997 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GLacerda Epilogue

15th April 2014:
I read your story and reread several times the chapters in which Harry and Ginny meet in Kings Cross, especially the last chapter, and every time I could not hold my tears. In fact, I'm trying to stop them at this very moment as I write this review. I am a young man of 19 years living in Portugal. The Harry Potter saga has had and continues to have a major impact on my life, because she accompanied my adolescence. I recently started reading the online fanfiction and I was very touched by "Harry Potter and the winters after the war" and "Harry Potter and the Summer after the war". Now, I found your story and I just can thank you for this wonderful story you wrote.
I can only hope to find a girl with whom I can have such a great connection as Harry had with Ginny: a bond that lasts beyond the veil.
God bless you

Sorry for any errors (I'm not a native speaker ;) )

Author's Response: Hi, there.

I'm really pleased that you liked the story and that you felt such a strong emotional connection to it. Reviews like yours put a huge smile on my face that doesn't go away for quite a while.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by writeyourheartout Prologue

11th April 2014:
OH MY GOD, WHAT'S HAPPENING?

Ah, wait, hold on - let me backtrack for a second: Hi Dan! Just thought I would stop by and help you on your journey to that elusive 1,000 reviews mark! You're so close, it's crazy! And now that I've begun reading this fic, I can absolutely see why it's racked up such a huge following! I've only just begun and already I'm loving it. So onto the actual review, now, yes? ^.^

Wow, what a prologue! Where do I even begin?

I love the opening, the sort of soft mystery. It's not a panicked onslaught of handfuls of characters mid-attack with a thousand things happening around them and none of which I would understand, but it's a gentler introduction to the world we're about to experience, which makes it just as intriguing, but easier to follow. I much prefer this sort of introduction to the crazed, high-energy ones that throw you into some high-stakes scenario and then cut you off with too many things to wonder about - I tend to feel overwhelmed with the quantity of information I'm meant to contain and usually just forget the scene entirely, but this prologue leaves us with the same sort of mystery, sans the overwhelming case load to try to remember. It's all a balancing act and you've done it fantastically!

""Great," he mumbled to himself, "you're dead again."" - Hahaha! I actually laughed out loud when I came across this line. Too funny, and I love when stories tie back to canon moments in this way; it makes the story in its entirety feel so very authentic and plausible. I also love when stories that are generally darker and more intense fit in these small moments of humor to lighten it up now and again. And this is just the prologue! Ah, I'm very excited to read on. ^.^

"He thought that perhaps he would get to see Professor Dumbledore again and it brought a smile to his face." - Awww, this breaks my heart a little (in a good way, of course ;)).

"He noticed a clock on the wall that unfortunately seemed to be missing its hands." - Is this meant to sound creepy? Cause it's giving me the creeps... haha A handless clock - a clock without a time... HE'S DEAD, ISN'T HE? CAUSE NO ONE TELLS TIME IN THE AFTERLIFE, RIGHT? *shakes fist*

Oh man, Dan! Is this really death?? Harry's no help at all - he can't even remember how he ended up here! I'm trying to consider a scenario in which he ended up at an empty and silent King's Cross Station, surrounded by nothing but eery white mist and a clock without a time, and I just have no clue how he could be alive under these circumstances! But then part of me is all like, 'Well, Dan probably wants us to think Harry's dead, which means he can't be! It's just meant to seem that way, right?' Ugh. I don't know, my head's spinning.

And then Ginny shows up! Of course, this too is no help at all, thank you very much! Is she dead, too, then? HOW DID THEY GET HERE, DAN!

In case you can't tell, this short, sweet, and precise little intro has stirred up just a whole plethora of questions and intrigue in me, which is really just phenomenal. Nothing better than beginning a new story and feeling immediately pulled into it! It takes a lot of talent to pull that off, too, so kudos to you! Again, it's right back to your ability to balance. I've always believed that the mystery genre must be the most difficult to write because you have to give us enough to keep us interested, but not so much that you give yourself away. I can already tell the rest of this story is going to be just an adventure of epic proportions, and I really can't wait to dig in deeper! I've so many questions already that make me want to just shake you and yell, 'TELL ME NOW', but I suppose the better option would simply be to continue reading... And so I shall. :-D

It's a great start, Dan; it really is. I'll try to be back soon with another review! Only four left, now! Woot!

Tanya

Author's Response: Tanya! This is far and away the longest review I've ever received for a 500 word prologue. I love it!

I'm with you, I really don't like opening chapters that throw too much information at the reader. I'd much rather ease into the story and set the mood. In the case of this story, the whole thing is a mystery, so I thought a mysterious tone was the way to go.

That line is definitely one that I'm proud of. It just sounds like something Harry would say. He's so fatalistic.

Is he going to see Dumbledore again? Is he dead? Is Ginny? Well, all I can tell you without ruining the surprise is that the prologue is actually the first part of a scene that takes place in chapter 38. All of your questions and more are answered there, I promise. And I agree, the hand-less clock is creepy. ;)

If you have a lot of questions and intrigue, then the prologue has done its job. I didn't want to hit the reader with too much, just to pull them into the story by dangling a mystery or three in front of their eyes. I hope I've done the mystery genre justice with the story. Lots of people have tried to shake the truth out of me along the way and I haven't broken yet. Well, not completely. I confess to slipping Jami some hints from time to time, but she's threatening and scary. ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Courtney Dark Transitions

23rd March 2014:
Hey there!

I loved this chapter! Arabela/Lady Tenebra is like
the ultimate villain!

The scene between Neville and Harry was great. I
feel so bad for Harry and I'm so happy about the
person Neville has grown to become! I couldn't
stop thinking about how much he was mocked and
teased at school!

