Reading Reviews for Off the Rails
  
548 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Mildred Meadowlark epilogue

1st June 2016:
So... I just finished reading today, and I'll probably have to go and reread it because I read so quickly I'm pretty sure I missed some stuff.

But what a great fanfic. One of the best I've read. You've not just sketched the characters of the HP world, you've made them real, believable and likeable. And not always likeable, if you know what I mean. Each and every one of your characters had depth, and grew and developed in a way that was totally organic, and not at all forced. Your characters drove the story. It is the best thing about your fantastic story, for me.

I also loved how well you were able to evoke the wizarding world with real feeling and originality. Every place, Diagon Alley, The Leaky Cauldron, they all felt real, and what's more, the places that were your own invention felt just as real, as much part of the wizarding world as Hogwarts.

And the Quidditch. So much Quidditch. The sheer volume of detail you used and created is amazing. It was absolutely brilliant to read. It made for really immersive and quick-paced reading. During the Quidditch World Cup... Well, let's just say I'm Irish and I was rooting for England.

Thank you so much for sharing your story. I enjoyed it more than I can say. I'm really looking forward to reading Derailed - best of luck with it.

Millie :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by CamThomas10 epilogue

22nd May 2016:
An amazing story, really loved it! Found it a couple of days ago and decided that I'd start reading and just fell in love and felt like I was almost part of the story. I went through almost every emotion possible whilst reading this and decided it was more important than exams!
Thank you for an amazing story and I was struggling to find a story about James but was overjoyed when I found it!
Truly Wonderful!

 Report Review

Review #3, by L.A.P forty-six

9th April 2016:
She looked up at me, and a cheeky smile spread across her face. I could be your house elf, if you want someone to cook and clean for you.

For some reason this for the first time gave me "an image" of what Carlotta looks like. That would be Victoria from HIMYM.

 Report Review

Review #4, by madhatter36 sixty-three

18th March 2016:
I'm actually kind of glad he retired because i really want him to take that hogwarts quidditch coach job...which i think is going to happen

Author's Response: It would be perfect for him, wouldn't it! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by CharmAurorG epilogue

28th February 2016:
I can't believe this story was on my reading list for weeks, maybe even months, and I just started reading it 2 days ago! To my defense, once I started, I couldn't stop and finished in one go over the weekend... :) I LOVE IT! You are great writer! Great job on both James and Carla's characters, they just seem so realistic. I love your Harry and Ginny (my favorite characters ever and you did them justice, so thank you for that), also Brie, Ingrid, Lily... This is the first story I read with squib Lily (or any of the main characters for that matter) that I read and enjoyed. Same goes for Muggle in the main role. So I guess that is the best in this story - so original, unpredictable, exciting, refreshing... I watched Love and other drugs and like that movie, so I'm really glad it was the inspiration of the sorts and again you did it extraordinary good. I'm very excited to start reading the sequel! :) Keep it real.

~M~

 Report Review

Review #6, by CarolPotter thirty-three

27th February 2016:
I can barely put to words how much your story is growing on me. The quality and the emotion that your writing transmits it's just out of this world.
I can relate so much to James, to what he feels about how everyone treats him, that these few chapters almost made me cry.
Thank you so much for this beautiful peace of writing. You have a gift. "Use it well".

 Report Review

Review #7, by sweaterweather21 epilogue

19th February 2016:
I know it's been a while since this story was completed, but I still wanted to leave a review singing your praises before moving on to the sequel. Although I've read (more than) my fair share of James/OC and other next gen romances, this fic blows most of them out of the water. Apart from it's novel-length status, the quality of your writing is superb. I enjoyed every last word of all 64 chapters! The way you balanced James's development as a character with his relationship with Carlotta, amidst the crazy setting of professional Quidditch and a insanely large cast of characters was absolutely brilliant. It was a remarkably ambitious task to take on, and you absolutely crushed it!

I also really want to applaud you on all of your decisions regarding the plot line. For instance, making Lily a Squib and having James retire couldn't have been the easiest choices to make. (I know there's a part of me that just wanted the whole Potter family to be magical and for James to play Quidditch till he keels over, haha!) However, the way you had things play out aligns perfectly with the way you've developed the characters, and I whole-heartedly came to appreciate each choice you made. So props, because I know that can't be easy!

Congrats again on a phenomenal story - I'm looking forward to starting the sequel :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Crescent Moon  epilogue

14th January 2016:
I have loved this story so much. You've had me laughing or crying and sometimes both the whole way through.
You're a fantastic writer. Your characters are superb, their personalities just seeped through words and became so real, I love them all. And your plot was so beautiful and original, I loved the whole premise and I'm really having to force myself to write this review rather than going straight to read the sequel. You've had me so addicted to this story, I was up till the early hours this morning reading and then only stopped due to the fact that my eyes refused to stay open for any longer.
I really can't wait to see how James and Carla's life progresses. I can't wait any longer, I'm off to read Derailed.
Words can not describe how amazing you, and this story, are.

