Reading Reviews for Evolution
  
281 Reviews Found

Review #1, by headoverharry73 Intervention

20th April 2014:
Are you out there somewhere? Please post another chapter soon.I'm dying for an update! I check in about one a week. I'm not giving up on you. :) We all love your story so much. Hope to hear from you soon. xoxoxo

 Report Review

Review #2, by Amy Intervention

11th March 2014:
Me again! Sorry, sorry. I forgot one point. After his own childhood, there is no way Harry would not meet Teddy for 2.5 years. That is simply not possible.

And yes, I agree with another reviewer that it is not the right time to bring them together. Harry needs to become independent and maybe even experience a small romance on the side. Ginny should also feel the angst. (I'm mean that way!)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Amy Intervention

11th March 2014:
I barely took 3 days to go through this entire story. It is very well written and very clean. Your writing style is admirable and your thoughts are clear. It is unusual for fanfiction writers to write such compelling, cohesive stories that use show instead of tell. Wow!

But yes, I do have a bone to pick. Harry seems out of character in your story and no I don't mean the anger and the avoidance. With those you are spot on!

But the OOCness is seen in two ways. One it is very apparent that your favorite character is Ron. Ron is an admirable character but he is not Harry, he never had the same talent or the ability to notice things. He was quicker to anger and easily provoked. In your auror training scenes, the ones that were written before Ben's death, he seems equal to Harry. Neither of them seemed to have their own unique traits. Strategy was Ron's when he was put in charge of making plans and noticing minute details was Harry's. You have Ron noticing at par and even better than Harry. This is not something that is likely.

Another thing was Harry's quick assumption that Ginny was "with" Malfoy. Oh you were right, he would think it. But he wouldn't barge in. He would taunt her and avoid the issue until it bursts out of him eventually. That eventually would happen only when Ginny pushed him to explain his aloofness. Still, what's done is done, eh? Ginny was very in-character though, throughout. Hermione is a bit more mellow. Originally, Hermione would insist on a long engagement because she wants to establish a career etc before they set a date etc.

Anyway, good story. I just hope you write Harry better, especially on the skill front. Ron never had the same drive and wouldn't have it anyway - he never suffered like Harry did, never went through the entire miserable life where observation kept him fed and whole. Harry developed these skills at the Dursleys where he had to depend on them to look out for Dudley's gang and even at home. Ron was happy, he has no need for any observation or tact. Harry had and he has both tact and power of observation. In fact, Ron's new spell was more Harry than Ron. The only place he was in cannon was when his reaction to Harry after the Malfoy incident and his thawing towards Harry. Also, his indecision about proposing after hearing the romantic gesture was also very cannon. I hope you put things back on track, you have the ability and the talent. I look forward to the next update.

I hope you don't mind me saying all this but this is slowing going too OOC.

 Report Review

Review #4, by CambAngst The Things We Do For Love

15th February 2014:
Hi, there! The prompt for today in the Gryffindor February Reviewing Challenge was to review a story featuring my "one true pairing." And even though my OTP is kind of on the outs with one another at this point in the story, they're still right at the center of things.

Oh, poor Ginny! I know she feels terribly about turning Viktor down, but at the same time her heart just isn't it it.

Again, the comparison with Harry was stark. A long cherished image flashed through Ginnyís mind, one in which she stood in a beautiful dress, surrounded by everyone she cared about, becoming Mrs Potter. Even now, the thought made her heart beat faster. How can I possibly marry someone who doesnít make me feel that way? And how can I possibly explain all this to Viktor? -- How indeed? I love that it's thoughts of Harry still that help her to determine what it is that she really wants -- and doesn't want -- out of life.

"But Ginevra, please know this. I do, and alvays vill, hold you in the highest regard." -- There was something almost comical about this line. It says a lot, I think, about Viktor's "love" for Ginny. It's just not what she's been searching for, or what she had with Harry. Yes, I can almost feel the two of them drawing nearer...