Aw, Octavia:) I love the way you write from her
point of view! And I'm curious to know more about
this 'mysterious voice'.

Great chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi, Courtney!

First off, let me say how happy I am that you tagged me. I've been the last post in the thread for over a week. I was starting to think that maybe I smell funny or something.

Lady Tenabra brings her master plan full circle in this chapter. She's disposed of the Minister that she used to claw her way to the top and now she's installed Percy, who she controls with the dark spells from Herodonthus's book, in his place.

One thing that always bugged me while reading the last three books -- and especially OotP -- was why nobody ever just grabbed Harry and shook him and yelled, "stop being such an idiot!" So now he has Neville to fill that role for him, and I really enjoyed writing that particular confrontation.

I tried really hard to keep things appropriately childlike when writing from Octavia's PoV. I'm glad that it worked. You'll find out a lot more about the mysterious voice before the end of the story.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by hpfflover1 Epilogue

2nd March 2014:
Wow. Just finished reading and I have to say your story was amazing! Loved it!

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Courtney Dark Small Victories

1st March 2014:
I loved the first section of this chapter, with the aftermath of the battle, and I loved that it was from Ron's point of view. The fighting between Draco and Ron was just fantastic and the interactions of all the other canon characters...you just write everyone so well! I love that Ron got to show how great an Auror he can be in this chapter. Poor Harry:( He has had one of the most painful lives I have ever known - he constantly seems to be losing the people that he loves.

The Dennis scene was great - I love all the Hogwarts chapters, as they make me feel very reminiscent. And I liked that there was a bit of humour injected into it. A much needed change after the events of the last chapter!

The section from Octavia's point of view was great, too. I love the way you write her voice, with her calling Arabela/Lady Tenabra the 'mean lady' and all the little comparisons she makes that only a small child would think of. Although I'm dreading finding out what's going to happen to her...

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi, Courtney!

I really liked writing Ron's PoV throughout the story and I sort of regret that I didn't have more chances to do it. By this point in his life, Ron has become an exceptionally skilled Auror, both in terms of his magical abilities and his strategic ones. Part of the point of this chapter was to show that he's completely capable of taking control of a situation when he needs to.

I really grew to like Dennis by the time I was done writing this. He starts off so belligerent and ignorant and turns into a generally likeable guy by the end of it. You'll definitely see more of him.

Keeping Octavia age-appropriate was a real challenge because she's surrounded by so many older characters. I'm glad you thought she sounded right.

Thanks so much for all of the great reviews!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Courtney Dark Prices Paid in Blood and Sorrow

1st March 2014:
Tag!

Oh my God this chapter was so packed with action and amazingness that I hardly know where to begin! Maybe the beginning would be a good starting point...

Rory Tennant is a vile, vile person and that's all I really have to say about the section from his point of view.

I loved the section from Harry's point of view with all the members of the Order of Phoenix - it was nice to see the appearance of some of the 'lesser' next gen characters, such as Roxanne and Dominique.

Scorpius' point of view was great! I always love to read about Draco, and the way he handled the whole situation was awesome. And as I'm sure I've mentioned before, you are fantastic at writing confrontations and action packed scenes.

The fight between the 'good guys' and the 'bad guys' was intense, dramatic and just downright amazing to read - I seriously don't know how you do it!

Thank God Rose and Octavia are alright! I loved the bit when Hermione observed Draco running unashamedly towards Octavia, that made me smile! And I am so relieved that Hermione managed to get rid of that horrible darkness inside of her.

And so Lady Tenabra reveals herself - I KNEW that she was Arabel Dynt, but that didn't stop this whole segment from being shocking. The threat to Octavia, Percy giving himself up...and then Esme's death. I absolutely did NOT see that coming and I am so shocked. But I can totally see why you did it. Poor Harry:( Poor Rose and Scorpius:( Poor Percy:( Actually, poor everyone!

Amazing chapter, as usual!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Ha! I'm pretty sure you've had Arabela figured out for a while now. Fortunately -- or unfortunately, if you're our heroes -- she always has another trick up her sleeve.

I enjoyed writing this chapter as much as anything in the entire story. The action barely stops.

Don't worry about Tennant, he'll get what's coming to him when the time is right. ;)

I pretty much threw the kitchen sink into this chapter in terms of including characters. It's the last hurrah for the huge, ensemble cast before things become a little more intimate.

Poor Scorpius is in over his head, but he follows his father's lead and makes it through. I'm sure he enjoying seeing Gamp die as much as his father.

I'm glad you liked the battle scene. If I have anything you'd call a trick to writing them, it's making sure that I can visualize what's happened and who's standing where and then trying to get that across to the reader without breaking the flow of the action.

I really enjoyed the idea of Draco sprinting across the warehouse, myself. There have to be a few things in the world that cause him to lose that stiff upper lip. The darkness is gone from Hermione, but it isn't gone for good.

Wow, you're getting close to the end! Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and reactions!


 Report Review

Review #7, by anythingcouldhappen Any Sufficiently Advanced Technology

23rd February 2014:
Hello! I'm back!

I loved this chapter for getting to see Ron and Hermione. It's really amazing to me sometimes how much I love and know these characters. They're so familiar, and they were just as familiar in this chapter. Another job well done on aging characters! I especially liked the bit about Harry sort of clinging to his glasses instead of getting surgery done. I couldn't imagine Harry without his glasses!

