Reading Reviews for Sunshine
132 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ruby Part 1: The Penultimate Party

17th October 2015:
Hello! This is my first time leaving a review. I went through a huge harry potter fan fiction phase five years ago (can't believe it's been that long), and somehow I ended up coming across "Raining", which really resonated with my probably-too-young for it 13-year-old self. The story and characters were so glamorous and compelling, it seemed like the ideal, albeit kind of twisted, romance. I would stay up late reading through the chapters, and eventually moved onto "Sunshine" when that was published, looking for some resolution for James and Amelie. I've had your page bookmarked on my old laptop for the last five years, but eventually I stopped checking for about a year because I thought it was something you'd kind of left behind. Well, today I checked, and it made me so happy to see an update! Your voice as a writer has matured, and James and Henrietta have been given so much more depth. That all your stories are set in a such a familiar universe just calls back my younger days even more. I'm writing this on a rainy Saturday and I plan on going back to read through all of "Raining" and "Sunshine" for a blast from the past. I just wanted to thank you for publishing your work here over the years, and I'm sure there are more in my boat who have been reading without ever letting you know. You have a real talent for fiction, and I do hope this means you'll finish "Sunshine", but I also won't be surprised if one of these days you post a link to your new non-HP related debut novel. When it happens, please let me know. If you ever want some serious, less gushy feedback or to chat, because I'm very curious about the person behind the stories, please shoot me an email :-)

 Report Review

Review #2, by pottered  Part 1: The Penultimate Party

15th September 2015:
OHMYGOD. ohmygod. oh my god.
im so unbelievably happy!!! henrietta finally called james out on his bs and stood up for herself, and neither did she shame amelie or blame her for anything. that was just brilliant! i LOVE henri! i feel so bad for her :c this whole time she was being lead on and fooled with, but im just so ecstatic because she finally realised that. i just loved loved loved! that bit. i feel like a proud mother lol.

and agnes, then, telling off james lol. GOOD. he needed people to knock him off his high horse. i did feel a tiny bit bad that he was getting disappointed looks and talks from everyone, but honestly, he deserved that and i hope his character from now on realises that and he doesn't muck things up eep.

but ahh, im just so happy for henri! it was the biggest highlight of this chapter. im sooo excited for the next update! xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by pottered  Florence Beauregard

15th September 2015:
omg so uh i definitely do /not/ like amelie's mother :c she's too.., brash. i don't know what other word to settle for her or articulate my hATRED because it's basically just frustrated screams escaping my mouth lol.

aw poor amelie having to be shoved into a photoshoot whilst suffering a hangover ): ewan is just too cute, honestly! i cannot handle is cuteness, it's too much for my little heart. ;o

the past james/amelie scene was so cute aw, and yes, it did make me think that o wait james wasn't always such a git. ;p i /do/ love james, but sometimes his decisions and views just give me a headache. xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by pottered  A Stern Talking To

15th September 2015:
omg i love! agnes. she voiced out my thoughts on the henrietta/james/amelie situation perfectly. i also really like jack aha he's a really fun coach to work with.

eep the mansfield thing! the fact that his arm is unnatural is a bit disturbing, how far does someone go to get their position back on the team welp. i hope he gets banned from quidditch for basically taking steroids in the magic sense ;p i really want james, my (very) problematic fav, to continue being the permanent player on the team. although, i do hope his ego doesn't suffocate the other players on the pitch ;p

and eep, i love james/amelie moments, but yes, the fact that you're focusing on a subplot and things other than romance in their life as well is great!

P.S. im probably saying this for the fiftieth time (i like to exaggerate, clearly :0), but i love!!! amelie so much. my absolute favourite.

