Reading Reviews for Find the Words to Explain
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SlitherHen Find the Words to Explain

10th February 2014:
OH MY DOMINUS! (Latin for Lord.) THIS IS TOTALLY AWESOMELY AMAZING ! Okay, I know we're not supposed to copy but could I PLEASE use this idea? It's not copying if we get permission, right? I just love this idea story SO SO SO MUCH! Please let me use it I will love you forever.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! If you have permission from an author to continue a story, you may, but you must credit them. However, I don't allow people to use my ideas/characters because it's a slippery slope to actual plagiarism (which I've had issues with before). So I can't let you use Kaden in your own stories. But, I do not own the idea of Dudley's son going to Hogwarts. I've seen other fics with that same general plot. So if you write a story like that, please do not use Kaden or any of my OCs that appear in this fic or its related Albus Potter fics. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Akussa Find the Words to Explain

26th May 2013:
Hi! I really liked this; I found the Dursleys - all of them - had really believable reactions. I really enjoyed this background story for Kaden

I did notice one little slip up though and thought I should point it out to you. At one point during the first family dinner, you refer to Vernon as "uncle" instead of "grandfather". Here is the sentence :

Kaden finally looked up and saw that his uncle was staring agape at Dudley.

It's nothing big but I just thought I'd mention it. Otherwise, it was a really enjoyable read!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you liked it! It was very fun to write because I find the Dursleys fascinating. And Kaden is always enjoyable to write.

Thanks for pointing out the typo! I'm so used to Vernon being Uncle Vernon. And thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Owlpost68 Find the Words to Explain

17th May 2013:
Aww, well, I think Kaden's right, that's as good as it's gonna get with Vernon :) Great job!
I liked how you did Dudley and Christina, and Kaden's little sister, she was cute :)

Author's Response: Yep, definitely wouldn't get any better with Vernon. But Kaden has accepted that. I'm glad you liked the fic! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Alopex Find the Words to Explain

4th April 2013:
Hi there. I don't think I have ever reviewed one of your stories before. Anyway, I chose this one partly because it is a one shot but partly because I find the Dursleys rather interesting. My first story I posted here was about Petunia and Vernon, actually. I hardly ever read about them, though. Maybe they're not written much? Anyway, I have often wondered what it would be like if Dudley had a magical child.

Now I know! I really enjoyed this story. First off, I thought you did a good job with the characterization of Kaden. He did come across as eleven to me. His sullen attitude at times, the way he reacted to things, the teasing with his sister . . . it all seemed to fit.

Dudley was well characterized as well. I very much believe him still caring so much about what his parents think. Vernon does have a rather forceful personality, after all, and I think most/all of us do care what our parents think. It was sort of lousy that it took so much convincing from his wife before he was willing to tell his parents, but at least he stuck with it and was firm once the news was finally shared.

Vernon and Petunia's reactions also seemed in character. Plus, I got a kick out of Vernon going on and on about Smelting's.

Lastly, I have to appreciate the cameo appearance by Neville! :D

Quick question: I haven't read your next gen stories, so I was wondering if Kaden appears in them?

Author's Response: Alo! Hi! Thanks so much for reading and leaving such a lovely review!

The Dursleys are so interesting! I loved all the extra info on Pottermore about them, although I wrote this long before Pottermore existed. Oo, I'll have to check out your Petunia and Vernon story. I don't think they're written much, either. I've rarely seen them in the queue. There are a few others where Dudley has a magical child, though.

Kaden is one of my favorite characters to write, just because he's so exuberant. That comes out a bit more in my other stories. I'm glad you liked his characterization!

Dudley, Vernon, and Petunia were all really fun to write. I can't imagine Dudley being as bad as his father, but I think Vernon's influence is still there, as is the desire to please him. After all, I doubt Vernon and Petunia ever stopped trying to influence every aspect of Dudley's life.

Neville is awesome, so I had to add him in! Kaden is in all but one of my next gen fics. This fic was a spin-off of Albus Potter and the Tracks They Left Behind, and Kaden appears in all the fics except Albus Potter and the Secrets Within (as he is one year behind Albus).


