Reading Reviews for Like a House on Fire
  
446 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rumpelstiltskin Home

26th January 2015:
I'm terrible with reading the end of stories, and I tend to procrastinate, which is one of the reasons I've been avoiding it. If I don't read the end, then it doesn't end :D. However, it's time to take my big girl pill and *gulp* accept that one of the first stories I started reading when I joined is now ending.

Nostalgia at its finest. I don't blame her, it's sort of heartbreaking looking back at the beginning, knowing it all will end. Also, I find Remus' statement (Hogwarts is home) very true. It can feel even more true with the weight of Voldemort's uprising looming over you upon graduation, knowing that you'll never be quite as safe as you have been at Hogwarts (home).

Heh. Everybody knows she was thinking about snogging Sirius ;). I love his trepidation when he feels like he can't talk to her without the chocolate frogs. Those two are impossible. I want to shake them sometimes, but at least they're talking.

Oh feelings... Hey, at least he's not beating-around-the-bush with this feelings now! Perhaps there will be some progress! *Crosses fingers*

Hooray! Well, sort of. Starting over seems like a few steps backwards, but, in the very least, it can provide a clean state with which to NOT GO KISSING OTHER GIRLS (*grumble* Sirius *grumble*). Logically, I can understand Millie's hesitation. Sirius broke her heart; how is she supposed to trust him? On the other hand, I've been rooting for this ship to sail!

And yes, Sirius is absolutely endearing in this chapter. How could she not love him (you know, besides the being an idiotic idiot thing).

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #2, by Maelody Half-Bear Half-Wolf

24th January 2015:
D'aaawww! I love Sirius as a dog! It's so darn adorable! :3

So she didn't get all cooey and sweet with him like he had hoped, but I think it was all very Millie. She shouldn't have gone to Potions, though. ;) I'd love to see her play with puppy Sirius, the bear-wolf dog. So being that big, how tall does that make Sirius? I'd imagine he's a pretty tall boy. Somehow I never thought about this before. :)

Bahaha! Mrs Potter has invited Millie to come over! How amazing is this going to be!? And James and Millie had play dates!? :3 I bet Lily will be jealous. ;)

I can't wait until Christmas, now! I mean, neither can James. He apparently is always looking forward to Christmas. ;)

Reading on!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #3, by Maelody Awkwardness and Adorable Puppies

24th January 2015:
Oh my goodness I'm dying from that last conversation they had. "Maybe her cat died?"
"She doesn't have a cat. She has an owl."
"Maybe her owl died then!"
"Her owl's fine."
"Oh."
"Yeah."

I don't know why (other than it was extremely funny) but that bit about killed me. It woke my doggy up. :3 (See Sirius! I like dogs! ;))

Hmm, I wonder what he's up to now? If she likes dogs...

I love how she doesn't even have to pay attention to the class and she still gets the answer right! Aren't those moments amazing? I love those moments! :D They mostly happen when I have handsome boys on the brain, too. ;)

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #4, by Maelody Brothers

24th January 2015:
I was gonna be all coherent and stuff about the whole Sirius/Regulus thing and how silly it is of Sirius to be arguing and sulking about it but...

AKDALKSJFASDF! They kiss! Sirius and Millie finally kiss! And what a steamy kiss it was! So I take it Sirius' answer was 'Our attraction to one another?' ;)

Now excuse me while I go talk some sense into Millie.

Millie, dear. What you just did is something you've been waiting for for an extremely long time, now. Whether you know it or not. So don't question it. Just take in the hot kisses. You know you want them. If you don't stop worrying about it, then I'll just take Sirius away from you and take all the steamy kisses for myself. :p

OK, back now. :)

So back to that Regulus/Sirius thing. Regulus seems pretty nice. I like that! :D Though, if Millie weren't a pure blood herself, I doubt he'd be exactly that nice. Which would solve Sirius' case entirely. Except they dated forever ago, so I think he coulda saved himself some sulking. He's more of a drama queen than a girl is. ;) But who would Sirius be if he weren't a drama queen? Ah well. ;)

BUT THEY KISS! ADLKJDFLKGAPFJFPAKG:LHKAPOG!

