Reading Reviews for And Love Prevails
  
128 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Tim Epilogue - Carry Me Home

7th August 2014:
(This is about the complete story, not just the epilogue)

Wonderful story. I really like the way you combined AU parts and parts that (could) be canon story lines into one great story. Also, your story building and writing skills are really in the top level found anywhere on this site.
Maybe i would've liked more of the interactions in 2022, but I can imagine that would draw the story's focus away from what you wanted to write.

In short, really great story!

 Report Review

Review #2, by amuggle_ephemeral_tale Epilogue - Carry Me Home

1st August 2014:
Wow!

Yep that pretty much summarizes it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Sam Epilogue - Carry Me Home

15th July 2014:
What an original and beautiful story with which you have enchanted me. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #4, by magnolia_magic Epilogue - Carry Me Home

12th July 2014:
Drue! How did I not notice that you'd posted an epilogue! I'm super ashamed of myself :( But I wanted to come by and tell you how much I enjoyed it, even though I'm sad that ALP has come to a close.

You've packed an entire lifetime into one chapter, and yet I never really felt rushed. I was just dying to know as much as possible about Dominique and Ignotius' life together, so every detail felt like a gift :D The pacing was great, everything flowed well, and I think the moments you focused on were well-chosen.

When Dominique died I legit thought I might cry :'( That scene felt just like a movie, Drue! So, so sad, and yet there was this sense of rightness about it. It must have been eerie for Dominique knowing the year of her death, but when the time came she accepted it gracefully.

I JUST HAD A THOUGHT. What if Dominique's calm acceptance of death was what gave Ignotius the courage and inspiration to do the same? Maybe the story of the Brothers Peverell would never have ended the same without Dominique, because she showed Ignotius how to "greet Death as an old friend"? WHAT IF THAT'S WHY SHE WAS SENT TO THE PAST? IS THAT WHY? This story has always had a sense of fate about it that I have loved, so I think it's entirely possible :)

Anyway, you know how much I love this story, Drue, and I'm so excited for you that you finished it! I hope you're really proud of it, because I know it has made a lot of people really happy to read it. You've done great things with your characters and tackled some tough subject matter with complete grace. Wonderful, wonderful job :)

--Maggie
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore Epilogue - Carry Me Home

6th July 2014:
Ah! ♥ ♥ ♥ I can't believe this story is actually finally over, because it's been so long since I first started reading it so coming back to it now makes me almost sad! But congratulations on finishing it and writing such a lovely story - it's a great achievement!

I loved the way that you tied up all the loose plot ends in this epilogue to make this just a perfect ending. There was something lovely about the fact that we got to hear how everyone's story ended in this chapter and I loved it so, so much!

Edmund and Jocosa got together! Yay, I was so happy to read about that when I predicted it a few chapters ago! And Dominique and Ignotus are so cute with their three children and their happy life - it makes me smile to see them together and they're adorable! Then the letter to Harry and the way that she managed to return the cloak was great. Right at the end, the fact that Dominique died was so sad, but it was sweet that Ignotus followed so soon afterwards, because they're perfect together. And it tied in beautifully with greeting Death as an old friend!

Brilliant, thank you!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore And Love Prevails

6th July 2014:
OH MY GOODNESS SO MANY FEELS I LOVE YOU AND I LOVE THIS STORY! Wow. Sorry for the shouty caps but I've left a ton of reviews already today and I'm kind of tired, but I loved this chapter so much!

This is going to be so ridiculously incoherent because I don't even know how to formulate proper words to describe how this made me feel. Ignotus was waiting for her and wanted her to return! I loved the fact that although he was in hiding, he was going to wait for her as long as necessary. So, so cute! ♥ And then when Dominique came back their reunion was just so perfect, I loved it! And I'm so glad he reacted well to her news that she was pregnant - and he was just worried about being the father!