 Report Review

Review #5, by pottered  Mind Blown

15th September 2015:
ohmygod yes! james is indeed very, very fit. why does he have to be so suave, it's not good for my mental health, i may also go through some heartaches.

eep aw amelie feeling guilty about kissing james, but the fact she told ewan is so great! she didn't lie about it and lead ewan on. she told him and he accepted the apology, aw what a cutie :c i hope james told henri as well hm.

mind blown. the chapter title omg it's sort of a pun, isn't it? like, the explosion and then everyone messing up with Amelie's mind. or maybe it's not a pun :0


the part when james just appears with the woman on his shoulder and shirtless: nice. very nice. lol
james is so determined to make amelie's his girlfriend, it's so cute! but maybe he should also come clean to henri and have a quiet civil little break up (well.., probably won't be quiet or civil since it concerns henri buttt, let's wait and see). he bought flowers for amelie, aw! so lovely and adorable. i think my eyes have just turned into little hearts.

 Report Review

Review #6, by pottered  An Engagement Party To Remember

15th September 2015:
ohmygod nooo, amelie just did turn into georgia watson and james is an absolute GIT. but they're both so much in denial and are so cute, what to do what to think lol.

anyways, i had to get to the end part first because, like, it just sort of smacked me in the face: i am shocked. amelie, darling, he cheated on you and now he's cheating on his current girlfriend with /you/, and that's very worrying aha :c i really liked the parts where amelie slapped him around the head; i would like to do that, too! but then as much as a complete ba.stard james is, he also has his cute moments where i just want to squeeze his cheeks :<

but i feel so, so bad for ewan and henrietta! james outright admitted in this chapter that he's using henri and amelie is kissing james, and ohmygod!! it's just so awfully unfair to ewan and henri ):

but this also shows just how realistic this story is and the characters are just going through things, and realising the rights and wrongs and i LOVE that! especially, i loved flawed characters (cough james cough amelie) i love love love them.

eep i hope they both soon sort all of this out and come clean to their partners.

 Report Review

Review #7, by pottered  Albert Greybeard and his Fascinating Stories

15th September 2015:
eep grace still doesn't know who amelie is, i actually am baffled at her. but then it's all good since it works with amelie escaping grace's screeching screams lol.

And omg, ewan is such a cutie! i adore him! he's just wonderful and understands situations, and the way he hugged amelie: such an aw-ble moment ;p

 Report Review

Review #8, by pottered  Test Run 2.0

15th September 2015:
ohmygod i can't decide if i find henrietta annoying or not, but it's mostly the former: yes, she's annoying. but then she has her cute moments! moments where i also feel sorry for her and want to punch james in the gut. if henrietta is really a gold digger then uhh, but if not, then she should just look after her happiness and LEAVE james. he's clearly not good to her, also the fact that he's quite smitten by amelie, and just wants to be with henri (cute nickname eep) to make amelie jealous :/

ahh alice and fred, going all their way out to make james and amelie happen. true friendship!

henri and the wotter family gathering was so awkward and weird, just absolutely hilarious! i loved every bit about that. and rose!! i love rose. she has such a bubbly, striking personality.

when henri played quidditch; eeppp, that was so funny. james' remarks were so offhand, but quite funny. i feel bad for laughing :c also: yes, amelie was quite right about james being a misogynistic a.rse. he sometimes does come off as that and it just makes me -_-

"you're a creep, james" the truth! lol ;p

this chapter was so humour filled, i loveddd it! xx

 Report Review

Review #9, by pottered  Sarcasm

15th September 2015:
omggg. this chapter was brilliant. i love love love amelie! i also understand her anger at james for cheating on her, and the fact that she wouldn't let him just walk all over her. it was such an amazing thing to see that she's a fierce and strong willed character, i absolutely adore her!
and eep ewan is sooo cute! but i sort of feel bad for him because amelie is clearly in denial aha. also the bit about amelie imagining her and james' child was so adorable! i could just imagine a tiny little kid with dark hair, green eyes and a smatter of freckles on his nose. so unbelievably lovely!
ALSO: i love! fred and alice. and emily and andrew, too! they'd be good together and the fact that andrew writes on a typewriter just makes me love him even more aha. vintage, indeed.

