Reading Reviews for 710 Pensley Lane
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by emia23 home.

22nd January 2014:
I love this little piece and I love to see Ron and Hermione happy. Too many drags Hermione away from Ron and I HATE that, so thanknyou!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Akussa home.

17th July 2013:
That was so good; reminded me of when I bought my first house! It was only a couple years ago and yet it feels like I've been here forever.

I absolutly loved the relationship between Ron and Hermione. It was just so sweet and perfectly normal. The worries and the ability to be able to calm and understand the other without words.

I also love the principle of the adventures starting of September 1st, it's a nice idea and it is definitly a big adventure they are starting now! The characters of both Ron and Hermione were great and in character. As for Rosie, she was just sweet. I felt like their family love was palpable and that'swhat touched me the most.

Great, great little story!

 Report Review

Review #3, by CambAngst home.

23rd November 2012:
Hi, there! I saw your comment on my status. Even though I don't have time to write anything too long or fancy before bed, when I saw a Ron/Hermione story near the top of your author page I knew that I could do a little something to put a smile on both of our faces.

The premise of this story is absolutely beautiful. Buying a first home is a huge, wonderful accomplishment for any young family. For Ron, who grew up without much in the way of material things but always in a home that was part of his family's identity, I can only believe that it was an even bigger deal. The little fixer-upper seems like a great place for the two of them. Ron can indulge his desire to show what a great and capable father he is and Hermione, well, she can come along and fix all the disasters he creates. ;)

I loved the scenes in their little flat, actually. All of the sentiments seemed so perfect for the two of them. Hermione being pragmatic and Ron dreaming of bigger and better things. The only thing that struck me as just a bit odd was the idea that the three of them could live together in such a small space, yet Ron and Hermione could find the time and privacy to, um, arrange for another child. Rosie must have been staying with Harry and Ginny or maybe her grandparents when that happened.

Your writing was terrific in this. I didn't see any typos or grammatical problems and it all flowed really nicely. The descriptions were vivid and the dialog was lively. Nothing felt flat or sing-songy. An all-around very nice job!

Author's Response: Hello!!

I was so pleasantly surprised to see this review from you! I adore Ron/Hermione, so it's always nice to see a fellow read/author who also thinks so.

I can't even remember where the idea for this story came from, but I do remember sitting in lecture (I'm a veterinary student) one day and writing this. You really expressed quite succinctly Ron's character and thoughts on /home/. Annd yes, I'm sure that Hermione will have a lot of disasters to mend as Ron strives to prove himself in the fixer-upper arena. :)

I know a lot of authors tend to throw Ron and Hermione or Harry and Ginny immediately into a house. Though this is more probable with the latter considering Harry's inherited family fortunes, I find it hard to visualize Ron and Hermione being financially stable enough to handle a mortage and the responsibilities that come along with home ownership. Plus, call me a romantic, but I think there's something endearing about a couple subsisting in less than optimal conditions, but thriving b/c the have each other. Annd yes, my good sir, you bring up a very valid point about the begings of Hugo. I'm sure that Ron and Hermione arranged for alone time for time to time -- in such a large and supportive family such as the weasleys I don't imagine that would be hard to do.

Thank you so much for all your kind words! I really respect your ability as a writer and so I'm thrilled to have received such a wonderful review from you!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ginger Lust home.

29th September 2012:
This is a wonderful piece. You got the characterizations perfect. We all recognize Ron and Hermione just as you write them. Such a lovely story.
10 out of 10 for sure!

Author's Response: Oh my goodness!! Thank you so, so much for you loveliness. :) I adore Ron and Hermione (they really are my OTP, followed only by Molly and Arthur)... so your kind words mean a lot to me.

 Report Review

Review #5, by EnigmaticEyes16 home.

27th September 2012:
I don't normally ever read Ron/Hermione but I just wanted to let you know how much I loved this. It was so heartwarming and cute, it just made me smile all the way through. I loved the scenes you wrote of their past few years together in the little flat. And I enjoyed their arguments and their cute moments. I was a little confused about Hermione's work, or that she was doing it for free. Even though I think I remember her saying in one of the books that she'd never want to work for the ministry, it always seemed like she'd be really good at it, especially in a department like Magical Law Enforcement.

I also loved Rose and her comments about the centaurs and Ron's adoration of her. And I really loved the end and how Ron comments about it being twenty years to the day since they met and the reference to the day on the train when they first met and were not impressed by each other.

It was all very lovely and I think you did a wonderful job portraying the two of them as a couple.

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: Hey!! Thank you so much for your review! It's so nice to see somebody taking the time to review this story. :) Ron and Hermione is one of my two OTP, and so the fact that you loved this means a lot to me. small arguments are part of their love, and I'm so glad that you enjoyed it and their characterizations. There is something very real to me about cramming a couple with too much love and not enough money into a tiny, run down flat. Ahh. Yes, well, hermione was always a bit of a bleeding heart in canon (SPEW?) and so I imagined her trying to change the world while she's young and doesn't have many responsibilities. In my head canon, she moves on to the dept of magical law enforcement shortly after both kids are a little older.