Also, Hermione's glass discovery was a nice addition! I saw in your AN it was inspired by another story, but I think it was a great way to show Hermione's ingenuity and general awesomeness. Oh, and her conversation with Harry before she leaves is soo characteristic of her--I just love how close all three of them still are, after all these years. All the houses and funds and stuff Harry set up are perfect! They made me sad and yet happy that Harry memorialized all those people. The Dobby House.I got tears in my eyes.

Octavia already seems like a fantastic character! She's young and cute, but also a strong little girl. I'm so curious what Harry meant when he asked if she knew where she was when Ginny died.

That's another thing--this chapter, while filling in some more back story and stuff, raised some more questions for me, which was nice. I love mysteries and stories that keep me curious!

This is just a tiny error I noticed, but something you could fix if you ever happen to be editing this: When you talk about Harry's money, you say "and he give away a great deal of the proceeds". In a chapter with no other noticeable grammar flaws, that just stood out to me.

I look forward to reading the next chapter! Awesome job, yet again!

Sam

Author's Response: Hello, again!

First off, thank you for pointing out that typo. I checked and this chapter hadn't been edited in nearly 2 years! It was sort of nice to go back and change something and see the story jump up to the top of my Manage Stories page.

You'll see a great deal more of Ron and Hermione throughout the story. They are two of my favorite characters, as well, and I hope that I've really done them justice in this story.

I did borrow the idea of using genie glass to shield electronics from magic from a fantastic story called Harry Potter and the Winters After the War. I highly, highly recommend it. I'm sure that Harry, Ron and Hermione stayed very close for the rest of their lives. I will never be convinced otherwise! ;)

I'm really glad that you like Octavia, because she will be around until the very end of the story. Where she was when Ginny died turns out to be very important, as you'll see later on.

Questions, questions, questions. This story never has any shortage of them. Hopefully, I can keep you guessing for a long time.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by GingeredTea Prologue

21st February 2014:
Well, this certainly has me interested!

Is Ginny dead as well - Harry almost acted as if he wasn't surprised to see her there although clearly he knew he was dead and that meant she was too...

Off to read more! I've been meaning to read this for ages!

Author's Response: Hi, there! Very nice of you to stop by!

I can't actually tell you much about why Ginny's there without ruining any number of surprises. I think the best thing is just to tell you that this prologue is the first part of a scene that's completed in chapter 38.

I am giddy! You're such a brilliant author in your own right, I'm very excited to see what you think! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by anythingcouldhappen Everything That Ever Mattered

20th February 2014:
Hello again!

Bet you didn't think I'd be here twice in one night, did you now? Sam strikes again!

But wait, this chapter was heart-breaking. Ginny must have died fairly young if Harry's only 64 and it seems to have been a while since her death. At least enough for the initial sharp grief to fade and the aching loneliness to set in. Poor, poor Harry.

The whole conversation was so sweet but simultaneously really sad. I think what added to that was not making it clear initially whether Ginny was actually there or not. I guessed she wasn't since she wasn't replying--Ginny doesn't strike me as someone who would just sit and listen, even in old age--but the ambiguity that you wrote it with was just perfect. It also made for a superb ending, with the gravestone.

Can I have Harry as a grandpa? He just seems like he's the coolest old man. Ok, that sounded weird, but I really think its true. Like he's sort of sentimental as he's talking to Ginny, but clearly he's still just as sharp as ever.

What's great about this is how much you managed to convey about Harry's life without just sort of listing information. By making it a conversation, you made learning all that about Harry's family so much more interesting.

I have to say, I really admire your ability to age Harry. He's an old man, but still so clearly Harry. Even after just two chapters, Harry feels so right. I think your writing style just really suits his character.

Also, this is such an original idea, having him be 64. I have yet to read another story where Harry is this old and still the main character!

Lastly, thank you for not making Harry bald. I don't think the world wants, needs, or could handle a bald Harry.

I certainly couldn't.

Sam

Author's Response: You're right, I did not think you'd strike twice in a night. Mostly because my chapters tend to be very long and it takes stamina to get through one, let alone two. Clearly, your reading and reviewing is in good shape. :)

Ginny was 59 when she died, not at all old for a witch. Harry's initial grief has passed, but as you can see he has a lot of lingering issues that he hasn't dealt with at all.

I decided to conceal the true nature of Harry's conversation for a while, and I'm glad that it made the effect stronger for you. For me, the imagine of poor Harry having a conversation with Ginny was not only sad, but it reinforced the idea that he's living in a state of denial in many ways. He never properly accepted her death, and every time he tries it nearly breaks him.

I think we would all love to have Harry as a grandparent, because he'd be an awesome one.

I'm really not a fan of stories that just dump information on the reader, so I'm glad you thought the delivery felt natural. As far as aging him, that was definitely the trickiest thing about this story. I had to try to keep these characters recognizable while also making them seem like realistic sixty-somethings.

I also haven't ever read another story where Harry's in this age range, which was a big part of why I decided to write it. It's an era of Harry's life where we get to see four generations of his family -- from Molly and Arthur right down to his grandchildren -- taking part in the story. Much more on this to come...

I never, ever thought of Harry as bald. The one time Aunt Petunia tried to cut his hair short, look at what happened!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by anythingcouldhappen Prologue

19th February 2014:
Hello!

"Great, you're dead again."

Classic Harry.

I was already intending to read this because its one I've heard a lot about and I loved the other story I've read of yours, but that line just cemented my need to do it.

Harry would never be scared or angry at being dead or anything. Because Harry, at heart, is beautifully sarcastic. I mean I can just see him (but not Daniel Radcliffe because he is definitely not Harry in my head) rolling his eyes and thinking what a bore it is to be dead. AGAIN.