You did a great job with the dialog between the Death Eaters. You have the ambitious Lestrange, the cautious Rosier and the cruel, bloodthirsty Selwyn, each playing his role in the conversation. I'm really glad that Lestrange's opinion carried the day. Now what are they going to do with a House Elf?

Ah, yes, Goodly is a messenger. I thought you did a really good job of writing the poor, terrified house elf. She lives with a truly evil master who lacks even the modicum of refinement that probably kept the Malfoys from treating Dobby even worse than the did. Hermione led the poor little thing along wonderfully, first building a rapport and then helping the little creature to do what she probably wanted to do anyway. I'd be remiss if I didn't mention Kreacher. He was a brilliant defender of his master's home!

I remember working through the scene in Skirtgill Cottage, and I think it turned out brilliantly. Hermione's arrival pushed Ron into action. Seeing her in danger led him to be something more than he thought he could be, and that's part of what true love really means. Delivering for the person who matters most when the circumstances are most dire.

The modified stunning spell turned out really well in the final version. It was such a great mental image, very vivid and full of energy.

And then the proposal... gah! No, it certainly wasn't what he had planned. No, it wasn't romantic in the classic sense. But it came at a moment where each of them had just had their love for the other reinforced in perhaps the most dramatic way possible. That was the real beauty of the moment.

Excellent job! I really need to get back into the habit of reading and reviewing your posted chapters!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Grant Intervention

30th January 2014:
Well I certainly hope you get married and enjoy your honeymoon. I can't wait to read more though. I'll be an expectant fan, not so patiently waiting for the rest of the story. I'm sure theres lots more where this came from!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hena Intervention

5th January 2014:
This story is so incredible and I can't help but feel exactly how the character's are feeling too. It broke my heart reading about Harry! Please include some Ginny and Harry soon.. I am completely hooked to this story :-). I hope to read the next chapter very soon, I cannot wait for it to be uploaded!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Infinityx Reunion

30th December 2013:
Hi there! I'm here for the fourth day of 12 days of reviewing challenge.

I love the way you've written this chapter. It's interesting to see that the setting is the very next day after the battle. You've covered all the main aspects in this chapter really well and it has a good flow to it.

I love all the scenes between Ron and Hermione as well as those between Harry and Ginny. There are some intense going on there and you've captured them really well.

The whole confusion that Harry feels in the morning is brilliant. He's just the type to have a million thoughts going through his head at once and I love the way you described all of that.

I do feel there should have been a greater emphasis on the grief that everyone feels, as well as the guilt within Harry. I really like Ginny's personality in this chapter though and it really sets the feel for the coming ones.

Overall, I think it was a really great start, very well written. :)

Cheers,
Erin.

 Report Review

Review #8, by queenwombat Intervention

17th October 2013:
Love this chapter, i think we were all waiting for this day. I would really appreciate an update but i understand how life can get crazy so just try your best k

 Report Review

Review #9, by queenwombat Intervention

22nd September 2013:
i will never give up on this story i love it more than anything it one of my all time ginny/harry fics ever

 Report Review

Review #10, by PotterGirl94 Intervention

20th September 2013:
Thank. God. Finally! But this chapter truly was amazing. Loved it to pieces. Its great that Harry is finally getting his life back together. And I am so happy for Ron and Hermione! Ron has always been slightly overshadowed - its great to see him shining for once.

Although, at this moment, I don't actually want to see Harry and Ginny together. I understand why readers are desperately waiting for them to come together but I personally feel that this is not the right time. I mean, Harry has only just started seeing sense. And I am a bit angry at Ginny for enjoying life when Harry was in such a bad shape. I think Harry to should take some time to be single again, put himself in the line of fire and just make sure he does everything he can to make amends for his recent behavior. I want to see a bit of the old Harry, you know? The one who would gladly die for his friends.

