Reading Reviews for Something About a Witch
  
42 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AriesGirl40 Chapter the Sixth: Time to Kick Cannons

6th February 2013:
Good update, I 'm glad your story didn't drop into, unfinished limbo. :)

Author's Response: Me too, I hated myself for not getting a new chapter in so long. This is my favorite of my stories, so I felt bad. Glad you liked it! Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by hpforever223 Chapter the Fifth: My Neighbor the Vampire

6th May 2012:
UPDATE is the only thing i have to say

Author's Response: SON! I promise, I'm totally typing it up as I type this... what?

 Report Review

Review #3, by SexyDoorFrames Chapter the Second: Three Years Later...Again

24th March 2012:
Hey :) This was really good! I enjoyed it. I really liked reading the flashback! It added a lot of dimensions to Rose's character and showed a lot about her character. You are also really good at writing quidditch scenes, they're very well throughout. This was an amazing story, I couldn't spot any typos and I think you're a really good writer :) Thanks for the wonderful swap and I hope you have a great day! xx

Author's Response: Aww! I thought I'd throw the flashback in for the heck of it, mostly to see if I was any good at writing Quidditch (I've never written sports before lol) Turns out its fun! I'm really glad that you liked it, and thank you so much for reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by Emily Chapter the Fifth: My Neighbor the Vampire

23rd March 2012:
everything about this is just so amazing i can't even speak right.
seriously.
dirk is like, asdfkasdfnlaklfdjg. he's so hot.
and scorpius, you naughty naughty boyyy
SNATCH THE SNITCH
what is it lacking??? umm.MORE CHAPTERSSS
i am literally so excited for the next chapter ahhh.
too much of...? NOTHING.
;AOIWEJL FSD KMAS;DLKF YAY
I LIKE YOUR STORY
OKAY BYE NOW

Author's Response: Haha! Aww thank you so much, I love the enthusiasm! Thank you for reviewing, and I love that you love my story :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by AriesGirl40 Chapter the Fifth: My Neighbor the Vampire

23rd March 2012:
For Dirk being a Playboy, Tosser... He seems too normal. I sorta expected him to be totally self centered, self serving. I expected Rose to open the door for him, that sort of thing. Otherwise, I could see them dateing. I do have hopes that she will be bothered while Dirk is at her apartment. Something says she does need protecting from this guy. A girl should say no on the first daye anyway. Creates boundries, shows respect.
I am enjoying the story so far, it is quite interesting. Shows off your sense of humor too.
well done :)

Author's Response: I love opinions like this, helps me know what y'all really think about the story. Those parts of Dirk will come out more as we get to know him better. I know Rose and Dirk's fling thing was really rather sudden, but don't expect much from it. That's all I'll say on that topic, lol.
Very glad you liked it! Thank you so much for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by AriesGirl40 Chapter the Fourth: Hugo the Conqueror of Couches

23rd March 2012:
Seemed to me a typical move. Always calls for food and booze ;)

Author's Response: What's a move with out the Weasley's and Potters? Lol thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by AriesGirl40 Chapter the Third: Really Becoming the Game

23rd March 2012:
Ya know, that would sux being the snitch for your team. You made me laugh :)

Author's Response: Ha ha good! Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by SexyDoorFrames_Staff Chapter the First: A Start of Sorts

19th March 2012:
Hey :) This was a really good first chapter! I love the characterization that you have shown so far. I like the fact that Rose is a bit of an underachiever and I like the fact that she is trying out for the cannons tryouts. I haven't see that before so I really enjoyed reading this. I also adore Albus, he's awesome. Thanks for an awesome read, I loved it!

- SexyDoorFrames

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! I really just wanted a different ScoRose, and this is the way it ended up. I'm glad you liked it! :D And Albus is so fun to write!

 Report Review

Review #9, by apocalypse Chapter the Fourth: Hugo the Conqueror of Couches

15th March 2012:
Hey! This is apocalypse, here with your review! Sorry for being so late; I've been crazy busy this week!