 Report Review

Review #9, by ishi epilogue

10th October 2015:
I LOVE it. Need to read derailed!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, I hope you check out Derailed! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by twitchy_piigeons sixty-three

9th October 2015:
I don't think it's the retiring that got me this chapter, but rather Fiona. He took her out of the closet, so does this mean she was already dead?? Because otherwise that's just messed up.

Author's Response: No need to worry, Fiona is James' Firebolt! Although I won't deny that it is a little bit heartbreaking that he burns his broomstick. But hopefully not quite so messed up. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by rosiful epilogue

25th September 2015:
I just spent the last two days reading this entire story from the start. This was such an amazing story to read! I loved it!!
And the amount of detail you went into about Quidditch, their individual games and tactics was just incredible. I almost forgot that Quidditch is not actually a real sport... I really wish it was though!

I was a bit put out that James gave up Quidditch, but I saw it coming and totally understand your reasoning! He grew up so much in this fic, that I could clearly see that the lime light wasn't exactly for him and the Hogwart's position would be perfect... but I still want him to keep playing for the Falcons! Mainly because their group and team spirit is so amazing!
I really, really love how you also developed all you side characters. There were so many that at times I was a little confused, but you managed to make them all so unique and interesting! My favourite was probably Lily. She's just amazing!

I could probably blabber on forever about how much I really enjoyed this story, but I'm too excited to read the sequel!!

Thank you for such a wonderful story, I really loved reading it!

-Rosiful

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for reading, I'm amazed you did it all in two days!

Ah, the Quidditch, I did end up getting incredibly absorbed in it all, to the point where I almost ended up sick of it! In my mind it is a very real sport. And I honestly found it heartbreaking to have James give it up - I like what he goes on to do, but it's a shame to not have him playing for England and the Falcons any more. It was definitely the right decision for him to make though.

Oh Lily. I absolutely adore her. I know so much of her backstory that I could probably write a separate fic just on her. Maybe I will... Who knows!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Juliette one

22nd September 2015:
Really like this story, hope there's more of Al soon :)

Author's Response: Glad you like, thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by The Riddle House two

16th September 2015:
I love the way you write the Potter-Weasley clan. This really seems like the next generation of the family we came to know and love in the series. And even though Brie is an OC I already love her and am rooting for her and Freddie! Your language use is very clean, and your style is entertaining and well-written. James is somehow both annoying and charming, but I have a feeling he's going to grow up a lot over the course of this fic. Awesome start, and I can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: I really do adore writing the Weasleys, so I'm glad you like them in Rails! :) Brigid is one of my absolute favourites as well. Annoying but charming definitely sums up James! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Sweetsandstoryz epilogue

5th August 2015:
Hey, can i just say how much i enjoyed reading this fic - seriously i was crying with James when he was depressed and was genuinely happy when things went well for him. It was amazingly writtrn and the characters were PERFECTION!

Author's Response: So glad you enjoyed Rails! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by am0rtentia93 one

12th July 2015:
I'm very late to the party as I just started reading this and you already have the sequel up but I just needed to drop you a very enthusiastic BRAVO for the first chapter. As a humor writer myself, I can only hope to make even my least appealing characters as funny, charming, and relatable as you have done so with James. There is already so much backstory and so many characters, and you still manage to bring the laughs in a way that does not seem forced at all. I cannot wait to keep reading!

Author's Response: Thanks very much for your review! I put a lot of effort into trying to make the first chapter as interesting as possible, it's good to know you enjoyed it! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Aleine sixteen

18th June 2015:
I had an issue with a sentence. You've indicated that magical elements and muggle elements are different. I'm not sure if you meant something else by the word "element", instead of referring to the elements of the periodic table, which are universal.

If you were indicating that the magical world has different elements, I'd love to see you explain it. I can't quite wrap my head around it, seeing as how both the universes are one and the same...

I guess I'll read ahead and see :)

Author's Response: So I've just read over this chapter again ... and I don't actually know what I meant by that part! I wrote this chapter a good few years ago now. I THINK what I was trying to get at was that while in chemistry you have the periodic table, and all the elements within that with their own characteristics, the wizarding world doesn't seem to know about them at all; they seem to have a totally different way of using materials. I mean, they can Conjure up pretty much anything, they don't need to know about atomic construction etc etc. I THINK that's where I was headed with this! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Aleine thirteen

11th June 2015:
Oh dear... Lily a Squib... Oh my God... I cannot believe it!!

AND YOU HID IT SO WELL!

Your award is truly deserved...

Author's Response: BAHAHA I love these kind of reviews! Thank you so much, it was ridiculously amazing winning the Dobby. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Aleine nine

11th June 2015:
I loved the last bit... So touching...