Ok, moving on to see what it is that Millie freaks out about now!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #5, by Maelody Snogging in the Middle of the Corridor

23rd January 2015:
Wasn't he sick in November? And it's December now? Not so many months ago. ;P

That little spat between Millie and Sirius was just too cute. Of course he heard her, but it's not what she meant. Duh! ;) Great!

Wow. So little Black and Millie dated? Not only dated, but dated dated? For six months? Secretly? So secretly, that eve we just now get to find out!? I think she's been holding out on us! It's time we have a talk with this girl. (I've no idea why I've been talking like there are two of me as of late...)

There is no impressing Millie! The girl could actually kiss him and she'd love it, but she wouldn't be impressed! xD Poor Sirius. He tries so hard! I was expecting him to pull the arm of the armor and then there'd be a secret passageway or something haha. Though I love how he brags that he's the best marauder there is, and then he sounds so unsure whether there is an actual secret passageway down the hall. Gotta love him. :3

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #6, by Maelody New Immaturity Heights

23rd January 2015:
I loved the constant POV change in this one! Seriously! It really added to the effect of a date. We get to see both sides of the story, and it's just so awesome to see how they're both on the same page as the other! :3

How could you do that to me!? They almost kissed! Finally, when they both admit to themselves for absolute sure that they like one another, they're about to kiss! Then Lily freaking Evans, who thinks they must be snogging on all their free time, has to go and interrupt them? Lily, no one interrupts you when you snog James! :p

Sorry I'm only just getting this one done when I said I'd read up to twenty the other day, but I didn't know the size of this one the other day when it was already two in the morning and I was so sleepy. :p But it was so lovely, and now I wish I would have read it sooner! I would have never have gone to bed! :D

Seriously though! They almost kissed! You're an evil, evil little woman. :p

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #7, by Maelody SNOW! SNOW! SNOW!

21st January 2015:
I am excited! I am! *squee!*

Ok, so so much happened here and I could not stop smiling! They were just TOO cute! Everyone was. I mean, even Sarah is finally getting Remus to notice her. And Sirius running around screaming about the snow was just hilarious. It's just very, him-like, you know?

That moment, tho! I wanted them to kiss so badly! Stupid friends coming and stupidly interrupting and the wrong stupid time! They were almost there! *sigh*

But tomorrow is their date! I'm so excited! Though I feel like it can't go perfectly. Millie is just too darn stubborn. She has to, though! The rest of this story is going to be filled with beautiful, fluffiness of Sirius and Millie after the date. Right? Right? There's no disagreeing with me. My mind is made up. :p

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #8, by Maelody Recognising Forks

21st January 2015:
I love how Lily just jumps to a pregnancy conclusion! And then Sirius is just all like "WHAT?!" haha. Also: Word. Sirius, you make my day a little better with every word you say. *squish*

The boat house, huh? Odd place. Sirius is right, though. The perfect place to go if you don't want anyone to find you. I'm surprised she never even asked how he managed to find her. Now I want to know what was going on in her mind around that time!

I love that he wants to try. My heart broke a little when she asked when they could stop it all. Though I feel like it's been so much longer than a month. I mean, there was one point where it was said the first game of the season was going to be played well after six weeks into school, and then they had the game, and it's only November, and they've been dating for a month. I feel like it should be Christmas by now! I can't imagine how she must feel with it only being an actual month.

Poor Sirius, though. I wish I could have protected him from hearing her say it that way. Poor bloke. But he'll show her! I know he will. Next Hogsmeade trip has to go perfect! (Well, as perfect as it can get for these two. :))

I'm in love. I'm hooked. I can see why this won our House story of the month! ;)

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #9, by Maelody Claustrophobia and Confusion

21st January 2015:
Why do I have a feeling that ending up in the broom closet was actually a very badly set plan made by Sirius to actually find a time to snog our dear Millie? I mean, how was he to know that she hated small places? If she carries 'Boil-B-Gone' in her bag at all times, surely it was planned out, yeah? Ok. ;)

He was so cute comforting her though! :3 Seriously, Sirius (yes, I'm lame. Shut it) made me want to hug him really tightly and never let go. I'll make it easy for Millie and just take him off her hands. ;) Though it's nice to see she's not fighting her feelings anymore. She knows something is there, but she simply doesn't know how to act on it now.