 Report Review

Review #10, by pottered  Jack Goddard: King Of All Men

15th September 2015:
omg aw i feel so bad for henrietta ): all she needed was someone to believe in her. but i hope she comes to believe in herself and realises that she doesn't need james for that. jack was so right! just because she likes to dress up and wear makeup, doesn't mean she's not a good person. he hit the nail on my thoughts aha.
and james..., he's sort of a git (a FIT git but anyways) eep. his conceited nature just makes me want to poke my eyes out and the fact that he cheated on amelie just ignited the anger more! as i said, i hope he goes through character development (-:

by far im lovinggg this story sooo much! xx

 Report Review

Review #11, by pottered  Lavender and Lunch

15th September 2015:
well grace was so horrid! the way she treated amelie and on top of that, calling her a wrong name and the absolute ignorance she possessed was so :c i felt so bad for amelie, dealing with her would be a complete riot.
and lavender omg that bit was just hilarious! it was so lavender brown, you wrote her character so spot on. i would hate my job too if i was in amelie's place :/
james; he drips with condescend and always sound patronising when he talks, i can see why amelie is sceptical on pursuing a relationship with him. especially after he dismissed henrietta like that! im not a big fan of henrietta, but that was just awfully rude of james. i hope he goes through character development eep.
right so ive mentioned this but i adore amelie sooo much that: i /adore/ her! she's so realistic, her narrative is my favourite.

 Report Review

Review #12, by pottered  Will For Rain

15th September 2015:
omg so this was in james' POV and the chapter was SO good! usually male povs are difficult to write and just somehow come away as very /off/, but you managed to write it in such an incredible way. i loveddd his POV; his confusion, his confidence, his affectionate thoughts for amelie and ohmygod i thought they were just former bestfriends, but they're also ex's! i didn't expect that eep, it just made the plot a whole lot better! there was so much sexual tension between them; they definitely still fancy each other.
and Amelie, ohmygod she's now one of my absolute favourites OC on this site, i completely adore her! her rather detached nature and the instinct to make jokes to lighten the situation is so very relatable so i love!!! her. her dialogues are amazing as well. did i mention i love your writing because eep i should again: i love your writing!
lily!! she's so feisty and fierce, i adore her character! she also understands her brother and the fact he does still fancy amelie is so cute and their sibling relationship is great!
henrietta.., well. i actually like her character; she /is/ annoying and comes off very strong aha but her personality is written so well, it just screams that yes! she's the picture of a 'head-up-in-the-skies' and silly girl. although, she is somewhat cute, tbh.

 Report Review

Review #13, by pottered  Quidditch and Pumpkin Pie

15th September 2015:
hii. i /just/ started this series and let's just say im not a wise person since you did advise reading the prequel to this would be a wise thing to do .-.
WELL. anyways.
eep so i love!!! amelie. her narrative is so interesting to read and your scenes are descriptive but not /too/ descriptive and it just captures the attention, and i can just imagine all of it happening aha. i love your writing!
fred was so cute and funny! and his relationship with alice is just so adorable, i really liked them both.
ALSO: ewan!!! he's so charming and borders on nervousness and confidence. the combination is just so adorable and fit! ;p
amelie and ewan's cute, flirty banter flowed out so nice. it was lovely, their chemistry is brilliant!

P.S. i loveee the face claim for amelie! leighton meester just fits her character so well.

 Report Review

Review #14, by blackzero Part 1: The Penultimate Party

15th September 2015:
I thought it was abandoned forever. Well you have changed a lot of story.Reading again and enjoying it.Thanks for the update.I sincerely hope that you find the motivation to complete your outstanding work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad to hear you're re-reading as well.

 Report Review

Review #15, by AUBS Florence Beauregard

28th July 2015:
This story is quite good so far and I would like to see if they ever get back together again and what happens with Amelie's mom. I would also like to see Alice and Fred's wedding. Thank you again and please continue this story!!

Author's Response: I am trying! Thank you so much for stopping by.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Grace Florence Beauregard

7th July 2014:
I'm so addicted to this story. Really hope James and Amelie would get back together like before. I know James is a jerk and everything, but I feel like Amelie can always bring out his positive sides unlike anyone else. Ewan is already perfect he doesn't need Amelie to fix him. Please update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you! I will try and update asap!