Simply, amazing!

Author's Response: That was an emotional moment to write. Poor Harry. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Aleine seven

11th June 2015:
Hey!! Spoilers!!

I do want to know more about James-Harry not seeing eye-to-eye though.

Hopefully it'll come

Author's Response: The James/Harry issue will be addressed in due course, I hope it's satisfying :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Aleine five

10th June 2015:
I still can't pronounce the Muggle's name properly.

You know, Brie is fast becoming my favourite character. You've done an excellent job with her.

The Muggle's portrayal is superb. Not just as a Muggle, but also as a girl. Her actions and reactions are so realistic, and life-like.

You've won the Dobby for the best plot twist...

You better not hurt Brie...

(Too much game of Thrones)

Author's Response: Thank you for the Brie love! She is one of my personal favourites :) Aha no need to worry, nothing Game of Thrones-esque in this! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Aleine four

10th June 2015:
I seriously thought that the girl he ends up liking is shy and innocent...

Wow...

Author's Response: Haha, definitely not! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Aleine three

10th June 2015:
"Women" I like how it ends.

I should say though, the repetitive reference to James' character as a player is putting me off.

Probably because I didn't expect him to be so... Bad :/

I'll have to read and see how it sits with me

Author's Response: Hopefully James' character will become clear in time. He's certainly not a bad person, he just has flaws. As do all of us. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Aleine two

10th June 2015:
I got really confused about the Murph thing. And I don't know if the "close shave" is going to be explained or if I missed it...

Oh well. I'll know soon enough

Author's Response: All will be revealed in due course... as you now know! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Aleine one

10th June 2015:
Wow... This is amazing. It's so lifelike and real. I wasn't a Next Gen fan to begin with, but I am now.

I did dislike the fact that there were so many rolling-eyes, but that slipped away really fast. The fact is that the Briticism in this story is amazingly done.

Need to keep reading. Will review properly when I'm done with the entire thing.

You're amazing.

Author's Response: Thanks for your comment about all the eye rolling - I tend to get quite repetitive when it comes to physical description! Glad you're enjoying, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by DancingMooncalf epilogue

29th May 2015:
I'm terribly sorry to be one of those readers that can't wait the tome to type a review before contineuing the next chapter, but i am and thats why you only hear from me now. In all honesty i lost a lot of good sleeping hours this week because i couldn't quit reading. I was impressed in every way by thus story. The plot blew my mind. I thought it was predictable but than it wasn't and than i picked up on it again thinking it could see a few chapters ahead and things change again. I did however predict very shortly after the big breakdown that james was going to retire to start teaching. i was gkad to know at least one think that was right.
Something else that blew my mind was the incredible insight in quidditch. How do you know those thinks about set up en point and matches and stuff? You must have done sone really good research!! Quite impressive indeed.
but the most mindblowing aspect of the story is the fact that it made my belief in magic as a real thing again for a bit. Much like when i was younger and reading harry potter for the first time. Those thoughts of 'Maybe its bit even that strange a thing to assume a hidden society exsist around us'. Not many fanfics have managed to get me to think in that way again. like i said the feeling i got when i first read harry potter. The feeling of a new an hidden world opening its doors, it being more than just a story. Maybe thats just the euphoria of the last few chapters speaking, but i really did feel it throughout the story.
i want to say thank you for giving me so many enjoyable hours of reading. I laughed a lot, the sarcasm, the sass, the ridiculous situation here and there. I was lovely. I got slightly depressed reading James' breakdown bit. I just wanted to be able tp hug him you know. I think said out loud that yelling at him wouldn't help because my mom looked really weird at me after that. I couldn't put my phone(my mobile fanfic reading device, more like) down to make dinner or eat it... peole must think me a social media junky woth all the time i spend with my phone this week. How wrong they are.
anyway... i'm a huge fan of james an carloota now and will definitely read the sequel to!!
Thanks again for this awsome piece of literature and you'll probably hear from me again some time!
Xxx Maya

Author's Response: No need to apologise! I know the feeling of needing to read the next chapter, and besides I'm terrible at REPLYING to reviews, which is definitely a far bigger sin. :)

I think I signposted James taking the teaching job, not necessarily VERY blatantly, but certainly enough so that when it happened, people weren't TOO surprised. The only deterrent from that idea was that to take the teaching job he had to retire from Quidditch completely, which was a pretty big call for James to make. I still think it was the right move for him though, and you'll see in Derailed that he's happy with his life.

Oh, the Quidditch. I won't lie, I totally immersed myself into Quidditch to the point where I was determined it was a real sport and I can't stand to think about having to write another match now. I've well and truly put myself off, ha.

Hey, magic is totally real ;) On a serious note, this review has made me so happy, I'm so glad that Rails has made you feel that way, it's the best kind of compliment.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, I hope you go on to check out the sequel!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>