Reading Reviews for Sausages and Cookies
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Veritaserum27 Figuring it Out

17th April 2014:
Hi Meg,

I laughed throughout this entire story. I feel like this is a moment taken straight out of my childhood. My father was completely clueless in the kitchen and, if my mom ever got sick, us kids were in for it. They dynamic with the children was spot on - they could just sense that Teddy didn't know what he was doing and took full advantage of the situation.

However, I think my absolute favorite line in the entire story is "Is that the baby, then?" Teddy is painted as the perfectly inept husband. I love how he congratulates himself on taking care of his own children for most of the day to find himself in a complete panic when he has to prepare dinner.

So many stories on this site are deep and dramatic and it was really refreshing to read something that was just - fun!

Thanks,

Beth
Reviewed for the Hufflclaw/Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

 Report Review

Review #2, by Freda_and_Georgina Figuring it Out

2nd April 2014:
Yay, Hugo to the rescue! But oh, poor Teddy! asking a couple young children if something wet should be added. I remember at my home, dinner without mom usually meant popcorn or takeout.

"the cook books are in her head" "Mum cuts up the grapes so the baby doesn't choke" "The sausages are on fire" "the baby's loose". What a rough night for both of the Lupin parents! And that Johnny is a piece of work!

Awesome story!

Author's Response: Teddy's pretty inept, isn't he? He has no idea what he's doing in the kitchen. And Johnny is a total monster. Good thing Hugo swooped in to save the day! Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm really glad you liked the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Fawkes394 Figuring it Out

21st January 2013:
This was so funny! I really enjoyed reading it, I love the Lupins. It was so funny to see Teddy trying to manage without Victorie and following Remus instructions : ) And when the sausages burnt ('The sausages are on fire' ) I couldnít stop laughing, Teddy is a menace, he should be banned from the kitchen forever. I loved seeing Johnny again, that kid is pure evil, he is so manipulativeÖ but I still love him.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it. This was a fun story to write. Teddy is so inept, and totally hopeless at cooking. If he'd been able to man up and not let the children manipulate him, they'd have just had sandwiches and been fine, but nooo he has to show off trying to actually cook and let the 6 and 4 year olds dictate things. lol. Silly man. And Johnny Lupin is awesome ;) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Holly Rose Figuring it Out

28th September 2012:
Aw this is adorable love it :')

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #5, by anonymous Figuring it Out

15th September 2012:
I liked this story, but there was one line that really bothered me: "He didn't have a homemaker for a wife so that he could do the cooking."

The premise of the story - that Victoire always cooks, so Teddy is at a loss when he has to feed the kids - is just fine, and made for a very amusing story. But I think the idea could have been executed without the sexist overtones that suggest Teddy is exempt from all housework because he is the Working Man. I was a bit offended by the implication that it is the wife's responsibility to handle all domestic chores. My mother - who did not work outside the home - certainly always expected my father to do his share. In fact, she hates cooking and he does it almost every night!

Author's Response: Yes, he was having a whiny chauvinist moment. The story is intended to be funny, not social commentary. Thank you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #6, by WitchHex Figuring it Out

29th August 2012:
Aww poor Teddy! I guess I'm lucky my dad and
mom are both decent cooks. I sympathize with
Teddy as my mum is pregnant, my dad is
working, an often Im left to cook up something.
Lovely story!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked the story. And yes it's lucky your dad cooks also! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Figuring it Out

11th August 2012:
I can't even comment on the taking advice from a six-year-old bit. My baby brother can give me instructions and I will listen to them... right until the point where he's not making sense anymore XD

I have to wonder if this is how my brothers will be? Well, except from my baby brother, since he helps me in the kitchen actually. But neither of the older ones can cook unless it comes with instuctions on the box, just like Teddy.

This one-shot was absolutely adorable, of course. Remus managed to gain more favor from me than Johnny this time around. You should totally write a short story featuring the Lupin family. I feel like it would be brilliant.

Author's Response: Some kids know what they're talking about. But little boys do like to speak with, shall we say, unwarranted authority. They like to think they know everything.

My husband actually can cook quite well (though not baking, he doesn't bake), so I have hopes that our boys will learn to cook also. My brother can cook one or two things. These are survival skills for bachelors, you'd think more guys would learn! haha.