The ending of this chapter with Harry was lovely, too. I can understand the fact that it would be hard for Dom's parents to deal with her disappearance again and leaving them once more, but at least they know that it's her choice and she's happy. And Harry kept her secret and aw, 'and love prevails'! It's cute that the title got included in this chapter too. And the grave at the end was just really cute, because it means Harry knows they were okay and happy!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by nott theodore A Choice to Leave Everything You Know For Love

6th July 2014:
The title of this chapter meant I knew that there was going to be a massive decision for Dominique to make and it's really mammoth, but I can't say I'm disappointed at all - I'm so happy that she decided to go back to Ignotus because I've felt like all the time this is where she really should have been, and clearly it's going to be the right future because she's carrying Ignotus's baby, and then she'll be Harry's ancestor (which is strange and confusing but kind of cool all the same).

I think Harry was the best choice for a relative to be close to, and I can understand why they're so close - they're doubly connected. But I also love Harry's characterisation and the way that he and Ignotus are so similar!

Ah, and Dominique has decided to return to Ignotus! I'm so, so happy about this because I feel like they're so right together and I knew Harry would be the one who would help her make the decision to return. It's sad she'll leave behind all her family but she has to make the right decision for her and her future lies in the past with Ignotus. I'm excited to see what happens next!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodore A Girl Who Never Belonged

6th July 2014:
:O ! I did NOT see that coming at all! Somehow you keep managing to surprise me with this story!

I loved the way that you wrote the wedding and all the lovely description of it, but at the same time it was kind of disconnected, the way that Dominique felt about her life in 2022 when she came back, so that made a lot of sense to me. It's really sweet that Harry is the one uncle that Dominique feels closest to in the family and she's able to confide in him in some measure, especially now that there's that connection to Ignotus. I wonder if that's why they were always close? Because really he's family?

And pregnant? Dominique's pregnant! I remember thinking that might happen at some point since they didn't use protection but I'd completely forgotten about it with everything else that's happened since. Surely she's going to have to go back now! I really hope she does, even though it'll be hard to part from her family in 2022 and leave them all behind. But that was a great twist that I wasn't expecting and it was fantastic!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #9, by nott theodore A Man On the Run From Death

6th July 2014:
Aw, what a brilliant chapter! I've really, really missed this story and I'm so glad that this event is giving me a chance to catch up on all that I've missed of it!

I really like your characterisation of Brigid in this story as well - the cast of characters that you've created are so brilliant! They're just really likable. I can imagine Brigid and Ignotus together if Dominique wasn't there and part of the picture, but she is, unfortunately. But Brigid is definitely not a woman of her time, and I feel sorry for her. But she's fantastic for helping Ignotus realise what he has to do.

I love the way that Ignotus thinks to take care of servants like Jocosa, because not many people of his time would have done so. And she's going to be looked after by Edmund! Do I sense a future romance there? :D

Then the meeting with Death was brilliantly written. I felt like it was a bit creepy to meet with Death but he's already done that - at least he could tell him something interesting about Dominique! She'll come back and live with him, I'm sure! Yay!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #10, by nott theodore Writing History

6th July 2014:
Okay, in a way this is a bit of a better chapter in the fact that nobody dies and nothing so drastic happens. In fact, with the title and the contents, I feel like maybe things might begin to get better for the two of them over the next few chapters - well, I really hope so!

I feel like Ignotus returned to sense a bit more in this chapter and he was doing what was right, because that's more like the Ignotus we know from previous and earlier chapters. It's really sad that he's going to have to leave the home he's known all of his life but at the same time I'm glad that he could confide it in Edmund. It's great to read about the writing of the tale as well! I love stories that refer to their own making so that was fantastic!

Oh, I feel really sorry for Brigid in this chapter because it's not her fault that she's fallen for Ignotus. But it's great that he did actually decide to tell her and Edric because I feel like that's the fairer course of action. And I can see the Harry in him when he goes on to think that it's better to protect everyone else than himself.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #11, by nott theodore Hallowed Flames

6th July 2014:
Okay I don't even know how you can write this but you are currently destroying all my feels and I am trying to stop myself from crying right now. I don't know how you can torture Dominique and Ignotus like this, honestly!

I think you wrote Dominique's return to 2022 really well. It must have been a bit terrifying and bewildering for her to face this world after she's spent so long in another one, and even though she wanted to come back to her family and leave 1234 behind, it's scary for her. Bill and Fleur's reactions were completely believable and natural as well, you just seem to write the perfect thing for each situation!