I almost never read stories with Harry as a main character, because I feel like no one is going to be able to capture him quite like JK Rowling did, and I sort of don't want that Harry messed around with. But I think that line proved that even though you aren't JKR (I think.) you have a very good grasp on Harry as a character and aren't going to turn him into anything abominable.

Also, this start in general is just awesome. I mean Harry's dead? What? Immediately that sets my mind spinning and wondering how on earth he's dead again, and will he come back just like last time? After all, the reason that Harry saw King's Cross was because he was at a sort of a mid point between death and life. And will he choose to go on this time? So many questions...and that's the best beginning to a story, in my opinion. Keeps me coming back for more!

All in all, I am very excited to read the rest of this. The best part is knowing this was just the prologue and that all the chapters are bound to be longer (at least I hope). My joy will, in all probability, increase exponentially with the word count. I'll try to keep my reviews from doing the same.

Then again, I've only read, what, 700 words? So who knows maybe I'll look back on this review and groan and shake my fist at all my gushing.

But I doubt it.

Sam

Author's Response: Hi, there! I'm really pleased that you decided to read the story and even better to review it. I love getting the feedback, even now.

I think of Harry as being very fatalistic where his own well-being is concerned, something that probably grew more pronounced as he got older. That line is one that I think -- hope -- makes a lot of readers want to read more.

I am not JKR because I'm not writing this from the sandy beach of my own Caribbean island, but I am really flattered that you would say that about my Harry. I try as hard as I can to keep him and the other canon characters true to the way I remember them from the books.

I don't want to ruin anything about the story for you, so I can't really comment on the particulars of Harry's situation. All I'll say is that the prologue is the first part of a scene that continues in chapter 38. So you'll find out... eventually. ;)

I'm very excited to see your reactions to the rest of it. Even a year and a half after marking it complete, this story is still my baby and my first love. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by blueirony Losses

19th February 2014:
I've finally managed to get onto the Internet for an extended period of time without it crashing on me. It's like the world doesn't want me to continue to read this. Pfft. As if I answer to the world.

You're really good at lawyer-speak, you know that? Don't know how you did it. Maybe it comes with writing experience. But it almost feels like you know how lawyers speak. Or you're just really good at writing. Or both.

It's interesting how you used the jail time as a way to not deal with grief. It's funny how that happens in real life. I have seen things like that happen to friends. They mute their grief because there is just so much to do and then it finally hits them and it's like canon exploding. So true of the human condition!

I can't BELIEVE it was Percy! But, you know what? At the same time, it fits. I feel like Percy is the perfect person to do something like that. All of his grief and anger just consumed him and he let it out in one horrible moment. Interesting that you chose Percy of all people, though.

I actually had to re-read part of this. At first, I thought that Harry knew what Percy had done and that is why he pulled him aside. But then Percy surprised Harry with his confession. That's when I had to go back and re-read it. Harry and Percy are talking about something that happened in the jail. So I think that something happened in the jail. But we don't know what. Yet.

Why do you enjoy toying with you readers so much? I have all these unanswered questions!

That last bit was really sweet. I like that Harry was able to find peace with his family and especially Sirius. And again, you didn't delve too much into it. You just said that the portraits were there and that was that. That's what writing should be. I've said it before but I really believe in it. To use a very cliche phrase, you "show" and don't "tell". You just write your world how it is and we as readers accept it. That's what writing should be.

Still hooked and I'm still going to review the living daylights out of this story! I still don't get why it's taken me so long to get around to reading this.

Author's Response: Hi, Joop!

I used to deal with a lot of attorneys in my past career life, so I got something of a handle on how they talk in a professional capacity. From there, I just layered on a bit of that "kangaroo court" feel that Harry's Wizengamot trial had in OotP. Wizards may be brilliant and magical and all that, but I find that their idea of an orderly course of events is quite a bit different from us poor muggle folk.

The more I thought about the time Harry and Ron spent in jail, the more sense it made that they would have used the trial and the investigation as a way around having to confront their grief and loss. Neither one of them is especially good at dealing with their feelings. It would have been easy enough for the two of them to drag Hermione along for the ride.

I like to think of Percy as a much more complicated character than the pompous nerd that most authors make him out to be. There are some very deep emotions that run through the guy, and in this case somebody took a member of his family away from him. I think that probably reawakened some of the old pain and grief of losing Fred. I didn't find it hard to believe that Percy could find the self-righteous anger to kill the man who murdered his sister.

You were actually right the first time. It isn't explicitly stated, but during the course of preparing the Trio's defense, Percy confessed to the three of them. Harry knows Percy well enough and has enough experience in law enforcement that he's very concerned about his brother-in-law. Percy is not, by nature, a liar. Keeping the secret isn't going to come easy to him, especially since defending the Trio from murder charges has gained him a certain level of notoriety. An interesting note on this point: not a single reviewer out of 50 has commented on the fact that the Head Auror is helping a murderer to remain free.

I adore toying with readers. It's how I keep you all entertained!

I always loved the idea of magical portraits in the books and I wished that JKR had made more out of it. It's an incredible link to the past that only JKR's witches and wizards will ever be able to experience. So I've tried to use them in a way that isn't too overbearing. I'm glad you feel like I'm showing the reader things as opposed to telling them. To me, that always makes a story much more enjoyable.

I'm really, really glad you like it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Courtney Dark Everything to Lose

18th February 2014:
Tag!

Wow, this chapter was incredible! I both hated and loved it at the same time! Loved it because, as usual, your writing was absolutely incredible and the plot continues to thicken and hated it (in the best way possible) because what is happening in Hermione is just so horrible.

