1,031 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Veritaserum27 Losses

20th September 2014:
Hey there!

I had a little time this weekend and spent the day reading/reviewing all my must-reads.

I really don't know if I can take another emotionally draining chapter. This one had me tearing up (if I'm being honest, it was more than just tearing up) - and that's something I don't normally do for fanfiction, so I guess you can take that as a compliment - haha!

I know I've said this before and I don't want to sound redundant, but your writing is brilliant. The way you handled the trial scene was perfect. It was captivating yet flowed beautifully. But the scene that followed just tore me up. I felt their emptiness and pain. I already told you I was upset about Ginny, Dan - and now this chapter. Ugh! (I know you're smiling because you like the fact that you've made me feel something - and I can't blame you - you did a great job!)

Geez, Percy. I did not see that coming. Oh man. So that explains why Harry is concerned about Percy's actions in the last chapter. I'm concerned too. Percy going off the deep end could be very bad for him.

My first instinct was that Molly was the killer. She's killed for Ginny before. Although, I must admit that I think the Minister of Magic exercised a serious lack of judgement in sending Ginny's brother - no matter how much he'd proved himself as a Ministry Man through and through. All the same, Percy is Ginny's brother and I guess the Minister thought he had no other options of who to send. He also probably reasoned that Percy would be able to talk whomever showed up out of murdering the Muggle and it would've been swept under the carpet.

I love the portraits. Of course Harry would surround himself with the people most important to him. I'm wondering if there is a reason that he hasn't had one commissioned of Ginny. Maybe he can't bear to interact with her that way.

Sirius is harboring a serious (see what I did there?) grudge against Dumbledore. I'm gonna guess it is because of what Dumbledore put Harry through in DH - and maybe a little has to do with Sirius being holed up in Grimmauld Place during OOTP. Either way, I liked his snarky attitude.

Wow. Harry is that depressed, huh? I thought you characterized Dumbledore perfectly - all knowing and giving out advice in a way that makes you think it was your own idea.

This was another fabulous chapter!

Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth!

OK, so after this one, I promise there are no emotionally draining chapters for a little while. Things get a good deal more action-packed before the emotional drain returns. And I do take it as a compliment, even though I feel badly about making anyone, erm, tear up. ;)

The trial scene was one of the first things I wrote for this story, even before the prologue, I think. Usually, things I wrote that long ago make me cringe when I reread them, but that scene has held up pretty well for me. The scene that followed was a tough one.

Not many reviewers have seen Percy's revelation coming. He's not the one you think of in that context. Which is obviously one of the things I liked most about having him be the one who did it. The Minister's judgment was horrible, but you're right, his options were limited.

I loved the idea of the portraits so much and I never felt like JKR made enough use of them in the books. It's like being able to interact with the past, in a way. You're right, Harry wouldn't be able to stand seeing Ginny as a portrait. That would have been torture on par with using the Resurrection Stone to bring her back. It never would have been the same.

Sirius seems Dumbledore in a very different light from his peers. Very similar to a lot of fan fic authors, however. ;) He suffered a great deal from Dumbledore's errors and machinations.

Harry is in a very bad place at this point in the story. And because he's older and widowed and lives alone, not many people realize just how bad off he is. Sadly, the portraits probably have a better idea of his mental state than his own children.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 Any Sufficiently Advanced Technology

20th September 2014:
Hi Dan!

Here for another chapter. Your chapters are long, but riveting. I'm totally sucked in.

The way you've portrayed Harry's grief and loneliness is so real it's uncanny. My heart breaks as I read each inflection or glance at a photograph. He hasn't completely moved on, but he is still living his life. Even as close as he is to Ron and Hermione, he knows (and they do as well) that they can't replace the loss that Harry has suffered. The love between Harry and Ginny that you've described is so deep. It is exactly how I view it. Great job - breaking my heart!! (haha)

I love this Ron and Hermione. They've settled down a bit and come to appreciate each other's quirks. But I can still believe that they go at it every now and again. It is nice to see them enjoying their new granddaughter. I feel like I'm looking at a family photo album.

I can totally see the tumultuous relationship between Rose and Scorpius. She always lets her temper get the best of her, but she does love Scorpius in a way that is deeper than most.

Harry and Rose's relationship is exactly how I picture it. She feel less judged by him than her parents. Sometimes I think it is easier to be understanding of your close nieces and nephews than to your own kids. This works out great for Rose and Harry.