Thank you so much, I'm really glad you liked it! It was a fun challenge, and fun to make Teddy so very inept. It was nice to give Remus more screen time than he usually gets. He's so often eclipsed by Johnny's insanity. I'm not sure what I'd write about, but I do love writing the Lupins! Maybe one of these days :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by NaidatheRavenclaw Figuring it Out

18th July 2012:
This was hilarious! I've forgotten how well you write humor and I did not stop laughing all the way through this :P Your Teddy is brilliant. He was just as lost in the kitchen as my own dad would be and that just made this even funnier. Though it was strange to think of him as an adult xD I loveeed their attempt to make cookies. Oh I wish Victoire could have seen that. And messing up the sausages ahha it was brilliant. And of course, Hugo saving the day with pizza was the classic ending.

Wonderful as always!

-Naida

Author's Response: Aw thank you! I love writing humor. It's probably my favorite thing. I find it difficult not to throw in a joke or two even when I'm being horrory/angsty/serious-ish. Poor Teddy, he tried. Well, sort of. He should have just held his ground and fed them sandwiches or cereal instead of caving to their demands. He's used to Victoire being the strong parent in their partnership, so when she checks out for the day, he's a bit lost. Good thing Hugo could save his bacon ;) Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by starryskies55 Figuring it Out

9th June 2012:
I read this ages ago and I cannot believe I didn't review... o.O
I've been reminded about it because it's on HPPC's Story Seekers, so I am re-reading sneakily before I listen! :P

Anyway, this is a truly hilarious and completely awesome story. Hugo is fantastic there at the end, and Teddy's kids are such brilliant characters. I've just had sausages... but now I want cookies too *sigh*

I really enjoyed this both times I've read it, and I think it's pretty amazing. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for letting me know about Story Seekers!

I'm really glad you liked the story. I had a lot of fun writing it. Poor Teddy, he tried. A bit. Not very hard, actually. haha. I really love writing the Lupin kids, they're a hoot. Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Gryffin_Duck Figuring it Out

5th June 2012:
This was adorable! And soo funny! I absolutely loved Teddy's apprehension about everything in the kitchen, especially his attempt at making cookies. And Remus and Johnny's commentary throughout the whole thing was just hilarious. It sort of reminded me of the times my dad would cook dinner for my siblings and I when my mom was busy or sick. He has two or three things he'll make and that's pretty much it. Although he can make them pretty well.

Poor Victoire! She's really got her hands full with three kids, another on the way, and a husband who can't even fry up sausages correctly. I loved how snappy she was with Teddy.

Ahh, pizza! Hugo saves the day. I bet Teddy will always order pizza whenever he has to cook now. That totally reminded me of how in one of my stories after Victoire's just given birth to twins and her best friend comes over to feed everyone and help take care of the twins while Teddy is at work, she brings pizza. She's like your Teddy, only cooking things from a box.

Very cute story! Loved it! :)

Author's Response: Teddy should have just swallowed his pride and ordered some take-away food, but he just had to try and show he could do what Victoire could do. Clearly, he cannot ;) The boys' commentary was fun to write. They really have no idea what they're talking about, but will totally lecture their dad about how Mom does it anyway.

My husband generally gets fast food when left to his own devices, though he can cook (not a lot of things, but some things). I think it's a guy thing. A dad thing maybe. Sad really. :p

Poor Victoire. Trying to cook with morning sickness is no bueno. Definitely the time to be snippy at one's husband for his incompetence haha.

Hugo is definitely in the responsible contingency of Weasley next gens. He thinks ahead. Friends bringing food when one has newborn twins is a huge help. A few people brought me food when my twins were born. Someone brought pizza and blueberry cheesecake one night. I ate it for three days straight, it was so good. Still remember that fondly haha.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by charlottetrips Figuring it Out

30th April 2012:
That was incredibly incredibly adorable! I love fathers who donít have a clue about what goes on in the kitchen. Teddyís failed attempts and the childrenís sly manipulations were wonderful to read. Itís so funny how Teddy really is taking direction from his kids as to how to make dinner. Has he never stepped foot in the kitchen when Victoire is there?

I see that Teddy and Victoire have also continued the tradition of naming their children after relatives.

Hugo was such a smart cousin, a bit wiser than Teddy, but I guess that comes from having a mother like Hermione!

This was just so cute and fluffy and I loved it to bits!

xChar

Author's Response: Haha, yeah he's pretty much never set foot in the kitchen. Victoire does everything, and she wouldn't want him in there anyway messing up her domain. Yes, the Lupin kids are all named after relatives - much like his godfather Harry, so far Teddy has got to pick all the names for his relatives. But they're not done yet, so Victoire will get her chance ;)

Hugo is a smart cookie. He knows Teddy well enough to know that if Victoire can't get out of bed, the food is going to be a situation. If Teddy could have just ignored the manipulative children, they could've just had a sandwich, but he's rather inept at the tantrums too. Victoire ignores them, but Teddy wants there to be quiet haha.