Rose is totally a Daddy's girl, an I imagine Ron doting on her. :P

Thank you again for taking the time to review this!! I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Shortie home.

26th July 2012:
AW So cute *Squishes*

Characterization is brilliant. Hermione's tone, choice of words, Ron's hesitation, doubts, they're all very original. You've hit the jackpot :D

I love how you've mixed the two memories. It's very smoothly done. No confusion, no boredom, just fine. Perfect actually.

And I love the plot. Really really like it. Sorry, love it :D

"Do it yourself kit" is my favourite part. But the bulbs? Did the Burrow have them? Hmmm... Can't remember. It doesn't matter anyway the rest of the story covers up for it :)

Go you.

*Hugs*

Author's Response: Baww.

Thank you so much!! I love Ronmione, so it was really important to me to do my best to portray their characters accurately in this story. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed this little story -- and bulbs are a type of seed used to grow flowers... I'm sure it's a safe assumption that a country home such as the Burrow has some flowers in the garden.

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #7, by married to black home.

7th July 2012:
"...but it's getting on in the evening, do you - "

"No. Ronald. I haven't a clue what's for supper."


^ This part made me laugh so hard! It's so like Ron to say such a thing. I'm still chuckling to myself over here. Just so witty. I absolutely loved that ending. Ending on a hilarious note is perfect for this cute, adorable one-shot that you've written up. :)

I'm getting a bit ahead of myself there - commenting on the ending when I haven't even started on the beginning! First off, the grammar, structure, pacing, spelling, all of that jazz: it was all excellently done. I couldn't find anything that stood out or didn't fit; it was all just well written and executed to me.

I love this one-shot oh so much! It's going in my favorites. It's one of the few Ron/Hermione pieces I've come across that I genuinely like and feel like tie so well with canon. It's truly marvelous. I love the feel of the story, the way your approached it - and goodness, your characterizations! Like I said, I love how well this connects with their canon attributes. I always pictured them to, largely, remain the same even after the war. I mean, personality doesn't change much, you know? And I always expected Ron to grow up, just like how you portrayed him to in this series, but I love how he's still the silly, cute, hungry boy we all loved in the series. Looking from Ron's POV was lovely. Seeing him surprise his wife this way - honestly, it's something Ronald Bilius Weasley wouldn't even think twice about doing. :)

The only thing that confused me a bit was when he flashed back to a time that already happened. I noticed the little star symbols (forgot the name) and figured that's how you separated them but I was thinking if you could also italicize it as well? It would make it easier to know it's a flashback and not just another scene in the present. That's the only thing that I would suggest on.

Other than that, brilliant piece! I love it!

Author's Response: lol. Ron is quite the character, and I love him dearly for it. :P I'm quite pleased to hear that that line was actually funny. I don't typically consider myself funny... so I wasn't sure if I had tried too hard with that little one liner. lol.

I really love canon ron/hermoine, and can sail that ship from now until the end of the earth, but this is the first (and only) time I had attempted to write them. It's great to hear that it was 1.) enjoyable and 2.) canon compliant as far as characterizations and stuff goes. :)

Thank you so much for reviewing this!
xoxo
Melissa


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dreamerian Summer home.

2nd July 2012:
As I love fluff... allow me to say this is a perfect example of a oneshot. And fluff. MARSHMALLOWS dAH CHEESECAKENESS


As I didn't say, random.

Author's Response: ALL THE FLUFF. ALL OF IT. MARSHMALLOWS AND CHEESECAKE AND PUPPIES.

^ code for thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Indie again... home.

23rd June 2012:
Gah! I meant to rate it higher! Sorry! This should cancel it out :)

Author's Response: Again, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Indie home.

23rd June 2012:
This is so good! So sweet and honest and realistic without being boring. Love love love loved it! Nicely done, friend.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jchrissy home.

13th June 2012:
A large volume, On the issue of Equality, lay open across her lap, and a quill stuck out from the thick chunk of hair she had pushed behind her ear.

And me? Im eating dinner in your office.

The fleeting thought that perhaps he should have told her that he had bought a house floated through his mind, but the sound of foot steps and a small, high pitched voice squashed the notion -- it was too late for that now.

Sorry, I just wanted to save those on my Notes while I read through your chapter. I absolutely love the picture painted on your story, those above sentences really brought it to life for me, and many more, but my fingers got sick of trying to copy and paste ;)

This is such a simple, beautiful look into their lives. You have the characters 100% canon, it was the Ron and Hermione. They way you used flash backs was so perfect, the scene changes were smooth and obvious and nothing for lost during the switching to present and past.

I almost had happy reads in my eyes when Ron said the line about not wing able to fit a cot. It was so sweet and so Ron at the same time.

You have an amazing writing style, thank you for such a sweet afternoon read!

Author's Response: ooh! thank you for this sweet review!

I've always been a bit obsessed with canon, so it is great to hear that my characters were in character. So many people have commented on that line of Ron's dialogue about eating dinner in her office. Lol. I have to admit that it's one of my favorites too!