So I have this theory. I remember way back in the day (their day, not mine. I've been reading this nonstop for a few hours now) that Sirius said he would devise a plan to win Millie over. It was when he was being picked on by the marauders and being told she would never give in to his ways. I think this whole thing is his ruse. I think he set up the Marissa thing (since it happened LITERALLY the chapter after his said plan was thought of) and now he's working (very successfully) on getting the girl. I mean, how awesome is that? :D So it might just be a theory for now, but I still think it'd be pretty cool. I wonder how Millie would react to that, though. And if the others actually know by now? Or will find out before she does. Hmm.

I'm trying to make it to at least chapter 20 tonight since that's practically half way through the story. Then I promise I'll give your poor Unanswered Review link a break for, like, a day. ;)

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #10, by Maelody Together

21st January 2015:
Again: dangerous dangerous dangerous! Oh my goodness. I hope she thinks back one day and realizes just how dumb she was for ever coming up with that idea! She'll probably wake up tomorrow morning and realize there was a much safer way to go about everything! XD

Even dying in his bed, she still argues with him! Gah, Lily! He could have said what he wanted so much faster if you two didn't argue about drinking the cup! Then you would have known that he loves you, and you could have saved his life! How adorable would that have been? But no, Lily. You had to go and argue some more. Just be happy Millie had that antidote in time!

Phew! Sorry, I had to rant at that girl for a little bit. I must say though, I agree with Millie. Even dying James can still manage to hit on Lily pretty well. ;)

Awww! Millie and Sirius hold hands! I wish she'd stop denying her inner compliments. She knows she means them. ;) But they've finally admitted being together! Maybe not in a relationship sense, but together in a type of friendship! D'aw! They're growing up so fast!

This was a great chapter (even though Millie and Sirius make me mad for coming up with this ridiculous plan in the first place and Lily still has to argue at all times). I was actually beginning to worry they wouldn't get him the antidote in a timely manner, or they'd get caught. I was mostly scared the antidote wouldn't work and they'd have to tell everyone what they did. But at least it all worked out for the best. Right? Right!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #11, by Maelody Perfect for each Other

21st January 2015:
Okay, so this plan is extremely dangerous! Wowie! (Though can I add that one of those kids saying 'Uncle Sirius' is being pictured as Harry and it's just absolutely adorable!)

So they can't just say he has a sickness? They have to make the poor guy go through the actual thing? Will they at least tell him of the idea? I mean, no need to poison him, he already knows he loves the girl! haha

Poo colored potion? I wonder what they're making? At least it didn't smell, right? I mean, then that couldn't be normal could it? I guess Millie is the potions expert next to Lily though. If she says poo color is good, then poo color is good! :D

Maybe they should slip the potion to Sirius so that way Millie will realize her undying love for him. Eh? Eh?

OK, I'll stop now. Moving onward. :)

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #12, by Maelody It has to be Soon

20th January 2015:
Locking them in a broom closet? Would that have any relation to your speed dating piece? That'd be cool if it did! :D

Poor Lily and James. :( I don't know what it was exactly that happened between both boys, but I know it's gotta be hard on Lily. She may not talk to Severus any more, but a need to protect an old friend never really goes away.

James needs to stop taking it out on his team! Maybe Millie should ask for a prescribed potion (better than the one she usually gets) from Pomfrey so she can get rid of the ache?

I love the little side comments they always make in their minds in between conversations. "Yeah, we're dysfunctional, get over it." Love it. :)

So I wonder what they will come up with in place of getting the other two together again? I think if they told James, he'd be all for it. Lily on the other hand is the one they really need to convince.