Thank you so much, I'm glad you liked it! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by GrangerBrain Figuring it Out

16th April 2012:
I love it! It's something I think all parents probably can relate to in their life. Not that I would know. :)

Author's Response: Thank you sweetie! And you can learn through watching if not knowing by experience just yet ;)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Siriusly3 Figuring it Out

10th April 2012:
I love these kids! Especially Johnny obviously, can Manticores eat pizza? This was so hilarious and this little world you've created is pretty much canon in my head now! (Luckily I don't write next-gen -.-) I love how little disasters kept happening and he took his eye off the ball and boom, Dora's out the door and the sausages are burnt. Oh and the cookie:') When will he learn that there are ingredients other than flour and sugar!? I love Hugo in this world, coming in to save the day. Johnny's victory dance made this for me! Do the Manticore! :D

Author's Response: Oh Johnny the manticore - I'm sure his mom would tell him manticores can't eat pizza and he has to be a little boy at the table, but Teddy lets him get away with a lot more. Hugo's a really stand-up guy (except when it comes to dating), I'm quite fond of him. Patching up Rose's injuries, bringing anti-nausea potions to Victoire and pizza to her family. Good guy. Teddy's pretty inept at the cooking, poor thing, but if he'd stood his ground with the sandwiches he'd've been fine. lol Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Cassius Alcinder Figuring it Out

10th March 2012:
This was very funny and enjoyable!

Coming from a guy that nearly started a fire the last time I tried to make bacon, I must say that Teddy's struggles in the kitchen felt all too familiar.

I also like how you developed unique personalities for the kids and protrayed them in a realistic and humorous way.

This was a fun story to read, and easy for anybody to relate to.

Author's Response: Ah Teddy, he does try. He's spoiled and didn't even know it. The Lupin kids are a lot of fun to write, I always love any time I can give Johnny Lupin some screen time (I feel like he's such a legend, he should always be referred to by his full name hahaha). Thanks so much for the review, I'm really glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by LilyFire Figuring it Out

26th February 2012:
It's cute, I like it. I love how the kids all have different personalities too, though I am surprised that Jonny is able to get away with what he seems to be able to with your Vic as a mom (though maybe its only with Teddy). I loved how fully of life all thecharacters were.
The plot was fantastic, I absolutely love it. I think you did an amazing job with the kitchen fiasco. I did think Teddy would manage to do something for dinner, but the way you ended it was fantastic :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Johnny is now getting old enough he's going to have to outgrow his fits, although you can tell it's completely calculated for him (he definitely does more with his dad, cause he knows he can't get away with it around his mom). I really enjoy writing the Lupin kids, I think they're a hoot. It'll be fun to add a new one to the mix.

Thank you very much! I think Teddy could've managed sandwiches if he had to, but Hugo jumped in to save his bacon. Thanks again for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Rae Simmons Figuring it Out

1st February 2012:
Brilliant. Trust a wizard to not even know how to fry up some sausages. Ha ha ha, sounds like Teddy could even burn water. :)

Author's Response: I'm pretty sure Teddy would create an explosion trying to boil water ;) Thanks for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Hope's Mom Figuring it Out

15th January 2012:
Soo funny! My husband used to be able to cook and quite well, too. He even cooked some really delicious meals for me when we were dating. It's all gone! We have now been married a loong time (I won't say how long, it makes me feel old) and recently moved to a new house (6 months ago). He recently confessed that he has no idea how to turn on the stove or the oven in this house - unbelievable! The kids have always liked it when Mom was out and Dad was responsible for the meals - lots of take out was on the menu! Thank you for this cute one shot.

Author's Response: My husband can cook a few things, but mostly he gets the kids McDonald's when left to his own devices, and tells me, "I can't cook like you do." *rolls eyes* My kids feel the same way haha! Daddy in charge = donuts for breakfast. Thanks for the review, I'm really glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Ravenclaw333 Figuring it Out

19th December 2011:
This was just perfection. I love your characters, and this scenario was just brilliant. 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by missdagane Figuring it Out

12th December 2011:
Loved it. I really love this series, and I love the characters. I'm always glad to read another fic with them.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #20, by GinnyMione Figuring it Out

29th November 2011:
Lol what a cute story :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by Jet LaBarge Figuring it Out

23rd October 2011:
Love your universe. As a mostly non-cooking father of four (and now grandfather of 6) the story reads just right. Teddy needs to learn a little more, but Victoria needs to take the time to teach him. I actually can make a few meals now, but when my wife is gone south for a couple of months it's a little monotonous.
When your wife is sick and you are stuck with the children and cooking it's tough!
Pizza is an inspired choice, and thank goodness for Hugo.
Remus is the typical responsible eldest. Johnny is believable too, but he needs some psychology applied to his rear end, or at least some serious sessions in a time out chair, reasonably soon. Keep writing! Love it!