 Report Review

Review #17, by ohmymerlin Florence Beauregard

9th January 2014:
Aw, Amelie is so stubborn! I just want her and James to be okay, even though he is a big git. :p

I thought the flashback was so sweet! I really loved it! :)

Ah, Amelie's mother. She's always been... strange. :p And of course she's getting married again! But I'm a bit happy that she's missing out on it, ahaha!

Eh, Ewan annoys me. I think it's mostly because he's not James (when he wasn't a git) but he's nice but just so... bland? I don't know, I just know that I want him out of the picture - but not in a murdering way, hahaha!

Anyway, I can't wait to read the next chapter! :)

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: I know she is, and he is too! That's probably what makes him such a git. Aaah no, you don't like Ewan? He's the perfect nice guy, I reckon.

Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ruby_slippers A Stern Talking To

27th October 2013:
bloody love this story! So keen to see how it all unfolds and while i like ewan im still 100% team james ... even if he is being a petulant git at the moment - still love the sorry sod!

Author's Response: Ahaha, yes - he is a petulant git! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Hogwarts.Is.My.Home. A Stern Talking To

6th October 2013:
This story is different to any other I've read, I really like it and raining too! Update soon :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Chapter 11 is in progress! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by ruby_slippers A Stern Talking To

18th September 2013:
So excited to read the next one and see where this all goes! I absolutely love your stories :)

Author's Response: Aaw, thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by ruby_slippers Mind Blown

4th September 2013:
Aghhh! Oh my gosh im sorry for not reviewing earlier i had to go back and re-read rainning and the start of sunshine so i could properly remember what had happened and now i remember why i loved this story so much!
I love James and Amelie and i am so keen to see them back together. I love that your characters aren't perfect, they all have their flaws and it makes them so much more real. I also really love Ewan (and not just coz Ewan is an awesome name - though that helps haha!). He's a real sweet heart and i hope we get to know him better as well. Even if that would make it heaps harder if she choses James.
Anyway just wanted to say how much I am loving this story and looking forward to reading more :)

Author's Response: Yes! You love Ewan! I love Ewan, he's great (and yes, I love his name too!) Keep reading and thanks for reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by harrietm Mind Blown

23rd August 2013:
I still love James and Amelie as much as I did when I read Raining :') Your writing is amazing!! I wish I could write like you, it just has natural flow and you manage to get the emotion of the dialogue so perfect. And I did like your Longwhistle Dating Theorem ;) I could see kinda where it was going but it was still executed really well and I still loved it! Especially the explosion, my mind was blown when Amelie's mind was blown and the building was blown haha

Just two little things. Somewhere in there I saw the word 'tink' instead of 'think'. Also this sentence below, I don't know, the first time I read it I thought Ewan needed the blanket to protect himself from the outside world and his inner turmoil :P

"Ewan rolled over again, his hand grasping for the blanket that was currently wrapped around me in some hope of protection from the outside world and from my inner turmoil"

Anyway that's my two cents...which is probably more like two dollars but oh well haha Keep up the brilliant work and I look forward to the next chapter! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by MagicQuill An Engagement Party To Remember

13th May 2013:
Question, how do you pronounce Amelie's name? Is it like Amelia or emily or Amy-lee? Just wondering. I love your story btw.

Author's Response: Am-a-lee - like the French film. Hope that clears it up for ya :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by Caroly78 An Engagement Party To Remember

16th March 2013:
love it! the drama keeps me entertained

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #25, by classicblack An Engagement Party To Remember

21st January 2013:
Aah! I loved it!

But honestly can we just skip all the unnecessary drama and get right to the part where Amelie and James end up together? Because we all know it's bound to happen. Right? Right?!

I can't wait to see how you're going to incorporate James possibily losing his job (and something tells me he will lose his job which will nicely break up him and Henrietta and also create some sort of deep, drama, reconcilliation/ connection with Amelie that will make them end up together) into James and Amelie's relationship. I think both James and Amelie (mostly Amelie) need to grow up and realize/ accept that they're not totally happy with their relationships. That would be so much simpler.

But that ending! "Then it wasn't important"- it made me laugh and it made me want to slap both of them and yell for them to just get to the nearest bedroom. Honestly.

Fantastic chapter! Hope the next update comes quickly!
Happy writing,

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>