Little Octavia seems a tremendously gifted young witch! I'm trying to place her age. If she's missing a tooth, I'm going to guess around five or six? I also figured Rose was close to forty, but I'm not exactly sure. Sorry, but I can't help myself trying to sort out where everyone is on the timeline and all that...

So Percy acting all weird. He must be close to seventy?? His actions are not just out of character, but they are seriously creepy. I feel like there is more to that story.

The boggart. I must say I see a future Gryffindor in the works. Octavia is brave and bold. I found it really weird that they could hear Ginny's scream in the background. It reminded me of how Harry could hear Lily's scream when the Dementors came near him. Only this time both Rose and Harry heard it - and maybe Octavia as well. You've left a little clue that Ginny was possibly killed by a Muggle with a gun. Hmmm... I guess I'm just gonna have to read on!

Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth!

I hate to break anyone's heart, but I'm glad that Harry's loss feels real to you. He is still pretty far from moving on, and living life has been a struggle for him. Ron and Hermione do their very best to be there for him, but it's just not the same.

Ron and Hermione still have that stubbornness toward one another that guarantees they will have the occasional blow-out. But they are much older and more mature and, more than anything, they finally appreciate how their fights affect those around them. So they tend to keep it more low key.

I think of Rose as being sort of a linear mix of her parents. She inherited some of their good qualities -- Hermione's quick thinking, Ron's affable sense of humor -- but also some of their worst -- Hermione's tendency to be a know-it-all and Ron's temper. The love she shares with Scorpius is deep and passionate. It has to be, otherwise they'd kill one another. ;)

I'm sure that Harry has always been drawn to Rose because he reminds her of his two best friends in the world. He gets her. In turn, she's drawn to him because she feels like he understands and he's had enough perspective on her parents' personalities that it's easy for him not to judge.

Octavia is a very gifted youngster, but as you'll see, she suffers from many of the difficulties that often plague bright children. She is six years old at the start of this story, so good reasoning!

Percy is right at seventy, and he is experiencing something akin to a mid-life crisis. Since wizards commonly live to be 120 or so, he's only a little past mid-life. There is definitely more to his story.

You know, I could also see Octavia being a Slytherin. Maybe an outside chance of Ravenclaw. The only thing I'm sure of is that she's no Hufflepuff.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Ginerva Weasley All Too Familiar

15th September 2014:
This story remains excellent. It is sad and frightening at times, mainly because you are willing to write about difficult issues, but is also extremely beautiful. Reading it feels a lot like reading the eight installment in the wonderful Harry Potter series. Thank you for this wonderful contribution to Harry Potter fan-fiction!

Author's Response: Hi!

I really appreciate the compliments. And that last one is a high compliment, indeed.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Veritaserum27 Everything That Ever Mattered

14th September 2014:
Hey there!

Back for the first official chapter. You've done it to me this time. Oh dear. I was bracing myself for the entire chapter, trying to tell myself that she wasn't dead, not Ginny. But I couldn't convince myself, not after the prologue and the fact that she wasn't talking back to Harry.

I love how you carried their love through generations. And how he is grieving for her. It shows how strong they were and I completely agree that they were fit for each other and completely, wholly in love for ever and ever. Ginny was Harry's first real family. She made him a father and gave him the one thing he craved for so many years. Losing her pulled a part of that away from him.

His favorite thing to talk about is his family. You can hear the pride and contentment in him when he mentions each one of them.

I love that you've chosen to write this from "Grandpa Harry's" POV. It is really ingenious. I haven't seen it done before, but really makes sense. I can also see Harry as a DADA teacher (making assumptions here, but I'm pretty sure that's what he would chose to teach). It is fitting that after he retires as an Auror, he would find fulfillment in sharing his knowledge with others - especially when they include his own grandkids!

Neville as Headmaster! Awesome! My own headcanon is that Neville would find his confidence after killing Nagini and would be a completely different character than he was in the books. Headmaster headcanon accepted!

Of course Harry blames himself for Ginny's death. It's so Harry. This is a great setup for the rest of the story. I'm curious how she died, why Harry thinks he could've saved her and generally what happened. All I know is that Jeremy Gamp is involved somehow - but I'm kind of glad I don't know more because I want to read and find out on my own.

Very captivating first chapter!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi there. I hope I didn't bum you out too badly. As I've said in a lot of review responses, the decision not to have Ginny be a part of this story was the hardest one I made. It was also one of the most important, however. Harry's guilt and grieving is a central theme of the story, and I hope you like the resolution to it in the end.

