Reading Reviews for Off the Rails
  
577 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 epilogue

6th August 2016:
I loved this. It was so fluffy and perfect. Now I'm off to start reading Derailed because I just need to know more... especially about this business proposition. !!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by onestop_hpfan18 sixty-three

6th August 2016:
Well, this plot twist came out of nowhere. Loved it though. I just makes sense. James hated all the attention he received as a professional Quidditch player. It only makes sense that he would retire now that he's played, and won, a World Cup for England and has won a few League titles for the Falcons. Not to mention his Player of the Match titles for the Peru and final matches. It also makes sense that he would gravitate toward the Flying Instructor position since he enjoyed teaching those kids at St Mungo's and Dora how to fly properly on a broomstick. Loved it. Now I see why this novel won a Dobby for Best Plot Twist; its well earned. And his relationship with Carlotta is moving forward, double yay there.

 Report Review

Review #3, by onestop_hpfan18 sixty-two

6th August 2016:
So much entertaining character interaction in this chapter! Loved it! Also, yay for Ryan and Della! Now if only Freddie and Brie can get together.

 Report Review

Review #4, by onestop_hpfan18 sixty-one

6th August 2016:
That was quite a Quidditch World Cup final. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time whilst reading, my mind envisioning the match being played like a film the whole time I read. Your Quidditch scenes are the best I've read in fanfic. I loved every bit of this chapter, especially that end where James finally was passed the Cup. It was another pivotal moment for his character that your writing did justice. Great writing! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by onestop_hpfan18 sixty

6th August 2016:
Honestly, even with J. K. Rowling giving more information on the Quidditch World Cup, I still view your version and rules as canon. Honestly, JKR needs to just stop giving more things out as canon if she's not going to write another novel set in the HP-universe. She's making it even harder for us who enjoy fanfic to keep things canon, or at least as canon like as we can speculate.

I loved this chapter and of course it really isn't any surprise that James is playing in the final. That match should be interesting. I hope we get a detailed scene of the match now that it's the final. Ireland vs. England... that'll be a grand of a match.

 Report Review

Review #6, by onestop_hpfan18 fifty-nine

6th August 2016:
Of course James had come out of the match against Peru as the Player of the Match... love it. I also loved the camaraderie between the England teammates.

 Report Review

Review #7, by onestop_hpfan18 fifty-eight

6th August 2016:
Ooh, now that Freddie's getting serious about finding a real job that'll make him work harder, challenge himself, then maybe the Flying Instructor position is a right fit for him. Also, I love how Brie isn't done given up on Freddie... also, while I was reading them talking about the possibility of a relationship 'What If' by Colbie Caillat came on, which gives me hope that they'll find each other eventually. Loved this chapter... especially Cleo bludgeoning McLaggen over the head with a bludger like she had promised. Perfect. Even though I have no doubt that Demelza would have chosen James over McLaggen to play in the semis.

 Report Review

Review #8, by onestop_hpfan18 fifty-seven

6th August 2016:
Yay! I knew James would be a better fit with Tamsin and Emily than McLaggen was! Also, love how all of James's family/teammates/friends have his back when it's clear he's so stressed out. This chapter was awesome!

 Report Review

Review #9, by onestop_hpfan18 fifty-six

5th August 2016:
Yay! Take that, McLaggen!

 Report Review

Review #10, by onestop_hpfan18 fifty-five

5th August 2016:
I think James is gonna surpass McLaggen. He's just a way better player and teammate than McLaggen will ever be. I really want to see the team dynamic of Tamsin, Emily, and James.

 Report Review

Review #11, by onestop_hpfan18 fifty-four

5th August 2016:
Yay, another win under their belt! Also, I wonder if James will end up taking McLaggen's slot in the final. It seems like James, Tamsin, and Emily work better as a team. McLaggen is too haughty, and I think Tamsin doesn't particularly like playing with him. At least, I hope the times she's got a funny expression on her face was because of something McLaggen has done, and not James. Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #12, by onestop_hpfan18 fifty-three

5th August 2016:
Of course James would have decided to teach all the kids at St. Mungo's that could go outside how to fly out in the hospital's garden. That made me smile, imagining the England team teach kids to fly. I bet they made those kids' day.

Yay for the first win of the World Cup season for England. And James got to play in it. Get his nerves out of the way. Loved this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #13, by onestop_hpfan18 fifty-two

4th August 2016:
Yay! James is playing for England! And I hope he does take McLaggen's place; he needs to be knocked down a few pegs.