And back in 1234... Ignotus! The poor, poor man. I thought that losing Dominique as she returned to her home would be enough for him to deal with but then his house sets on fire and poor Eirene is trapped inside! SHE DIED! No, I can't believe this, you're slowly determined to break my heart with this story! How much more can he keep losing? It's so awful! I have to read on and hope that this gets better :( (not the writing, but life for Ignotus and Dominique!)

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #12, by nott theodore A Choice to Leave History Up to Chance

6th July 2014:
OH NO YOU CAN'T DO THIS TO ME!!! Really? I can't believe this has come - I didn't think that the Pellinors' visit would end well but I didn't think that it would be so drastic and final!

I knew that as soon as Brigid arrived something bad was going to happen. I could tell that Dominique was going to find out in the worst way about Ignotus being engaged to Brigid - really he should have told her himself a long time ago. I can understand why he didn't to be honest, but at the same time I don't think it was fair of him to tell her that he loved her when he was engaged, even if the engagement was arranged.

Tyrion is really cute! It's so sad that he's lost so many people in his family already and I can only hope that he doesn't lose Ignotus as well!

Oh, poor, poor Dominique! She was so strong and brave to sit through all of that with Brigid and Ignotus and while Ignotus clearly didn't mean to do anything to hurt her, it's so difficult for her to get through it. I don't blame her for running out either, but I feel like her reaction was too quick! I can't believe she's left and managed to find a way to go back to her real life! I know she'll regret that soon and Ignotus was so heartbroken - I have to read on right now!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #13, by nott theodore The Noble House of Pellinor

6th July 2014:
Hello again!

Aw, this was really such an adorable chapter! There was so much Dominique and Ignotus time and it was all warm and fluffy and gave me lots of feels! I really love the two of them as a couple and even though everything else is kind of conspiring against them at the moment, and things seem quite dark for the family as well, it's nice for them to have some time - even if it's only a couple of days - when they can be loving and be together.

I like all of the differences that you pick up on between Dominique and Ignotus. I know that while Dominique has been there for a long time now, it's not going to be easy for her to adapt and there will still be lots of things which feel strange for her. Just all the details that you include make this amazing!

I love Jocosa's character in this as well! It's great to see the friendship between her and Dominique and I'm glad that Dominique coming from the modern day gives Jocosa more of a role because she's a great character to read about. But the ending note is kind of worrying - I feel like their happy days - all two of them - might come to an end soon if the Pellinors are here!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #14, by nott theodore The Power of Love

6th July 2014:
Hi again! Wow, I can see why this has been your favourite chapter to write because it was definitely an eventful one to read, and I wasn't expecting this to happen when I started reading!

The opening part of the chapter was very effective, and I felt like it worked well as a reaction to Callum's death. It's strange to think of the way that people wore mourning clothes back at that time but they would have done, and just small details like that help to make this story even better, more believable and authentic.

It's awful how much Death is trying to kill Ignotus! Even though I know at the moment that he should survive because Harry's his descendant, with Dominique there we can't really know whether or not his life will follow its proper path. It could just be coincidence of course but I really don't think it is!

Wow, the ending - not something I expected! I'm so glad that they finally admitted that they loved each other because that's something I've been hoping for over 19 chapters :P In a way it felt a little out of character for Ignotus but I think that's because of who Dominique is, since she's so different to the women he knows from his time. I'm just worried how it will end when he mentions his fiancee in the end...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodore A Mother's Love

6th July 2014:
Hi again! I'm so, so sorry that it's been so long since I reviewed this story... over a year! I can't believe it, and I feel so bad, but now I realised that you've finished it (congratulations!) I'm going to use the house cup task to get to catch up!