"Grandpa Harry" was fun and very rewarding to write. I felt like he deserved all of the happiness and love that came from being part of such a large family. All of these characters deserve that.

So Harry isn't actually a full-time teacher at Hogwarts. More like a guest lecturer. He is still Head Auror at the start of the story and he thinks of the classes he teaches as a sort of recruiting. He also just enjoys it. :)

I don't think I ever say this explicitly, but I imagine Neville succeeding Flitwick as Headmaster, who in turn succeeds McGonagall. By the time he rises to the post of Headmaster, he had taught Herbology for many years and probably served as head of Gryffindor House. Head canon complete!

Jeremy Gamp is involved, although possibly not in exactly the way you think. You're not the only one who can spin a mystery. ;)

I'm really, really excited to see what you think of the rest! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Veritaserum27 Prologue

14th September 2014:
Hi Dan,

I wasn't kidding - I hit submit for my last review on Detox and then immediately clicked over to this.

This is just an awesome Prologue. The reader knows this. We've been here before, right along with Harry. It is warm and safe and hey, the last time we were here, we got to see Dumbledore, so it can't be all bad, right?

I love that Harry isn't bothered by being dead. He's very much like: been there, done that.

But what is Ginny doing here? I remember you left me some reviews early on that told me how attached you were to Rose Weasley, and I must confess that I feel particularly protective of Ginny. I hope you haven't done anything awful to her, Dan. I love Ginny.

Sorry this review is so short - but I'm on to the next chapter!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Yay! I've been hoping and hoping that maybe, just maybe, you'd want to check this story out. Even after all I've written on HPFF, it's still my baby, my first love.

I tried to make this prologue be nothing more than a teaser for what's to come. I picked a familiar scene and a familiar set of circumstances, hoping for a reaction very similar to yours. I want the reader to feel like they know the where and the when and have an expectation of what might happen, but they don't know the why.

Being dead is old hat to Harry. Which is somewhat disturbing, if you think about it.

So, what is Ginny doing there? Well, there's a short answer and a long answer. You'll find out the short answer in the next chapter. The long answer won't come for a very long time. I think it's best to leave it at the following: this prologue is the first part of a scene that's completed in chapter 39. By then, you'll know all you need to know.

Gah, so pleased that you're here! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Ginerva Weasley Dark and Angry Souls

10th September 2014:
This a fascinating, well-written story. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by GingeredTea The Greater Fool

28th August 2014:
It's always so much fun to sink myself into your story again and read an much older Harry than I am used to. When we entered into the Burrow and he saw the chatting kids, it was almost like my mind lingered on them and I expected Harry to join them, but then he goes to the adults, and I realize how far from a child he is in your story! Then of course I continue and realize it's not Fred but Freddie - and that he's old enough to be an adult. I love when this happens in your story!

You do a wonderful job of catching the sense and mood of a big family coming together. Harry's focus is on all of them, but he notices the small details of his own children - a result of a habit to watch them carefully. Loved all of this. You even managed to perfectly weave in the sense of sadness at the missing Ron and Hermione.

This made me laugh!

Every so often, he caught a glimpse of something small and blue being passed from hand to hand. Once again he fixed his gaze on George, who was innocently devouring a plate of chicken and potatoes. A little too innocently, by Harry’s estimation.

By the way, you must tell me how you make my quotes italicized in the comment box! I never manage anything so fancy. LOL

And then the toasts - it was heart warming and you managed Harry's disappearance perfectly.

This almost made me cry: “I’d say not,” Al replied, pondering his last bite of tart. “If he wanted to talk about it, he’d still be here.”

I'm really enjoying your Draco Malfoy. And Phineas Nigellus Black was hilarious!

Okay, obviously, I'm getting a bit wrapped up in this - I always do. But, this is the next thing that made me laugh: "You used to wipe my bum. I’d say we have a long way to go before we’re even."

I love how all your characters are such individuals and dynamic - and how you are able to manage them in large crowds just as well as you are able to manage them in small intimate settings. Love!

I have a feeling Rosie is really going to help Harry out a lot emotionally.

Then you jump back the Malfoy's and I had a horrible feeling from the first sentence. :(

I laughed at the politeness of the elf, despite the situation! “Mistress requests the pleasure of your company,” the elf stated with a deep bow."

I'm starting to wonder if there really is a journal. Perhaps this Lady is merely using the idea and she will later claim her own ideas as those that Voldemort left behind.

You always make me want to stay up far to late and keep reading...must resist...must resist...must resist...