And I know I am mean - but I really wanna see Ginny suffer a bit!

Anyway, those are just my thoughts. I cannot wait to see what you have in waiting!

As for your writing, I love the attention to detail. After all, it is the small things which make a good story!

Congratulations!! You really must be busy with your wedding in a month. I really appreciate that that you still took the time to update :)

And while I understand why the next chapter may be delayed, frankly, it hurts to wait for it! post it as soon as you can :)

PotterGirl94

 Report Review

Review #11, by Phillip Intervention

19th September 2013:
Get. Harry. And. Ginny. Back. Together. Pronto.

 Report Review

Review #12, by headoverharry73 Intervention

18th September 2013:
Yea! You're back!! :) Congratulations once again on a great chapter. This made my day. I love your creativity and writing style. Everything flows so beautifully and really paints a picture. All of your chapters are well worth the wait. :)

All the best wishes on your wedding next month. You deserve all the happiness in the world for sharing your gift of writing with all of us. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Aurorofthelight Intervention

18th September 2013:
Thank goodness for a new chapter!! I was beginning to think you had given up plus I was having bad withdrawal symptoms! This is such a great story and this was a great chapter! Thanks for sticking to it!!! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by Amanda1226 The Things We Do For Love

29th August 2013:
I love your story! I have re-read it twice now while waiting for an update :) SOOO excited for the next chapter! Your creativity is fantastic and so true to the characters, and your writing style flows so well... Please please please update soon!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Zac ramesh The Things We Do For Love

14th August 2013:
Really like what u've written so far... Of all the fan fiction I've read yours is by far the best.. The only thing I don't like is the Harry ginny fall apart... It's not in line with Harry's character to doubt Ginny even for a second( that's more like Ron) .. And the Harry we've known would never risk his friend's lives like this solely coz of recklessness.. Pl let Harry and Ginny get back together and salvage Harry's reputation.. After all that he's been through he's always remained of pure heart and he deserves better ... But overall kudos to you for the excellent work looking forward for the chapters to follow.

 Report Review

Review #16, by e The Things We Do For Love

12th July 2013:
I have been waiting months for an update! Please please please update soon!!

Author's Response: Hello - sheepish reply time! I haven't given up, I promise! There is definitely more to come:-)

 Report Review

Review #17, by headoverharry73 The Things We Do For Love

1st July 2013:
Hey Sophie! I'm waiting with my fingers crossed for another update. It's been two months since your last posting, so you know what that means - you owe us two chapters back to back! LOL Looking forward to your next update. love ya!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ladymblack As You Were

30th May 2013:
I'm a horrible reviewer, and I fully admit it. I was initially hesitant with this story, but the characters seemed in line with what they should be, and I found myself interested in what would happen. You've really come into it at this point. Your punctuation gets much, much better with each chapter you post, and I find myself less distracted by it.

With that said, I thought that the whole thing with becoming an animagus was really amazing, and I gobbled it up. I realize that that was from the last chapter, but I figured I'd mention it here.

At the end of this chapter, you mention "fun and games at Grimmauld Place." Was that a nod to the story by Gaurwen? It was one of the first stories I found on this site, and I still read it every now and then. If it wasn't, you should definitely check it out.

Also, to respond to a previous review, I don't think that Ron's behavior was, in any way, out of character. Even though he'd given his "permission" at the end of HBP, it was clear that he was still struggling with the situation. After the fiasco on Harry's birthday in DH, I too would expect that Ron would have a difficult accepting that his sister is an adult witch capable of making her own decisions and choices. Maybe that reviewer should re-read the books, since he or she clearly hasn't read them thoroughly (wink, wink). I always think that telling someone to go back to the books during a situation regarding interpretation is ridiculous. Even if the reviewer saw something differently, that doesn't make your interpretation incorrect or wrong.

I look forward to reading more, and I will try to let you know when something catches my interest again.