Anyway, I'd like to start off by mentioning how much I appreciate that you finally introduced Hermione into the whole family picture. =) I know I have been mentioning how your chapters seemed incomplete with everyone except Hermione, your main character's mom, in the picture. But now that she's here everything's in place. =) Good job. However throughout the chapter, I got this weird feeling that there might be a chance of you not liking Hermione's character that much. Correct me if I'm not wrong, but as compared to all the other characters you've written her character as a very dry person and its as if you wrote it because you HAD to and not because you WANTED to; am I making any sense? I mean I could totally see that you had super fun writing about all the other characters; James, Albus, Hugo and so on. But the fun factor seemed to be missing in Hermione's character which did not make her seem as intriguing as she should've been. No offence though; just curiosity. =)

Moving on, I loved Hugo and Rose's scenes. They were hilarious and realistic at the same time. One expects this kind of behavior; ongoing taunts, arguments, silly threats from the siblings =P I enjoyed their conversation, a lot.=) Similarly, I loved the atmosphere for the scenario where all the cousins meet up at Rose's new place. However, the part where they sort of jump over each other might have gotten a bit overboard. I mean aren't they all a bit mature for an action) like that? This goes just for the jumping part; the rest was VERY entertaining, the Auror taunts and the jinxing. =) Well done!

Also when Scorpious comes to visit Rose, you made him carry '..bouquet of wild flowers in one hand, and a nice bottle of champagne in the other..' And then the part where you mentioned, 'Scorpius said hurriedly, giving her the presents and a kiss on the cheek.. I went all 'Woah did I miss something?' my point being, these presents and kiss from a Malfoy to a Weasley? A bit too fast don't you think? As I mentioned in one of my previous reviews, I'd like you to brief us with more details regarding their past or current relationship before you start progressing towards their future. That way it will be more fun and interesting to read about them. Right now it's all sort of confusing. I hope I am making my point clear. =)

I think that that's it from me at the moment. It was a very fun and entertaining chapter and I loved reading your writing! I think you're doing a good job with the story; all you need to do is get a better hang of the slight details you miss here and there. Apart from that, it's all great! =) I hope this review helps you. Until next time, Good Luck and Happy Writing! =D

Author's Response: You caught me *bashful face*, I think there are 3 excuses for why I probably wrote her like that, lol. 1. I want Rose to be a grown up, so maybe she wouldn't be around her parents (mother) all the time, especially since Hermione has her own very important job. 2. There are a ton of characters in the Next-Gen Weasley brood to give personalities to, that aren't the ones we already know. 3. Writing Hermione scares me. Partly because I dislike her greatly and even though she's my MC's mom, she is a tough cookie to get correct. Lol but I do get that she should be there.
I loved writing the cousin and sibling stuff! Though I admit I may go a little overboard, I should reign it in a bit. Still they are cousins who don't see eachother often and are used to roughhousing... idk we'll see. ;)
And I think with Scorpius, it was more meant as a gentlemanly gesture and a house warming gift than romantic (romance will happen, but later, way later). He's known Rose since she was 11, because he and James decided to be friends when she and Albus started at Hogwarts. But I totally get ya, I had written some prequel one-shots to this, but didn't really continue the explanations in this story. oopsy. Lol
Anywho, I'm really glad you reviewed this because well... your reviews are incredibly exactly what I need. Very helpful, and not coddling and perfect, yet again. I will get to editing! Thank you so much as always!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by ScorpiusRose17 Chapter the Fifth: My Neighbor the Vampire

15th March 2012:
Amazing =)

I really like your characterization. They are all wonderful characters and flow and mesh well with one another. They are believable and relatable which is great.

I did notice some minor things with sentences where you either left out a word or worded it differently. Looking back I can't find them right of hand because they are that minor. So just a heads up.

I like Dirk. I think he's an interesting fellow. I am not completly sure how I feel about him yet. I think I will wait and see on him. I also like how you subtly showed a peak of interest in Rose from Scorpius. I love reading this story because it's always something new each time. Ooo...a Vampire. I wasn't expecting him. =)

It's well developed, described and is paced well. You're not rushing the relationship with Scorpius and Rose which is something that needs to build up over time.