Author's Response: Hi! I always enjoy it when you sink yourself in. It was a challenge throughout this story to keep Harry, Ron, Hermione and the other canon characters age-appropriate. Which is not to say that I wanted them to sound "old", per se, but rather that I wanted them to seem like the elder members of a large and rather messy family. The family get-together was one of the more challenging parts to write, in that sense. So many generations interacting with one another.

George is still the sly one! The adults know enough to be wary and the children will soon learn...

You can use standard HTML tags in a review, so you just put the italics tags around any section of text and it will come out italicized. ;)

I knew I needed to get Harry in a bad state of mind and get him away from the dinner, and the toasts were an idea that came to me late in the writing process. I think it works better than my initial game plan. Writing is such an iterative process: draft and edit, draft and edit...

I'm glad you like Phineas Nigellus. I wanted to add a bit of comic relief to an otherwise rough moment for Draco and Astoria.

Rose has a way of boiling a situation down to its bare essence, don't you think? ;) She's also quite good at drawing Harry out of his shell, a skill that still isn't widespread even after so many years. They will both help one another, as you'll see.

Yeah, I did foreshadow a bit at the start of the second stint at Malfoy Manor.

Is there really a journal? You'll have to wait and see, I suppose. Regardless, it isn't the book that Flint took from Malfoy Manor. That's all I can say about that.

Aw, why resist? :p Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Yoshi_Kitten The Greater Fool

22nd August 2014:
Ohmigawdholycow!!! Has it really been 2 years? Are you serious?!? Dang, it seems like it was only last month some time that I was reading this story before, lol. Where the crap did all that time GO??? 0_o'

Anyways, sorry the swap has taken me so long to get to tonight. Work suddenly got busy right after I requested the swap. Go figure. But anyways, I decided to try and pick this back up right where I left off at. But then I realized that I needed to go back a few chapters and jog my memory as to what exactly had happened in the first place, lol! I have been reading this story for over an hour now though, and man do I ever LOVE it!!! Gosh, did I ever miss this place while I was away at school last year! Your writing especially!! ^_^

Ok, so this was one of my favorite chapters so far, I think. It literally had EVERYTHING in it!!! Humor, love, drama, angst, action – this one had it ALL!! I really love the way you switch scenes and give us different glimpses into what's going on with the other characters in this story all within the same chapter. You are really good at knowing where one scene should end, and the other should begin. I've always had such a difficult time choosing where and when to end my chapters. But you do it do flawlessly every single time!! And that takes some seriously mad-skillz, lol. ;)

And I enjoyed reading everyone's interactions with one another here. And I for one am SO glad that you kept Molly & Arthur around even though they are all so much older now. It makes me very happy to see Molly getting to hold dinners and take care of such a LARGE family. I can imagine that this has all been such a dream come true for her. And she deserves it too, after everything that her and Arthur have been through over the years. And your characterization of her was perfect. Honestly tho, you write everybody in the Weasley clan SO WELL, Dan!! How you keep track of everybody is beyond me, lol. There are so many of them also, yet you manage to give each character their own distinct voice and personality. I loved the bit about how Charlie is still caring for Dragons, instead of retiring, and OMG! George's prank on the children was priceless!! That was one of my favorite parts, haha! =D

The conversation between Harry and Rose was so sad! Yet I really loved reading this tender moment between the two of them, especially what she was brought up the fact that he was “just Uncle Harry” and not the Famous Harry Potter who defeated Voldemort. That was a really great way to put things into perspective, I think. Like her mother, Rose seems to be very wise beyond her years... Also, not sure if I mentioned this in any of my previous reviews, but I LOVE the fact that you paired her with Scorpius!! And their daughter, Octavia, is such a cutie. I really like her a lot too.

OMG, when Rose said this:
"...Not judging, mind you. I'd be doing the same thing if we were talking about Scorpius. But what would you do if you caught me pining over his grave? I mean, assuming that it wasn't me who killed him?"
I laughed so much at that statement!! I really so hope that we will get to see more of Scorpius soon too. And speaking of the Malfoys, I'm pretty sure this goes without saying at this point; but I absolutely LOVE the way that you write Draco, lol!!! Always have, always will!! =P