 Report Review

Review #5, by The Empress Find the Words to Explain

28th December 2012:
Ahahahahaha! This is adorable :) I could see Vernon reacting just like that. Skulking because he wasn't getting his way. I love getting a glimpse of Dudley's future. He's one that really does need a wife to tell him to get his act together.
Kaden watched as both of his grandparents visibly paled. Vernon dropped his brandy glass. Petunia let out what could only be described as a small squeak. Vernon's face then turned the purplish color it did when he got angry.
Made me laugh :) I would just love to see Vernon freaking out and there being nothing he can do about it.
Lovely story, dear!
xoxo

Author's Response: I loved writing this so much. Writing the Dursleys is just so funny! And the idea of Dudley with a magical child and then having to face his parents is just awesome. He really did need his wife to give him guidance. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by MargaretLane Find the Words to Explain

13th October 2012:
Love the beginning of this chapter. It seems so like what we've learnt of Kaden from your other stories.

I also like the way Dudley won't stand up to Petunia and Vernon. It makes a lot of sense as he was so well-treated, but saw Harry so badly-treated, that he'd be wary of crossing them.

I hope you go on until Bethany is old enough to attend Hogwarts, so we can find out whether she's a witch or a Muggle. Either would be interesting.

This story also helps to explain why Kaden was so over-enthusiastic in his first year. After expecting he was going to go to Smeltings, Hogwarts must have seemed great by comparison. The hints we get about Smeltings, such as the Smeltings stick, make it sound like a pretty unpleasant place to be.

I know this story is old, so it probably doesn't matter, but doesn't "public school" mean "select private school" in the UK and "state school" mean a non-fee-paying school. I also wouldn't have expected Vernon to refer to the Smeltings teachers as "professors". I've never heard of secondary school teachers being called that except in Harry Potter, though of course I could be missing something there.

That comment of Vernon's about Kaden getting mixed up with the same crowd as Lily did makes me wonder if he's partly worried about his grandson.

The Dursleys are rather interesting characters. On the one hand, they abused Harry and could even be considered to have been somewhat indirectly abusive (or at least cruel) to Dudley (letting him see another child being abused, encouraging him to bully Harry and so on), yet on the other hand, they chose to keep Harry and Petunia wouldn't have him thrown out when doing so would put his life in danger. You seem to have caught that ambiguity here.

 Report Review

Review #7, by The Maurader Find the Words to Explain

9th August 2012:
That was really good
So can you tell me if Bethany is actually a witch or not ?
It would be really good if she was so that you can mention her in your other stories

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! I can't reveal whether Bethany is a witch or not because I haven't decided yet! But it'll be in my future Albus stories. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Find the Words to Explain

4th August 2012:
Ummm... wow (again). I think it's safe to say I need to read more of your work! This was absolutely amazing dear, and I enjoyed every word.

Once again, your description, characterization, flow, grammar and spelling... everything about this is just flawless! And now you've got me wanting to read 'Albus Potter and the Tracks They Left Behind' so that I can read more about what happens to Kaden!

The idea behind this is a very original one; I've NEVER read a fic about one of Dudley's children being a wizard before. I am SO glad that Dudley was more accepting of Kaden's wizardness than his parents were of Harry's, and I'm super-thrilled that Kaden gets to go!

I was really worried about how Vernon and Petunia were going to react, and even though they flipped out for a moment, I thought the one-armed hug at the end and the 'You're still my grandson' but were just perfect!

Absolutely wonderful dear, 10/10! Well done!

Author's Response: Aww, I'm glad you liked this one, too!

Haha, Kaden is quite interesting in Tracks They Left Behind. I really enjoyed writing him. I would suggest reading Secrets Within first, because that one comes before Tracks They Left Behind. But it's not necessary.

I've seen the 'Dudley's kid being a wizard/witch' done before, but not before I wrote it in Tracks They Left Behind. I think it's definitely an interesting concept and I've never seen it done the same way twice.

Ahh, Vernon and Petunia. They were difficult to write, but fun at the same time. Glad you thought their reactions were good. Thanks so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by SereneChaos Find the Words to Explain

3rd August 2012:
Oh, I liked this! You do such a great job writing dialogue--it flows so neatly! And your transitions are so smooth! I'm jealous, lol.

I actually think that Dudley shouldn't really be to blame for not telling his children (and I would go so far as to say his wife) about magic, just for the sake of preserving the Statute of Secrecy. I always imagined that telling about magic was on a need-to-know basis for immediate family members, but that's okay.

I like how you made Dudley into a normal person, and not a mini version of Vernon. I also liked how Vernon, at the very end, came to accept Kaden was magical. That was so nice!

Good work, Ducky!

Author's Response: Aww, I'm glad you think it flows so well! I love writing dialogue, and it is one of my strengths. Description...not so much! I always get jealous of people who can write long, beautiful descriptions.