I can't wait to read about Quidditch and what happens in the next chapters of your story.

Keep up the great work!

-SR17

Author's Response: Lurve your reviews! Don't worry there shall be quidditch in the next chapter! Thank you so much! I thought I'd add a vampire to shake it up a bit.

 Report Review

Review #11, by ScorpiusRose17 Chapter the Fourth: Hugo the Conqueror of Couches

14th March 2012:
This was again a great chapter! I loved seeing the banter between Rose and Hugo. They are so relatable. =)

I also liked how we were introduced to James's girlfriend, Johanna and Alice Longbottom. It's great to see that the characters have friends outside of the family realm.

Your characterization and descriptiveness...wonderful. I did notice one thing in the begining that kind of slowed me down..."She had been woken from her when a cardboard box attempted to take her place on the couch." This sentence was a bit confusing. I think you might have meant that she had been woken up from her sleep? Just wanted to point that out. Other then that it flowed naturally.

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the little bit of a teaser we get with Scorpius and Rose when he stops by with flowers and champange!! =)

I know I've said this before, but I am really excited to see where this goes and how it all develops. You're doing a wonderful job!

Keep up the great work!

-SR17

P.s. Thank you by the way for being one of my repeat review requesters. I love reading and reviewing! I just wish I could write as well as I think I review!

Author's Response: Hehe, aww thank you!!
I will definitely get to fixing that as quick as I can thank you! I really love your reviews like a ton, they are awesome and helpful. I will surely be rerequesting soon! :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by ScorpiusRose17 Chapter the Third: Really Becoming the Game

13th March 2012:
Oh my goodness I loved this chapter! Poor Rose and the smelly snitch suit!!

I thought the characterization was wonderfully done along with the flow of the story. I didn't find any stumble sentences (as I like to call them) or phrases that seemed off.

I really enjoyed the descriptiveness of the story, especially the Puddlemere Quidditch team and their really funny tradition. It was easy to imagine.

I loved the banter between everyone. It made your chapter fun and alive. I am curious to see how these relationships develop throughout the next chapters.

Keep up the great work! =)

-SR17

Author's Response: Haha, thanks so much!
I really love your reviews! I never knew I'd actually be okay at writing sports not knowing much about them. Then again it being an 'imaginary' sport, that may help a bit. Lol. The Snitch Suit was just one of those random ideas that just popped into my head. Really glad you liked it!
Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #13, by ScorpiusRose17 Chapter the Second: Three Years Later...Again

11th March 2012:
I really liked this chapter! It was chalked full to the brim of description that I was poisitivly captivated by it. I love Quidditch and you describe it so well for not writing a lot about sports. I was happy to see improvement on this.

Your characterizations were great. I loved to see Rose interacting with her Dad and brother even if they were for mere glimpses at this point. I thought it was very sweet that she would want to try out for her Dad's favorite team. I like it when Rose is described not only as smart, but as tough. You really did a great job making her come alive in this chapter.

Your flow was overall good with one minor exception. Usually when I look at flow of a chapter I look at how it looks not only on the screen while I am reading it, but if words or sentences are making sense. I did stumble while reading through on a minor error..."Honest ludicris in her opinion." I think you meant Honestly. I hope you don't think I am being over critical over one little thing, but I would rather you know it's there then not know.

Again, I really enjoyed this chapter and this story line. Keep up the great work! =)

Author's Response: Aww thanks, and yeah not only do I not usually write sports ever, I don't really know much about sports in general. Lol. I'm so glad that you liked this, the review honestly (lol) makes me giggle with happiness. And know it is totally cool that you mentioned it, otherwise I wouldn't have noticed it to fix it.
Many, many thanks for your review! It was awesomesauce. :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by ScorpiusRose17 Chapter the First: A Start of Sorts

10th March 2012:
I really liked your first chapter and how you seem to add your own unique twist to the characters. It's original for a ScoRose. I really like the banter bewteen Rose and Albus. It gave your story that comical side yet kept them still as teenagers.