OMGosh, at the beginning of the attack scene at Malfoy Manor, when the two guards were all like “nothing bad will happen” I literally smacked myself upside the forehead, lol! I was like, “why did you just say that?” Any time someone says something like that, it is a sure sign that something bad is most definitely about to happen, haha. And sure enough, right after he said that, all Hades broke loose!! Honestly, Dan, you write those fight scenes SO spectacularly!! I wish that I was half as good as you when it comes scenes like that, lol. And hows about that ending?!? OMG, I was SO stunned!!! I literally sat and stared at the computer screen, with my mouth gaping open in shock, for like ten seconds or more when I got done reading that!! Holyeffinshiznits, did she really just kill him??!?? Yes, yes, I think that she did, lol. :O

OMG, WHO IS THIS WOMAN!?!?? In spite of all her evilness and such, I really do admire her as a Villain. She seems so much more... Idk the right word. Calculated? Anyhow, her vision may certainly be even more terrifying that Voldemort's ever was, and that's saying something. *shivers* It's no wonder you got Best Villain with her though. I just WISH that we knew who she really was, lol!! Is she someone related to Cannon, or just someone you came up with all on your own. The latter would honestly not surprise me at all tho, considering how clever and ingenious you are, Dan. (:

And again, I CANNOT believe that it has been 2 YEARS and I still have yet to finish this Novel!! Oh, and before I forget, what was up with the book? Was it really the Dark Lord's journal in disguise or not? I am assuming not, since she cast it aside along with Flint. But then, what does that mean? Does she have any other leads? Does said journal even exist? Will they give up? GAH!! I need answers, haha!!! =P

Haha, I was so happy when you requested to swap with me, Dan!! God I needed this so badly, lol! I have missed you, and your fantastical writing so gosh darn much!!! OMGosh, this is just amazing!!

Author's Response: Time flies, doesn't it? And the older you get, the faster it flies...

This chapter had an awful lot in it, to the point where I remember being worried that it was too busy. The Weasley family picnic scene nearly ended up on the cutting room floor, but with the benefit of hindsight I'm really glad that I kept it in. Aside from starting to set up a character who plays a major role later on (Albus), it gives more insight into the guilt and grief that still plague Harry and we get to see the Weasleys in a happy setting before all heck breaks loose later on. I liked giving Molly and Arthur a very happy, fulfilling old age as well. Like you said, it just felt right after all of the sacrifices they made over the years.

I wanted to give Harry and Rose a unique relationship in this story. Rose is very smart, but she has her moments of poor judgment and weakness. She's flawed in that way, very much like Harry. She's impulsive and follows her heart. The relationship between Harry and Rose will play a significant role in what happens later. You will see quite a bit of Scorpius before the story is done. I hope you like the dynamic between him and Rose.

When a character thinks that nothing bad is going to happen, that usually is a tip-off, isn't it? If you like fight scenes, well, I don't want to reveal too much but the best is yet to come. Many more fight scenes that, at least in my opinion, I did a much better job with. Yes, she did kill Flint. Unceremoniously and without a smidgen of remorse. Thus endeth the story's first minor villain.

The mystery woman... well, that will be revealed in good time. Can't really say anything without giving it away. I'm really pleased that you liked the character, though.

The book was exactly what it appeared to be: Draco's (mostly unread) copy of Magical Me. What is the mystery woman playing at? Again, can't say without giving it all away. ;)

Let's swap again soon. I'd love to see how your novel is coming along as you edit it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Luke1813 Epilogue

17th August 2014:
I'm a 42 year old man who, prior to three weeks ago, had never been on any fan fiction site. As someone who has experienced loss, I was deeply moved by your story and your writing. Your 64 year old, widowed Harry struck a chord within me in a way that Rowling's teenage Harry never did. Of course, my life is much different now than when I read her books.
Just wanted you to know that I truly enjoyed your novel. You are a talented writer, and I look forward to reading more of your work.

Author's Response: Hi, Luke,

As a fellow 42 year old man -- no joke, that's the actual truth -- I can appreciate where you're coming from. I enjoy reading Next Gen stories about angsty teenagers getting pregnant at wild parties in the Gryffindor Common Room after winning the Quidditch Cup, but the connection is never really there. I feel like I connected a lot with this Harry while writing this story, and I'm really glad you felt the same.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I hope to hear from you again soon!


 Report Review

Review #10, by J Everything to Lose

25th July 2014:
LADY TENABRA. !!!ARABELA DYNT!!! I CANT BELIEVE IT TOOK THIS LONG!! IM A SCRABBLE CHAMPION!!

Author's Response: Muahahahahaaa!