The scene between Ron and Hermione was just amazing . I am so jealous of your writing skills! And then when Harry came in...you seriously write him so well. I always, without fail, feel like I'm reading JK Rowling's words.

Oooh, I also really enjoyed the scene at the Burrow. I always love reading crowd scenes, as it's interesting to see how individual authors balance all the characters - you, of course, do an amazing job! And I can't help but find the thought of Draco Malfoy standing in the Burrow weird and amusing, even after all these years.

Okay, so in quite a few of my reviews I have mentioned my suspicions of Arabela Dynt. And now I am sure of it - she has to be Lady Tenebra! Which means that the big bad villain is in the Order of the Phoenix Meeting! Which is not good! Unless I'm completely wrong here...

Anyway, this was an amazing chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi, there!

There are definitely things not to like in this one. Hermione is being driven farther and farther into the darkness. At least she finally opened up to Ron and Harry in this chapter, but then things take an even worse turn at the end.

I spent a lot of time on the scene with just Ron and Hermione, so I'm really glad it worked well for you. It was kind of hard to imagine the two of them in this kind of situation, and predicting Ron's responses was the hardest part.

I wanted to capture some of that warm, comfortable chaos that everyone seems to associate with the Burrow and I've never been quite sure of how it plays out from a reader's point of view. Sounds like it's working OK. I loved the idea of Draco standing stiffly by the door, wondering how anyone could *live* in a place like this.

All I'll say is that you'll find out one way or the other about Arabela pretty soon. If you're correct then no, it's not good at all.

I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by blueirony Any Sufficiently Advanced Technology

18th February 2014:
You had a Mario reference and a Nacy Drew reference. Um. Remind me why it has taken me so long to get around to reading this? People rave about it but if only someone had mentioned the Mario and Nancy Drew references, I would have come running ages ago!

I LOVED how strong their friendship still is, even after all these years. They are just so comfortable. How in the world did you write their relationship so effortlessly? Teach me? Please?

The bits with Amelie and her toes and Octavia with Artemis melted my heart. I'll be the first to admit it. Babies terrify me but babies and kids are adorable. They are just so sweet and I liked their innocence in this.

I think this chapter is leading to where the story is headed. Octavia's fearlessness is nagging at me. Is it a magical thing? Is it there for a reason? And where was she when Ginny died? Who was the man who killed her? Why? And what is the deal with Percy? Is he just having a mid-life crisis like Ron suggested? Or is there something more?

Man. Now I see why everyone is addicted to this story. You really know how to draw people in. And make them want to read the entire thing in one go even though they have work the next day and really should be sleeping. Unfair how addictive this is!

Author's Response: If there's one thing I can do, it's sling the cultural references around. I'm still not quite sure how Mario worked his way into the story, but I like how it turned out.

I don't know if it's anything I can teach. I just try to imagine three old friends being really at ease around one another, to the point where there are no walls and no secrets. At least none that we know of yet...

Babies aren't a frequent occurrence in the story, but you'll see them from time to time. Remember Artemis. You'll definitely see her again.

This chapter starts to unroll certain elements of the plot. I can't give you the answers, but I can tell you that you're asking the right questions.

Addicted? That's quite a compliment. Let's hope that I can keep you coming back. Thanks for the awesome review! See you next time...


 Report Review

Review #14, by blueirony Everything That Ever Mattered

18th February 2014:
Before I even begin reading this, the neurotic part of me has to point out there is an extra space in the "I'm" in your disclaimer at the start of this (yes, people do read those things). Exhale. Okay. That's done. Now. Onwards and... Upwards? Is that a phrase?

Okay.

Um.

No. What? But. And. He. And. The. But.

No what but and he and the but WHAT NO.

Oh, Good GOD, that was beautiful. I mean, let's be honest. I made a small choked sound when I realised what was happening but it was still stunning.

I like to think that Harry found peace in his older years. The Harry you have here is the one in my head. My Harry is wearing knee high socks with sandals but that's just a technicality (all old people have an obligation to dress like that, in my opinion). But he is happy. He is surrounded by family. He loves what he does. And he has found a beautiful place somewhere in the countryside to call home. A place full of space and love. The picture I have of Harry in my head while reading this is so vivid - knee high socks and all!

I also loved the little details of the family. How Rose and Scorpius married. How Albus was in Slytherin. You don't come out and say it explicitly. But they are implied. And I like that kind of writing. I like figuring things out myself and it makes me feel like I am more part of the story, rather than having everything spoonfed to me.

But that end part. It's so heart-breaking that he was speaking to Ginny's grave. So sad!

Author's Response: Hi, Joop! Before I respond, I'll let you in on a secret. One that I don't think I've mentioned in any review responses before. Even I get a little misty when I reread this chapter. It was probably the single most emotional thing I'd ever written at the time. Even though I knew what I wanted to get out of it, I honestly wasn't prepared for how it ended up.

Thank you so much for the kind words. Except for a few at the end, I think this is the most important chapter in the whole story. If I don't capture the reader's attention here, they're probably lost for good.

You and I agree completely on how Harry's life should have turned out, I think. The guy went through so many terrible things before he was even 18 years old. He deserved a good life. And in my mind, he and Ginny had a very good life, until... Yeah, until.

I obviously borrowed a lot of those details from stories like Delicate. I hope I was able to properly attribute them all. I try to do everything I can by implication rather than outright stating it. It involves the reader more in the learning process that way.

