarely explored in fanfiction, especially in depth, making any story that does it a great treat. And you do it all in less than 800 words! That's really not fair, you know. You capture his love of battle, his fighting spirit, and his eccentricities wonderfully. That part when he swears that he'll haunt Mundungus was perfect - a spurt of laughter amid this sad, serious story that was very Moody-esque. I loved that he was still proud of being the greatest Auror even as he knew how much people mocked him for his madness, and how he kept thinking about the war and its machinations even as he fell to his death. He never thought about death, never brooded or anything, and that's so different from other death stories that I've read or written - it makes this very refreshing and shows the similarities between Moody and Dumbledore. Death is just another step in their journey.

There was one thing I was uncertain about, though, and that was the use of McGonagall as his fifth-year adviser. The timeline is off a bit because she didn't start teaching until 1956, and if Moody remembered his father's letters from the war in the early 1940s, I don't think it would be possible for him to be still at school when McGonagall was there. Unless he failed, multiple times. That, I could see, oddly enough. :P Sorry about this - I'm just stickler for the timeline (though I messed it up once myself, and have berated myself ever since). Dumbledore would be the more likely choice for his adviser. :)

This is another excellent story from you! I'm not surprised, of course - your one-shots are stunning, and you write these minor-ish characters so well. I'll be looking out for the next thing you write. ^_^

Author's Response: What? No. Okay... no. Fine. I guess it's good :D

I kind of love Moody. He's so amusing in the books/films and I really like the inclusion of him because I think he plays this brilliant dual role of being a sort of comic relief with his gruffness and also hearkening back to the dark days of the first war. He isn't even bothered that a Death Eater impersonated him for close to a year. It's like another day at the office, brush yourself off, back to business. His practicality is amusing and uplifting to me. Anyway, I'm glad that you enjoyed my take on him. I did what I could to try to fill in his background logically and embellish him a bit. I agree that he is a bit like Dumbledore, very matter-of-fact and set on protecting Harry.

You know, you're probably right about Minerva. There was something about this that just wasn't sitting right with me on an unconscious level and I think that must be it. I certainly don't see Moody failing multiple times, particularly given how I've characterized him academically here. I'll have to go back and edit that later - you're right, Dumbledore makes much more sense.

Thank you, Susan! You always leave such fantastic reviews for me, and I really appreciate it. We'll see what happens next :)

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #16, by NaidatheRavenclaw Constant Vigilance!

24th October 2011:
Hi! Naida here from the forums with your review!

My first thought after finishing this one shot is wow. This was an incredible inisight into the life of such a minor character. He actually is a huge part of the books, but he seems to be one of the characters often overlooked in fanfiction. I've never even seen a story about him, and then you come up with this piece of brilliance :D

Your Moody was spot on. I loved the repetition of constant vigilance. It was a reminder, each and every time, of the Moody that we knew from canon. He was such an impersonal character there, so getting into his head seems like a daunting task, but you did it perfectly. Even though he was near emotionless for most of the books, the way you portrayed his feelings was so realistic.

I especially loved the insight to his father. It makes so much sense that he'd be a soldier in WWII! You managed to show exactly how he got his drive and spirit, and in 700 words too. Absolutely incredible.

One little sentence that was awkwardly worded: " He reminded himself of this every time the ache throbbed." The ache throbbed just doesn't sound right xD Since ache is implying pain, the throbbed just doesn't fit. I'd change one of the two words, and then you should be good.

This was brilliant. If I'm ever asked to reccomend a story about a minor character, I'm pointing people in this direction xD

-Naida

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for coming by so quickly :)

I'm glad Moody seemed canon-ish! I love him in canon and would never want to twist him too far out of it. I did try to expand a little on the constant vigilance by including some background about his father and his school days, so I'm pleased that all of that worked for you.

Hmm. Well, I'm thinking of a toothache, where the pain kind of ebbs on and off, so that would be "throbbing" to me. I think we'll have to disagree on that point. Anyway, I definitely value the input of my reviewers, so I'll keep it in mind for future writing, okay? :)

Thanks! I'm so flattered by your kind review!

academica


 Report Review

Review #17, by apocalypse Constant Vigilance!

24th October 2011:
Hey! I'm here with your review! =D

Can I just ask first, WHERE do you get these ideas from? =P Seriously, they're so unique and totally not what one expects to see in fan fiction =) I really like how you think about this =D I lovedlovedLOVED the Barty Jr story and I certainly like this one too! Thank you for requesting! =)

Okay over to your concerns: Firstly, yes, he did sound like the Moody we know from Canon. The phrase "Constant Vigilance" is constant reminder of the original Moody. I really liked how you inserted details of almost his entire life in such a short time span when he died. How long is that? About three seconds? Seriously, one word: AWESOME! =D

And yep! Your story definitely did define his character further. However, i have to say that even though your idea of the short time span was awesome, it had a slight drawback that it did not allow you to add more details to the story. I know it's hard to write about characters like Moody but it would have been better if you had mentioned some more.. Just saying =) On the other hand, the detail of his childhood, mention of his school life and the little insight into his brain, all were perfectly fine. They made me see Moody in a totally different light and once again it felt really good to see a story on a secondary character =) Really, this idea is brilliant =)

I hope i addressed your concerns properly. If i still left something out, you know where to find me! =D I hope you come up with more ideas like these and that you remember to tell me =P I'll be looking forward to more =D

Best of luck! And happy writing! =)

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for coming over so quickly :)

Haha, I have no idea. Blame my lovely muse :) I'm glad that you like my approach; lately, I've just been really in the mood to explore under-loved characters in the series. You can only read so many Hermione stories, you know? I don't know how long it'll last, but for now, I'm just gonna go with it :)

Oh, I'm so glad you like it! The short time span wasn't really my idea, even though I did consciously want to use the moment of his death to reflect back on his life. My muse just refused to write any more about him. I wrote this thing several months ago and left it on my hard drive in the hope that my muse might think of more to say, but alas, not the case. She really wanted to leave it as is. I'm happy that the little bit I did include made you think; that was mostly the point here :)

Thanks again! Your reviews are lovely! :)

academica


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login