I'm very glad you enjoyed this little one shot!


 Report Review

Review #12, by forsakenphoenix home.

24th May 2012:
I was going to make a comment about it being September 1 and how everything important seems to start on that day - going to Hogwarts, signing for the new house, and you didn't say anything at all about it so I was excited to mention it and the connection to the date. But then I got to the end and was disappointed I wouldn't be able to point it out since Hermione already noticed. :P

I really enjoyed this. The descriptions were great and the characterizations were spot-on. I love that they were living in a too-small flat and Ron just wanted to provide for his family, give them a proper house with room to grow and play.

This was my favorite bit: "You're writing a reformation law, a law that could change relationships between the ministry and, erm, creatures, in the bloody kitchen. Or is it the sitting room? I can't really tell. And me? I'm eating dinner in your office." I just laughed out loud at that. Oh, Ron. But it really gave us a sense of how small their flat was and how desperate he was for something bigger.

Not telling Hermione about him buying a house could've blown up in his face, but I'm glad it didn't. I'm happy that she was just as excited about a home to call their own too. And little Rosie was just precious - her fascination with centaurs made me laugh.

This was such a sweet, lovely story. Well done. :)

Author's Response: Leave it to Hermione to beat you to the punch! :P

I'm glad you enjoyed this! I usually try to balance my fluff with some mild angst or drama or something, since pure concentrated fluff is sometimes hard to stomach, so this is a bit abnormal for me in terms of genre. Also, I love reading good ronmione... but I had never really written it before this and so it's fabulous to hear that they both seemed in character.

I'm glad you read this and even more glad you enjoyed it. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Illuminate home.

30th January 2012:
Hi! Tag!

This is a really cute oneshot. Your characterisation of Ron and Hermione are both great, they are exactly like we know them. The kids are adorable too, and they actually seem like they could be their kids, a nice mixture of the two of them. Your descriptions are great, and help to contribute to the overall atmosphere of calm and love.

Great job!

Author's Response: Ronmione 5eva.

Thank you so much for your review! I had fun writing this little one shot.


 Report Review

Review #14, by manno_malfoy home.

15th January 2012:
I'm not one for fluff, but I was surely amused by this little one-shot. I just loved the description of the flat! You talk about it as though you've been there! And your portrayal of wife-y Hermione was rather one that I liked. Yes, she may have been a little different from the adamant, perfection-loving married Hermione I have in my head, but that did not make me like the character any less. You've had her attitude consistent throughout the story, and that was great!

I also have to admire the angle you have taken here. I can actually see Hermione and Ron living in a small flat, as opposed to the big polished places they usually are said to have because they are Ron and Hermione Weasley, war heroes and Harry Potter's best friends. So this was a refreshing piece for me to read.

And the ending was quite cute, and quite canon as well! Ron and his food! Speaking of Ron, he was epic in this one-shot! I particularly liked this line:

Youre writing a reformation law, a law that could change relationships between the ministry and, erm, creatures, in the bloody kitchen. Or is it the sitting room? I cant really tell. And me? Im eating dinner in your office.

So yeah... great job! I plan (read as: cannot wait to get the time) to read more of your stories!

Author's Response: Well, I'm certainly glad you enjoyed this despite your general dislike for fluff. I've never lived in a flat, actually, but when I write I have to see the scenes in my head. I've not read much Ronmione. They are my favorite ship, and am always afraid to break the headcanon I've developed for them.

Thank yo so much for your review.


 Report Review

Review #15, by jrg0715 home.

12th December 2011:
That was a sweet story and I felt it was very true to Ron's character. And the last two lines definitely had me laughing. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! Ron and Hermione are the best.

 Report Review

Review #16, by AC_rules home.

22nd October 2011:
Well this was pretty darn cute.

Writing characters like Ron and Hermione genuinely scares me but you pulled it off so welll - they both seemed so in character and it was more than enough to made me awwwh out loud.

The pacing was great too, it just seemed really polished and really well done.

The last line was definately my favourite - Ron's true colours showing after he's been all cute and romantic for awhile :')

Great little one shot :)

-AC

Author's Response: Ronmione is my OTP... hands down, no competition and I realized part of the way through this fic that I had never written them before. I'm glad that they seemed in character... I usually stick to minor characters so I can slip by the canon character scrutiny. :P

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by MadamePuddifoot home.

11th September 2011:
I really enjoyed this! You gave a wonderful insight to life after the war and were very true to the characters we know and love! Small details like the colour of Ron's Auror robes and the book Charlie sent them made your story very believable and enjoyable!

I particularly loved how the house was bought on September 1st as I thought this was very symbolic. . . It's definitely a good date for Ron and Hermione! Great job!

Author's Response: Aww. thank you so much!! I love canon so much and it's always an honour to be told that my writing is believable. So glad that you enjoyed this.

 Report Review

Review #18, by lightningninja home.

11th September 2011:
this was really sweet =) i like the way the way you portrayed Ron's point of view. congrats on a great one shot!

Author's Response: Aww. Thank you so much for taking the time to review this! I'm glad that you enjoyed it.!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login