Guess I'll find out once I read some more! :D

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #13, by Maelody Love the Smell of Blueberries

20th January 2015:
There were many favorite lines this time, but I think my ultimate favorite was: Would it be weird if I slept with it under my pillow?

OK, so I think this is my favorite chapter, yet! We get to see some actual feelings develop from both ends! Sirius being awful at Arithmancy is super cute! I actually used to be really good at that subject (when I went to those online Hogwarts schooling things for fun). I'd help him if he asked. ;)

I like the detail that you add to this chapter, too. Though I have to say, this story seems sort of familiar. Is there, by any chance, you have this story published anywhere else? Because there are bits and pieces I've remembered along the way. Though it's very possible I read it here a while ago and just never reviewed. Just curious! (And no, in no way am I insinuating plagiarism, if it was anywhere else, I believe you'd be the one who published it. :))

D'aw! He covered her up! See, Millie? Sirius really is a sweetie! Even if he does tickle you mercilessly. You can get over that, right? I mean, he's cute. You know he's cute. He knows he's cute. You two just have to get over this 'arrangement' and make it the real deal. I mean, if you're going to play along after Marissa's plan has backfired anyway, aren't you semi admitting that you're in a relationship for real now? ;)

Seriously, this story excites me so much and I love reading it! Sorry if my last few reviews have been a bit vague, but I'm really into catching up on here. I've been wanting to read it for ages (now that I think about it, maybe I started it once and never got the chance to finish reading). Now I'm glad I finally have the time and get to read on! It's great so far. Just so you know. :)

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #14, by Maelody Things You Really Don't Want to Know

20th January 2015:
Awww, so they ditched Lily and James? How rude! But I do hope everything went smoothly for them. Maybe that's why Sirius left in the first place? Getting a little too lovey-dovey for his taste.

Okay, so I was wrong about them falling in love with one another at Hogsmeade. I literally was on the exact opposite track that they were on. At least it was going well for a little bit before she went and mucked it up with her big mouth. Poor Sirius. They do tend to forget they're in a fake relationship at the wrong times. Also, I think she's already forgotten that the deal is over after the date's done. So says Sirius anyway.

Now I'm curious. How many girls has he taken to Puddifoots? I mean, it's not like she asked how many people he slept with. C'mon, Sirius! Tell us!

That being said, what made everything suck enough for her to want to leave the date in the first place? Same lovey-dovey theory as earlier between James and Lily? Or too much time spent with Sirius?

Ok, moving on! :D

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #15, by Maelody Quidditch Alliances

20th January 2015:
Oooh! So Lily and James are heating up more while we focus on Sirius and Millie? I sort of like that. Just a little less drama than there needs to be. ;)

Ouch! So she really is a hardcore Quidditch player, eh? With past injuries such as the ones everyone else was explaining... And poor Lily. She only tries to be a pretty decent friend when it comes to worrying about her! Millie, let your wall down dear. You know you're going to end up falling in love tomorrow with Sirius at Hogsmeade. You won't want to end this, I know it! :p

I'm loving the two so far! Sirius cracks me up, and Millie just reminds me of me. Which, thinking about it, I'm not entirely sure that's a super good thing. ;) But I love it nonetheless!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #16, by Maelody Sleeping After Lunch

20th January 2015:
So she can sleeptalk, eh? I've only done that once in my life, and my best friend was so shocked. It was in Chemistry, too. Made me understand the subject loads better! :D

So is it weird to say I don't see Millie getting out of this? Not in the long run maybe. I feel like maybe she'll say something to Sirius to make him call the whole thing quits because of her behavior, but she'll come running back BECAUSE THEY'RE GOING TO FALL IN LOVE AND GET MARRIED AND HE WILL BEAR HER CHILDREN! You know, Marissa style. ;)

So far Sirius is totally adorable! A little more whiny than I would usually take him for, but I still love him. :3 I sorta want to see everything go his way (because I'm in the alleged 'fan club') but I always get sad when they do because I obviously know what happens to Sirius in the end and I'd hate to see that happen to him and someone he loved. :( So now I'm wondering what will really happen with them? Oh goodness! D:

Now I've got to continue onward!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #17, by Maelody Goodnight Darling

20th January 2015:
Oh I forgot how wonderful it can be to get caught up in a Sirius/OC fic! (It's been so long since I've read one).