I've said in a bunch of review responses that the choice not to have Ginny be part of this story was the hardest one I made, and I stick by that. There were some other tough choices along the way, but this one was the most gut-wrenching. I hope in the end you'll think it was all worth it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by blueirony Prologue

18th February 2014:
Okay. So I'm pretty sure that during the time between my last review and this one, man had its first flight in an aeroplane, we got people on the moon and colour TV first came to our screens. So bear with me if I'm not very good at reviewing.

What I liked most about this prologue is that it was exactly that, a prologue. You just dove straight into the story and simply told the reader what was happening. I like that kind of writing. Sometimes getting too much backstory or introductory paragraphs have me remembering that I am reading. And I don't want to remember that. I just want to be immersed in the story. And that's what I was in this.

I like how you took us back to King's Cross. It was something familiar. And I really hope that I might finally understand just what happens in this psuedo limbo place that is King's Cross. I'll just have to read on and see!

And THEN you brought in Ginny. No! No, no, NO. When I set out to read this, I didn't anticipate having to deal with a dead(?) Ginny! You can't DO that! You have to give us some warning. Ginny is NOT supposed to be dead! Because that means that Harry is in mourning and we lost her and she is amazing and oh my god why would you do this to us no no no no NO.

Argh. Well. Now you have me hooked. I hope you're happy with yourself.

Author's Response: I am so pleased with myself that I'm **giddy**! Giddy, you hear me?

It seems as though reviewing is like riding a bike. You definitely haven't lost your touch. To wit, I'm smiling from ear to ear. :)

I wanted to keep the prologue very short, very simple and very mysterious. Just enough to whet the appetite and not a bit more. There's plenty of time for back story and such later on.

King's Cross is where things always begin and end, isn't it? I love every metaphorical angle of the place.

I don't want to spoil anything for you so early in the story. All I'll tell you is that this prologue is the first part of a scene that's completed in chapter 38, just before the end.

Like I said, I'm quite happy with myself. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Unwritten Curse Everything That Ever Mattered

15th February 2014:
Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh. He was talking to Ginny's grave the whole time. I can't tell you how much this broke my heart. You have talent at giving really heavy scenes a sense of lightness that actually adds to the emotion. The fact that Harry is so calmly--almost humorously--sitting in a plastic arm chair sipping from a water bottle, yet we discover he's sitting beside a grave. Yes. It's real and honest and not overdone.

You also have a great talent for setting the scene. SO MUCH is revealed in this chapter, but you brush over it so quickly that it's not overwhelming. You mention "Rose and Scorpius's children" so we know they were married. You mention "Headmaster Longbottom" so we know he's been promoted. These details are thrown in so flawlessly and now I feel attached to Harry and this world you've created for him.

I can already see why this won a Dobby. I'm adding it to my Reading List and I sincerely hope I find the time to come back soon!

-- Gina

Author's Response: Hi!

First off, thank you so much for reviewing two chapters.

I kind of hate hiding the true nature of Harry's conversation from the reader, because I know it takes some people as an unpleasant surprise. But this seemed like the best way to maximize the emotional connection.

I'm glad that the back story included in this doesn't seem overwhelming. That's always been a concern of mine. I'm not a fan of stories that dump too much information on the reader in the first couple of chapters.

I hope you find a good opportunity to get back to it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Unwritten Curse Prologue

15th February 2014:
Hiya! Here for the Review Tag. I noticed that you had written a Dobby winner and had to come check it out (I plan to leave you two reviews since this chapter was short).

First, I have to tell you that I laughed aloud at the "great, I'm dead again" bit. Oh, Harry. I could almost hear him saying that, so great job with characterization and with making a could-be-overly-dramatic scene into a humorous one. I appreciated that.

I'm intrigued that Ginny is here! I'm sensing that they haven't seen each other in a while from the way he ran to embrace her. I may be way off here. But something interesting is happening and I'm looking forward to discovering what.

Way to hook me from the very start! I look forward to the second chapter.

-- Gina

Author's Response: Hi, there!

That line was quintessentially Harry to me. He's so fatalistic about things.

I can't really tell you why Ginny is there without spoiling a lot of things. This prologue is actually the first part of a scene that takes place in chapter 38. I hope you get to read it at some point.

I'm glad that you feel hooked! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Felicia Fury

15th February 2014:
Wow. I almost regret giving you a 10 earlier, because it means there is nothing higher to give you for this chapter.

Loved the action scene. Loved the emotion. The whole "incredible superhero"-thing works here because, seriously, a lifetime of duelling and learning coupled with strong magical talent is bound to make you much, much better than random scum.

" In the middle of it all, he stood, powerful and miserable, triumphant and broken, bathed in fury and drowning in grief."

I read that so many times... Poor, poor Harry. :(

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I'm glad that you "got" the duality of Harry's situation in this chapter. The duel against the Blood Order was the culmination of a lifetime of carefully developing his talents and honing his skills. It should have been a triumphant moment for him. But he can't enjoy it in the slightest, because his "victory" means that he'll have to continue living without Ginny and seeing the people he cares about in danger. Poor Harry, indeed.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Felicia Impossible Choices

15th February 2014:
I've been a silent reader until now, since it's been a while since this story was posted and I don't know if you still read reviews, but I have to say that I absolutely love it. So much brilliance, from the start (Harry talking to Ginny's grave, and at the same time telling the reader what the settings are), to the dialogue, different POVs, Hermione's change under the influence of dark magic, everything.

A lot of your characters seem to fill the same role as a canon character. Lady Tebabra/Lord Voldemort (anagrams, similar styles, even though Tebabra is more manipulation where Voldemort is more brute force), Gamp/Bellatrix (cruel and crazy), Rose/Frank and Alice (slowly breaking under the Cruciatus curse), Portia/Luna and so on. But that's not a bad thing, not at all! They are good roles to play.