Oh, it's so, so sad that Callum died. I know that really Dominique loves Ignotus but with her engagement to Callum I do think she was growing to like him more and that she could have eventually learnt to love him in the end, if they'd been married. Her reaction to it was very realistic and so was the fear that the attack in the woods could well have been something that Death had organised, because Ignotus could easily have died. It's so terrible to think that everyone around Ignotus is dying through no fault of his own - he didn't want to go to the river in the first place! I thought her characterisation was fantastic here, especially when she couldn't believe they were about to kill the bandits - another reminder of how different the two time periods are. And then the fact she wanted her mother made me want to give her a hug!

I felt so sorry for Bill in the second part of this chapter as well because he's so sad and upset at the thought of losing his daughter. I just got reminded how much I love and miss this story, so I'm reading on!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #16, by littleleague Epilogue - Carry Me Home

24th June 2014:
I loved it. And I'm so happy that you came back and finished this story! I was a little worried because it had been a while since you updated...

I love how you wrapped everything up and tied all the loose ends together; especially with Dom returning the cloak to Harry, and tying in details from canon like Edmund being the author of Ignotus' story, as well as the ending with Ignotus passing the cloak onto his son.

I like how original the idea behind this story (Dom time-traveling and falling in love with Ignotus) is as well as the execution of it.

Congrats on finishing And Love Prevails, and thank you for writing such a wonderful story.

 Report Review

Review #17, by angelicdemon1209 The Tale of the Three Brothers

15th September 2013:
Heylo! Honestly, I have read the whole story so far once, but that was on my mobile, and its a little primitive in the sense that I cannot load every chapter one by one, and printer friendly version's easier to access. But now I have my laptop, so I started reading again and reviewing this time. Sorry! Ramble too much, don't I? I just felt bad for not leaving a review earlier.
And anyway, since I am going to read the whole thing again, I will leave chapter wise reviews.
So, the beginning, is really good. You've portrayed every brother pretty much according to what they must be like. At least, my opinion matches yours.
I know how the story goes ahead, so just a review for the first chapter is a little difficult.
I like Ignotus and Dominique, she is perfectly lovely.
And I love her relationship with Harry. Somehow, I just bet that Harry was the favourite Uncle of all the kids, because he is Harry and he is great!
I cannot believe they were balancing brooms on their noses though. :P :P :P

 Report Review

Review #18, by magnolia_magic And Love Prevails

15th August 2013:
SADFKJLKLFSDKFA!!!

DRUE.

THIS ENDING! :)

I just want to hug you! And this review is going to be completely incoherent and unproductive, as you probably gathered from the beginning ;) But I just had to stop by and tell you how much I loved this chapter. It was just a gorgeous, perfectly fitting way to end it all. (And I know there's an epilogue coming, so I can't wait to see what you have planned for that!)

For some reason, the very beginning really sticks out in my mind after reading this. There's just something about the image of Ignotius taking to the woods and starting a new life, and watching for Dominique all the while, that just grabbed me. It was a little wistful at first, seeing his incredible devotion--and he wasn't even sure he'd ever see her again! And then she came, and they ran to each other and everything was okay! I love endings where everything turns out okay :)

And the way you ended the chapter was just lovely. Harry gets his cloak back, and he knows that Dominique had a happy life in 1234 (and that she's somehow his ancestor? Haha, that's got to be a little strange.) You wrapped up the plot beautifully, and it's obvious that you put a lot of thought into the structure of this story and how you were going to tie up all the ends.

I loved it, Drue! Can't wait for the final chapter!

--Maggie

 Report Review

Review #19, by atellam And Love Prevails

10th August 2013:
asdfghjkl;

'Dominique Preverell' - I rolled around on my bed a bit at this, some goofy smile on my face as I sort of squealed into the pillow. Then I realized it was a sadish moment, because she's died, but then I rationalized it all by reminding myself she was happy, and therefore I am allowed to fangirl over this.

I loved the part where you had 'begin Mother of Dragons'. I know it was the title of the song, but I dunno, it just sounded ominous and dramatic and I momentarily forgot that it was about the song, and I was like, oh, my God. Is Dom going to take after Uncle Charlie? WILL SHE BECOME A KHALEESI? HOW IS DRUE GOING YO FIT ALL THAT INTO THE LAST CHAPTER?! And then I realized... Honestly, though, I went and listened to that song, and even without reading this chapter, that music almost makes me cry. Instrumental music tends to do that. It's so beautiful and emotional that in sneaks into your soul through your ears and tears apart your heart, and you let it because it does it so beautifully you don't have the will to stop it.