So this one was actually sort of sweet, in a sleep-hazed moment. I know her pain though. I've done that a time or two and it turns out, half the time it's not even worth it. Because when you read it in the morning, it's nothing you'd want to turn in anyway.

I love how she just hates any pet name ever. I feel like we could be the best of friends because that's pretty much exactly me. I hate pet names, not much into having a social dating life, and, well, arrogant people are my least favorite. Maybe Millie really stands for Mae, eh? ;) Speaking of being friends, we haven't seen Lily and Sarah in a while? Where'd they go? Oh noes!

Also, I hope there's a little more detail on her family's death and exactly what happened. Who did it to them? Why does no one seem to realize something happened to her so tragically over the summer? Poor Millie. I'd hug her, but I feel like she wouldn't like it haha. I'm sure it'll come up later in the story, but I wanna know! (See, I can be just as whiny as Sirius sometimes. ;))

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #18, by Maelody Insane Before Christmas

20th January 2015:
Haha, my favorite lines of the chapter are the last two she thinks. It's OK, we can go insane together. :)

How did I know that Sirius was going to be the one who wound this in his favor? Of course Marissa would follow through with her plan. And of course he would just be there ready to plant his territory when Rex showed up. Poor Millie, though. She doesn't have much a say of anything in her life, does she?

I'm glad Sirius showed up when he did, though. Rex is a creep and seriously gives me the creeps. He even had clammy hands? Gross!

Hmmm. Millie does bring up a good point. What if one of them gets to liking someone else in the long-run? That'd be a nice plot-twist. Of course, I'd see Sirius winning out (he's gorgeous, duh) but it'd be fun to see it play out. I know the story is already done, but let me speculate while I can. ;)

Cheers! Onward I go!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #19, by Maelody Rain, Rumours and Plans

20th January 2015:
Favorite line of the chapter: Eat your ice cream and you’ll feel better.

Ever seen the movie Leap Year with Amy Adams? It reminds me of the line: Put 'em in the wash, they'll be grand.

I love plot progression! Yes I do! :D

So Sirius wants Millie to pretend to be his girlfriend so Marissa's plan will backfire and the whole school won't believe her? That doesn't sound like a plan for our two protagonists to fall in love for real at all. ;)

So let me get this straight? He doesn't want the whole school to think he is whining about some girl he barely dated, and he thinks up this plan to thwart her plans while whining about her in the kitchens eating ice cream? Oh Sirius Black, a conundrum you are. ;)

I like how this chapter had some depth! :D It took me by surprise since the others were so light and easy to read, but this one had some girth! I enjoyed it tons! Can't wait to see this plot thicken and really get into the action here! :D

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #20, by Maelody No Love Lost

20th January 2015:
Woah! Someone needs to teach Rex what's up with the ladies! He deserves no girlfriend. Like. Ever. What was Millie thinking dating a guy who's philosophy is "When a girl says no she really means yes?" Ew. Creep!

I can just hear the sympathy for that poor muggle boy in Lily's voice when she says "but you met his parents." Poor kid doesn't even count! Though I do feel Millie's pain in having an annoying best friend (though I love her all the same) that memorizes everything you do, and everyone you date. Even the ones you don't want to remember or count. It sucks, doesn't it?

As for Sirius' end of the line, he needs to wash his mouth out, yeah? No wonder Melissa broke up with him. ;) Though I laughed when he said it wasn't the point that they weren't going out. It was the fact that she 'broke' up with him. Haha!