I love the characters Susan, Esme and Octavia, but as much as I hated to see Esme die, I understand how it was probably necessary. A widower falling in love and embracing it in a world where souls can meet in the afterlife might get a bit too complicated, in a way that maybe wouldn't fit in here.

I wonder, too, if Tenabra is really the villain, or if it's Herodonthos (or whatever his name is) acting through her, transfering part of his self into her, from the book. (I also wonder if the "dragon" Heermione fought was him, or if that was another manifestation of dark magic willing to stay alive.) But I presume that will all be explained before the story is over.

As for this chapter, and Neville... The first thought to hit me was that he seemed to be a bit out of character. Neville in the books is not a duellist, despite his time in DA and his part in the battle of Hogwarts. He's brave and he has a good heart, but he's clumsy and forgetful and his magic is not strong. He finds his place in herbology, and moves on to teaching and, in this story, becoming a headmaster. It is, of course, possible that he learned over the years, but I have a hard time seeing how or where. It's not like he went through auror training or anything.

I can live with it, though. Neville deserves the glory. He deserves to fight a righteous fight, and die protecting the students. It's worthy, and it's beautiful, even though it's also very sad.

That will be all for now. If you're still reading this, thanks for an amazing story!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Yes, I do still read reviews and I cherish every one. Especially the detailed, thoughtful ones. ;) So I'm glad that you decided to exit "silent reader mode".

Thank you so much for all of the compliments. This was my first attempt at writing anything of this length and it was a labor of love from the beginning. I loved the Harry Potter books so much and I started reading fan fiction after I finished Deathly Hallows, looking for something to fill the void. I realized that I had never seen anything set in this time period that focused mostly on the canon characters, so the wheels in my head starting spinning.

I'm sure there are a lot of parallels between the roles certain characters play in this story and the roles played in the books. They were the inspiration, after all. I'll take that as a compliment.

Susan and Octavia became two of my favorite characters as I made my way through the writing process. They were always scene-stealers when they appeared. I tried very, very hard to think of some way that Esme could survive, but none of them were satisfying. Some things are sad -- like Remus and Tonks dying during the final battle, for instance -- but they simply have to be for the story to end the way you want it to.

You'll find out in the end who the "real villain" is. Tenabra is a very complicated character, and she'll only get more so.

A lot of what I think about how Neville turned out was shaped by stories like Dumbledore's Army and the Year of Darkness. I felt like he had to become a much more formidable wizard if he was able to survive life under the Carrows and actually lead the resistance inside Hogwarts. I can definitely see your point, though. And I definitely felt like he deserved a glorious death.

Your review really made my day! Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Courtney Dark In Purgatory's Shadow

9th February 2014:
I always enjoy coming back to this story after I haven't read it for a while, because I forget how amazing it is, and how complex the plot and characters are. It's all so professional!

You wrote the scenes with Rose so well - had me shuddering all over! And I loved that you included the detail of Rose thinking of her daughter, of not wanting Octavia to hear her cry out in pain.

I really enjoyed the scene between Scorpius and Draco. Not only do you write action packed scenes incredibly well, I also liked the father-son moment that they definitely shared, with Draco reliving some of his worst memories from that period of his life.

I am liking Esme more and more and I loved how much emotion she showed in this chapter. I wonder if anything will happen between Esme and Harry in the future?

As soon as Gamp said that Octavia wasn't free to go, I knew there was no way in hell Rose was leaving.

I am anxious to see what's going to happen next!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello, again! It's always very nice to see you back!

Writing the two scenes with Rose and Gamp was really hard, and I have to say that I'm really proud of how the turned out. Making sure that the chapters wouldn't be rejected was a big challenge. There were things I wanted to do that simply weren't possible on HPFF. So I wouldn't say I'm 100% happy with it, but I am proud of what I was able to do within the confines of the rules.

The scene with Scorpius and Draco has been part of the story since my earliest plot outlines and it was awesome to finally get to a spot where it fit. Draco never seemed like the sort who would easily open up to his son about the things he lived through during the war. I felt like it would take a situation this grave to really get him talking.

I'm kind of glad that you didn't warm up to Esme right away. She really isn't all that likeable when she first appears, and that's by design. I wanted readers to see all sides of her before they made up their mind about whether she and Harry could work as a couple.

Nope, there was no way Rose was leaving her daughter behind. It's all part of the mind games Gamp is playing. He's determined to break her, not because he really believes that she knows anything but because she refuses to break.

The next chapter is pretty crazy. I'm really eager to see what you think! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Albustheboss Epilogue

23rd January 2014:
What a wonderful, sad story. I can't count the amount of times i cried, the last time, just now, from happiness. Thank you. So so much.

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Aww, I really hate to make anyone cry, but I'm glad the story was engaging for you.

Thank you! Thank you for reading and taking the time to let me know how it affected you.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Sharvi A Friend Indeed

20th January 2014:
Small details like Draco not being able to perform the patronus charm just make me so happy. Sometimes we forget that most grown wizards actually cannot produce patronuses because the books were written with characters who actively participated in the war and hence knew these spells others did not necessarily master.

During the whole of the first part I was like Detox Detox Detox. Haha, it was great knowing the back story! Flint is probably out to hurt Astoria to get to Draco right? Probably. I loved the fact that Hermione and Astoria could come together to protect their grandchildren! Hermione's last line felt pretty epic.

So these people have now reached the ministry to find that book? Wow, I feel like the story has really begun now! Cannot wait to read on!

Author's Response: Hi, again!