Your dialogue, characterization, flow of the story are really wonderful and apeasing to the readers. The only thing that I can say that it maybe lacked a little in is description. They were at the Three Broomsticks, but it kind of fell alittle flat. Maybe you could've described that atmosphere of it more?

Overall, I thought your first chapter was wonderful. I can't wait to see what you have written next in chapter 2! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Woot! Thank you that was a wonderful review, with the right amount of help/constructive criticism. I will def be going through to see what I can tweak. Much thanks :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by fancy Chapter the First: A Start of Sorts

10th March 2012:
Hi there!
Sorry for the belated review! I thought this was a really good start. The introduction of the main characters was all very rounded and you gave a good bit of information on all of them, their personalities and stature in the group of friends.
I really liked the banter between them as well, it felt really natural especially between Rose and Albus.
Loved the ending, I thought the way you did that was really well done - something that makes me want to go read chapter two...which I am on my way to now!
Great start and I look forward to reading the next few chapters!

Author's Response: It's totally cool. I'm really glad that you liked this! I finally got the right plunny for a ScoRose and ran with it. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Crescent Moon  Chapter the Fifth: My Neighbor the Vampire

5th March 2012:
Great chapter, loved it!!
I can't wait to see how things go with Dirk and how James and Scorpius are going to react XD
Please update as soon as you can.

Author's Response: Thank you thank you! I am totally working on the next one, and I think you'll like James and Scorpius eventual reaction in a chapter or so... oops i shouldn't be giving things away. lol

 Report Review

Review #17, by youknowwho013 Chapter the Fourth: Hugo the Conqueror of Couches

9th January 2012:
Why do u hate Hermione? I'm going to criticize or anything, I'm just curious...
(also, I love the story! So post fast!)

Author's Response: Lol, honestly it's probably not hate, just a strong irritation and I have no idea why (but her portrayal in the movies might have something to do with it ;) ) Also, thank you! I'm writing it as I write this... wait, what? :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by Crescent Moon  Chapter the Fourth: Hugo the Conqueror of Couches

9th January 2012:
Great chapter, I loved it!!
So funny, I laughed so much. XD
I can't wait to see what's going to happen next along with what's going to happen with Score.
Please update as soon as you can.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you! I'm writing it as I speak/type. :D I can't wait to see what I decide to do either! lol. I love your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #19, by EverDiggory Chapter the Fourth: Hugo the Conqueror of Couches

3rd January 2012:
Ooh! I loved your characterization for everyone,it was fantastic!
Now I'm telling in all honesty,I have never willingly read a next gen fic,it was always odd to me. But I really like this(; I think Scorpius has something to do with it,but that's besides the point:D I will be favoriting and you can expect to see me reviewing again;D
I think Hermione's characterization was especially spot on. Congratulations! Haha anyways...it's just I see so many people butcher her character,so it was nice to see you portray her so well. The bickering between Hugo and rose was not only hilarious,but realistic! I have a new found interest in Albus,and Scorpius,so thank you for that(;
10/10 very good job. That 10/10 was very well deserved

Author's Response: Lol, thank you! Not gonna lie, I used to be the same way when it came to next-gen, or anything that wasn't Draco/OC for that matter, lol, but changing tastes happen slowly so I understand :). Glad you liked Hermione! I actually don't like her character so she is the hardest for me to write. Yay! Another who likes the Next-gen!
brithewriter :D Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Cassius Alcinder Chapter the First: A Start of Sorts

28th December 2011:
Review tag!

I really enjoyed the characterization so far. Rose in particular seems very well rounded and beleivable as well as Albus. It seems like Rose is often portrayed as being a clone of Hermione, so it was a nice change to have her be a little bit of an underachiever. I liked Albus' personality as well, how much he seems to be taking after Harry, and how he seems like he tries to be a nice guy but he can't help but have a little bit of a sense of entitlement.

The chapter had a nice flow to it and the interactions of the group dynamic were very amusing and entertaining.

I love the development of Rose trying out for the Cannons, Hermione must be horrified and Ron must be proud!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad you like the differences. I didn't want it to be exactly the same as all the other ScoRoses, but not too unbelievable.
Btw, you are right, Hermione isn't the happiest about Rose's career choice. ;) Thank you so much for the review! Loved it.