Author's Response: Teddy could learn more - although what he really needed to learn there was to assert his parental authority instead of letting the kids manipulate him. No reason he couldn't have fed them sandwiches, but he doesn't deal with Johnny's tantrums the way Victoire does. lol poor guy. Good thing Hugo came to his rescue though. Johnny does need some serious time in the corner, doesn't he? ;) I'll have to write him out of the tantrums soon, he's getting too old for them. And he's canny enough to know they don't work on his mama. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Georgia Weasley Figuring it Out

17th October 2011:
This. Is. Awesome. OMG, how I love your little universe. Teddy wants so much to have a clue, and he's just completely without one. Having been that sick, curled up in bed and wishing for death, I thoroughly enjoyed Victoire's moments with her husband. The simple, "Bugger off." was priceless. But the characterization of the children was the best. Remus and his all-knowing bossiness, and then Johnny's manipulative tantrums, were perfect. Even little Dora got in on it. I have to say, I adore your Hugo. He's got a lot of Hermione in him. So smart, and able to think ahead logically and 'perceive that which others overlook". In other words, he's no idiot. When Teddy said he was cooking, he knew exactly what that meant. Disaster was approaching, and pizza would avert the crisis. Well done, Hugo. And really, really well done to you my dear! ~GW

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Yay :D Poor Teddy, he really likes to think he's in the know, but really he's lost without his wife. I love Johnny's manipulative tantrums, cause Teddy doesn't quite get what's happening - he caves in almost immediately, whereas Victoire just ignores them. Hugo is very much like his mama, isn't he? He definitely knew disaster was imminent with Teddy in the kitchen haha. Thank you so much for the lovely review! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #23, by Alopex Figuring it Out

15th October 2011:
Ooh, first entry for the challenge! :D

As soon as you mentioned Teddy was a character in the story, I suspected it might tie in with the Midnight stories. I do like it when authors create their own little sub-worlds, and yours are always fun. It's also nice to see characters other than Rose be featured (as much as I do enjoy Rose).

I think you did a great job of portraying Teddy . . . not Teddy in particular, but in making him a really convincing male. I mean, if he always has his meals made and expects it, of course he wouldn't know what ingredients besides sugar go into cookies! I loved how all the disasters kept piling up without seeming too extreme (that's what I hoped would come out of this challenge--something plausible without seeming really unlikely). Therefore, I am giving my approval to this story in this very unscientific process in which I am weighing use of humor for challenge entries. This story seemed sooo realistic, which is part of what made it funny!

I am also getting a kick out of the fact that Victoire, in a roundabout way, did wind up helping Teddy with dinner, just by telling him to get Hugo to come over. It looks like Hugo had some idea of his brother-in-law's cooking abilities (or lack thereof), or perhaps he just is a lousy cook too (I can't remember if that's ever been mentioned) and assumed the same of Teddy.

Anyway, this was an enjoyable and amusing read! It was a well-written story (not that I expect otherwise from you by now) and a nice addition to the Midnight universe.

Author's Response: I'm glad I got in first ;) It was a great challenge idea.

I really liked giving Teddy some more face time, since he isn't in the Midnight Run stories much - mostly his wife roams around with Rose. And of course, I always love giving Johnny Lupin some time. That kid is awesome.

Teddy grew up an only child raised by his grandmother, who undoubtedly did everything for him. I bet he didn't lift a finger. And I'm sure Ginny and Harry did a ton for him as well. I can see him being quite grateful to get in with Victoire the earth mother and get away from bachelor life. He likes being taken care of, and she likes to take care of him.

She did sort of cause the help, didn't she? Hugo does know how to cook, but with small children of that age, pizza is always a safe bet. Even Dora could eat some cut-up pizza bits. And of course, Hugo knows the idea of Teddy actually preparing food from scratch is laughable ;) Plus he's a nice guy, knowing Victoire is sick, he pitches in and brings food over.

Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm really glad you liked it, and I'm pleased to have the chance to write for you ;)


 Report Review

Review #24, by >OpenAtTheClose< Figuring it Out

15th October 2011:
I ADORE your writing, it's always spectacular. This one was so very adorable and just perfect. I don't think I can give you anything else but compliments, so I won't be of much use, oh well. Keep writing, AMAZING job! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it, and thank you for the compliments! This review really made my day :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login