I love finding those small details that make the story more in line with canon and, at least for me, more real. I don't think of a patronus as something that every witch and wizard can do, especially those who've never known true joy in life.

You're right. Draco's back story here is meant to tie together with Detox. Detox came to be because a few readers wanted to know more about Draco and Astoria's courtship.

Flint is after... something. You'll find out what it is fairly soon.

Hermione and Astoria are both practical people. They'll never agree on a lot of things, but they can work together for things that are important to both of them. And family is hugely important to both.

The main plot of the story definitely kicks off in this chapter. I'm really glad that you're enjoying it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by angelina-l The Injuries We Canít See

19th January 2014:
i don't wanna be a squirrel! as an ex-pat Scot, i love reading the dialect of home, especially when it is written well and in context! i have really enjoyed reading this story so far, the characters may have aged in your story, but they are all still very recognisable as the young heroes we worshipped way back when. looking forward to the rest of the story. many thanks x

Author's Response: You know, with the benefit of perfect hindsight, I really should have put the warning about being a squirrel at the end of more chapters. I think it would have drastically improved my review count.

Thank you so much for the kind words. I'm really pleased that you're enjoying the story. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Courtney Dark The Distant Sound of Thunder

10th January 2014:
Tag!

Oh my god I loved this chapter so much! It was probably my favourite - or at least one of my favourites - so far!

The section from Hermione's point of view was.scary. You wrote it so well that I was actually fearful for Hermione's state of mind, and I am now worrying about what is going to happen to her. I think Susan was right - using that dark book has changed Hermione, and she needs to find some way to get her 'self' back!

And then there was the scene at Malfoy Manor. I really, really enjoyed this section! The characterizations of all your characters was brilliant, and I loved the conversation between Draco and Harry, and Scorpius' outburst: ďWill you two please stop acting like a couple of cocky little first-years having a wand-measuring contest?"

I got so excited during the Order of the Phoenix meeting when all those canon characters turned up! I'm really looking forward to seeing what happens next - although I am worried that Percy brought Arabela into the meeting. She just gives off a bad vibe! But I loved all your characterizations in this section, too - Bill and George and Molly and Percy were great, and I loved Seamus' final line of the chapter.

I'm looking forward to reading more!

Courtney:)

PS: Sorry this review was delivered so late! I read the chapter and reviewed it and then my internet decided to stop working Ė but itís here now, so yay!

Author's Response: Hi, Courtney! No worries on timing. For reviews as nice as yours, I don't mind waiting a bit. ;)

Poor Hermione has gone to a really dark place in this chapter. She justifies it to herself in terms of being able to help rescue Rose and Octavia, but her frustration and feelings of powerlessness from her paralysis also obviously played a big role. You wouldn't be wrong to fear for her state of mind, as you'll see later...

I really enjoyed writing the scene at Malfoy Manor. So many strong, conflicting personalities in one place. And then to let Scorpius be the biggest adult in the room was a fun role-reversal.

The Order scene was also really fun to put together and figure out. It was an effort to figure out the right combination of other characters to turn the tide of Molly's anger and get her to face reality. Percy and Arabela... yeah, maybe you're right to be worried. Seamus is a character, like Luna, that I wish I could have worked into the story a bit more. He's always fun in his brief appearances.

I'm looking forward to seeing what you think of the upcoming chapters. The next one, especially, is extremely dark. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Courtney Dark Embracing the Darkness

6th January 2014:
Tag!

Though I have now read 28 chapters of this story, I can't stop being impressed with this complex, detailed world you have managed to create. It is seriously awesome! You've involved so many multi-layered characters with their own personalities and made the whole situation seem so real, so believable. It's pretty awesome, really!

Lady Tenabra is really scary. Just reading about her terrifies me. I think she is more threatening that Voldemort, partly because she is more mysterious. We don't know anything about her past - who she is, what her backstory is, even what she looks like. And she is extremely cunning, too.

I'm not sure I've mentioned this before, but I am still suspicious about Arabela. She seems to have this overwhelming influence on Percy, which I don't like. And if Percy goes for Minister, will anyone actually listen to him? I guess I'll have to wait and see what happens! And I love your characterization of Percy, by the way.

Wow, the section from Hermione's point of view was...dark. I seriously don't know how you wrote it so well, with all those extracts from the book. You are clearly very creative! There's not much I can say about the way Hermione removed the paralysis except that it was very well written and made my heart pound. A lot. And even though the spell worked, I am now worried for Hermione. Surely a spell from such a dark book must have some sort of side effects?

No, they got there too late! I am very concerned for Rose and Octavia - how long are they going to be kidnapped for? But maybe if Harry and the others work with the Malfoys, they'll come up with a solution. That's what I'm hoping for, anyway.

Great chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi, Courtney!

I'm really pleased that you feel that way. At times, I have worried that the complexity of the story became too much. There got to be so many characters competing for "screen time" that I had to cut back a lot of things that I would have liked to have tried to write just so the story would keep moving at some sort of reasonable pace.

Lady T is pretty scary, isn't she? There were times when she creeped me out and I even knew what she was planning. You'll find out a bit more about her back story closer to the end, but not too much. I kind of like her mysterious.

Ah, Arabela. She does seem uncomfortably close to Percy, doesn't she? What is her role in all of this? Remains to be seen... ;)

Hermione has gone to a very dark place in this chapter. Her heart is in the right place, but I think you could argue that her fear for Rose and Octavia and her frustration with her paralysis have started to twist her motivations just a bit. The spell worked, but you're right to be worried. The cost was obviously much higher than she expected...

Sadly, yes, they were too late. When you're competing with Lady T, life is always a game of three steps forward and two steps back.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>