*Ahem* But yes. Back on topic.

I can't believe this story is coming to a close, and yet I've only just found it. Still, I'm glad I have, and while I wish I'd been able to make this amazing journey with you as a reader, I'm still glad I get to be here for any part of it at all, particularly the end. :)

Ahhh, Drue. I honestly cannot wait to start reading some more of your work. (I have my eyes on The Seer, and Prime Suspects first, but plan to eventually get through all of them. (I cannot believe you have over 50 stories on the archive! That's crazy!))

I loved the GoT quote at the beginning. It set the tone beautifully.

Okay. Wow. This has been rambly. (My reviews always are, it seems...) Anyway, I'll leave you with a reminder that you're awesome, and to keep up the amazing work, because as far as I'm concerned, Dominus is now canon...

- A. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #20, by bester_jester And Love Prevails

10th August 2013:
Oh, the feels! So beautiful. I just loved Harry finding her grave - morbid, but really quite lovely, too.

Just one note - 'she cried out horrifically' doesn't seem to quite fit. 'Horrified', maybe?

As usual, brilliant chapter. I'm so sad it's come to an end.

 Report Review

Review #21, by HufflePuff_Blitz And Love Prevails

9th August 2013:
Such a beautiful ending!!! I love how you ended it with Harry going to visit Dominique's grave. It made me so happily sad. It still a little awkward that Dominique is Harry's great ancestor. I dislike Time Travel. Keep up the fantastic Awesomeness!!!

 Report Review

Review #22, by atellam A Choice to Leave Everything You Know For Love

4th August 2013:
Oh, my God, what? YOU CANT'T LEAVE ME WITH A CLIFFHANGER LIKE THIS. asdfghjkl; I need to know what happens next. How does she find Ignotus when he's left Godric's Hollow? How does Ignotus react to the fact that she's pregnant? And most importantly - how big the the reunion scene between the two? It better be massive. I hope it's massive with lots of kisses and hugs and declarations of love. You could write four giant chapters of fluff between these two and I'd love every minute of it. Honestly, I'm so upset this isn't an actual ship. Like, other people haven't written stories about it, too, because I totally ship it. Oh well. I'll just have to go back and re-read the story to get another Dominus fix (which, interestingly enough, was a title of sovereignty in the Roman Republic; was the official title of Roman Emperors; and it's shortened form 'Dom' is used as a prefix of honor. All goes to show this ship is boss (:P))

Anyway! (I need to get less rambly in my reviews.) This story is amazing, it deserves all of it's lovely awards, and many many more, and I can't believe it's taken me this long to read it!

*ahem* To conclude, keep up the amazing writing, Drue. You're brilliant. ^_^

- A. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by atellam A Mother's Love

3rd August 2013:
It's quarter past four in the morning and I'm officially hooked on this story. Actually, I think I was hooked chapters back, but c'est la vie. You're writing is brilliant, I'm a total Domnotus(? (Domius?) What's the ship name here?) shipper. Going back to all those Next-Gen stories with their Victoire/Teddy/Dominique love triangles just isn't going to cut it. (Not that I ever enjoyed those plots. They just seem to pop up in all sorts of stories, Scorose, James II/OC, Albus/OC, you name it.)

(This review is getting rambly, isn't it?)

ANYWAY! Love the story, shall review again in a bit, but I needed a break from the feels before the next chapter so I though I'd review. Wonderful story, excellent writing, and brilliantly original plot.

Onwards! (Even though it's 4:25am!)

- A. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by atellam And Then There Were Two

3rd August 2013:
Poor Sean Bean... Even when he's cast as a face claim he dies. :( Brilliant story, though. Wonderfully original, and excellently written. I'm completely hooked!

 Report Review

Review #25, by pookielow A Choice to Leave Everything You Know For Love

26th July 2013:
OMG PLEASE UPDATE REALLY SOON

i cant wait to see ignotus' reaction!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>