 Report Review

Review #19, by robbo The Things We Do For Love

24th May 2013:
I like how in the end ron just proposed. Guess being in a tight spot gets one piorities straight. With the way things are i dont see anyway back for harry. Look forward to the next chapter

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ranger As You Were

10th May 2013:
You need to go back and read canon. Ron never had a problem with Harry and Ginny going out. He got mad at Death Hallows because Harry broke with Ginny and then was making out with her.

Which is really reasonable. Ron is badly out of character here.

Author's Response: Hi, Ranger - I respectfully disagree. This plot point is about human nature, and is entirely consistent with both canon and what we know of Ron's character.

Ron has always been protective of his sister, and although he was accepting of her relationship with Harry, he was always worried that he would hurt her. That is why he got angry in Deathly Hallows, and that's why he gets angry in this chapter.

He sees their relationship getting very serious, which raises the stakes for him - the potential for Ginny to be hurt is so much higher, and he is concerned that she is being take advantage of. His reaction is entirely natural, and will be familiar to big brothers the world over.

Thank you for reading this far, and for taking the trouble to leave a review.


 Report Review

Review #21, by harryhermron The Things We Do For Love

6th May 2013:
Glad to see your wrote. I am worried about
Harry and Ginny. Harry is destroying is life.

Author's Response: Hi there - yes, Harry's in a spot of bother, but don't worry - he will be able to fix it in due course. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #22, by MatNat098 The Things We Do For Love

5th May 2013:
I read all 29 chapters today. This is amazing. I love how you don't make it so that Ginny and Harry have a perfect relationship. I can't wait for Ron and Hermoine's wedding. Do you know when chapter 30 should be out. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: All 29?? Wow, I'm flattered! I'm so glad you've enjoyed it, and I hope to see you back for more:-)

 Report Review

Review #23, by headoverharry73 The Things We Do For Love

3rd May 2013:
I just read through your replies to this chapter's review and I'm so happy to hear you were busy planning your wedding. I wanted to ask you how that was going the past few months, but I hadn't heard you mention it in a while and I didn't want to mention anything I shouldn't, so I'm glad you did! :) If you don't mind my asking, when's the date? You already got my review for this chapter, so this is just my "best wishes" note for you!

Author's Response: Oh wow - thank you! It is in October. I can't believe how much stuff there is to do! But all going really well:-)

 Report Review

Review #24, by M. Quintana Vidaurri The Things We Do For Love

2nd May 2013:
Love love love love love your story! I really like reading a fanfic that is both well written and has a plot planned out, not just random happenings in very chapter that don't seem to follow a storyline.
I'd love to see a bit more of Teddy and George, though. They just seem such fun characters.
I loved the description of Ron's nerves and his failed attempts at a proposal. I think you've captured him the best out of all the characters, although Ginny and Krum have been very much as I pictured them as we'll.
I wish Harry could be a bit more powerful and do some cool things, but I guess he's not in the best state of mind at this point in the story. Hope he goes for something both romantic and magically impressive for trying to win Ginny back soon.
Anyway, I just wanted to congratulate you and ask for more to come soon. :)

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for taking the time to review - I'm so glad you're enjoying the story:-)

I used to hate writing Ron, but the more I do it, the more fun it gets - I'm pleased you think I'm doing well with him

Don't worry too much about Harry - let's just say that life is about to turn a little for him!

I really hope you'll stick around for the rest of the story, and it would be great to hear from you again.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Shannon The Things We Do For Love

1st May 2013:
Only just found this and read all 29 chapters today! You are an amazing writer ! I just can't wait till ginny and harry get back together Arwhh it is so sad that they have not been together for so long when they are meant to be together :( and again it's an amazing story I definitely cannot wait for chapter 30 : D xxx

Author's Response: Hi there! Wow, all 29 chapters in a day? That's some committment! I hope you stick around for the rest of the story, and I'm really pleased you've enjoyed it so far. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>