Seriously, though, thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by caapotter Epilogue

30th June 2014:
I have come across several fanfics since I started this addiction. Some are good and nice, and I am one to like the funny and light stories. My life is so full of problems that I like to be light-headed when I read. Then I started yours. At first it wasn't really my style but before I knew it the story took me in completely. I admire you very much and if my fanfic is a quarter like yours in quality I'll be forever happy. Congratulations. It's an amazing story. You have very much to be proud of. Thank you for this. Thank you for not giving up. If I can suggest my own fanfic "Being Parents", it would be a honor if you read it and maybe reviewed with your thoughts. I have learned tons whilst reading and surely got inspired by your talent.
By best wishes, Caa xx

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I'm really struggling to get the smile off of my face at this point. Thank you so much for all of your kind words. It's hard to explain how much they mean to me.

I'll be sure to check your story out at some point.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by caapotter Ginny's Story

30th June 2014:
Thank you for this chapter. Thank you. :') Caa xx

Author's Response: You're very welcome. Like I said in the author's note, it was as much a gift to myself as to anyone else.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by caapotter Impossible Choices

30th June 2014:
Once again I finished reading with lots and lots of tears in my eyes. First you take Ginny away from us, then I was starting to ease up to Esme and you take her too, Rose is f*cked up and now Neville.
If your writing and your story weren't so damn good I would probably have given up by now. But congrats anyways with your geniality of this story! Caa xx

Author's Response: Hi, there.

I have to admit, this chapter wasn't much fun to write. OK, that's not completely true. The fight scene and the part where the kids take down Professor Tennant were actually a lot of fun. But the ending, not so much. I'll just have to beg your patience. Everything happens for a reason.

I'm glad that you like it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by caapotter Everything That Ever Mattered

25th June 2014:
Whyyy? Whyy?? I'm seriouly crying. Ginny. No :(

But great writing :)

Author's Response: Hi there.

I've said it a lot of times but I don't mind saying it again: the decision I made about Ginny was the hardest decision I made when writing this. I love Harry and Ginny together and I hated doing this to them. I hope you'll understand what I was trying to accomplish.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by LoonyMooney Epilogue

17th June 2014:
Wow, great story! You are very talented :) I really enjoyed it
Thanks

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by dobbywhisky Epilogue

16th June 2014:
You are brilliant. Don't ever forget that.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all of the kind words. I appreciate them more than you know.

 Report Review

Review #17, by GingeredTea The Tangled Web We Weave

14th June 2014:
The idea that one would need to be 'studious' to avoid family really made me laugh, because it made me really analyze how big the 'family was' and that made me realize how 'studiously avoiding' really did fit. Sorry for the long rant about one word, but it was really a perfect choice. :D

As a teacher who sometimes has to deal with permission slips and 'so-and-so is going to take little Timmy home today' sort of notes (and then the matter-of-fact moment where you ask that person to see their license because no, it doesn't matter that the child knows them and calls them the right name), really made me appreciate what Neville went through before he conceded to having one person make the request for all of them.

Oh my, you too this very serious moment between Hugo, Ron and Hermione and managed to make me laugh. Ron's comment about sleeping in the bed next to Hermione was simply so RON! :D

You transition from one joke to another, tempering the seriousness of both scenes.

"It had given the guard just enough pause for one of the Aurors to stun him. Harry and Terry both agreed that the older they became, the more uses they found for Luna’s peculiar beliefs."

I loved that!

You did a really brilliant job with the Harry and Hermione scene. Setting him up to be physically near her and then describing his slight tensing as she worried about not getting well and he thought of how she might not walk - that was a great setup.

You write an older Trio very very well.

Uncle Harry playing keeper made me laugh!

"“You imperiused the muggle who killed Potter’s wife? Seriously?” Nott couldn’t help himself. She offered a slight nod from beneath her hood."

The plot thickens! What is up? Who is she? Pale and blond. Did Mrs. Malfoy really die? Luna? No way, right?

Author's Response: Hi! Today seems like a good day to answer reviews. I'm getting ever so far behind.

I'm glad you liked Harry's studiousness. It's been a long time, but I think I actually remember trying a few different words there before I settled on that one.

Given that Neville was a family friend and also a very practical sort of guy, I just had it figured that he eventually would have accepted somebody speaking collectively for Molly and Arthur's family.

Poor Hugo is caught in the middle of the mess. He can't really *make* his father do anything, but he's giving it the old college try.

Everyone can learn something useful from Luna if they listen closely enough. ;)

I really enjoyed writing the Harry/Hermione scene because it's the sort of physical closeness that a lot of fan fic authors shy away from for some reason. I don't get it. They've been friends for over 50 years by this point. A few hugs are too be expected, I think.