 Report Review

Review #21, by supermegafoxyawesomehot Chapter the Fourth: Hugo the Conqueror of Couches

27th December 2011:
It was great! Update soon! You've been "gone" ages!

PS: Why in the world do you hate Hermione???

Author's Response: Sorry its been taking me forever, life and my inability to say no to plot bunnies and my other stories keep me from it. But I'm doing my best.
I think I just hate her for her portrayal in the movies. Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by yorkgal Chapter the Third: Really Becoming the Game

10th December 2011:
Hi again!
That chapter had me laughing so hard and as cliche as it sounds- i almost fell off my chair! If people sold giant snitch suits i would sooo buy one, that was a really creative idea!

I love Scorpius' characterization, its different to usual, they're out of school and they DONT hate each other. phew. For once that is (as you may tell i hate it when they hate each other) also, i love their banter and Rose's witty comments.

Keep writing
Yorkgal

Author's Response: Yay, I can't write stuff with out it at least trying to be funny. So its good that the funny is actually funny. lol. About Scorpius, and the turn for the norm, I didn't want to write the same old ScoRose and I'm glad that you like that. (I hate it when they hate each other too.) ;) Thank you so much for reviewing again!

 Report Review

Review #23, by yorkgal Chapter the Second: Three Years Later...Again

10th December 2011:
Hiya- this is your requested review again :)

I love, love, love this! I would probably read it even if you hadn't put in a request! There was a lot more of a impact than the last chapter and you wrote the quidditch beautifully!

Roses relationships with Ron and Hugo were sweet and quite fitting- especially when you put in about Hugo stealing the toys from the quaffle-o's (that made me laugh) :) i feel the 3 year gap was needed, it sped things up and still didnt lose the readers.

Just a side note, i think we should have heard a bit of Hermione in this chapter, i know shes not much of a quidditch fan but at least at the begining.

Onto the next chapter!
Yorkgal

Author's Response: That's sweet thank you! I love that you love my Quidditch and all the little things, (my chapters don't feel right with out them).
About the Hermione thing, she's just not really in here yet because I am afraid of writing her. As well as her excuse for not being in this chapter was that she was working. ;)
Thank you so much for your review! Love it!


 Report Review

Review #24, by yorkgal Chapter the First: A Start of Sorts

10th December 2011:
Hi, this is your requested review from the forums :) sorry it took me so long, homeworks been up to my ears and family times not been great lately either- sorry! Thanks for being so patient.

First of all, i love how you worked the banter and general conversation between friends so it seemed natural, like something that would happen in real life. Very realistic.

Everyones characters are well potrayed, im already annoyed with Ellen (and im not sure whether thats a good thing or not...) i liked how Albus and Rose seemed ok with the fact their parents saved everyone elses butts because in most fics i read, they either really hate it or are stuck up because of it.

You're plot seems to have the automatic ability to be able to develop in any way you want and i cant wait to see how you go- Rose trying out for the Chudley Cannons, clearly Ron will be proud! I'm left wondering whether she'll make it and what position she'll end up playing. I cant wait to see it work out!

It seems that everythings flowing smoothly but i feel like something will happen soon (Enter Scorpius) to mix things up a bit!

Good Luck! I'll be sure to return and read more!
Yorkgal

Author's Response: Hi!
I don't know why but I'm always surprised when readers/reviewers say that the conversations and relationships seem natural. Lol, so thank you!
Its okay that you don't like Ellen, because she isn't really all that important... or is she? We'll see. I'm glad you like the plot and flow!
Thank you so much for your review! It is totally appreciated! :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by Crescent Moon  Chapter the Third: Really Becoming the Game

30th November 2011:
Love this!! I can't wait to read more. Really good original plot. It's great to have a Scorpius/Rose set out of Hogwarts and with the whole family not hating him XD
Please update as soon as you can.

Author's Response: Aww thanks, glad you liked the differences! I'm writing it right now and will have it out as soon as I can! Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>