The whole Statute of Secrecy thing was difficult to deal with when writing about Kaden being a wizard. I've never read anything canon that says just how far the 'families of wizards can know about magic' thing goes. You're probably right, that Dudley couldn't tell his kids about magic. But blaming Dudley worked well in this. ;)

I find Dudley an interesting character and after what we saw of him in Deathly Hallows, I think he matured a lot immediately after. Writing Vernon was difficult, so I'm glad you liked how that turned out. Thanks so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by MyMagicalEnchantedAccessory Find the Words to Explain

4th February 2012:
Re-reading this I noticed you called a state school a public school. In England public school means a private school like Eton or Harrow. Weird piece of british history. Wikipedia will give more information if you want some. Kaden may be 11 but both his father and grandfather would call Smeltings a public school, so he would too. Other than that, great story as per usual. :)

Author's Response: Ohh. I think I've heard that before but it seems so odd to me as an American to hear private schools called public schools. Thanks for pointing it out, though. I'll change it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Liana Find the Words to Explain

30th October 2011:
I really enjoyed this story. It gave us a look behind the scenes at the Dursley family. I liked seeing how Dudley finally came around and, in a way, overcame his fear of his parents. I also like seeing how he was going to Harry for advice. You wrote stories about how the other children in your Albus stories got their Hogwarts letters so it was good to hear Kaden's story. I loved how Vernon told Kaden that he still loved him as his grandson at the end. The feeling I got from this story was one of excitement at Kaden finding out he was a wizard and was about to head off to Hogwarts instead of Smelting's. Excellent story.

Author's Response: I enjoyed writing it for that very reason. Dudley's future has always intrigued me. I was very torn as to what the ending should be, but I decided to make it somewhat happy and have Vernon accept Kaden. Kaden was definitely very excited to go to Hogwarts. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by ngayonatkailanman Find the Words to Explain

17th October 2011:
Thank Merlin that Kaden has a mother who is nicer than Dudley... and thank Merlin that Dudley is not as horrid or as narrow minded as Vernon nor as cruel as Petunia who should be hanged drawn and quartered for mistreating a child. just because she is a jealous so and so.

Author's Response: Yep, Kaden's mother is great. I imagined that Dudley would be attracted to a rather outspoken and opinionated woman to compliment his own wishy-washy self. And Dudley did change at the end of DH. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by kalkay Find the Words to Explain

12th October 2011:
I love this so much! I love how you portrayed Dudley's grownup side that is more the more caring and protective, yet still under his parent's thumb and views of the world. This is a very well written piece that I adore.

The ending was a perfect fit for it. I love how they all ended up sort of breaking apart from the others view and finding their own footing. The mutual understanding was great.

The tension that you held during the dinner scenes were amazing. Did I mention that I love this story?!

Very well written, very enjoyable, very unique. 10/10

Keep writing! We love to see more!
xoxo
Mikayla

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it!!! Yeah, Dudley was an interesting character to write. He obviously changed at the end of DH, but I can't imagine he turned totally against his parents.

I had to give it a happy ending. After all, Vernon is Kaden's grandfather. None of them are in agreement but at least they're civil. The dinner scenes were so much fun to write!!!

If you want more, read Tracks They Left Behind. It picks up where this leaves off. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :) And thanks again for the awesome title!


 Report Review

Review #14, by lucy Find the Words to Explain

6th October 2011:
its great
(i think its 9.5 out a 10)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Jen Find the Words to Explain

4th October 2011:
A new one-shot... YAY!!! I love coming to your page and seeing new chapters, but even more so when there's a whole new story... woohoo! :)

Loved it. I adore Kaden and it's nice to imagine him as an 11 year old. Fabulous job.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! It was a lot of fun to write. Well, Kaden is 11 in all of Tracks They Left Behind, so you can see him at age 11 in that, too. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Lo Find the Words to Explain

2nd October 2011:
Thks 4 updating! Been. A wahileb cute! Nice 2 c another part of Vernon! Hope u update soon

Author's Response: Well this is a one-shot, so it's finished and won't have any other chapters. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by megan2u Find the Words to Explain

2nd October 2011:
Awww! Loved this glimpse into Kaden's pre-Hogwarts days! Hope to find out more about Bethany and whether or not she's got magical blood too!
Very well-written!

Author's Response: I loved writing about Kaden's pre-Hogwarts days. If I'm doing the math right, Bethany should find out whether she's a witch or not when Albus is a sixth year. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login