The pale, blond woman will be revealed in good time, as will the truth about her involvement in Ginny's murder. If I told you now, it would spoil the fun. :p

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by GingeredTea Fortunes

14th June 2014:
I never really thought of how one would write a female Voldemort. Reading this, I'm now not sure how I'm going to like a female Voldemort. She sounds as cruel as him but with control over her temper. It was Voldemort's lack of control and lack of key knowledge that was his downfall; this lady seems to have what he was lacking, and that worries me.

I have a feeling Harry is going to regret this little hesitation: "Harry thought it over. He would have preferred to keep at least one of the better duelists on the security detail, but he wasn’t sure how to suggest it without giving away the true nature of the mission. “That sounds fine,” he replied."

Harry always did feel lost without something to do - something large and dangerous to get near and "kill".


You managed to capture Harry as a no-non-sense boss, and did a brilliant job. :)

I love how you started the chapter with the concept of 'fortunate' and ended it there as well, illustrating so well the perceptions of good and bad from different sides of a war. :)

Brilliant chapter. Can't wait to read the next one. :)

Author's Response: I think you've got a pretty good feel for her already. Where Voldemort was half-mad, she's as cold and calculating as you'll ever find. What she lacks in raw power, she makes up for with meticulous planning and an almost effortless ability to manipulate people.

Harry might well regret that. At this point, he doesn't realize how much danger the Malfoys are actually in.

That's just Harry's mental makeup. I think he gets very uncomfortable if life is too boring for too long.

This chapter was all about fortunes and misfortunes. With one or two exceptions I can think of, I don't name my chapters until after they're written. Usually I can find some common thread running through each one or something that it reminds me of.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by dobbywhisky Prices Paid in Blood and Sorrow

13th June 2014:
I want ginny back... I always fwlt like sye wasnt developed enough in the books. So to be honest I'm kind of happyesme is dead

Author's Response: Ginny definitely got the short end of the stick, character development-wise. I can see why so many FF readers don't like her. I'd probably feel the same way if not for my expansive head canon that fills in the gaping void that JKR left in her character. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by magnolia_magic Any Sufficiently Advanced Technology

12th June 2014:
Tag!

I've heard so many people rave about this story, and when I saw your name in review tag I had to take the opportunity to come check it out. I am so, so glad that I did! I can definitely see why everyone loves it so much. (Do you ever get tired of hearing stuff like that? Hopefully not :))

Anyway. I'm so impressed (and baffled, really) by the level of detail that you've put into creating this post-war world, and how you've portrayed the Weasley family as it's evolved. Harry as a doting grandfather just warms my heart; I always knew he would be a devoted family man. And Ron and Hermione make me laugh! I love your imagining of the trio as they've gotten older. They are so true to the characters we know from the books, but it's still clear that they've experienced a lot more life.

I think the buildup of mystery is going at a great pace so far, and I can't wait to see what unfolds from here. I'm so glad to finally be on board with this story! I can't believe I'm just now checking it out, honestly. Awesome job!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hi, there! Very long time, no see.

Ha. I never get tired of hearing stuff like that. It's always good to hear that somebody's reading and enjoying the story.

I started writing this story right after a period where I was reading a lot of post-war fan fiction, so I had a lot of head canon stored up. For better or worse, a lot of it came gushing out in this chapter. I'm really glad you find the characters true to the books. That was more important to me than almost anything else.

I'm pleased as can be that you've decided to give it a try. Look forward to hearing what you think.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by dobbywhisky Friends and Allies

11th June 2014:
I read this obsessively on my phone. Whenever I have a free moment I just whip it out. Its permanently saved on my browser. Thought you should know.

Author's Response: You definitely know how to make a guy smile, you know that? Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by GingeredTea Strange Bedfellows

11th June 2014:
I always mean to do a rolling review, but then I get sucked right into your story and end up halfway through before I realize I should be noting my reactions. LOL

That said, I was really impressed by your description of the sisters shopping. My amazement probably has to due with the fact that I hate shopping and therefore wouldn't ten know where to begin describing someone who does. Kudos to you!

The way you write Daphne rushing to tell Astoria something, then forgetting as she admires the dress she picked out for her sister had me laughing.

The scene with Hermione had me on the edge of my seat, and that's probably where I forgot about the review - swept into the story. Will Hermione make a full recovery?

Harry just seemed so Harry here, making everyone worry with his worry.