 Report Review

Review #14, by onestop_hpfan18 fifty-one

4th August 2016:
Ahh! Please let it be Demelza Robbins calling James to offer him his spot on the England team back. Please, please, please, pretty please with sugar on top. Now I have to go straight to the next chapter to find out. Forget getting to bed at a timely hour.

 Report Review

Review #15, by onestop_hpfan18 fifty

4th August 2016:
I really am enjoying all of the interaction between James and his parents, especially his Dad, in the past few chapters and this one. Also, it would figure that James's favorite childhood tale is The Tale of the Three Brothers considering the Potters are descended down from the Peveralls (sp?). Especially considering the invisibility cloak has stayed in the family for generations and was passed down to James before he gave it to Lily after he graduated Hogwarts.

 Report Review

Review #16, by onestop_hpfan18 forty-nine

4th August 2016:
AHHH! James's replacement on England's team has a serious case of dragon pox... YES! I'm crossing my fingers that Demelza Robbins calls James up and offers his spot back. I think Kiera (being the Chasers' coach for England) may have told Demelza about James's pep talk with their beater reserve before the Kestral match because James caught Kiera watching him intently. Please... I so hope James gets his chance back. He's really taken a new leaf since he rejoined the Falcons. He deserves to play in the World Cup.

 Report Review

Review #17, by onestop_hpfan18 forty-eight

3rd August 2016:
Is that tiny seed of an idea anything to do with the open Flying Instructor position at Hogwarts? Is that what he's planning on doing in the off season? Hmm. He'd make a great teacher. That scene was the sweetest, most heart-warming things ever. I love watching a child continually try to learn something new repeatedly until they finally achieve their goal. Their joy is so infectious. You pulled of this scene so well. Loved this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #18, by onestop_hpfan18 forty-seven

3rd August 2016:
Best chapter ending ever... so fluffy, yet you can't help but love James and Carlotta. Also, that was an intense match... I was on the edge of my seat while reading it, especially when James, Della, and Ryan were closing in around Eoin. Insane. Then that plunge between seekers, a race for the snitch, as everyone froze to watch. Madness. This chapter was brilliant and entertaining.

 Report Review

Review #19, by onestop_hpfan18 forty-six

3rd August 2016:
There wasn't any doubt that Sinead was going to choose to play James in the Bats match. I think she just wanted to make him sweat. And I just love seeing James and Carlotta together again. They're so cute and everything is wonderful.

 Report Review

Review #20, by onestop_hpfan18 forty-five

3rd August 2016:
I love the depth of which you're writing all of the Quidditch-related scenes. You really know the game of Quidditch. Also, I feel like this fic could be canon with how well you've written the plot, scenes, and characters (both canon and original). It all just fits right into J. K. Rowling's world. Love it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by onestop_hpfan18 forty-four

3rd August 2016:
Everything is righted in the universe once more. I'm so glad that James and Carlotta are back together, and this time they know all each other's secrets. Everything is laid out on the table and still they want to be together. :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by onestop_hpfan18 forty-three

3rd August 2016:
I'm so proud of James for finding out what the disease entails before deciding that it didn't matter. That he still loved Carlotta enough that he wanted to be there for her. That he wanted to make her as happy as she would make him. I feel so much joy at the prospect that their relationship.

 Report Review

Review #23, by onestop_hpfan18 forty-two

3rd August 2016:
Well, this sucks. But I'm glad that James is prepared to fight more than ever, and I hope it feels the same way after learning more about Parkinson's. I liked how you handled the writing of this chapter. It was realistic, raw, and emotionally charged. It really packed a punch. Great job.

 Report Review

Review #24, by onestop_hpfan18 forty-one

3rd August 2016:
I loved this chapter so much. It was just the light-hearted father/son chapter we needed after that heavy one a few chapters back now that everything is smoothed over more or less between them. And I definitely giggled over Harry looking for where Ginny hid the cake she had just baked... and even when it became clear that he had stolen Carlotta's file from the MAC (there's the Harry we know and love from the books). And then that last line from Ginny, berating Harry for eating cake before dinner, such a classic. Loved it. :D

 Report Review

Review #25, by onestop_hpfan18 forty

2nd August 2016:
At least Freddie is finally confessing his feelings to Brigid. Great chapter, by the way, I loved how Sinead asked James for his honest opinion on who to play and rest in final matches, and she truly valued his opinion. And James stepped up to the plate.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>