So Remus is the planner of all pranks, eh? I see that. Now the question is, does he partake in them? Can't wait to find out!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #21, by Maelody The Deeper Things in Life

20th January 2015:
Favorite line of the chapter: “Extreme personality changes are required when one has to pass Potions with a decent mark and one’s partner is terrible at Potions."

Heya! So what was Sirius apologizing for over the summer? Just not talking to her, or did her nightmare have something to do with his oh so loving family? If it's the latter, I'd back away buddy. Give her some space to breathe and not hex you to a million little pieces.

That reminds me, I didn't mention anything about the first chapter with her nightmare. A) It was really creepy. B) I know this must mean something happened to her/her family. Unspeakable father? Must have been her family. Now I want to know what happened! Was it Sirius' family? Does he even know it was his family? Was it not his family at all and I'm just making weird things up? I guess I'll never know if I don't continue!

Off I go!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #22, by Maelody Have You Even Talked to Her?

20th January 2015:
Ha! Poor Millie, having to explain herself twice, not only in one day, but in the matter of minutes! Poor Sarah, too. For if Millie had liked Remus, I'm sure she would have been a little more upset.

I wonder what book it was that Millie was reading to really get Remus' attention? Sounds amazing. ;)

I'm excited to see that Sirius automatically has a plan up his sleeve to woo Millie. This should be plenty interesting. Though on the Evans side of the group, I can't help but truly wonder how awfully bad these two will be as a couple at first. Seriously, with a track record like theirs, this sounds exciting! :D

Onto the next one! :)

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #23, by Maelody A First Time for Everything

20th January 2015:
Oh I do love a good Sirius/OC story! Now I'm all excited! :D

So Millie, eh? That's gonna be awkward cause once upon a time ago I wrote a fic about Peter being in love with a girl named Millie. Sirius has gone off and stolen his girlfriend! No wonder Peter threw him under the bus ;).

Siriusly though (did that joke get old yet? No? OK) I'm excited to read this! It's been on m 'read list' for forever now!

I love how James' biggest concern is making sure Millie's head will be in a game that is well over six weeks away. And Sirius doesn't even deny liking her. This'll be a fun last year.

Oh goodness. Lily wants to try and buy Batman? That's hilarious! Not to mention she wants to buy her best friend the world. I love that that's already really prevalent in this first chapter. It sets up a bond between the two girls like James and Sirius. That's a great start.

Favorite line of the chapter: Hogwarts seemed to have a sunlight allergy.

Moving onward!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #24, by missatron Insane Before Christmas

20th January 2015:
Review tag!

Ahh! I'm really glad to be back, reading Like a House on Fire. While I've been away, I have been forgetting how good it is! The plot really has begun to develop in this chapter, what with the whole fake girlfriend/fake dating buisness. I'm also starting to despise Marsissa - I bet Sirius will probably hear the rumours right away!

Oh gosh, Rex really is annoying too. He makes me so angry. I guess your writing is just too real! (That's a good thing)

I just love how oblivious Millie is. Like the bit where she was confused about Sirius saying his first name out loud, then he had to explain to her that people who like eachother usually call eachother by their first names. I think Sirius has other motives rather than "pretending" to date Millie. I think he wants it for real. I guess that soon, Millie may come to waste it, but at the moment, I really can't imagine that.

The whole "fake dating" thing seems odd, but believe able. I'm wondering whether the "fake dating" will progress onwards into a real relationship, or whether the real relationship will start elsewhere.

As always, I loved this!

Missy

 Report Review

Review #25, by Sydney Chocolate Frogs

15th January 2015:
Okay so my hate for you has lessened somewhat. Sirius and Milly look like they may start to date again. If you do anything to Spoil they're relationship again I will hunt you down and kill you. I swear.
Though as hard as it is for me to admit it. You are an amazing writer. :)

Author's Response: Only a couple of chapters to go until the end! Things are wrapping up! And I couldn't bear to leave my poor darlings in agony forever. Every relationship has its ups and downs. It just took these two a really long time to realise that they even were in a relationship in the first place... And thank you so much! That means a lot ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>