Then you transition into the Astoria Flint scene and you have me on the edge of my seat again. Draco came at just the right/wrong time. I have a feeling Astoria might have managed a bit more gracefully without him, and maybe with them thinking she could still sway Draco. Her demand/order at the end made me smirk.

Harry speaking to the portraits was a nice breather between the chaos otherwise filling this chapter.

Then you jump right back in with Draco and Harry. I was tense as I read the paced but still dramatic conversation.

I loved this line. “Come to turn yourself in, Malfoy?” Harry said, startling him.

OMG, YOU ARE KILLING ME WITH LAUGHTER! TORTURE! "“Well done, Malfoy,” Harry replied coldly. “You’ve really come a long way, you know? For a moment there, I thought you were going to call my niece a mudblood, and I was about to remind you how it feels to be a ferret.”"

This was an awesome chapter! I wish I had more time review this, but work has been crazy right now. I'm really enjoying this. :)

Author's Response: Rolling reviews are harder than they seem. If I manage to successfully write one, it's not usually a good sign for what I'm reading. ;)

Shopping is probably the only hobby that Astoria and Daphne have in common. They're about as different as sisters can be, but they both have a weakness for retail therapy. Daphne much more than Astoria, obviously. She's also rather easily distracted.

Hermione has a long, difficult recovery in front of her. All throughout this story, I tried really hard to portray war for what it really is. People get hurt. And when they get hurt, they don't just bounce back the next day like they always seemed to at Hogwarts.

I imagine that Harry was a really good boss in most dimensions, but yes, he's really getting on everyone's nerves in that scene. Fortunately, he has Ron and Susan to rein in his less productive managerial tendencies.

Astoria definitely had Flint going before Draco showed up. She was also right at the point where she was going to have to knee him in the unmentionables, though. Draco and Astoria make a good team, even if he's not really willing to admit that he needs the help.

Isn't the Headmaster's office always a bastion of serenity? You know, unless you've just discovered that you're meant to die. ;)

Even if they did learn to tolerate one another and even behave somewhat cordially in the interest of their joined families, I highly doubt that Draco and Harry ever came to *like* one another. The animosities and the philosophical differences just run too deep. It was a lot of fun, writing their bickering and subtle displays of alpha behavior. Even in their sixties, they can't let go of the rivalry.

Your review was very enjoyable! Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #23, by dobbywhisky The Silliest Thing I’ve Ever Heard

7th June 2014:
Amazing. No words. Must.keep.reading. ...

Author's Response: Big smile on my face over here. I'm really glad you're enjoying it! Thanks for letting me know!

 Report Review

Review #24, by GingeredTea A Friend Indeed

7th June 2014:
You lulled me into such a sense of pleasantness at the beginning of this chapter; outlining how Draco basically restored his life, how he came to experience the true love for a child through his grandchildren, etc. etc. and then you brilliant flip all this niceness on its head!

Marcus Flint is up to something. I wonder what he's after.

"“Oh, that?” he tried to keep his voice calm. “He was from Gringotts. They’re very eager to get that paperwork resolved.”" Draco's still not very good at lying, is he? LOL

The conversation between Astoria and Hermione was exquisitely written and I loved the aloofness that Astoria tried to maintain and Hermione gently basically telling her 'I can't do anything if you're not going to give me anything'.

The scene at Records was AMAZING!

And the ending, with Draco so terrified for Astoria was really an unfair place to end. ;-)

Author's Response: Hi, there!

In my own mind, I figured Draco's life would have turned out basically alright, subject to certain ups and downs. He is very happy with his family, but Narcissa's inability to manage the family finances has left him in a difficult spot.

Marcus Flint is up to several things, as you'll soon see. :)

I would modify that statement slightly to say that Draco's not good at lying *to Astoria*. As you'll see later, he's fairly adept at lying to other people.

I imagine basically all conversations between Hermione and Astoria as negotiations. It comes naturally to Astoria because of her aristocratic pureblood background and Hermione is a no-nonsense kind of person when she's annoyed. She's definitely getting annoyed by the end of this conversation. ;)

Magical records! The first duel scene that I wrote for HPFF. I'm always kind of partial to it, so I'm glad it played well for someone who knows a bit about writing duels.

Ha! Fair has nothing to do with it. :p

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by whisky dobby No More Secrets

6th June 2014:
I am addicted to your story.i keep meaning to write a review but then greedily turn to the next chapter.so glad I dont have to wait for you to post them and its already completed. Yoy deserve the reward!

Author's Response: Thanks! I really appreciate it. Would love to know more of your thoughts and reactions.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>